Pinocchio

User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 50
  2. Negative: 34 out of 50

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Giovanni
    Jan 15, 2006
    1
    As a fluent Italian I find it bewildering that some have suggested that hearing the Italian version makes a significant difference ... Benigni's constant yelling was incredibly irritating, the pacing was tortuous, and the neverending parade of pointless set-pieces made me wonder if anyone ever asked anyone else "why?" during any stage in the planning and editing of this film. This As a fluent Italian I find it bewildering that some have suggested that hearing the Italian version makes a significant difference ... Benigni's constant yelling was incredibly irritating, the pacing was tortuous, and the neverending parade of pointless set-pieces made me wonder if anyone ever asked anyone else "why?" during any stage in the planning and editing of this film. This film is a complete and utter failure in so many ways that I was embarrassed for its set designer and cinematographer ... that their incredible work went to such a narcissistic waste of time and money. Expand
  2. Anti-Pinocchio
    Jul 24, 2003
    0
    This stale cow pie of a movie is so bad, SO BAD, SOOOO BAAAAAD, that it is totally and completely unwatchable.
  3. Jan 3, 2014
    0
    Horrível até demais, acho que as crianças bobinhas adoraram essa peça rídicula mal feita e sem a mínima noção de carácter simplesmente um estrago para as telas.
  4. MartinB.
    Jan 3, 2003
    0
    Pinocchio achieved something i think totally impossible : this movie beat swept away and xxx for the worst movie of 2002!!!! miramax, shame on you for spending 60 million dollars on this kitsch horror!!!
  5. BuddyS.
    Sep 4, 2005
    0
    Wretchedly dubbed, wretchedly acted, featuring a little Italian nutjob.
  6. DaveC.
    Nov 2, 2003
    3
    Three points of the beautiful cinematography and art direction. It's a pity that this film is otherwise a load of turd.
  7. Tee
    Jan 2, 2003
    0
    The WORST movie ever. If you liked this, I pray for you.
  8. Weepstah
    Jan 3, 2003
    0
    Our 7 year old found the hanging scene a bit disturbing, to say the least. After watching Roberto prance around and generally act like an idiot for 30 minutes, that was the coup de grace. We got our money back, no arguments, from the theatre.
  9. BrianH.
    Jan 6, 2003
    0
    It made my face hurt.
  10. Layne
    Jan 3, 2004
    0
    This movie is so bad it made me livid. Benigni actually assembled a team of actors to help guide this movie to the pits of horrific movie tragedies? This film is a trainwreck, and Benigni is so annoying and hyper-active that he will tire(if not scare) the crap out of you. He might as well have made a home movie of himself in which he bounced around and acted like an idiot. That is This movie is so bad it made me livid. Benigni actually assembled a team of actors to help guide this movie to the pits of horrific movie tragedies? This film is a trainwreck, and Benigni is so annoying and hyper-active that he will tire(if not scare) the crap out of you. He might as well have made a home movie of himself in which he bounced around and acted like an idiot. That is basically what this film is, an idiot party titled Pinocchio. What Miramax saw in this I will never know. It is charmless and appalling. I think I might go watch The Cat in the Hat again so I can heap it with praises: everything it did better than Pinocchio will get a grande round of applause, but that would mean the theatre manager would have to throw me out. They don't like you to clap through an entire movie. The thing that annoys me most is that Italian audiences adore this film! My brother and sister watched this movie and were bored to tears! To go from Life is Beautiful to this is an all time low. People will forever remember Roberto Benigni as the jerk who made this epic disaster. It is so corrupt, its stupidness seems deliberate and intentional, almost as if it wanted to torture its viewers. It did, and that is the only credit it will ever recieve. Pathetic excuse for a movie! Expand
  11. DieR.
    Sep 4, 2005
    0
    Roberto Benigni must be stopped.
  12. TrixieJ.
    Jan 11, 2003
    0
    OH-MY-GOD!!! How can they make such a dumb movie? Its dubbed, Meyer's voice is grating,and its just really,really,really dumb. Call it a ripoff. I WANT MY $$ BACK!!!!
  13. BobH.
    Mar 12, 2003
    1
    This movie doesn't really know it's audience. It's too scary and creepy for kids and it's too simplistic and stupid for adults to enjoy. Let's just hope that Roberto Benigni NEVER does anything like this again.
  14. MauricioB.
    Dec 5, 2007
    1
    Too stupid, large and silly.
  15. DanK.
    Dec 28, 2002
    0
    Hideously unentertaining.
  16. TheGenesisOfGilbertMulroneycakes
    Jul 15, 2003
    0
    Oh, no no no no no no no no no no. No, no no no no. This is not right. This is not right at all. Who told you this was right? Because it's NOT. Bob H hit the nail: the kids'll find it too scary, the adults will find it too god-damn AWFUL. "Life Is Beautiful", despite the uncomfortability of its subject matter, was a good film. This is Bengini at his worst, ever. At least I hope Oh, no no no no no no no no no no. No, no no no no. This is not right. This is not right at all. Who told you this was right? Because it's NOT. Bob H hit the nail: the kids'll find it too scary, the adults will find it too god-damn AWFUL. "Life Is Beautiful", despite the uncomfortability of its subject matter, was a good film. This is Bengini at his worst, ever. At least I hope so; if he manages to get any worse than this, it'll probably signify the apocalypse. Expand
  17. Bob
    Dec 11, 2007
    0
    One word review: SUCKS.
Metascore
11

Overwhelming dislike - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 15
  2. Negative: 13 out of 15
  1. Benigni's Pinocchio is meant to be adorable, but he comes off as less an enchanted puppet than as a harmlessly deranged middle-aged man prancing about in the kind of froufrou cream-colored pantsuit that Dinah Shore retired to her back closet in 1977.
  2. The most bizarre cinematic experience of 2002. So misguided as to be utterly mystifying, this shameless vanity project is almost surreal enough to be entertaining. Almost.
  3. 0
    Loud, crass and full of slapstick humor that the Three Stooges would be ashamed of. And it is almost completely lacking in charm and nuance.