User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 679 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Awesome second chapter to the series. I gotta say, ILM really tricked me with Davy Jones, because I had no idea his face was actually computer generated. Great work!
  2. May 26, 2011
    9
    If you're reading this then you're probably alive. If you're alive then you'd probably like this movie. I personally loved it. It is a sequel to a film that didn't need a sequel, yet adding this movie to the franchise just made it a whole lot better. You wouldn't really need to see the first film to understand this one, so don't worry if you haven't watched The Black Pearl just yet.If you're reading this then you're probably alive. If you're alive then you'd probably like this movie. I personally loved it. It is a sequel to a film that didn't need a sequel, yet adding this movie to the franchise just made it a whole lot better. You wouldn't really need to see the first film to understand this one, so don't worry if you haven't watched The Black Pearl just yet. Seriously, get the -blam- off this website and watch this movie. Expand
  3. Aug 28, 2014
    9
    Yo ho! Here we go again: a sequel to "The Curse of the Black Pearl", and a fine one of that.

    The movie is long, perhaps, but the way it is cut makes it feel rather short. There is a lot of action - but there is also more comedy. Yet the balance of the two isn't as fine as in the first movie, which is a shame. "Dead Man's Chest" is also confusing, especially the beginning scene that
    Yo ho! Here we go again: a sequel to "The Curse of the Black Pearl", and a fine one of that.

    The movie is long, perhaps, but the way it is cut makes it feel rather short. There is a lot of action - but there is also more comedy. Yet the balance of the two isn't as fine as in the first movie, which is a shame.

    "Dead Man's Chest" is also confusing, especially the beginning scene that starts with Elizabeth kneeling alone in the rain in her wedding reception, waiting for... something or someone. It is such a sudden scene and makes for a bumpy start, but they straighten it out pretty nicely after that. There is some jumpiness in the scenes after that, which really is a shame after the cheer brilliance and masterful pace of "The Curse of the Black Pearl".

    Most other dilemmas and "plot holes" are pretty much explained and patched up during the movie, leaving room for speculation until the events finally fold out.

    Captain Jack is indeed back - as promised - as the ever "charming" himself; but he has less screen-time than one might expect. In the true spotlight we have William Turner (Orlando Bloom), who makes an amazing performance. His character is finally given the well-earned depth. Riddled with angst, he really has some bearing behind his actions.

    Elizabeth Swann is also given plenty of room, but her character keeps bouncing between a fierce pirate-woman and a lady who is too good for pirate behavior. That splintered personality was a bit odd to follow, not to mention boring, and I think her role was a bit aimless, especially in the sword fight between Will, Jack and Norrington; she really failed to bring on the comedy.

    True to the original movie, were are still offered great humor to experience, swift turns in the plot, outrageously creative means of escape, intense action, amazing visual look - and an already familiar set of characters that we all love.
    Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2012
    9
    This film manages to fuse together both the hilarity and incompetency of Jack Sparrow with the seriousness and fright of Davy Jones. Although some will contest the ending it proves to show that the film isn't simply about the silly exploits of Jack but there is a more underlying story beneath it all. Brilliant acting from Johnny Deep who provides a laugh in every scene.
  5. Sep 10, 2012
    10
    It was fantastic in visual effects and fun through the island of the tribes and the three way swordplay for the chest. Its four star in my book, and it was just as good as the first one
  6. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    will what can i say it record for highest opening weekend of all time ($135,600,000) and grossed over $1 billion dollars worldwide
    is that worth just ( 6.8 )
  7. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Awesome!!! One of the greatest sequels ever!! The ending was very dramatic and suspenseful. Johnny Depp is always fun to watch!!! Do not miss it!!! Better than The Lord Of The Rings!!!
  8. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    While it is not nearly as good or original as the first film, it is still a great film! It has even more action than the first film and has amazing visual effects (the Kraken and Davy Jones are spectacular CGI creations), Johnny Depp does fantastic again, the music is great (but not as great as the first film) and the script is creative in some ways and has its moments of witty dialogue.While it is not nearly as good or original as the first film, it is still a great film! It has even more action than the first film and has amazing visual effects (the Kraken and Davy Jones are spectacular CGI creations), Johnny Depp does fantastic again, the music is great (but not as great as the first film) and the script is creative in some ways and has its moments of witty dialogue. This is a great action/adventure flick. Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. 75
    Lively is an odd word for something called Dead Man's Chest, but lively it is. You won't find hotter action, wilder thrills or loopier laughs this summer.
  2. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    60
    Too long, and too wrapped up in its various plot contrivances to notice it’s veering off course. But Jack just about pulls the wheel back, aided by Verbinski’s flair for cartoonish comedy action.
  3. Depp is the comic gel that holds the whole enterprise together. The performance is a total delight that somehow combines Bugs Bunny, Peter Pan and Charlie Chaplin.