Piranha 3-D

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 211 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 211
  2. Negative: 50 out of 211
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 6, 2010
    5
    Didn't watch it in 3d. It was regular and i don't now how much i lost from movie experiance , but generalliy as someone who got a respect for Aja i'am quite disappointed. Ok the gore is all there , Aja filming style and 70's sense for humor too , but i expected something more memorable than summer blockbuster hit. The main character is dull , his mother is ok but the rest of the cast (Didn't watch it in 3d. It was regular and i don't now how much i lost from movie experiance , but generalliy as someone who got a respect for Aja i'am quite disappointed. Ok the gore is all there , Aja filming style and 70's sense for humor too , but i expected something more memorable than summer blockbuster hit. The main character is dull , his mother is ok but the rest of the cast ( Except for the Kelly Brook which is obviosly there for the eye candy moments) are quite irritant. There is a certain grindhouse feel in the movie which is also a plus but that's individual impression. CGI Pirahna's dont look so good at all , and their real potential is probably only there when watching in 3d. This is a rolecoaster ride first , and a good horror movie second which is a bad for Director who staretd with Heute Tension , and Hill have eyes remake. This movie is his downhill , that he started with Mirrors , but that doesnt mean audiences wont enjoy it. Fun and cheap. Expand
  2. Oct 10, 2011
    5
    "Piranha 3-D" is your average bloody-gore fest boobs-n-blood movie that only those who enjoy it will greatly appreciate.
  3. Aug 22, 2010
    6
    The movie was silly and exactly what you expect it to be. Gratuitous nudity, great gore prosthetics, and enjoyable groan-inducing dialogue abound. The 3D was acceptable and only added to the carnage. It was fun seeing Christopher Lloyd for his brief scenes as the local fish expert. Don't expect Shakespeare.
  4. Sep 3, 2010
    4
    A movie so bad it's....bad. I can appreciate the fact that it's trying to be one of the "so-bad-it's-good" type movies such as some of Roger Corman's original work, but the problem is that most audience members that aren't familiar with said types of film will find this boring.
  5. Sep 6, 2010
    5
    I wanted this to like this movie. But I was underwhelmed. Granted there is the first 3D nude underwater lesbian scene in fil history, but that scene was decidedly not sexy. I thought the movie never had the right tone. I wanted to laugh, but found myself groaning more, I wanted a camp-fest, over the top, fun ride. I got a movie that took itself a little too seriously, especiallyI wanted this to like this movie. But I was underwhelmed. Granted there is the first 3D nude underwater lesbian scene in fil history, but that scene was decidedly not sexy. I thought the movie never had the right tone. I wanted to laugh, but found myself groaning more, I wanted a camp-fest, over the top, fun ride. I got a movie that took itself a little too seriously, especially given the plot. I did not hate it. I just wanted it to be more. Expand
  6. Sep 2, 2012
    6
    Piranha 3D is pure trash but the violence and gore is actually funny that i enjoyed it to an extent. Stupid yes, acting pitiful yes, but a stupid movie, with terrible acting, that has fish biting off people's limbs never felt so enjoyable.
  7. Aug 21, 2010
    6
    Its fun, gory, boob filled, scary, and just grotesque. I LOVED IT. don't go to this expecting academy noms, but just kick back, rub your eyes, put the glasses on, and cheer to the gore.
  8. Aug 21, 2010
    6
    Cheerfully idiotic 3-D nonsense throws so much blood, gore, and nudity into the faces (literally) of the audience that it makes Roger Corman's wonderful 1978 JAWS ripoff of the same title look like MY DINNER WITH ANDRE. In the right frame of mind (preferably a little buzzed) this actually goes down quite enjoyably, especially with a cast full of pros (Elisabeth Shue, Jerry O'Connell, VingCheerfully idiotic 3-D nonsense throws so much blood, gore, and nudity into the faces (literally) of the audience that it makes Roger Corman's wonderful 1978 JAWS ripoff of the same title look like MY DINNER WITH ANDRE. In the right frame of mind (preferably a little buzzed) this actually goes down quite enjoyably, especially with a cast full of pros (Elisabeth Shue, Jerry O'Connell, Ving Rhames, Christopher Lloyd) leading the way. Oh, and good old Richard Dreyfuss cast in a cameo for pure the nostalgia's sake, still humming a certain tune that will be instantly familiar to all JAWS fans. No pretentions, just good, nasty, R-rated fun. Expand
  9. Jul 30, 2011
    4
    I watched this movie normally and I hope the 3D version made the movie a whole lot better as this was dire. The CGI was awful, the acting was worst and the movie seemed to go nowhere with characters appearing and dying without any development. It was billed as a comedy horror but I wasn't laughing!!
  10. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    6
    Sick, gruesome, but entertaining b-movie. I had some serious doubts about this, but it was fun to watch and sometimes laugh out loud funny. I can't recommend this to anyone, but if your looking for a bloody, horror, b-movie ride, look no further.
  11. Jan 7, 2013
    6
    there is art to be found in sex and violence. great movies have utilised those primal instincts of men to great effect. piranha is not one such movie. oh, the sex is there, and, to a lesser extend, violence, but this movie throws in one other factor in the mix that i don't like: gore. this movie is big on gallons of blood and chopped off penisses, and i don't like that, because it's toothere is art to be found in sex and violence. great movies have utilised those primal instincts of men to great effect. piranha is not one such movie. oh, the sex is there, and, to a lesser extend, violence, but this movie throws in one other factor in the mix that i don't like: gore. this movie is big on gallons of blood and chopped off penisses, and i don't like that, because it's too easy. it's just blood and guts, it requires no talent in filmmaking at all. i'm not entertained by oceans colored red with blood, but if you are, than this is just the movie for you. Expand
  12. Aug 18, 2012
    4
    Not a good movie, but also is not all bad, it is reasonable, I thought the end was kind of unnecessary and inconsistent with the rest of the film, very little blood to the story, but manages to shock those who watched it and it counts a lot for a movie of terror.
  13. May 5, 2012
    6
    It is somewhat fun to watch. Its a little forgettable, but this typically offensive movie is somewhat unique.
  14. Nov 7, 2012
    6
    Sexy, funny, bloody, and wild, Piranha delivers low class, roller coaster entertainment.
  15. Dec 8, 2012
    6
    Not much to dislike about this movie. Boobs, blood, guts...it's a winner in my book. So much fun to be had with this film! Unfortunately they quickly made a sequel for this, but this first addition is good.
  16. Jun 16, 2013
    4
    Piranha 3D is that kind of movie that isn't self aware, it is the kind of movie that should be watched once and then trashed, of course, Piranha is a 3D movie that can't be watched in 2D it would make it worse for the viewer, with boobs everywhere, this isn't a movie it is a porn in water with tons of blood, on the bright side, Piranha is a movie that is so bad that it gives you a goodPiranha 3D is that kind of movie that isn't self aware, it is the kind of movie that should be watched once and then trashed, of course, Piranha is a 3D movie that can't be watched in 2D it would make it worse for the viewer, with boobs everywhere, this isn't a movie it is a porn in water with tons of blood, on the bright side, Piranha is a movie that is so bad that it gives you a good time, but don't expect anything from this kind of cheap horror movie. Expand
  17. NFW
    Jun 25, 2015
    4
    PIRANHA 3D delivers what it promises: gore and boobs, but doesn't realize that to be a good horror comedy you have to be clever in your attempts to spoof the genre, and well, in the end, sort of falls flat.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. There are few real scares, though, and even fewer actual laughs. Despite several obvious gags, Aja never captures the spoofy fun of the 1978 original.
  2. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    88
    What really matters is that the film works. It's a genuinely suspenseful, no-holds-barred masterpiece of sex 'n' horror exploitation.
  3. 25
    The film's centerpiece is a massacre at a wet T-shirt contest, which the horror director Alexandre Aja has a good time staging (yes, Eli Roth, we see you with the water gun). But it feels like an imitation of B-movie beach schlock and John Waters. The visual humor lacks wit or nerve.