Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: May 25, 2007
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 872 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
485
Mixed:
176
Negative:
211
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
ElenaJun 3, 2007
Discombobulated from the original. Just a lot of special effects to take advantage of the first Pirates and separate us, the suckers, from our hard earned money. What did P T Barnum once say.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
WilliamHMay 29, 2007
All I kind think afterword was I want 3 hours of my life back.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BobbieMay 31, 2007
Totally lame without any chemistry. Wooden acting and quite frankly too long and boring.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AricM.May 30, 2007
This movie left me angry. A complete waste of time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
FabioP.May 25, 2007
Good Lord, that was disappointing. I loved Curse of the black pearl and liked Dead man's chest, but this was really horrible. There's no script at all, and the whole movie is an utterly boring sequence of dialogues which barely Good Lord, that was disappointing. I loved Curse of the black pearl and liked Dead man's chest, but this was really horrible. There's no script at all, and the whole movie is an utterly boring sequence of dialogues which barely have sense. No wit, no humour, and most of all NO ACTION: in 2 hours and 40 minutes, only the last part is somewhat exciting, even if uninspired. Oh, and did i mention that the characters act like they were psychos, changing their minds every five minutes? This was everything a pirate action movie SHOULD'NT be. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BrianDugganMay 28, 2007
Horrible mess of a movie. The plot made hardly any sense. No emotional connection to the actors. And way too over-the-top and long. However, Jerry's special effects team does wonders. Too bad they didn't apply the same level of Horrible mess of a movie. The plot made hardly any sense. No emotional connection to the actors. And way too over-the-top and long. However, Jerry's special effects team does wonders. Too bad they didn't apply the same level of skill to the film's script. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
GregS.May 28, 2007
Long, confusing, and at times, boring. I actually fell asleep at one point
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JennyH.May 29, 2007
Absolutely retarded movie. Very poorly plotted and convoluted. I'm not sure the writers could even followed the plot of their own movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
IGiveUpJun 4, 2007
Too long, impossible to follow, no chemistry, wooden acting, and a lame script. Other than that this trash was wonderful.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
3
RobbyT.Dec 7, 2007
Depp and Rush seem to be the only ones to realize what kind of movie they're really in: a $300 million third installment of a franchise based on a ride at Disney World. Chow-Yun Fat's character is completely useless and Depp and Rush seem to be the only ones to realize what kind of movie they're really in: a $300 million third installment of a franchise based on a ride at Disney World. Chow-Yun Fat's character is completely useless and Knightley's performance is absurd. Everytime she yelled, "FIRE!" I almost laughed out loud. Overall it is better than the treading water of Dead Man's Chest, but that isn't saying much. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful
0
IainM.Jun 15, 2007
The longest 3 hours of my life, summed up in 3 words - silly, long, dull.
3 of 5 users found this helpful
0
OrvilleS.Jun 6, 2007
Unforgivably dull and long. Vapid performances. Please, let's end this series of movies at 3. Don't do a fourth!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
DwightMay 28, 2007
I only have one question after watching nearly three hours of this disconnected garbage. What was the Director thinking? How in hell can you release something this bad? Someone, anyone in charge had to see how truly awful this was. Avoid at I only have one question after watching nearly three hours of this disconnected garbage. What was the Director thinking? How in hell can you release something this bad? Someone, anyone in charge had to see how truly awful this was. Avoid at all costs. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
NaughtyDogJun 12, 2011
Pirates of the Caribbean (1) was an amazing movie. Pirates of Caribbean (2) was an ok movie. Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End is a horrible movie. It's too long, the story is dull and even Jack Sparrow can't save this one.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
AlienSpaceBatsNov 18, 2012
A cacophony of swashbuckling tedium. Stodgy throughout and suffers because it's taking itself far too seriously, the worst culprit for me being Keira Knightley's dreadful overacting. Forgettable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
csw12Mar 25, 2012
The 3rd installment is completly messed up. The movie is even longer and even more complicated. Nobody knows what is going on and the characters have become wood and phonny. Actions scenes are a bore and sorry Jack but even you can't saveThe 3rd installment is completly messed up. The movie is even longer and even more complicated. Nobody knows what is going on and the characters have become wood and phonny. Actions scenes are a bore and sorry Jack but even you can't save this completed mess that people call a movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
SonnyS.May 24, 2007
The fight at the end was good the rest of the film dragged and didn't make arny sense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DavidS.May 24, 2007
Like the 2nd installment, this one wasn't very good. Lacks the humor and heart of the original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RyencokeMay 28, 2007
Haha, oh man was this bad. I had no idea what was going on this movie at all. The only good thing about it was easily Johnny Depp & Kieth Richards. The first one was the only good one. Hollywood's usual "Let's try to sell-out".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JuanM.Jun 3, 2007
Movie was very long, very convoluted, complicated to understand.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JluaUJun 8, 2007
What these pirates have mostly killed is their creator's inspiration. No story, no inspiration, no dialog, and no good writing. A sequence of meaningless scenes spiced with special effects. Frankly, it's sad to think of the waste What these pirates have mostly killed is their creator's inspiration. No story, no inspiration, no dialog, and no good writing. A sequence of meaningless scenes spiced with special effects. Frankly, it's sad to think of the waste of good workmanship, in the middle of creative nothingness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
mixmastajbOct 13, 2007
I am at a complete loss as to how anyone can defend this film. "In your face action," (which, in reality, it was far from) cannot make up for the very very poorly laid out plotpoints. I did not know what was going on more than half the time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AlpanaR.May 26, 2007
I haven't written a review on here before, but this movie was SO BAD that I felt like I had to warn others away. I was pretty familiar with the previous two installments, having seen both more than once, but I was confused throughout I haven't written a review on here before, but this movie was SO BAD that I felt like I had to warn others away. I was pretty familiar with the previous two installments, having seen both more than once, but I was confused throughout the movie. The first hour was totally unnecessary and boring and I basically lost my interest for the rest of the movie. It was not humorous, and hardly anyone laughed in the whole theater. I wish I had read/listened to more reviews before wasting my $11. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BobH.May 26, 2007
Whomever is responsible for this effort should be flogged and quartered and then made to walk the plank. To take these wonderful actors and writes something this bad is to bad to be believed. As much as we loved the first Pirates, Whomever is responsible for this effort should be flogged and quartered and then made to walk the plank. To take these wonderful actors and writes something this bad is to bad to be believed. As much as we loved the first Pirates, that's how awful this last instalment in the series is. Even Captain Jack Sparrow can't save ths embarassment as the film is totally flat and appears to be written by a bunch of amateurs who don't have a clue in how to tell a story. At one point I considered walking out of the theater as this is how truly awful the movie is. Avoid at all costs. Two hours and forty five minutes and all you can find is a few chuckles between the boredom. You will be looking at your watch praying fot this garbage to mercifully be over. You have been warned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AaronMay 27, 2007
Moronic and an assault on the senses. Possibly the turkey of the year. No chemistry whatsoever thanks to the writers who have lost touch with all reality. Even a wonderful actor like Johnny Depp can't save this Captain Jack Sparrow. Beware!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CharlieCMay 30, 2007
Impressive special effects but a very confused and disappointing plot. This is not for kids or for adults. Teens will probably enjoy the energy and excitement of the nonstop action sequences and will overlook the lack of character Impressive special effects but a very confused and disappointing plot. This is not for kids or for adults. Teens will probably enjoy the energy and excitement of the nonstop action sequences and will overlook the lack of character development, originality, and message. Confusion, mayhem, and ear splitting sound effects will leave you exhausted. Parts one and two were fun and original. Aside from the technowizardry, number three is a waste of money and three hours of your quality time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MattS.May 30, 2007
If you're at least 12 years old, you have no excuse to like this movie. Laughable dialogue, a jumbled plot, no emotional connections with the characters. A three hour bore, easily the worst movie I've seen all year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ReelWorldMay 30, 2007
2 points for FX. It was painfully obvious that the script had not been finished when they started shooting. The story goes all over the place - with long segments where characters try to explain what's going on. Double and Triple 2 points for FX. It was painfully obvious that the script had not been finished when they started shooting. The story goes all over the place - with long segments where characters try to explain what's going on. Double and Triple crosses ending with a ridiculous ending that includes everything from overt violence to necrophilia. Do yourself a favor and save the almost three hours this film takes to sit thru and enjoy the summer sunshine instead. A pitiful end to a franchise that began with a good opening film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SteveH.May 30, 2007
Good but NOT for kids. Plot HARD to follow and VERY abstract.. Save the $ for when it hits the $1 rental.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
fdasdafaJun 13, 2007
Terrible, overly confusing and way to long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JustinHJun 2, 2007
The second film showed signs of sinking but in this lame third outing the film is torpedoed. The narrative is so full of holes that is near impossible to follow parts of the film and the acting is so wooden by keira and orlando that they The second film showed signs of sinking but in this lame third outing the film is torpedoed. The narrative is so full of holes that is near impossible to follow parts of the film and the acting is so wooden by keira and orlando that they could have been a part of the furniture. Rumour has it that there wasn't a script when filming began and it shows. I echoed one of the characters questions about jack sparrow where he says "is he planning this or is he making it up as he goes along, I think the person in question was actually referring to the script. Abysmal Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JimSJun 5, 2007
One word: stupid!. I don't understand the fascination with this series or Johnny Depp.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DaveM.Jun 5, 2007
This was genuinely one of the least enjoyable movies I've seen in years. Far too long, too many plots, characters (Chow Yun Fat's in particular was pointless), very little action barring an awful final half hour sea battle. Capt. This was genuinely one of the least enjoyable movies I've seen in years. Far too long, too many plots, characters (Chow Yun Fat's in particular was pointless), very little action barring an awful final half hour sea battle. Capt. Jack Sparrow was rendered irrelevant by the focus on Will and Elizabeth - Keira Knightley was very poor and Orlando Bloom not much better. Brief flashes of comedy were about the only thing to like with this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CarolA.Jun 5, 2007
Talk about Jumping The Shark this flick is destined for one of the worst of the year. 300M on special effects and nothing more. Just a paycheck for the actors as no one stood out including the wonderful Johnny Depp. This movie is horrific. Talk about Jumping The Shark this flick is destined for one of the worst of the year. 300M on special effects and nothing more. Just a paycheck for the actors as no one stood out including the wonderful Johnny Depp. This movie is horrific. Too bad to be believed. Avoid at all costs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SwordS.Jul 3, 2007
This is an achievement: it manages to be tedious, dismally overcomplicated and shallow - all at the same time. Depp rehashes previous performances, only Rush acts convincingly and the old chemistry is totally absent between Knightley and Bloom. Sad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
wtfisthisDec 18, 2007
I cannot described how bad this movie is. Absolute garbage. The first one made was good. The 2nd and this 3rd one however is ridiculous. It has no real new plot...rather it's just a continuation of the 2nd one. It gets incredibly boring I cannot described how bad this movie is. Absolute garbage. The first one made was good. The 2nd and this 3rd one however is ridiculous. It has no real new plot...rather it's just a continuation of the 2nd one. It gets incredibly boring and stale and is way too long. I forced myself to watch the entire movie hoping for some redeeming moments but no, it was garbage the whole way through. Keira Knightley is a horrid actress (looks horrid too) and her role in this movie is stupid. What you see in this movie isn't new...you'd have seen it all before in the first 2. That said, the fighting is all the same. You'd think people would learn that when trilogies are made, 90% of the time each movie is worse than the one before it and this is the case with the Pirates of the Caribbean trilogy. The fact that this one was made literally at the same time as the 2nd one definitely shows. Don't know why anyone would go out and buy this on DVD....save your money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
CarlH.May 24, 2007
A huge disappointment.Instead of continuing with the concept they had they tried to add even more which only led to a huge mess that smells over the top in every single scene.The after the texts ending is totally out of place in such a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlexW.May 24, 2007
tripe. badly plotted. badly acted. occasionally cringeworth. never funny. rip pirates.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SeanP.May 24, 2007
C-R-A-P! That about sums up the bloated, incoherent mess that is Pirates 3. Whoever said more is better didn't sit through this snoozefest. True, the action piece in the last third of the movie is epic, but for that to improve the C-R-A-P! That about sums up the bloated, incoherent mess that is Pirates 3. Whoever said more is better didn't sit through this snoozefest. True, the action piece in the last third of the movie is epic, but for that to improve the rating, that has to matter. But it doesn't! The movie had lost me far earlier than when the action kicks in. If the movie had been half as long, I might have given it a 3. But making me suffer for 3 whole hours. Captain Jack gets a goose egg. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SorelyDisappointedMay 24, 2007
Three hours of my life that I'll never get back! And $8 (thank god it wasn't a big city cinema!)....I honestly loved the first two, but this one was a convoluted, bloated, and meandering mess. Don't get me wrong, the first two Three hours of my life that I'll never get back! And $8 (thank god it wasn't a big city cinema!)....I honestly loved the first two, but this one was a convoluted, bloated, and meandering mess. Don't get me wrong, the first two weren't exactly making my year-end Top Ten lists. This isn't high drama, it's cheap summer fun. True, but this time, where's the fun? I mean, there positively isn't even a single exciting or fantastical over-the-top action scene....just a lot of pathetic jokes that fall flat, confusion, and bored lead actors. Sink this one into the deepest depths of a maelstrom because she's far too infected with barnacles! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MichalC.May 24, 2007
This movie officially pushed me over the edge, much like the ship goes over the edge in the movie, an made me never want to see another movie ever again!!! Save your $9.50 and do something else... anything. Get a lobotomy instead of this This movie officially pushed me over the edge, much like the ship goes over the edge in the movie, an made me never want to see another movie ever again!!! Save your $9.50 and do something else... anything. Get a lobotomy instead of this movie! If you want to see a movie, go see something else... like Hot Fuzz or even 28 Weeks Later! The 168 minutes that consisted of this absurdly complicated plot, is 2 hours and 48 minutes of my life I will never get back again! My time is valuable as a chemical engineer, going for around $50 an hour, going off of this, this movie cost me $140. DISNEY, I WANT MY MONEY BACK!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
FantasyMay 25, 2007
It's a disaster beyond all imagination but that still won't stop us from seeing it. We love Captain Jack Sparrow but what the creators have done is tarnish what should have been a great movie. Pity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JSMay 26, 2007
I hope they will put the Pirates movies in Davy Jones locker now. The first one was fun, the second one was okay, World's End is just plain boring. The special effects, of course, are gorgeous, but it's impossible to care about I hope they will put the Pirates movies in Davy Jones locker now. The first one was fun, the second one was okay, World's End is just plain boring. The special effects, of course, are gorgeous, but it's impossible to care about these characters any more or even to figure out what motivates them. Who's dead? Who's alive? Who's undead? Who loves who? Who are the good guys? Who are the bad guys? Stay home and, if you must, see the movie on dvd when it comes out. It's definitely not worth spending $10 on a theater ticket for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DumboMay 26, 2007
Anyone who gave this movie a perfect score of ten should check their brains at the door. Possibly one of the most boring overhyped movies ever. In a nutshell it is awful!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AmberMay 26, 2007
Way to long and totally boring. If this was the first instead of the third movie it would be gone within two weeks from the theater. The characters have no chemistry and act like wooden indians. Terrible is an understatement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KyleM.May 26, 2007
Mind-numbingly awful. I actually laughed more than I did in the second movie, but the vast majority of the humor is basic slapstick, a far cry from the Deppisms of the first film. One of those rare movies during which my mind is screaming, Mind-numbingly awful. I actually laughed more than I did in the second movie, but the vast majority of the humor is basic slapstick, a far cry from the Deppisms of the first film. One of those rare movies during which my mind is screaming, "Just end already!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ConnieH.May 27, 2007
Tragic waste of time, money, talent, potential.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndyM.May 27, 2007
God, I just came back from seeing this and I'm left with a brain-fry. 3 hours of mind numbing, plot-less crap. And they're gonna have a fourth?! Really, Disney. I know you think that 4 extravagant movies based on a children's God, I just came back from seeing this and I'm left with a brain-fry. 3 hours of mind numbing, plot-less crap. And they're gonna have a fourth?! Really, Disney. I know you think that 4 extravagant movies based on a children's ride will save you from your financial woes, but this... this is just ridiculous... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HyperShadowMay 27, 2007
[***SPOILERS***] Take the circus and replace the clowns with pirates and that is your movie in a nutshell. The franchise is officially dead and it went down in flames. I can usually sit through a movie and enjoy the special effects even if [***SPOILERS***] Take the circus and replace the clowns with pirates and that is your movie in a nutshell. The franchise is officially dead and it went down in flames. I can usually sit through a movie and enjoy the special effects even if the movie is bad, but I was just dying for this movie to end. Problems: - Plot confusing and too much crammed together. Not only was it confusing, but it was a pointless confusing. - I didn't care about any of the characters.. in fact by the end I was just hoping someone would stab them and end this misery.. whats the point if they can all be revived? - Law defying fight sequences... in a whirl pool way up on a ship having a swordfight having zero trouble balancing on a skinny beam. Flying inbetween ships at will as if the ropes were being suspended in the sky. Monkey being on fire shot out of a cannon and the next minute perfectly fine. The scene of the captain going down with his ship was so over the top I was laughing. No realism at all! - The marriage scene was probably the most uncomfortable lamest scene in a movie I have ever witnessed. I was cringing and squirming in my seat hoping it would end. - And sooo much more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KayDeeMay 27, 2007
I went to this movie having read no reviews and was hyped. Reading these reviews afterwards I can't fathom how some people gave it 9's and 10's ... are these real people or people paid by Disney to write phoney reviews? God I went to this movie having read no reviews and was hyped. Reading these reviews afterwards I can't fathom how some people gave it 9's and 10's ... are these real people or people paid by Disney to write phoney reviews? God awful plot.. was there a plot? No purpose just a waste of time. No real bad guys... no real good guys. I had nothing to root for and no one to care about. The special effects were totally unrealistic to the point I was saying "No way" and "Lame". Most of the action sequences were soo zoomed in that my head started hurting. The entire movie aside from the following was pathetic: - Will's father I thought was done well. - Some good scenery. - Elizabeth (forgot her real life name) who I thought was annorexic had some smoking legs. - A few laughs here and there. DO NOT SEE THIS MOVIE! For the love of God... It is really bad. Makes a mockery of the first two and is an insult to film-making and to film-goers.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LadyfingerMay 27, 2007
Almost impossible to believe that such a promising first Pirates could be turned into something this awful. The characters are almost sterile in that they act like wooden indians. The warmth that Jack Sparrow had originally in the original Almost impossible to believe that such a promising first Pirates could be turned into something this awful. The characters are almost sterile in that they act like wooden indians. The warmth that Jack Sparrow had originally in the original is now gone. I don't believe that I have ever seen an action movie this boring. You just don't care for a single character whether they live or die. And if they die it means nothing as they come back to life anyway. Just totally lame and the writers should be made to walk the plank. You'll be looking at your watch mercifully praying for this to be over. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
YewfaiMay 27, 2007
It was a wasted 170 min. Even though I was trying my best to concentrate and take in all of the plots and sub-plots, I lost it after a while. The storyline is like the whirlpool at the end of the movie. Everything is sucked into a deep abyss It was a wasted 170 min. Even though I was trying my best to concentrate and take in all of the plots and sub-plots, I lost it after a while. The storyline is like the whirlpool at the end of the movie. Everything is sucked into a deep abyss with nothing clear and definite in sight. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PhilD.May 28, 2007
walking out after this movie i had no idea what happened. I tryed to follow what was going on but there was too many sub-plots. this movie may have action but for no good reason. When i want to see a good movie I want it to have a plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AndresZ.May 28, 2007
What a true piece of crap this is. Bereft of any cinematic talent on (and off) the screen, Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End is the first film of the year - sorry Spidey - to truly blow. Picking off where it last left, the main What a true piece of crap this is. Bereft of any cinematic talent on (and off) the screen, Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End is the first film of the year - sorry Spidey - to truly blow. Picking off where it last left, the main synthetic narrative follows off where the last film left off: now, our heroes are in Signapore visiting Captain Sao Feng (Chow-Yun Fat), the pirate captain in the city itself. The next thing you know, they're off to save Jack, who, previously on the awful Pirates II, gets himself locked up in Davy Jones's Locker. From there, the narrative goes kabut; at one point, you could even say there is no such plot, just people fighting and smiling at each other. Once it reaches earth again, we find ourselves at the Brethren Court, made up of the nine pirate lords, two of whom are Sparrow (Johnny Depp) and Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush). Not only is it imbecilic, it's racist: watch as all of the Asians are the first ones whom are dead, as well as the screaming Japanese pirate queen, and the stuffy French pirate fop; then they start fighting. But anyway, eventually, Elizabeth Swann, played by the ludicrous Keira Knightley, gets elected to be the captain. Against whom, you ask? It's Davy Jones's (Bil Nighy) men allied with the British. Then there is a huge fight scene; then another one; then another one; then it's over! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
IanM.May 28, 2007
This movie was just very convoluted. The story, or lack of story, made no sense. The only reason the score is so high is thanks to some winning performances from Geoffrey Rush and Bill Nighy, The visuals are spectacular, but that cant save This movie was just very convoluted. The story, or lack of story, made no sense. The only reason the score is so high is thanks to some winning performances from Geoffrey Rush and Bill Nighy, The visuals are spectacular, but that cant save the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CiaranG.May 28, 2007
This is the worst film I've seen in years. The only film that is worse is 'Dahmer'. I do not get this movie at all. The story does not actually appear to have a storyline, it's more a collection of random pirate related This is the worst film I've seen in years. The only film that is worse is 'Dahmer'. I do not get this movie at all. The story does not actually appear to have a storyline, it's more a collection of random pirate related rubbish. I have no idea what was happening in the film, there was no explanation, just random scenes put together of boats going over the edge of the world, sea monsters, english people and a woman who at one point turns into a giant and then turns into a mass of crabs and then disappears. I have no idea what that was about. There were so many completely random, wacky moments. But it wasn't exciting wacky or funny wacky, it was just awful wacky. There were parts were the film tried to be funny, but it was just too stupid. The story didn't make one bit sense. The music was good in parts, but it would have been better if I had a clue as to what was happening or what the triumphant music was for or why the ship was made from living skeletons and why Jack Sparrow had mini Jack Sparrows on each of his shoulders talking to him. I really, really wanted to sleep in parts of this film. I was glad to get out and go to the toilet. There were some crazy almost exciting action scenes and fights, but the majority of the film involved characters talking and squabbling about completely random, nonsensical things. What the hell were the pieces of eight for? Even if I was told I'd get £5 free to go see it again, I would definitely say no. I couldn't bare it. I was dying to take out my phone and play Solitaire or something whilst watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
Capt.KiddMay 28, 2007
I gave it a three because, even though unrealistic, the effects are at times eye-popping. The Davy Jones character has two or three scenes that are very emotional (one in particular when he sheds a tear) and Geoffrey Rush is very good... I gave it a three because, even though unrealistic, the effects are at times eye-popping. The Davy Jones character has two or three scenes that are very emotional (one in particular when he sheds a tear) and Geoffrey Rush is very good... HOWEVER, the lame and just terrible and tasteless humor transformed potentially outstanding characters into buffoons. I loved Rush playing Barbossa, he is just brilliant, but the "jokes" that he had to say completely killed the nature of his character. Same thing with Davy Jones, he should be scary and intimidating, I loved that character! And what with the pirate with the squeaky voice? Is one laugh worth sacrificing the image of all the pirates? Depp good, but totally eclipsed by Rush. Bloom goes practically unnoticed, Knightley fails awfully to deliver the emotion that her character needs (her most important speech to the pirates is immaterial, plain, fake and weak). And the mind twisting storyline gets you all confused, which has the effect of not letting you connect with any of the characters. Bottom line: lacks emotion, good acting wasted on lame and uncreative lines, lousy humor strips pirates of their inherent style turning them into clowns, un-engaging storyline. Save your 7 bucks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NickN.May 28, 2007
the movie sucked hard. the story is bad, the actors suck and i couldn't laugh at all. they waisted 220 million USD and i wasted 168 minutes of my life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RogaL.May 28, 2007
This is my first ever review here, and I'm doing this to prevent people from being disappointed by this film. To start things off, I found Pirates 1 & 2 both where very enjoyable, true Blockbusters, so hopes where there, that part 3 This is my first ever review here, and I'm doing this to prevent people from being disappointed by this film. To start things off, I found Pirates 1 & 2 both where very enjoyable, true Blockbusters, so hopes where there, that part 3 would deliver. It doesn't. For it's length it doesn't really tell anything, and what it does it's unnecessarily confusing. The sfx are over the top, bordering on ridiculous. You don't build any affection to any of the characters. Sure, the film has it's moments, but not nearly enough to make it worthwhile spending your cash on. Don't get me wrong, I'm perfectly aware what to expect from a summer blockbuster and what not. But Pirates 3 is just one big mess. Save your money and buy yourself a bottle of rum, chances are high you'll have a better pirate adventure that way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ThomasSMay 29, 2007
The plot was senseless drivel, the movie overly long, and I regret the money and time I invested in seeing it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RobertB.May 29, 2007
What kind of children's movie opens with mass hangings? The action is still generally enjoyable but yes, some things in this movie just don't make any sense (plotwise). Much of the non-action scenes were likely provided by the What kind of children's movie opens with mass hangings? The action is still generally enjoyable but yes, some things in this movie just don't make any sense (plotwise). Much of the non-action scenes were likely provided by the writers of Days of Our Lives. At least 30 minutes could have been trimmed from this movie without missing a thing. If you were disappointed by the 2nd Pirates movie, this will only lower your opinion of the franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AnnieMay 30, 2007
This movie was such a waste of time. Why would I go to watch the THIRD in a SERIES where all of the characters I loved DIE?!? Where the brains were on that, I will never know. And is it now Will Turner's locker? Stupid plot twist and This movie was such a waste of time. Why would I go to watch the THIRD in a SERIES where all of the characters I loved DIE?!? Where the brains were on that, I will never know. And is it now Will Turner's locker? Stupid plot twist and terrible ending. Even the people I know who liked the film are thinking of their own endings or expanding on this one because it was bad. Given how long the movie could take to resolve (more than two and a half hours) there is no excuse for it to be that bad. I miss the brevity and fun of the first one. The second two, which could have been great, aren't worth seeing again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DonP.May 31, 2007
Impossible to follow any plot. Unlike that great trilogy the Lord of the Rings, I never knew whose side I was on - who was good and who was evil. As soon as I'd figured it out, it changed. The movie was an utter waste of time except for Impossible to follow any plot. Unlike that great trilogy the Lord of the Rings, I never knew whose side I was on - who was good and who was evil. As soon as I'd figured it out, it changed. The movie was an utter waste of time except for two things: 1) the scene where Jack is in some nether-world and the rocks turn into crabs who carry the ship to the water is like a scene from another, psychedelic film. I wanted to get stoned to watch that scene. It was totally out of place, and totally fun - the special effects were well used. 2) It's always amusing, as a gay man, to see that Disney's many gay writers are still having fun making penis jokes. Like at the end when Jack tells the girls "it really does look larger close up" and each girl saying how she "wanted to go for a ride" first....plus the bit with Jack having a small, flaccid telescope... again completely out of place but they are the only 2 things I found amusing! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LionelP.May 31, 2007
Dull, too long, non-sensical, over indulgent CGI fest crap. Terrible
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JamesD.Jun 10, 2007
The movie is a bore. The story tries to accomplish too much, and the plot darts around dizzily like a drunken pirate. Ignoring the plot there are a few scenes here and there that attempt to resurrect the magic of the first movie in the The movie is a bore. The story tries to accomplish too much, and the plot darts around dizzily like a drunken pirate. Ignoring the plot there are a few scenes here and there that attempt to resurrect the magic of the first movie in the series. Audiences will find laughter to be scarce in this movie and enjoyment even harder to find. The battles are long and felt like watching CGI on steroids. Despite all of the effort put into making everything look as realistic as possible I have never felt more removed from a movie. The very ending of Pirates 3 feels like the ending to a different movie. The Pirates theme plays as Depp sails off triumphantly into the sunset. With hints at the end suggesting possibly another sequel I'm wondering how much more money Disney can make from a franchise that is more dead than Davy Jones. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
LauraDJun 1, 2007
Within 5 minutes of the movie starting I felt myself already getting drowsy. 3 hours later after NOT falling asleep and trying to find a plot I found out I would have better spent my time sleeping. I gave it a chance and it didn't meet Within 5 minutes of the movie starting I felt myself already getting drowsy. 3 hours later after NOT falling asleep and trying to find a plot I found out I would have better spent my time sleeping. I gave it a chance and it didn't meet my lowest expectations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HugoJun 16, 2007
A real nightmare, boring, stupid, loud, annoying. You will beg for mercy and ask for the movie to end soon! And if you are lucky you will understand what the heck some of the characters are speaking, not to mention that suddenly we have A real nightmare, boring, stupid, loud, annoying. You will beg for mercy and ask for the movie to end soon! And if you are lucky you will understand what the heck some of the characters are speaking, not to mention that suddenly we have Chinese, Muslim, Hindu and African pirates among other stupid plots and characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AcriticJun 24, 2007
The 3rd and final of stupid pirate movies. A waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PatrickJun 29, 2007
Why does a film based on a ride need a sequel? And why does it need to become a trilogy? It's a pretentious attempt to become a Lord of the Rings type epic, but fails miserably. It's about the same legnth as LOTR, but way more Why does a film based on a ride need a sequel? And why does it need to become a trilogy? It's a pretentious attempt to become a Lord of the Rings type epic, but fails miserably. It's about the same legnth as LOTR, but way more dull. The plot was too long and complicated to understand, and not at all entertaining. It put me to sleep. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NumbyJun 3, 2007
Mind numbing why such an anticipated movie could turn out this awful. Totally disjointed and hard to follow. Half way through this crap you just don't care anymore what happens. Three hours long and boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RHJun 6, 2007
I loved the first Pirates move, and the second was good. this one had incredible special effects but the story was confused and hard to follow, and the ending was very unsatisfying. It's a shame... with just a little effort by the I loved the first Pirates move, and the second was good. this one had incredible special effects but the story was confused and hard to follow, and the ending was very unsatisfying. It's a shame... with just a little effort by the writers, this could have been the best of all Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HoraceJun 7, 2007
Jared, yes we were watching the same movie. Perhaps you are a very forgiving person or checked your brains in at the door. Pirates was a fantastic idea when it started and captivated all of us. However, the second movie was not really good Jared, yes we were watching the same movie. Perhaps you are a very forgiving person or checked your brains in at the door. Pirates was a fantastic idea when it started and captivated all of us. However, the second movie was not really good and this third sequel, well, the less said the better. Yes, they spent a fortune on special effects but without a storyline to go with them after awhile the audience realizes that the flick has become ridiculous without any feeling as no matter what no one dies or for that matter does any of the proceedings make any sense. That said, if you think this was a perfect movie deserving of a perfect score, then my score has to be a big fat goosegg to warn the unsuspecting public of how truly awful this movie really is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoseM.Jun 9, 2007
This movie blew!! Oh man, I couldn't take it. Boring. Dumb. Ridiculous. LONGGGGGGGGGG. I hope they don't make a forth one, but if they do, they can count me out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
FedUpJul 28, 2007
How do you take one of the most lovable rascals and turn it into this garbage. Easy! Just dreadful!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
matrix1004Jan 21, 2008
Dear Pirates 3, I HATE YOU, I HATE YOU, I HATE YOU. You suck & are terrible. You are so bad, in fact, that you almost make Pirates 2 look like Pirates 1. And that is saying a lot! How could something so great (Pirates 1) turn into this and Dear Pirates 3, I HATE YOU, I HATE YOU, I HATE YOU. You suck & are terrible. You are so bad, in fact, that you almost make Pirates 2 look like Pirates 1. And that is saying a lot! How could something so great (Pirates 1) turn into this and get so progressively worse? I hope you enjoy the company at the top of my Worst/Most Hated Movies Ever list. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EthanR.Dec 9, 2007
I really don't understand...did any of the creators of this movie actually watch the movie...its dreadful! i rented it and only got 1 quarter through the movie!! where did the coins come from? and if they're so important why does a I really don't understand...did any of the creators of this movie actually watch the movie...its dreadful! i rented it and only got 1 quarter through the movie!! where did the coins come from? and if they're so important why does a little criminal kid have one? why were crab rocks pushing jack sparrows boat through a land of sand? I JUST DON'T UNDERSTAND! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
CarlaT.May 25, 2007
Insipid hogwash! I took my nephew to it, and he wanted to leave halfway through it (I was ready in the first half hour). We stayed til the end, but in hindsight, we should have left when he asked to leave. Strike that. We shouldn't have Insipid hogwash! I took my nephew to it, and he wanted to leave halfway through it (I was ready in the first half hour). We stayed til the end, but in hindsight, we should have left when he asked to leave. Strike that. We shouldn't have gone to see it to begin with! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
EvanS.May 25, 2007
Near the end of the movie, two ships are twirling down a funnel in the ocean - an appropriate metaphor for this absolute mess. I'll never get those 170 minutes back in my life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SteveMay 25, 2007
Boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
E.F.May 26, 2007
Plot too complicated for even bright casual observers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SallyD.May 26, 2007
I'm so depressed. I loved the first movie. I tried to convince myself that the second "wasn't that bad". Now i know. This third movie really is that bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
Func.May 27, 2007
Very disappointed.... No where near the rating of the first two movies... Long... boring... dragging on and on and on....:0(((
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JosephMay 27, 2007
Sucked, sucked, sucked, and sucked some more. Boring from start to finish. I wouldn't recommend PIRATES to my worst enemy. One point for the make-up and effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TravisR.May 28, 2007
I can't add anymore than everyone else already did. I just wanted to put my two cents in, saying it sucked. Loved the first one, 2nd was ok, third was lame as hell.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AndrewPMay 29, 2007
Simply, it was a poorly made over-complicated mess and managed to keep me wishing I could fall asleep.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DklingenJun 13, 2007
It is so sad that Pirates has lost the simple light hearted fun of the first movie. It is like the Matrix all over again - great 1st movie, weak 2nd movie, poor 3rd movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MikeJ.Jun 15, 2007
Holy Cow, I would have given this movie a negative number if it was possilbe. This movie was nothing less than stupid, dumb, boring and lonnnggg. If you want to see this movie I suggest going at bedtime and sleep through it. Save your money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MattC.Jun 22, 2007
This movie, like the last one, is three hours of absolute mind-numbing boredom. The action scenes (and there really aren't even that many of them) just plain suck and even Johnny Depp, who I usually like in just about anything, is This movie, like the last one, is three hours of absolute mind-numbing boredom. The action scenes (and there really aren't even that many of them) just plain suck and even Johnny Depp, who I usually like in just about anything, is starting to get on the nerves with his overdone Jack Sparrow character. What is wrong with all you people who think these movies are so great? Seriously, comparing them to the Lord of the Rings trilogy? There is no comparison whatsoever. The LOTR movies are beautifully directed works of art -- the Pirate movies (especially the last two) are completely overburdened wastes of time. Ten minutes into it and I was already regretting getting trapped into seeing another one of these incredible wastes of time. So there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DustinM.Dec 12, 2007
Three hours of failure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
johnjohnDec 26, 2007
Worst movie with NO story that can be followed by any reasonable person.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
asylumspadezNov 23, 2011
I sat through this film for nearly 3 hours and I hated it. The story was even worst then the previous film, The acting was terrible, and it ended terribly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
FuturedirectorMay 19, 2017
Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End may soar thanks to its impressive battle sequences, but a terribly dull storytelling and unoriginal interpretations ruin the conclusion and become this sequel the worst of the saga yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
FilmBuff94Mar 31, 2016
Given it's origins as a theme park ride, it's apt that Disney's Pirates of the Caribbean trilogy has experienced a trajectory not unlike that of a rollercoaster: an initial high, followed by repeated plummets to nauseating lows. At World'sGiven it's origins as a theme park ride, it's apt that Disney's Pirates of the Caribbean trilogy has experienced a trajectory not unlike that of a rollercoaster: an initial high, followed by repeated plummets to nauseating lows. At World's End completes the story begun by last year's Dead Man's Chest, and features all the cacophonous action and paper-thin drama that helped sabotage its deflating predecessor. Aesthetically speaking, there's virtually nothing differentiating these films, as both boast Gore Verbinski's spatially incoherent battle scenes, Dolby-customized sonic bombast, and lavish special effects so lacking in fine detail that they're deliberately shrouded in murky darkness. Yo Ho Ugh, it's merely more of the same, and I do mean more; at a whopping 168 minutes, so much happens in At World's End that it's nigh impossible to keep up with all the various machinations and conflicting motivations crammed into Ted Elliott and Terry Rossio's script. Such overkill, however, is simply a tool of distraction aimed at diverting attention away from the fact that the film's existence is driven not by overarching narrative demands (there's barely enough substantive material to warrant even a 90-minute runtime), but by an insatiable corporate bottom line.

Previously on Pirates: Smash, bang, boom, and other loud, meaningless hijinks led fey rascal Captain Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) to be imprisoned in Davy Jones's locker, and insipid lovebirds Will Turner (Orlando Bloom) and Elizabeth Swann (Keira Knightley) to team up with newly resurrected Captain Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush) to help rescue Jack so he, in turn, could aid their quest to defeat squid-faced Davy Jones (Bill Nighy) and his new master, East India Trading Company bigwig Lord Beckett (Tom Hollander). That mouthful of a synopsis pales in comparison to the one necessitated by At World's End, whose myriad convoluted storylines involve most principal characters making promises to their mates, then engineering duplicitous back-room arrangements with their enemies (to further their own selfish ends), and then coming around and doing the right thing in the end because, well, it makes for a happier, safer, less morally complicated ending. Countless cross-purposes are simultaneously at work and yet, throughout, amount to naught, with the resultant plot muddle—made up of thinly sketched characters who are chiefly defined by their relationship to each other, and whose issues are dealt with in bite-size portions to make room for distended combat sequences—stinking like a pile of discarded corpses.

The film's primary thread concerns the historic convening of the Brethren Court (made up of the nine pirate lords, two of whom are Sparrow and Barbossa), providing At World's End with an opportunity to indulge in outlandish stereotypes (among them: the screaming Japanese pirate queen, the stuffy French pirate fop, and Chow Yun-Fat sporting a Fu Manchu as Singapore's stilted English-spouting Captain Sao Feng). Crass, to be sure, but no less laughably objectionable than the script's underlying clash between British capitalism (“It's just good business,” is Cutler's be-all excuse for treachery) and pirate “honor,” a concept Verbinski and company don't even bother trying to explain. In essence, we're meant to root for Jack and his plundering cohorts purely because they're the funny and/or hot ones. It's a strategy that might have been more tenable were it not for Bloom's enervating blandness, Knightley's counterfeit badass posturing and Braveheart-ish “Freedom!” speech (as well as her comical ability to keep her tanned face smudge-free), and the unavoidable sense that what was once unique and inspired about Depp's Sparrow has, at this point, become calculated and dull, his prancing and lisping and flailing about emitting the odor of a stale routine.

Absent rhythm or even basic narrative uniformity, the film careens clumsily, occasionally hitting upon a quirky moment—such as Jack's hallucinatory escapades in Davy Jones's locker and in the Flying Dutchman's brig—but mainly propping up its watery scenarios with recycled imagery (including three shots of boats bursting out of the ocean), pedestrian swordfights, and a dreary cameo from Keith Richards as the elder Sparrow. From beating aortas and heart-shaped lockets to enchanted compasses and cipher-laden maps, talismanic crap abounds, yet because the film's mythology carries no weight, these trinkets' supposed momentous value is nil; they're just so much costume jewelry. Meanwhile, limp romantic dilemmas are reconciled during a climactic showdown in which two battleships chase each other around a whirlpool in some bizarre (and immensely tedious) version of Pirate NASCAR.

At World's End—a spectacle composed of intangible CG, superficial performances, and twists and turns that are vapidly resolved—it's clear that the statement also pertains to this empty vessel of a Hollywood blockbuster franchise.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews