Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: May 25, 2007
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 830 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
451
Mixed:
168
Negative:
211
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
RobertHMay 30, 2007
A morose tone, messy narrative, and superfluous subplots make this a real disappointment. The summer season has definitely seen better films.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
4
Philter137May 27, 2007
Sadly, this movie was a big disappointment for me. There were some good aspects - the sets, costumes and special effects were excellent and deserve to be recognised for their technical complexity and flawlessness, BUT... the story was Sadly, this movie was a big disappointment for me. There were some good aspects - the sets, costumes and special effects were excellent and deserve to be recognised for their technical complexity and flawlessness, BUT... the story was unsteady, unengaging and at times difficult to follow. The dialouge was forgettable, the humor was tired, the peformances mostly lacklustre. The worst error was the pacing - long unmoving conversations that failed to draw you into the story, followed by action sequences that built up too quickly to a fever pitch and stayed there forever, a steady stream of exaggerated feats and narrow escapes, one after the other, over and over and over - the result; a solid wall of audio and video noise that quickly became boring. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
DaveW.May 24, 2007
More proof that Pirates should have been left as a single film (just like the Matrix) the sequels only dilute what a brilliant film the original was. Its just too long and rambling, the whole cast to use from the first but it has no sparkle More proof that Pirates should have been left as a single film (just like the Matrix) the sequels only dilute what a brilliant film the original was. Its just too long and rambling, the whole cast to use from the first but it has no sparkle or any really great moments, shame. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
RichardHMay 25, 2007
Too long, boring, rubbish script, loads of waffling, retarded ending, etc. etc. On the plus side, it does finish eventually.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
Potter17Dec 11, 2011
"At World's End" script is clearly lacking some sense of purpose or direction. Director Gore Verbinski succeeds at sometimes overwhelming me with spectacular action sequences but he can't make the convoluted plot to take off. My positive"At World's End" script is clearly lacking some sense of purpose or direction. Director Gore Verbinski succeeds at sometimes overwhelming me with spectacular action sequences but he can't make the convoluted plot to take off. My positive score goes to Depp, Knightley and Rush who are awesome as always. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
heyitsmegrif4Dec 30, 2011
Again the story gets emotionally well written at the heart of the movie, but it isn't very well told so the movie definitely suffers. Although it benefits from amazing performance, breathtaking visuals, clever humor which only makes sense ifAgain the story gets emotionally well written at the heart of the movie, but it isn't very well told so the movie definitely suffers. Although it benefits from amazing performance, breathtaking visuals, clever humor which only makes sense if you have seen the first two installments and a great ending well supposed to be ending for an unforgettable franchise. I give this movie 60%. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 24, 2011
Man, the story is getting dumber...
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
5
DirkM.Jun 5, 2007
Uninspired storytelling with few laughs. The chemistry between the actors from the first two movies is non-existent in this one. The efforts to shove Depp's charm down our throat was insulting at best.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
jwt7000Aug 6, 2012
This movie had too many characters and too many boring scenes where it's not even close for a largest epic cast. Only the beginning and the last 45 minutes of the longest movie in the series are epic but this movie doesn't really needThis movie had too many characters and too many boring scenes where it's not even close for a largest epic cast. Only the beginning and the last 45 minutes of the longest movie in the series are epic but this movie doesn't really need redundant scenes and some parts of the story are just irreverent. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
kronMay 28, 2011
This movie is the weakest of the pirates of the Caribbean franchise. The movie is even more complicated than the second one. They also add a lot of stuff,and a lot of things happen off screen. However it still a fun movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
cameronmorewoodNov 9, 2012
Wow, the writers were really at a loss here. What we have here is a moneymaker without plot or purpose.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
JessicaW.Feb 9, 2008
Lacked the much loved characteristics of the characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MichMay 25, 2007
It was very long and a hard to follow. I had no clue what was happening during the first half of the film due to slurred dialogue and too-close-up action shots. Also, multiple-Captain Jacks got on my nerves. Now it's the next day, and It was very long and a hard to follow. I had no clue what was happening during the first half of the film due to slurred dialogue and too-close-up action shots. Also, multiple-Captain Jacks got on my nerves. Now it's the next day, and I'm still confused about what I saw, what happened and what it was even about. I couldn't get into the urgency of the story because I didn't understand the story, or how it related to the previous two--which in turn, made me care less about the fate of the characters. Johnny had his shining moments as in all the other Pirates, but as with all sequels, we've seen it before. Warning: Be in the mood to see this film when you go. If you're the slightest bit hesitant about a 3 hour Pirates flick, wait! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CaroleM.May 26, 2007
Great acting by Johnny Depp. Loved his father, Keith Richards. LOL Too many fight scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
halbMay 28, 2007
Well, as usual, those folks raving about this (with 9s and 10s) must be pretty easy to please... while those giving it less than 2 are probably being too harsh, and must have had very high expectations. After the second movie, I didn't Well, as usual, those folks raving about this (with 9s and 10s) must be pretty easy to please... while those giving it less than 2 are probably being too harsh, and must have had very high expectations. After the second movie, I didn't have huge expectations and therefore wasn't all that disappointed. That said, this was an over-long, confusing and contrived mess of a movie, saved only by the occasional gallows humor, the little monkey and a few truly inspired scenes. The acting is fine, but is almost always overwhelmed by the action, the sets and the CGI. Keith Richards, although only on for a couple minutes, was most excellent as Sparrow's father. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RedRumMay 29, 2007
Better than I expected considering the harsh reviews from the critics. Definitely had it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KevinRMay 30, 2007
While the witty one-liners and huge action opus scenes are truly exciting, the poor excuse for a plot that just makes things up as it goes (and not very well) kills what is otherwise a fairly entertaining romp across the seas.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BobB.Jun 16, 2007
I'm reviewing this only because the movie desperately needs it. Okay, was it an awesome movie? No, but it was action packed, interesting, and it finished the series in a way that didn't ruin it. The writers tried to cram too much I'm reviewing this only because the movie desperately needs it. Okay, was it an awesome movie? No, but it was action packed, interesting, and it finished the series in a way that didn't ruin it. The writers tried to cram too much info into the movie, and some of the acting sucked, but aside from that, the movie was fine. Just not awesome, but good enough for a fan to enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BenB.Jun 19, 2007
To think I could of wasted 3 hours on doing something more exciting like watching paint dry, I am glad I didn't pay for this movie. I used a voucher some one gave me, otherwise I would of asked for my money back. Made no sense, was To think I could of wasted 3 hours on doing something more exciting like watching paint dry, I am glad I didn't pay for this movie. I used a voucher some one gave me, otherwise I would of asked for my money back. Made no sense, was really random. I gave it 5 for the special effects and the 2 jokes that did make me laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BillC.Jun 3, 2007
This things a bear to follow, and the quirky fun of Pirates #1 is no where to be found. The Kieth Richards cameo is so disappointing as well. You can see where the money went...special effects a-plenty..too bad a better , shorter,more This things a bear to follow, and the quirky fun of Pirates #1 is no where to be found. The Kieth Richards cameo is so disappointing as well. You can see where the money went...special effects a-plenty..too bad a better , shorter,more cleaver story wasn't part of the deal. And the ending...it didn't seem to fit either. Disney just milked it's cash cow, and it shows. Bill C. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnH.Jun 5, 2007
Well, I saw the first two movies and loved them both. This movie left me with mixed feelings. I haven't watched Pirates since the second one came out in theatres, and let me tell you, if you want to fully enjoy it, don't do that, Well, I saw the first two movies and loved them both. This movie left me with mixed feelings. I haven't watched Pirates since the second one came out in theatres, and let me tell you, if you want to fully enjoy it, don't do that, because it was confusing as h--l. However, as I watched more of the movie, parts came back to me, but even still, I found myself unable to comprehend some parts. I'm not sure if watching the first two would have helped or not, because I can usually recall movie facts pretty accurately, and there were parts of this movie that I just found completely irrelevant. It was too long. But, despite all that, I liked the movie. It had funny parts, and although somewhat cheesy, I found myself laughing at it. Recommendation: Watch the other two before you leave home on the day of going, and you'll like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
fredbobDec 29, 2007
Did not live up to the first two at all. I loved the first films.. but his one .... i really did not like. Hope they make another one and save the series!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
THATMOVIEGUYMay 25, 2007
The most convoluted plot imaginable. 20 different twists that don't feel like twists, just annoying plot sublines that are hard to keep up with. Waiting for it to end (for 2 hours) was excruciating, made only somewhat tolerable by the The most convoluted plot imaginable. 20 different twists that don't feel like twists, just annoying plot sublines that are hard to keep up with. Waiting for it to end (for 2 hours) was excruciating, made only somewhat tolerable by the gorgeous Keira Knightley and the many facets of her character explored (sex goddess, tomboy, to war lord??). I loved the first 2, and I hope you are not as let down as me by At World's End. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JoshM.May 25, 2007
There were parts that were a major stretch, but, all in all, as a mindless summer movie it was entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JasonM.May 26, 2007
This movie was better than Dead Man's Chest, but did not live up to the expectations of the Curse of the Black Pearl. At times the writing was poor and over done to the extreme. This movie is worth a rent, but i don't recommend This movie was better than Dead Man's Chest, but did not live up to the expectations of the Curse of the Black Pearl. At times the writing was poor and over done to the extreme. This movie is worth a rent, but i don't recommend going to the cinema for this one. You can see the daughter of a governor become Queen of the Pirates on your couch rather than spending ten dollars for this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RyanMay 27, 2007
This movie just sucked... the storyline is convoluted, the plot goes nowhere, and at about 3 hours this is too much. Just watch the first "Pirates", it'll always be remembered as the best one! The visuals are nice but they can't This movie just sucked... the storyline is convoluted, the plot goes nowhere, and at about 3 hours this is too much. Just watch the first "Pirates", it'll always be remembered as the best one! The visuals are nice but they can't save the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ScottG.May 27, 2007
I loved the visuals in the opening and began to believe they could recapture the magic from the first film (don't get me wrong--I liked the second film; didn't love it). Following the opening sequence, the next hour and a half was I loved the visuals in the opening and began to believe they could recapture the magic from the first film (don't get me wrong--I liked the second film; didn't love it). Following the opening sequence, the next hour and a half was a mess. The shifting alliances and NUMEROUS council meetings were akin to C-SPAN w/pirates. The last hour picked up the pace and brought me back into the picture, but grudgingly by that point, since I felt like so much of my time had been wasted. When I left, I had the same complaints as when I saw Spiderman 3--too much story relying on too many coincidences and too loosely told. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DavidR.May 28, 2007
An incoherent mess, a shame on the filming industry. Heavily relying on special affects to give the audience a good time. Overall the plot is a mess, acting is stupid at times, when characters try to act funny, such as kiera knightly when An incoherent mess, a shame on the filming industry. Heavily relying on special affects to give the audience a good time. Overall the plot is a mess, acting is stupid at times, when characters try to act funny, such as kiera knightly when she brings out all those guns. The fight scene at the end was entertaining but blown by the marriage scene, that is just embarrassing to watch. To be honest i didn't like the second either, 1 word to sum it up. BORING. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JLMay 28, 2007
The story in Pirates 3 is like the spaghetti of electrical cords below my desk. They're all connected in some way, but difficult to unravel and make any sense of the mess. The special effects in the final fight sequence are impressive, The story in Pirates 3 is like the spaghetti of electrical cords below my desk. They're all connected in some way, but difficult to unravel and make any sense of the mess. The special effects in the final fight sequence are impressive, but this accounts for a very small portion of a very long running movie. P3 is, after all, a story to be enjoyed by both the young as well as the old - so a clearer storyline, more action, and definitely more wit and humor in the sauce would have made this dish much more palatable. I'd give it a 5 if it were shorter, but given it took up 168 minutes of my time, I'm taking it down a notch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JM.May 29, 2007
No comparison to the original, but Capt. Jack is amazing and Keira Knightley is stunning. However, the plot was muddled, the twists weren't very twisty, and the run time ran like a marathon runner. It may have been the fact that so much No comparison to the original, but Capt. Jack is amazing and Keira Knightley is stunning. However, the plot was muddled, the twists weren't very twisty, and the run time ran like a marathon runner. It may have been the fact that so much was happening yet nothing really pulled me in (other than Depp) or the fact that two hours in there was no end in sight. Whatever it was, this is the first movie I've ever fallen asleep (in a theater) to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarkB.May 30, 2007
Maximize the weaknesses, minimize or kill the strengths. That's the "strategy" employed by such suicidal sequels as Speed 2: Cruise Control (in which Keanu Reeves is nowhere to be found, Sandra Bullock's character devolves from Maximize the weaknesses, minimize or kill the strengths. That's the "strategy" employed by such suicidal sequels as Speed 2: Cruise Control (in which Keanu Reeves is nowhere to be found, Sandra Bullock's character devolves from lovably quirky to intensely irritating, and the villain was once again an employee who was genuinely cheated by his bosses, making both Speed movies perfect porno for Al Dunlap and Jack Welch). So why are Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End producer Jerry Bruckheimer, director Gore Verbinski and writers Terry Elliott and Ted Russio stealing from the Speed 2 playbook? Do they really believe in their collective heart of hearts that what the millions and millions of moviegoers who made POTC1 a surprise smash in 2003 and POTC2 last year's Number One box office hit really wanted was an even longer and more bloated pseudo-epic with more enervatingly Byzantine plotting, lots and LOTS more talk, far less action...and MUCH less Johnny Depp?!? (At one point in POTC3, one of Captain Jack Sparrow's foes asks if Sparrow actually plans his actions--or just makes them up as he goes along. Is the Bruckheimer crew making an arrogant in-joke about themselves?) I'm tired of hearing about how two of this year's best and most original films, David Fincher's Zodiac and Robert Rodriguez/ Quentin Tarantino's Grindhouse, would've been better (and made more money) if their makers had tamed their personal indulgences and trimmed their work a bit when it's bloody obvious that Bruckheimer, Verbinski and gang are 2007's true purveyors of arrogant egomania. How else would you explain their presumptiousness in not only NOT bringing Sparrow back for a full half-hour and then, when doing so, explaining his survival from the teeth and tentacles of POTC2's truly spectacular sea monster, the Kraken (who isn't even seen onscreen here) in a manner that's extremely sloppy and haphazaed by any standards but especially so in a beloved franchise that so many enthusiastic moviegoers have emotionally invested themselves in? Even allowing for the supernatural elements tossed into the mix, to buy into Sparrow's reunion with the rest of the principals, you have to disavow any common-sense knowledge of geography, zoology, weather or just plain elementary school logic. (I recently watched a silly Johnny Weissmuller Tarzan movie, Tarzan's Desert Mystery, in which the Lord of the Apes ftravels on horseback from a desert climate to a jungle one in about 30 seconds of real time. That 1943 "B" movie's stupidity is at least excused by the fact that it WAS a low-budget programmer. Over half a century and with innumerable times the money involved, there is simply no excuse for the Pirates people to harbor such cavalier disregard for its storytelling OR its audience.) For everything that POTC3 gets right--the production design is, once again, wonderfully detailed, eye-filling and even whimsical; the story arc concerning my favorite supporting character, the unexpectedly complex and conflicted Norrington (Jack Davenport) reaches a fitting if bittersweet end, and the monkey IS irresistable--it gets three times as much wrong, nothing so much as a pirates' council that grinds the movie midway into an even deader halt. (I've been at homeowners' association meetings that were far livelier and more rich in genuine entertainment value, even WITHOUT surprise guest appearances by legendary rock gods.) Not much less miscalculated are the moviemakers' gratuitous and unnecessary stabs, so to speak, at social commentary involving Guatanamo Bay and the USA Patriot Act, culminating in the (implied) hanging of a young boy that makes this movie truly inappropriate for children, even with its PG-13 rating. (It IS notable from a historical and cultural context that the British Navy is depicted in this aggressively mainstream movie with the same attitude with which the U.S. Cavalry was treated in such revisionist, Vietnam-era westerns as Soldier Blue and Little Big Man.) Even the wildly elaborate, storm-swept climactic sea battle doesn't have a patch on the funny, Indiana Jones-esque bits, such as the three man water-wheel swordfight and the shish-kabob drop, that punctuated the otherwise uneven POTC2. But hey, by the time we're edging toward Hour Three (which seems like Hour Five), at least the big finale is highly welcome (to say nothing of highly overdue)...especially when it caps off a movie that forces its audience to walk a seemingly neverending plank. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PaulK.Jun 15, 2007
Could this have been more mediocre? They should have fired the writing team and started over. Thoroughly disappointing. Skip it, really.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
FXTJun 5, 2007
I was waiting for better since the 2nd one but it was not all that bad. A good sequel, even if it's a little long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MitchM.Jun 6, 2007
It's get style points, and "eccentric performance" points, but founders on the shallow reefs of poor storytelling (god, the way they hop from ship to ship is so ... promiscuous ) and an overreach in terms of minutes the audience has to It's get style points, and "eccentric performance" points, but founders on the shallow reefs of poor storytelling (god, the way they hop from ship to ship is so ... promiscuous ) and an overreach in terms of minutes the audience has to sit in their seat and try to assimilate all of this mess. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GatsbyJ.Sep 12, 2007
-The movie was entertaining, but like its predecessor, it wasn't very focused. I thought Black Pearl was a good movie for pure entertainment value: funny, clever, some nice action sequences and cinematography, with an actual plot-line. -The movie was entertaining, but like its predecessor, it wasn't very focused. I thought Black Pearl was a good movie for pure entertainment value: funny, clever, some nice action sequences and cinematography, with an actual plot-line. Dead Man's Chest was absolutely pointless: there were about three things that happened: Will meets Dad, audience meets Davie Jones and Calypso, and Jack dies. That's all that really happened in the movie. It also lacked focus and there was no framework holding everything together giving the reader a sense of purpose the movie was heading towards. -At World's End is far better than the second, but still a mediocre movie. The jokes were pretty immature, but it was funny at times. There's some awesome cinematography (like Jack in Davie Jone's locker) as well as the ending fight between Jack and Davie Jones on the ship, and some parts were quite clever. It started off so promising with the whole pirate's song (but then this is COMPLETELY forgotten about later) but then followed the path of Dead Man's Chest. The music, however, was great as always. -There was so much potential in this movie: at first I thought it would be about pirates being hunted down and having to form one last alliance to stand up against the British Armada (like the trailers promised). The whole concept of the pirate kings was very intriguing and clever. But all this potential was wasted since the movie wasn't about the pirates banding together, but focused on the love story between Calypso and Davie Jones, and Will and Elizabeth. Does anyone remember any other pirate ships fighting at the end besides the Black Pearl? Nope: they didn't show any of the other pirates lords against the British Armada during the final fight, which would have just been stunning and what I was most looking forward to from the trailers. -Ah well, wasted potential. Decent movie; SO MUCH BETTER than the second, but no where as good as the first. Just to reiterate: the second one sucked! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PeterJ.Dec 26, 2007
Ok, all of you reviewers are wrong. It is not an 8, 9, or a 10. Neither is it a 0, 1, 2, or 3. It was an average movie which is very disappointing compared to the previous installments. A 5 is exactly where this movie should be, but I give Ok, all of you reviewers are wrong. It is not an 8, 9, or a 10. Neither is it a 0, 1, 2, or 3. It was an average movie which is very disappointing compared to the previous installments. A 5 is exactly where this movie should be, but I give it an extra point for Depps character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JamesC.May 21, 2007
Really bad. Too many characters with bad development, the action scenes are just nothing special and all the feeling of the movie is just repetitive. Honestly, first Spider, then Shrek and now Pirates, what's happening ? Well, JohnnyReally bad. Too many characters with bad development, the action scenes are just nothing special and all the feeling of the movie is just repetitive. Honestly, first Spider, then Shrek and now Pirates, what's happening ? Well, Johnny depp continues to make a great work, alongside Geoffrey Rush witch actually provides itself the best thing in the whole movie. But Keira and Bloom ruined everything, they both gave razzie-worth performances, it's just embarrasing to watch. Also, the comedy that worked in the first two is quite missing here, and when it appears it's unecessary. The ending was quite nice, cliché but cool. If the rest of the movie had helped... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JosephF.May 25, 2007
Second best will be good enough is this potpourri of a pirate adventure/love story. Good: Johnny Depp gets the screen time that he lost in Pirates 2. Excellent special effects that do not overrun the story. Finishes with several nice plot Second best will be good enough is this potpourri of a pirate adventure/love story. Good: Johnny Depp gets the screen time that he lost in Pirates 2. Excellent special effects that do not overrun the story. Finishes with several nice plot twists with a bittersweet finale. Bad: The pieces do not always fit together in this extravaganza. Story meanders in the middle. Needed to be trimmed by 30 - 40 minutes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NeilK.May 25, 2007
Eh... it was OK... in my opinion it was the WORST of the three films. As long as this movie was... there were several plot points that they managed to leave out. (D'oh!) Oh, and when the MONKEY is the most entertaining actor in the Eh... it was OK... in my opinion it was the WORST of the three films. As long as this movie was... there were several plot points that they managed to leave out. (D'oh!) Oh, and when the MONKEY is the most entertaining actor in the film... that could be a bad sign. But hey, if the summer gets hot near you this summer... $10 for three + hours of air conditioning might do the trick! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
J.RodMay 25, 2007
Ok, so this movie's not great by any means, but its decent. I mean, the storyline(s) are are thrown together pretty haphazardly at times but c'mon its a pirate movie. The main problem with this movie is that its almost 3 hours Ok, so this movie's not great by any means, but its decent. I mean, the storyline(s) are are thrown together pretty haphazardly at times but c'mon its a pirate movie. The main problem with this movie is that its almost 3 hours long! Once again, c'mon its a pirates movie! All in all, I was pleased that I found it way more entertaining than the last one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
[Anonymous]May 26, 2007
So...confusing... but it's worth it just to see the pirates trilogy finish up. but i repeat. so... confusing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnB.May 26, 2007
As a huge fan of the series, I was taken aback at all the revisionism and plot twists. Maybe it's better after a second watch. Also -- perhaps we have become accostumed to a trilogy ending the story, therefore, we were looking for As a huge fan of the series, I was taken aback at all the revisionism and plot twists. Maybe it's better after a second watch. Also -- perhaps we have become accostumed to a trilogy ending the story, therefore, we were looking for perminace and answers.... did anyone ever claim that this was the end? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BitBurnMay 26, 2007
A little incoherent, a little long too. It wasn't all bad but It's not going to win any Oscars methinks, unless maybe for special effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CarmineM.May 28, 2007
The beginning 25 minutes was pretty cool and I thought it would be just as good as the others from that. Boy was I wrong though. First off Knightley's character is so laughingly dumb that I was cringing whenever she spoke. They try to The beginning 25 minutes was pretty cool and I thought it would be just as good as the others from that. Boy was I wrong though. First off Knightley's character is so laughingly dumb that I was cringing whenever she spoke. They try to make her into this tough pirate all of a sudden out of no where. (she was much better as the damsel in distress). In the beginning when she walks into the room of Singapore pirates and opens her jacket to reveal about 8 guns (including one huge gun that could never be hidden like that) was so cliched and stupid. Then I was laughing from the stupidity when the annoying calypso woman turns into a huge giant, then into 1000 crabs, then does nothing but create a whirlpool. Then it ends with probably the corniest scene I have ever seen in a movie, where Knightley and Will get married while fighting off bad guys on a ship that's in a whirlpool and practically on its side. Even Johnny Depp's character wasn't as charming and cool as in the first two movies. This was a waste of time and one of the most laugh out loud stupid/corny movies I have ever seen. You should be ashamed of yourself if you are over 13 and gave this movie a 9-10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AddisonC.May 29, 2007
It had moments but I actually was bored and left early. I didn't care and don't care that I will never know how it ended. What a mess!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CliveMay 29, 2007
[***SPOILER****] Actually every character's reasons for doing things in the movie made sense, its just that everything in the movie is so ridiculous that it takes the fun out of the story. They insult your intelligence by putting in [***SPOILER****] Actually every character's reasons for doing things in the movie made sense, its just that everything in the movie is so ridiculous that it takes the fun out of the story. They insult your intelligence by putting in mindless scenes that are just supposed to excite you but do they really make sense (both ships blasting the one at the end with like 50 cannons, why wouldnt he fire?) Everything in this movie was there purely to make you feel excited or make you feel sad. P.S. Knightley and Bloom getting married by the captain while fighting was easily the worst movie scene i have ever laid eyes upon and at this moment i wanted to leave the theatre. I still enjoyed some of the action and jokes so ill give it a 5. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
Mr.MeatJun 24, 2007
"Louise T. gave it a 10: Finally, a movie that leaves the audience to do some thinking. I loved this movie, mostly for the same reason people hated it, the carefully weaving prophetic storyline is a gem. Pirates 3 is bold, defiant and "Louise T. gave it a 10: Finally, a movie that leaves the audience to do some thinking. I loved this movie, mostly for the same reason people hated it, the carefully weaving prophetic storyline is a gem. Pirates 3 is bold, defiant and gracefully ignites the imagination with its beauty and passion. 10+" LOL how about minus graceful, beauty and passion? as well as thinking, carefully and gem. actually ill disregard that entire review and give the truth. it was clumsy, overacted and less funny than the other two, however it had some pretty interesting action scenes, as well as some really attention grabbing special effects. it was still funny too, however quite a few jokes flopped, and a lot of scenes dragged on for too long. moderately enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ArielGDec 12, 2007
Watching the latest installment of Pirates of The Caribbean, I was reminded of the Godfather movies, where the first two were excellent, but the third one was a jumbled mess that shouldn't have been made. It still has the humour and Watching the latest installment of Pirates of The Caribbean, I was reminded of the Godfather movies, where the first two were excellent, but the third one was a jumbled mess that shouldn't have been made. It still has the humour and special effects that the first two POTC movies had, but it was severely lacking a decent story, was unnecessarily overdrawn. Johnny Depp was great (as always!) and the only redeeming quality to this movie. His great acting and off-beat humour made it bearable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GoldenEye16Aug 22, 2010
Again, what I said about Dead Man's Chest except even more so here. Too long, entertaining and adventurous, but unnecessary and confusing. It was decent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ImUnavailableJul 1, 2011
It was never going to be easy to resolve the multiple story lines present at the end of Dead Man's Chest. At World's End makes this even more difficult by adding in a few extra story lines for good measure. The result is a jumbled film thatIt was never going to be easy to resolve the multiple story lines present at the end of Dead Man's Chest. At World's End makes this even more difficult by adding in a few extra story lines for good measure. The result is a jumbled film that tackles far too much, even with a particularly long running time. Because of the focus on tying up the loose ends of the story, not nearly enough time is dedicated to characters and important events. The main quest (to rescue Jack) is done and dusted in less than an hour and undermines the impact of the cliffhanger ending of DMC. Norrington, Chow Yun-Fat's Sao Feng and even the Kraken are all pushed to the side and play minor roles. This is disappointing as Norrington and the Kraken were of much greater importance to proceedings in DMC and Sao Feng was an interesting new edition. More troubling is the chance in the character of Will Turner who begins the movie as a sneering, almost villainous character but n the end returns to his usual self. This strange shift is clearly done for the benefit of the story but prompts the audience to dislike Will, a usually likable and morally upright character. The action scenes, though entertaining, drag on and quickly outstay their welcome. Though it wasn't terrible, I enjoyed the previous two films more; the first for its originality and the second for its dense but clear story. Both seem to be lacking in this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
coolevMay 18, 2011
Disney is truly mad for the many action scenes and sword fighting stuffed into this film. Thank goodness for that 'cause if it didn't this movie would probably never work. Why should I watch any of these movies? Four of the Pirates filmsDisney is truly mad for the many action scenes and sword fighting stuffed into this film. Thank goodness for that 'cause if it didn't this movie would probably never work. Why should I watch any of these movies? Four of the Pirates films tried to bore me in the past - one of them succeed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
wrldfilmMay 30, 2011
though the special effects are great, the series definitely loses steam with this movie and not even Johnny can keep it going. The writers seem to be running out of sudden plot twists to throw at us and it seems like the movie is a rollerthough the special effects are great, the series definitely loses steam with this movie and not even Johnny can keep it going. The writers seem to be running out of sudden plot twists to throw at us and it seems like the movie is a roller coaster, diving and swerving through several story lines that never clearly join but just continue on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
LandFApr 19, 2012
A disappointing third film in the Pirates series. It suffers from all the problems of the first and second, and then some. Much of the appeal of the first two are gone, and what remains is a confusing, boring, and unfunny second sequel.A disappointing third film in the Pirates series. It suffers from all the problems of the first and second, and then some. Much of the appeal of the first two are gone, and what remains is a confusing, boring, and unfunny second sequel. Problems abound from everywhere, so I'll be working hard to narrow it down. For one, Johnny Depp's role as Jack Sparrow is once again shrunken into a smaller part. Also there is absolutely no action that is even vaguely interesting (after the first half hour). In fact, the last hour is at least 45 minutes action, and it's surprisingly dull. In fact, it's tedious. It's just people killing each other, and nothing interesting about it. There's no variety, no interesting atmosphere. Just swords clashing. There is a plot, which is more than what can be said for the second, but it's so confusing, with so many characters and sub plots and deceptions and people changing sides, that it's almost completely incomprehensible. Most of the characters are obnoxious, and though that was apparent in the first two, it is even more so now. There are too many flat gags, too many boring scenes, and too many characters for the film to flow well. There were times when I wondered what the purpose was for really anything going on during the movie. There are some good things though. The first half hour is strong, just like the first two flicks, but after that, the movie is drop dead boring. The score is another winner from composer Hanz Zimmer, albeit a tad familiar. The acting is dependable, and even admist a thousand bad jokes, there's at least a few laughs (or chuckles really). There is one bizzare scene where godess of the sea, Calypso is turned back into her original form. This scene is so weird, stupid, and nonsensical, it's hard not to burst out laughing (I most certainly did). Let's just say that she grows about 1,000 feet high, talks like she has really bad congestion, looks like she's constipated, and eventually explodes into a million crabs. It's even more ridiculous on screen. When the film closes, you will either be waiiting in great anticipation for the fourth (if you enjoyed it), or you'll be fast asleep or about ready to be (if you're me). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
devo-ncOct 29, 2016
In essence has the fuel to gear up and take you on a highly engrossing and epic ride of a lifetime. However much of the venture's intriguing elements led the appeasement astray. The first 30 minutes and many sequences the rest of the way areIn essence has the fuel to gear up and take you on a highly engrossing and epic ride of a lifetime. However much of the venture's intriguing elements led the appeasement astray. The first 30 minutes and many sequences the rest of the way are the most masterful and tremendous moments we've ever seen in a Pirates movie. Unfortunately the breathtaking epic 'At World's End' bestows, it leaves you with a taste of hope among a junction of too much material to cover in one go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Critic2012Jun 11, 2012
The first film in the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise was great: Unfortunately, as the sequels were released, the whole thing went downhill from there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
We continue to be roused... but, unfortunately, not positively enough. The best part is, perhaps, Keith Richards as father to our beloved Capt. Jack Sparrow. Guess they should've given him more screen time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
GodotIsW8ing4UJul 3, 2013
Overall, an improvement over Dead Man's Chest. It suffers from somewhat excessive complexity and a rushed, "Return of the Jedi", "oh god we don't have time to wrap up all these loose ends, staple separate plots together and call it a day"Overall, an improvement over Dead Man's Chest. It suffers from somewhat excessive complexity and a rushed, "Return of the Jedi", "oh god we don't have time to wrap up all these loose ends, staple separate plots together and call it a day" kind of feel, but there's a constant sense that the movie is moving towards its conclusion, unlike Dead Man's Chest which seemed to just drift freely in whatever direction it felt like. The huge final battle is excellent, and the film's final third in general is its strongest, but it fails to live up to the first film, even if it beats out the second. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
OfficialNov 5, 2013
"Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End" is the third movie in the series. The movie, at almost three hours, is far too overlong. The story is so densely-plotted that if you miss ten minutes of the movie, it will leave you totally confused."Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End" is the third movie in the series. The movie, at almost three hours, is far too overlong. The story is so densely-plotted that if you miss ten minutes of the movie, it will leave you totally confused. But the action is exhilarating, epic and hugely action-packed. This explains the $300 million budget used for the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
moonman1994Dec 23, 2013
Slightly better than it's predecessor but still nowhere near as good as the first film. Depp is still good in the lead but that's not enough to fully save the film. The main reason, in my opinion that this is better that Pirates 2 is thatSlightly better than it's predecessor but still nowhere near as good as the first film. Depp is still good in the lead but that's not enough to fully save the film. The main reason, in my opinion that this is better that Pirates 2 is that the new characters are more interesting and the action sequences are less drawn out and boring. All and all though it is upsetting that a film saga that started out with so much promise ended up like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RikiegeJan 23, 2013
Bored and a little bad. The worst of the series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SwatiFeb 15, 2013
I think the character of the Singaporean pirate was underutilized. Elizabeth gaining influence was too lucky for me to be plausible. Beckett, however, hits the mark again. I expected more of Norrington after watching him develop in the courseI think the character of the Singaporean pirate was underutilized. Elizabeth gaining influence was too lucky for me to be plausible. Beckett, however, hits the mark again. I expected more of Norrington after watching him develop in the course of the previous film. The movie failed to pit the pirates against the navy after introducing us to the Brethren Court, which was disappointing. It was rarely fun and melodramatic. The ending was botched. I wouldn't mind an anticlimactic ending if it is done well. The movie as a whole was a lost opportunity in my view. They could have gone out in style. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JmsbppJul 29, 2013
Piratas del caribe en el fin del mundo es buena, con nuevas ideas buenas luchas y una excelente fotografia walt disney se ha motivado sin embargo no hay porque meterle una boda en una guerra en el barco ni mucho menos mas ridicules a JackPiratas del caribe en el fin del mundo es buena, con nuevas ideas buenas luchas y una excelente fotografia walt disney se ha motivado sin embargo no hay porque meterle una boda en una guerra en el barco ni mucho menos mas ridicules a Jack sparrow baja el nivel respecto lo que venia siendo Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
joao1198pedroOct 27, 2013
if the two first film of the pirates of the caribbean were nice this third one was an disapointment for a lot of people,now gore verbinski doesn't have nothing to do and he make this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
I was waiting for the World to End.
The third installment of Pirates of the Caribbean starts again with the witty drunken pirate Jack Sparrow and ends again confused and baffled as usual. The script is dreadful, the film is boring, and the
I was waiting for the World to End.
The third installment of Pirates of the Caribbean starts again with the witty drunken pirate Jack Sparrow and ends again confused and baffled as usual. The script is dreadful, the film is boring, and the action is well, non existent.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
AaronWasserman2May 5, 2014
This was well.....bad. I didnt think POTC could reach such lows. but they did. I guess that is what hppens when you milk the crap out of a franchise that shouldnt have gone on so long. 2 films would have been fine
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SmileATTJan 25, 2015
"Pirates of the caribbean : At World's End" was created for the same reason that is created "Dead Man's Chest" to be convenient to make another part .Very flat and simple movie in which all the characters are driven by selfish goals and im"Pirates of the caribbean : At World's End" was created for the same reason that is created "Dead Man's Chest" to be convenient to make another part .Very flat and simple movie in which all the characters are driven by selfish goals and im starting to think that movie is made only for childrens i mean they don't swear they die .... Yes it's an adventure movie but that's just too childish and in every serious moment they do dumb decisions but that's not a problem because it's a movie and we can fix it with bullsh*t .Someone die no problem we can resurrect him no problem the bad guy can't step on land no problem we bring a basin with water we have problem with someone we double cross him .And that's not all they totaly destroy the character of Elizabeth what now she is a hooker wich make out with everybody?The one good thing in the movie is that they still keep the funny and the entertaining mark of Pirates of Caribbean . Thank God they didn't ruin this you will laugh you ass for sure with this movie Johnny Depp is crazy as always and when the movie became too serious there is Orlando Bloom that will dramatizes the things for ... God i hate that actor . I think Gore Verbinski could put more effort and time and creat much better movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
LinttaFlamingoMar 20, 2017
At World's End isn't exactly a simple movie, as it is almost three hours long and confusing as hell at some points, but there is still a lot of that thrilling action, humor and it looks gorgeous. For people who like pirates this is definitelyAt World's End isn't exactly a simple movie, as it is almost three hours long and confusing as hell at some points, but there is still a lot of that thrilling action, humor and it looks gorgeous. For people who like pirates this is definitely an enjoyable movie, but it can be very complex and overlong for others. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
When it comes to the final hour, Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End, delivers the goods. The last 60 minutes offer adventure as rousing as anything provided in either of the previous installments, Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of theWhen it comes to the final hour, Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End, delivers the goods. The last 60 minutes offer adventure as rousing as anything provided in either of the previous installments, Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl and Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest. Unfortunately, that doesn't account for the other 108 minutes of this gorged, self-indulgent, and uneven production. During the course of nearly two hours of exposition and setup, there's little in the way of charm or action. There are memorable moments, to be sure, but the overwhelming sense is that the film is desperately spinning its wheels trying to shock and awe with unexpected plot developments.

As an end to a trilogy, At World's End does its job, although with less flair and economy than one might hope. It resolves myriad subplots and gets the surviving characters to places where their stories can end or go on, as future sequels demand. Like the other two entries in the series, it's too long and needlessly convoluted. The movie is also more ponderous than the previous Pirates. The defining quality of Curse of the Black Pearl and Dead Man's Chest was a sense of breezy fun. This movie lacks the same feel. Perhaps it’s the weight of expectations and the need to top what went before. The thrilling final hour is almost enough to make one forget how much of a labor it is to trudge through the first two-thirds - almost, but not quite.

At World's End doesn't blend the humor and the derring-do as well as its predecessors. For the most part, the jokes are lazier and Cap'n Jack has lost some of his zing. Maybe it has something to do with his being killed at the end of the last movie. Geoffrey Rush's Barbossa is more restrained; the intimidation factor is gone. Maybe it has something to do with his being resurrected at the end of the last movie. The on-again/off-again love affair between Will and Elizabeth is on again (following her brief dalliance with Jack) and, while sparks don't fly, at least both characters evidence more pizzazz this time 'round. Meanwhile, Cap'n Jack finds his screen time leeched away to others. A late entrance and too may extraneous side-stories take the focus off our swishy hero, and that's not a good thing.

As far as the bad guys are concerned, they're not an intimidating bunch. Without his Kraken, Davy Jones is just another fishy looking CGI creature. As Cutler Beckett, Tom Hollander does a good job being nasty, but one never gets the impression that he'll be able to get the better of Jack. Defining other villains could be misleading since numerous characters changes sides, some more than once. At times, a scorecard is needed to figure who's on which team at any given time.

The need to make longer, more busy second sequels is an undesirable trend. By throwing so much into the mix, the filmmakers - including director Gore Verbinski, who has helmed all three pirate yarns - risk losing what attracted viewers in the first place. The initial Pirates was an unexpected hit. The need to do things bigger and more spectacular led to fissures in Dead Man's Chest. Those fissures have widened and deepened in At World's End.

Most Pirates aficionados won't complain (at least not too much). This is a chance to re-visit old friends and see where some of their stories end. It's a chance to sail with Cap'n Jack from death to life and meet his dad (played, as has been reported everywhere, by Keith Richards). The movie does enough things right that it won't leave scores of despondent fans in its wake. Unfortunately, it does enough things wrong to keep me from giving it a wholehearted recommendation. It could have been better, but it also could have been worse.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
aadityamudharApr 18, 2016
A morose tone, messy narrative, and superfluous subplots make this a real disappointment. The summer season has definitely seen better films. A 6/10 from me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeFeb 4, 2016
2007 tried to say sorry for releasing the worst movie ever in theaters with another Pirates movie that didn't even get to ARR us back. At World's End suffered with Dead Man's Chest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
AaronWasserman1Apr 11, 2016
Really disappointing, I really enjoyed the first Pirates of the Caribbean, and I even enjoyed Dead Man's Chest as much as the first, but this one was really lame. Good performances and occasional funny moments, this movie is overlong, dumb,Really disappointing, I really enjoyed the first Pirates of the Caribbean, and I even enjoyed Dead Man's Chest as much as the first, but this one was really lame. Good performances and occasional funny moments, this movie is overlong, dumb, and just plain boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FilmClubMar 27, 2016
The third voyage in the “Pirates” trilogy could be touted as “the biggest, loudest and second-best (or second-worst) ‘Pirates’ ever!” — not necessarily a ringing endorsement, but honest. “Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End” clocks in atThe third voyage in the “Pirates” trilogy could be touted as “the biggest, loudest and second-best (or second-worst) ‘Pirates’ ever!” — not necessarily a ringing endorsement, but honest. “Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End” clocks in at more than 2¾ hours, but, unlike last year’s bloated sequel, at least possesses some semblance of a destination, making it slightly more coherent — if no less numbing during the protracted finale. A bountiful opening is assured. The running time could diminish this swashbuckler’s staying power, but Disney would likely leap at “Pirates IV” in a heartbeat if the principals would enlist for another tour at sea.

In a sense, the two “Pirates” sequels feel less like movies than a shared event — much like a concert where the audience sits patiently through lesser known numbers to hear the band belt out favorite tunes. A similar phenomenon occurs during the arid stretches (and there are several) in this sprawling, messy adventure, to be endured until Johnny Depp does something flamboyantly amusing or a new face like Keith Richards or Chow Yun-fat graces the screen.

The notion of “Pirates” as, foremost, a consumer product came through loud and clear in the current Entertainment Weekly, in which director Gore Verbinski referred to the screwy process of shooting the second and much of the third movie simultaneously as “How Not to Make a Film 101.”

At one point, when a character asks of Depp’s loopy Capt. Jack Sparrow, “Do you think he plans it out or just makes it up as he goes along?,” it’s hard not to wonder if Verbinski and his writing collaborators, Ted Elliott and Terry Rossio, aren’t slipping in a sly comment about the film itself.

Whatever quaint underpinnings there were to the class-divided romance between Elizabeth Swann (Keira Knightley) and Will Turner (Orlando Bloom) have dissipated in the journey since the 2003 original, as their relationship goes through a series of fits, starts and betrayals — all in this movie alone.

Picking up where the second left off (though a refresher course wouldn’t hurt), the couple and Capt. Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush) begin in Singapore, where they and their pirate mates hope to liberate Jack from Davy Jones’ Locker, a surreal realm between purgatory and hell. A lengthy battle ensues before the too-long quest to find Jack leads to a colorful international assembly of pirates at Shipwreck City, with the East India Trading Co.’s hissable nobleman Cutler Beckett (Tom Hollander) in hot pursuit and a final showdown inevitable.

That questions of life and death are somewhat fungible here helps mitigate the high level of carnage, which includes a mass hanging sequence at the outset, as Beckett wages a reign of terror in seeking to bring the pirates to heel.

For the most part, those big themes and even the fundamental rules are easily obscured by the cacophony of relentless, state-of-the-art special effects and Hans Zimmer’s equally unremitting score, which at times overwhelms the dialogue. Indeed, repetitive action from multiple cannon-firing battles to ship-sucking vortexes yield diminishing returns; the pic’s greatest virtue is its sense of whimsy, whether that involves multiple Depps debating himself or the crew’s slapstick antics, which wring considerable mileage out of that monkey and parrot.

Depp’s fey, morally challenged buccaneer remains a kick and the pic’s biggest asset, whereas the now-butt-kicking Elizabeth and conflicted Will — however dreamy — have grown tiresome, especially when saddled with stirring, Errol Flynn-style “Avast, me hearties!” interludes.

In musing about the Land of the Dead, Barbossa suggests that getting there isn’t the tough part; “It’s getting back.” Given that producer Jerry Bruckheimer’s crew unlocked the secret to spinning riches out of a theme-park attraction, in this case getting there was no small feat. It’s returning there that has been something of a chore — a course “At World’s End” steadies but can’t entirely reverse.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MovieMasterEddyApr 4, 2016
The Pirates Of The Caribbean trilogy, which reaches its conclusion with the nearly three-hour At World's End. When presented with a treasury report, Groucho's Rufus T. Firefly, the newly appointed President of Freedonia, declares it so simpleThe Pirates Of The Caribbean trilogy, which reaches its conclusion with the nearly three-hour At World's End. When presented with a treasury report, Groucho's Rufus T. Firefly, the newly appointed President of Freedonia, declares it so simple that even a 4-year-old child could understand it. "Now run out and find me a 4-year-old child," he says. "I can't make head or tail of it." As a consequence of trying to turn a theme-park ride into a 463-minute trilogy, the Pirates movies are freighted by so much convoluted mythology and supernatural hoo-hah that perhaps only the very young can understand their dream logic. The last, longest, and most tedious of the bunch, At World's End sags under reams of exposition that not only fail to clarify the story, but take away from the slapstick tomfoolery that made the first film (and a couple of sequences in the second) escapist fun.

Picking up where the second entry, Dead Man's Chest, left off, the new film finds bland heroes Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley teaming up with the once-dastardly Captain Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush) to find Johnny Depp's Jack Sparrow, who's trapped in Davy Jones' locker. Here's where things get confusing: Bloom and the gang must first go through Singapore to get a special navigational map from Chinese pirate Chow Yun-Fat, who's one of several pirate lords who must unite in order to secure pirate freedom in the Seven Seas. (There's also some business about a "Brethren Of The Coast," and the "nine pieces of eight," but let's not get ahead of ourselves.) Meanwhile, the East India Trading Company has possession of Davy Jones' beating heart and has brought Jones and his Flying Dutchman ship into its quest to eradicate pirate-kind. And then there's Sparrow, whose predicament has left him with several metaphysical manifestations.

The Pirates Of The Caribbean trilogy—and At World's End especially—stands as a lesson in the perils in blockbuster filmmaking: What started out as a fleet one-off swashbuckler with novel supernatural elements has become loaded and graceless, with each new entry barreling across the goal line like William "The Refrigerator" Perry. The franchise's two chief assets—the surprise of Depp's swishy pirate and Gore Verbinski's dexterity at directing slapstick action sequences—have been eclipsed by expository scenes that confuse even more deeply in their attempt to clear things up. Should the franchise warrant still another sequel, the dialogue might as well be in Esperanto.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Aaron_WassermanJun 1, 2016
Many people say the downfall of Pirates started with the second film, but I really think it started here. I liked this movie when I was younger but now, it has few redeemable qualities.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews