Miramax Films | Release Date: December 25, 2002
2.9
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 51 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
13
Mixed:
3
Negative:
35
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
GiovanniJan 15, 2006
As a fluent Italian I find it bewildering that some have suggested that hearing the Italian version makes a significant difference ... Benigni's constant yelling was incredibly irritating, the pacing was tortuous, and the neverending As a fluent Italian I find it bewildering that some have suggested that hearing the Italian version makes a significant difference ... Benigni's constant yelling was incredibly irritating, the pacing was tortuous, and the neverending parade of pointless set-pieces made me wonder if anyone ever asked anyone else "why?" during any stage in the planning and editing of this film. This film is a complete and utter failure in so many ways that I was embarrassed for its set designer and cinematographer ... that their incredible work went to such a narcissistic waste of time and money. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
Anti-PinocchioJul 24, 2003
This stale cow pie of a movie is so bad, SO BAD, SOOOO BAAAAAD, that it is totally and completely unwatchable.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
Iky009Jan 3, 2014
Horrível até demais, acho que as crianças bobinhas adoraram essa peça rídicula mal feita e sem a mínima noção de carácter simplesmente um estrago para as telas.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
MartinB.Jan 3, 2003
Pinocchio achieved something i think totally impossible : this movie beat swept away and xxx for the worst movie of 2002!!!! miramax, shame on you for spending 60 million dollars on this kitsch horror!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BuddyS.Sep 4, 2005
Wretchedly dubbed, wretchedly acted, featuring a little Italian nutjob.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DaveC.Nov 2, 2003
Three points of the beautiful cinematography and art direction. It's a pity that this film is otherwise a load of turd.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TeeJan 2, 2003
The WORST movie ever. If you liked this, I pray for you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
WeepstahJan 3, 2003
Our 7 year old found the hanging scene a bit disturbing, to say the least. After watching Roberto prance around and generally act like an idiot for 30 minutes, that was the coup de grace. We got our money back, no arguments, from the theatre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrianH.Jan 6, 2003
It made my face hurt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LayneJan 3, 2004
This movie is so bad it made me livid. Benigni actually assembled a team of actors to help guide this movie to the pits of horrific movie tragedies? This film is a trainwreck, and Benigni is so annoying and hyper-active that he will tire(if This movie is so bad it made me livid. Benigni actually assembled a team of actors to help guide this movie to the pits of horrific movie tragedies? This film is a trainwreck, and Benigni is so annoying and hyper-active that he will tire(if not scare) the crap out of you. He might as well have made a home movie of himself in which he bounced around and acted like an idiot. That is basically what this film is, an idiot party titled Pinocchio. What Miramax saw in this I will never know. It is charmless and appalling. I think I might go watch The Cat in the Hat again so I can heap it with praises: everything it did better than Pinocchio will get a grande round of applause, but that would mean the theatre manager would have to throw me out. They don't like you to clap through an entire movie. The thing that annoys me most is that Italian audiences adore this film! My brother and sister watched this movie and were bored to tears! To go from Life is Beautiful to this is an all time low. People will forever remember Roberto Benigni as the jerk who made this epic disaster. It is so corrupt, its stupidness seems deliberate and intentional, almost as if it wanted to torture its viewers. It did, and that is the only credit it will ever recieve. Pathetic excuse for a movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DieR.Sep 4, 2005
Roberto Benigni must be stopped.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TrixieJ.Jan 11, 2003
OH-MY-GOD!!! How can they make such a dumb movie? Its dubbed, Meyer's voice is grating,and its just really,really,really dumb. Call it a ripoff. I WANT MY $$ BACK!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BobH.Mar 12, 2003
This movie doesn't really know it's audience. It's too scary and creepy for kids and it's too simplistic and stupid for adults to enjoy. Let's just hope that Roberto Benigni NEVER does anything like this again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MauricioB.Dec 5, 2007
Too stupid, large and silly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DanK.Dec 28, 2002
Hideously unentertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TheGenesisOfGilbertMulroneycakesJul 15, 2003
Oh, no no no no no no no no no no. No, no no no no. This is not right. This is not right at all. Who told you this was right? Because it's NOT. Bob H hit the nail: the kids'll find it too scary, the adults will find it too god-damn Oh, no no no no no no no no no no. No, no no no no. This is not right. This is not right at all. Who told you this was right? Because it's NOT. Bob H hit the nail: the kids'll find it too scary, the adults will find it too god-damn AWFUL. "Life Is Beautiful", despite the uncomfortability of its subject matter, was a good film. This is Bengini at his worst, ever. At least I hope so; if he manages to get any worse than this, it'll probably signify the apocalypse. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BobDec 11, 2007
One word review: SUCKS.
0 of 0 users found this helpful