Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 39
  2. Negative: 7 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    May 20, 2011
    38
    On Stranger Tides has the fishy smell of something washed ashore and sold as new. But this shipwreck isn't worth a wooden doubloon.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    May 19, 2011
    38
    The wastrel Sparrow ends up both overexploited and underpowered in this fourth outing.
  3. 30
    I've never seen a film in which what was actually onscreen seemed so irrelevant.
  4. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    May 19, 2011
    30
    For a series so steeped in supernatural mumbo-jumbo, Pirates of the Caribbean displays remarkably little sense of wonder.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    May 19, 2011
    30
    The IMAX print I saw was so murky as to make you give thanks for the few scenes shot in simple sunlight, the 3-D wasn't worth the bother, and never before have I wanted to chloroform an entire orchestra.
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    May 19, 2011
    25
    This isn't absurdity. This is nonsense - and it's as boring as nonsense.
  7. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    May 19, 2011
    25
    Even the most forgiving moviegoer will recognize this movie as the blatant cash-grab that it is.
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 531 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 177
  1. May 20, 2011
    10
    When I first saw PotC 1, I was overwhelmed by the magic of the story and the characters. Then came the 2nd and the 3rd movie and I was a bitWhen I first saw PotC 1, I was overwhelmed by the magic of the story and the characters. Then came the 2nd and the 3rd movie and I was a bit disappointed with those two. It all suddenly seemed to be all about Elizabeth and Wills love story and the other characters were pushed into the background. So when I heard that there was going to be a 4th PotC movie with my two favorite captains - Barbossa and Sparrow - and almost a whole new cast, I was once again excited, and the movie did not disappointed me. It was fun, witty, had lots of action and adventure. And after seeing it, I had that same magical feeling that I experienced after seeing PotC 1. I simply love this movie and I hope there will be a 5th and a 6th one! Full Review »
  2. May 26, 2011
    9
    I thought this to be a great addition the to the Pirates franchise. Johnny Depp did what he does best and delivered a good performance. YouI thought this to be a great addition the to the Pirates franchise. Johnny Depp did what he does best and delivered a good performance. You can tell he loves to play this character. I was worried at first going into it because of no bloom ore knightley. But you don't even miss them. Depp proves that he was indeed the star of the movies! Full Review »
  3. May 24, 2011
    5
    MUCH better than I thought it would be. I really enjoyed the first movie, but the second one was interminably boring. Penelope Cruz isMUCH better than I thought it would be. I really enjoyed the first movie, but the second one was interminably boring. Penelope Cruz is terrific, and the young couple (the mermaid and the sailor) brings a nice touch to the otherwise flippant proceedings. Doesn't hold a candle to the other big summer blockbusters (Fast 5, etc.) Full Review »