Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In his exhilarating new film, German master Wim Wenders (Wings of Desire, The Buena Vista Social Club) shoots in 3D to capture the brilliantly inventive dance world of legendary choreographer Pina Bausch. Wenders had conceived with Bausch a dance film like none seen before, one which wouldIn his exhilarating new film, German master Wim Wenders (Wings of Desire, The Buena Vista Social Club) shoots in 3D to capture the brilliantly inventive dance world of legendary choreographer Pina Bausch. Wenders had conceived with Bausch a dance film like none seen before, one which would take the fullest advantage yet of new 3D technology to put the viewer deep inside Bausch’s playful, thrillingly unpredictable pieces. After her untimely death in 2009, Wenders continued with the project, turning it into the most exciting tribute he could imagine. Sensual and visually stunning, PINA uses 3D to remarkable effect, taking the audience into Bausch’s work in her imaginative sets (a gliding monorail, a bare stage covered with chairs, a towering man-made waterfall) and powerfully rendering the beauty and sheer physicality of the dances and dancers of her Tanztheater Wuppertal ensemble. (Sundance Selects) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Calvin Wilson
    Feb 10, 2012
    100
    The result, Pina, is the most spirited and spectacular film about dance since Robert Altman's "The Company."
  2. Reviewed by: Andrea Gronvall
    Jan 19, 2012
    100
    The movie he (Wenders) went on to make with her Tanztheater Wuppertal is more than an elegy; his meticulous use of 3D endows the performances with a corporeality and intimacy hitherto unseen in a dance film.
  3. Reviewed by: Leslie Felperin
    Dec 21, 2011
    90
    Offering further proof that the latest 3D technology is good for a lot more than just lunging knives and fantastical storylines, Wim Wenders' dance docu Pina reps multidimensional entertainment that will send culture vultures swooning.
  4. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Dec 21, 2011
    80
    Pina gives us the supreme pleasure of watching fascinating bodies of widely varying ages in motion, whether leaping, falling, catching, diving, grieving, or exulting. Wenders's expert use of 3-D puts viewers up close to the spaces, both psychic and physical, inside and out, of Bausch's work.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Nilsen
    Feb 9, 2012
    80
    For anyone with an interest in dance, Pina is a must-see. For anyone not interested in contemporary dance, Pina is a should-see. It could change your mind.
  6. Reviewed by: Guy Dixon
    Dec 21, 2011
    75
    Bausch's work, as performed by her dance company Tanztheater Wuppertal, is shot exactingly by Wenders, who captures everything from the largest gestures to the subtlest facial nuances in ways impossible in 2-D – and of course in far closer detail than seeing the dances performed live.
  7. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Oct 18, 2011
    50
    Go after Pina and you're going to have to go through a mob of modern-dance zealots first.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    The 3D presentation of this looks to me like the first movie actually made in the 21st century. As for some of the other comments here, I canThe 3D presentation of this looks to me like the first movie actually made in the 21st century. As for some of the other comments here, I can only paraphrase Lincoln - "The good Lord must have loved the common-minded people. He made so many of them." Expand
  2. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    This film is an event, a piece of performance art, transcending film itself, in part through its creative and lovely use of 3D (which IThis film is an event, a piece of performance art, transcending film itself, in part through its creative and lovely use of 3D (which I generally think is a waste of time) and in part through its loving treatment of the film's subject, which is not Pina Bausch, but, in my view, the dancers who worked with her for decades and became co-choreographers with her. They explode across the screen in great excursions of ecstasy which have sent me home in wonder, yet again, at the beauty of being human.

    But, please be forwarned, the film starts in more difficult territory with an early work of hers resetting Stravinsky's Rite of Spring, and it takes quite a while for the jovial heart of the film to be revealed. It is worth the wait, every bit, and while I was first completely lost and untouched by the work at the beginning, over the span of the film I came to feel a real understanding of what Bausch was reaching for, and how beautifully her work was realized in these wonderful, vulnerable, liberated human beings and their amazing dancing machines. Run, don't walk, to see Pina. That is all I have to say! ;-)
    Expand
  3. Jan 16, 2012
    9
    Engaging and fascinating. The film captures the wonders of Pina B's dance sense and her enigmatic character. The film flows well, usesEngaging and fascinating. The film captures the wonders of Pina B's dance sense and her enigmatic character. The film flows well, uses imaginative settings for the scenes, gives you glimpses into the varied backgrounds of the dancers and leaves you enchanted. Wonderfully done. Expand
  4. Jan 10, 2012
    8
    "Wim Wenders uses 3D technology to arresting effect in this performance documentary about Pina Baussch's Tanztheater Wuppertal dance company."Wim Wenders uses 3D technology to arresting effect in this performance documentary about Pina Baussch's Tanztheater Wuppertal dance company. Performing in the streets and parks of Wuppertal, Germany, the troupe's pieces include "The Rite of Spring."" Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2011
    7
    Interesting. I know nothing about Pina Bausch and I know nothing about dance especially the kind of dance Pina choreographs. After watchingInteresting. I know nothing about Pina Bausch and I know nothing about dance especially the kind of dance Pina choreographs. After watching "Pina", I still don't know anything about her except that she was very loved and missed by her dancers. The film is more a tribute to her than anything else. Each of Pina's performers said something memorable about Pina and then we get to see some dance from each performer. Although the film is very foreign to me, I do find myself very drawn to each scene. The dances were beautiful even though I didn't understand the meaning of any of them. The 3D was well used in this film. I think the 3D here was better used than any of the hollywood blockbusters was used. The 3D in "Pina" doesn't have anything coming at you but it does show the depth of the stage during each dance. "Pina" is an interesting film. It's a film to check out for movie experiences. Expand
  6. Jun 20, 2012
    2
    The dancing was fine, but the symbolism is always the same: Self doubt, sex, self doubt, relationships, self doubt, sex. And the costumes andThe dancing was fine, but the symbolism is always the same: Self doubt, sex, self doubt, relationships, self doubt, sex. And the costumes and sets are always about the same. Which gives me the impression that Pina is a one-trick-pony.

    The dancers are asked to talk about Pina, but they only talk about themselves. After watching the documentary, I have learned nothing about Pina. And all the time, everyone had this inflated sense of how magically brilliantly super duper great Pina is. This is some of the most pretentious people I've ever seen.

    But then, halfway through the movie, I realized that this film isn't a showcase or exploration of Pina at all. This film is a documentary about a dance-cult. This is a documentary about the self-doubting, upper-middle class children who were sucked into this bohemian cult of inflated self-importance and made to act out their own insecurities (in dance) for the one authoritarian figure they ever respected. Pina, whether she was aware of it or not, had become a sort of dance-prophet.
    Expand
  7. Feb 18, 2012
    2
    Very disappointing. Unless the sight of dirty, sweaty dancers is of interest, you will be turned off, as was I.
    The movie offers little
    Very disappointing. Unless the sight of dirty, sweaty dancers is of interest, you will be turned off, as was I.
    The movie offers little insight on Pina's life. Once again, "The emperor has NO clothes."
    Collapse

See all 8 User Reviews

Trailers