Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 6, 2008
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 318 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
226
Mixed:
58
Negative:
34
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
BennyS.Jan 8, 2009
Just an all around, very physical, and insane movie. I am not a big fan of Seth Rogen, but I loved this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanP.Nov 6, 2008
This movie is hilarious! I really reccomend it to anyone, but anyone who likes stoner comedies in particular! Seth Rogen is a comic GOD!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BattajukeS.Jul 8, 2008
From a post-modern analytical perspective, the film manages to frame the exploits of the proletariat in terms of comradeship and unbridled desire. Pineapple Express effortlessly manages to combine the mundane existence of its protagonists From a post-modern analytical perspective, the film manages to frame the exploits of the proletariat in terms of comradeship and unbridled desire. Pineapple Express effortlessly manages to combine the mundane existence of its protagonists with a over-reaching moral message derived from the Old Testaments. A thrilling ride into the abyss of reality. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlecB.Aug 7, 2008
I don't know what was up some of the critics asses rating this movie a 40 for. Of course the few critics who did give it 40's nobody either reads their magazine/newspaper or nobody knows that they exist. A full on action comedy I don't know what was up some of the critics asses rating this movie a 40 for. Of course the few critics who did give it 40's nobody either reads their magazine/newspaper or nobody knows that they exist. A full on action comedy that kept me laughing from start to finish. If you liked Superbad then you will love Pineapple express. Thug Life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricC.Aug 7, 2008
Funniest Movie of The Year!!!!!!!!!! 10+!!!!! Awesome Character's, Awesome Writing, Awesome Comedy!!!!!!! Loved it!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SheaMAug 7, 2008
Most of the negative reviews here are from straight-edge critics who don't appreciate the looseness of the film or closet homosexuals who feel uncomfortable with the movie's hilarious homo-erotic innuendo. If you're not a Most of the negative reviews here are from straight-edge critics who don't appreciate the looseness of the film or closet homosexuals who feel uncomfortable with the movie's hilarious homo-erotic innuendo. If you're not a stiff you'll like this film. if you're cool you'll love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HarrySep 20, 2008
Non stop laughs from beggining to end, whent to the movie and got what i expected. Smoking weed and explosions.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
amApr 24, 2010
This is the funniest movie I've seen this year. Definitely a stoner movie. Watch this and I guarantee it will make you laugh the whole time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnT.Apr 4, 2010
This movie is in my top 5. The first time i saw this movie, I watched it 3 times in a row and laughed non-stop every time. The jokes are side splitting, the action is exciting and funny, and as a casual weed smoker; incredibly realistic script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JBJul 29, 2008
Unbelievably funny! This is what would happen if Half-Baked and Diehard were cut together.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MitchellC.Aug 18, 2008
Pretty good. Loved how they brought in Rosie Perez, and Gary Cole was overqualified for this part. James Franco steals the movie once again, and was phenomenally brilliant. Seth Rogen was good as usual, fo sho'. Danny McBride was great Pretty good. Loved how they brought in Rosie Perez, and Gary Cole was overqualified for this part. James Franco steals the movie once again, and was phenomenally brilliant. Seth Rogen was good as usual, fo sho'. Danny McBride was great in his first Apatow movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TylerH.Aug 3, 2008
The crowd at the premier was just the sort to insinuate a great experience with this movie. Wild and outrageous, Pineapple Express delivers an excitable tale filled with laughs and giggles. You feel for the characters, and the development The crowd at the premier was just the sort to insinuate a great experience with this movie. Wild and outrageous, Pineapple Express delivers an excitable tale filled with laughs and giggles. You feel for the characters, and the development takes this movie from absurdity to laugh-out-loud comedy. It's not perfect, but the flaws are so minute that you quickly forget about them as you watch Denton and Saul move from one hilarious mishap to another. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatrickK.Aug 6, 2008
Needed to be about 15 minutes shorter, but otherwise very entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Aug 6, 2008
Words to Frannie(Meg Ryan) in Jane Campion's unfairly maligned "In the Cut" is what smoking weed means to Dale Denton(Seth Rogen); these disparate labors of love are their passions. Late in the Campion film, the Virginia Woolf scholar Words to Frannie(Meg Ryan) in Jane Campion's unfairly maligned "In the Cut" is what smoking weed means to Dale Denton(Seth Rogen); these disparate labors of love are their passions. Late in the Campion film, the Virginia Woolf scholar literally goes to the lighthouse, a decontextualized lighthouse which is then appropriated for the site of the movie's climax. Relevance to this stoner flick, you ask, from the guy who graced the indie world in 2000 with his Terrence Malick-like "George Washington"(a meditative and lyrical film about Atlantan youth that couldn't be any more different than this Cheech-and-Chong-have-feelings-too farce)? Well, in "Pineapple Express", Dale ends up at a massive greenhouse of cannabis plants and wonders aloud if he's in El Dorado(which is alluded to in "Heart of Darkness", both "To the Lighthouse" and the Joseph Conrad novel are modernist texts). Like the lighthouse in the Campion film, the isolated farmhouse that harbors the drugs have a hallucinatory texture to the narrative. Both "In the Cut" and "Pineapple Express" are thrillers, and if genres have genders, a film that's steeped in action could be characterized as being male in the narrative sense. Unbeknownst to the people who green-lighted the "Meg Ryan's Gone Wild" vehicle that stalled both women's careers, Campion feminized the masculine storyline by rupturing the text with static talk(the dialogue-heavy scenes between Ryan and Jennifer Jason-Leigh), instead of action. "Pineapple Express" subverts the male narrative, too; most pointedly, in the woods, where Dale and Saul(as in the late-Saul Bellow, perhaps?) are incapacitated by their drug-induced state to do anything to advance the plot. Just like Campion(the feminist auteur from Australia who's best known for "The Piano"), this filmmaker isn't afraid of making narrative detours that rebels heartily against story convention, by foregrounding scenes which would be more at home in a "chick-flick"(Rogen, James Franco, and Danny R. McBride aren't afraid to express their feelings like women) than a violent action-thriller, mostly played for laughs. Not only is the film transgressive, but the filmmaker's inclinations, as well. Films such as the aforementioned "George Washington", and "All the Real Girls", were a breath of fresh air because they came out during a time when the bastard children of Quentin Tarantino were at their loudest and brattiest. In "Pineapple Express", the poetry of "Badlands" has been replaced by the poetry slam of the post-modernist "Pulp Fiction". And wouldn't you know it, Red(Danny R. McBride) has a CUT on his lip("In the Cut" is slang for vagina; Dale describes the strain of pot called Pineapple Express, as God's vagina). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Ja'KwanzieBAug 7, 2008
Red is possibly the greatest character since Michael Corleone and Danny McBride deserves the best supporting actor oscar more than Ledger. Would have given this a 10 if not for Bill Hader showing up at the beginning and almost ruining the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HastyManicAug 8, 2008
If you know nothing about this film upon entering the theater, you very likely could never imagine based on the first act how the film would go out in its final one. This is a very funny film with jokes and gags coming from every angle and If you know nothing about this film upon entering the theater, you very likely could never imagine based on the first act how the film would go out in its final one. This is a very funny film with jokes and gags coming from every angle and all sides of the screen. The graphic violence that revs up midway through and comes to full tilt in the final portion of the film will not be enthusiastically hailed by everyone especially because this is a comedy, but stick through to the end and it all comes around. Great fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
OwenAug 9, 2008
Not as good as Superbad, but still very funny, even for me and Iam not a stoner. I will definatly buy this movie when it comes out on Blu-ray.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillKJan 10, 2009
Some funny parts, and again, glad I rented it for $1 through RedBox. It would have gotten a lower score if James Franco wasn't so darn hot! Did you see his pecs bulging?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OlgaS.Jan 8, 2009
A cheerful comedy with fantastic acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EdJan 8, 2009
Anyone that doesnt find this movie funny...I feel bad for you. You should probably start smoking better weed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenT.Feb 9, 2009
One of my favorite movies of 2008....over the top in every area: comedy, action, violence...expect a wild ride...and if you go in expecting a typical comedy you're really in for a ride.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeMAug 11, 2008
This, Iron Man, and The Dark Knight complete the trifecta of "must see" films this summer with The Pineapple Express being the easy going yet action fueled comedy extravaganza of the three (even though Iron Man had its humorous charming This, Iron Man, and The Dark Knight complete the trifecta of "must see" films this summer with The Pineapple Express being the easy going yet action fueled comedy extravaganza of the three (even though Iron Man had its humorous charming side). Seth Rogen once again hits the screen as the goofy lovable lead character but this time he's joined by James Franco who turns in his most entertaining performance to date as the constantly high easy-going Saul. The whole movie is chock full of gags and whether you're a stoner or not chances are (if you have a sense of humor) you'll enjoy watching these misfits make some of the silliest, most cliched decisions on earth that simply DO NOT WORK in the land of reality and being blazed simply encourages them to commit these idiotic acts. Something that DID really surprise me was the level of violence in the film, which at times is a bit excessive but usually a gag follows shortly after to eliminate the weirdness of gratuitous violence overshadowing comedy. Overall, this is a VERY enjoyable movie with an endearing quality about it, watching the two leads (both goofballs) converse and slowly become pals is poetry in motion. Highly recommended......and a warning, you may get the munchies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MasonW.Aug 11, 2008
I've never smoked pot in my life, but i LOVED this movie. The last scene will go down as a classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CarlN.Aug 10, 2008
Critics like M. Phillips complain about the excessive violence in the second half of the movie. But I found myself laughing through the second half because the violence is stoner movie excessive and improbable. It is more in the spirit of 3 Critics like M. Phillips complain about the excessive violence in the second half of the movie. But I found myself laughing through the second half because the violence is stoner movie excessive and improbable. It is more in the spirit of 3 Stooges violence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ClarkWAug 10, 2008
Another Rogen classic. James Franco is absolutely golden in this movie. It is neat to see that Rogen, the best comedic actor today, can make the bridge to action along with comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
UrbanoS.Aug 12, 2008
The movie showed an incredibly accurate depiction of euphoria at it's best. It was truly a hilarious adventure that actually didn't steal any of Superbad's originality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JobC.Aug 22, 2008
Funniest movie I've seen in a VERY long time. Probably my favorite put out by the Apatow gang!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanD.Aug 23, 2008
An instant classic, I hate slapstick, but this so well done, I was laughing until I couldn't breath the whole through. I don't know why this got so low scores, the whole theator was going crazy when I saw it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanielC.Aug 24, 2008
This is a solid stoner flick, but seemed to drag on slightly at the end. I would give the edge to Forgetting Sarah Marshall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MathieuR.Aug 25, 2008
Wow!! This movie is a masterpiece! Make sure to smoke some good weed before going watch this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AshlyE.Aug 27, 2008
If you take away the weed its still a pretty good movie, although the weed makes the movie.. i love that the ending took so long because really how long do you think it would take a bunch of pot heads to fight to the death?? Awhile!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlfredJ.Aug 4, 2008
New York Magazine is off their rockers. This movie is a classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TylerG.Aug 6, 2008
Very very hilarious and action packed. Lengthy, but that isn't a complaint from me. Danny McBrides breakout performance, Franco's Tour De Force, Rogen's normal hilarity. Everything about this movie is great. Must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ScottT.Aug 7, 2008
To be honest, I thought it could have been a lot better. Rogen and Franco were great, but the rest of the characters were pretty one-dimensional. They only served to set up the violence, which I feel was completely unnecessary. Still, there To be honest, I thought it could have been a lot better. Rogen and Franco were great, but the rest of the characters were pretty one-dimensional. They only served to set up the violence, which I feel was completely unnecessary. Still, there were some great laughs, but I wish I could have seen more smoking & adventure than what this movie calls 'action'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertC.Aug 7, 2008
Fu*k these critics. I can't believe they are giving this crappy reviews. I thought it was an awesome movie and I wasn't even High, although many in the audience were. Not quite as good as superbad but definitely a hilarious comedy Fu*k these critics. I can't believe they are giving this crappy reviews. I thought it was an awesome movie and I wasn't even High, although many in the audience were. Not quite as good as superbad but definitely a hilarious comedy worth watching multiple times like superbad and grandma's boy. sorry if the critics are retarded and didn't think it had enough action... it was a comedy first with action in it. Even the action is awesome whiles the comedy stand on top. I say definitely a B+ to A-. It's the Shizznit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanTJan 18, 2009
One of the funniest films I've seen in years - I laughed so much at some sight gags and fight scenes I missed the next two minutes of dialogue
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JaneA.Jan 25, 2009
For a young comedy I have to say it had me laughing. James Franco, I believe, surprised everyone in his newly comical role, and Seth Rogen appealed in his usual dopey yet hillarious role. All around a good laugh when most needed, and For a young comedy I have to say it had me laughing. James Franco, I believe, surprised everyone in his newly comical role, and Seth Rogen appealed in his usual dopey yet hillarious role. All around a good laugh when most needed, and possibly only better with some mary jane. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LiefS.Jan 6, 2009
An almost perfect comedy; the new wave cheech and chong and todays "half baked". However I was looking at the reviews and I honestly think that the people that didn't like it have probably never smoked which I dont recommend. It's An almost perfect comedy; the new wave cheech and chong and todays "half baked". However I was looking at the reviews and I honestly think that the people that didn't like it have probably never smoked which I dont recommend. It's like going to see old school during a prohibition; you just wont get it fully Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickR.Jan 7, 2009
The humour in this movie can be pretty subtle, but once you pick up on the feel of the film, it becomes a comedy on a separate level from other comedies. It makes you feel good, the characters are very lovable (I give particular kudos to The humour in this movie can be pretty subtle, but once you pick up on the feel of the film, it becomes a comedy on a separate level from other comedies. It makes you feel good, the characters are very lovable (I give particular kudos to Franco, whose character is one of the most likable I have seen in a long time). You have to get it to like it, but once you do this film lands a special place in your heart. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DouglasA.Feb 3, 2009
A great movie if you have a positive mental association with marijuana. A funny movie if you are neutral to the topic. Probably a poor choice if you disdain hippies and drug use. Mostly realistic but a hair corny or unrealistic at a couple points.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MayQ.Apr 10, 2009
I don't smoke (does that matter?), I particularly don't like stoner movies, and I never liked any of the Cheech & Chong movies (sorry C&C fans!), so I watched this movie with the notion that it would flat out suck. Guess what? I I don't smoke (does that matter?), I particularly don't like stoner movies, and I never liked any of the Cheech & Chong movies (sorry C&C fans!), so I watched this movie with the notion that it would flat out suck. Guess what? I thoroughly enjoyed it. Rogen was somewhat dull, and I would've liked to see someone else play his role, but Franco played his part perfectly. Some lines were so random and ridiculous that I couldn't help but to think if the writers were high when writing the script. There were some parts that kind of dragged and were completely over the top, but I still liked it nonetheless. All in all, a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LukaszC.Jul 19, 2009
Its a good comedy movie allthough a little to bit on the ... drug side . I particularly didn't like the stuff with the high school girlfriend . But the rest was funny and decent. Seth Rogen and James Franco really do a great movie Its a good comedy movie allthough a little to bit on the ... drug side . I particularly didn't like the stuff with the high school girlfriend . But the rest was funny and decent. Seth Rogen and James Franco really do a great movie couple and i hope they will make maybe a sequel to this film ... it would be awesome . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
F.S.Sep 27, 2009
I have no idea what happened. I was stoned when i watched it. What an experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanGJun 12, 2010
Probably my favorite Apatow movie. This movie is awesome!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NateH.Aug 12, 2008
possibly the best stoner movie i have ever seen. subtract the violence and its my life. Having been in the shoes of both Dale and Sal i can understand where they are coming from. Smoking before this movie is a good idea but as Rogen writes possibly the best stoner movie i have ever seen. subtract the violence and its my life. Having been in the shoes of both Dale and Sal i can understand where they are coming from. Smoking before this movie is a good idea but as Rogen writes "it makes food taste better and music sound better" and movies funnier. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JaredR.Aug 14, 2008
One of the better Apatow flims, not quite Knocked Up though. I don't remember watching violence and laughing so much. I felt a little gulity. Franco does for ambitious action-stoner films as Ledger did for comic book villians. As did One of the better Apatow flims, not quite Knocked Up though. I don't remember watching violence and laughing so much. I felt a little gulity. Franco does for ambitious action-stoner films as Ledger did for comic book villians. As did newcomer Danny R. McBride, who wasn't exactly sure on who's side to be on. And to get the best up and coming American director in Green(All The Real Girls, George Washington), was a pleasent surprise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ZaneW.Aug 15, 2008
I'm not like most people. i cant say superbad was in anyway a good movie , and i only sort of enjoyed knocked up. I guess i just dont find drawings of penises or extreme profanity as the key to comedy. but this......... ths is I'm not like most people. i cant say superbad was in anyway a good movie , and i only sort of enjoyed knocked up. I guess i just dont find drawings of penises or extreme profanity as the key to comedy. but this......... ths is different. There is no jonah hill in this movie yelling things i dont want to hear every time im about to laugh. just a very convincing, lovable james franco. Seth Rogen does have a tendency of playing socially retarded jewish stoners in every movie, but in this film, he does it on a much less exagerrated note, thoughfully giving franco the well deserved spotlight. this movie obviously wasn't aiming for realism (One character survives five bullet wounds and an explosion), but the hand to hand combat scenes are funny and somewhat relatable, who hasn't used there dust vaccum as a weapon? Yes i will agree the " action" is mostly boring and caused the movie to slow dowm=n in some parts, but this movie is about comedy, and the sweet joy of watching awkward aquaintances become best friends. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DreJ.Aug 16, 2008
This movie was really funny. An all around good buddy action movie that both sober and stoners can enjoy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IngridBAug 17, 2008
Wow. I can not begin to explain the hilarity of this movie. I was sitting in the theater, laughing so hard that tears were rolling down my cheeks. I have always been a huge fan of Seth Rogen and Judd Apatow and have also liked some of the Wow. I can not begin to explain the hilarity of this movie. I was sitting in the theater, laughing so hard that tears were rolling down my cheeks. I have always been a huge fan of Seth Rogen and Judd Apatow and have also liked some of the other members of the cast. Of course this is for people who have a more...immature..sense of humor. Either way, i enjoyed this movie. If you enjoyed movies such as 40 year old virgin, knocked up, superbad, etc, you will more than likely enjoy this. I recommend watching it right away! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyC.Aug 17, 2008
Funniest movie I've seen in weeks, since Tropic Thunder. both equally funny movies for different reasons. Red is the sh*t!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MilojonesAug 18, 2008
This was a great success!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkoT.Aug 18, 2008
Awesomely hilarious movie. From a post-modern analytical perspective, the film manages to frame the exploits of the proletariat in terms of comradeship and unbridled desire. Pineapple Express effortlessly manages to combine the mundane Awesomely hilarious movie. From a post-modern analytical perspective, the film manages to frame the exploits of the proletariat in terms of comradeship and unbridled desire. Pineapple Express effortlessly manages to combine the mundane existence of its protagonists with a over-reaching moral message derived from the Old Testaments. A thrilling ride into the abyss of reality. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PierreTalentShowAug 18, 2008
A decently comical movie...way better than Knocked Up and Katharine Heigl's stupid, expressionless acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MiloB.Aug 18, 2008
I love this film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillC.Aug 22, 2008
Like all of Seth Rogan's work , this film delivers on what it promises. Not too serious /factual , just a funny film.Your having a good enough timewatching that the way over the top stunts and fights are never an issue.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AshtonY.Aug 31, 2008
Made me laugh, more than once, J. Franco was great as a stoner and the first half of the movie had me in stiches. Glad i saw it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayHDec 27, 2008
It's a little slow to get going, but once it does, it's great. Fun performances, great supporting cast. Very entertaining and wild thriller. Unpredictable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Bullet97Jan 29, 2011
Before I watched this, I thouht it was just a stupid stoner comedy. Well, technically it is that. But it manages to be awesome at the same time. Pineapple Express is easily one of the best comedies I've seen in years. The acting is great,Before I watched this, I thouht it was just a stupid stoner comedy. Well, technically it is that. But it manages to be awesome at the same time. Pineapple Express is easily one of the best comedies I've seen in years. The acting is great, especially from James Franco, the writing is hilarious, and the action is awesome! Overall, this is an epic comedy that will make your face hurt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
justbemeDec 5, 2010
Good characters, easy following plot and just absolutely hilarious jokes. You just HAVE to love Seth Rogen and James Franco! I recommend this to people who enjoy stoner films.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
7
tonyGreenJan 7, 2011
Good fun. You don't have to be stoned to enjoy this particular stoner flick (tho it might help). Several really good gags and a really sweet relationship between the principle characters. Although not actually directed by Judd Apatow, thisGood fun. You don't have to be stoned to enjoy this particular stoner flick (tho it might help). Several really good gags and a really sweet relationship between the principle characters. Although not actually directed by Judd Apatow, this particular movie shares the same tone: some content may offend but the overall sweet nature of the storytelling wins out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JacobOct 24, 2014
Pineapple Express is really funny. A lot of the humor comes from Seth Rogan who does a great job with the material he’s given especially when he has to shout and overreact. James Franco is surprisingly funny too as the drug dealer and him andPineapple Express is really funny. A lot of the humor comes from Seth Rogan who does a great job with the material he’s given especially when he has to shout and overreact. James Franco is surprisingly funny too as the drug dealer and him and Rogan have good chemistry together. I also enjoyed the other characters such as the cops. The best humor for me came whenever the film got really raunchy especially during the fight scenes, which were always really violent and gorey. If I were to criticize the film though there were a few isseus I had. Red wasn’t in the movie a lot but that’s more the poster leading me to believe he would play a bigger role in the film than he actually did. Also, some scenes in the movie dragged and were not that funny and at other times the humor got a little too stupid for my tastes. The film also does the annoying cliché where two friends get into an argument for no reason and then break up, which is annoying not only because of how out of nowhere the argument is but because you know what is going to happen they will mope and dope and then they’ll get back together. Finally, the film was a little too similar to Evan Goldberg’s Superbad in that it features two guys who get into a jam involving them on a crazy adventure and on the run form the police, there is a side plot involving one or more hilarious police characters, police cars get destroyed, the climax features one character carrying another away from a building and there is emphasis on something that is considered wrong with Superbad’s being underage sex and Pineapple Express’ being marijuana. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerFeb 14, 2011
Pineapple Express is a movie I didn't expect much from but ultimately turned into a movie I really enjoyed, it's a HILARIOUS movie about a stoner who witnessed a murder, now and him and his dealer are on the run, if you like comedies or SethPineapple Express is a movie I didn't expect much from but ultimately turned into a movie I really enjoyed, it's a HILARIOUS movie about a stoner who witnessed a murder, now and him and his dealer are on the run, if you like comedies or Seth Rogen you'll love this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
thecurberMay 23, 2011
like a grandparent you haven't seen in a while, pineapple express rambles on and on too long without anything let alone amusing get absorbed into your hearing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lovemusicMay 21, 2011
I LOVE THIS MOVIE IT WAS SO FUNNY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! james franco and danny mcbride and craig robertson were hilarious.. this is what comedy is all about. but the ending is bloody as hell. great script. funny lines. great movie. iI LOVE THIS MOVIE IT WAS SO FUNNY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! james franco and danny mcbride and craig robertson were hilarious.. this is what comedy is all about. but the ending is bloody as hell. great script. funny lines. great movie. i love it!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BloodfrogJul 20, 2011
Good kind of humor. Somewhere bit repeated ... but it's really crazy comedy. I don't want spoilering, so I just said: I'f you are for legalize 'concentrate fun', you should like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
chicagopianoOct 4, 2011
A different plot from the norm of stoner films it is still nothing special but this film has a ton of funny moments and you will enjoy it if you like comedy, stoner films or if you are a stoner
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFAug 6, 2013
The genius but absurdity that comes with Seth Rogan and Evan Goldberg is now a welcome relief to the cinema, breathing life into buddy movies and creating one of the funniest drug-related films in recent memory.
Seth Rogan plays Dale, who
The genius but absurdity that comes with Seth Rogan and Evan Goldberg is now a welcome relief to the cinema, breathing life into buddy movies and creating one of the funniest drug-related films in recent memory.
Seth Rogan plays Dale, who teams up with his drug dealer pal Saul, played by James Franco, who puts a very new and hilarious performance as the unorthodox dealer, who must go on the run with Dale after Dale witnesses a murder, a simple premise, with plenty of drug use, realistic and observational comedy where the humour borders on obscene and absurd. While the plot does offer serious turns in tone, it's the 'bromance" and chemistry between Franco and Rogen that keeps the film ticking on, with the usual suspects involved, gunfights, drug war and Seth Rogan using references to other films and celebrities to defuse a serious situation. The title is where the trouble of the film starts, a rare form of marajuana that Saul gets his hands on, but manages to reach Ted (Gary Cole), a dangerous man working with a corrupt cop Where the film truly shows strength is its visual stimuli and situations it creates for our characters to seize the opportunity to make us laugh, smashing a guys head into a wall, putting the same person through his own sink, a dealer who needs to put on hip hop music to get into his dealing 'zone', but turns it back to soulful music when his buyers have left.
If people aren't satisfied from the drug abuse angle, because lets face it these guys are high for the most part of the film, they should be satisfied with the comedy on offer, its nice to see the diversity that Franco has to offer, and also how he can fit into the Seth Rogan 'friend' routine, where these guys just talk to each other as if they aren't filming, but just sitting having a drink. Also making a hilarious turn is Danny McBride, who simply wants to have a group of pals to hang out with, its a clever way to make the film more approachable and relatable in hilarious fashion.
One of the most irreverent but bang on funny films of its time, counting to parody many films of the genre but managing to use its own wit against them.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
spadenxDec 20, 2011
It started good for about the first half of the movie then it gets really stupid and generic and it loses all the things that made it good rather quickly. It was ok but still no where near as good as it could have been.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobOct 25, 2012
It's hilarious from start to finish and easily one of the best comedies of the year, Easily a top 5 stoner comedy as well. I honestly can not see how people hate this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MaryWarner1995May 29, 2012
Great Movie for Stoners. I can't tell if it's good for people who are not smoking pot. I think the movie got some great jokes and funny characters ( especially Saul and Red)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleAug 19, 2016
I am certainly no stoner, but Pineapple Express is hysterical. Off-the-wall, odd, absurd, and delightful, Pineapple Express is an over-the-top stoner comedy with on point comedy, comedic timing, and great acting from James Franco. FromI am certainly no stoner, but Pineapple Express is hysterical. Off-the-wall, odd, absurd, and delightful, Pineapple Express is an over-the-top stoner comedy with on point comedy, comedic timing, and great acting from James Franco. From beginning to end, the film is an absolute riot. I typically detest comedy, but this one worked perfectly. The cast had great chemistry with one another and though the characters, plot, and film are absolutely the dumbest I have seen in a while, the energy and aesthetic of the film are undeniably infectious. James Franco turns in a characteristically charismatic performance and really steals the show as a drug dealer who is absolutely hysterical. He has phenomenal one-liners and comedic timing that leave you in stitches repeatedly, though the cast does. I never expected to actually come away liking this film. Yet, here I am. Pineapple Express is an absolute riot with a solid plot, likeable characters, and terrific comedy writing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
Killer funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kylerawksDec 25, 2012
Along with extreme action, this movie is hilariously funny and deserves to be liked. Why else am i writing reviews for good movies. If you like comedy and action/violence, this is the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Jul 9, 2015
The David Gordon Green directed "Pineapple Express" tells the story of Dale Denton (Rogen) and Saul Silver (Franco), two pot-smoking friends who end up becoming deeply involved with a gang ruthless drug dealers. Now, I had always heardThe David Gordon Green directed "Pineapple Express" tells the story of Dale Denton (Rogen) and Saul Silver (Franco), two pot-smoking friends who end up becoming deeply involved with a gang ruthless drug dealers. Now, I had always heard "Pineapple Express" was a brilliant blend of genres, and that's what it is - a great stoner comedy that successfully blends buddy-action elements into it's story. The script was hilarious, as it's written by Seth Rogen himself and fellow successful screenwriter Evan Goldberg. The comedic elements written into said script ,although low-brow and often dark, came off as very breezy and ended up being one of the key factors of appeal for the film. Though the best part about the film, for me, was the really believable chemistry between James Franco and Seth Rogen. The two have worked together before on the cult television series "Freaks And Geeks", and their real-life friendship transfers very beautifully on film. Surprisingly enough, the movie also featured a sufficient amount of thrills and action - especially towards the end. Overall, I found "Pineapple Express" to be a delightfully funny buddy-stoner-action-comedy that brought the laughs and surprises in shovelfuls. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
python2000Aug 16, 2013
Not as good as Superbad but a very funny film no doubt. The plot is surprisingly clever and very well acted especially by James Franco, Seth Rogen is in places irritating but not until the last 30 minutes. Pineapple Express is a good film toNot as good as Superbad but a very funny film no doubt. The plot is surprisingly clever and very well acted especially by James Franco, Seth Rogen is in places irritating but not until the last 30 minutes. Pineapple Express is a good film to watch if smoking drugs doesn't bother you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
kevinhooksJan 20, 2013
Seth Rogen and James Franco create a dynamic duo of hilarity in "Pineapple Express". The cast of this riot of comedy seemed to have enjoyed themselves, which in terms made makes me enjoy the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TrilobiteGOct 10, 2015
Pineapple Express weaves a pretty cliché heist and hit and run tale, but it's pitch perfect physical humour and comedy from weed and bromance is what makes this movie good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MereopinionsMar 11, 2013
Obviously not for everyone especially young children. Contains strong language, drug use, and sexual references but if this does not bother you you can see the well written and well acted characters and very wonderfully thought-out humor thatObviously not for everyone especially young children. Contains strong language, drug use, and sexual references but if this does not bother you you can see the well written and well acted characters and very wonderfully thought-out humor that make this film a must see for comedy fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Enforcer122Jun 15, 2013
One of my favorite stoner movies of all time! Absolutely hilarious regardless if you're high or not, Seth Rogen and James Franco compliment each other perfectly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Pineapple Express is blast.
From start to finish Pineapple Express is filled with raunchy humor and great dialogue. There are moments with great action and overall it is a very solid R rated comedy that dips its toes in a little bit of everything.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PrincethadonMar 3, 2014
If you like action comedies this is your movie. And if you also like stoner movies than this is definitely your movie. It will probably keep you laughing the whole time. James Franco is so awesome in this movie. So I give this movie a 9 outIf you like action comedies this is your movie. And if you also like stoner movies than this is definitely your movie. It will probably keep you laughing the whole time. James Franco is so awesome in this movie. So I give this movie a 9 out of 10. Thanks for reading. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeFeb 21, 2016
The movie was funny, not bad acted at all and really entertaining. What else would you ask for from a stoner comedy starring Seth Rogen and James Franco?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WadeusAug 9, 2014
THIS IS MY FAVOURITE MOVIE OF ALL TIME.
Saul is my favourite character of all time and the final battle sequence is my sequence of all time. 10/10 would recommend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
aadityamudharApr 19, 2016
The crowd at the premier was just the sort to insinuate a great experience with this movie. Wild and outrageous, Pineapple Express delivers an excitable tale filled with laughs and giggles. You feel for the characters, and the developmentThe crowd at the premier was just the sort to insinuate a great experience with this movie. Wild and outrageous, Pineapple Express delivers an excitable tale filled with laughs and giggles. You feel for the characters, and the development takes this movie from absurdity to laugh-out-loud comedy. It's not perfect, but the flaws are so minute that you quickly forget about them as you watch Denton and Saul move from one hilarious mishap to another. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
choomtabi31May 9, 2016
All time favorite. Watched it for so many times already but the jokes still make me laugh.

Watch it here for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-764-Pineapple-Express
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
avamiller21May 26, 2016
This was more or less the last on the list in order to catch up. And I'm glad I saved one of the best for last.

Watch it online for free: http://www.watchfree.to/watch-2fc-Pineapple-Express-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews