User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 497 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 497

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 22, 2011
    9
    I was not expecting this installment to be nearly as good as it was. The fact that it didn't have the Elizabeth/Will storyline made it instantly better than the last 2. I enjoyed the ride all the way through. The story was fun, the acting was great, and the entire experience left me saying, yea, I would go see a pirates 5! The critics are just too harsh.
  2. May 22, 2011
    8
    Good solid sequel that will not win any oscars, but is a good deal of fun. Better than the other sequels and Johnny Depp on phenomenal form it is a good way to spend 2hrs and 17 mins. Also stick for the end of the credits.
  3. May 22, 2011
    10
    Just as good and entertaining as the previous installments.. not as much action which you'd think would be disappointing but it wasn't. Johnny Depp delivers again and the cast was in top form. Ian Mcshane and Penelopy Cruz were both amazing.
  4. May 29, 2011
    10
    I love this movie... is so amazing... I really really love this movie!! I love this movie... is so amazing... I really really love this movie!! I love this movie... is so amazing... I really really love this movie!!
  5. May 25, 2011
    8
    Though hardcore fans may find it a teensy-weensy but disappointing, it still is as magical as always. After Will and Elizabeth's disappearance, this movie brings more focus onto Jack and Barbossa. It begins with the British mistaking a bewildered Gibbs as Jack, and bringing him on trial in front of Jack himself. Fights follow, involving chandeliers, cream cakes and a flaming coal cart. Enter Angelica (Penelope) and the story starts. For those who think they'll miss Will and Elizabeth's romance, the relationship between Philip, a clergyman, and Serena, a mermaid, can serve as a useful distraction.
    The fights may seem a bit predictable at times. Some moments may make you go 'O-hkay. How did THAT happen?'. The background music may seem a bit loud at times, and tends to drown out the dialogues, especially if you're in the cinema halls.
    That aside, PoTC 4 is an enjoyable movie. 8/10.
    Expand
  6. May 26, 2011
    8
    I saw this movie because my girlfriend wanted to see it. I went for the popcorn to tell you the truth because i was totally confused by the convoluted story that she was explaining to me. I only saw the third movie so i thought i was gonna be lost seeing this one, but the thing i realized about the pirates movies is that it's more of a movie that you go see to have fun and escape the mundane world we live in. The movie's scenery is awesome has always and the story kept my attention. I left feeling i got my monies worth Expand
  7. May 26, 2011
    6
    Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides is indeed an okay film. It has an unbelievable amount of potential, yet there are elements that lead it to fall just short of greatness. The most irritating of these elements was the introduction of Philip the missionary. He is a weak and uninteresting character whose love story somehow manages to seem more unrealistic than any special effect or CGI character. One of my favourite additions to the Pirates saga however, were the mermaids. Their mythology was thoroughly interesting and their introductory scene was spine-tingling. I just wished they'd built the story of the lead mermaid Syrena up a little more instead of wasting time on the Spanish soldiers and their arbitrary appearance and disappearance towards the film's climax. Johnny Depp and Geoffry Rush give solid performances as Jack Sparrow and Hector Barbossa, and it is truly phenomenal to see them back in anew adventure. Penelope Cruz and Ian McShane are invaluable contributions to the Pirates saga as the vivacious Angelica and the menacing Blackbeard.
    Overall the film was an enjoyable experience and I left the theatre happy, however, when you look back on it it is easy to spot areas where it could have been improved.
    Expand
  8. Jun 1, 2011
    6
    I honestly went into the cinema not expecting much from this film but against all my expectations I came out quite pleased indeed. In my opinion it is the low point of the franchise but it still offers some good fight scenes and the famous Pirates of the Caribbean humor we have come to love. Personally the worst thing about the movie is Angelica who I could never fully 'connect' with as with the rest of the cast, but newcomers such as Blackbeard do not fail to please. Overall if you're a fan of the series it's worth watching for sure but it doesn't try anything special to appeal to a new audience. Expand
  9. May 31, 2011
    9
    I went into this movie unsure of my feelings towards it. I am a big fan of the first three with Bloom and Knightley. However, I always thought Elizabeth (Knightley's character) better suited Jack than she did Will. It seemed to me they jacked up on that part. I also didn't know about Cruz as a romantic replacement.

    Needless to say, however, I came out of the movie decided on a lot
    of things, all of them good. This is a very entertaining movie, and a worthy Pirates installment. The action and humor are top notch. Depp is in high form. You can tell he really loves playing Captain Jack. Some old faces mixed in with plenty of new ones kept the story fresh. Go see it. Pirates 4 is the perfect summer movie. Expand
  10. May 27, 2011
    8
    Pirates, Spanish and Privateersâ
  11. May 28, 2011
    6
    I enjoyed the movie, although I often had the feeling it was just 'the movie to much'. They tried to mix in the elements of the previous ones, but they failed somehow. Even though Johnny Depp is acting great (as always) he couldn't carry to movie alone, which he had to do IMO. One of the few great things about this movie was the 'chemistry' between Jack Sparrow and Barbosa, but that was about it for the good things. Expand
  12. May 28, 2011
    10
    Without Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley, the dynamics were way off. Johnny Depp went from being a flake to fulfilling the slightly more responsible role formerly occupied by Orlando Bloom's Will Turner. The interaction between Johnny Depp and Penelope Cruz was long, drawn out, and extraordinarily boring, as opposed to the constant sparks created between Knightley and Depp . Putting Barbosa in the role of legitimate seafarer really diminished his character. The hint of a former love connection between Cruz and Depp along with the ending comment "it's a pirates life for me" by Sparrow indicate a level of commitment not conducive to Sparrow's normal careless and lackadaisical thought processes. This lends support to a feeling of "phoniness" in Jack's Character. If I were Siskel or Ebert I'd give this film two thumbs down and say - "Skip it!" Expand
  13. May 28, 2011
    5
    I went to this picture really wanting to like it. Geoffrey Rush is my favorite actor, so I was really pushing for this to be successful, and some of it is. In the end, however, the picture, longing for its original brilliance, as a whole is just ok.
  14. May 29, 2011
    10
    I loved the first Pirates of the Caribbean. But unfortunately Dead Man's Chest and At World's End were horrible movies. Ok, Dead Man's Chest was a ok movie but At World's End was horrible. Therefore I had high expectations for this one. And I was surprised, On Stranger Tides is actually a great movie. And it's she second best Pirates-movie
  15. May 30, 2011
    10
    Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides is a stunning new movie. I didn't think POTC 4 was going to be as good as Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End, but my thoughts were wrong. POTC 4 is the best chapter in the Pirates Franchise. This new part is much different to any of the first three films, infact it feels like a new triliogy. Pirates of the Caribbean 4 brings amazing new special effects and new characters, and will leave you satisfied as you walk out of the cinemas. Johnny Depp brings amazing new escape tactics. Despite being the shortest film in the series running at-137 minutes.(POTC1=139 minutes, POTC2=145 minutes, POTC3= 162 minutes), POTC 4 fills in every thing needed to make a good movie. Ian McShane plays evil ruthless pirate captain of the Queen Anne's Revenge. Blackbeard almost meets the level of Davy Jones(played by Bill Nighy).

    Captain Jack Sparrow crosses paths with a woman from his past (Angelica) and is forced among the ship 'Queen Anne's Revenge'. Angelica's father Blackbeard is also in search of the Fountain of Youth.
    The spaniards, King George II's men and Blackbeard's crew race to the Fountain of youth.

    Watch POTC 4 soon...

    My Pirates Order:
    1.POTC4. I give it 10/10
    2.POTC3: 9.8/10
    3.POTC1: 9.2
    4.POTC2: 8.8/10
    Expand
  16. May 30, 2011
    6
    I love the pirates movies and had extremely high hopes for this one. I knew those high hopes would never be met but I still expected something better. The movie was not bad or boring but comparing it to the first two it did not hold up. It is certainly better than the third but not a must watch. It certainly a fun ride but not to the extent of the first two.
  17. Jun 1, 2011
    7
    People have talked down on this movie but I watched it and I couldn't see why. The action scenes were great. Depp and Cruz have great chemistry (the last scene in particular was pretty hilarious). Blackbeard was a great villain and his rivalry with Barbosa was well developed throughout the movie. The ending part with Jack at the fountain was a little predictable but it was the way you would've wanted the movie to end. Definitely not the best, but a good addition to the series!! Expand
  18. Jun 1, 2011
    5
    This new installment to Pirates was ok,its at the bottom of my list in the Pirates series. They all seem to be going downhill, the first was superb, the second was pretty good, the 3rd was decent and this new installent is ok. Captain Jack Sparrow is back at what he does best, except it gets old throughout this film, the first 3 were better in that their were others stories involved, not just Jack, I understand theirs the whole Blackbeard and his daughter sideplot but their was just way too much Sparrow. I actually fell asleep in this film about 4 times, and everytime i wokeup I'd look at my watch to see if it was almost over, it may have been the shortest in the series but it was also the longest because it just kinda dragged on, overall I give this a 5.5/10. Expand
  19. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was really excited to see this movie and watch Johnny Depp amaze me again with his acting and at first it was looking to be a pretty good movie until near the end of act 2 and the rest of act 3 it kinda went well overboard lets just say. At the beginning it look to be a funny classy pirate adventure as jack sparrow searches for the fountain of youth while collecting the ingredients for the thing to work properly along with his ex-girlfriend surprisingly and the nasty most awesome pirate of them all BLACKBEARD!! oh and mermaids come to the picture, nice. So its exciting at first that is until act 2 starts to drag going on what could have been a simple search and find quest and then near the end you be scratching your head in utter confusion asking "why they do that? It doesn't make sense." quite a lots especially when the Spanish army show up because in the end, well lets just say that's the biggest reason why you be asking WHY!? and that's what ultimately hurts this film to a point that it kinda sucks. my recommendation is that if you love Pirates Of The Caribbean it will be an okay popcorn flick if nothing interests you to go see but for the others who never seen the first 3 I best avoid it until DvD rental if you really want to watch it someday because this ones the weakest of the movies. Expand
  20. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    I was waiting for this movie before sex months since the 3rd part was a great part, I think every thing is good on 4th part except the English language. I think the way they said the words just changed. In the first three parts, I enjoyed to the words coming from the Heroes. The way just was looking as history. Simply, the 4th part is still exciting on its story, actions and adventure. I think 3rd part was the best. Expand
  21. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    Great movie! Far better than the last two, with Jack finally being elevated out of buffoonery and back into the eccentric-but-sharp character he was in the first movie. Writing was much better, plot much slicker. Depp obviously loves this character, and Rush and Cruz did an excellent job as well. Very entertaining!
  22. Jun 6, 2011
    9
    Good film. I very love play of Ian Mc Shane. Interesting story. Touchable moments. Great Barbossa. And I waiting for sequel. And of course buy this film.
  23. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    On Stranger Tides isn't the most ground-breaking film of the year, and despite the film's name, it sticks resolutely to familiar tides throughout the whole movie. However, it succeeds on the platforms that it contests: cinema visual glory, pulse-racing action, good looking people hacking through wilderness in search of fabled wonders Indiana-Jones style, and Johnny Depp's swashbuckling-with-a-side-of-guyliner performance as Captain Jack Sparrow. Enjoy it for what it is, and don't spend too much time thinking about the cannonball-sized holes in the plot. Expand
  24. Jun 14, 2011
    7
    I went to the cinema in the hope of new, grate Pirates of the Caribbean. And I get movie, which was interesting in second part (I mean 70-140 min). Relief are Jack Sparrow's jokes, which were great, like in 1-3 parts.
  25. Jun 16, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't the best in the series. Being the fourth, I wasn't expecting much, but it wasn't as good as I thought it would be. There are some plot holes, an unnessicary romance between a priest and a mermaid, and Blackbeard, who was supposed to be the main villian, didn't really seem like a bad guy. At most, he burnt someone alive, but that was the worst he ever did. In short, you don't need to see this movie because the story isn't really branching off from the first three, but it still has its enjoyable moments. Expand
  26. Jun 18, 2011
    6
    The 4th in the series didn't strike it with me for a few reasons. For example the story was not linked and seemed jumbled up at times which didn't make sense. There are some good points though as there is some rare but funny humour and the action scenes are that bad. However the biggest let down was the fact Jack's 2 sidekicks were missing and it just didn't seem the same without them. Overall maybes one to rent when it's available. Expand
  27. Jun 18, 2011
    5
    Disney stop the madness. This movies themes are all out of wack and the plot or lack of it was fairly flat. The acting of Penelope Cruz deserves her a raspberry however Mr Sparrows acting and witty lines does help keep the movie afloat
  28. Oct 30, 2011
    5
    If Pirates 4 had more laughs it could have past but the film lacked something surprising and original. Jack Sparrow is well acted but has not changed since the first movie, I like the guy but where is his growth, his character arc? The movie was an improvement from the 3rd movie but still lacked real charm or a story I cared about. There are a couple of scenes in Pirates 4 that had me interested for a time such as the mermaid attack but overall it seems too familiar and predictable. Expand
  29. Jun 28, 2011
    5
    On Stranger Tides feels so much smaller in scope to the original Pirates movies. This small scope and lack of old characters makes this adventure flick feel very... well, unnecessary to say the least. Johnny Depp does a good job in this one, and plays a still surprisingly entertaining Jack Sparrow but overall the film lacks a sort of anchor to hold it down and make it special, no pun intended. I'll give this movie the benefit of the doubt and say that it is much improved over At Worlds End and has a decently understandable plot. While the plot isn't terrible it's not very good either. so that leaves this movie being just middle-of-the-road mediocre. The characters in this film are really not that interesting and there are only a few stand out scenes. There are two characters in this film who seem to be fillers for Orlando Bloom, and Keira Knightley's characters, and let me tell you they really not done well. These two characters have their own side story and they really drag the film down during their screen time (which thankfully isn't that much). The good thing is there are still a lot of funny Jack Sparrow scenes that we have all come to love. On Stranger Tides is not a bad film and doesn't do anything outstanding either, it just feels really unnecessary. Expand
  30. Jul 23, 2011
    6
    Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides is a good film. It does have funny scenes and Cpt. Jack Sparrow is still crazier then ever. The problems with the film is it doesnt beat the first one that i saw and some things in the film didnt make sense. I would give this film a low matinee!
  31. Jul 16, 2011
    6
    This was probably my least-favorite movie in the series - partially because I missed Keira Knightley and Orlando Bloom - but I still enjoyed it. Johnny Depp is fabulous again, and it had several plot twists that kept it interesting ... although I think there were plot points that could have been handled a little better.
  32. Jul 16, 2011
    6
    This is a Pirates franchise movie. Nothing new, but that's not bad, it's just nothing new. I felt like we had seen it all before, just different pirates and different monsters or theme. You could watch this at home and have missed nothing from the big screen. It was good while I was there, but felt dirty afterwards :)
  33. Jul 20, 2011
    6
    It was better than my expectations, but it's very apparent that Disney were just trying to milk as much as possible out of this incredibly popular franchise, by sacrificing some of the quality. Still, there's never really a dull moment, with Johnny Depp pulling it all together brilliantly, and it's still a must-see film.
  34. CRL
    Aug 27, 2011
    7
    Johnny Depp, Penelope Cruz, and Geoffrey Rush combine to make a thoroughly entertaining, suitably cheesy, and sometimes completely hilarious addition to the Pirates franchise.
  35. Aug 18, 2011
    7
    I´m impressed, I though that for being the fourth movie it was predetermined to be bad (as much of the new sequels of today) but it is strangely good, the characters take time time to do their jobs, it have a good plot and the fun is mixed in the action as all pirates of the caribbean movies, in other movies you can find a lot missing pieces of information (I wonâ
  36. Apr 13, 2014
    1
    It rates among the worst films I have ever seen. All the galmour and glitter, all special effects and grand music cannot save this movie from over-acted nonsense and completely pointless story. The first film in the series was a solid 9, the second a shaky 7, the third closer to 3 than to 4. This one has hit rock bottom with a deserved ranking between 1 and 2. I am so glad I did not have to endure this movie in a cinema. Expand
  37. Dec 11, 2011
    6
    After two disappointing prequels, this one may not be as original as it should and Depp's performance is not captivating anymore but, "On Stranger Tides" surprisingly brings new life to the franchise.
  38. Aug 28, 2011
    6
    "Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides " undoubtedly an enjoyable film . But it failed to pass the last films . With a weak and less funny script then the last films this one actually is in number 4 ! Action sequence was great . new cast Pen Cruz was charming but Blackbeard (Ian) seems a bit low ! And really missed the regular cast of the fast three films most of all Knightly & Bloom . hope they will be back for the next film ,actually the have to other then that who knows what gonna happen to the 5th film .Barbossa (Rush) was the only one who seems more funner in this film . as for Depp theirs nothing to say because he is The Legendary Captain Jack Sparrow . Story : 1.1/2 [Weak and less funny script ] Direction : 1.2/2 [Verbinski was so much better ] Acting : 1.6/2 [Awesome Depp,charming Pen,funny Rush but weak McShane] Sound :1.7/2 [Amazing just like the previous films ] Edit & Effect : 1.5/2 [Seems a very very little eye glowing ] OVERALL : 7.1/10â Expand
  39. Aug 23, 2011
    7
    Qu'il est bon de revoir Johnny Depp/Jack Sparrow!!!! Mais ce n'est pas avec ce quatrième opus qu'on arrivera à revoir la flamboyance de La Malédiction du Black Pearl...Heureusement, on retrouve l'humour de la saga, de l'action, de bons personnages et acteurs (Penélope Cruz et Ian McShane) et un scénario bien plus travaillé que pour les deux films précédents, sans oublier les effets numériques et l'excellent travail de Hans Zimmer pour la bande originale (comme toujours!). Néanmoins gâché par un côté trop burlesque, un manque de séquences spectaculaires et un manque d'explications sur certains détails, La Fontaine de Jouvence arrive tout de même à redonner du charme à la saga! Expand
  40. Nov 2, 2011
    7
    I was slightly wary of this film after seeing the bad press and negativity surrounding it, but I have to say, it was pretty good. Definitely not as good as the first film, it is about on the same level as the second. The action sequences could have been handled better and some of the acting was quite stale. Blackbeard however was the biggest disappointment of the film; he wasn't Bristolian enough and didn't seem too evil.
    The film was not a disappointment but a surprise, I hope they make a sequel to improve on this one.
    Expand
  41. Jun 30, 2013
    6
    Much like the characters in the film going after the Fountain of Youth, the fourth instalment of the Pirates franchise is attempting to recapture its youth, and while cleaning up the cast by saying goodbye to the likes of Orlando Bloom, Kiera Knightley and most of the supporting cast, which were welcome changes, a confusing and loose script along with a story that simply doesn’t match up to the series previous heights and leaves a lot to be sought after when the credits roll.
    The performances are admittedly as strong as ever, but getting rid of many faces should not mean replacing them with a hoard of new ones, ones that are underused and irrelevant to the story. Johnny Depp makes a welcome yet restrained return as Captain Jack Sparrow, the timid nature that doesn’t hit the hysterical and utter weirdness in previous films is no fault of Depp’s, but the writing, which trades in wit and cunning piracy for set pieces galore and 3-D opportunities.
    Again, many people are heading to find the Fountain of Youth for very different reasons, Geoffrey Rush returning as a one-legged Barbosa is not a privateer and is out for revenge, while Jack is placed aboard the ship of the legendary Captain Blackbeard, but I felt that Ian McShane’s portrayal of this historical figure was too quiet and, well, normal. The inclusion of his daughter Angelica (Penelope Cruz) is the necessary femme fatale for a franchise like this, but she is surprisingly fresh and her scenes with Captain Jack are not wasted. As is expected of the franchise, the visuals are wonderful, but not properly balanced with the story, there isn’t much reason for them to be there.
    Unfortunately, there is simply isn’t enough depth to the film to see is as nothing more than either a tired franchise or one running out of original ideas, this review is being done after a second viewing, my first showing was a very different experience, I was simply glad to see a nice change of pace, but as a fourth instalment, it has lost its steam, its all about the explosive atmosphere that apparently needs to come along with it, a dumbed down and timid experience that seems to simply have been traded off to the highest bidder.
    Expand
  42. Nov 28, 2011
    7
    These movies have gotten weaker since the third installment. This is the weakest but it is still a fun family watch. I does leave it open for a sequel which hopefully is never made. People seem to be expecting gold from other thing Johnny Depp touches, some of us have seen all of his movies and know that, that is expecting a whole lot from him!
  43. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Best POTC movie yet. I completely enjoyed the fact that Bloom and Knightley were not in this sequel so the movie can focus on the on main character, Captain Jack Sparrow.
  44. Dec 12, 2011
    9
    It is certainly an improvement over the third part. It is fun, action packed and well acted but it lacked the humor and the originality of "Dead man's chest".
  45. Jan 23, 2014
    4
    I can't say I hated this movie, it truly feels like the best rendition of the ride out of all the Pirates pictures. On Stranger Tides is solid and has a really cool love element to the story with the mermaids. But other than that, you don't care much or at all about any of the main characters and for the most part is quite boring and forgettable. This was a mistake.
  46. Jun 7, 2012
    7
    I liked the first movie a lot but I absolutely hated the last two films so despite my better judgement, I decided to give this film a chance considering the removal of Bloom and Knightley, who imo were terrible in the first three films, and that I had already watched the previous 3 films.

    I was rather suprised that I not only enjoyed watching this movie but I actually liked it. It
    brought back the fun and adventure that the first film had and imo is the second best film in the series. I suprisingly can't wait to see a sequel for this. Definently worth giving a chance, Especially if you watch any of the other Pirates films. Expand
  47. May 12, 2012
    9
    Pirates of the Caribbean: on stranger tides is brilliant, it may not be the best movie of its series, but it's still brilliant. I don't really see why a lot of people don't like it, it's pure enjoyment, its got amazing action scenes, great acting (especially Johnny Depp), very good special effects, funny moments and awesome music! From best to worst (pirates of the Caribbean movies): 1. The curse of the black pearl. 2. Dead man's chest. 3. On stranger tides. 4. At world's end. None of them are bad, they're all really good. Expand
  48. Jun 1, 2013
    7
    Definitely not one of the better ones of the franchise, but it still brings a good quality of entertainment. It is a fun watch with a new tale to tell. Jack Sparrow will always keep these movies lively.
  49. Jul 3, 2013
    7
    On Stranger Tides is really kind of heartbreaking. Johnny Depp and Geoffrey Rush have glorious onscreen chemistry and get to be onscreen together more than ever before...but they can't save the movie by themselves. Ian McShane is a fantastic actor...held back by a weak script. The idea of a cleric and a mermaid falling in love in the side plot is cool...but is executed horribly. On Stranger Tides is trapped between a central cast with several excellent actors and an awkward, clumsy script that has a cringer for every good line (and there are quite a few of each). The film has a distinctly lower budget than previous installments, and it shows: the only naval battle that could have happened is called off due to lack of interest on the part of the Spanish fleet, even though Barbossa (now a British privateer) is rarin' to go.

    The worst part of the movie is also its best part: Ian McShane as Blackbeard. Ian McShane delivers the single best performance in the movie, with perfect lines, perfect inflection, perfect everything...and what makes him the worst part is that he's tied to the clumsy wreck that is the rest of the movie, making him a constant reminder of what could have been if only the film had a better budget and a more consistent writer. Jack Sparrow does prove that he can carry a story on his own instead of being the trickster spotlight-stealer to Will Turner, but it's a weak story through no fault of Jack's.

    On Stranger Tides is a good movie stuck in the shell of a bad movie, chained to the wall by its inconsistent writing, weak secondary characters, and low budget.
    Expand
  50. Nov 5, 2013
    5
    I didn't expect there to be a fourth film after the epic third. "Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides" was supposedly made to bring a fresh life to the franchise. Sadly, it does not achieve that. It does not have those creepy-crawly effects that made the first three so exciting.
  51. Sep 3, 2012
    7
    Starting by saying I loved the first three, although I had to see the third one two times to fully understand it and not fall asleep (170 mins, people!) but here: it's kind of this eclectic, stand-alone film and very focused on other elements like love, history and mermaids rather than swashbuckling battles. Let's be brief: The Mermaid Attack and the Final Battle were the best scenes, with the Mermaids being the second best scene in the franchise. The movie was fairly good, but not as good as the first three. Expand
  52. Dec 29, 2012
    1
    Yawn... they should have just stopped making Pirates of the Caribbean movies after the first one, the first one was great, but the sequels just keep getting lamer and lamer. This latest one was the most boring Pirates of the Caribbean yet, even Jack Sparrow was lame in this one, it's like he didn't even want this next installment to exist either. +1 for the 2 minute scene with the mermaid attack, the only part of this movie worth watching. Save yourself your valuable money and time and skip this one completely... Expand
  53. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    In my opinion, is the second best in the series. Entertaining and fun to the end.
  54. Dec 7, 2012
    5
    Much better than I was expecting. I was completely entertained through the entire film. The 2nd best of the saga despite having very little to do with the first 3.
  55. Oct 16, 2013
    6
    To be honest I did think this iteration of the Pirates franchise was rather fun. It wasn't good, but it was fun to watch.

    Stranger Tides on the whole feels more like The adventures of Captain Jack Sparrow, than Pirates of the Caribbean. The movie seems to focus on him for almost the whole movie. At least the first three movie had diverse story arcs (even if a little messy) but Pirates
    4 is really just one story, with a few side stories that really aren't expanded on enough to be worthy of note.

    Acting is more or less what you can expect, although I did find Depp was perhaps laying on the "Jack Sparrowness" on a little thick at times.

    Effects were mostly decent, but a real step down from the last 2 movies. I figure they were trying not to overwhelm the audience and hide a bad movie with gimmicky effects. My hats off for the attempt, but regardless it's still a lazy plot that offers very little new. On the other hand the only really new-ish element Ian McShane was fantastic as Blackbeard, a real shame his character was dumbed down so much

    Overall:
    On Stranger Tides is an entertaining movie, but not a good one. It offers little new. Recycled tropes and gags from the previous movies and over uses Jack Sparrow far too much, giving little attention to the other characters.

    Jack Sparrow is like Rum. Too much on its own and you'll get sick, but if served in moderation and it'll leave you feeling warm and happy.
    Expand
  56. Feb 21, 2013
    7
    It's a nice film, but i didn't understand the story line very much. but i loved the funny scene of jack sparrow
  57. Apr 30, 2013
    5
    Advantages: Alot of new blood to invorgorate the series. No more Will and Elizebeth. They where seriously dragging down the series after the first movie so thank the gods. I didn't hate it... but its forgettable. Disadvantages: 1. Its one of those rare examples where to much exposition only seems to drag the movie down to be needlessly complicated without doing much for character development, and missing out on alot of action scenes.
    Essentially theres alot of dialogue to establish each sides motivations so we know what they want and who they are. But the movie also spends alot of time telling us the rules for the fountain of youth. Alot. But why? Why does there have to be all these rules, and how do they know?
    The relic they need don't say anything about it. So how? And where did they find the magic cup anyway? How did they find out the rules of this magic place if no one thats been there is alive? Where did this mermaid tear stuff come from?
    2. For a pirate movie theres no naval battles. Captain Jack, who's supposed to be the proganist this time, doesn't actually do any big sword fighting scenes. The last fight in particular is really confusing like how Barbosa turns his back on the one legged man that he knew was destined to kill him.. who the hell writes this ****
    3. Zombies... blackbeard can't just be a mean pirate.. he also has to be voodoo master. He can control all the rope on his ship... and how? It just seems thrown at us with no explanation how it works or its limitations.
    4. Characters... Captain Jack doesn't care about the fountain of youth.. a man that has been established as a a guy who carse about his own self preserveation you'd think he would be the most interested in this especially because he has the map for the place.
    he gets dragged into it all, but then inexplicably decides not to back to find his ship when he has a chance to even though he supposed to not care about the fountain of youth..
    Barbosa doesn't have much to work with plotwise, character development or even much motivation..
    5. Its not as long as previous movies but it still feels long.
    6. 3d still looks bad, especially here.

    Suggestions: More swash buckling, have naval battles, make Jack Sparrow do more awesome stuff, make him fight more, have more motivation to fight and get the treasure rather than being ignorant all the time. I'm fine with him being ignorant sometimes, but he should be pretending to be ignorant alot of other times while having is own plan/desire.
    Expand
  58. Jul 7, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First off, I want to make it clear that I highly enjoyed every PoTC film, even the sequels up to AWE. Even with all their flaws, they still kept the charm of the franchise. This film, however, takes all that away.

    Something I want to mention first, that no one here seems to have done, is that Penelope Cruz's character is such a blatant Mary-Sue. For anyone familiar with bad fan-fiction or books, that's how this character feels the entire time. She's the one woman Jack Sparrow ever 'had feelings for', she's just as good of a swordsman as him, and she's not only Blackbeard's first mate but also his daughter. She begins as Jack Sparrow's impersonator, then after a sword fight with him, he claims that 'only one other person knows that move' when they both do a tactic that negates each other. Then he pulls her into his arms and kisses her.

    That's another severe issue of this film. This is the one time I've ever seen Capt. Sparrow act so out of character. He isn't the same, sarcastic, get-my-own-way person. They've exhausted his character to the point that he's been forced to be something he's not supposed to be. He's now cowardly and bumbling, almost like either Pintel or Ragetti from the first three films.

    Then there's Blackbeard. He's apparently not only a pirate, the most infamous and horrifying pirate in existence, but a wizard. Yeah, he can control ropes on his ship to wrangle his crew, steer his ship with a gesture of his sword and stores ships of his victims in tiny bottles on his shelves. Now, I don't mind the mysticism if done well, like with characters like Barbossa and his immortality from the curse, or Davy Jones and his curse to ferry the dead. But at least they were both fictional and given a proper back story. Blackbeard was a real pirate, and a damn frightening one. But he was anything but a wizard. And he wasn't given any back story as to how he could do everything he did.

    Next, there's Barbossa, or whatever's left of him. In between the third film and this one, he lost his leg and became a Captain in the Navy. When in history has ANY Captain of a pirate ship and crew managed to become a member of the Navy, especially with such ill intent as Barbossa? And the whole 'prophecy' at the beginning about a one-legged man leading to the downfall of Blackbeard was made so painfully obvious, I felt a physical pain in my head.

    Then there's the mermaid subplot. Alright, I have to admit, I like the lore of mermaids being vicious vixens of the sea. But even that lore gets brushed under the carpet almost immediately with the mermaid they capture. They need a mermaid's tear to make the Fountain of Youth (a point I'll get to next) work. The one they capture acts fierce at first, but then falls for the priest on the ship because 'he's different from the others'. First off, at one point, the priest gets angry that they don't call her by her name, but then he thinks it's ok for him to give her a name instead of properly ask her what hers really is. Second, at one point, he's threatened with his life when the mermaid doesn't cry. Instead of telling her not to do it, a cliche but a noble one, he says, and I quote, "If you could produce a tear, I would be grateful". A bit of a douchy move, and he still gets his throat slit. But it's ok, because she REVIVES him shortly after. Vicious vixen you are not.

    Now for the Fountain of Youth. In the film, it requires a sacrifice, where one person must give his/her remaining years to another. It also requires two goblets, the mermaid tear being in the life giving one. Ok, that's a nice take on it, if it wasn't already used hundreds of times before. And the whole switchero with Blackbeard and Cruz was the most predictable thing I've ever seen. If it was the Jack Sparrow from the first film, he would have tricked them both into sacrificing their combined years so that HE could get extra life.

    I can't really say how the film's 3D effects were, because I only watched a TV film version. But from the scenes where it was obviously made for 3D (a spear up close to the camera or a skeleton hand reaching forward), I can tell, they're unimpressive. The whole gimmick of 3D is a waste of money, time and vision. Some of the scenes that could have been enhanced by it, like the Fountain of Youth or the scenes at sea were either so foggy or so shaky that 3D would have made it worse than better. Once again, I can't speak from experience, that's just how it felt watching it in 2D and wondering how it must have been for those who shelled out the extra $5 for blurry, cross-eyed inducing glasses.

    I'm running out of characters, so I'll make my final thoughts brief. I do not consider this a PoTC film. I consider it Live Action PoTC Fan Fiction. From self-inserts to out of character moments to plot inconsistencies, that's exactly how it felt for me. Perhaps if it was made separately, without Capt. Jack or the few recurring PoTC characters, it could have worked. Otherwise, it's just a mess.
    Expand
  59. Apr 6, 2013
    8
    When I first heard that there would be a new Pirates of the Caribbean movie without Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightly, I was a bit skeptical. However, this movie greatly exceeded my expectations. It was funny and it was finding a very interesting item in the Fountain of Youth. Jack Sparrow and Barbossa are great as they usually are. Gibbs is still one of my favorite characters. He was just great. In my opinion, this was a good movie that was very funny and underrated, especially compared to the other installments in the series. Expand
  60. Jul 4, 2013
    4
    Un total desastre comparado a lo que me parecía que se venia después del épico final de el fin del mundo, después de todo resalto la nueva idea que lamentablemente no resulto
  61. May 27, 2013
    1
    I don't like any of Pirates of the Caribbean movies, I specially dislike the character Jack Sparrow, annoys me. Just a boring battle scenes. I don't want to see battles, I just want to story.
  62. Jul 3, 2013
    3
    This was a big disapointment. I wasen´t looking much for to at all since none of the previous cast was back from the first three movies (besides Johnny Depp). The movie was a complete disaster. The story was pointless, and it did not make any sense to make, because it has nothing to do with the previous movies. Captain Jack Sparrow, you went on the wrong ship.
  63. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    'Mermaids, Zombies, Blackbeard.' I am really impressed. I wasn't expecting it so good. Johnny Depp is..........simply the best!!! Enjoy it! Perfect!!! WOW!!
  64. Jul 16, 2013
    5
    I didn't really like this movie. I REALLY liked the previous PotC movies. But this one... It just didn't feel the same. It was boring, story was pretty bad, If I was Johnny Depp, I would've quit playing Jack.
  65. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    This film is all Jack Sparrow, erm, Captain Jack Sparrow. I really loved this film (while some old characters are missed, the new ones are equally entertaining and fresh). I liked the script (while not totally original, it had some witty stuff in there and some good twists and turns), I loved the music (Hans Zimmer does not disappoint), the direction (the fresh new feel and darker feel with the new director), the action was awesome, the acting (Johnny Depp as Sparrow again is just divine and entertaining) and the visuals were spectacular. I really loved this one and I greatly look forward to the next installment. Expand
  66. Feb 3, 2014
    7
    A less satisfied movie in comparison to the previous movies of this sequel, but overall is it watchable.

    Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides got a great beginning, and the actors are awesome, and the story is good, but it's a little lengthy at some places, and it wasn't that much new and unique things in this movie. The film is at many scenes slow and lengthy, and the tempo
    wasn't that high, which made it a little boring.
    The ending thought, was wonderful, and the movie is spectacular when it comes to the quality.

    Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides gets a 7/10
    Expand
  67. Nov 2, 2013
    6
    Without most of the original cast, 'Stranger Tides' is a disappointment, no matter how funny Johnny Depp is as the bumbling yet charismatic Sparrow. It rewrites history with Blackbeard included, and I found Penelope Cruz an annoying It'll still make money, though how much remains a question.
  68. Sep 19, 2013
    9
    Captain Jack is back, and better than ever. This movie really feels fresh and goes back to the roots of the first one in a combination of pure moviemaking heaven. Everything down to Sparrow's beard seems to be new and exciting in Pirates numero cuatro.
  69. Nov 29, 2013
    3
    This is not a PotC movie. It had none of the great humor as the first three, let alone that it was a pointless adventure filled with a more predictable amount of stupidity. The acting was okay for the most part, but that didn't make up for almost anything else in this movie.
  70. Oct 27, 2013
    3
    the fourth movie of the pirates of the caribbean franchise was made as an reborn for the franchise,but they done absolutely the same thing with a much worse story.
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 39
  2. Negative: 7 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Jun 1, 2011
    40
    Small kids won't really appreciate Johnny Depp, either, though frankly he's getting to be less fun as the series ages, possibly realizing that what's riskiest in Pirates 4 isn't walking the plank, but jumping the shark.
  2. 30
    I've never seen a film in which what was actually onscreen seemed so irrelevant.
  3. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 21, 2011
    50
    This installment, which is subtitled "Give Us Your Money, Sheep," really isn't a Pirates of the Caribbean movie at all.