User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 72
  2. Negative: 13 out of 72

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 4, 2012
    7
    Good Morning England, ou bien l'exemple type de la comédie anglaise qui met la pêche pendant pas loin de deux heures ! Bon, il faut dire que ce n'est pas à mourir de rire. Je dirai même que je m'attendais à bien plus question humour. Mais fort heureusement, le film possède une ambiance rock de folie (avec ces chansons cultes), procurant à l'ensemble toute une sympathie qui attire sans mal le spectateur dans cet univers quelque peu loufoque. Avec en prime des situations cocasses (le scénario surfant en plus sur une histoire des radios pirates en Angleterre) et une galerie de personnages irrésistibles, joués par une rimbambelle d'excellents acteurs, américain (Philip Seymour Hoffman) et surtout britanniques (Tom Sturridge, Bill Nighy, Rhys Ifans, Nick Frost, Kenneth Branagh...). Bref, Good Morning England est bien sympathique ! Expand
  2. Sep 8, 2011
    2
    This film purports to recreate, as it says in the opening scenes, 1966, a heyday of British rock'n'roll. Pirate radio was shut down in late 1967. So it is baffling that the movie is loaded with references to the late 60s and even the early 70s--in its characters, clothes, and songs, esp. (one Dj is an ancient, apparently 55-year old hippie, as though he teleported in from some 1990 film). Two songs associated with American top-40 radio in 1969 (released in late '68) are used as signatures of British Pirate Radio--the Turtles' "Elenore" and Tommy James' "Crimson and Clover." Yeh, when I think 1966 English rock, I think of the Turtles and Tommy James. Uh, no. These weird anachronisms are potentially forgivable, but the script is too full of other inanities to list: it scarcely has a plot, but is a sort of collage of idiotic, disconnected scenes and jokes. The film's real downfall is its script: 80% of the humor--I am not overstating the dumbness here--is a kind of reality-show, babbling toilet/ sex humor that would probably be abjectly eliminated from a Jackass movie. The often sundrenched, high contrast photography is nice and poignantly suggestive of what the film might have been, so I give this two stars. But the script is a no-star, frozen-dog-in-the-night "woof." I have no idea how Philip Seymour Hoffman ended up in this thing. This movie is beyond disappointing: it is rock-solid stupid. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2011
    6
    Great soundtrack! The movie that came with it was a little distracting though. But in all seriousness, Pirate Radio is a fun-but-flawed period piece of when Rock and Roll on the radio was all but illegal in 1960's Britain. The cast gives out mixed performances with a borderline-mediocre job from the protagonist and a pretty poorly-developed baddie. However, the pros outweigh the cons in this case, being more of a guilty pleasure than anything. Expand
  4. Feb 16, 2011
    7
    This movie is fun. Listen, no one should go in expecting some kind of brilliant masterpiece, its just a fun little tale with a great soundtrack and a lot of funny moments. It makes me long for the 60s (the time i am most familiar with without having actually lived in it). Great cast too, PSH, Rhys Ifans, Bill Nighy, Rhys Darby (glad to see him getting more exposure) and without a doubt the clincher, Kenneth Brannagh, as the assassin set out to destroy radio rock. I laughed every single time he called upon **** (Jack Davenport) despite it being somewhat juvenile humor. The soundtrack is obviously phenomenal... HOWEVER

    The soundtrack is also a bit inconsistent with history. Being a huge 60s/70s music buff, plenty of songs written and released after 1966 (the date of the film) were used. Songs like Jumpin Jack Flash or Elenore (The Turtles) were written and released in 1968. One scene refers to a new track by The Grateful Dead who didn't come out with their debut album till 1967. The complete absence of The Beatles (except for a little mention in the beginning) is a bit disconcerting, considering they were bigger than jesus at the time. But I accept the fact that there was probably not an awful lot of consideration put into the soundtrack. I mean, a sound track from the 60s is going to be good no matter what, but it seems like they just kind of threw in all kinds of random rock songs from any period of the 60s whether before or after the moment the movie takes place.

    Overall though, it is enjoyable
    Expand
  5. Jan 13, 2011
    8
    Tremendous Rock n Roll atmosphere I have ever seen since ALMOST FAMOUS (2000). It feels like break free all rules and doing what we always desire to do. The power of thiz movie is on its soundtracks, entire movie fills with great passion and vintage Rock n Roll music all around. In 1960, Rock n Roll music was limited to play. BBC played less than 45 minutes Rock and Pop music a day. But 25 million people (almost half of Britain) were listening silently to the Pirate Radio which its station in a boat anchored in North Sea. There are a lot of unique and powerful characters played by talented Casts. Personally for me, there are three important characters in thiz movie, fun and exhilarating Dave (Philip Seymour Hoffman), easy-going and free-minded boss Quentin (Bill Nighy) along with cool and charismatic Gavin (Rhys Ifans). The other Casts also deliver some fantastic performances, like: Kenneth Branagh, Tom Sturridge, Chris O Dowd and others, plus Guest Star performances by Gemma Arterton and Emma Thompson. Recently Branagh himself has known as Director for upcoming THOR (2011). The involvement of different characters in thiz movie is effective and succesfully balanced, which is one of the specialties of Richard Curtis as The Director. Although Curtis has just known in LOVE ACTUALLY (2003), his Writing Credits were superb like we had seen it on FOUR WEDDINGS AND A FUNERAL (1994), NOTTING HILL (1999), BRIDGET JONES DIARY (2001) and some MR. BEANS TV episodes (1990-1995). One of the best scenes on thiz movie (which is my favorite) is the scene when Carl (Tom Sturridge) saves his father, Bob (Ralph Brown) in sinking ship, beautiful underwater scene with Steven Cat song THE FATHER AND SON. The comedy, drama, and even the outfits and settings were astounding. It Is really described how that era was occurred, the time when Flower Generation and golden age of Rock n Roll music lived. If I knew there was so much fun in there in that period of time, I simply will go there and have some great time. Long Live Rock n Roll Music! Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com Expand
  6. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    Excellent film!!! I usually don't give a 10, but a 9 is not enough for this one. Great story, awesome cast, Phillip Seymour Hoffman is great, as usual. Interesting how England didn't have Rock and Roll playing on the radio and these lovers of Rock and were rebels got the music out there and changed a whole country. The music is perfect, the comedy is so real, not over the top or stupid. I enjoyed the reaction of the English people who listened to the radio station, makes you want to dance and sing! I loved this film, and recommend this as a must see!!!! Expand
  7. Oct 18, 2010
    9
    Awesome music, great cast, excellent storyline, and loads of fun! I love this "Rock and Roll will never die" movie!! Own this movie as you will watch it over and over again.
  8. Oct 1, 2010
    7
    http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/10/pirate-radio.html


    I decided to review Pirate Radio after an RA in my dorm had a movie night last night and played this movie. I didn't go to it as I saw it a while back but it reminded me of it I guess. Well, in case you don't know Pirate Radio is pretty much about the radio censorship in Britain I guess in the 60s or 70s. It of course puts a
    comedic spin on it. For what it is I really liked this movie actually. Found it very hilarious, the music score was a great collection of classic rock songs and the overall story line wasn't too bad. Also I like the decade portrayed, which always helps. Based on my personal, sheer entertainment on this movie I rate it a 4.5 out of 5. And I must suggest it to anyone who likes the 60s, classic rock, british rock or music in general actually. Expand
  9. Sep 26, 2010
    6
    "These are the best days of our lives." -The Count
    Pirate Radio (Richard Curtis's second time in the director's chair) comes six years after his impressive directorial début, Love Actually (2003). This time Curtis returns with the theme of love intact, but his lack of a big enough story to fill the near two-hour runtime, threatens to capsize Curtis's rock 'n' roll love boat as
    waves of unnecessary drama, toss the story about on the rock 'n' roll sea.
    We jump into the Pirate Radio sea in 1966, things are going good for rock n' roll, offshore pirate radio, and the ship, Radio Rock. Which is getting a new crew member, 'Young' Carl (Tom Sturridge), whose mysterious mum (Emma Thompson) feels it's necessary for Carl to spend some time on Radio Rock with his godfather, Quentin (Bill Nighy), who is the captain/manager of Radio Rock, filled with sex, drugs, alcohol, and did I mention, great rock music. Meanwhile, the British government is working to find a loophole to legally cut off Radio Rock's signal. The problem for the government was that the pirate radio stations were doing nothing illegal, so, as one government official points out, if the government doesn't like something, they pass a law to make it illegal. Pirate Radio has a good story to tell, and it needs telling, especially to the younger generation who knows nothing of this kind of censorship, nor the determination and love put forth by the people who risked their livelihood, and even lives, to bring great rock music to millions across the airwaves.
    Many early shots in the film are handheld with fast edits and frantic pacing. As the story evolves and the audience feels at home with the crew of Radio Rock, there are more static shots and less frantic editing. The technique works well here, as the handheld scenes showthe rocking of the boat on the sea, as well as the uncertainty of Radio Rock's future. The heaping helping of rock songs played throughout the film provides most of the soundtrack, and only a few moments have need of a score.
    There's a great cast of known and not-so-well-known actors aboard this ship of rock. Bill Nighy, who leads the expedition, is in top form, as always, delivering his lines in the best of deadpan seriousness (his good news/bad news speech is one of his finest moments). Philip Seymour Hoffman keeps the energy alive as The Count, an American DJ whose love of rock has brought him out to the North Sea. Nick Frost is even on board, with a performance that's not on par with his work in Shaun of the Dead (2004) or Hot Fuzz (2007), but still provides plenty of laughs. The remaining cast members are also good in their roles, and you may find a couple to look out for. I especially enjoyed Thick Kevin (Tom Brooke), whose only revelation comes after a night of drinking, Midnight Mark (Tom Wisdom), who says very little, even when on the radio, and Bob Silver (Ralph Brown), the deadhead who'll do anything to save his records.
    The main flaw of Pirate Radio is too much padded drama with the DJs, most of which takes place over sexual escapades with women, who are only allowed on the boat every other Saturday. It would have been great to see more time spent on real events, instead of fictional spats between characters.
    If you're looking for a (mostly) lighthearted adventure at sea, filled with great rock, and interesting characters, or an excuse to educate the younger generation about the long hard road of 1960s rock 'n' roll, Pirate Radio will keep its mast held high and bring you safely into port.
    Expand
  10. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great movie, really enjoyed it ! Yes it could have been a better movie, the characters could have been more developed , however it is a great film. Very entertaining and funny. It also has a fantastic soundtrack. Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    60
    A mix-tape of successes and failures, perhaps too light for its subject, but a silly, easy watch.
  2. The real pirate radio ships, whose days ended in 1967, wound up being towed away for salvage but the film avoids that fate -- like the best rock songs -- with a rousing finish and a pleasing climax.
  3. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    50
    Picture generally stays afloat on the strength of its characters but sometimes threatens to sink under its overlong running time and vignettish structure.