User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 552 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 552
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 31, 2011
    3
    I love the first three (yes, I am a defender of the sequels) but this film is pretty awful, it feels overwrought and undercooked. If you cant get the original cast back at least add some character development to Jack Sparrow! No interesting new characters and the script features no wit unlike the other films
  2. Dec 9, 2011
    2
    This movie's very existence is a testament to how good Depp was in the first Pirates. Disney spawned three more movies simply on the echo of Captain Jack's personality. And that's it. For the last three movies are increasingly void of soul, plot, or sense whatsoever. They're just a bunch of weird ideas spinning around a character who deserves better. This one has mermaids. OutsideThis movie's very existence is a testament to how good Depp was in the first Pirates. Disney spawned three more movies simply on the echo of Captain Jack's personality. And that's it. For the last three movies are increasingly void of soul, plot, or sense whatsoever. They're just a bunch of weird ideas spinning around a character who deserves better. This one has mermaids. Outside that fact, I'm not sure I will (or will want to) remember anything about it. If you're wondering--like I was before I rented it, "Will I be glad I gave this series one more chance?" The answer is no. Expand
  3. May 29, 2011
    4
    this movie of the series , is probably the worst than ever. the first 45 minutes had nothing. the next 15 minutes was beginning to develop. but again the second half lacks the speed and wild sword fights, comic filled dialogs and some ruthless stunts are all there stuffed into the second half. the movie actually begins to develop at the climax. but who cares, fountain of youth may givethis movie of the series , is probably the worst than ever. the first 45 minutes had nothing. the next 15 minutes was beginning to develop. but again the second half lacks the speed and wild sword fights, comic filled dialogs and some ruthless stunts are all there stuffed into the second half. the movie actually begins to develop at the climax. but who cares, fountain of youth may give life to the people forever. but this franchise would not satisfy the normal viewers. the main reasons are that, it is way too boring in the first half with illogical stunts and some unnecessary scenes which should have been definitely trimmed. looks like the fountain of youth is the only word i can get , but not understand what is the importance in it!! even till the climax. finally what we got here, is a movie with wild stunts , screamings and mermaids along with illogical stunts and escapes and caught again and again. screenplay completely lacked the life. looks like a funny movie rather than, adventure movie. johnny depp was wasted. his talent is not upto the mark in this. ian mcshane was good. geoffrey rush was good. penelope cruz was ok. rest characters are apt. the movie fails to bring interest among audience. even though second half was a bit good, it was overall below average. no scene is gripping and watchable again and again. just a bore franchise adapted to continue the series. i am disappointed. Expand
  4. Jul 13, 2011
    4
    On Stranger Tides is a disappointing movie. It lacked the sense of entertainment and imagintation that the first two had..I hope that 5 & 6 would be better, but as far as i know, i won't watch this movie again..
  5. May 30, 2011
    5
    ok did i like it? yes, i did. But that is from a fan of the series standpoint. Now let me act like a true critic and really judge the movie.It wasnt all that great. The acting was about the same as the other pirates movies. the fx were up to pare, and the story was somewhat mediocre. I mean there were'nt any battles at sea, like in the other pirate movies, when i think of pirates i thinkok did i like it? yes, i did. But that is from a fan of the series standpoint. Now let me act like a true critic and really judge the movie.It wasnt all that great. The acting was about the same as the other pirates movies. the fx were up to pare, and the story was somewhat mediocre. I mean there were'nt any battles at sea, like in the other pirate movies, when i think of pirates i think of awesome naval battles. This installment just didn't deliver. And honest to god i wish Disney would drop it and a another production company picks the series up. because if they make a new one, i expect blood, i mean there pirates lets push for an R rating. Expand
  6. Jun 5, 2011
    5
    After two disappointing sequels the PotC franchise is back with Pirates of the Carribean: On Stranger Tides and I was optimistic that they could rediscover the magic that enthralled us all and make up for Dead Man Chest and At Worlds End. However after an exciting and an opening with great potential i'm afraid it was all downhill from there. Jack Sparrow is back this time however he is onAfter two disappointing sequels the PotC franchise is back with Pirates of the Carribean: On Stranger Tides and I was optimistic that they could rediscover the magic that enthralled us all and make up for Dead Man Chest and At Worlds End. However after an exciting and an opening with great potential i'm afraid it was all downhill from there. Jack Sparrow is back this time however he is on a quest for the Fountain of Youth however he runs into an old flame in Angelica (Penelope Cruz) who entices Jack and ultimately he ends up onboard The Queen Anne's Revenge, the ruthless pirate Blackbeards (Ian McShane) ship as he himself is after the Fountain of Youth. And thats were there the problems begin. The characters just aren't as appealing and fail to connect with the audience like the previous characters did in the first three movies. Cruz is decent enough but when you look at how good Keira Knightley was theres no comparison. Ian McShane doesn't convince as a ruthless pirate or the villain of the movie like Geoffrey Rush or Bill Nighy did as Barbossa and Davy Jones. The plot itself and more importantly has big issues. For the first time in a Pirates film I didn't really see the point of what was happening it just seemed irrelevant. Many criticisced how overly complicated At Worlds End plot was but this just felt very sub-par and as the film ran along it fell flat even the ending which was too predictable. Instead, it seems as though Rob Marshall has focused on delivering to much action scenes rather than focus on building the story or film or even try and get us interested in a character other than Jack Sparrow because after the 100th sword fight it becomes slightly tiresome. Thankfully for the film Johnny Depp still does the business as Sparrow and Geoffrey Rush is brilliant as Barbossa however they are treading finely as it seems even with Depp on top form the jokes are wearing thin and the Pirates franchise seems to becoming dull, predictable and stale. There will no doubt be another sequel however I hope for the sake of what was a great film franchise they have a large rethink in their approach and get the proper people in place who can bring freshness aboard a sinking ship! Expand
  7. May 30, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To be fair, I wanted to enjoy this movie, but what was received seemed less like a professional scripting of a film and more of an adaptation of some child's fan-fiction.

    The plot hardly seemed cannon and offered little consistency in the logic. How did an old man manage to be "fished" by two others? Why did Blackbeard need such a large crew for his ship when simply by pointing the ship would manage itself? Why did daylight only hurt the mermaid in the second half of that saga, when earlier the only issue was breathing in the tank? Why does everyone else just spontaneously begin to remember lore about the fountain?

    The movie delivers on some sequences where the famous "theme" works in action, but this is not the Pirates of the Caribbean you once knew. You care not for the parties involved, and could only care possibly about Jack in his hopping and meshing of allies and enemies, but even then in the end the viewer is confused as to why Jack seemed to not care about the fountain.

    Action? Yes. Plot? No. An extended version of the trailer is all you would need to see. This is the result when a stand alone film turns into a trilogy, then that trilogy gets a fourth installment. What's scary is that after the credits a possible fifth movie is implied, and that movie may be an absolute bomb.

    Just pretend this movie doesn't exist and think of PotC as a good trilogy.
    Expand
  8. Aug 25, 2011
    4
    Pirates 3 was truly the epitome of everything wrong with this franchise. It was long, it was confusing, it forced in comedy when it didn't need it, it tried to balance too much at once, and above all things, there were moments that were truly incredible. The worst thing in cinema is not a bad movie, but seeing a bad movie that clearly could have been a great movie. That was the frustrationPirates 3 was truly the epitome of everything wrong with this franchise. It was long, it was confusing, it forced in comedy when it didn't need it, it tried to balance too much at once, and above all things, there were moments that were truly incredible. The worst thing in cinema is not a bad movie, but seeing a bad movie that clearly could have been a great movie. That was the frustration with Pirates 3. The movie had a giant maelstrom with two ships duking it out in a whirlpool, and there wasn't a good movie around it. Fortunately, Pirates 4 corrects the mistakes of the past. It's just the right length, it isn't confusing, the comedy doesn't feel (as) forced, and it fits in all it needs. What it's missing is anything to wow the audience. I didn't think it was possible, but this is one boring Pirates movie. Expand
  9. Sep 28, 2011
    5
    A combination of new director Rob Marshall, lack lustred Penelope Cruz and some really strange pacing (whether its writers or editing), this movie lost what the previous movies had in abundance, heart, soul and wickedness. The movie seemed "alcohol free", dont scare the little ones and tamed down too much for its own good. I think the reigns where brought right in on this one, and itA combination of new director Rob Marshall, lack lustred Penelope Cruz and some really strange pacing (whether its writers or editing), this movie lost what the previous movies had in abundance, heart, soul and wickedness. The movie seemed "alcohol free", dont scare the little ones and tamed down too much for its own good. I think the reigns where brought right in on this one, and it shows. The jokes where off, clever lines missing and the dark, rum filled, dinginess was bought into the sunlight. A little over cooked. unfortunately, I wont be holding my breath for another instalment. Perhaps this was one movie too far. Expand
  10. Oct 23, 2011
    5
    I expected a moderate amount of entertainment, but this movie dragged on. The search for the Arthurian Grail has been transmuted into the search for the Fountain of Youth, with a map left for posterity by Ponce de León himself. Johnny Depp reprises his role of Jack Sparrow very nicely. Penélope Cruz is the lure for international audiences, but she delivers herI expected a moderate amount of entertainment, but this movie dragged on. The search for the Arthurian Grail has been transmuted into the search for the Fountain of Youth, with a map left for posterity by Ponce de León himself. Johnny Depp reprises his role of Jack Sparrow very nicely. Penélope Cruz is the lure for international audiences, but she delivers her lines without expression. And while everyone else manages to look as authentically grungy as a pirate can get, Cruz always looks like she's made up for Vogue, with squeaky clean hair and perfect skin. Even when she's dressed for piracy on the high seas, Cruz is the only one in the bunch who looks like she's off to a Halloween party for rich socialites. And vampire mermaids? Original but too jarring. One does not expect a mermaid to have elongated canines any more than one would expect Lassie to have them. And dogs have real canines. The only reason to make this movie is if you expect to make a billion dollars, and that's exactly what the producers did. Expand
  11. May 26, 2011
    0
    Just a bad, bad movie. I sat through this hoping for it to get better and unfortunately it never did. It had glimpses of promise and bucketloads of potential, but it never tied up in the end and pretty much presented itself as a generic pirate film full of cliche and cringe-inducing moments. Blackbeard wasn't even a bad guy. It's about time we let the POTC series take its place in movieJust a bad, bad movie. I sat through this hoping for it to get better and unfortunately it never did. It had glimpses of promise and bucketloads of potential, but it never tied up in the end and pretty much presented itself as a generic pirate film full of cliche and cringe-inducing moments. Blackbeard wasn't even a bad guy. It's about time we let the POTC series take its place in movie history before they churn out another one... Expand
  12. May 20, 2011
    10
    When I first saw PotC 1, I was overwhelmed by the magic of the story and the characters. Then came the 2nd and the 3rd movie and I was a bit disappointed with those two. It all suddenly seemed to be all about Elizabeth and Wills love story and the other characters were pushed into the background. So when I heard that there was going to be a 4th PotC movie with my two favorite captains -When I first saw PotC 1, I was overwhelmed by the magic of the story and the characters. Then came the 2nd and the 3rd movie and I was a bit disappointed with those two. It all suddenly seemed to be all about Elizabeth and Wills love story and the other characters were pushed into the background. So when I heard that there was going to be a 4th PotC movie with my two favorite captains - Barbossa and Sparrow - and almost a whole new cast, I was once again excited, and the movie did not disappointed me. It was fun, witty, had lots of action and adventure. And after seeing it, I had that same magical feeling that I experienced after seeing PotC 1. I simply love this movie and I hope there will be a 5th and a 6th one! Expand
  13. May 24, 2011
    5
    MUCH better than I thought it would be. I really enjoyed the first movie, but the second one was interminably boring. Penelope Cruz is terrific, and the young couple (the mermaid and the sailor) brings a nice touch to the otherwise flippant proceedings. Doesn't hold a candle to the other big summer blockbusters (Fast 5, etc.)
  14. Oct 7, 2011
    3
    Bad, just bad. This film is not the one I expected from the Pirates of the Caribbean saga. How can the story and the techniques of the films is so boring and monotone like that?! The character didn't have their own characteristics, and the plot is so bad. Don't waste your time for this things, you deserved more!
  15. Nov 3, 2011
    3
    The Pirates of the Caribbean movies have come along way since the first one came out, it was fun, mysterious and intriguing. Unfortunately for this newest addition to the Pirates universe it simply fails to deliver. There are three major drawbacks which dragged my personal rating for this move down to a 3.

    First of, they tried compressing a to big of a story into one movie. The story
    The Pirates of the Caribbean movies have come along way since the first one came out, it was fun, mysterious and intriguing. Unfortunately for this newest addition to the Pirates universe it simply fails to deliver. There are three major drawbacks which dragged my personal rating for this move down to a 3.

    First of, they tried compressing a to big of a story into one movie. The story lacks coordination and transfers the viewer from location to location, from plot to plot, from character to character in to little time so that you will just not be able to tell what exactly is going on. You will have no emotional bond with any character or the stakes at hand. The overall story of this movie is just simply to big to be put into a few hours. Second, the characters presented in this movie are just flat out bad. The leap in time between the previous movie and this one is just way to big to make you understand anything about any character involved in this movie. Jack is of course back, which is a pretty big drawback, considering he is actually the main character in this movie. In all the previous movies he is a fun and enjoyable character, BUT ONLY because he was WASN'T the main character. The entire movie now evolves around to many lame ass jokes and hes annoying personality, which was fun in the previous movies because hes personality was present in much smaller doses. Sparrow made the movie way to annoying and he's trickery and fighting action has become way to predictable because of it. Hector Barbossa suffered immensely from the huge time leap between this movie and the previous one. He pretty much resides with the Spaniards all the time, diminishing the characters value and time on screen, which is of course really a waste. Black beard also suffers from an obvious lack of time and story, he is just to big of a character. You will just not really get to know him as we got to know Davy Jones and Barbossa. He's daughter also suffers this drawback, although she is definitely not as interesting, which she could have been.

    Finally we get to see this sailor priest whom, I guess, needed to fill up the more serious and romantic role in this movie, but failed miserably. The love between a mermaid and this sailor could have certainly be more fleshed out. Yet again, it suffers because of lack of time and story.

    And last...3D fails, yet again. Clearly this movie lacked any of it. The occasional thrown dagger that gets a 3D makeover or scenery that looks as if it has a bit more 3D depth to it, but all in all it just simply lacks 3D. Conclusion: Very disappointed. It is way to obvious there was to much ambition (or lack of it) for this movie and it suffered heavily because of it.
    Expand
  16. Jun 4, 2011
    3
    Slightly entertaining movie, but the story felt very choppy. I loved Jonny Depp in this movie but thats about it. There were just so many things that weren't good, I don't even know where to start. Lets just say overall disappointing. Worst Pirates movie so far.
  17. Jun 25, 2011
    1
    Congratulations Disney you officially ruined a perfectly good trilogy of movies. I'm glad the drive-in that i saw this movie at had this as a double feature with Cars 2, because if it hadn't and only showed this piece of **** i would have demanded my money back. The only real reason why Penelope Cruz was in the movie, was for her good looks, which is a waste of a great talent. If you'reCongratulations Disney you officially ruined a perfectly good trilogy of movies. I'm glad the drive-in that i saw this movie at had this as a double feature with Cars 2, because if it hadn't and only showed this piece of **** i would have demanded my money back. The only real reason why Penelope Cruz was in the movie, was for her good looks, which is a waste of a great talent. If you're a director that plans to put add a female character for the sole purpose of looking good, put a good looking actress with no talent in there. You'd save yourself a lot of money. I want to know what on gods green earth the director was smoking when he thought it would be a brilliant idea to, not only have Captain Barbossa Captain a Royal Navy Ship, but emblazon the British flag in the background behind him. I mean really, did the flag HAVE to be that big. Captain Sparrow, who i agree is the flagship of the trilogy, and without him all four movies are pointless, not to say this one is just because he's in it, because it's the most pointless of all the movies, i commend Jack for being the captain that goes down with his ship (the trilogy). The movie is missing two keys that would have made it a better sight to see. Quite frankly the trilogy would be better off if this movie had never been made in the first place. To put it even simpler, if i was given the option of watching this movie again or watching my **** go down the toilet, the choice would be easy... watch my **** go down the toilet, the horror ends quickly and dosen't drag on for two and a quarter hours. Expand
  18. Jul 3, 2011
    3
    In my opinion, this pirate of the Caribbean was the worst one yet. The story was terrible, throughout the whole movie. There was also barely any good action. If you are looking into seeing this movie, i suggest seeing something else.
  19. Jul 22, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. From the disjointed story, to the one-dimensional characters, this movie simply should not have been made. Where the occasional plot hole or convoluted storyline in the first three movies could be overlooked because they were otherwise greatly enjoyable, this heaping pile of dung fails to engage on all levels.
    Captain Jack has become a parody of his formerly glorious self. Think Wolverine in X-men 1-2 vs. Wolverine in X-men 3 and "Wolverine". Shudder. The scriptwriter failed miserably at catching the essence of the first three movies in the franchise.
    Character dialogue is completely nonsensical. Just utterly, mind-numbingly pointless and stupid. This is a movie that just doesn't make any sense. From glass boxes as horribly glaring and stupid plot devices, to the villain vowing to kill off characters who are central to his plans, and generally, everyone is being a bit trigger happy concerning key figures without whom this entire enterprise would fall apart for all concerned.

    Kiera Knightley and Orlando Bloom have been outdone, Penelope Cruz and the priest are easily the most annoying characters I have seen, in any movie, for a very long time.

    Characters do things for no reason. Just pure **** insanity. Mermaids handing cups around randomly to save their captors and tormentors, people being sent out on errands to fix a bit of the plot off camera. I can't go on. Read cheat700000007's review, and you'll get the gist of it. Pretend this never happened.
    Expand
  20. May 11, 2012
    5
    The story had some flashy moments along with the visuals, but it really does get out of hand. This sequel is a little fun, but somewhat unecessesary.
  21. May 26, 2011
    9
    I thought this to be a great addition the to the Pirates franchise. Johnny Depp did what he does best and delivered a good performance. You can tell he loves to play this character. I was worried at first going into it because of no bloom ore knightley. But you don't even miss them. Depp proves that he was indeed the star of the movies!
  22. Dec 21, 2011
    6
    AS always as the main story of Pirates of the Caribbean gets stronger the worse it is told. Penelope Cruz spices it up with Johnny Depp almost enough to get through but since it has less action and humor it loses me. I give this movie 57%.
  23. May 24, 2011
    6
    The movie was kind of just sub-par to me. The first 15 minutes of the movie made me excited with the potential of the journey to come but somehow it just felt flat. Ironically, the most exhausting part of On Stranger Tides are the sword fights, too many of them and I was longing for some good slow pace story-telling which are few and far in between. The movie seems rushed, it didn't takeThe movie was kind of just sub-par to me. The first 15 minutes of the movie made me excited with the potential of the journey to come but somehow it just felt flat. Ironically, the most exhausting part of On Stranger Tides are the sword fights, too many of them and I was longing for some good slow pace story-telling which are few and far in between. The movie seems rushed, it didn't take it's own time and tell the story that it wants to tell. Rob Marshall just wants to bombard the fans with all action sequences and explosions, which is what a summer movie is all about (I know..). But there was so much potential there for a better quality summer flick. Thank heavens Johnny Depp is holding out from making Pirates 5 and 6 in quick succession, because he knows that the story is the most important element of a good movie and not just crank out a movie and dominate the box-office. Expand
  24. May 22, 2011
    3
    The Pirates trilogy has always been one in which i could ignore any major problems with the films (most of which were in PotC 2 and 3)and allow myself to enjoy them. While not great, the two sequels at least attempted an air of "epicness," for lack of a better term, with a grand mythological storyline and a bunch of subplots, which could have been annoying or interesting based on yourThe Pirates trilogy has always been one in which i could ignore any major problems with the films (most of which were in PotC 2 and 3)and allow myself to enjoy them. While not great, the two sequels at least attempted an air of "epicness," for lack of a better term, with a grand mythological storyline and a bunch of subplots, which could have been annoying or interesting based on your opinion. They were entertaining, though partially exhausting, and were at least partially memorable. On the contrary, On Stranger Tides was not epic, or even magical, in its storyline or characters. There was nothing strange about it, and instead, the movie was everything you would expect of a money-grabbing attempt by Disney. The supposedly legendary Blackbeard was not nearly as fearsome as Barbosa in the first film, the plot was disjointed and uninteresting, and Jack Sparrow is becoming predictable. Overall, it was disappointing to watch such a previously ambitious series dumb itself down to such low levels. We needed a simpler story, not a boring one. Expand
  25. Jun 4, 2011
    2
    The whole Pirates of the Caribbean franchise is a bit like a bottle of coke. It starts off all fresh and fizzy, then there's the middle where it tastes a bit off but you finish it anyway, and then there's that bit the bottom that no one wants to drink because it just looks like black water. That's what On Strange Tides is like. Flat coke. The plot is just one ridiculous scene afterThe whole Pirates of the Caribbean franchise is a bit like a bottle of coke. It starts off all fresh and fizzy, then there's the middle where it tastes a bit off but you finish it anyway, and then there's that bit the bottom that no one wants to drink because it just looks like black water. That's what On Strange Tides is like. Flat coke. The plot is just one ridiculous scene after another, the characters are boring and have no development whatsoever, and there are so many loose ends you could probably weave a rug. It's a classic let's-just-get-this-thing-over-with kind of movie and adds nothing to the series whatsoever. Not really worth anyone's time. Expand
  26. May 23, 2011
    3
    The movie didn't work for me, its just, i have this great expectation since i was a fan from the very first start of this film but this one, i can consider that there are some parts which we can call as lame one.
    First, the settings were unprepared and not convincing
    second, acting of the other actors were kind ''wtf'' was that!
  27. May 21, 2011
    2
    This movie was just a flat out mess. There was no pacing, characters didn't have a character, they had a name and a set of objectives that they had to do to advance the plot or cause something to happen that shouldn't have, but the producer thought would be exciting like having someone jump into the camera away from an explosion in a PIRATE MOVIE, or have a chase scene in a busy town thatThis movie was just a flat out mess. There was no pacing, characters didn't have a character, they had a name and a set of objectives that they had to do to advance the plot or cause something to happen that shouldn't have, but the producer thought would be exciting like having someone jump into the camera away from an explosion in a PIRATE MOVIE, or have a chase scene in a busy town that people should be barely able to move in (which is actually how the chase ends, why there is suddenly a huge path available before that who knows) riding a wooden cart full of flaming coals which for some reason isn't completely burning. I'm going to stop listing out things now or else I'll just be writing a summary of the entire movie. Captain Sparrow's character arc is starting to remind me of Stewie Griffens arc too. At the start of the series, he was an evil mastermind with gay tendancies, but a fun and original character. Now he is just gay. All of the interest, sublty, and roundness to the character is gone. Every other character is completely flat and only act to advance the plot in the way that the writers, or maybe the producer, wanted. They have no personality, no depth, no soul. They are not characters they are just living mcguffins. Nearly every big event in the movie just happens. It is not explained or even hinted at in any way of the sort why or how it was happening. There wasn't even a reason why or how the characters knew what they were doing. Even in simple little dialogue interactions, characters had responses that made no sense. As I'm looking back at the movie now, I can confidently say that if you picked out ANY scene in the movie, I could tell you at least 3 things wrong with it. I sincerely hope the writers of this movie never do so again. At the 30 minute mark I was already ready to walk out, but stayed because I did enjoy the other 3 movies. In 2 and 3 they had a few boring segments which turned to great ones later on, I kept hoping this would be the case but it sure as hell was not. The only reason I can see that this is getting positive reviews at all is either that a) these people are from disney or were paid off or b) throwing big name celebrities into a movie really will make people like it whether it is a good movie or not. Expand
  28. May 22, 2011
    10
    'Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides' - I've been following the progress of this movie ever since it reported to be in production. I would search for related news articles almost weekly, and each time anything was announced, I was excited about whatever news I'd heard. So you can imagine my excitement during the week leading up to the release of this movie. My expectations were'Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides' - I've been following the progress of this movie ever since it reported to be in production. I would search for related news articles almost weekly, and each time anything was announced, I was excited about whatever news I'd heard. So you can imagine my excitement during the week leading up to the release of this movie. My expectations were insanely high, and I was confident that a new director and overhauled cast would provide the breath of fresh air or 'shot in the arm' that the franchise was in need of after the overblown, near-incomprehensible 'At World's End'.
    However, I must say that my hopes were somewhat lowered when I started reading some of the more negative reviews, and the dismal score that the film held on RottenTomatoes didn't do much to help this. Still, I remained positive and excited for this new installment into this series which I've loved from the very beginning. I was somewhat apprehensive, though; I thought that I was going to have to convince myself that I was enjoying the film - this was my fear. But it wasn't long into the film that this notion completely left my mind. The atmosphere and fun of the movie had taken over. The fast-paced opening to the film completely distracted me from all else; it was the same 'Pirates' action and excitement that drew me into the first two films (and the third, to a degree).
    But although the action was exciting and well-choreographed, it wasn't so much the action sequences that were the highlight of the film; but the humor. This film had some of the best witty banter & one-liners in the whole 'Pirates' series. And while Terry Rossio & Ted Elliott can be thanked for this, it was really the actors and their chemistry between them that brought the script alive. Depp was at his best, delivering both the dialogue as well as the physical persona of Jack Sparrow with the professional brilliance that we've come to expect from the man. Cruz played off of Depp perfectly, and vice-versa, as the characters of Jack and Angelica clashed in the most delightful way. McShane was perfect in his role of playing the genuinely evil villain of Blackbeard, whilst Rush was once again terrific in his role as the whimsical villain. Hollywood debutantes Sam Claflin and Ã
    Expand
  29. May 20, 2011
    10
    As a huge fan of the previous 3 pirates movies, I had high hopes for the 4th movie. The 2nd and 3rd movie were pretty good but overall are not as good as the 1st one. Pirates of the Carribean: On Stranger Tides was a incredible movie to watch for any fans of the previous movies. Anyone who is a huge fan of Jack Sparrow and Hector Barbossa are in luck cause more than half the story areAs a huge fan of the previous 3 pirates movies, I had high hopes for the 4th movie. The 2nd and 3rd movie were pretty good but overall are not as good as the 1st one. Pirates of the Carribean: On Stranger Tides was a incredible movie to watch for any fans of the previous movies. Anyone who is a huge fan of Jack Sparrow and Hector Barbossa are in luck cause more than half the story are about them. Ian McShane did a terrific job as the evil pirate Blackbeard and Penelope Cruz also did a terrifc job as Blackbeard's daughter. The score was outstanding and a bit of the previous movie scores were used. The costuming was spot on and authentic. The locations were breathtaking and the action was as great as the previous movies. The new cast members did a fantastic job fitting into the movie and acted well. They added a lot of lighthearted funny moments. Also the 3D for this movie was amazing and it really add to the movie watching experience. Overall I would recommend ths movie to any fan of the previous Pirate movies. Expand
  30. Jun 12, 2011
    3
    Seeing all these 10's makes me remember just how subjective entertainment is. Or how someone's got a PR firm trying to goose the metacritic ratings. Seriously though, for me, this was just an awful movie. The story was blah, the fight scenes where boring, and even bits which might have been interesting were ruined because the script gave everything away up front, so there weren't anySeeing all these 10's makes me remember just how subjective entertainment is. Or how someone's got a PR firm trying to goose the metacritic ratings. Seriously though, for me, this was just an awful movie. The story was blah, the fight scenes where boring, and even bits which might have been interesting were ruined because the script gave everything away up front, so there weren't any surprising reveals. And the ending was ripped right from the third Indian Jones movie, and you saw it coming from a mile away. I suppose they won't retire this franchise until it stops making money, but please producers, can you try a little harder for the next one? Expand
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 39
  2. Negative: 7 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Jun 1, 2011
    40
    Small kids won't really appreciate Johnny Depp, either, though frankly he's getting to be less fun as the series ages, possibly realizing that what's riskiest in Pirates 4 isn't walking the plank, but jumping the shark.
  2. 30
    I've never seen a film in which what was actually onscreen seemed so irrelevant.
  3. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 21, 2011
    50
    This installment, which is subtitled "Give Us Your Money, Sheep," really isn't a Pirates of the Caribbean movie at all.