Piranha 3-D

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 211 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 211
  2. Negative: 50 out of 211
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 21, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After seeing "My Bloody Valentine 3D", I was skeptical that a really good and campy horror film could be done in 3D without resorting to idiocy. Piranha 3-D does it. It plays up the jiggle sex to the hilt, but it also has a heart courtesy of Elizabeth Shue and her screen family. Ving Rhames is awesome in a limited role, and Christopher Lloyd is at his Back To The Future best. But the money shots - the scenes of blood-and-gutsy gore are incredible. Picture a girl's hair getting caught in a motorboat's propeller while a panicking teenager in the boat tries to get the motor re-started. What comes of that scene will be stuck in my head for at least the night. But not what you would expect, mind you. It's a funny, funny movie. Expand
  2. Aug 21, 2010
    9
    Thankfully, "Piranha 3D" headed right into the "campy" territory that I was hoping for. The film is, flat-out, a blast. It's pure exploitation trash, but it nails it with deadly precision. Alexandre Aja has gleefully crafted a film so horrendously grisly and stupid, that to enter the film with tongue planted in-cheek is a basic requirement. "Piranha 3D", like Sam Raimi's recent "Drag Me toThankfully, "Piranha 3D" headed right into the "campy" territory that I was hoping for. The film is, flat-out, a blast. It's pure exploitation trash, but it nails it with deadly precision. Alexandre Aja has gleefully crafted a film so horrendously grisly and stupid, that to enter the film with tongue planted in-cheek is a basic requirement. "Piranha 3D", like Sam Raimi's recent "Drag Me to Hell", are not meant to be taken seriously, and would fall under the "comedy horror" category. However, the former contains gallons upon gallons more blood, and mutilations that would make any horror geek squirm. If you can turn off your brain for a while and enjoy this B-movie filth, it's a blast. Expand
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    7
    ok , this was a lot better than i thought it was going to be, i was suprised i enjoyed myself , definatly would recomend it and well the piranha are crasy, they rip everybody up and the 3D is a plus,
  4. Oct 13, 2010
    7
    This movie is very funny. Don't think of it as a real horror movie. Clearly a throwback to B-movies, and it was quite fun to watch. I laughed almost the whole movie, because it was so ridiculous.
  5. Aug 21, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Kelly goes wild, just not wild enough to get herself killed, or rather, punished by the filmmaker. The "good girl" may down a jigger of tequila, lick salt off the bare skin of a bad girl, then suck face and suck lime like a pro, but the good girl, despite her trampy conduct, does keep her top on. This is how we know she'll survive the Grand Guignol spectacle of the "Saving Private Ryan"/"The Real Cancun" mash-up that turns out to have a surprisingly feminist bent. Don't be distracted by all the blood and breasts, and more importantly, don't make snap judgements about the film's graphic violence and liberal dose of nudity; don't be fooled. The filmmaker has bigger fish to fry. This is hardly an empty-minded exploitation movie about the worst spring break ever. "Piranha 3D" serves as a critique on pornography; it shows how pornography works. Jerry O'Connell plays Derrick Jones, a soft-core pornographer(clearly modeled after Joe Francis of "Girls Gone Wild" infamy) who preys on young nubiles with the hope of getting them drunk, then naked, for his "movies". Against Jake's protestations, Kelly gets on his yacht, where she performs for the camera, but not until Derrick needles her a bit. When the piranhas go wild, the filmmaker makes a salient point about pornography's function, as bare-breasted women are literally turned into meat, slashed and severed, for the instant gratification of the fish(read: pornography's consumers). Initially, the nudity is pleasurable(great faces, great racks), since by all appearances, it's the women's choice to be nude, but when the violence starts to intervene on sex's behalf, the film suggests that appearances can be deceiving. After all, it's usually a man who holds the camera. As it turns out, the prehistoric fish are not old enough to spawn, so when Derrick's detached genitalia becomes fish food that one of the baby piranhas spits out, the filmmaker demonstrates the relationship between pornography and kids, who just aren't ready for D-cups, and C-cups, and etc. etc. etc. Ultimately, "Piranha 3D" indicts the audience, indicts them on the charge of being hypocrites for cheering on Derrick's appropriate manner of demise, since porn is a ten-billion dollar business. Pornography keeps the world spinning. Expand
  6. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    I agree with Steve Persall of the St. Pete Times 100%, and I'm glad he had the balls to call a spade a spade. It's simply a flat-out fun, slick movie, with all the boobs and gore a guy could want on a late Friday movie! (though there were plenty of women in my screening who were roaring just as loudly as the dudes.) And yes, they take full advantage of 3D when it comes to Kelly Brook'sI agree with Steve Persall of the St. Pete Times 100%, and I'm glad he had the balls to call a spade a spade. It's simply a flat-out fun, slick movie, with all the boobs and gore a guy could want on a late Friday movie! (though there were plenty of women in my screening who were roaring just as loudly as the dudes.) And yes, they take full advantage of 3D when it comes to Kelly Brook's body parts, which is a great thing. Jerry O'Connell as the Girls Gone Wild guy is spot-on. And it's great to see Liz Shue back in action - she's ageless! Expand
  7. Aug 26, 2010
    10
    This was a great COMEDY for fans of B-movies and all the terribleness and **** they contain. 2 thumbs up, watch while high if possible. This was my first time seeing boobies in 3-d, and that alone is worth the price of admission.
  8. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    AWESOME!!! Bloody, action-packed, hilarious, and full of gore and boobs!! And the 3-D is pretty impressive, too (you don't see that too often). It's fun seeing the piranhas jump at the screen and eat those poor spring breakers!! I highly recommend this movie. Word of advice: Don't bring your mom or kids. But bring your girlfriends so that they'll cling to you.
  9. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    I think the combined thrill and gore of the movie plus not to mention the hole teenage lifestyle thrown into the mixed help this movie become the next big thing since jaws.
  10. Sep 3, 2010
    8
    Okay, this film was silly, campy fun. If you enjoy over-the-top horror movies with a sense of humor about themselves than this is a worthwhile picture to catch in the theater. There's tons of cheesey bad guys getting what's coming to them, chicks showing off their boobs and a handful of actual scares that will have you jump a bit despite yourself. Good cartoonishly gorey fun.
  11. Nov 18, 2013
    9
    Somewhere near the end of Piranha 3D, as Ving Rhames was indiscriminately firing shotgun casings into the water and Jerry O’Connell was doing tequila shots off an eighty-five percent naked woman, I decided to award this film three stars. This may seem like an unusually high number of stars for a gimmicky b-movie about piranhas attacking drunk college kids in the third dimension, but ISomewhere near the end of Piranha 3D, as Ving Rhames was indiscriminately firing shotgun casings into the water and Jerry O’Connell was doing tequila shots off an eighty-five percent naked woman, I decided to award this film three stars. This may seem like an unusually high number of stars for a gimmicky b-movie about piranhas attacking drunk college kids in the third dimension, but I happen to find a certain amount of honor in a film delivering exactly upon its promises. Four stars, that would be ludicrous and two stars, that would imply Piranha 3D somehow disappointed. But three stars, that’s the right number for an aggressively pleasurable film involving cocaine, piranhas, inordinate amounts of nudity and Jerry O’Connell. Sheriff Julie Forester (Elisabeth Shue) is a single mother in charge of the waters surrounding Lake Victoria, a seemingly quiet Arizona town annually invaded by throngs of douche bags and whores every Spring Break. Julie puts her seventeen year old son Jake (Steven R. McQueen) in charge of watching his two little siblings so she can skim the waters for, I guess vomit, but this Babysitting Diaries plan goes awry almost immediately. There are three problems. 1) An underwater earthquake has opened up a subterranean portal, releasing swarms of cannibalistic piranhas. 2) Porn producer Jerry O’Connell has enlisted her son as an impromptu location scout for his newest seedy film. 3) Nanny McPhee had a previous engagement, returning, somewhere else. Piranhas, like mastadons, like wildebeests and sometimes like boozed-up college kids on spring break, are ludicrous pack-traveling creatures who seem to lack long-term goals. They exist only in the moment to satisfy the most basic of human or creature desires. This strikes me as a bad strategy for planning one’s retirement but a totally reasonable way to spend a Saturday night. I fear the majority of reviewers will disagree with me, but fu*k them. Movies are about creating a story and telling said story in an entertaining or enlightening way. Never has a movie so overtly claimed to be about something and then been about that exact same something. Here are three facts about Piranha 3D: 1) A piranha tears a woman’s swimsuit top off. 2) Adam Scott rides around in a jet ski pretending to be Rambo. 3) I will likely buy it on sale some time late next year for between $6.99 and $8.99. If any of those hot facts made you roll your eyes, there are four other new releases opening in theaters this week for you to see. Expand
  12. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    Delightfully gory, good use of 3D, some quite amusing humor and in now way takes itself seriously or tries too hard. A great watch, would like to see again :D
  13. Sep 9, 2010
    9
    Not in a very long time I have been subjected to so much gratuitous nudity and violence. And all in a fun and laughable manner!!
    Piranha 3D is the summer horror must-see. It's cheesy, ridiculous and extremely violent. Oh and female mammarys litter the big screen. I haven't had a better time watching a movie in a long while. Take some friends and go see it. It's non-stop action, brilliant
    Not in a very long time I have been subjected to so much gratuitous nudity and violence. And all in a fun and laughable manner!!
    Piranha 3D is the summer horror must-see. It's cheesy, ridiculous and extremely violent. Oh and female mammarys litter the big screen. I haven't had a better time watching a movie in a long while. Take some friends and go see it. It's non-stop action, brilliant 3D (some parts stand out more than others, if you know what I mean) and lots of jumpy scares... the campy horror thriller is alive and well!!

    Oh and kudos to Richard Dreyfuss and Christopher Lloyd for their short but memorable performances..and Jerry O' Connell is brilliant as the greasy Girls Gone Wild guy! Alex Aja is the man!!
    Expand
  14. May 18, 2011
    10
    Surprisingly enjoyable. Some good gore, mostly CGI (some â
  15. Sep 1, 2010
    7
    The plot and characters are formulaic, the script could be wittier and some early underwater scenes are way too dark for the 3D to truly pop, but by mid-way it suddenly becomes a terrifically fun and gruesome movie. Fans of gore and horror should have a blast.
  16. Sep 1, 2010
    7
    great film funny gory never boring starts of slow but picks up toward the middle the acting was decent the gore parts were awesome lots of bloody parts overall a good time.
  17. Sep 7, 2010
    8
    This movie is great! Many people who don't enjoy it don't realise that it's supposed to be an over the top campy movie. They also probably don't know what a campy movie is and were expecting a straight up horror movie. This movie is very gory and has tons of nude scenes. You see boobs about every 5 minutes except for like the first 15 minutes. The kills are great. The attack at the end isThis movie is great! Many people who don't enjoy it don't realise that it's supposed to be an over the top campy movie. They also probably don't know what a campy movie is and were expecting a straight up horror movie. This movie is very gory and has tons of nude scenes. You see boobs about every 5 minutes except for like the first 15 minutes. The kills are great. The attack at the end is extremely gory and insane. I couldn't help but laugh during all the killings because they were so over the top. Perhaps the second goriest scene in film history (after Dead Alive). This movie is definantly a must see for gore hounds. Expand
  18. Sep 13, 2010
    8
    Great up there with the best of this creature feature type movie, I will get the dvd when it comes out.
    If you like Lake Placid, Jaws, Deep Blue sea, anaconda etc you will love it, it acheived everything this kind of movie tries to....well just about and it exceeds the others in some ways.
    Enjoyable fun movie with some scary moments.
    Definately will see the next one, 3D was brilliant.
  19. Mar 4, 2011
    9
    If you go to see Piranha 3-D for acting, cinematography or a clever storyline then I seriously question your thought process. We all know what this movie is. You either enjoy these kind of movies or you don't. If you do enjoy naked girls and a lot of fake blood then you will love Piranha 3-D. The special effects on the the piranhas themselves is a bit weak, and some of the jokes fallIf you go to see Piranha 3-D for acting, cinematography or a clever storyline then I seriously question your thought process. We all know what this movie is. You either enjoy these kind of movies or you don't. If you do enjoy naked girls and a lot of fake blood then you will love Piranha 3-D. The special effects on the the piranhas themselves is a bit weak, and some of the jokes fall flat. Overall though this movie is fun start to finish and as far as B movies go this is one of the better ones. Expand
  20. Oct 9, 2010
    7
    "Piranha for what it is , is a good movie & is an all out gory and extremely fun film , that makes us all never want to swim again , with the body count on high , and running a nice and smooth 90mins what better could you ..ask for? o wait its in 3D" .. B
  21. Sep 26, 2010
    8
    Do you like gore? Do you breasts? Do you like fish? Well, then step right up for Piranha 3D, one of the best horror B-movies this side of the silver screen.
    It's spring break at Lake Victoria, where alcohol, women in bikinis, and electro/house music can be seen and heard all around. Meanwhile, an earthquake beneath the lake releases prehistoric flesh eating piranha into the spring break
    Do you like gore? Do you breasts? Do you like fish? Well, then step right up for Piranha 3D, one of the best horror B-movies this side of the silver screen.
    It's spring break at Lake Victoria, where alcohol, women in bikinis, and electro/house music can be seen and heard all around. Meanwhile, an earthquake beneath the lake releases prehistoric flesh eating piranha into the spring break action where Jake (Steven R. McQueen) has a crush on Kelly (Jessica Szohr), but Jake's mom, Julie (Elisabeth Shue), who happens to be the local sheriff, leaves Jake in charge of babysitting his younger brother and sister while she takes care of business down at the lake, however, thanks to a chance encounter with Derrick Jones (Jerry O'Connell), the brains behind (are you ready for this?) Wild Wild Girls, Jake leaves his siblings at home while he acts as location scout for Derrick and his crew, which consists of cameraman, Andrew (Paul Scheer), and Wild Wild Girls, Danni (Kelly Brook) and Crystal (Riley Steele). As you might have guessed, Kelly drops by just in time to join the fun.
    Piranha 3D delivers as much gore and female nudity as you can possibly fit into an R-rated film, and then some. Between the onslaught of gore and breasts there are a few entertaining cameos, including Richard Dreyfuss as Matt Hooper, the drunken fisherman who definitely needs a bigger boat, Christopher Lloyd as Mr. Goodman, the scientist who makes a disturbing discovery about the piranha, and my personal favorite, Eli Roth, in a great scene as Wet T-Shirt Host (that's the actual credit), I think the name says it all. Also, Ving Rhames, who always delivers a memorable performance, appears as an officer alongside Elisabeth Shue, and Adam Scott brings great energy to his character as the leader of an underwater research team.
    Although I enjoy breasts and gore in 3D as much as the next guy (or girl, lets not be sexist here), the use of post conversion 3D (instead of filming in 3D) detracts from its effectiveness in some scenes. Other scenes, however, still looked good, despite the post conversion.
    Although there are several seasoned actors in the cast, the best performance is delivered by Jerry O' Connell, who was born to play the role of the sleazy fast-talking Derrick Jones, who can, as Andrew mentions, talk the pants right off of any girl. The high energy, and cocaine fulled, excitement which motivates Connell's character, is every bit as hilarious as it is well acted.
    Speaking of Wild Wild Girls, due to the number of topless (and sometimes bottomless) actresses in Piranha 3D, Mr. Skin's Skincyclopedia is going to need to an entire chapter dedicated to this film. Kelly Brook and Riley Steele's nude aquatic ballet (they're not completely nude, they're wearing fins, but I doubt you'll notice) is one of the most memorable, and enjoyable, scenes.
    Although the gore is intense, and there is a lot of it, the filmmakers know how to keep you laughing while the waters run red with blood. Piranha 3D is a fun movie that will keep you entertained with its characters, keep you covering your eyes with its gore, and keep you glued to the screen with its beautiful women.
    Expand
  22. Oct 12, 2010
    8
    Everything you would want from a film like this. Unbelievably gory and gratuitous. Every second of it is ridiculous, and the filmmakers clearly embraced it. And Adam Scott is wonderful in every role he plays. So adorable, even as a nerd.
  23. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    having seen the film in 3d at the cinema and recently on blu ray my opinion hasent changed.its a blast!its in exactly in the same vien as the original with its tounge firmly in cheek.gore check naked girls check plot well that dosent matter when a film is as entertaining as this.its exploitation pure and simple and its very refreshing to see a film maker make a film which dosent for oncehaving seen the film in 3d at the cinema and recently on blu ray my opinion hasent changed.its a blast!its in exactly in the same vien as the original with its tounge firmly in cheek.gore check naked girls check plot well that dosent matter when a film is as entertaining as this.its exploitation pure and simple and its very refreshing to see a film maker make a film which dosent for once take itself seriously at all..bet joe dante would of liked to have had the budget of this one. Expand
  24. Jun 4, 2012
    7
    It's immediately clear that this movie doesn't take itself too seriously, and that's what makes it enjoyable. It's got your gory Piranha kills, touches of humor here and there, tons of nude chicks, and an overall b-rated feel to it. It's just a fun ride from beginning to end that doesn't make a point to be the most mature thing out there, so if you don't take it too seriously your in for aIt's immediately clear that this movie doesn't take itself too seriously, and that's what makes it enjoyable. It's got your gory Piranha kills, touches of humor here and there, tons of nude chicks, and an overall b-rated feel to it. It's just a fun ride from beginning to end that doesn't make a point to be the most mature thing out there, so if you don't take it too seriously your in for a good time. Expand
  25. Sep 6, 2011
    8
    This film is so ridiculously enjoyable! An all-out gore-fest that never stops! I was literally stunned with some of the flesh-ripping effects. The story here is silly but it is kind of cool at the same time. In the first act, we are taken on an underwater adventure coupled with a very cool cameo in the very first scene. The cast is surprisingly strong and it is what gives this film theThis film is so ridiculously enjoyable! An all-out gore-fest that never stops! I was literally stunned with some of the flesh-ripping effects. The story here is silly but it is kind of cool at the same time. In the first act, we are taken on an underwater adventure coupled with a very cool cameo in the very first scene. The cast is surprisingly strong and it is what gives this film the fuel for the Piranha "fire" that is unleashed. Although a conversion film, the 3D is spectacular and comes highly recommended. Expand
  26. May 10, 2011
    8
    Get your towels ready, itâ
  27. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    Killer fish, **** ass, and gore. "Piranha 3D" is the collective of everything great about a sexploitated B-movie. It's an over-the-top creature feature that never feels too self-aware or arrogant, but instead embraces all of its silly chaos organically. Never have I witnessed something that can be so clearly described as pure entertainment from start to finish.
  28. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    Piranha 3D is a fun, gory, entertaining and enjoyable remake that is soo-bad-that-it-is-good. Blood and nudity everywhere!
  29. Mar 2, 2013
    7
    As long as you can handle the deliberately gratuitous gore, boobs, more gore and more boobs (the things I go through for the purposes of a review!), Piranha 3D is a hilarious and enjoyable B-movie horror. It is probably the goriest film I have ever seen, but whereas the likes of Hostel cross in to 'gorno' territory, director Alexandra Aja provides horror and violence of the comedy kind.As long as you can handle the deliberately gratuitous gore, boobs, more gore and more boobs (the things I go through for the purposes of a review!), Piranha 3D is a hilarious and enjoyable B-movie horror. It is probably the goriest film I have ever seen, but whereas the likes of Hostel cross in to 'gorno' territory, director Alexandra Aja provides horror and violence of the comedy kind.

    Aja sacrifices a few lone lake inhabitants over the first half of the action and moving underwater shots suggest that no-one is safe. However, once Sheriff Forrester (Shue) discovers the truth behind the random attacks, Aja releases the army of piranhas on the partying spring break masses in a ten minute scene that can only be described as total carnage, with a body count that makes Rambo look like Disney. Some of the deaths are so hilarious, they must be seen to be believed.

    Elisabeth Shue is the film's hero, Ving Rhames barely appears and Christopher Lloyd adds to the general craziness with his small part, but it's O'Connell's crazed, coked up adult film director who is most memorable.

    Although it owes a lot to Jaws and the original parody Piranha, Aja ensures that Piranha 3D is it's own beast (at one point the music does sound similar to John Williams' theme though!).
    Expand
  30. Jun 15, 2012
    9
    Piranha 3D is one of them films you expect to be bad. You almost know it. But after watching the film i could not help but think how good it was. In fairness its no where near the height of Jaws, but it surely puts itself at second for best 'creature in the water movie.' Many wonder why the film has been recieving a positive response, and the answer simply is cause it is fun. Theres notPiranha 3D is one of them films you expect to be bad. You almost know it. But after watching the film i could not help but think how good it was. In fairness its no where near the height of Jaws, but it surely puts itself at second for best 'creature in the water movie.' Many wonder why the film has been recieving a positive response, and the answer simply is cause it is fun. Theres not much detail to go into here, but we actually care for these characters and the many stories is brilliant, and even the bloodless, boob filled first half of the film is entertaining for its pure shock value and laugh factor. But where the film shine is its second half, the tense scenes of trying to escape the boat, and finding the mauled body of a character whose still alive just no skin on his legs, is probaly the most disturbing of the film. We then cut to the fast paced craziness of what can only be described as the blood bath of trying to get out of the lake. Its just a really good time to watch, you cant fault the script and acting cause there even good enough, Piranha 3D is the sort of film you think I could watch again, or were genuinely on the edge of your seat, and for this genre of film is a rarity. Its by no means 2010 best film, but it is in a clear mile its most innocent, non caring fun fil , which anyone, over 18, could watch and will defintely thoroughly enjoy. Expand
  31. Aug 24, 2012
    8
    Piranha isn't trying to trick anyone into thinking it is an Oscar worthy drama. It does exactly what is says on the tin and it does it well. Fast paced, it isn't particularly scary but I think that is part of its charm. Aja has produced a gem though making a sequel is a bad idea in my opinion. Everything about this film was fantastic including the different cameos and references.
  32. Aug 13, 2012
    8
    An extremely well-made porno. Watched it for the nth time. Never gets old.
    An extremely well-made porno. Watched it for the nth time. Never gets old.
    An extremely well-made porno. Watched it for the nth time. Never gets old.
  33. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    Piranha 3D is nothing more than a gory, nudity filled schlock fest that has nothing really great about it. However, that doesn't mean the film isn't fun to watch. The acting is better than expected, the CGI is mostly decent giving the size of the budget, and it never takes itself too seriously. I'd give it more of a 7.5 out of 10.
  34. Sep 24, 2012
    8
    A good remake of terror Animal lovers should not miss. It's a little porn but everything else is fine. Entertaining, good effects, and a little gore (if not quite gore). I loved it.
  35. Jan 8, 2013
    8
    Everything in this movie is almost great except that a lot of nudity, porn stars...but if this movie took its self more seriously it would be perfect.
  36. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    Its what the people want. Refreshing and Good. Takes you on a joyride. Sadly the 3D was a waste. But was still a blast. When you watch you may may think death funny? but it really was. Funny and Good.
  37. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    Both bloody and joyful. Piranha 3D brings us what we actually wanted from a killer fish movie. With strong performances from the actors, this movie is horror fans must see film.
  38. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    This a very bloody and gory movie that is about prehistoric piranhas? When I first heard of this movie I thought it was going to be an epic fail but instead I deeply enjoyed this movie
  39. May 17, 2015
    8
    Piranha 3-D is actually a surprisingly good movie.Descent acting,great visual effects and gory deaths are the best things in this action packed 3-D remake.
  40. Feb 4, 2015
    7
    This was great comedy however i think its too gory and the sensual scenes were too short jk! Anyways the movie was awesome comedy/thriller and horror as it spurrs horror of the depths.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. There are few real scares, though, and even fewer actual laughs. Despite several obvious gags, Aja never captures the spoofy fun of the 1978 original.
  2. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    88
    What really matters is that the film works. It's a genuinely suspenseful, no-holds-barred masterpiece of sex 'n' horror exploitation.
  3. 25
    The film's centerpiece is a massacre at a wet T-shirt contest, which the horror director Alexandre Aja has a good time staging (yes, Eli Roth, we see you with the water gun). But it feels like an imitation of B-movie beach schlock and John Waters. The visual humor lacks wit or nerve.