United Artists | Release Date: October 17, 2003
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 71 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
61
Mixed:
6
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MaximusNov 15, 2004
Wicked Awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JudithM.Aug 3, 2007
One of the best movies I've seen all year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NadaD.Oct 17, 2003
Laugh-out loud funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ButteredPopcornApr 10, 2004
Very dark yet very funny. this movie falls into one of those 'families - you can't live with them and you can't live without them' genres. The movie is very inventive as a whole, and wonderfully refreshing. It's the Very dark yet very funny. this movie falls into one of those 'families - you can't live with them and you can't live without them' genres. The movie is very inventive as a whole, and wonderfully refreshing. It's the most re-freshing movie I've seen so far this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChestyB.Mar 18, 2004
Easily this was the most overlooked movie of 2003. It is incredibly funny and emotional. One great performance after another!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReilT.Nov 11, 2003
Feel good. Laugh. Think. Sympathize. V entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrendaK.Apr 2, 2005
I liked this movie a lot more than I thought I would. It grows on you and is so poignant. If you have any disfunctionality in your family at all you will "get" this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
UnbearableLightnessDec 10, 2003
Even though I am a huge fan of What's Eating Gilbert Grape, I went into the movie with low expectations. I'm not a fan of DV movies and wasn't very impressed with the trailer or premise. Boy was I mistaken. The cast is Even though I am a huge fan of What's Eating Gilbert Grape, I went into the movie with low expectations. I'm not a fan of DV movies and wasn't very impressed with the trailer or premise. Boy was I mistaken. The cast is amazing. The dialog is smart. It makes you feel emotion without using cheap tactics (I might be stretching a little here). Overall, it's a delightful holiday film. See it with those you love and those you don't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeremyFFeb 16, 2008
Very cute, very good film. I really like it. This is a superb spell-binding from Katie Holmes. (Aw, look at Katie homes pre-Cruise... it's so nice.)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Nov 17, 2003
Does unconditional love apply if a mother can't conjure one happy memory of her daughter when the family unit was a whole? Nobody can. A relationship this ruined deserves a more thoughtful reconciliation than showing old wounds being Does unconditional love apply if a mother can't conjure one happy memory of her daughter when the family unit was a whole? Nobody can. A relationship this ruined deserves a more thoughtful reconciliation than showing old wounds being healed set to music during a thanksgiving dinner montage. There's so much versimilitude during that road trip, you wonder why the filmmaker didn't go the distance, and resolve the seemingly unresolvable. April, according to (a wonderful)Clarkson, sounds like a borderline psychopath, and she has the gall to make the family come to her. "Pieces of April" succeeds because it shows a family's bravery in dealing with a terminal illness with the right proportion of humor and pathos. Patricia Clarkson is terrific, but so is Alison Pill, as the younger daughter, who puts on her happy face for mom in heartbreaking fashion. "Pieces of April" is very good, but misses its chance to be great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillB.Dec 9, 2003
Warm and poignant and funny. The digital video gives this a dingy look, not altogether inappropriate for a film set in late november. This was a hit at Sundance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
StephenS.Apr 3, 2004
Director Peter Hedges? New York tenements are much less the overdesigned, overlit stage props that dominate ?In America,? while the residents are a little more realistic too. Little does her family know that April, the black sheep of the Director Peter Hedges? New York tenements are much less the overdesigned, overlit stage props that dominate ?In America,? while the residents are a little more realistic too. Little does her family know that April, the black sheep of the family, now has a black boyfriend. He already knows the good stuff about her that the movie is set to reveal. She?s promised to do the thanksgiving thing for her reluctant family, driving down from upstate New York to the lower East Side. Hedges switches the action backwards and forwards, from the approaching family car to April?s apartment. April, meanwhile, is bounced upstairs and downstairs, desperately seeking a functional oven (and oven-owner) to finish off the turkey. This only looks like a one or two-trick pony, but its sanguine wit and sober humanity enlarge it unexpectedly. Your moral life can only be enriched by making room for pieces like "Pieces of April." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
tugNov 19, 2004
Did you all see the same movie as I did? This movie was pathetic. I can't even figure out when it was trying to be funny, and rather than poignant or sober, I found it silly and boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful