User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 198 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 198

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 21, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Kelly goes wild, just not wild enough to get herself killed, or rather, punished by the filmmaker. The "good girl" may down a jigger of tequila, lick salt off the bare skin of a bad girl, then suck face and suck lime like a pro, but the good girl, despite her trampy conduct, does keep her top on. This is how we know she'll survive the Grand Guignol spectacle of the "Saving Private Ryan"/"The Real Cancun" mash-up that turns out to have a surprisingly feminist bent. Don't be distracted by all the blood and breasts, and more importantly, don't make snap judgements about the film's graphic violence and liberal dose of nudity; don't be fooled. The filmmaker has bigger fish to fry. This is hardly an empty-minded exploitation movie about the worst spring break ever. "Piranha 3D" serves as a critique on pornography; it shows how pornography works. Jerry O'Connell plays Derrick Jones, a soft-core pornographer(clearly modeled after Joe Francis of "Girls Gone Wild" infamy) who preys on young nubiles with the hope of getting them drunk, then naked, for his "movies". Against Jake's protestations, Kelly gets on his yacht, where she performs for the camera, but not until Derrick needles her a bit. When the piranhas go wild, the filmmaker makes a salient point about pornography's function, as bare-breasted women are literally turned into meat, slashed and severed, for the instant gratification of the fish(read: pornography's consumers). Initially, the nudity is pleasurable(great faces, great racks), since by all appearances, it's the women's choice to be nude, but when the violence starts to intervene on sex's behalf, the film suggests that appearances can be deceiving. After all, it's usually a man who holds the camera. As it turns out, the prehistoric fish are not old enough to spawn, so when Derrick's detached genitalia becomes fish food that one of the baby piranhas spits out, the filmmaker demonstrates the relationship between pornography and kids, who just aren't ready for D-cups, and C-cups, and etc. etc. etc. Ultimately, "Piranha 3D" indicts the audience, indicts them on the charge of being hypocrites for cheering on Derrick's appropriate manner of demise, since porn is a ten-billion dollar business. Pornography keeps the world spinning. Expand
  2. Aug 21, 2010
    9
    Thankfully, "Piranha 3D" headed right into the "campy" territory that I was hoping for. The film is, flat-out, a blast. It's pure exploitation trash, but it nails it with deadly precision. Alexandre Aja has gleefully crafted a film so horrendously grisly and stupid, that to enter the film with tongue planted in-cheek is a basic requirement. "Piranha 3D", like Sam Raimi's recent "Drag Me to Hell", are not meant to be taken seriously, and would fall under the "comedy horror" category. However, the former contains gallons upon gallons more blood, and mutilations that would make any horror geek squirm. If you can turn off your brain for a while and enjoy this B-movie filth, it's a blast. Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    I agree with Steve Persall of the St. Pete Times 100%, and I'm glad he had the balls to call a spade a spade. It's simply a flat-out fun, slick movie, with all the boobs and gore a guy could want on a late Friday movie! (though there were plenty of women in my screening who were roaring just as loudly as the dudes.) And yes, they take full advantage of 3D when it comes to Kelly Brook's body parts, which is a great thing. Jerry O'Connell as the Girls Gone Wild guy is spot-on. And it's great to see Liz Shue back in action - she's ageless! Expand
  4. Aug 26, 2010
    10
    This was a great COMEDY for fans of B-movies and all the terribleness and **** they contain. 2 thumbs up, watch while high if possible. This was my first time seeing boobies in 3-d, and that alone is worth the price of admission.
  5. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    AWESOME!!! Bloody, action-packed, hilarious, and full of gore and boobs!! And the 3-D is pretty impressive, too (you don't see that too often). It's fun seeing the piranhas jump at the screen and eat those poor spring breakers!! I highly recommend this movie. Word of advice: Don't bring your mom or kids. But bring your girlfriends so that they'll cling to you.
  6. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    Delightfully gory, good use of 3D, some quite amusing humor and in now way takes itself seriously or tries too hard. A great watch, would like to see again :D
  7. Sep 9, 2010
    9
    Not in a very long time I have been subjected to so much gratuitous nudity and violence. And all in a fun and laughable manner!!
    Piranha 3D is the summer horror must-see. It's cheesy, ridiculous and extremely violent. Oh and female mammarys litter the big screen. I haven't had a better time watching a movie in a long while. Take some friends and go see it. It's non-stop action, brilliant
    3D (some parts stand out more than others, if you know what I mean) and lots of jumpy scares... the campy horror thriller is alive and well!!

    Oh and kudos to Richard Dreyfuss and Christopher Lloyd for their short but memorable performances..and Jerry O' Connell is brilliant as the greasy Girls Gone Wild guy! Alex Aja is the man!!
    Expand
  8. May 18, 2011
    10
    Surprisingly enjoyable. Some good gore, mostly CGI (some â
  9. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    I think the combined thrill and gore of the movie plus not to mention the hole teenage lifestyle thrown into the mixed help this movie become the next big thing since jaws.
  10. Mar 4, 2011
    9
    If you go to see Piranha 3-D for acting, cinematography or a clever storyline then I seriously question your thought process. We all know what this movie is. You either enjoy these kind of movies or you don't. If you do enjoy naked girls and a lot of fake blood then you will love Piranha 3-D. The special effects on the the piranhas themselves is a bit weak, and some of the jokes fall flat. Overall though this movie is fun start to finish and as far as B movies go this is one of the better ones. Expand
  11. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    having seen the film in 3d at the cinema and recently on blu ray my opinion hasent changed.its a blast!its in exactly in the same vien as the original with its tounge firmly in cheek.gore check naked girls check plot well that dosent matter when a film is as entertaining as this.its exploitation pure and simple and its very refreshing to see a film maker make a film which dosent for once take itself seriously at all..bet joe dante would of liked to have had the budget of this one. Expand
  12. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    Killer fish, **** ass, and gore. "Piranha 3D" is the collective of everything great about a sexploitated B-movie. It's an over-the-top creature feature that never feels too self-aware or arrogant, but instead embraces all of its silly chaos organically. Never have I witnessed something that can be so clearly described as pure entertainment from start to finish.
  13. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    Piranha 3D is a fun, gory, entertaining and enjoyable remake that is soo-bad-that-it-is-good. Blood and nudity everywhere!
  14. Jun 15, 2012
    9
    Piranha 3D is one of them films you expect to be bad. You almost know it. But after watching the film i could not help but think how good it was. In fairness its no where near the height of Jaws, but it surely puts itself at second for best 'creature in the water movie.' Many wonder why the film has been recieving a positive response, and the answer simply is cause it is fun. Theres not much detail to go into here, but we actually care for these characters and the many stories is brilliant, and even the bloodless, boob filled first half of the film is entertaining for its pure shock value and laugh factor. But where the film shine is its second half, the tense scenes of trying to escape the boat, and finding the mauled body of a character whose still alive just no skin on his legs, is probaly the most disturbing of the film. We then cut to the fast paced craziness of what can only be described as the blood bath of trying to get out of the lake. Its just a really good time to watch, you cant fault the script and acting cause there even good enough, Piranha 3D is the sort of film you think I could watch again, or were genuinely on the edge of your seat, and for this genre of film is a rarity. Its by no means 2010 best film, but it is in a clear mile its most innocent, non caring fun fil , which anyone, over 18, could watch and will defintely thoroughly enjoy. Expand
  15. Nov 18, 2013
    9
    Somewhere near the end of Piranha 3D, as Ving Rhames was indiscriminately firing shotgun casings into the water and Jerry O’Connell was doing tequila shots off an eighty-five percent naked woman, I decided to award this film three stars. This may seem like an unusually high number of stars for a gimmicky b-movie about piranhas attacking drunk college kids in the third dimension, but I happen to find a certain amount of honor in a film delivering exactly upon its promises. Four stars, that would be ludicrous and two stars, that would imply Piranha 3D somehow disappointed. But three stars, that’s the right number for an aggressively pleasurable film involving cocaine, piranhas, inordinate amounts of nudity and Jerry O’Connell. Sheriff Julie Forester (Elisabeth Shue) is a single mother in charge of the waters surrounding Lake Victoria, a seemingly quiet Arizona town annually invaded by throngs of douche bags and whores every Spring Break. Julie puts her seventeen year old son Jake (Steven R. McQueen) in charge of watching his two little siblings so she can skim the waters for, I guess vomit, but this Babysitting Diaries plan goes awry almost immediately. There are three problems. 1) An underwater earthquake has opened up a subterranean portal, releasing swarms of cannibalistic piranhas. 2) Porn producer Jerry O’Connell has enlisted her son as an impromptu location scout for his newest seedy film. 3) Nanny McPhee had a previous engagement, returning, somewhere else. Piranhas, like mastadons, like wildebeests and sometimes like boozed-up college kids on spring break, are ludicrous pack-traveling creatures who seem to lack long-term goals. They exist only in the moment to satisfy the most basic of human or creature desires. This strikes me as a bad strategy for planning one’s retirement but a totally reasonable way to spend a Saturday night. I fear the majority of reviewers will disagree with me, but fu*k them. Movies are about creating a story and telling said story in an entertaining or enlightening way. Never has a movie so overtly claimed to be about something and then been about that exact same something. Here are three facts about Piranha 3D: 1) A piranha tears a woman’s swimsuit top off. 2) Adam Scott rides around in a jet ski pretending to be Rambo. 3) I will likely buy it on sale some time late next year for between $6.99 and $8.99. If any of those hot facts made you roll your eyes, there are four other new releases opening in theaters this week for you to see. Expand
  16. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    This a very bloody and gory movie that is about prehistoric piranhas? When I first heard of this movie I thought it was going to be an epic fail but instead I deeply enjoyed this movie
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. There are few real scares, though, and even fewer actual laughs. Despite several obvious gags, Aja never captures the spoofy fun of the 1978 original.
  2. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    88
    What really matters is that the film works. It's a genuinely suspenseful, no-holds-barred masterpiece of sex 'n' horror exploitation.
  3. 25
    The film's centerpiece is a massacre at a wet T-shirt contest, which the horror director Alexandre Aja has a good time staging (yes, Eli Roth, we see you with the water gun). But it feels like an imitation of B-movie beach schlock and John Waters. The visual humor lacks wit or nerve.