User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 702 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CharlesL.
    Jul 10, 2006
    5
    I love the way all the dissenting opinions for this movie appear to be well thought out critiques, where as the positive votes read like PR-cookie-cutter-praise-em-post-em notes. I never was into the whole POTC thing. I never went to see the first movie. Not interested. That said, I saw it on cable eventually some lazy Sunday afternoon and was wonderfully entertained. "Wow" was the word I love the way all the dissenting opinions for this movie appear to be well thought out critiques, where as the positive votes read like PR-cookie-cutter-praise-em-post-em notes. I never was into the whole POTC thing. I never went to see the first movie. Not interested. That said, I saw it on cable eventually some lazy Sunday afternoon and was wonderfully entertained. "Wow" was the word that came to mind. I had misjudged the movie, and was pleasantly surprised at how fun the movie was. So, now we have a sequel. I went to a later showing tonight to help avoid most of the youngsters in the crowd, and still the movie was jam packed with patrons. And so began our next ride on Disney's flagship voyage. 2 1/2 hours later I am so bored, I left the theatre as soon as the first credit rolled. I understand there are 10 extra seconds at the end. Who cares is all I can say. The movie is one incredibly long overbloated setup for the third installment. Characters seem to be out of touch with their characters from the first movie, I cared more for the villian than I did our heroes, the Kraken was used too many times. The beach scene was 10 min too long. Have no idea what the heck was up with the cannibal Sparrow scene? (I mean why would you possibly think cannabilism could be utilized as a crude joke is beyond me.) There were some great action sequences, although I agree with one reviewer who stated that so much action was present on screen that you felt as though you were wrapped in psychadelic wallpaper. (And I don't think he meant that as a compliment ;-) I also perceived the dialog as difficult to make out at times. Whether that was a function of the mix or extreme dialect slurring I am not sure. But I found myself several times wishing I could back up the movie with my remote to catch what was just stated. CGI effects were pretty amazing on Davy Jones! The kraken was pretty cool as well. I found the villian to be the most compelling character. At least he was honorable and true to self. Overall though, I still have to stick to my main points. Laboriously long, weak script, horrible plot elements and character asassinations. You know..Jack Sparrow won our hearts in the first movie. Why would you now seek to cause audiences to re-evaluate that opinion? Tasting a toe?? Obstensibly throwing away peoples lives he had already saved? Being forced to take the higher road by a deceitful womanly misdirection? Preferring to root for the villian than the so called "heroes" is not a good idea Hollywood. Ehh. Spend your money. Perhaps you will like it. Ultimately I felt let down and a bit irritated with the whole experience. The pacing was all off for me. Expand
  2. TravisM.
    Jul 13, 2006
    5
    The original stands alone with some good classic-style swashbuckling sword fighting scenes, whitty humour, and an awesome storyline. This second movie was too long, and mainly tries to cash in on the original movie's success. More slapstick humour without a decent fight scene unless you're looking for a 'Clash of the Titans' creature which apparently can crush one ship The original stands alone with some good classic-style swashbuckling sword fighting scenes, whitty humour, and an awesome storyline. This second movie was too long, and mainly tries to cash in on the original movie's success. More slapstick humour without a decent fight scene unless you're looking for a 'Clash of the Titans' creature which apparently can crush one ship in a matter of 3 seconds but takes 10 minutes to devour The Black Pearl. Anyways if the 3rd movie makes up for all the 2nd's shortcomings then we'll look back at this film as meerly a springboard in the storyline for the last movie; otherwise it'll be another waste of 3 hours (once you add in trailers and if you decide to stay for the unnecessary scene after the credits). Expand
  3. Nov 9, 2012
    6
    The second dose of pirate mayhem is scattershot and chunky as a whole, but delivers in the moment, and is fueled by some breathtaking storm sequences.
  4. Sep 24, 2011
    5
    "Dead Man's Chest" starts out with a cheerful performance by Johnny Depp and ends with a terrible conclusion. Ultimately the movie is a mindless blockbuster, a movie you would expect.
  5. TheCritic
    Jul 10, 2006
    5
    God AWFUL!!!! Whoever liked the first won't like this piece of crap that has WAY to many corny jokes and a confusing plotline. The only plus for it was Johnny Depp's awesome performance as Sparrow.
  6. Mela
    Oct 13, 2007
    5
    Elizabeth does just fret me,she is so stupid and spoil and have nothing better to do than just look hard.
  7. JonA.
    Jan 12, 2007
    5
    Many entertaining and imaginative action sequences, but the story feels aimless and eventually sinks the movie. Not as fun as I hoped it would be.
  8. Mar 25, 2012
    5
    This installment is way to long and all the different plots make the film to complicated for itself. Yet the film still survives because of Jack and is marvelous performance.
  9. RaoG.
    Jul 8, 2006
    4
    The first movie was a revivial of the swashbuckling genre, bringing the right combination of action, comedy, drama, and characters making it a masterpiece. This movie need more time in development before it's release. The action sequences are silly and poorly shot, with over the top action in which characters are never in any real peral. The reliance of computer animated action The first movie was a revivial of the swashbuckling genre, bringing the right combination of action, comedy, drama, and characters making it a masterpiece. This movie need more time in development before it's release. The action sequences are silly and poorly shot, with over the top action in which characters are never in any real peral. The reliance of computer animated action sequences watered down the movie more dramatic moments. The entire movie was a simple set-up for the next, while at the same time doing absolutely no justice to the fantastic cast of characters established by the brilliant cast. The script lacked the magic of the original with dialogue that seemed to make a pale attempt to copy the original. The positives are the new charcters, who seem to all overshadow the main cast, the revival of the supporting cast of pirates, and the final shot of the movie. Expand
  10. TyeN.
    Jul 9, 2006
    6
    I'm so very disappointed by this film. Before I went to see it, I re-watched the original. Even though I've seen the first 'Pirates' many times, I still laughed and found some of the set pieces exciting. However, "Dead Man's Chest" tries to do too much while not doing enough at the same time. It sounds confusing, but here's what I mean: Too much pointless I'm so very disappointed by this film. Before I went to see it, I re-watched the original. Even though I've seen the first 'Pirates' many times, I still laughed and found some of the set pieces exciting. However, "Dead Man's Chest" tries to do too much while not doing enough at the same time. It sounds confusing, but here's what I mean: Too much pointless action sequences (the ones that really bothered me were the many Kraken ones), too many split plot lines, too long of a running time. And there wasn't enough plot or character development (especially for Bootstrap Bill, Will Turner, Elizabeth Swan, Davy Jones, and the new character Lord Bennington), not enough laughs (it tries, but many jokes come off as lame), not enough fun (much of the film actually feels like work to watch.) Although there are enjoyable moments (the cannibal island, just looking at the awesome CG, the big fight near the end of the film for the chest) there just weren't enough. I wanted to love, but I only ended up kinda liking it. Expand
  11. RyanJ.
    Aug 23, 2006
    4
    in most of my reviews i have praised movies but this is one of the worst, i was so dissapointed with this movie after the brilliance of the first movie, i must say if johnny depp wasn't in the movie the movie would be pathetic. He was the most lively part of the film and as usual was comical and interresting, the part that let the film down the most was the story line, it had no in most of my reviews i have praised movies but this is one of the worst, i was so dissapointed with this movie after the brilliance of the first movie, i must say if johnny depp wasn't in the movie the movie would be pathetic. He was the most lively part of the film and as usual was comical and interresting, the part that let the film down the most was the story line, it had no direction and never really showed any chance of ending or evn really hitting that 'wow' factor like the first film, overall dissapointing and hopefully if they make the first it will be more like the first film and nothing like this film! Expand
  12. JPPaxton
    Nov 6, 2006
    5
    Usually sequels don't surpass the greatness and originality their predecessors establish. 'Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest' doesn't fail to follow suit. From the trailers it appears to be an exciting thrill ride loaded with tons of merriment. But in reality its a two hour and thirty five minute foreseeable film filled with humdrum antics and sleep Usually sequels don't surpass the greatness and originality their predecessors establish. 'Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest' doesn't fail to follow suit. From the trailers it appears to be an exciting thrill ride loaded with tons of merriment. But in reality its a two hour and thirty five minute foreseeable film filled with humdrum antics and sleep inducing banter. The first 'Pirates' was absolutely one hundred percent far more delightful. Before it, a character with humor and essence such as Captain Jack Sparrow hadn't been seen in cinema. A once amusing and engaging Jack is now just plain annoying. Here in 'Dead Man's Chest' his foolhardy, joker demeanor only halts the story as it attempts to progress. In addition, average acting and direction are dishearteningly unveiled. The only pleasing aspects presented are the outstanding visuals and devilishly good villain Davy Jones. I'm afraid neither of these ingredients are able to save this mess of a film from sinking though. The bottom line is, 'Dead Man's Chest' is nothing more than a film built on hype and in the end has no real substance. "I think the second movie is strong and clever and has a lot going on", said director Gore Verbinski in an October interview last year when speaking about 'Pirates'. Apparently this version of the film didn't make the final cut. Even so, 'Dead Man's Chest' will without a doubt continue to dominate at the movies and make other summer releases walk the plank at the box office. I don't think even Colin Farrell and Jamie Foxx's big screen adaptation of 'Miami Vice' will be able to decimate it when released this Friday. I guess I can give Verbinski some credit though. It's pretty amazing to see a film with video-game logic that's created from zip do so tremendous. Expand
  13. JuniorL.
    Jul 10, 2006
    4
    A complete waste of Johnny Depp's talent and he's the only reason to see, although Orlando Bloom has potential. When your characters have to explain what is going on in the movie, you know you're in over your head. They could have easily deleted about a 1/3 of this movie and it would have been barely entertaining. I was a big fan of the first Pirate's and the first to A complete waste of Johnny Depp's talent and he's the only reason to see, although Orlando Bloom has potential. When your characters have to explain what is going on in the movie, you know you're in over your head. They could have easily deleted about a 1/3 of this movie and it would have been barely entertaining. I was a big fan of the first Pirate's and the first to see this on Friday and I will definitely tell everyone I know, not to waste their time and $10. They can rent it and do laundry while they have it on in the background and they won't miss much. At least the popcorn was good. Expand
  14. GrantB.
    Jul 10, 2006
    4
    Confusing/Slow Moving/Orlando Bloom can't act.
  15. CraigAaen-S.
    Jul 12, 2006
    6
    Overly complex and 'epic'. WAAYYY too scary for a PG-13. Several families had to leave the cinema I was in after kids were terrified by birds pecking out eyeballs, faceless corpses and all other manner of grotesque images. Made ME feel slightly sick.
  16. BrianK.
    Jul 17, 2006
    6
    John T. to answer your question, Jack the Monkey was seen stealing a gold coin and re-turning Undead after the credits rolled in the first movie... Okay, Hard to say that this was an action movie, inaction was more like it, and the fact this movie dragged so much is what hurt it the most I think. What made the first so great was it was dumb, fast, funny, shiny good fun the sequel was John T. to answer your question, Jack the Monkey was seen stealing a gold coin and re-turning Undead after the credits rolled in the first movie... Okay, Hard to say that this was an action movie, inaction was more like it, and the fact this movie dragged so much is what hurt it the most I think. What made the first so great was it was dumb, fast, funny, shiny good fun the sequel was shiny but just dumb, I can't say I outright disliked this movie, I enjoyed moments, the story at times was good and the FX were Special. But I was yawning quite a bit during the Movie... lets hope the third installment is quite a bit better (I digged the surprise cliff hanger) ...despite So-So reviews this is the top grossing movie of all time it looks like, so Bruckheimer and Gore have nothing to be ashamed about, and Johnny Depp is now the biggest draw in the Universe. Expand
  17. MarkB.
    Jul 18, 2006
    6
    Remember the 1970s, when most movie sequels, like Jaws 2, Walking Tall and the Dirty Harry followup Magnum Force, were faint echoes of the originals, usually made by clock-punchers with nowhere near the skill or imagination of the original directors? Nowadays, movie sequels couldn't be any farther removed; they're part of franchises now, and so they crank up the budget and Remember the 1970s, when most movie sequels, like Jaws 2, Walking Tall and the Dirty Harry followup Magnum Force, were faint echoes of the originals, usually made by clock-punchers with nowhere near the skill or imagination of the original directors? Nowadays, movie sequels couldn't be any farther removed; they're part of franchises now, and so they crank up the budget and production values to give the audience more of the same, only much more, in large part because stock values and jobs are so heavily dependent on their success at topping the originals. The fact that Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest scored a now-legendary record-smashing debut weekend definitely promises more of the same in summers to come: Jerry Bruckheimer and Gore Verbinski have certainly ratcheted up the action set pieces (the three-man water-wheel duel IS a standout), and the CGI denizens of the deep, including the vengeful gigantic squid and Davy Jones' fishy navy are effectively detailed, gooey and gross enough to turn many of us seafood lovers into strict followers of Hebrew dietary laws. However, two elements that have conversely (and curiously) been reduced from the original are the plot, which in POTC1 managed to be refreshingly challenging and complex especially for a summer popcorn movie, and here is merely an excuse to jump from one big special effects sequence to another, and, ironically, the presence of Jack Sparrow himself (excuse me, CAPTAIN Jack Sparrow). This is peculiar because Johnny Depp's interpretation of the character (NOT the action, effects, or ANY of the costars, as a cursory look at the box office of Keira Knightley's or Orlando Bloom's other films will readily reveal) is what MADE the original THE definitive summer flick of 2003: Depp's work was so simultaneously bizarre, original and yet totally accessible that millions of moviegoers simultaneously claimed it as their own original discovery. Part of Depp's genius was that the made Sparrow both the comic relief AND the hero; he appeared to be a foppish, clueless buffoon, but he was in control at every turn. Here, Sparrow seems too often to be merely peripheral to the action, and his intelligence is noticeably diminished; watching such bits as this installment's cannibal sequence, I found myself being reminded too often of Wile E. Coyote. I enjoyed POTC2 enough on a big, dumb special effects movie level (and truly appreciated that they brought back my favorite supporting character from the original, the genuinely classy Disposable Fiance Norrington, even if I wasn't entirely thrilled by what they have his character do here) that these reservations are more observations than actual criticisms...but there's no real excuse to have the ending turn into the most shameless, blatant plug for Numero THree-O since Back to the Future 2 back in 1989. Shouldn't moviegoers with even more mixed responses to POTC2 than I had, and therefore DON'T plan to partake of POTC3 be entitled to get at least 20% of their money back? Expand
  18. Sarah
    Jul 29, 2006
    5
    The only reason i really enjoyed this movie at all was because it was the sequel to pirates 1. watching it i was kind of disappointing. the story got a little lost throughout the movie and i sortof forgot what was happening with the movie at some parts. the ending to me was one of the best parts. and i think that the third movie is going to be better than the second.
  19. JohnB.
    Jul 7, 2006
    6
    Dead Man's Chest was a movie I really tried to like but after two and a half hours in the theater I found this to be no more than mediocre. We are supposed to like Jack Sparrow right? That's why we came to see the movie right? Well, it was unfortunate to see Depp's character slip towards the endless gags and while the infamous captain we all came to love still brings some Dead Man's Chest was a movie I really tried to like but after two and a half hours in the theater I found this to be no more than mediocre. We are supposed to like Jack Sparrow right? That's why we came to see the movie right? Well, it was unfortunate to see Depp's character slip towards the endless gags and while the infamous captain we all came to love still brings some great moments I couldn't help but feel like it was stale. Orlando Bloom has yet to impress me as an actor. Perhaps a really nice hat might have been the trick. Keira Kightley brings us everything we had expected in Elizabeth Swann. It's too bad the chemistry between the characters that seemed to work in the first one seems to have been overdone in Dead Man's Chest. There were more awkward moments in this film than there should have been. I enjoyed the salty sea creatures of Davy Jones and the monster they enjoy to unleash, but the action in this movie was far too relentless. The pacing really started to veer off course too much. Also, is it too much to ask for more additions to the score? I would prefer to not to hear a rehash of the same music from the previous movie. Overall, there are enough decent lines to create a new book of pirate phrases with the same wit that made the first movie interesting, but with too much action, unclear character motivations and running gags, Dead Man's Chest verges far too close to collapsing on itself. Expand
  20. Chuckyo
    Jul 8, 2006
    6
    The first half of the film drags, but the second half is great. The film definitely could have been cut down to a shorter running time.
  21. KevinM.
    Jul 9, 2006
    4
    This movie is way too long for what it is. I was so looking forward to it but walked away with a "so what" attitude. The dialogue was, at times, very hard to understand. The movie relied a lot on the first one, which I haven't seen for several years, so many of the "surprises" left me dumbfounded. I'm sure the ending was provocative if you knew who the guy coming down the steps is.
  22. JorgeS.
    Jul 9, 2006
    6
    THE most unintelligible and completely cofusing plot ever, the whole movie felt like it was thrown together with various dandy action sequences. Granted, they were fantastic, but at least the ones in Black Pearl served a purpose (did we realy have to see the octopus more than twice?) All in all, the only reason to see this movie is for the amazing action sequences and Johnny Depp's THE most unintelligible and completely cofusing plot ever, the whole movie felt like it was thrown together with various dandy action sequences. Granted, they were fantastic, but at least the ones in Black Pearl served a purpose (did we realy have to see the octopus more than twice?) All in all, the only reason to see this movie is for the amazing action sequences and Johnny Depp's awesome role as Jack Sparrow, which were enough to propel my score to a six. If none of these things interest you, i suggest you skip it. Expand
  23. TracyB.
    Jul 9, 2006
    6
    Not a bad movie- Johnny Depp was great, again. The make up, special effects and sets were fantastic. But, like King Kong (although better) it was over the top with too many of the action scenes that dragged on and should have been cut down- needed a more developed story.
  24. Bebop717
    Jul 9, 2006
    5
    For those you have not seen it look forward to the cannibal island. That is about 30 mins of material that could totally be cut, it's totally filler that has nothing to do with the entire movie. Actually most of the movie is filler and is filled with side plots. It's just a summer action fluff movie with bad writing, does anyone remember a single memorable quote? Of course you For those you have not seen it look forward to the cannibal island. That is about 30 mins of material that could totally be cut, it's totally filler that has nothing to do with the entire movie. Actually most of the movie is filler and is filled with side plots. It's just a summer action fluff movie with bad writing, does anyone remember a single memorable quote? Of course you can't because 1) there are none and 2) Practically everyone is a pirate in the movie which means that is overall much harder to understand them. Expand
  25. Legion
    Aug 10, 2006
    4
    Oh damn, it sucked. Man, the sequel totally raped the glory of the first Pirates movie. Whole movie was just stupid running after the heart of some jellyfish guy.. Then the ending. it was the worst. Why can't bad guys just die normally anymore?
  26. Mase
    Aug 1, 2006
    5
    Well to be fair, if you liked the orginal Pirates you will most likely like this one as well. It's pretty much more of the same, boring action sequences boring characters, boring dialogue and hugely overrated performance by Depp. Knightley and Bloom are completly yawn inducing if not good looking. Why this franchise doesn't click is beyond me, again like the original is much too Well to be fair, if you liked the orginal Pirates you will most likely like this one as well. It's pretty much more of the same, boring action sequences boring characters, boring dialogue and hugely overrated performance by Depp. Knightley and Bloom are completly yawn inducing if not good looking. Why this franchise doesn't click is beyond me, again like the original is much too long and just doesn't have any verve or edge. But it is essentially a family film meant to appeal to all consumers so there is no surprise there is little edge. Visuals are stunning however the reptile pirates look great. But really who wants to sit in a theatre for 2 and half hours for this. You can only take so much. Expand
  27. NjoiF.
    Aug 16, 2006
    4
    This movie was a big disappointment. I really expected much more after the excellent original pirates of the carebean. The only good thing about the movie is the few funny parts carried by jack sparrow, because the story sucks and is not even concluded in the end of the movie. It's unoriginal, boring at times and just plain directioness. Not worth seeing unless you can do it for free.
  28. DiabloP.
    Dec 5, 2006
    6
    This movie is far from perfect, but it is a good movie for what it is --Big Budget crap. Sometimes Big Budget crap is what the movie industry needs. So if your one of those people who like perfect movies...don't go here, but if you like action and great special effects...Come on Down!
  29. MarkS
    Jul 10, 2006
    6
    While Depp was great himself, he had little to do or work with. Sparrow had none of the clever and one-upsmanship of the first movie. His actions were almost inconsequential to everything that was going on. He did nothing so cool as to warrant his great line from #1 "Lads, I'm Jack Sparrow". He was a bumbling coward, and the question of loyalty to the other 2 leads should have beenWhile Depp was great himself, he had little to do or work with. Sparrow had none of the clever and one-upsmanship of the first movie. His actions were almost inconsequential to everything that was going on. He did nothing so cool as to warrant his great line from #1 "Lads, I'm Jack Sparrow". He was a bumbling coward, and the question of loyalty to the other 2 leads should have been left for dead in the first movie, or always cloudy what he was up to until the end, like in Black Pearl. This one, he is an unabashed selfish jerk and traitor. No depth, no color. All the jokes seemed very much contrived, not smooth and natural like the first film. Big disappointment. Depp, Knightly, the voodoo chic were good, action was so so with a few real bright spots. The rum jokes were easily the best. Expand
  30. DanaM.
    Jul 10, 2006
    6
    Let's start by saying it was a movie worth seeing. It was worth the 9 bucks to be entertained. The special effects were quite good, and Davey Jones crew was quite a makeup mans nightmare. Certain scenes were difficult to understand but hey the special effects were great. The accents of the actors, especially the Voodoo lady were so think that it was difficult to understand the lines. Let's start by saying it was a movie worth seeing. It was worth the 9 bucks to be entertained. The special effects were quite good, and Davey Jones crew was quite a makeup mans nightmare. Certain scenes were difficult to understand but hey the special effects were great. The accents of the actors, especially the Voodoo lady were so think that it was difficult to understand the lines. Did all pirates have English accents back then? Hmmm. Depp was his usual swishey cowardly self, running away from everything possible. Only when he's chained to his sinking ship by Elizabeth does he show some guts. Disappointing character development IMHO. But overall a good movie, worth seeing. Expand
  31. NancyS.
    Jul 12, 2006
    6
    1) Too long. It felt long, regardless of how I felt about it overall. I didn't think of it at the time but a prior voter here said that the cannibal island sequence could have been cut with no real damage and I think I would have to agree and some of the other scenes could have been shortened to make the slap-stick effect a bit more punchy. They were probably too attached to the 1) Too long. It felt long, regardless of how I felt about it overall. I didn't think of it at the time but a prior voter here said that the cannibal island sequence could have been cut with no real damage and I think I would have to agree and some of the other scenes could have been shortened to make the slap-stick effect a bit more punchy. They were probably too attached to the cannibal idea but it was a plot (?) meander that wasn't needed. 2) Not for younger kids, I think, although, who knows, with the cartoons and stuff they watch these days, but a little on the graphic side it seemed to me with some of the Davey Jones bunch. 3) Frankly, if I had known what the general plot was before I went I would have been able to enjoy it a little more instead of trying to figure out the plot and interpret dialogue (and unlike some voters here, I think there was one, or several, plots). 4) I did laugh at some of the dialogue and the visuals were pretty cool - I had no problem with Davey Jones and his crew: was fascinated by the tentacle beard but creeped out by some of the crew. If you want to enjoy the third movie than you need to see the second. Expand
  32. HalB.
    Jul 13, 2006
    5
    Very disappointing overall. Some cool special effects & makeup (Bill Nighy as Davy Jones) and a few humorous/entertaining action sequences, but a very uneven movie -- veering wildly from cruel and gross to silly (the Keystone Kops-type sequences). Basically just a setup for Act III. Perhaps I was expecting too much, given how thoroughly entertaining the first POTC was. Bill Nighy's Very disappointing overall. Some cool special effects & makeup (Bill Nighy as Davy Jones) and a few humorous/entertaining action sequences, but a very uneven movie -- veering wildly from cruel and gross to silly (the Keystone Kops-type sequences). Basically just a setup for Act III. Perhaps I was expecting too much, given how thoroughly entertaining the first POTC was. Bill Nighy's performance was the best thing about the film. Depp completely inhabits Capt Jack Sparrow, but his act is wearing thin at this point (in my humble opinion). Maybe I'm missing the point...? Expand
  33. Ian
    Jul 16, 2006
    6
    Was a good film all in all. But the ending was rather reminiscent of the lord of the rings, when the fellowship is created, but worth a watch if you want to see pirates, ghouls & cannibals all in one film.
  34. BeckerR.
    Jul 17, 2006
    5
    Lost most of the potent wit of the first film and Bloom and Knightly were totally less likable. More of a formulaic film with a hyper awarness of itself compared to the innocence of the first.
  35. LaurieV.
    Jul 17, 2006
    6
    A bunch of good set pieces adrift in a sea of mediocre movie. Maybe if you cut an hour this would be an exciting film.
  36. C.Henry
    Jul 21, 2006
    5
    Ran too long, some of the lines are really lousy, and characters act pretty inconsistently. The fact that pretty much every character from the previous film returns is kind of lame. Nice to look at. Also, i like Bill Nighy. He's cool as Davy Jones; not even all that make up can hide that it's hime.
  37. EricY.
    Jul 24, 2006
    5
    Very Long! Nothing was really resolved. It was basically designed to set up the next movie. I hope the next one will wrap something up. The effects were awesome and Johnny Depp is awesome.
  38. Eric
    Jul 7, 2006
    6
    The first 2/3 of the movie was just full of exposition. the last act is what saved the flick from total disaster.
  39. StarFox
    Jul 8, 2006
    4
    Unfortunately, it's a mess. Too many over-the-top references to the first one, an overly convoluted story and little memorable except for the effects work. Call it Priates: Reloaded.
  40. ChanelB.
    Jul 8, 2006
    4
    As much as I loved the first movie, the only thing that I can say to describe "Dead Man's Chest" is that it let me down tremendously. I love Johnny Depp so you can imagine how hard it is for me to say this but, I was getting tired of his character. As well as that, I felt as though I had seen it all before! For instance, when Will goes searching for Jack and there is the sequence As much as I loved the first movie, the only thing that I can say to describe "Dead Man's Chest" is that it let me down tremendously. I love Johnny Depp so you can imagine how hard it is for me to say this but, I was getting tired of his character. As well as that, I felt as though I had seen it all before! For instance, when Will goes searching for Jack and there is the sequence where he is asking around Tortuga to see if anyone knows where the famous Capitan Sparrow is, and he meets up with two minor woman roles from the first movie, who smack Will and tell him to send that message to Jack......Hasn't that happened a couple of times already? Do we have to play it out some more? The answer is yes. I also realized that the chemistry between Elizabeth and Will was nothing like the first movie's was. Sure, we had the quick "oh, you're back from Davie Jones Locker!" kiss, but honestly! In Pirates 1, Will and Lizzy were the scandelous, romantic couple, but that was completely gone by this movie. Some people may think that since "the compass that shows what you want most in the world" pointed to Jack, when Lizzy was holding it on the Island where Davie hid his heart, it is another shocking plot point! But seriously, do we need another? This movie was so jam-packed with them that I couldn't get Will's father and Davie Jones strait! Overall, this movie was not what I was looking for at 12:00 at night, or any other time for that matter. Expand
  41. DanB.
    Aug 19, 2006
    4
    Really, reeeeally tedious. What is horrible is that this made so much money, they're going to think: oh well, this must be what a good movie is so we'll make them all like this.
  42. KateB.
    Aug 26, 2006
    5
    This isn't the worst film I've ever seen. But, I absolutely adore Johnny Depp and loved the first Pirates movie, but this really isn't very good. It has too many winding plot lines and the story is poor, plus the scrpt writers have crammed a joke into every one of Jack Sparrow's lines, and it doesn't work. Sorry, but it really isn't very good at all.
  43. DennisP.
    Dec 17, 2006
    5
    One of the most disappointing sequels in recent memory.
  44. ReidF.
    Jul 11, 2006
    4
    Pretty bad, I like all the actors but the story line was tacked together and struggeling. The visuals were impressive but too many giant squid scenes. A shorter simplified plot with emphasis on Jack Sparrow would have been much more pleasing.
  45. AnthonyS.
    Jul 12, 2006
    5
    Too long, Fun at times, confusing at others,what,s the deal with the Pirate and the girl? And the ending stinks.
  46. SangheeC.
    Jul 12, 2006
    5
    It was overall an amusing movie for a Friday afternoon, but it was tedious. The crew of Davey Jones was too ghostly and ghoulish. While the first one was just the right amount of reature-esque, the octapus and crab and conch thing in this movie was way too stupid. The ending ruined it. At least in the first one, there was the option of seeing the second one, but not in this movie. YOu It was overall an amusing movie for a Friday afternoon, but it was tedious. The crew of Davey Jones was too ghostly and ghoulish. While the first one was just the right amount of reature-esque, the octapus and crab and conch thing in this movie was way too stupid. The ending ruined it. At least in the first one, there was the option of seeing the second one, but not in this movie. YOu practically HAVE to see the next one. The characters acted very out-of-character all the time. It was a mix between strange people, and the original characters. It was just not as good as the previous one. Though, as always, the music was excellent. Expand
  47. GeorgeS.
    Jul 14, 2006
    4
    Gone is the fun, the not-taking yourself too seriously, the amazing sword play (with the excpetion of the 'rolling fight' - don't want to spoil the scene for those that haven't seen it), the loveable Captain Jack with the quick witt and supporting cast that ate it up. Enter stunning visual effects, a much darker atmosphere, boring dialogue, a cast that is going through Gone is the fun, the not-taking yourself too seriously, the amazing sword play (with the excpetion of the 'rolling fight' - don't want to spoil the scene for those that haven't seen it), the loveable Captain Jack with the quick witt and supporting cast that ate it up. Enter stunning visual effects, a much darker atmosphere, boring dialogue, a cast that is going through the motions, and a script that is too long and doesn't stand on its own as a movie, but a set up for the sequel. I'd wait till the DVD or go to a matinee. Expand
  48. BrotherKurt
    Jul 16, 2006
    4
    [***spoilers alert***] Pirates was pretty horrible. If they had cut about 45-60 minutes out of that snooze feast, I would have been okay with it. But it was nothing but one special effects set piece after another, some of which were simply repeated to lesser effect later in the film (eg. Bone Cage - funny; Big Wheel - redundant). And some of the effects, such as Bill Nighy's tentacle[***spoilers alert***] Pirates was pretty horrible. If they had cut about 45-60 minutes out of that snooze feast, I would have been okay with it. But it was nothing but one special effects set piece after another, some of which were simply repeated to lesser effect later in the film (eg. Bone Cage - funny; Big Wheel - redundant). And some of the effects, such as Bill Nighy's tentacle face, just overwhelmed an otherwise good actor. All in all, a major disappointment; nonetheless, they did hook me at the end so I will probably see the third one. Grrrr.... Expand
  49. E.Kooij
    Jul 21, 2006
    4
    Astoundedly awful and mindlessly boring rehash of part 1. I felt being treated like a toddler, endlessly repeating jokes and plot twists which on first occurance might have put a smile on your face (if that).
  50. RayR.
    Jul 25, 2006
    4
    Storyline was convoluted, and boring. Tennacles on Davy Jones face were irritatingly overused. Johnny Depp was not as interesting as POC 1. Overall, the movie was too long and boring. Special effects were good, but overuse made them monotonous. The humor and comedic timing of POC 1 were lost. Bootstrap Bill was the only interesting new character, others were window dressing.
  51. gs
    May 28, 2007
    4
    Some great scenes but overall mess. Way too long and too dark for youn children. All ot the fun of the original seems to have been soaked out of this often boring sequel. I enjoyed the original film but I can't understand why this movie was such a huge hit and beloved by fans. I guess it's the emperor's new clothes syndrome. I actually heard some critic say that Pirates Some great scenes but overall mess. Way too long and too dark for youn children. All ot the fun of the original seems to have been soaked out of this often boring sequel. I enjoyed the original film but I can't understand why this movie was such a huge hit and beloved by fans. I guess it's the emperor's new clothes syndrome. I actually heard some critic say that Pirates series was this generations Star Wars. I hope not because i would lose all hope for this generation and the future of the world. Overall fun scenes on the island at the beginning and at the end the last 30 minutes but everything in between is a boring mess which desperately needed to be edited down. Expand
  52. DBScarlett
    Dec 17, 2006
    6
    Not as good as the first, a bit more hokum and less realism. Depp his usual self... story needed more work.
  53. TomM.
    Dec 21, 2006
    4
    Action was good but it's just a set up to another sequel.
  54. Rhea
    Dec 25, 2006
    6
    You really must watch these movies in succession to "get it."
  55. Aug 6, 2012
    6
    One of the most popular movies to date, the movie is full of adventure and some laughs. But the redundant drama keeps me bored and the music sounds more epic than ever.
  56. Jun 29, 2013
    6
    Why so serious Pirates? Dead Man's Chest is equally as explosive and ridiculous as it's predecessor, but the charm and magical aspect of the first has seemingly disappeared, and been replaced with a sombre, lengthy and often pointless escapade across the sea.
    Time seems to have shifted to a much darker and more sadistic tone for Captain Jack Sparrow, played uniquely and more bizarre than
    Why so serious Pirates? Dead Man's Chest is equally as explosive and ridiculous as it's predecessor, but the charm and magical aspect of the first has seemingly disappeared, and been replaced with a sombre, lengthy and often pointless escapade across the sea.
    Time seems to have shifted to a much darker and more sadistic tone for Captain Jack Sparrow, played uniquely and more bizarre than ever by Johnny Depp, who finds himself in the company of an array of new faces, amongst them is the mythical Davy Jones, (Bill Nighy), who captains the legendary Flying Dutchman, a man or monster and a ship that Sparrow owes a debt to. Problem is, Will Turner and his almost bride Elizabeth Swan are wanted for aiding Captain Jack, under the new East India Trading Company regime in Port Royal, the two decide to search for Jack in an attempt to benefit one another.and their lives.
    With everyone after the same thing, there are plenty of characters to keep up with and many a tale to keep us entertained, but its the vastly different and change of personality that many of these characters have underwent that is the most, well, annoying.
    Will Turner is more an insolent child now, he brims with confidence with very little reason to do so, and while his motives are never clear, much like Jack, its fun with Jack and should be left to him, because again he is the master of the house in the film, finding himself in many peculiar situations, with another witty script and plenty of one on one moments with very characters that simply light up the screen with the sparkle of Johnny Depp in pirate form.
    But this doesn't stop the film from being about a half hour too long, with various scenes and moments, particularly the whole tribe moment, seemed to just be an excuse to use countless amounts of CGI to wither strut their stuff or to simply clock in the long running time. But there are of course plenty of decent things about this second outing, the set pieces are truly breathtaking, with a particularly massive finale that is sure to please the masses, and it is also nice to see the continuation of pirates being done justice on the screen, everyone is in it for themselves, but it just doesn't suit everyone.
    Not the worst sequel, but so much could have been carried over from the excellent first outing to benefit this murky tale, it is always leading to something else that in the end you must settle for the fact that it isn't going to happen in this film, but some shining performances make it worthwhile.
    Expand
  57. Jun 11, 2012
    6
    Though unequal to the original in plot and character development, the Dead Man's Chest is still extremely fun and enjoyable. Johnny Depp is unbeatable.
  58. Aug 24, 2014
    6
    Much like the first installment, we are captivated by excitement and continued shenanigans. Once more, Johnny Depp shines in his underrated stint as Capt. Jack Sparrow.
  59. Jul 3, 2013
    5
    Dead Man's Chest seems to struggle mightily with what it wants to be. Does it want to be a story about Jack Sparrow's rascally ways coming back to bite him, or does it want to be a story of Will Turner coming to terms with the man his father was? Does it want to be about Elizabeth Swann becoming a pirate and loving it, or Norrington trying to scrape by after an offscreenDead Man's Chest seems to struggle mightily with what it wants to be. Does it want to be a story about Jack Sparrow's rascally ways coming back to bite him, or does it want to be a story of Will Turner coming to terms with the man his father was? Does it want to be about Elizabeth Swann becoming a pirate and loving it, or Norrington trying to scrape by after an offscreen passingly-mentioned disgrace? The villain, at least, is clear, but little else is.

    Speaking of the villain, Davy Jones is a great one. He's scary, he's one of the best-modeled CG characters ever made, and Bill Nighy acts him beautifully. But he's weighed down by the plodding, meandering movie he's in, that can't seem to decide what it's doing, where it's going, or why it exists. It seems to be just sort of...THERE. Because Eisner wanted a sequel. Or something. Overall, the weakest film in the series. That includes At World's End AND On Stranger Tides.
    Expand
  60. Nov 5, 2013
    6
    "Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest" is the second movie in the series. Although it's not as good as the original, it's still a worthy sequel. It's slightly overlong, but Johnny Depp's humorous jokes still does keep it going.
  61. Dec 23, 2013
    4
    A big let down after a great first film. I remember seeing this in theaters and walking out almost wanting my money back. Despite the fact that Depp is still great in the lead the film is derivative of the first and is far to long. Action sequences stretch to a point where they are meaninglessly long and boring. I'm not sure what happened with this film but it wasn't good.
  62. Jun 12, 2014
    5
    The sequel to the very successful "Curse of the Black Pearl" is just ok. It is still very fun and entertaining, but does not reach the heights that its predecessor does. The thrills are there, the laughs are there, the overall enjoyment is there, but there are enough negatives to hold it back. While Johnny Depp is great once again as Captain Jack Sparrow, Orlando Bloom and Keira KnightleyThe sequel to the very successful "Curse of the Black Pearl" is just ok. It is still very fun and entertaining, but does not reach the heights that its predecessor does. The thrills are there, the laughs are there, the overall enjoyment is there, but there are enough negatives to hold it back. While Johnny Depp is great once again as Captain Jack Sparrow, Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley were spotty. At times, they were very good. At others, they were cringe worthy. The length is also a little much as it felt like a lot of scenes dragged on for far too long and would have been more effective and entertaining had they been shorter. The major negative, however, is the plot. If this film was not so darn fun, I would rate it much lower for this damn thing. The plot seemed to be all over the place and while not hard to follow in the least, it made no sense. They seemed to just be going all over the "New World" aimlessly for much of the film, beating around what the real plot is and instead focusing on all these side plots within the main plot. It made the film less enjoyable and somewhat convoluted. If they spent less time on meaningless nonsense, the film would have been a lot sharper and less long. As it stands, the film is entertaining enough for what it is and provides the thrills you come to expect from this franchise, but certainly could have been a lot better. Expand
  63. Jan 23, 2013
    5
    Not as good as the others, but better than the third.
  64. Oct 8, 2013
    6
    A bit of a let down when compared with the first movie. Visuals are far superior and it's clear they put allot more time and effort into it, but, Dead man's Chest is trying too hard to be another Empire Strikes Back, following a very similar formula. There is plenty of build up, story arc takes a dark turn, and stakes are higher. Yet, at the end it really feels lacking. The story tries toA bit of a let down when compared with the first movie. Visuals are far superior and it's clear they put allot more time and effort into it, but, Dead man's Chest is trying too hard to be another Empire Strikes Back, following a very similar formula. There is plenty of build up, story arc takes a dark turn, and stakes are higher. Yet, at the end it really feels lacking. The story tries to stop at an obvious cliffhanger, but it feels more like a dead end.

    Acting is more or less on par, with the last movie, and Bill Nighy is absolutely fantastic as Davy Jones. My hats go off to the concept artists, set designers and CG animation crew. They all did a fantastic job. The writers, should be sent to a corner to think about what they've done. Really weak writing.

    Overall:
    Dead Man's Chest is a fun movie to watch, and the effect are amazing. But at the end of the day the movie on the whole feels a little too long winded and drawn out, making it a tad boring at times.
    Expand
  65. Mar 31, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For me it's the worst POTC film. Great performance by Johnny Depp, cool action scenes, and dark. But i think it's too dark and the story may pretty hard to follow for your children. I also praise its strong visuals and assorted humors. Expand
  66. Jul 29, 2013
    5
    solo hundiendo barcos y la aparicion de un personaje interesante no basto para la secuela de Piratas del Caribe, sin embargo conserva su excelente tema musical, adrenalina y accion
  67. Nov 13, 2013
    5
    Dead Man's Chest is left rotting.
    Unlike its high paced prequel, Dead Man's Chest because monotonously boring and directionless with little action or thrills to save its fate.
  68. Aug 9, 2014
    5
    It's nice but nothing more. A sequel that adds hardly anything to its predecessor. Visually thrilling, incredible dark looks, but we do not want another "Curse of the Black Pearl".
  69. Jan 25, 2015
    6
    I can't say i like the "Dead Man's Chest" in first part we saw e good pirate movie now in this part we see a full fantasy with love triangle and ships .In some moments the movie tataly lose the story line and dashed in to unreal fights between everybody i mean it's too confusing .They all want something and they fight for it in the hole movie no plot no storyline just a GIANT adventureI can't say i like the "Dead Man's Chest" in first part we saw e good pirate movie now in this part we see a full fantasy with love triangle and ships .In some moments the movie tataly lose the story line and dashed in to unreal fights between everybody i mean it's too confusing .They all want something and they fight for it in the hole movie no plot no storyline just a GIANT adventure without point .It's still not so bad movie don't miss understand me we see more from Keira Knightley which very good because she is cool fresh and sexy and we see finally some kind of connection between her and Sparrow but that was just a fail attempt of the director to please the audience . The worst thing maybe is that we see more from Orlando Bloom that guys just don't fit but what ever it's not the worst movie it's not the best but ís still Pirate of Caribbean. Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. 75
    Lively is an odd word for something called Dead Man's Chest, but lively it is. You won't find hotter action, wilder thrills or loopier laughs this summer.
  2. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    60
    Too long, and too wrapped up in its various plot contrivances to notice it’s veering off course. But Jack just about pulls the wheel back, aided by Verbinski’s flair for cartoonish comedy action.
  3. Depp is the comic gel that holds the whole enterprise together. The performance is a total delight that somehow combines Bugs Bunny, Peter Pan and Charlie Chaplin.