User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 695 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 26, 2011
    9
    If you're reading this then you're probably alive. If you're alive then you'd probably like this movie. I personally loved it. It is a sequel to a film that didn't need a sequel, yet adding this movie to the franchise just made it a whole lot better. You wouldn't really need to see the first film to understand this one, so don't worry if you haven't watched The Black Pearl just yet.If you're reading this then you're probably alive. If you're alive then you'd probably like this movie. I personally loved it. It is a sequel to a film that didn't need a sequel, yet adding this movie to the franchise just made it a whole lot better. You wouldn't really need to see the first film to understand this one, so don't worry if you haven't watched The Black Pearl just yet. Seriously, get the -blam- off this website and watch this movie. Expand
  2. TheoL.
    Jul 9, 2006
    9
    Don't buy into all the negative and lukewarm reviews the "professional" critics are giving this film. Dead Man's Chest is an absolute blast!
  3. JackH.
    Jul 9, 2006
    9
    A terrific film simply in its change from the original. Rather than using the formula of many film series by making it just Curse of the Black Pearl with a different villain and more characters (which it seems at first), the film instead reinvents every element used in the original and simply adds to it. I have already seen it twice, and like the first, it can't be viewed just once. A terrific film simply in its change from the original. Rather than using the formula of many film series by making it just Curse of the Black Pearl with a different villain and more characters (which it seems at first), the film instead reinvents every element used in the original and simply adds to it. I have already seen it twice, and like the first, it can't be viewed just once. The main flaw in this film is the same as any second film in a planned trilogy: it cannot stand alone eg. Back to the Future Part II, The Empire Strikes Back. That said, it works brilliantly in the way it was intended: it gives us a more in depth look at the characters in play to prepare us for the final film. Expand
  4. BrianM.
    Aug 5, 2006
    9
    I am surprised to see this film getting quite a bit of negative feedback. I'm afraid this film got slammed merely because of the high standards set by the first film. People have a nasty tendancy to either expect too much from a sequel, or simply NOT want to like a sequel, and try hard to find flaws and dismiss the film. This would be a shame in the case of 'Pirates of the I am surprised to see this film getting quite a bit of negative feedback. I'm afraid this film got slammed merely because of the high standards set by the first film. People have a nasty tendancy to either expect too much from a sequel, or simply NOT want to like a sequel, and try hard to find flaws and dismiss the film. This would be a shame in the case of 'Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest'. The film is really well done, and is without a doubt one of the best movies so far this year. Some people complained about the 2 and a half hour length, but I thought the time simply flew by. It did not feel in the least bit slow or boring. I look at it as getting more of my money's worth! Moving on, the acting in this film was very well done! Even Orlando Bloom gave a passable performance. Depp did not disappoint with a great performance as Captain Jack Sparrow. For those complaining that the film went 'nowhere' they could not be more wrong. 'Dead Man's Chest' simply is the second act to the overall story, comparable to 'The Empire Strikes Back' in the Original Star Wars Trilogy. Overall, this was a great film, that should not be missed. It is one of the few family films I have thoroughly enjoyed, and did not leave me groaning. I eagerly await the next installment to this franchise. This has easily become one of my favorite Disney properties. Expand
  5. RandyM.
    Aug 6, 2006
    9
    Pirates is truly a wonderful movie. It is a huge step up from the original, and one of summer's most delightful films. I abosolutely loved the shocker at the end.
  6. NickM.
    Aug 3, 2006
    9
    Ummmm, im sorry but what is wrong with this movie, its is a funny, awsome action, you never know what will happen next, and it has a plot twist in the end that is worthy of shamalamalyn(exuse my spellings, its a hard name to spell) the only flaw is the fact it leaves you needing wanting to see more of the movie, hey, it convinced me to see the 3rd movie the day it comes out. and please, Ummmm, im sorry but what is wrong with this movie, its is a funny, awsome action, you never know what will happen next, and it has a plot twist in the end that is worthy of shamalamalyn(exuse my spellings, its a hard name to spell) the only flaw is the fact it leaves you needing wanting to see more of the movie, hey, it convinced me to see the 3rd movie the day it comes out. and please, the complaint about the length, look at the lord of the rings series, all very long, and classics. Expand
  7. Aaron
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    In a single word: Fantastic.
  8. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Awesome second chapter to the series. I gotta say, ILM really tricked me with Davy Jones, because I had no idea his face was actually computer generated. Great work!
  9. JoeK.
    Dec 20, 2006
    10
    I love this movie, a great sequel to a great trilogy.
  10. OrlaB.
    Jul 30, 2006
    10
    This Movie was a great movie to watch. Sometimes it made you jump with fright but others were alright! Sometimes I didn't quite make it out, but most of the time it was grand. I thought it would be an Overly Long movie, but actually it wasn't too bad. It was a great Movie to watch and I think most people would enjoy it. All the actors AND actresses were brilliant in it. This Movie was a great movie to watch. Sometimes it made you jump with fright but others were alright! Sometimes I didn't quite make it out, but most of the time it was grand. I thought it would be an Overly Long movie, but actually it wasn't too bad. It was a great Movie to watch and I think most people would enjoy it. All the actors AND actresses were brilliant in it. Especially Keira Knightly and Johnny Depp. Brilliant actors they are.If you haven't gone to see it go see it soon, and don't worry about it being s cary coz it ain't!!!! Enjoy!!! Orla. Expand
  11. moeder
    Aug 15, 2006
    10
    wow what a fantastic movie why are you so negative about this movie the story was what i didn't expected it is wonderfull the action the humor everything i love this movie eand the end marvelous.
  12. JakeB.
    Aug 9, 2006
    10
    'Dead Man's Chest' is one of the years best and most exhilarating film experiences. A masterpiece pure and simple. Th plot is in the most simplistic terms not the point. Like a Dashiell Hammett novel it's all about the aura and dialouge. Not to mention characters, trust me the film has MANY of those. But, I'll attempt a brief plot summary. Jack Sparrow owes a debt 'Dead Man's Chest' is one of the years best and most exhilarating film experiences. A masterpiece pure and simple. Th plot is in the most simplistic terms not the point. Like a Dashiell Hammett novel it's all about the aura and dialouge. Not to mention characters, trust me the film has MANY of those. But, I'll attempt a brief plot summary. Jack Sparrow owes a debt to the ultra- heavy of the sea, Davy Jones... the payment... his soul, well that or 100 other souls. To slight Davy Jones Jack gets assistance from Will Turner. Little does Jack know Will and his fiancé Elizabeth are being hunted for helping Sparrow, a known pirate escape a grizzly fate. The only way of achieving freedom is retrieving Jack's compass for the evil Lord Beckett. Will gets involved for more than he bargained for and has to battle against Jones at Sparrow's side. Acting wise 'Chest' has nearly no rough patches. Depp brings undeniable comedic energy to Sparrow and though un-recognizable physically, Nighy's Jones is a wonderful villain. Plus, Bloom has seemingly improved since the first outing. The effects are dazzling but that goes without saying. As to the detractors who complain the entire film is setup for number three, I tell you this: It's the best damn setup money can buy! Overall: A Rousing fun and more than a bottle a' rum Matey! P.S. Odds are Depp will not receive an Oscar for his work (sequels are rarely honored) but he sure as hell deserves one! It's the best male performance all year! Expand
  13. DeannaH
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    Really great movie!!!!!!! I love Johnny Depp!!
  14. KipM.
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    A great movie but some parts i didnt get until the 2nd time i saw it but theres still things i have no clue about what going to happen in the story. But i still give it a ten!:) i cant wait for the 3rd movie!
  15. MichaelC.
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    I Agree totally with Jack H. who states wisely that this movie cannot stand alone! it is the 2nd movie of a trilogy, and does just what it is supposed to do...keep you entertained and build up to the 3rd. Of course its not better than the 1st because the first is fresh and new. Though it is lacking plot, and gets a whole lot of nowhere for its 2 1/2 hours...Its FUN! no 2nd movie has ever I Agree totally with Jack H. who states wisely that this movie cannot stand alone! it is the 2nd movie of a trilogy, and does just what it is supposed to do...keep you entertained and build up to the 3rd. Of course its not better than the 1st because the first is fresh and new. Though it is lacking plot, and gets a whole lot of nowhere for its 2 1/2 hours...Its FUN! no 2nd movie has ever been the best of the trilogy...all it does is build up to the 3rd, and give a lot of action and laughs to get you there. A Great Film! Expand
  16. RickDangerous
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    10 out of 10. This movie beyond delivered. This is the best movie of the summer, if not year. Keira Knightley, Johnny, and Orlando all gave timeless performances in the tradition of Indiana Jones and LOTR. The critics really missed the point on this one. Don't listen to em', don't be a critic, and just watch and enjoy the best damn movie out!
  17. JonnyBoy
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Awesome movie. Not as good as the first.
  18. MichaelP.
    Jul 6, 2006
    10
    I LOVED THIS MOVIE! Better than the first in most way, I cannot wait for the final installment!
  19. Nick
    Jul 7, 2006
    10
    Just came back from seeing it, and I enjoyed this a lot more than the first one. :)
  20. BryceE.
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    Davy Jones is awesome! Jack Sparrow seemed more goofy than cool, and the movie takes its time to get going, but the scenes featuring Davy Jones are just rad. Best "summer" movie by far. people taking this movie too seriously just need to chill.
  21. MarkA.
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    This movie was so GOOD! Ive seen it twice and cant wait for a third! Like others have said, I dont know what movie the critics saw because it wasnt this one...it might be too long for some people but I didnt feel it, its the most fun you'll have at the theater this summer...and the last minute will blow you away!
  22. HayleyC.
    Jul 11, 2006
    9
    Phillip W.. if you didnt like it.. fine, say what it is you didnt like and leave it at that no need to diss the movie, or those that like(ed) it, it was very much a set up for the last in the trilogy and more script would have been nice. but it was FUN.. stop expecting this movie to have been all deep and meaningful...it was supposed to be exciting, fun, eye candy.. and it WAS. sheesh Phillip W.. if you didnt like it.. fine, say what it is you didnt like and leave it at that no need to diss the movie, or those that like(ed) it, it was very much a set up for the last in the trilogy and more script would have been nice. but it was FUN.. stop expecting this movie to have been all deep and meaningful...it was supposed to be exciting, fun, eye candy.. and it WAS. sheesh enjoy yourself for a change - cant wait for the 3rd. Expand
  23. Joan
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    How much more bang for your buck could you ask for? In 2+ hours you get some action, some comedy, lots of adventure, and 3 very beautiful people playing pirates. It's not Shakespeare, but it's not Battlefield Earth either.
  24. PurseyH.
    Jul 11, 2006
    9
    I thought it was very entertaining, as you can see by the customer reviews alot of people agree. The point is its a movie that is definitely worth seeing and who knows, if you can put all these bad reviews out of your head and get your own oppinion on it, mabey you'll really like it. I did.
  25. LorileeO.
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    I don't know why so many are harping on the 2 1/2 hour run time - this seems to be in line with other blockbusters (Superman Returns, King Kong, Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Titanic etc.) - I didn't notice all the complaining then! The movie provides exactly what viewers want from this sort of story - fascinating venues, high intensity special effects, loads of action, solid I don't know why so many are harping on the 2 1/2 hour run time - this seems to be in line with other blockbusters (Superman Returns, King Kong, Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Titanic etc.) - I didn't notice all the complaining then! The movie provides exactly what viewers want from this sort of story - fascinating venues, high intensity special effects, loads of action, solid humor, romance, and a touch of horror. What more could you want of a action/adveture pirate movie? Johnny Depp is spectacular, as are the witch lady, Kiera and Orlando. The wait to see #3 is going to kill me! No, it didn't have any serious, life changing subplots or morals, but it was not meant to. All the key players stayed true to their character. The effects were amazing. For me, the 2 1/2 hours whizzed by. Expand
  26. DanF.
    Jul 12, 2006
    9
    [***SPOILER***] I be a pirate, and I think this film be ye accurate representation of the day to day life of ye average deckhand. Therefore, a 9 I give this documentary about the life, and apparent greusome death, of my captain, jack sparrow.
  27. JeffW.
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    Whoaaa! Give me a break p-l-e-a-s-e-! Okay, it's not as good as the first (10) but they never are. It is a close second however and definitely does not deserve anything less than that. I watched it last night, came home and seen that this movie broke the record three-day take for any movie ever. The people have voiced their opinion. The critics and their ilk need to lighten up! :)
  28. Haden
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    I thought it hit the spot not like that boring Superman Returns with its wooden indian acting and no plot. Pirates is great all around fun and the action is non stop. Johnny Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow steals the screen each and every time he appears. The rest of the cast is essentially worthless. I wish it had gone on and on as the audience I watched it with loved it. Great popcorn fun. I thought it hit the spot not like that boring Superman Returns with its wooden indian acting and no plot. Pirates is great all around fun and the action is non stop. Johnny Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow steals the screen each and every time he appears. The rest of the cast is essentially worthless. I wish it had gone on and on as the audience I watched it with loved it. Great popcorn fun. Don't miss it. Expand
  29. GrifterW.
    Jul 18, 2006
    10
    Truly a high seas adventure with plenty of great twists and turns in the plot, great comedic devices and a great set of actors I truly enjoyed Dead Man's Chest and I am surprised that many critics did not. Johnny Depp has created his on persona as Jack Sparrow whose crude, slurred remarks and facial expressions alone try to stand to make him the center point of the movie which is how Truly a high seas adventure with plenty of great twists and turns in the plot, great comedic devices and a great set of actors I truly enjoyed Dead Man's Chest and I am surprised that many critics did not. Johnny Depp has created his on persona as Jack Sparrow whose crude, slurred remarks and facial expressions alone try to stand to make him the center point of the movie which is how this edition should be. But as comedic as he is, Orlando Bloom and Kiera Knightly actually compete in his misadventurous comedy in this one as opposed to the first one. Decorated with the numerous side actors of the film I enjoyed watching it, and during most of the scenes I was laughing so hard I was almost on the floor. The comedy may seem to be 'Over the top' to most, but in my opinion I think that's how they designed Jack Sparrow to be. The villians are excellently designed, especially Davey Jones whose octopus face is excellent and creepy at the same time. I saw from other reviews I wasn't the only one to note that his eyes stood out from the character in fact making a character of themselves! The plot seems to be a bit rushed when introducing Elizabeth and Will in the beginning, but if they spent twenty minutes explaining what was happening before the rain started to fall it would have probably tipped the tide of the movie opinions. Truly their sense of timing was excellent and by the ratings of 250M$ in a full week it must be saying they've done something right! Expand
  30. ClydeM>
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    It was awesome. Although it didnt have the spark the first one did it hall allot of other things to make up for it!
  31. KathyP.
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    Perfect summer escapism. Depp is right on target!
  32. MaryG.
    Jul 21, 2006
    9
    A fun and hilarious romp, perfect summer entertainment for the whole family. Can't wait for the grand finale next summer! Depp, Knightley, Nighy, Harris - all gave engaging performances. The only problems with it: not enough Capt. Jack and too much Will.
  33. CharlotteH.
    Jul 27, 2006
    9
    This movie delivers more great, tongue-in-cheek, swashbuckling action in the same vein as "Black Pearl", and has even more spectacular visuals! Sure, I felt a little cheated by the cliff-hanger ending, but I'm not so indignant that I won't shell out my money to see "Pirates III" next year.
  34. Shawn
    Jul 28, 2006
    9
    C'mon people - it's a summer movie and you were forewarned (from how the last movie played) that this movie is heavy on the visuals, effects, etc. and not as big on plot. Keep in mind to that this really more Part 2a, with Part 2b coming out next summer, than it is a stand alone sequel. [***SPOILERS***] OK - onto the review: this movie gives you everything you expected from a C'mon people - it's a summer movie and you were forewarned (from how the last movie played) that this movie is heavy on the visuals, effects, etc. and not as big on plot. Keep in mind to that this really more Part 2a, with Part 2b coming out next summer, than it is a stand alone sequel. [***SPOILERS***] OK - onto the review: this movie gives you everything you expected from a "Pirates of the Carribean" sequel: fierce battles, intrigue, plot twists, unrequited love, great sailing scenes...I could go on. Johnny Depp returns as our favorite pirate captain and he does not disappoint. He maintains his character's odd habits and mysterious ways and you are always trying to guess which side he is really on. The biggest character development is Keira Knightley's Elizabeth Swan. In the first "Pirates", she hints at the tough as nails "take-no-prisoners" woman her character wants to be - in the second movie, we see it come to the forefront. The only character who really remains the same is Will Turner, who is once again ably played by Orlando Bloom. Admittedly, Bloom's character experiences one of the major plot twists, but he continues to play Turner as a highly resourceful man of principle who will not allow convention to get in the way of doing what he believes is right. All in all, I found Dead Man's Chest to be a highly satisfying follow up to the first "Pirates" and I am eagerly anticipating next summer's finale. Expand
  35. TannerR.
    Jul 6, 2006
    10
    Bloody brilliant. I am going to see it for a third time tonight!
  36. LukeM.
    Jul 7, 2006
    10
    Reading the reviews of POTC:DMC left me weary as I left for the theater. Aside from Apocalypto and The Fountain, this was the first film of the year I had been looking forward too. I am happy to say it does not disappoint. POTC:DMC is full of the humor that made the first film so appealing, doubles the action, and delivers better performances all around. One of the main complaints is Reading the reviews of POTC:DMC left me weary as I left for the theater. Aside from Apocalypto and The Fountain, this was the first film of the year I had been looking forward too. I am happy to say it does not disappoint. POTC:DMC is full of the humor that made the first film so appealing, doubles the action, and delivers better performances all around. One of the main complaints is concerned with the films running time. Yes, Pirates runs two and a half hours, but after watching it, I was hungry for more. This is one of those films that should not be judged on it's intellect, but on it's ability to deliver entertainment. Expand
  37. Ashley
    Jul 7, 2006
    10
    If I could give this movie any rating (not just 1-10) it would still be off the charts. I went to the midnight premiere and it was a blast. You don't get that kind of energy in a room unless it's at a midnight show. It was a crazy theater full of people who are just in love with Pirates: amazing. People wildly cheered the new grand entrance of Captain Jack Sparrow, weren't If I could give this movie any rating (not just 1-10) it would still be off the charts. I went to the midnight premiere and it was a blast. You don't get that kind of energy in a room unless it's at a midnight show. It was a crazy theater full of people who are just in love with Pirates: amazing. People wildly cheered the new grand entrance of Captain Jack Sparrow, weren't afraid to let loose laughing, and just totally enjoyed the ride from stop to finish. I'll admit the beginning was a bit disorientating, and I found myself longing for a clear day on the horizon instead of being below decks for the entire film. It was only in the first 20 minutes when I actually doubted the plotline of the film. Imagine that: doubting two of the greatest writers in Hollywood, not to mention some of the best actors. Now there's a laugh. But as soon as Depp appeared, everyone was in high spirits. The stunts and swordfights were all amazing, as they should be. This sequel includes a host of new characters, most notably a wacky fortune-teller, a colonial lord intent on "justice", and old Bootstrap Turner. We find one character from the previous film in Tortuga, definitely worse for wear, and his character's personality has undergone a complete development stage. It makes for one very interesting clash onscreen, let me tell you. And the Kraken.... oh man, if there's ever been a granddaddy of sea monsters, this is it. That monstrosity rips ships apart in nigh ten seconds. We can truly see why they say Davy Jones rules the seas with a beast like that at his command. Jack Sparrow actually stays a good man to the end (with some assistance from Elizabeth of course), and the twist at the end is enough to rock you until Memorial Day weekend 2007. With all these twists and turns, that means you have to keep up with the story as you're going through all of the different plots. It's one helluva ride though, and better than the first. Cheers. And remember: Hide the rum!! Expand
  38. BlackA.
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    I saw POTC:DMC this evening and I loved the film. I left the theatre wanting more and ready for the next installment. . .immediately. It's funny, I didn't go into the theatre with high expectations, somewhat mindful of the the lackluster movie reviews in the press. Having said that, I have no idea what crawled up the collective a**es of the majority of the movie critics and got I saw POTC:DMC this evening and I loved the film. I left the theatre wanting more and ready for the next installment. . .immediately. It's funny, I didn't go into the theatre with high expectations, somewhat mindful of the the lackluster movie reviews in the press. Having said that, I have no idea what crawled up the collective a**es of the majority of the movie critics and got caught in their sphincters. I guess some of them have no sense of fun or something. Expand
  39. DavidG.
    Jul 8, 2006
    9
    In my opinion the first quarter of the movie lacked the PoTC finesse which the first movie showed so brilliantly, but it was still interesting albeit it was a little confusing here and there. The rest of the movie was sheer brilliance as it was polished all around. It had action perhpas better than any movies so far this year, an excellent atmosphere, some nicely thrown in humor, and an In my opinion the first quarter of the movie lacked the PoTC finesse which the first movie showed so brilliantly, but it was still interesting albeit it was a little confusing here and there. The rest of the movie was sheer brilliance as it was polished all around. It had action perhpas better than any movies so far this year, an excellent atmosphere, some nicely thrown in humor, and an overall pleasing storyline. So if you were a fan of PoTC 1, do yourself a favour, and go see this movie. PS: Hahah hey Carson, camping was awesome! Expand
  40. J.Lohmann
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    Great Movir. Depp is fantastic and funny. Finally, a great summer movie!!!!
  41. BrettC.
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    I don't get all the critics on this one... since when is it not enough to be a fun summer movie.
  42. KyleH.
    Jul 9, 2006
    9
    Just watched the first movie last week and saw Dead Man's Chest tonight and I loved it. It's going down as one of my favorites!
  43. BritneyB.
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    IMO, this movie actually deserves a 9, but I think a lot of people were too hard on it. I found Dead Man's Chest to be everything I hoped it would be. There are plenty of laughs, and amazing quotes. Like Pirates 1, having Johnny Depp could most likely make or break the movie (at least at the box office). However, I found Orlando's acting to be a big improvement over his decent, IMO, this movie actually deserves a 9, but I think a lot of people were too hard on it. I found Dead Man's Chest to be everything I hoped it would be. There are plenty of laughs, and amazing quotes. Like Pirates 1, having Johnny Depp could most likely make or break the movie (at least at the box office). However, I found Orlando's acting to be a big improvement over his decent, but not outstanding, performance in the first film, especially in the scenes with 'Bootstrap' Bill. The plot and character development was impressive, and the feeling of randomness that you get from skipping around from character to character adds to the film, as long as you're paying attention and can keep up. I have seen the movie twice already (once at midnight on the 7th) and can't wait to see it a few more times in theatres! Expand
  44. JamesG.
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    It does what it is supposed to do and is honorable in its pursuit.
  45. NavneetS.
    Jul 9, 2006
    9
    An absolutely underrated movie! I loved it!
  46. David
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    Pure Popcorn. Loved it. Just go and enjoy. Johnny Depp is magic as Captain Jack Sparrow.
  47. DiamondSea
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    this movie was great, it had action, adventure, romance and comedy, it has been on in my town since June when it was released, and I don't live in a small town.
  48. kevint.
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    I though it was full of thrill.
  49. SuzanneC.
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    i can't believe people are saying that this film wasn't as good as the first one. it had more action, more comedy, more twists, more exciting characters and an amazing cliff hanger. the first one was fantastic but this one topped it in my book. i saw it the day after it was released and it got amazing cheers when it started and had more when it finished. it was amazing and i can't believe people are saying that this film wasn't as good as the first one. it had more action, more comedy, more twists, more exciting characters and an amazing cliff hanger. the first one was fantastic but this one topped it in my book. i saw it the day after it was released and it got amazing cheers when it started and had more when it finished. it was amazing and should be a definite oscar winner for johnny!!! Expand
  50. Michael
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    I have absolutely no idea where all these naysayers are coming from. Every single person I know who has seen the film, agrees that this movie truly establishes the series as the best original film franchise since Back to the Future and Indiana Jones. This trilogy will go down in history books, and will be deemed as timeless classics. And Davy Jones is beautiful. He is truly stunning, and I have absolutely no idea where all these naysayers are coming from. Every single person I know who has seen the film, agrees that this movie truly establishes the series as the best original film franchise since Back to the Future and Indiana Jones. This trilogy will go down in history books, and will be deemed as timeless classics. And Davy Jones is beautiful. He is truly stunning, and is easily the most iconic movie villain since Darth Vader, and the old time classic Disney villains like Maleficent and the Queen from Snow White. The running time absolutely flies by, and there is alot more storyline and inventive action sequences than the first film, which was a rather swift plot dragged into a 2-hour swordfight. It's eye-candy, it's sensationalism, and it perfectly picks you up where it left off and drops you off gasping for breath. Do not listen to these bizzarre people that did not like; there is not a single thing more you could ask for from a popcorn movie; and it's so refreshing to see such a wonderful film that is NOT adapted from silly fantasy novels or overrated comic books! Because when you get right down to it, all the films borrow from the ride is the name itself; plotwise, the films borrow more from the Monkey Island computer games. See it now! Expand
  51. JustinD.
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    I loved it! Sure, the opening was slow, but the second half more than makes up for it. And as for being "too scary" for little kids, I took my 3 and 5 year old brothers and the only thing that scared them was the "Lady In The Water" trailer. The movie itself was riveting! Best movie I've seen in a while! Can't wait for POTC: At World's End...
  52. Katssunflower
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    Its quite simple to enjoy this movie: have a sense of humor, accept the interwoven legend with history, and step into Pirate's world. Stick to the code. Otherwise you will be another frustrated soul whining about length, confusion, and boredom....gross.
  53. BobR.
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    Lots of fun.....but the next movie will make or break this one.
  54. GerronK.
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    This is a fantastic thrill ride from beginning to end! From the stunning special effects, to the always dependable Johnny Depp's performance, this movie defines the genre of summer blockbuster. I will admit that the movie seems to be veering off course several times, but that didn't deter me from having the best time at a theater since last year's "Batman Begins".
  55. Sinn7
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    This is the best movie I have seen in 3 years (when the 1st one came out). It was so funny that at one stage I found myself clapping as I laughed! It was also more exciting than the 1st movie as I was literally on the edge of my seat for the last fifteen minutes.
  56. MikeJ.
    Jul 19, 2006
    10
    Fantastic Ride! I enjoyed every minute of this film. I can't wait for the next film to find out what happens next.
  57. DonnaD.
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    This movie has everything in it, campy humor, witty humor, action, drama, romance, great special effects and of course, Capt. Jack. I've seen it once and plan to see it again, just too much fun!
  58. JoanieS.
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    Its a perfect sequel. Johnny is still right on! I've already seen it 7 times, plan on seeing it more.
  59. John
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    I loved the film. I think it was too complicated for many American minds.
  60. RichK.
    Jul 7, 2006
    9
    The running time is long and there are a few slow points. That being said I found this sequel to be just as enjoyable as the first. I don't understand why so many critics are panning this film. It is not meant to be anything but a summer popcorn flick. I found the look of this movie to be unique and the special effects are phenominal, plus all that was enjoyable about the first movie The running time is long and there are a few slow points. That being said I found this sequel to be just as enjoyable as the first. I don't understand why so many critics are panning this film. It is not meant to be anything but a summer popcorn flick. I found the look of this movie to be unique and the special effects are phenominal, plus all that was enjoyable about the first movie is still here. There is a great deal of laughs and action. If you are looking for escapism in its purest form then I highly recommend this film. Expand
  61. SusanS.
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    I saw the movie last night and was delighted as was the rest of the audience. I had a hard time believing I was watching the same movie the critics have panned. It was great! I'll probably go see it again at least 5 times. The critic from EW in particular needs to have her glasses examined-her review was nasty and way way out of line.
  62. CarsonS.
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    I was camping when the movie came out and i drove 1 and a half hours both ways to go see this and i wasn't disappointed. The action scenes are absolutely spectacular and the story line is quite good. The special effects are superb with davy jones and his crew and of course you can never got enough of Jack Sparrows delightful quirkiness.
  63. JimA.
    Jul 8, 2006
    9
    I have no idea what movie the critics saw but it wasn't this one. It was different than the first yeah, but that's to be expected from a sequel because more of the same is boring. This one was darker, creepier, and had more plot than the first one and it works gorgeously. To those that believe that CG ruined the movie- would you rather they used puppets and end up making it look I have no idea what movie the critics saw but it wasn't this one. It was different than the first yeah, but that's to be expected from a sequel because more of the same is boring. This one was darker, creepier, and had more plot than the first one and it works gorgeously. To those that believe that CG ruined the movie- would you rather they used puppets and end up making it look like a bad 1970s movie? Didn't think so. The length is fine- bigger tales mean longer screen times, and I was never bored once. All the actors are just as good (even better probably) than they were in the first movie and the dialogue is really good, something that is definitely lacking in movies these days. There was nothing bad about this film at all, don't listen to the haters, go give Gore Verbinski more money. Expand
  64. Jeremy
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    Absolutely loved it.
  65. StephS.
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    I thought that Johnny Depp was the absolutley FANTASTIC. He made the movie. Loved it. :)
  66. MarkC.
    Aug 23, 2006
    9
    I liked this moive a lot it had action and class but it wasnt as good as i wanted it to be it wasnt as good as the first moive but it still was entertaning. But to long.
  67. DerekR.
    Aug 28, 2006
    9
    everything was great and funny, except 4 the ending-it didnt make sense
  68. Henry
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    GREAT MOVIE, funny as hell really enjoyed it!
  69. JDC.
    Jun 17, 2007
    10
    I think (Pirates of the Caribbean Dead Mans Chest) was great. it had a lot of action, Jonny Depp a.k.a Jack Sparrow was an incredible actor. Also it was very funny. I liked the story where it talked about Davy Jones. I liked the romance between Will Turner and Elizabeth Swann. I also loved when Will reunited with his farther Bootstrap Bill Turner. It was funny when Elizabeth hit former I think (Pirates of the Caribbean Dead Mans Chest) was great. it had a lot of action, Jonny Depp a.k.a Jack Sparrow was an incredible actor. Also it was very funny. I liked the story where it talked about Davy Jones. I liked the romance between Will Turner and Elizabeth Swann. I also loved when Will reunited with his farther Bootstrap Bill Turner. It was funny when Elizabeth hit former Commodore Norrington in the head with a rum bottle. It was cool when Jack was chief of the warriors, also when the crew was swinging back and forth in the cages. I like the story that Tia Dalma told of Davy Jones. I thought the fight between the crew of the Black Perl and The Kraken was the best and coolest. I definitely liked how it connected the first movie with the third movie. I liked when Norrrington, Will, Jack fought over the key of Dead Mans Chest. Expand
  70. KristinaD
    Nov 24, 2006
    9
    Not as good as the first one, but still a very good movie. Johnny Depp is incredible as Captain Jack Sparrow.
  71. ElizabethC.
    Dec 20, 2006
    9
    Although I did like the first one better, i loved this movie also.... Johnny Depp is perfect as Jack Sparrow. He is by far my favorite actor!!!
  72. TraiDep
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    A *very* fast paced roller coaster ride. packs more popcorn fun in one movie that some trilogies lack (some reviewers said, 'difficult to follow plot' or 'too dense'. I personally think they're too old. :)
  73. RobertM.
    Jul 12, 2006
    9
    Dead Man's Chest is a thrill-seeking adventure that turns toward a dark heading as the story becomes appropriately more grim. The effects make the action sequences breathtaking while the performances are as suprising as it's ending.
  74. DarrenF.
    Jul 15, 2006
    9
    Hey everybody, how about this movie WAS good. You all just expect it to be like The Curse of the Black Pearl. I don't want to sit through the same crap (albeit, excellent crap) AGAIN. I want something different. There's nothing wrong with a dark atmosphere, which was not even that dark. There were still plenty of funny, funny scenes. The problem most of you seem to have is the Hey everybody, how about this movie WAS good. You all just expect it to be like The Curse of the Black Pearl. I don't want to sit through the same crap (albeit, excellent crap) AGAIN. I want something different. There's nothing wrong with a dark atmosphere, which was not even that dark. There were still plenty of funny, funny scenes. The problem most of you seem to have is the plot. It was fine; if you don't overanalyze like so many people (critics included) seem to do, then it makes sense. And the cliffhanger ending? COME ON, PEOPLE. So many trilogies have ended part 2 like that. LOTR of recent years. STAR WARS: EMPIRE!? COME ON! To be quite honest, I thought it was an excellent movie. People expect so much out of everything now. You all expected these outlandish ideas of what it should be, and are just upset that things could not turn out the way you dreamed. It was a very good, well-made movie. I will agree the first one was better. However, Dead Man's Chest is an excellent movie, as well. First week numbers don't lie, people. Everyone in the theater when I watched loved it. Expand
  75. CateW.
    Jul 17, 2006
    9
    Definitely an e-ticket ride, though darker than the first episode. Arrr!
  76. MohammedR.
    Jul 17, 2006
    9
    This movie kicks butt. The critics as usual do not know what they are talking about. Go and see it. Can not wait for part three.
  77. Mary
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    Fantastic movie. Depp is a brilliant. It wasn't long enough!
  78. JaredB.
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    "Pirates of the Carribean: Dead Man's Chest" is a brilliant film, cleverly mixing action with off-the-wall humor. Johnny Depp, once again in the role of Jack Sparrow, is hilarious. The action scenes kept me absolutely riveted to the screen. A great film, certain to go down as a true Hollywood classic.
  79. JordanF.
    Dec 23, 2006
    9
    I found this movie to be better than the 1st. Had a good story and it drew me in so that when it ended i was instantly craving the next movie. Only negative bit though is that it was a bit long.
  80. Aug 28, 2014
    9
    Yo ho! Here we go again: a sequel to "The Curse of the Black Pearl", and a fine one of that.

    The movie is long, perhaps, but the way it is cut makes it feel rather short. There is a lot of action - but there is also more comedy. Yet the balance of the two isn't as fine as in the first movie, which is a shame. "Dead Man's Chest" is also confusing, especially the beginning scene that
    Yo ho! Here we go again: a sequel to "The Curse of the Black Pearl", and a fine one of that.

    The movie is long, perhaps, but the way it is cut makes it feel rather short. There is a lot of action - but there is also more comedy. Yet the balance of the two isn't as fine as in the first movie, which is a shame.

    "Dead Man's Chest" is also confusing, especially the beginning scene that starts with Elizabeth kneeling alone in the rain in her wedding reception, waiting for... something or someone. It is such a sudden scene and makes for a bumpy start, but they straighten it out pretty nicely after that. There is some jumpiness in the scenes after that, which really is a shame after the cheer brilliance and masterful pace of "The Curse of the Black Pearl".

    Most other dilemmas and "plot holes" are pretty much explained and patched up during the movie, leaving room for speculation until the events finally fold out.

    Captain Jack is indeed back - as promised - as the ever "charming" himself; but he has less screen-time than one might expect. In the true spotlight we have William Turner (Orlando Bloom), who makes an amazing performance. His character is finally given the well-earned depth. Riddled with angst, he really has some bearing behind his actions.

    Elizabeth Swann is also given plenty of room, but her character keeps bouncing between a fierce pirate-woman and a lady who is too good for pirate behavior. That splintered personality was a bit odd to follow, not to mention boring, and I think her role was a bit aimless, especially in the sword fight between Will, Jack and Norrington; she really failed to bring on the comedy.

    True to the original movie, were are still offered great humor to experience, swift turns in the plot, outrageously creative means of escape, intense action, amazing visual look - and an already familiar set of characters that we all love.
    Expand
  81. Apr 8, 2012
    9
    This film manages to fuse together both the hilarity and incompetency of Jack Sparrow with the seriousness and fright of Davy Jones. Although some will contest the ending it proves to show that the film isn't simply about the silly exploits of Jack but there is a more underlying story beneath it all. Brilliant acting from Johnny Deep who provides a laugh in every scene.
  82. Sep 10, 2012
    10
    It was fantastic in visual effects and fun through the island of the tribes and the three way swordplay for the chest. Its four star in my book, and it was just as good as the first one
  83. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    will what can i say it record for highest opening weekend of all time ($135,600,000) and grossed over $1 billion dollars worldwide
    is that worth just ( 6.8 )
  84. Apr 29, 2015
    10
    O Único ponto fraco é a falta do capitão Hector Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush),Fora isso é uma das melhores sequências da história do cinema,muito subestimada pelos críticos e pelos próprios fãs e audiência,mesmo sem Geoffrey Rush,Johnny Depp segura as pontas dando um show e entreter com seu genial personagem Jack Sparrow,possui ótimas frases,piadas e essa segunda parte da franquia fez 10 a 0 noO Único ponto fraco é a falta do capitão Hector Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush),Fora isso é uma das melhores sequências da história do cinema,muito subestimada pelos críticos e pelos próprios fãs e audiência,mesmo sem Geoffrey Rush,Johnny Depp segura as pontas dando um show e entreter com seu genial personagem Jack Sparrow,possui ótimas frases,piadas e essa segunda parte da franquia fez 10 a 0 no primeiro no quesito efeitos especiais com cenas incríveis de ação que começa com a parte da tribo ao mesmo instante em que Jack salta amarrado a um tronco de pontes e montanhas Will e a tripulação tenta escapa da gaiola de cordas brilhante sequência de cena,depois Kraken detona o navio em que Will se encontra,depois a genial cena da praia da roda em movimento durante a batalha de Jack,Will e Norrington,E a destruição final do Kraken,Não é a toa que ganhou o Oscar de Melhor Efeitos Visuais em 2006. Excelente aventura!!! excelente filme!!! Expand
  85. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Awesome!!! One of the greatest sequels ever!! The ending was very dramatic and suspenseful. Johnny Depp is always fun to watch!!! Do not miss it!!! Better than The Lord Of The Rings!!!
  86. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    While it is not nearly as good or original as the first film, it is still a great film! It has even more action than the first film and has amazing visual effects (the Kraken and Davy Jones are spectacular CGI creations), Johnny Depp does fantastic again, the music is great (but not as great as the first film) and the script is creative in some ways and has its moments of witty dialogue.While it is not nearly as good or original as the first film, it is still a great film! It has even more action than the first film and has amazing visual effects (the Kraken and Davy Jones are spectacular CGI creations), Johnny Depp does fantastic again, the music is great (but not as great as the first film) and the script is creative in some ways and has its moments of witty dialogue. This is a great action/adventure flick. Expand
  87. Feb 27, 2015
    9
    Es curioso, disfrute mas la segunda parte que la primera; aunque cuenta con varias tramas, varios personajes, esta segunda parte es un espectáculo visual, mas divertida, mas oscura que la anterior. Una buena secuela
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. 75
    Lively is an odd word for something called Dead Man's Chest, but lively it is. You won't find hotter action, wilder thrills or loopier laughs this summer.
  2. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    60
    Too long, and too wrapped up in its various plot contrivances to notice it’s veering off course. But Jack just about pulls the wheel back, aided by Verbinski’s flair for cartoonish comedy action.
  3. Depp is the comic gel that holds the whole enterprise together. The performance is a total delight that somehow combines Bugs Bunny, Peter Pan and Charlie Chaplin.