Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 6, 2008
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 317 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
225
Mixed:
58
Negative:
34
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
2
PabloP.Aug 10, 2008
The movie wasn't funny... I laughed 2 times that I can recall so I gave the movie a point for every time I laughed.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
JamesG.Aug 9, 2008
They should have called this movie "Super Bad!"
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
TerryRApr 26, 2009
Incredibly stupid and moronic, with only a few laughs--very disappointing
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
GoodTasteAug 13, 2008
I saw this together with Step Brothers, and I am incredibly disappointed. I find it mind boggling that this is supposed to represent the best, hippest thing that Hollywood has to offer. While Pineapple Express is not as bad as Stepbrothers, I saw this together with Step Brothers, and I am incredibly disappointed. I find it mind boggling that this is supposed to represent the best, hippest thing that Hollywood has to offer. While Pineapple Express is not as bad as Stepbrothers, it's also not good. At all. These movies are self-indulgent- they offer goofiness in place of wit and substance, and even the goofiness is uninspired. They feel like they were written in a weekend, and the non-comedy is supposed to suffice because it's this specific group of people- wow, did Seth Rogen just make a cameo in Step Brothers???!! It's all my favorite comedy stars at the same time!! Too bad none of them have anything funny to say. It's disrespectful to the audience. James Franco, the one legitimate actor in this movie, also illustrates what real actors do that some comedians- especially the comedians who have mysteriously found themselves in the Apatow pack- cannot: he imbues his character with actual feelings, and becomes the only person on screen worth caring about. I go in wanting to laugh- I root for these movies to be good, and they never, never are. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
greamamericanAug 18, 2008
This is the worst piece of crap ever made. The action is hard to mixed with judd apatow style comedy inspired like woody allen comedies these day.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
HarleyDogAug 23, 2008
I left halfway through. And I have a very open mind about humor and movies in general. It was just tired and lacked anything to keep me there. How it got as good of ratings as it did is amazing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DaleC.Aug 4, 2008
Silliness is to be expected of a 'stoner comedy', but this is just sloppy. While the concept has much potential, Pineapple Express never reaches it, drowning itself in a plot that's random just for the sake of being random. Silliness is to be expected of a 'stoner comedy', but this is just sloppy. While the concept has much potential, Pineapple Express never reaches it, drowning itself in a plot that's random just for the sake of being random. It's clear that this movie tries to make fun of other films in its genre. Whether it succeeds is a different question. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JHJan 25, 2009
This is the worst movie I have seen in several years. The occasional laughs in this movie couldn't make up for the stereotypical, thinly-sketched characters, or the ludicrous plot. I know Seth Rogen has to be laughing all the way to the This is the worst movie I have seen in several years. The occasional laughs in this movie couldn't make up for the stereotypical, thinly-sketched characters, or the ludicrous plot. I know Seth Rogen has to be laughing all the way to the bank, because this movie was complete garbage. By the way, I'm a fan of Judd Apatow and Seth Rogen. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
RoD.Aug 18, 2008
There were 5 very funny jokes but the rest is disconnected, unintelligent, bad slapstick. A bad rental.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
MitchM.Jan 27, 2009
NO laughs. NO thrills or chills. Limp story. Give me Cheech & Chong any day.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SethRAug 12, 2008
This movie was awful. Seth Rogen can't carry a movie to save his life. He plays the same character in every movie (with the exception of The 40 Year-Old Virgin). I left work early this afternoon to see this with a buddy and I felt This movie was awful. Seth Rogen can't carry a movie to save his life. He plays the same character in every movie (with the exception of The 40 Year-Old Virgin). I left work early this afternoon to see this with a buddy and I felt myself fighting off boredom & sleep as this train wreck rolled on...and on...and on. And just as a point of reference, I loved (and own) Knocked Up and Superbad. Not off the Apatow bandwagon just yet, but I'm teetering. Not sure I was ever on the Rogen bandwagon. He should be behind the camera, not in front of one. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
seriously, even high, i can't imagine that the forced interaction and humor will be more entertaining than this pathetic playoff as a substitute movie. it's kinda like the appetizer to a supper that replaces a grand meal - which, in itself,seriously, even high, i can't imagine that the forced interaction and humor will be more entertaining than this pathetic playoff as a substitute movie. it's kinda like the appetizer to a supper that replaces a grand meal - which, in itself, questions it's merit as a piece of cinema..... so why do people like watching this???? There are so many better stoner movies out there! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
THATMOVIEGUYAug 7, 2008
Okay, so the first 20 minutes rock, and the rest of the movie slowly disintegrates into a mish mash of Apatow influences (Tarantino, Kev Smith, the 80s action buddy flick, etc.) mixed with Apatow's "next gen" Woody Allen style of funny Okay, so the first 20 minutes rock, and the rest of the movie slowly disintegrates into a mish mash of Apatow influences (Tarantino, Kev Smith, the 80s action buddy flick, etc.) mixed with Apatow's "next gen" Woody Allen style of funny and nervous dialog. Don't get me wrong. I love everything from Freaks and Geeks to Undeclared to 40 Year Old Virgin, Knocked Up Superbad, etc... Applying Superbad to this sort of movie is awesome in concept and great at the beginning. I was laughing my ass of in every scene for the FIRST 20 MINUTES!!! Then slowly, more vicious scenes (violence) progress into more strangely complex plot situations (with more violence), all the while you have "villans" and "heros" alike talking like they're in a (classic Apatow) stoner comedy. ...and I'm honestly sorry to say that these to worlds, just should not have been merged. The Zohan and Pineapple Express are on the exact SAME LEVEL. I know you've gotta see it anyway. No bad review would have stopped me. Just don't say THAT MOVIE GUY didn't warn you... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
EricLSep 15, 2008
One of the worst big studio movies I have seen all year. Seth Rogen is only good if the material is good. Bad movie, bad Seth Rogen. Over the top stuff does not work and how do accept the logic that a guy shot 20 times can still walk around One of the worst big studio movies I have seen all year. Seth Rogen is only good if the material is good. Bad movie, bad Seth Rogen. Over the top stuff does not work and how do accept the logic that a guy shot 20 times can still walk around and live while others are shot with one bullet and dies on cue. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BalthazarZ.Jan 12, 2009
I have problem with Apatow films..or the ones he produces.Either they are very good ( which he is usually the case if he directs them ! ) or just plain bad.Infact some of his produced films just seem to lose the normal pace and keeps I have problem with Apatow films..or the ones he produces.Either they are very good ( which he is usually the case if he directs them ! ) or just plain bad.Infact some of his produced films just seem to lose the normal pace and keeps lingering on crappy lenghty conversations which just bores the viewers to death. This was the case so many times with Pineapple Express.I wanted to like this film ..so bad..seriously.Why ? Coz I had so much expectations.But this was a badly made film. There were moments..but thats all..just a few moments.So few genuinely funny scenes.I am tired of Hollywood churning out crude and stupid humour as majot USP's of a comedy production. Thats why may be so many so called 'comedy' movies are being made and so few actually succeeds and stays in the viewer's memory. Pineapple Express is just so boring and uninteresting that you feel that the two hours you are spending on this sh*t you will never get back in your life. This movie does not deserve such a high rating.Its just plain bland and bad !!!!!!!!!!!!!!...Yawwwnnn....I feeling drowsy even writing the review for this crap Apatow production !!!!...Just two stars for one funny scene of Seth Rogan's conversation with his girlfriend over the phone where they both get mushy !!!!!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SergeZ.Mar 16, 2009
A sad attempt at stoner humor that never quite made it for me. I expected a Cheech and Chong type of comedy but it came up short in every way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AlexF.Aug 12, 2008
A complete clusterf*ck of a plot. Must have had the same editing team as "The English Patient." Moronic characters and senseless violence. I despised this film as much as I Loved "Harold and Kumar go to White Castle."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChrisM.Aug 12, 2008
As a judd apatow fan, I was thoroughly disappointed. I found my eyes shutting more than I was laughing as I wondered how a team that created so many hit comedies in the past years could miss so bad. Seth Rogen was more irritating than funny As a judd apatow fan, I was thoroughly disappointed. I found my eyes shutting more than I was laughing as I wondered how a team that created so many hit comedies in the past years could miss so bad. Seth Rogen was more irritating than funny as an occasionally chuckle-inducing supporting cast in Franco and whoever played Red weren't enough to save this film from a poor-man's Dumb&Dumber plot, terrible writing and overall lack of comedic timing. The writers who are raving over this movie must have been...well.....high. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JarrellC.Aug 17, 2008
As a stoner, I was VERY disappointed in this film. I think I only laughed three times throughout this film. It is one of the worst movies I have seen in the past few years. The problem is the plot. There really wasn't anything funny As a stoner, I was VERY disappointed in this film. I think I only laughed three times throughout this film. It is one of the worst movies I have seen in the past few years. The problem is the plot. There really wasn't anything funny about the situation they were in. I would rather see them get stoned while being locked in a haunted house or something like that. Just something that will make me laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BarryP.Aug 18, 2008
Was there a script? Why was this movie made? Even with some powerful drugs the above numbers are inconceivable. Not funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DavidAug 31, 2008
I cannot see how people say this is a good movie. This is the only Seth Rogan movie I haven't liked. Long boring opening, no climax or anything that makes you *want* to see the ending, dull humor, dragged on story... blah see it high if I cannot see how people say this is a good movie. This is the only Seth Rogan movie I haven't liked. Long boring opening, no climax or anything that makes you *want* to see the ending, dull humor, dragged on story... blah see it high if anything. It could of been a great movie, but it was likely rushed for the summer crowd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RichR.Jan 16, 2009
This isn't funny, it's just lame and dumb. The Harold and Kumar stuff is a hundred times better, a thousand times funnier. Kids who get a laugh out of this are way out of it, maybe too stoned to know the difference between true This isn't funny, it's just lame and dumb. The Harold and Kumar stuff is a hundred times better, a thousand times funnier. Kids who get a laugh out of this are way out of it, maybe too stoned to know the difference between true humor and pure bombast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
raysJan 24, 2009
Did not Hot Fuzz parody this type of bad buddy flick? Not funny or clever. Has a lot of physical comedy and lots of action. Two stoners bond after being chased by an incompetent bad guy. Movie sucks even if stoned.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SeanF.Dec 23, 2008
Over hyped piece of rubbish like all Apatow/Rogan vehicles. Two to three funny parts tops, mostly inane, unimaginative, adolescent stupidity. If you're over sixteen pass on it, and see something else!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LucasM.Nov 25, 2009
This movie is extremely overrated in my opinion and is probably not even worth the 1 I'm giving it. It gets more and more boring for every minute and what the hell is wrong with the end??
0 of 0 users found this helpful