User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 816 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. CCM.
    May 28, 2007
    10
    At first I was confused. But I have to admit, I still loved it. I see no problem with it except for the part where Lord Beckett goes down with his ship. Too much. Well anyway I enjoyed it, WATCH IT!
  2. SrikanthK.
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    Simply an awesome movie. The 1st half was a bit slow filling up the gaps of the dead man's chest but the second half simply rocked. It completely ROCKED with that climax and a superb twist at the end didn't expect it at all. i give it best of the three parts
  3. JaredB.
    May 25, 2007
    10
    A great addition to a fabulous series. I am very suprised to see so many people speaking badly against this movie. Definately one of the best movies of the summer. A great way to start off the summer season. ***Note: Make sure to stay until after the credits roll for a bonus scene!!!***
  4. KariM.
    May 25, 2007
    10
    Awesome Movie better then the 2nd!!
  5. GizzyR.
    May 26, 2007
    10
    I absoluetly loved this movie! i love all of its twists and turns. Johnny Depp is without a doubt HILARIOUS! i love the fact that they explain all of the characters in this installment. The battle scenes were amazingly well. There was a lot of Jack Sparrow in this movie, what more could a girl ask for! Over all i think this was the funniest installment of the pirates trilogy and isI absoluetly loved this movie! i love all of its twists and turns. Johnny Depp is without a doubt HILARIOUS! i love the fact that they explain all of the characters in this installment. The battle scenes were amazingly well. There was a lot of Jack Sparrow in this movie, what more could a girl ask for! Over all i think this was the funniest installment of the pirates trilogy and is definitely one of the best movies of the year. Expand
  6. GameraX
    May 26, 2007
    10
    I loved this movie from start to finish. It was incredibly intense and captivating. The entire cast gets a big gold star from me, as well as a hefty libation of rum. The mythological elements, storyline, action, and effects were outstanding. I love the great imagination and soulfulness at the heart in these films, especially AWE. The major theme of the Pirates trilogy, to me, is about I loved this movie from start to finish. It was incredibly intense and captivating. The entire cast gets a big gold star from me, as well as a hefty libation of rum. The mythological elements, storyline, action, and effects were outstanding. I love the great imagination and soulfulness at the heart in these films, especially AWE. The major theme of the Pirates trilogy, to me, is about choices and their costs, how those choices effect everyone and their relationships, and in the chaos that ensues, leads the various characters to great accomplishments, crushing failures, and unexpected ends. This movie is also about redemption and the power of love. Nearly every major character got the chance to redeem themselves for their past shenanigans in some way by the end of the film. I found that pretty uplifting, and I left the theatre with a smile on my face. I found myself greatly entertained and the screen time didn't feel like 168 minutes. Maybe I am not as jaded and ADD afflicted as the critics who seem to be trashing this movie. Oh, well. To each their own. Cheers! Expand
  7. AlisaH.
    May 26, 2007
    10
    This was a spectacular finish to a beloved franchise. Many critics have complained about the length, storyline, and well other things, but the only thing I found mildly annoying was sometimes you couldn't hear them. I'm content about the length, I wanted a good long movie and that's what I got, you got an indulging storyline that you could chew over later and best of all. . This was a spectacular finish to a beloved franchise. Many critics have complained about the length, storyline, and well other things, but the only thing I found mildly annoying was sometimes you couldn't hear them. I'm content about the length, I wanted a good long movie and that's what I got, you got an indulging storyline that you could chew over later and best of all. . . More Cap'n Jack Sparrow, what more could you want I ask. Critics are expecting this and that and then when they don't get exactly what they wanted they pull out a totally negative feedback to one of the best movies of the year, other examples to that claim would be Spider-Man 3, Shrek 3. Both are great movies and some critics just constantly need something to bash. So go enjoy more Pirates. Expand
  8. NickB.
    May 27, 2007
    10
    Early on in this film I thought to myself, "The unwashed masses are not going to get this one," and i think I am right. If, on the other hand, you aspire to watching something truly marvelous, inventive, and strangely genre-breaking, then At World's End may be for you. I can't speak for all, but to me, this movie was the very definition of why I love Summer films. It was so Early on in this film I thought to myself, "The unwashed masses are not going to get this one," and i think I am right. If, on the other hand, you aspire to watching something truly marvelous, inventive, and strangely genre-breaking, then At World's End may be for you. I can't speak for all, but to me, this movie was the very definition of why I love Summer films. It was so captivating and interesting that I didn't even noticed where the two hours and forty sevn minutes went.....just a brilliant action flick. But again, be warned: if you ever got irritated at a David Lynch film, or you think Dungeons & Dragons is for weirdo nerds, then you are probably not going to get this movie and might want to just go catch the latest Adam Sandler crud instead. Expand
  9. KalebF
    May 30, 2007
    10
    A great ending to the definitive pirates saga. The critics must not have seen the first two movies if their negative about this movie. The movie is great and the story is understandable. You just may need to recap on the first two movies first. I love this movie
  10. AlecR.
    May 30, 2007
    10
    Well, critics of these Pirates of the Caribbean movies have always angered me. Why? Because people go to the movie to have fun and get away from their lives for a few hours, no to be emotionally stimulated or to cry over a divorce or something uninteresting like that. While this movie is better than the second, it isn't as good as the first. The story is understandable if you have a Well, critics of these Pirates of the Caribbean movies have always angered me. Why? Because people go to the movie to have fun and get away from their lives for a few hours, no to be emotionally stimulated or to cry over a divorce or something uninteresting like that. While this movie is better than the second, it isn't as good as the first. The story is understandable if you have a brain, and the action is always satisfying. However, I do have to agree that the Calypso thing was kind of out of no where. If anyone pays attention, the film is a great one, one that I will never forget for the rest of my life. Expand
  11. VeronicaJ.
    Jun 16, 2007
    10
    Best yet! I feel sorry for everyone who didn't quite get it because it was clever and intricate. I might add that almost all the negative remarks that say this movie was way 'to' long. The fact that you can't spell 'to' correctly - should be 'too' - could be an indicator of just why this movie isn't for you.
  12. BlahBlah
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    Aside from being the best movie to come out this year, this iteration of the Pirates series is easily the best of them all. It answers and closes every storyline, and does so in an amazing fashion. The plot is very easy to follow, too. Additionally, it has some of the most gargantuan CG action scenes ever made, including the climactic battle fought in the midst of a CGI maelstrom. You Aside from being the best movie to come out this year, this iteration of the Pirates series is easily the best of them all. It answers and closes every storyline, and does so in an amazing fashion. The plot is very easy to follow, too. Additionally, it has some of the most gargantuan CG action scenes ever made, including the climactic battle fought in the midst of a CGI maelstrom. You have absolutely no reason to not see this movie multiple times. Expand
  13. TravisB.
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    This movie offers you the best of thrilling emotions, along with one of the most intricate and well written plots ever brought to the cinema. not to mention the great effects and action scenes.
  14. BernB.
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    this movie was really fun and all of you people saying it was horrible you're not a movie critic so get over it and if you didn't get the plot you're just a dumbass.
  15. LauraW.
    Feb 4, 2008
    10
    Absolutely amazing! I watched it 5 times in two days! I think that that Hans Zimmer is a rival to Mozart and Keira, Johnny and Orlando are definitely at their best in this movie!
  16. henryh
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Givin it a ten to credit the last 2 movies but really i'd give it a 7 or 6 since the acting is not really top and the movie was a bit too long, but overall great movie and great trilogy end.
  17. JohnHenryW.
    May 25, 2007
    10
    I write this review baring a message to all those reviewers out there: PAY ATTENTION TO THE FREAKING MOVIE. All you have to do is listen to what the characters are saying and the plot is there. It's complicated, but it's not confusing if you pay attention to the film. Is that too much to ask of these reviewers? God forbid a movie should have a plot that requires more than four I write this review baring a message to all those reviewers out there: PAY ATTENTION TO THE FREAKING MOVIE. All you have to do is listen to what the characters are saying and the plot is there. It's complicated, but it's not confusing if you pay attention to the film. Is that too much to ask of these reviewers? God forbid a movie should have a plot that requires more than four sentences to sum up. Other than that, the final battle delivers the greatest thrills. The special effects are still awesome, and the characters are still the same characters we got to know from the last movie. In my opinion, there was nothing more to ask from a movie that involves a crew of fish pirates. It's great entertainment. IF you are willing to actually pay attention to it. Expand
  18. LainaD.
    May 25, 2007
    10
    This was one of the most brilliant movies i have ever seen and i have seen a lot. Full of humor, action, and other points of intrigue i never lost interest in it for one second.
  19. JamesB.
    May 25, 2007
    10
    On par with the original, it's the most fun I've had at the movies in a long time. A great cast, great story, and great effects make Pirates of the Carribean one of the most solidly entertaining film franchises of all time. Way to go out with a bang, nicely done guys.
  20. JosephO.
    May 25, 2007
    10
    A fantastic movie, many genuine laughs, story can be confusing, great effects and fighting scenes.
  21. MikeH.
    May 25, 2007
    10
    Amazing, well worth the wait! watch this movie regardless of what anyone else says, good or bad, you must see it.
  22. JazzR.
    May 26, 2007
    10
    This movie was amazing! It is a great finish to the pirates trilogy. It was hilarious and action packed. Johnny Depp did an incredible job as Captain Jack Sparrow. At World's End is definitely a must-see.
  23. CoryG.
    May 26, 2007
    10
    This was one of the best movies that I have ever seen. I personally think that the critics are on a "hate" streak with all of the movies this summer. Whatever movie that we were expecting, they just crush it down into nothing. This movies visuals and storyline, as well as the actors, were all outstanding. This movie met and exceeded my expectations. The only thing that I would like there This was one of the best movies that I have ever seen. I personally think that the critics are on a "hate" streak with all of the movies this summer. Whatever movie that we were expecting, they just crush it down into nothing. This movies visuals and storyline, as well as the actors, were all outstanding. This movie met and exceeded my expectations. The only thing that I would like there to be, is more. More movies to be coming. This is a movie worth watching over and over again. Expand
  24. SHide
    May 26, 2007
    10
    Even though I am still not sure how I feel about the ending, I think this movie was great. It had action, romance, comedy, everything you need for an excellent movie it contained. Its a must see!!
  25. AdamH.
    May 26, 2007
    10
    I absolutely loved this movie because it tied everything together for me. I liked the David Lynchian world of the Land of the Dead and I liked all the "mind-boggling" plot twists. All the reviewers who are confused are just not paying attention and, in my opinion, a little daft. It's really not that hard to follow. I love all the characters (except Cutler Bennett who is just BORING) I absolutely loved this movie because it tied everything together for me. I liked the David Lynchian world of the Land of the Dead and I liked all the "mind-boggling" plot twists. All the reviewers who are confused are just not paying attention and, in my opinion, a little daft. It's really not that hard to follow. I love all the characters (except Cutler Bennett who is just BORING) and the journeys they take. The last hour delivers all the goods! This one rocks! YO HO HO! Expand
  26. SusanS.
    May 26, 2007
    10
    Loved it. Pure fun. No complaints. Good acting, special effects, awesome entertainment. Critics are nuts. Hope it makes 2 billion and leaves the sour puss critics coughing up its dust. And it was too short. Not a single person moved, got up for popcorn, bathroom, chatted during the showing I went to.
  27. C.Gonzalez
    May 27, 2007
    10
    Amazing. one of the best summer movies ever. have never written a review, but this movie forced me to just to bump it's score a tiny bit, seeing as everyone who is giving it such negative comments has something stuck up their arses.
  28. ChristyM.
    May 27, 2007
    10
    What a brilliant film, I went to see it yesterday and I thought it was fantastic. Don't listen to all of the people saying its a big money-making scheme because they're wrong, watch the fil for its story, although hard to follow, it has meaning and a brilliant storyline.
  29. SarahsT
    May 29, 2007
    10
    This film is absolutely brilliant it brings together the best of both the other films!
  30. JessL.
    May 29, 2007
    10
    I really really loved it. I haven't heard many good things about it but the movie was awesome. It is definitely better than the second one...I think the only drawback was the length of the movie...it was really long but i didn't feel much downtime at all. it might be a bit of confusing, but it definitely not as bad as a lot people makes it to be. After you finish the whole movie I really really loved it. I haven't heard many good things about it but the movie was awesome. It is definitely better than the second one...I think the only drawback was the length of the movie...it was really long but i didn't feel much downtime at all. it might be a bit of confusing, but it definitely not as bad as a lot people makes it to be. After you finish the whole movie then you will understand what was happening all throughout the movie...definitely the best movie I have seen this year...well..the second best...the best is Pan's Labyrith Expand
  31. JeremyD.
    May 31, 2007
    10
    I liked it a lot. Better than the second but could not eclipse the first. I loved the characters.
  32. MikeC.
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed the movie, the comedy came more naturally than the second film, it pumped up the action, which is always necessary in a sequel, it pointed each of the characters in new directions, ostly because no one trusts anyone anymore, and there actually plots twists with enough story background and kick backs to the precious movies to find something new atleast the first three I thoroughly enjoyed the movie, the comedy came more naturally than the second film, it pumped up the action, which is always necessary in a sequel, it pointed each of the characters in new directions, ostly because no one trusts anyone anymore, and there actually plots twists with enough story background and kick backs to the precious movies to find something new atleast the first three times you see it, meaning rewatch value. I was dissapointed with the third film and how depressing it was for the characters, but "At World's End" brought the idea back that no matter how hard it was getting for the characters they were still able to make light of the situation. Nothing can beat the first film, because of the enjoyable shock first received from meeting such memorable characters. So if you can handle a little thinking while taking in breath taking graphics and hysterical encounters, and enjoyed the first film then you'll have a ball. If you didn't like the first film, or barely enjoyed the second, of course you won't enjoy the third, but come prepared to be entertained and still think, or you'll get side swiped with information. Expand
  33. HannahC.
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    This movie was extremely entertaining! Anyone who says it was too long is out of thei rmind! I actually enjoyed the plot twists and jumps--it really kept you on the edge of your seat. And the effects were unbelievable.
  34. LouiseT.
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    Finally, a movie that leaves the audience to do some thinking. I loved this movie, mostly for the same reason people hated it, the carefully weaving prophetic storyline is a gem. Pirates 3 is bold, defiant and gracefully ignites the imagination with its beauty and passion. 10+
  35. Frank
    Jun 23, 2007
    10
    It's great conclusion of the trilogy (not the series, I hope), every fan of first two films must see At World's End. I was stunned by action and there were less, but pretty good laughs. I watched first two films twice and I am interested in Pirates storyline, so I never lost track of the plot. It is complicated, but it is understandable. By the way, while I was watching, I never It's great conclusion of the trilogy (not the series, I hope), every fan of first two films must see At World's End. I was stunned by action and there were less, but pretty good laughs. I watched first two films twice and I am interested in Pirates storyline, so I never lost track of the plot. It is complicated, but it is understandable. By the way, while I was watching, I never looked at my watch and I never thought to myself that the film is too long. I was tied to the seat until the end. Great film. Expand
  36. Will
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Really good conclusion to the trilogy. The actors and everyone behind the scenes did a really good job.
  37. PhillipV.
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    After reading the scathing negative reviews i came to the rapid conclusion that these peaple are on one serios acid trip to possibly think that this was a bad movie. It was amazing. The special effects were to notch and the acting rocked. Long movies are cool so that didnt bother me.
  38. BryantR
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    Amazing! The costumes and visual effects are amazing. Geoffrey Rush, Orlando Bloom , Bill Nighy (Davy Jones), Keira Knighty and Johnny Depp and others are fun to watch. It's Oscar worthy
  39. JuicyT
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    This movie was okay, I would give it a 6, i'm just giving it a ten to kind of balance the scales. Anyway, POTC 3 was way too dark for its own good and has strayed too far from how the first one was. They kill off two characters, which also wasn't necessary, and the plot is all over the place, and bloom and knightley's acting is just....well....bad, but at least the action This movie was okay, I would give it a 6, i'm just giving it a ten to kind of balance the scales. Anyway, POTC 3 was way too dark for its own good and has strayed too far from how the first one was. They kill off two characters, which also wasn't necessary, and the plot is all over the place, and bloom and knightley's acting is just....well....bad, but at least the action is cool and it's one of the only redeeming factors but it really is astounding at certain points. Expand
  40. AlysonM.
    May 25, 2007
    10
    This was the best movie i have everrrrrr seen. i love pirates of the caribean sooo much! it made me laugh...gasp...cry and soo much more. if they make a 4th i will be one of the happiest girls in the world =] this is just a great movie and i am hoping to see more. =]]
  41. RalphR.
    May 26, 2007
    10
    Awesome! I loved the fact that all the characters were described in depth. It was hilarious and the effects were spectacular. The monkey was super funny and adorable. Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) was amazing as always and brought his character to a new level.
  42. MaggieR.
    May 26, 2007
    10
    This movie is one of a kind! it is hilarious, action-packed, and all around great! Johnny Depp is an amazing actor and definitely shows it in this movie. The length for me was kind of long but I still enjoyed every second of it. They could have minimized on the hallucinations but for me, the more Jack Sparrow, the better. Keith Richards did an amazing job portraying Teague Sparrow,This movie is one of a kind! it is hilarious, action-packed, and all around great! Johnny Depp is an amazing actor and definitely shows it in this movie. The length for me was kind of long but I still enjoyed every second of it. They could have minimized on the hallucinations but for me, the more Jack Sparrow, the better. Keith Richards did an amazing job portraying Teague Sparrow, Jack's dad. You definitely cannot miss this! Expand
  43. JJr
    May 26, 2007
    10
    The critics have no clue what they are talking about! this is one of the best movies this year. this movie entertains people from ages 8 to 80. with Jack Sparrow's sarcasm it makes the film all the more hilarious. Geoffory Rush does an amazing job portraying Captain Barbossa. this is a must see movie.
  44. WilliamS.
    May 28, 2007
    10
    A thouroughly entertaining sequel, probably the best of the three. Jack is back to save the day again, in his hilarious manner. I cant understand why it gets such negative reviews with such a substantial plot and significant humor.
  45. SandaS
    May 28, 2007
    10
    It was amazing. All complaints I've read are completely unfounded; this movie has finally proved that it can be 100% action-packed and STILL be amazing. Unlike Spiderman3 -which was good but a bit of a mess-PotC3 successfully packed the movie full of subplots. There was not ONE part that needed to be omitted. Many people claim that the Calypso part wasn't necessary. This is It was amazing. All complaints I've read are completely unfounded; this movie has finally proved that it can be 100% action-packed and STILL be amazing. Unlike Spiderman3 -which was good but a bit of a mess-PotC3 successfully packed the movie full of subplots. There was not ONE part that needed to be omitted. Many people claim that the Calypso part wasn't necessary. This is utter nonsense. It was completely necessary to the plot. It explained how Davy Jones got to be the way he did. How isn't that relevant? Plus it was a great way to tie Tia Dalma into the plot here. I loved Sparrow&Barbossa's little ego trips, absolutely brilliant! Another place I see a lot of criticism about the plot was that the marriage scene. 'Ohhh it was SOO cheesy...etc' This is simply not the case. It was the most romantic/adorable/sweet part in a movie that I have EVER SEEN. Honestly. I DARE you to find another trilogy out there that has had each movie be just as good as the other. These movies are absolutely epic, and will become classics. The accuracy of the 1st movie with the ride is great, it even inspired Disney to return the favor by adding Sparrow and Barbossa into the ride. Oh and the soundtrack is simply gorgeous. Brings tears to my eyes every time I listen to At Wits End, I See Dead People In Boats, and One Day. Ive heard the game is fantastic as well, although I have yet to play it. I just cannot say it enough: There will NEVER be another series of movies that is so incredible in EVERY SINGLE ASPECT. Expand
  46. KathleenG
    May 28, 2007
    10
    POTC 3 was absolutely amazing! It was everything I hoped it would be and then some. It was challenging to keep up with the,"what's in it for me" subplots. The visual effects melded seemlessly within the storyline. I do not have the qualifications necessary to constructively critique film art. The incredible number of 'man hours' required by cast and crew, often in very POTC 3 was absolutely amazing! It was everything I hoped it would be and then some. It was challenging to keep up with the,"what's in it for me" subplots. The visual effects melded seemlessly within the storyline. I do not have the qualifications necessary to constructively critique film art. The incredible number of 'man hours' required by cast and crew, often in very soggy conditions should be commended. A movie they should be proud of and one I will go see a few more times in the theater. Every ticket I buy is a "Yes" vote and that is a responsibility I do take seriously. So, YES to numbers 1,2 and 3 and I would most certainly welcome #4 if it came to be. Expand
  47. AncplAEHHc
    Jan 18, 2008
    10
    The crabs were pushing sparrow's boat since he was in davy jones' locker and he was going insane. and by the way, this movie was awesome
  48. MichaelT.
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    Cap'n Jack just remains Johnny Depp's best performance.
  49. aqual.
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    A very great ending...
  50. RaulL.
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    One of the best movies i've sees
  51. mayas
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    No movie could ever compare to the first POTC movie. I agree the last to movies were long and hard to follow. I still enjoyed them though. The third was much better than the second. Unfortunately you really have to think hard and catch everything to make sense of these sequels. But with enough thought the movies are overall clever. Yes a little far fetched but good. If they make a forth I No movie could ever compare to the first POTC movie. I agree the last to movies were long and hard to follow. I still enjoyed them though. The third was much better than the second. Unfortunately you really have to think hard and catch everything to make sense of these sequels. But with enough thought the movies are overall clever. Yes a little far fetched but good. If they make a forth I will go and see it. Oh and for you people saying bad things about Johnny Depp, without him these movies would have been pointless. He is awesome. And Knightley is a talented young actress. Expand
  52. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Great ending to a great trilogy. I was really glad they got Jack Sparrow back, since he is my favorite character. Now I can't wait to see what's in store for Jack in the upcoming "On Stranger Tides."
  53. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    Stunning, absolutely stunning in all ways... UN-describable awesome story and incredible swash-buckling action and it's just... Brilliant and.... WOW
  54. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    It's a hearty watch...once every 10 years and a bottle of rum down the hatch, that is. Yo-ho! Before watching, I might add, one should note that there's a giant black lady involved. Aye, there be uncharted waters ahead. Scallywags, be warned.
  55. Apr 29, 2015
    10
    A terceira parte da saga Piratas Do Caribe daria um belo final na saga,mas ainda bem que não terminou por aqui,Geoffrey Rush retorna a seu ótimo papel e Johnny Depp retorna também ao filme,eles 2 são o ponto alto da saga,com incríveis atuações,Contém cenas hilárias,é tenso e eficaz,Como nesse falta um pouco de ação (sem contar o final que é uma incrível cena de ação),ele compensa noA terceira parte da saga Piratas Do Caribe daria um belo final na saga,mas ainda bem que não terminou por aqui,Geoffrey Rush retorna a seu ótimo papel e Johnny Depp retorna também ao filme,eles 2 são o ponto alto da saga,com incríveis atuações,Contém cenas hilárias,é tenso e eficaz,Como nesse falta um pouco de ação (sem contar o final que é uma incrível cena de ação),ele compensa no excelente roteiro obrigado Ted Elliot e Terry Rossio e também Gore Verbinsky,E por último Johnny e Geoffrey. Expand
  56. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    The third and most thrilling chapter of the trilogy!!! I really enjoyed it and I am going to watch it for a 10th time today!! Do not miss it!! Enjoy Pirates of The Caribbean like never before!! Actually, all the four chapters of Pirates of The Caribbean are excellent!
  57. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    While it is a bit long, the film is still spectacular! I love the direction and fresh, new feel of this film. The music is new and fresh (but keeps the old as well- Hans Zimmer really does amazing for this one), the acting is awesome (Johnny Depp once again does not disappoint), the script is witty and well written (expect for a certain love triangle would be my only criticism) and theWhile it is a bit long, the film is still spectacular! I love the direction and fresh, new feel of this film. The music is new and fresh (but keeps the old as well- Hans Zimmer really does amazing for this one), the acting is awesome (Johnny Depp once again does not disappoint), the script is witty and well written (expect for a certain love triangle would be my only criticism) and the visuals are epic. I personally loved this film and think it is a great entry into the fantastic Pirates series. Expand
  58. Jan 11, 2015
    10
    The plot being confusing is simply a lie: At World's End is the best installment in the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise. Barbossa as a companion to Jack was a great idea and the epic final battle in the Maelstrom is stellar!
  59. Jul 12, 2015
    10
    Subestimado pelo tempo...........................................................................................................................................................................................................................168 minutos................................................
  60. Jul 8, 2015
    10
    The most dramatic and the one with the most action pirates 3 betters the 2 before it with new pirates and a amazing battle at the end which has you at the edge of your seat.
  61. Oct 21, 2015
    10
    I Don't understand 45% in Rotten Tomatoes and 50% here,i think that is a lower score,the movie have a brilliant script without doubt maybe better than second 65% in Rotten Tomatoes and 60% here i think that is formidable.
  62. Aug 7, 2015
    10
    So much beautiful and brilliant written somewhat 1 hour and 25 minutes of the film don't have action but compensate for the brilliant script Thank you Rossio & Elliot........... and without doubt Thank you for the all cast
  63. KyleH
    Jun 2, 2007
    9
    It pretty much comes down to this: Do you like pirates? Do you like Johnny Depp? Do you like Keira Knightly? Do you like escapism? Can you not be cynical for 2 1/2 hours? If you answered "no" to any of these questions, save yourself the time and save us from having to listen to you complain.
  64. SteveK
    Jun 6, 2007
    9
    I am not confused about the plot, but I am befuddled by all the negative reviews. I will say this: do yourself a favor and watch the last 15 minutes of Pirates I and all of Pirates II before you see this one. You will find that the plot is actually not that confusing, it's just that most of us have a hard time remembering what happened the last time around if it's been almost a I am not confused about the plot, but I am befuddled by all the negative reviews. I will say this: do yourself a favor and watch the last 15 minutes of Pirates I and all of Pirates II before you see this one. You will find that the plot is actually not that confusing, it's just that most of us have a hard time remembering what happened the last time around if it's been almost a year. If you can follow the plot, just hang on and enjoy the ride. This movie is a return to true-swashbuckling form with everything one would want in a Pirates' movie. The last one got a little too dark for my taste. This is a *MILD SPOILER* but you should know that they unceremoniously dump the Kraken. You should know that going in, so you won't be too disappointed when it happens... er, more like doesn't happen. There is great atmosphere, some jaw-dropping scenes, spectacular battles, and quite a few funny moments, but again.... Review the movies before you watch!!! If you are scratching your head over the plot, you will miss out on the ride! (I think this is why people have had such negative reactions... they can't follow the movie, therefore they can't fully commit to the ride that Pirates takes you on. If you can't commit to a logical story, it's so much harder to suspend your disbelief, then the acting seems off and the action scenes seem pointless) This movie, indeed the whole series, is about enjoying a ride, much like at a theme park. This is a much more satisfying, enjoyable, and well-crafted third chapter to a series than say Spider-Man 3. Expand
  65. DarshanS.
    May 24, 2007
    9
    A fitting end that parallels the first...
  66. JustinB.
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    I loved it! Those who couldn't follow it should have tried either watching the previous movies or they should have payed attention. My only qualm is that it was a little too long.
  67. StacyK.
    Feb 3, 2008
    9
    I loved this movie! I dont think it was better than the second one, but it was definatly good. I follow these movies prety good! My fav. character is Will Turner!
  68. TheLex
    May 24, 2007
    9
    It rocked! It felt like the first film, but was even more action-packed! I enjoyed every minute of it!
  69. LoriW.
    May 25, 2007
    9
    I loved the movie!! Would see it again. If you truly loved the first and second you will have no problem following the story line. Go in thinking its for a good time and you will love it - go in thinking negative (like other reviewers) you will only go away dissapointed. They all did what they do best and did it well!!!!
  70. RaffiiN.
    May 25, 2007
    9
    I thought it was a real good film. Better than the second but not as good a the first.
  71. Quaid
    May 26, 2007
    9
    Did not like the first two, but this was awesome. It jumped right into the action rather than leading up to it. Finally! The scene at the end was amazing. The film was much more funny and sarcastic than all the rest.
  72. CarlP.
    May 27, 2007
    9
    Holy S&*^, I can't believe so many people ripped this movie up. What the hell did you expect! It's a fantasy movie about pirates. If this movie was to far-fetched for you, you should probably stick to movies like, "the green mile", or "the holiday". This movie was kick-ass and anyone who thinks otherwise obviously didn't like the first two and shouldn't have seen the third.
  73. Bethany
    May 28, 2007
    9
    Delightfully weird. I wish more mainstream movies would take these kinds of risks. The locker was brilliant.
  74. JayK.
    May 28, 2007
    9
    Excellent movie. Contrary to popular opinion here, the movie does have a plot, however, the plot is a supporting character to what has becom the "chronicles of Jack, Will, Elizabeth and Hector." As for the twists, anyone with about an ounce of intelligence that can hold their attention for more than a few seconds can easily follow them, and the they keep the movie unpredictable and Excellent movie. Contrary to popular opinion here, the movie does have a plot, however, the plot is a supporting character to what has becom the "chronicles of Jack, Will, Elizabeth and Hector." As for the twists, anyone with about an ounce of intelligence that can hold their attention for more than a few seconds can easily follow them, and the they keep the movie unpredictable and entertaining. Unlike the second movie, this one has great humor again. Also, I found that the 168 minute run time ran by very fast. Extremely so the first time I saw it, with friends on Thursday, and still fast the second time I saw it, on Sunday with my Wife. For wht it's worth, I think its a great movie! Sit back, relax, don't take it too seriously and make your own decision... Expand
  75. Chase
    May 29, 2007
    9
    Okay, look
  76. SkyG.
    May 29, 2007
    9
    I dunno whats up with people in here, its not overly confusing, it has a plot. the Keith Richards cameo is good and the characters all come to end of journey.
  77. Robwhy
    Jun 16, 2007
    9
    Just as good as the other 2, I guess some poeple dont have the mental capacity to watch a 2hr 45 min. Movie without forgetting what has happened. Its TOO LONG...... Everyone raved about titanic,pearl harbor, and others.Im not sure why poeple jump on bandwagons about movies, but this one was well worth my $10, and I wouldnt mind seeing it again.
  78. WilliamB.
    Jun 21, 2007
    9
    Awesome and incredible are just two of the adjectives to describe this movie. It would have been a 10 except for the poor ending.
  79. DanielB
    Jun 30, 2007
    9
    Its really a good movie if you actually thinki about it, its packed full of different plots must have let it down. Its great entertainment thought up by people with brains, just watch it again if you don't believe me, just everything about it is an aspect of intelligence. Superb it was, I thought it was a bit more serious than the last to, but still funny and one of the best movies made.
  80. JohnA.
    Nov 23, 2007
    9
    A lot, lot, lot better than the critics would lead us to assume. Not quite as gripping as Pirates 1 but still worth a 9
  81. MarcyT.
    May 25, 2007
    9
    47 year old mom, 7 teenage girls, 2 teenage boys, and husband all loved it. A lot. Great visuals, great sets, great special effects, lots of humor, fast moving. Was on the edge of my seat in the final battle scene, glad the movie had several minutes left to go, because it was so much fun. Was pleasantly surprised to actually see some character development. Only one character was all evil 47 year old mom, 7 teenage girls, 2 teenage boys, and husband all loved it. A lot. Great visuals, great sets, great special effects, lots of humor, fast moving. Was on the edge of my seat in the final battle scene, glad the movie had several minutes left to go, because it was so much fun. Was pleasantly surprised to actually see some character development. Only one character was all evil and the others actually had range. With 9 pirates, Davy Jones, Tia Dalma, Admiral Beckett, Wil Turner, and Elizabeth Swan all working for themselves, it is both unwise and unnecessary to attempt to keep track of who is friends/enemies/allies of who or what their plans are. Those who try are missing the whole point. It Expand
  82. tonydannie
    May 26, 2007
    9
    This was better then the second one. IT ties in everything and brought back the humor that was in the first one. No silly cannibals chasing Dear ol' Jack in this one and that is a plus for me.The 2 hours and 45 minutes just flew by.
  83. AceV.
    May 27, 2007
    9
    greatist pirates yet! makes up for the junk that was the second and is easly the best disney action/adventure ever.
  84. ofarevolution441
    May 28, 2007
    9
    I don't get what's wrong with people reviewing this. I seriously don't. Compared to some of the other crap I've seen recently, this is awesome. While the comedic undertones were a little too noticeable throughout, and I didn't understand what was going on until around halfway, the movie was still an experience. Great way to end the series, in my opinion.
  85. TeehR
    May 29, 2007
    9
    One should watch the first two before seeing this. It answers questions you had and questions you never thought of. I thought it was well done, full of action. Like Chase, I too thought "50 foot woman" scene with Tia could have been better, with all the creative minds involved in the making of this movie that is all they could come up with. Aside from that it was time and money well One should watch the first two before seeing this. It answers questions you had and questions you never thought of. I thought it was well done, full of action. Like Chase, I too thought "50 foot woman" scene with Tia could have been better, with all the creative minds involved in the making of this movie that is all they could come up with. Aside from that it was time and money well spent. This trilogy was fun, creative, imaginative, action packed, terrific acting and a true 'Swash-buckler' Disney style....thumbs up Expand
  86. JessalR.
    Jun 28, 2007
    9
    A great 3rd and final chapter on a pirate epic. There was a major consensus between the people who didn't rate it highly...they were confused. That is a lame excuse in my mind as this movie takes so much time explaining everything. Another was the time, come on people, no one complained lord of the rings for going even longer. Just because this movie wasn't base on a book A great 3rd and final chapter on a pirate epic. There was a major consensus between the people who didn't rate it highly...they were confused. That is a lame excuse in my mind as this movie takes so much time explaining everything. Another was the time, come on people, no one complained lord of the rings for going even longer. Just because this movie wasn't base on a book doesn't mean it could have an epic storyline. I only gave it a 9 because of some of the dialogue used by Cpt. Sparrow compared to the witty remarks in the first movie. Otherwise this is a great ending to an entertaining trilogy...drink up me hearties Yo Ho!! Expand
  87. BrandonS
    Jan 12, 2008
    9
    I went in with low expectations after reading so many bad reviews - But this movie was really fantastic. Not as good as the first, which is a true classic, but much, much better than the second. Whereas the second film was a meandering mess with no point, this was a grand, twisting and turning adventure - with a purpose. Though overlong, it nevertheless had great action sequences, humor, I went in with low expectations after reading so many bad reviews - But this movie was really fantastic. Not as good as the first, which is a true classic, but much, much better than the second. Whereas the second film was a meandering mess with no point, this was a grand, twisting and turning adventure - with a purpose. Though overlong, it nevertheless had great action sequences, humor, plot twists, and characters that make sense - because they act with devoted self-interest. A truly satisfying epic. Expand
  88. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    The first movie was exciting, the second was epic in special effects. This one had some cheesy down moments, and there great moments. But overall i think this movie was spectacular, and its a Best picture nomination in my book.
  89. Dec 7, 2015
    9
    The third Caribbean movie is a blast! This one contains the most epic battle scene I have ever seen. That scene has it all. And overall the whole movie is very interesting and fun to watch. It is a bit overlong but once you get use to long movies, it's not that bad. I really recommend this one!
  90. ChristianH.
    May 28, 2007
    8
    A huge improvement to Dead Man's Chest!
  91. KoreyW.
    May 29, 2007
    8
    Movie was a little bit long. If you can understand what is happening with jack and the others then it's a very good movie. Plenty of room though to make it very hard to follow. Good effects and a little more violent than most disney movies.
  92. JamesA.
    Jun 30, 2007
    8
    A funny and good film. Daring for a Disney film, as it starts with a hanging scene and has a totally-white Captain Jack Sparrow scene -- not often seen in a mainstream Hollywood production.
  93. MattE
    Jun 4, 2007
    8
    Good final installment of the series. the plot twists can get a little hard to follow but not overwhelming. good action sequences. Definitely go see this film.
  94. Tony
    Jun 4, 2007
    8
    Well, I have to say I don't blame people who rated this movie low. This is after all a space for critics and if you chose to critique the thing that is "movie" you will have to concede points about character development and overall plot. That said, I was still entertained by this movie! Its a fun ride, with hammy characters and fun action scenes. The ending sequence with the pearl Well, I have to say I don't blame people who rated this movie low. This is after all a space for critics and if you chose to critique the thing that is "movie" you will have to concede points about character development and overall plot. That said, I was still entertained by this movie! Its a fun ride, with hammy characters and fun action scenes. The ending sequence with the pearl and the dutchman is worth the wait. Pirates fighting, monkeys being shot our of canons and huge explosions... all in all, fun! Expand
  95. OlgaG.
    May 24, 2007
    8
    In whole the movie's the best, Barbossa forever, but the script is a nightmare.
  96. MattH.
    May 27, 2007
    8
    A solid 8! very good story, a nice closer to a decent triolgy.
  97. SimonD.
    May 27, 2007
    8
    Not quite as good as the first, but still a very strong, very well developed and acted film with great twists, a darkness we don't expect from Disney, and some moments of sheer brilliance. Much better than the critics would have you think.
  98. JamesG.
    May 28, 2007
    8
    Look I'm not quite sure. Way too long, especially for kids, story flew all over the place, though Jerry Bruckheimer out does himself with the best special effects and explosions. My score is horribly biased due too this movie having the single best bad guy death ever!!!
  99. CoryP.
    Jun 10, 2007
    8
    I guess a movie is only good any more if the f-bomb is used once every 10 minutes (eg. Knocked up) or is trying to make a political statement. The Pirate movies are meant to be popcorn movies to enjoy. Enjoy this movie ! It's not meant to cause some sort of spiritual awakening. So funny how critics can give knocked up such good reviews and turn around and find nothing to like about I guess a movie is only good any more if the f-bomb is used once every 10 minutes (eg. Knocked up) or is trying to make a political statement. The Pirate movies are meant to be popcorn movies to enjoy. Enjoy this movie ! It's not meant to cause some sort of spiritual awakening. So funny how critics can give knocked up such good reviews and turn around and find nothing to like about this movie. Nothing short of amazing. Best thing to do is go see this movie and form your OWN opinion. Expand
  100. LeonardB.
    Jun 3, 2007
    8
    This is a movie made to go see at the "movies" very entertaining! as far as the plot, what was so hard to understand???? the trick is to just sit back and take it all in, its fantasy not always meant to make perfect sense...open your mind critics.
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 36
  2. Negative: 5 out of 36
  1. 63
    The last 60 minutes offer adventure as rousing as anything provided in either of the previous installments. Unfortunately, that doesn't account for the other 108 minutes of this gorged, self-indulgent, and uneven production.
  2. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    60
    The plot's a trippy, twisty mess, and it's far too long, but it looks fantastic and makes some bold choices in its execution. And once again Jack's back to save the day.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    60
    The third voyage in the "Priates" trilogy could be touted as "The biggest, loudest and second-best (or second-worst) 'Pirates' ever!" -- not necessarily a ringing endorsement, but honest.