Piranha 3DD

User Score
4.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 155 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 155
  2. Negative: 83 out of 155

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    Given the extremely low user and critic reviews, I thought I, someone who loved Piranha 3D, would be greatly disappointed in this film. But this film was hilarious! What I don't understand is how people can criticize the movie for its story, acting, etc. The movie is about a bunch of prehistoric piranhas that get into a water park where girls run around naked. The film revels in itsGiven the extremely low user and critic reviews, I thought I, someone who loved Piranha 3D, would be greatly disappointed in this film. But this film was hilarious! What I don't understand is how people can criticize the movie for its story, acting, etc. The movie is about a bunch of prehistoric piranhas that get into a water park where girls run around naked. The film revels in its own absurdity, and that's what is so great about it. What did you expect, Rosemary's Baby? Expand
  2. Jul 25, 2012
    1
    this is the perfect example not to make a remake version that contains a lot of nudity and comedy.I liked the old one,and much more sense than this movie,and the only thing that saves this movie from being sucks are just how much profanity and sexual content included on this movie.Even through its funny but its kinda old and dull,and disappointing movie of the year.Don`t watch it,savethis is the perfect example not to make a remake version that contains a lot of nudity and comedy.I liked the old one,and much more sense than this movie,and the only thing that saves this movie from being sucks are just how much profanity and sexual content included on this movie.Even through its funny but its kinda old and dull,and disappointing movie of the year.Don`t watch it,save your money on other movie instead. Expand
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    3
    The piranha movies are really bad, no real story and no sign of normality. Although there is some pretty big ( . Y . ) that belong to the wonderful porn-stars in the cast it's a completely pointless movie. The 3 is purely for arousal reasons.
  4. Oct 1, 2012
    0
    I don't understand why did they make a sequel of a terribly-made movie. This sequel is much worse than its predecessor. Stupid plot, stupid acting and stupid concept. AWFUL! AWFUL! AWFUL!
  5. Jun 8, 2012
    4
    You know, I really wanted to like this movie. I made excuses for its rather lame attempt at humor and the misuse of David Hasselhoff in an extended cameo by insisting that its source material isn't all that series either. I tried to overlook the ridiculous sex scene that was probably the film's bloodiest moment. But when the massive carnage finally comes it is so limp and most of the "OhYou know, I really wanted to like this movie. I made excuses for its rather lame attempt at humor and the misuse of David Hasselhoff in an extended cameo by insisting that its source material isn't all that series either. I tried to overlook the ridiculous sex scene that was probably the film's bloodiest moment. But when the massive carnage finally comes it is so limp and most of the "Oh My God" moments are reduced to hindsight reflections. Most of the kills occur so fast. The massive set piece (the water park) is stacked with possible gross out occurrences that never happen. Instead, we get a guy who is having his way with a pool drain. The cast is mostly wasted. What makes this even more of a let down is it has the same feisty-trashy stamp of awfulness that the two Feast sequels had. Yes, there is nothing wrong with mean-spirited but mean-spirited and humor don't really mesh well for me (personal taste). Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2012
    0
    Really? Piranha 3DD is the best title they could come up with? Then just add two huge knockers on the poster to add more "appeal"? This movie is just a Huge waste of Money, time, and effort.
  7. Jun 1, 2012
    0
    I don't know why David Hasselhoff is in the movie, but I'd pass on Piranha 2 3-D, 3DD, whatever you may call it. I like the first Piranha movie and it's even way better than Jaws. Piranha 3DD, on the other hand, wasn't made to be relaxing in the sun filled with deadly eating piranhas. I was trying to find it at the Edwards theater in Fairfield, CA, instead it's in limited releases. HowI don't know why David Hasselhoff is in the movie, but I'd pass on Piranha 2 3-D, 3DD, whatever you may call it. I like the first Piranha movie and it's even way better than Jaws. Piranha 3DD, on the other hand, wasn't made to be relaxing in the sun filled with deadly eating piranhas. I was trying to find it at the Edwards theater in Fairfield, CA, instead it's in limited releases. How stupid is that? I know what DD usually stands for... gigantic **** I love big women with big boobs. I thought it was supposed to be delayed until July or August, but June 1? Please. Even Baywatch has its own movie in 3-D. So I'd better watch Piranha on Itunes instead of watching this horrible messed up sequel with no returning cast (just good ol' Christopher Lloyd and Ving Rhames) and a slew of unfunny moments. Piranha 3DD looks to be a fish-out-of-water bomb and so I'll be waiting for the results of this week's box office to see it will be a flop for the summer. Until then, Piranha 3DD is one of the worst movies of 2012. Save your $20 bucks and wait for The Cabin in the Woods on Blu-Ray. Expand
  8. Mar 8, 2016
    3
    Despite providing some amusing moments, this sequel is a cheaper clone of the fun 2010 film that is neither as entertaining or as humorous. It fact, this film feels like it is trying too hard to be that film.
  9. Jun 18, 2012
    0
    This movie is really bad. It gave me nothing. I was not scared, did not make me laugh, I was not entertained ... no nothing! A useless and disappointing sequel.
  10. Jun 21, 2012
    8
    This movies is way better than the first, the predecessor is nothing more than a slaughter fest. This movie we have good character development and more interesting premises. The movie has its faults with being overtly silly and laughable but isn't that better than the first? The first was simply the brainless murder or a bunch of kids in a lake nothing more. In this movie we get someThis movies is way better than the first, the predecessor is nothing more than a slaughter fest. This movie we have good character development and more interesting premises. The movie has its faults with being overtly silly and laughable but isn't that better than the first? The first was simply the brainless murder or a bunch of kids in a lake nothing more. In this movie we get some comedy, horror, and hassle hoff. Its not a bad movie better than the 1st. Expand
  11. Jul 28, 2012
    4
    I gave the first one a 6/10, which is a descent score for lame exploitation films like these. Well, unlike the first one, 3DD is a completely waste of time.
  12. Jun 5, 2012
    0
    The first film, "Piranha," was adored by many as a guilty pleasure or a shot in the arm of cheese. Now we are given, "Piranha 3DD," which has the same pre-historic flesh eating army of piranhas moving from a vacation lake locale to a chlorine filled water-park. Much is much the same, but just more gory, more nudity, and more senselessness. This sequel has a new director in John GulagerThe first film, "Piranha," was adored by many as a guilty pleasure or a shot in the arm of cheese. Now we are given, "Piranha 3DD," which has the same pre-historic flesh eating army of piranhas moving from a vacation lake locale to a chlorine filled water-park. Much is much the same, but just more gory, more nudity, and more senselessness. This sequel has a new director in John Gulager ("Feast"), but it does not offer anything fresh. Just more gross out deaths that come across as more head-shaking than elaborate of shocking. The only returning cast members are Christopher Lloyd as Carl, whom is the nutty scientist character that learns more about the ancient piranhas, and Ving Rhames as Sheriff Fallon, whom we all thought died in the first, but only lost his legs to the piranhas and is now able to attach a shotgun as leg instead. New to the cast is the young Danielle Panabaker ("Sky High" and "Friday the 13th") as the lead and David Koechner ("Anchorman") as her dim-witted stepfather and owner of the water park where the majority of the killing takes place. If you are a fan of the original, you may enjoy this one, but it is just same gore fest over again shot entirely in 3D and of course with continuous nudity of young women. The only mere bright spot is a the cameo of David Hasselhoff as himself. He actually has a few really funny scenes poking fun at himself and his career, but it comes nowhere close to saving the film. Gary Busey also makes a early cameo in the film, but its a mellow return to film for him, it might have worked better for him if he actually poked fun of himself like Hasselhoff rather than playing a character. Bottom line: Only notable thing about the film is a cameo by Hasselhoff, the rest is a forgettable, gore dunce fest that overstays its welcome. Expand
  13. Jun 1, 2012
    4
    As a 3D film, it's abysmal. Piranha 3DD was not shot in 3D to begin with, but is another of those post conversion hack jobs. It doesn't help matters that the little fishies are framed in tight close-ups--it's all foreground, when the format needs deep backgrounds; no depth, no 3D. The attacks are never scary, however, Piranha 3DD gets the job done when it goes for parody, especiallyAs a 3D film, it's abysmal. Piranha 3DD was not shot in 3D to begin with, but is another of those post conversion hack jobs. It doesn't help matters that the little fishies are framed in tight close-ups--it's all foreground, when the format needs deep backgrounds; no depth, no 3D. The attacks are never scary, however, Piranha 3DD gets the job done when it goes for parody, especially of Jaws. One of TV's most famous lifeguards makes an extended cameo, and a cast member of the original film gets a funny scene as well. Full review on my blog. Expand
  14. Jun 1, 2012
    0
    The first Piranha was funny, are a terrible, terrible movie, but be great, and now I don't understand who think that a sequel can be better, Piranha 3DD is same that the first movie, most gore, most sex, most 3D, Piranha 3DD not is any new.
  15. Jun 1, 2012
    1
    The first film was not to bad half decent 3D the story was alright and it was fun to watch this was awful I have a monthly cinema card so I don't pay every time I go and even though I see why over my â
  16. AKH
    Jun 3, 2012
    1
    HOW did this get a release in cinemas and not go straight to DVD. The first was a watchable b movie, with above average 3d, and also a decent enough premise. This however is a travesty, if it was not for The Hof giving us a few good one liners, I would be giving this ZERO. DO NOT spend money or time on this travesty of a movie.
  17. Jan 31, 2013
    6
    Just when you thought it was safe to go back in the water park... The piranhas are back in another outrageous outing with even more blood and boobs than ever before! Those pesky pre-historic piranhas have found their way into a new lake, but unfortunately for the locals, the lake also serves as the source for the the new Big Wet water park! If you thought PIRANHA 3D was in poor taste, youJust when you thought it was safe to go back in the water park... The piranhas are back in another outrageous outing with even more blood and boobs than ever before! Those pesky pre-historic piranhas have found their way into a new lake, but unfortunately for the locals, the lake also serves as the source for the the new Big Wet water park! If you thought PIRANHA 3D was in poor taste, you ain't seen nuthin' yet! The creative team behind the cult-classic FEAST takes over in this direct-to-video sequel, and they have really nailed it this time. PIRANHA 3DD shoots way over the top with its crude humor and exploitative fun, throwing political-correctness to the wind along with plenty of limbs and bikini tops. Don't let the 'R' rating fool you... This film has more gratuitous nudity and violence than any Uncut DVD on the market. All contextualized, of course. Where PIRANHA 3D never struck an even balance between the humor and horror, director John Gulager and writers Patrick Melton and Marcus Dunstan keep the pace moving a mile a minute as they shock, entertain, and completely disgust along the way. If that weren't enough, PIRANHA 3DD unleashes the one-and-only David Hasselhoff in a brilliant self-parody for the final act. Any fans who may have been disappointed with the last PIRANHA can get ready for a stupid good time with PIRANHA 3DD! Expand
  18. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    what is everyone smoking??? this is hilarious, if not for intelligent, sharp, witty humour, than for 'what the f***?!' humour, people are taking this far too seriously...
  19. Jul 19, 2012
    1
    I really enjoyed the original despite low expectations. I found it to be a fun genre flick, held together by some really solid performances, and boobs. Well Piranha 3DD has plenty of the latter, but it seams that losing director Alexander Aja had been a major blow to this film. It is poorly acted and just plain stupid. The opening film boasts Gary Beusey igniting a cow fart. Yea this movieI really enjoyed the original despite low expectations. I found it to be a fun genre flick, held together by some really solid performances, and boobs. Well Piranha 3DD has plenty of the latter, but it seams that losing director Alexander Aja had been a major blow to this film. It is poorly acted and just plain stupid. The opening film boasts Gary Beusey igniting a cow fart. Yea this movie is just one huge stinker, with no soul or class. Expand
  20. Mar 8, 2014
    2
    I haven't seen the first movie, but I suppose at this stage, it doesn't even matter. "Piranha 3DD" had almost nothing interesting and it was just some crap-CGI piranhas attacking people, the end. I'll grant them that there were a few scenes that had some decent tension, but the rest of the movie just sucked.
  21. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Piranha 3DD is a 2012 horror-comedy film and sequel to the 2010 film Piranha 3D. It is directed by John Gulager from a screenplay by Marcus Dunstan and Patrick Melton. It stars Danielle Panabaker, Matt Bush, David Koechner, Chris Zylka, Katrina Bowden, Gary Busey, Christopher Lloyd, and David Hasselhoff.Superb hot movie. Piranha is all about fish eating many a.. Should see if you arePiranha 3DD is a 2012 horror-comedy film and sequel to the 2010 film Piranha 3D. It is directed by John Gulager from a screenplay by Marcus Dunstan and Patrick Melton. It stars Danielle Panabaker, Matt Bush, David Koechner, Chris Zylka, Katrina Bowden, Gary Busey, Christopher Lloyd, and David Hasselhoff.Superb hot movie. Piranha is all about fish eating many a.. Should see if you are masala movie lover. Expand
  22. Jun 19, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After watching the first Piranha 3D movie in the cinema and thinking how this is one of the goriest movies I have seen in a long time. So when I heard that the movie was getting a sequel, I was hoping that the movie would be a lot better than the first one.
    The movie starts of one year after the attack on Lake Victoria by prehistoric piranhas. The local council have decided to put in place an eradication programme of all life in the lake. This has left the town abandoned because of its only source of major income disappearing.
    However at a nearby lake, two farmers are searching the water to recover the body of a dead cow. The Piranhas have laid their eggs inside of the cow. The farmers are then attacked and killed by adult Piranhas
    The main character Maddy, a marine biology student, returns home for the summer to the waterpark that she co-owns. She finds to her horror that the other co-owner, her
    Expand
  23. Jun 11, 2012
    8
    This movie was great! It was not a low budget film by any means. It was given a low budget look with crappy CGI to add to the humor. The actors in the movie prove that it was not a low budget film. The movie was hilarious and I laughed the whole way through. If you watched it and didn't like it, try watching it again with a mind-set that the movie is purely a comedy with crappy CGI to addThis movie was great! It was not a low budget film by any means. It was given a low budget look with crappy CGI to add to the humor. The actors in the movie prove that it was not a low budget film. The movie was hilarious and I laughed the whole way through. If you watched it and didn't like it, try watching it again with a mind-set that the movie is purely a comedy with crappy CGI to add to the humor(similar to the humor you get from watching an old horror movie that looks so ridiculously bad yet is still a horror film). Expand
  24. Jun 13, 2012
    0
    Utterly tragic. Simply a train wreck of a project and reminiscent of titles that are made by wealthy people who think they know how to make money through film. Don't try categorizing this one, it doesn't fit into any niche and in fact insults cheaply made horror, T&A horror, comedic horror and cinema in general as a whole. It almost beats John Carter for worst movie of all time.
  25. Jun 13, 2012
    0
    The first Pirahna film at least tried to be somewhat serious, but with this film, the movie is completely ridiculous to the point of laughter. Most of the film was just nudity and gore to the point where you just get tired of it aside from the poor acting. The movie was pretty bad honestly and wouldn't see it again even if you paid me.
  26. Jun 14, 2012
    0
    One of the Worst Movies ever witnessed, nothing called horrifying, nothing amazing, nothing existing, all in all nothing. Pathetic movie with Pathetic screenplay, with pathetic acting, all in all Pathetic.
  27. Jun 16, 2012
    2
    i did not see the film in 3d, but what was this?

    the acting plain sucked. the film didnt know what it wanted too be, a comedy, a parody, action or horror. im not even going too go into huge amounts of depth of why i gave it a low rating, because it really doesn't deserve mine, or anybodies attention. and the ending.. really? walkin... nevermind. you'll understand if you have seen the
    i did not see the film in 3d, but what was this?

    the acting plain sucked. the film didnt know what it wanted too be, a comedy, a parody, action or horror. im not even going too go into huge amounts of depth of why i gave it a low rating, because it really doesn't deserve mine, or anybodies attention. and the ending.. really? walkin... nevermind. you'll understand if you have seen the film.

    the reason why im not giving it a one, and a 2 is because of the 'bring me my legs scene'. that was just.. amazing...
    in a bad way.
    Expand
  28. Jun 18, 2012
    0
    Chrome: right click on score bar: inspect element: find Chrome: right click on score bar: inspect element: find Chrome: right click on score bar: inspect element: find Chrome: right click on score bar: inspect element: find Chrome: right click on score bar: inspect element: find Chrome: right click on score bar: inspect element: find
  29. Jul 6, 2012
    0
    This is Nixxy movie! Like the previous Piranha movies! Please make a realistic sequel!!!!!.........................BORING!.....................Please~~
  30. Aug 13, 2012
    3
    5/31/12: I can't comment on this film properly, as the stupid Philippine MPAA cut 20 minutes of this 80 minute movie. I'm going to unfortunately find a pirated version of this film uncut, and then I'll comment back later.

    UPDATE: Just watched it uncut. LAWL, what the f'ck was that.
Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 9 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Jun 2, 2012
    30
    As sequels go, Piranha 3DD has barely enough heft to squeeze out 83 minutes of ho-hum entertainment, although it faithfully delivers plenty of menacing fish and bouncing boobs, as amply advertised.
  2. Reviewed by: Kyle Anderson
    Jun 2, 2012
    33
    The best part of Piranha 3DD, the pointless sequel to the utterly unnecessary 2010 remake of Piranha, is the credits. Not only do they signify that the film is finally, mercifully over, but they also allow for David Hasselhoff to sing the theme song to a new fake TV series called The Fish Hunter, a clever meta-gag that nods both to Baywatch and the Hoff's international recording success.
  3. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Jun 1, 2012
    16
    For the much-cheaper-looking sequel, Piranha 3DD, director John Gulager mostly seems to be trying to see how much he can degrade the old "Jaws" formula and still have it interpreted as parody rather than apathy.