Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 6, 2008
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 326 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
231
Mixed:
61
Negative:
34
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TonyC.Aug 17, 2008
Funniest movie I've seen in weeks, since Tropic Thunder. both equally funny movies for different reasons. Red is the sh*t!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
justbemeDec 5, 2010
Good characters, easy following plot and just absolutely hilarious jokes. You just HAVE to love Seth Rogen and James Franco! I recommend this to people who enjoy stoner films.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
BennyS.Jan 8, 2009
Just an all around, very physical, and insane movie. I am not a big fan of Seth Rogen, but I loved this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanP.Nov 6, 2008
This movie is hilarious! I really reccomend it to anyone, but anyone who likes stoner comedies in particular! Seth Rogen is a comic GOD!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BattajukeS.Jul 8, 2008
From a post-modern analytical perspective, the film manages to frame the exploits of the proletariat in terms of comradeship and unbridled desire. Pineapple Express effortlessly manages to combine the mundane existence of its protagonists From a post-modern analytical perspective, the film manages to frame the exploits of the proletariat in terms of comradeship and unbridled desire. Pineapple Express effortlessly manages to combine the mundane existence of its protagonists with a over-reaching moral message derived from the Old Testaments. A thrilling ride into the abyss of reality. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlecB.Aug 7, 2008
I don't know what was up some of the critics asses rating this movie a 40 for. Of course the few critics who did give it 40's nobody either reads their magazine/newspaper or nobody knows that they exist. A full on action comedy I don't know what was up some of the critics asses rating this movie a 40 for. Of course the few critics who did give it 40's nobody either reads their magazine/newspaper or nobody knows that they exist. A full on action comedy that kept me laughing from start to finish. If you liked Superbad then you will love Pineapple express. Thug Life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricC.Aug 7, 2008
Funniest Movie of The Year!!!!!!!!!! 10+!!!!! Awesome Character's, Awesome Writing, Awesome Comedy!!!!!!! Loved it!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SheaMAug 7, 2008
Most of the negative reviews here are from straight-edge critics who don't appreciate the looseness of the film or closet homosexuals who feel uncomfortable with the movie's hilarious homo-erotic innuendo. If you're not a Most of the negative reviews here are from straight-edge critics who don't appreciate the looseness of the film or closet homosexuals who feel uncomfortable with the movie's hilarious homo-erotic innuendo. If you're not a stiff you'll like this film. if you're cool you'll love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HarrySep 20, 2008
Non stop laughs from beggining to end, whent to the movie and got what i expected. Smoking weed and explosions.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
amApr 24, 2010
This is the funniest movie I've seen this year. Definitely a stoner movie. Watch this and I guarantee it will make you laugh the whole time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnT.Apr 4, 2010
This movie is in my top 5. The first time i saw this movie, I watched it 3 times in a row and laughed non-stop every time. The jokes are side splitting, the action is exciting and funny, and as a casual weed smoker; incredibly realistic script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JBJul 29, 2008
Unbelievably funny! This is what would happen if Half-Baked and Diehard were cut together.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MitchellC.Aug 18, 2008
Pretty good. Loved how they brought in Rosie Perez, and Gary Cole was overqualified for this part. James Franco steals the movie once again, and was phenomenally brilliant. Seth Rogen was good as usual, fo sho'. Danny McBride was great Pretty good. Loved how they brought in Rosie Perez, and Gary Cole was overqualified for this part. James Franco steals the movie once again, and was phenomenally brilliant. Seth Rogen was good as usual, fo sho'. Danny McBride was great in his first Apatow movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TylerH.Aug 3, 2008
The crowd at the premier was just the sort to insinuate a great experience with this movie. Wild and outrageous, Pineapple Express delivers an excitable tale filled with laughs and giggles. You feel for the characters, and the development The crowd at the premier was just the sort to insinuate a great experience with this movie. Wild and outrageous, Pineapple Express delivers an excitable tale filled with laughs and giggles. You feel for the characters, and the development takes this movie from absurdity to laugh-out-loud comedy. It's not perfect, but the flaws are so minute that you quickly forget about them as you watch Denton and Saul move from one hilarious mishap to another. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatrickK.Aug 6, 2008
Needed to be about 15 minutes shorter, but otherwise very entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Aug 6, 2008
Words to Frannie(Meg Ryan) in Jane Campion's unfairly maligned "In the Cut" is what smoking weed means to Dale Denton(Seth Rogen); these disparate labors of love are their passions. Late in the Campion film, the Virginia Woolf scholar Words to Frannie(Meg Ryan) in Jane Campion's unfairly maligned "In the Cut" is what smoking weed means to Dale Denton(Seth Rogen); these disparate labors of love are their passions. Late in the Campion film, the Virginia Woolf scholar literally goes to the lighthouse, a decontextualized lighthouse which is then appropriated for the site of the movie's climax. Relevance to this stoner flick, you ask, from the guy who graced the indie world in 2000 with his Terrence Malick-like "George Washington"(a meditative and lyrical film about Atlantan youth that couldn't be any more different than this Cheech-and-Chong-have-feelings-too farce)? Well, in "Pineapple Express", Dale ends up at a massive greenhouse of cannabis plants and wonders aloud if he's in El Dorado(which is alluded to in "Heart of Darkness", both "To the Lighthouse" and the Joseph Conrad novel are modernist texts). Like the lighthouse in the Campion film, the isolated farmhouse that harbors the drugs have a hallucinatory texture to the narrative. Both "In the Cut" and "Pineapple Express" are thrillers, and if genres have genders, a film that's steeped in action could be characterized as being male in the narrative sense. Unbeknownst to the people who green-lighted the "Meg Ryan's Gone Wild" vehicle that stalled both women's careers, Campion feminized the masculine storyline by rupturing the text with static talk(the dialogue-heavy scenes between Ryan and Jennifer Jason-Leigh), instead of action. "Pineapple Express" subverts the male narrative, too; most pointedly, in the woods, where Dale and Saul(as in the late-Saul Bellow, perhaps?) are incapacitated by their drug-induced state to do anything to advance the plot. Just like Campion(the feminist auteur from Australia who's best known for "The Piano"), this filmmaker isn't afraid of making narrative detours that rebels heartily against story convention, by foregrounding scenes which would be more at home in a "chick-flick"(Rogen, James Franco, and Danny R. McBride aren't afraid to express their feelings like women) than a violent action-thriller, mostly played for laughs. Not only is the film transgressive, but the filmmaker's inclinations, as well. Films such as the aforementioned "George Washington", and "All the Real Girls", were a breath of fresh air because they came out during a time when the bastard children of Quentin Tarantino were at their loudest and brattiest. In "Pineapple Express", the poetry of "Badlands" has been replaced by the poetry slam of the post-modernist "Pulp Fiction". And wouldn't you know it, Red(Danny R. McBride) has a CUT on his lip("In the Cut" is slang for vagina; Dale describes the strain of pot called Pineapple Express, as God's vagina). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Ja'KwanzieBAug 7, 2008
Red is possibly the greatest character since Michael Corleone and Danny McBride deserves the best supporting actor oscar more than Ledger. Would have given this a 10 if not for Bill Hader showing up at the beginning and almost ruining the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HastyManicAug 8, 2008
If you know nothing about this film upon entering the theater, you very likely could never imagine based on the first act how the film would go out in its final one. This is a very funny film with jokes and gags coming from every angle and If you know nothing about this film upon entering the theater, you very likely could never imagine based on the first act how the film would go out in its final one. This is a very funny film with jokes and gags coming from every angle and all sides of the screen. The graphic violence that revs up midway through and comes to full tilt in the final portion of the film will not be enthusiastically hailed by everyone especially because this is a comedy, but stick through to the end and it all comes around. Great fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
OwenAug 9, 2008
Not as good as Superbad, but still very funny, even for me and Iam not a stoner. I will definatly buy this movie when it comes out on Blu-ray.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillKJan 10, 2009
Some funny parts, and again, glad I rented it for $1 through RedBox. It would have gotten a lower score if James Franco wasn't so darn hot! Did you see his pecs bulging?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OlgaS.Jan 8, 2009
A cheerful comedy with fantastic acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EdJan 8, 2009
Anyone that doesnt find this movie funny...I feel bad for you. You should probably start smoking better weed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenT.Feb 9, 2009
One of my favorite movies of 2008....over the top in every area: comedy, action, violence...expect a wild ride...and if you go in expecting a typical comedy you're really in for a ride.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeMAug 11, 2008
This, Iron Man, and The Dark Knight complete the trifecta of "must see" films this summer with The Pineapple Express being the easy going yet action fueled comedy extravaganza of the three (even though Iron Man had its humorous charming This, Iron Man, and The Dark Knight complete the trifecta of "must see" films this summer with The Pineapple Express being the easy going yet action fueled comedy extravaganza of the three (even though Iron Man had its humorous charming side). Seth Rogen once again hits the screen as the goofy lovable lead character but this time he's joined by James Franco who turns in his most entertaining performance to date as the constantly high easy-going Saul. The whole movie is chock full of gags and whether you're a stoner or not chances are (if you have a sense of humor) you'll enjoy watching these misfits make some of the silliest, most cliched decisions on earth that simply DO NOT WORK in the land of reality and being blazed simply encourages them to commit these idiotic acts. Something that DID really surprise me was the level of violence in the film, which at times is a bit excessive but usually a gag follows shortly after to eliminate the weirdness of gratuitous violence overshadowing comedy. Overall, this is a VERY enjoyable movie with an endearing quality about it, watching the two leads (both goofballs) converse and slowly become pals is poetry in motion. Highly recommended......and a warning, you may get the munchies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MasonW.Aug 11, 2008
I've never smoked pot in my life, but i LOVED this movie. The last scene will go down as a classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CarlN.Aug 10, 2008
Critics like M. Phillips complain about the excessive violence in the second half of the movie. But I found myself laughing through the second half because the violence is stoner movie excessive and improbable. It is more in the spirit of 3 Critics like M. Phillips complain about the excessive violence in the second half of the movie. But I found myself laughing through the second half because the violence is stoner movie excessive and improbable. It is more in the spirit of 3 Stooges violence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ClarkWAug 10, 2008
Another Rogen classic. James Franco is absolutely golden in this movie. It is neat to see that Rogen, the best comedic actor today, can make the bridge to action along with comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
UrbanoS.Aug 12, 2008
The movie showed an incredibly accurate depiction of euphoria at it's best. It was truly a hilarious adventure that actually didn't steal any of Superbad's originality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JobC.Aug 22, 2008
Funniest movie I've seen in a VERY long time. Probably my favorite put out by the Apatow gang!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanD.Aug 23, 2008
An instant classic, I hate slapstick, but this so well done, I was laughing until I couldn't breath the whole through. I don't know why this got so low scores, the whole theator was going crazy when I saw it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful