Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 6, 2008
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 325 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
230
Mixed:
61
Negative:
34
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
MCarsonAug 4, 2008
Quite a dumb movie. Acting not up to the mark and the plot seemingly boring.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
RyanM.Feb 9, 2009
Mildly entertaining stoner movie. Full of cliches and boring. Was waiting for the laugh out moment. Never came...
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
AG.Jan 7, 2009
Very irritating to watch them include sensless violence when making a film about getting high on weed. It's as though they think weed is a dangerous gang related drug. They made is seem like cocaine with all of it's associated Very irritating to watch them include sensless violence when making a film about getting high on weed. It's as though they think weed is a dangerous gang related drug. They made is seem like cocaine with all of it's associated violence. I just watched that "someone and mary make a porno movie"....WHAT A PIECE OF TRASH. Can Seth Rogan act??? who's his father??? Spielberg? Grandson of Mayer??? He is a perfect example of what's wrong with the investment money in Hollywood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
aNdOU.Aug 10, 2008
Many will be offended, but I found this movie damn funny. Don't see it with your grandmother.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MarkWAug 12, 2008
Pineapple express doesn't know whether it wanted to be an action film or a stoner comedy. Where Cheech and Chong succeeds in its pure dedication to being ridiculous and funny, Express fails in trying to be a stoner comedy, an action Pineapple express doesn't know whether it wanted to be an action film or a stoner comedy. Where Cheech and Chong succeeds in its pure dedication to being ridiculous and funny, Express fails in trying to be a stoner comedy, an action flick, a buddy flick, a relationship flick and ultimately... a movie with a plot. Granted there are some funny moments but the violence that skews the tone of the film, the wandering plot, the unsympathetic characters, the scenes that don't make sense all work against anything this film has going for it. Bottom line, Rogen and Co. as writers are great with dialogue but their lack of concern (or lack of skill) with everything else movie-related is glaring. Next time they should write to their strengths and not try to pull off something their not capable of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JeffJ.Aug 17, 2008
Having seen and liked lots of Seth Rogan's previous work (Freaks and Geeks, Undeclared, The 40 Year Old Virgin, Knocked Up), I expected this one to more than the disconnected, rambling, goofy montage it is. It's certainly not a Having seen and liked lots of Seth Rogan's previous work (Freaks and Geeks, Undeclared, The 40 Year Old Virgin, Knocked Up), I expected this one to more than the disconnected, rambling, goofy montage it is. It's certainly not a *bad* movie; there are several good yuks and memorable lines. But, as a whole, it was pretty disappointing. Was their test marketing group was a bunch of stoners? Even if it was, some highly enlighted viewer must have wondered what the whole girlfiend/girlfriend's family thread was about. As a buddy movie, Seth, James Franco and Danny McBride (Red) make a funny team. The final scene is one of the film's best. Had this not been a Seth Rogan/Judd Apatow collaboration, "Pineapple Express" would have much less than what it is. They both bring unique creative talents to this film and I hope their partnership keeps going. Despite this average effort, even a less-than-superb Apatow/Rogan project is better than 95% of the other crap in theraters these days! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JackBSep 14, 2008
Disappointing. I guess i was expecting more than the movie was aver designed to be, but a drawn out very vague verging on non existent plot is its main downfall. Pair Rogan with an annoying hippie and it brings it down even further. The Disappointing. I guess i was expecting more than the movie was aver designed to be, but a drawn out very vague verging on non existent plot is its main downfall. Pair Rogan with an annoying hippie and it brings it down even further. The movie is spared further drawbacks through a few visual gags and some cheap crude humor. It has its moments but it smacks of a cheap plot and i was left wondering if had Seth Rogan not have been the face of this movie, would it have not been completely panned. I believe so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MylesRAug 10, 2008
It was a pretty funny movie but it lost it's edge over time. They could have shortened it about 30 minutes and it would have been awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MichaelHAug 11, 2008
Go back and watch this when you're not high and re-evaluate your decision. This is NOT a good movie. Seth Rogen is irritating, not funny. Franco is good. Everything else about this movie could have been done much better, starting with Go back and watch this when you're not high and re-evaluate your decision. This is NOT a good movie. Seth Rogen is irritating, not funny. Franco is good. Everything else about this movie could have been done much better, starting with the stereo-type laden stoner jokes the use. And don't get me wrong, I am definately in the "target" audience. I just think this movie is hideous and offers NOTHING new to the genre. Do what Harold and Kumar did and give us stoner characters that are real and not cartoons from the eighties. I'm off the Apatow bandwagon because now they are just capatilizing on their brand with crap like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SteveF.Jan 27, 2009
Hmm some parts are funny and some parts aren't. This movie didn't really work for me, sorry but it's a miss. Not that good
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MartinAug 11, 2008
I don't know... i loved knocked up and superbad...i thought i would love pineapple express, since the target audience was stoners, and not just all young adults like super bad, or stoners and girls alike in knocked up...but i was very I don't know... i loved knocked up and superbad...i thought i would love pineapple express, since the target audience was stoners, and not just all young adults like super bad, or stoners and girls alike in knocked up...but i was very sadly mistaken. i really wanted to love this movie, i was extremely excited about it from the first moment i heard about it. but everything was sub par to say the least. it was the kind of movie that you go high to, and have to force yourself to laugh...it was kind of funny, but more like giggle to yourself funny or smile funny...nothing made me keel over in laughter, which is something i really miss doing and think comedy movies should try harder at doing. seemed to drag on too. Tropic thunder looks promising, i hope the guys that made that one didn't f*ck it up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ToddS.Jan 15, 2009
Over-rated. I expected this movie to be as hilarious as Old School or Superbad, and it was nowhere near as funny. The trailer is funnier than the movie. It almost seems like they didn't even use a script in making this film. Better luck Over-rated. I expected this movie to be as hilarious as Old School or Superbad, and it was nowhere near as funny. The trailer is funnier than the movie. It almost seems like they didn't even use a script in making this film. Better luck next time, Aptow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JasonM.Jan 26, 2009
Very mediocre. It seemed as if they had no real script and just "winged it" through this whole movie. There are many strange occurances that defy logic and the characters. The movies just comes off as "thrown together" and random, as if it Very mediocre. It seemed as if they had no real script and just "winged it" through this whole movie. There are many strange occurances that defy logic and the characters. The movies just comes off as "thrown together" and random, as if it was just crapped off the assembly line and into theaters. Could've been decent if they'd spend a few months on a real script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RikardsenMar 12, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When Will The Fire Fights End, When Will They End! Apart from the tedious ending its ok with a good few laugh out loud moments but it will test your attention span. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
siglou25Jul 23, 2012
Over hyped and fell below stoner movie expectations, Half baked and Grandma's boy are by far better movies in terms of the comedy-stoner genre. The only memorable actor is the weed Dealer James Franco, who played an amazing part! Other thanOver hyped and fell below stoner movie expectations, Half baked and Grandma's boy are by far better movies in terms of the comedy-stoner genre. The only memorable actor is the weed Dealer James Franco, who played an amazing part! Other than that the rest of the the characters were pretty weak along with the Plot of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RealMuthaFFeb 5, 2013
While offering a few laughs, this is in no way a great comedy. Most jokes are too one-sided, they're always about smoking weed (which is of no surprise considering the plot, but still, not all of them are even funny) Besides, the movie boastsWhile offering a few laughs, this is in no way a great comedy. Most jokes are too one-sided, they're always about smoking weed (which is of no surprise considering the plot, but still, not all of them are even funny) Besides, the movie boasts some well-filmed (and actually funny in a way) action scenes. In other words, a mediocre comedy, but still worth to watch it once and forget forever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
KaptainHutchinoDec 12, 2013
There is nothing too special about this, and it isn't one of the best stoner comedies. The jokes are hit-and-miss and sometimes a bit forced, but the great cast makes it watchable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
PetitBikiniOct 29, 2016
Besides a few funny moments, "Pineapple Express" is a pretty weak movie. Seth Rogen and James Franco,have done better comedies together, but when there is nothing better to watch or do, I guess you could give "Pineapple Express" a try...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews