User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 198 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 198

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 21, 2010
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is not a horror film, it is exploitation. Although I'm a fan of 70's and 80's exploitation films, I didn't much care for this one. The various characters are either obnoxious or cardboard placeholders (or both), to begin with, and I could hardly wait for the killing to start. The teen angst/romance subplot was rote and meaningless. Part of what makes the old exploitation movies likeable is a low-budget, unpolished but earnest charm that is missing in this one. And fully the first half of the movie is a plotless "MTV Spring Break" dance party.

    The many, many ways in which people are mutilated in this movie are reminiscent of the still-young torture porn genre more than horror (or black comedy, which some people will insist this movie is). The gratuitous nudity would be funny (and perhaps even titillating) if it were brief and frequent; instead we get long, lingering shots that cause the sort of audience embarrassment that Showgirls once did. These long, lingering shots also refute the argument that the movie is somehow a feminist statement against pornography; this is pornography, if soft core. It really comes down to this: if you think that watching a topless woman's legless torso being dragged up from the lake while you are invited to ogle the corpse's sizable breasts is good entertainment, you'll probably like this movie. Yes, I know some of you will.
    Expand
  2. Feb 21, 2012
    1
    Yeah, I get it... Piranha is meant to parody the "thing in the water" horror genre more than being an actual horror film. But the banner of parody does not excuse you from making a film worth watching. After the one-millionth shot of gyrating twenty-somethings exposing themselves interrupted the already tissue-thin plot, my patience with this monkey business had completely evaporated. By the time the real carnage began and the film gathered some modicum of steam, my mind was already elsewhere and couldn't be bothered to return. When the credits rolled, I realized that I had watched 90 minutes of nothing and a surprisingly good cast had been completely wasted, as well as my time. Not nearly as fun, campy, humorous or exciting as it pretends to be. Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2010
    0
    Anybody else have issues with a film that uses prolonged, gruesome death scenes for laughs? Filmmaking "quality" notwithstanding, when did cheap thrills become so repulsive?
  4. Sep 15, 2011
    0
    Piranha 3-D is a stupid, disappointing, poorly horror film. Honestly, the poster looks better than the movie. Although, I don't hate the actors who were casted in this god-awful film. I just hated there characters. Except a few. Well, when I seen the trailer, I was like, "hell yes!" so, I seen it on cable just a few days ago, and through out the whole film, I was seriously irritated and pissed off. Don't get me wrong, I know what the studio and the writers were trying to do, make a good horror 3-D film that teenagers will love. I didn't love Piranha 3-D. I was totally pissed with the death scenes and the choices that teenagers make in this film. Don't you just hate those movies when you realize there's I don't know when there's thousands of piranhas in the lake. You try your warn innocent lives but they just don't listen. Meh, I just hated this film. I'd rather be eating by a shark then a **** piranha. Seriously, don't rent or buy the dvd, cause your're gonna' realize, you wasted 82 minutes of your life that you'll never get back. You'll probably love it or probably hate it. Hey, if you love gore, nudity, dumb-ass teenagers. Then, hey. Piranha 3-D is a perfect match, for you. Expand
  5. Aug 21, 2010
    2
    Man oh Man, do i miss the days when horror movies actually MADE SENSE. What a mess of a film this is. It simply does not know what it wants to be. At times, its a bad comedy, a terrible horror movie, or even a damn porno flic. This movie will surely satisfy the male psyche, but for moviegoers looking for something thats at least relatable to, avoid this film at all costs. I only have one positive thing going for this film and its the 3D. One last thing, no wonder women think guys are disgusting perverts and their idea is without a doubt proven by this film. Expand
  6. Aug 22, 2010
    2
    I went to this in what I think was the right spirit, expecting no more than a fun, dumb, guilty-pleasure movie. With promises of lots of gore and naked flesh, all in good fun, how bad could it be? Sadly, it was just a complete waste of time. Not scary, not funny, not titillating, not so bad that it's good, just bad. The 3D and cinematography was grindingly awful. Don't believe the publicity about how much care they took to do the 3D properly. They didn't and it's so bad it's a distraction. (James Cameron is right: do it right or don't do it at all.) The only people in the theater who seemed to be having a good time were the ones on screen. It was probably a blast to be in it. To watch it though, uh, no. Expand
  7. Aug 27, 2010
    0
    The only horror I experienced was watching kids at the box office buying tickets to Piranha 3D. This movie is a massive mish-mash mess with no redeeming social value what-so-ever! Shame on you Elizabeth Shue and Eli Roth for participating! Your body of work reflects much better choices than this. You should take your salaries, buy up all the prints and destroy them! A perfect example of Hollywood deceit think; using the trailers to put a positive spin on a piece of celluloid trash! Expand
  8. Sep 1, 2010
    0
    Awful. The acting is terrible, the nudity is completely gratuitous, and Jerry O'Connell may have the most perverted, sexist, and flat out stupid role I have ever seen. The only redeeming qualities of this movie are the fact that they stuck Doc Brown in as a scientist, and the Brittish chick was insanely hot.
  9. Sep 3, 2010
    0
    Are there people enjoying watching a massacre? ... Yes! ... Is it because they have issues??? ... Possibly ... go watch a comedy or something ... it is more healthy! .................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  10. Sep 3, 2010
    4
    A movie so bad it's....bad. I can appreciate the fact that it's trying to be one of the "so-bad-it's-good" type movies such as some of Roger Corman's original work, but the problem is that most audience members that aren't familiar with said types of film will find this boring.
  11. Sep 9, 2010
    0
    I've been inspired to post on Metacritic twice before. A cat-lover, I gave "Drag Me To Hell" (whose protagonist murders her kitten to ward off the gypsy's curse, unsuccessfully it turns out) a 5. I gave "Date Night" a zero since it did not have a single laugh. I hasten to post concerning "Piranha" in the hope that I may deter any additional movie-goers from seeing it. I shamelessly take comments from the critics, often out of their context, to identify exactly what I think about this movie: "sick," "exploitation," "stupefying," "schlock," "disgusting," "sick," "gross-out," "shameless," "trash," "ridiculous," "gratuitous." This movie is mind-numbingly bad. It has no wit, no satire, no point other than to display females in various degrees of undress. If CGI boobs are your thing, "Piranha" has plenty of them for you. It is bad in every way -- plot, acting, script. It has gore, senseless, overwhelming, and near-eternal in duration. Save yourself the price of admission and two hours of your life, and do not go! Expand
  12. Oct 2, 2010
    3
    This movie was boring. It lacked any good suspense. I left this movie feeling like they creators tried to make a comedy, a suspense, and a spoof at the same time and missed on all three. Did not like this movie at all. Some brief scenes with Christopher Llyod and an intriguing conclusion were the only thing that brought this movie out of the murky depths from which it came.
  13. Oct 16, 2010
    2
    I would rate this film a 0 if it didn't have Christopher Lloyd in it. Him aside, this film is complete crap. It just feels like the director thought it would be a 'good laugh' to make a terrible film that doesn't mean anything. The only good thing i heard about this film was that the CGI was great. CGI was only really used for the Piranha's. But to my disappointment, the graphics were actually abysmal. Nowhere near modern standards. Christopher Lloyd is the only good thing this movie has. Expand
  14. Oct 18, 2010
    0
    THIS MOVIE SUCKED! It was the most disappointing film i have ever seen!
    You never got to know the characters in the movie, so in the end when all the naked teenage girls had been eaten by piranhas, you didn't care if the hot guy, thereby the hero, was killed to.
  15. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    This is probably the worst piece of sh*t I have ever saw. There are so many things wrong with it. This is a proof that Hollywood is running out of ideas. This is not a movie, it's porn. There are more douchebags, girls in bikini (in other words, stupid annoying teenagers) then piranhas. I can't believe that I wasted my time watching this. Seriously, if you liked this '' film '', you're a dumbass and you have no brain whatsoever. This movie was made for those guys who love to say '' boobies ''. It's not scary at all, it's not even a horror film. I was actually glad when the piranhas were eating the living sh*t out of those douchebags. I was like '' Piranha all the way ! Teach does teens a lesson. '' It would have been so much funnier if those people were the cast from '' Jersey Shore ''. Yes, I'm a teenager. Yes, I'm a guy. No, I'm not gay. No, I don't have issues. No one is bullying me. My point is, putting half naked girls for almost the entire movie, doesn't not make a proper film. It's exploitation and exaggerated. This would have been a good porno film. And guess what ! There will be an OTHER piranha movie. Guess what the title is. It will be called '' Piranha 3DD ''. ARE YOU KIDDING ME ?! I can't believe that some people would what to see that. It took no thoughts to came up with a title like that. Thank you America , for giving us sh*tty movies like this. NO wonder there are so many douchebags and stupid people in the world. I was hoping for something like '' Jaws ''. But I was dead wrong. Plus, the sheriffs in this movie are so dumb. They tried to kill the piranhas with shotguns. Plus, the piranhas were seen approximately 20 minutes in the whole movie. The plot was terrible and cliche (a rejected guy who likes a girl, and all that crap). The characters were annoying and forgettable. You should have NO reason to see this movie, unless you are a typical teenager who listens to '' Jersey Shore ''. Expand
  16. Nov 15, 2010
    3
    Nice girls, but there´s nothing more. At least, it could be funny. But it wasn´t. So much money, so much time, wasted on such a crap. Is there a need to see it in 3D?
  17. Jan 11, 2011
    3
    PIRANHA
    I did not know what I had to think when I was leaving the theater, after watching thiz movie. It is just like has been watching two different movies all at once, one is about hungry killer fish, and the other one is about naked sexy girls. From the beginning, I did not expect much on thiz no-need remake. But the result, the movie has not only felt into B-class movie, but thiz one
    is definitely what I call C-class movie. There is nothing new and every single aspect is lack of creativity. It is all about gore and nudity with mediocre Actors attached, such as: Elisabeth Shue, Ving Rhames, Christopher Lloyd, Steven R. McQueen and MY SECRET IDENTITY (1988-1991) Star, Jerry O Connell, plus cameo appearances from: Eli Roth and Richard Dreyfuss. Nobody shines on thiz movie, especially O Connell who is extremely annoying. The movie directed by Gore Specialist and French Director, Alexandre Aja (MIRRORS (2008) and the remake of THE HILLS HAVE EYES (2006)). The story is completely awful. I did not see anything, except some groups of people were partying and eventually eating by fish. It is so terrible, everything was rip-off from thiz kind of legendary movies, like: JAWSquadrilogy (1975-1987) and even the original PIRANHA (1978). Do not take your children to watch thiz one. But like I said before,We need bad movie (like thiz), to make good movie looks good.


    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  18. May 29, 2011
    3
    What a annoying movie. In reality even can't call to this a remake of "Piranhas", it's like compare "Dawn of the Dead" with "Dawn of the Dead (1979)", after all they haven't nothing in commom with exception of zombies and shopping. These here only has the piranhas. And it sucks IMO.
  19. Mar 12, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Garbage. This is one of those SyFy monster movies ala Mega Python vs. Gatoroid but with a much larger budget. It is also a direct Jaws rip-off and steals all of its other scenes from other decent horror films. There is Richard Dreyfuss in a cameo roll singing "Show me the way to go home", the poster has a girl on top of the water with a bunch of piranhas right below her, and there is also the inevitable argument that "we cannot close the beach now, this community needs the money!" Remember how Samuel L. Jackson died in Deep Blue Sea? That method has returned. The lead actor is a newbie with the name Steven R. McQueen, another rip-off. It was good to see Elizabeth Shue, Ving Rhames, and Christopher Lloyd getting work again, but I think there is a reason you do not see Jerry O'Connell very much anymore, he even sucks in this movie. It also has a pair of children who just yell and scream the whole time; that makes for pleasant movie watching. My wife came home while I was watching this and joined me around the mid-point of it when the fish really get going. She hates horror movies, but I tried to explain this was not a horror movie. This is really making fun of horror movies and trying to use that tactic to make some money for itself. The fish naturally choose spring break to start wreaking havoc and really, there was some sort of morbid satisfaction watching a bunch of frat boys and sororstitutes getting eaten alive by piranhas. Lessons learned: you can kill a piranha with a shotgun (Ving Rhames), you can tase one to death (Elizabeth Shue), you can transform into a badass hero trying to save lives when you were just a nerdy seismologist diver a minute before (Adam Scott), and your silicone implants float to the surface after piranhas eat your boobs. Expand
  20. Jul 30, 2011
    4
    I watched this movie normally and I hope the 3D version made the movie a whole lot better as this was dire. The CGI was awful, the acting was worst and the movie seemed to go nowhere with characters appearing and dying without any development. It was billed as a comedy horror but I wasn't laughing!!
  21. May 23, 2012
    1
    Honestly, I didn't like the movie. But I have to give it credit for its "Piranha are eating human body parts when humans swim in the water" concept. At first, I thought that the movie will be superb. But when I saw it, it just had lackluster acting, a terrible plot and overreacted approach of the characters to a certain scene. It was a bad movie and I agree with some users that the poster looks better than the movie itself. So, don't expect too many great things about the movie just because of its poster because you don't know whether the actual movie is great...... Expand
  22. Aug 18, 2012
    4
    Not a good movie, but also is not all bad, it is reasonable, I thought the end was kind of unnecessary and inconsistent with the rest of the film, very little blood to the story, but manages to shock those who watched it and it counts a lot for a movie of terror.
  23. Jun 24, 2012
    3
    This movie is NOT WORTH IT... You only live once, don't waste your precious time... I get nothing from this, is purely wasting my time... I crack my blu ray disc and split it in two and then throw it away...
  24. May 9, 2013
    3
    This movie was trash! I know sex sells but try to earn your money when making a movie. If this was trying to be the next Jaws it failed hardcore. I didn`t find it scare or funny. Watch this movie only if you have no other options. (You have been warned)
  25. Dec 9, 2012
    0
    "Piranha 3D" is sick. Just plain, straight-up sick. Instead of a simple, undercooked B-horror flick like I was expecting (I did not see any marketing for this movie), I was instead subjected to the most over-the-top and exaggerated ninety minutes of perverted adolescent pandering I've seen in my life. For the love of God, Michael Bay would be ashamed to have his name on this thing, and he dumped fat dead people down city streets in "Bad Boys II". When it's not insulting your genitals with shamelessly objectified nudity, or piranhas chowing down on penises and breast implants, it's bleeding your eyes with the most overdone gorefests ever manufactured on film. Am I really supposed to find humor in a bunch of spring break teenagers getting chewed, bitten, torn, ripped and shredded to the bone? Am I supposed to laugh when a girl breaks in half while being carried to safety, or when the camera looks over all the half-eaten cadavers? Am I supposed to be entertained when a half-assed villain devoid of any and all character or human relatability comes crawling onto a deck with meaty twigs for legs? No. Absolutely not. This is not entertainment, and it's disturbing to think that enough people were convinced otherwise to throw together this twisted piece of **** Expand
  26. Jun 16, 2013
    4
    Piranha 3D is that kind of movie that isn't self aware, it is the kind of movie that should be watched once and then trashed, of course, Piranha is a 3D movie that can't be watched in 2D it would make it worse for the viewer, with boobs everywhere, this isn't a movie it is a porn in water with tons of blood, on the bright side, Piranha is a movie that is so bad that it gives you a good time, but don't expect anything from this kind of cheap horror movie. Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. There are few real scares, though, and even fewer actual laughs. Despite several obvious gags, Aja never captures the spoofy fun of the 1978 original.
  2. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    88
    What really matters is that the film works. It's a genuinely suspenseful, no-holds-barred masterpiece of sex 'n' horror exploitation.
  3. 25
    The film's centerpiece is a massacre at a wet T-shirt contest, which the horror director Alexandre Aja has a good time staging (yes, Eli Roth, we see you with the water gun). But it feels like an imitation of B-movie beach schlock and John Waters. The visual humor lacks wit or nerve.