Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 531 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Crossing paths with the enigmatic Angelica, Captain Jack Sparrow is not sure if it's love—or if she's a ruthless con artist who's using him to find the fabled Fountain of Youth. When she forces him aboard the "Queen Anne's Revenge," the ship of the legendary pirate Blackbeard, Jack findsCrossing paths with the enigmatic Angelica, Captain Jack Sparrow is not sure if it's love—or if she's a ruthless con artist who's using him to find the fabled Fountain of Youth. When she forces him aboard the "Queen Anne's Revenge," the ship of the legendary pirate Blackbeard, Jack finds himself on an unexpected adventure in which he doesn't know whom to fear more: Blackbeard or Angelica, with whom he shares a mysterious past. (Walt Disney Pictures)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 39
  2. Negative: 7 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    May 13, 2011
    80
    This is the perfect summer movie and perhaps the best Pirates of them all.
  2. Reviewed by: Ray Bennett
    May 12, 2011
    70
    Captain Jack Sparrow is back in excellent form for his fourth adventure in Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides, which is more serious in the hands of a new director, Rob Marshall, and thanks to Penelope Cruz it's also a good deal sexier.
  3. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    May 20, 2011
    63
    Judi Dench is much more of a challenge. Drenched in powder and pomp, the grand old Dame pops up in a London carriage. She's there in a flash and then, as quickly, gone, and her fleeting presence is exactly like the fleeting merit of this fourth galleon in the portly franchise: It prompts stirrings, not quite all the way to feelings.
  4. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 18, 2011
    50
    On Stranger Tides isn't nearly strange enough. Its one real act of piracy is stealing away your excitement.
  5. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    May 19, 2011
    50
    Apart from Cruz, who throws herself lustily into her tough-seductress role, the actors give negligible performances, with McShane, Rush, and Keith Richards in a repeat cameo all playing nigh-identical smug glowerers.
  6. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    May 19, 2011
    40
    Despite Sparrow's ongoing flashes of charm, Depp himself seems to know he's coasting.
  7. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    May 19, 2011
    25
    Even the most forgiving moviegoer will recognize this movie as the blatant cash-grab that it is.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 177
  1. May 20, 2011
    10
    When I first saw PotC 1, I was overwhelmed by the magic of the story and the characters. Then came the 2nd and the 3rd movie and I was a bitWhen I first saw PotC 1, I was overwhelmed by the magic of the story and the characters. Then came the 2nd and the 3rd movie and I was a bit disappointed with those two. It all suddenly seemed to be all about Elizabeth and Wills love story and the other characters were pushed into the background. So when I heard that there was going to be a 4th PotC movie with my two favorite captains - Barbossa and Sparrow - and almost a whole new cast, I was once again excited, and the movie did not disappointed me. It was fun, witty, had lots of action and adventure. And after seeing it, I had that same magical feeling that I experienced after seeing PotC 1. I simply love this movie and I hope there will be a 5th and a 6th one! Expand
  2. May 30, 2011
    10
    Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides is a stunning new movie. I didn't think POTC 4 was going to be as good as Pirates of thePirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides is a stunning new movie. I didn't think POTC 4 was going to be as good as Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End, but my thoughts were wrong. POTC 4 is the best chapter in the Pirates Franchise. This new part is much different to any of the first three films, infact it feels like a new triliogy. Pirates of the Caribbean 4 brings amazing new special effects and new characters, and will leave you satisfied as you walk out of the cinemas. Johnny Depp brings amazing new escape tactics. Despite being the shortest film in the series running at-137 minutes.(POTC1=139 minutes, POTC2=145 minutes, POTC3= 162 minutes), POTC 4 fills in every thing needed to make a good movie. Ian McShane plays evil ruthless pirate captain of the Queen Anne's Revenge. Blackbeard almost meets the level of Davy Jones(played by Bill Nighy).

    Captain Jack Sparrow crosses paths with a woman from his past (Angelica) and is forced among the ship 'Queen Anne's Revenge'. Angelica's father Blackbeard is also in search of the Fountain of Youth.
    The spaniards, King George II's men and Blackbeard's crew race to the Fountain of youth.

    Watch POTC 4 soon...

    My Pirates Order:
    1.POTC4. I give it 10/10
    2.POTC3: 9.8/10
    3.POTC1: 9.2
    4.POTC2: 8.8/10
    Expand
  3. May 22, 2011
    9
    I was not expecting this installment to be nearly as good as it was. The fact that it didn't have the Elizabeth/Will storyline made itI was not expecting this installment to be nearly as good as it was. The fact that it didn't have the Elizabeth/Will storyline made it instantly better than the last 2. I enjoyed the ride all the way through. The story was fun, the acting was great, and the entire experience left me saying, yea, I would go see a pirates 5! The critics are just too harsh. Expand
  4. May 21, 2011
    6
    When I first heard tat they were making this movie I could not believe it. The series was done. They wrapped it up with At Worldâ
  5. May 20, 2011
    6
    Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides is more less fun, but it's still not as good as the other trilogy. I still enjoy the fight scenesPirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides is more less fun, but it's still not as good as the other trilogy. I still enjoy the fight scenes they were great and Jack Sparrow could be funny, The main point is that the story is nothing much that great, it doesn't explain about the mermaid's myth, the new characters doesn't have no developed, and plot holes doesn't add up just like the rest of the three films together. I can only say it's great to see those pirates again once more and I hope this movie could be the last, so I will sit down and enjoy drinking with yo ho ho with the bottle-of-rum! Expand
  6. May 30, 2011
    5
    I had high hopes for On Stranger Tides when I heard that it was intended to be far less bogged down by numerous ludicrous subplots than itsI had high hopes for On Stranger Tides when I heard that it was intended to be far less bogged down by numerous ludicrous subplots than its predecessors. Unfortunately, this abandonment of over-complex narrative results in you actually being able to follow what is going on. I say unfortunately because now that you can understand the POTC world, you realise how ridiculous a series it is. Cap'n Jack is once again on a quest, but what this quest entails hardly matters when every scene is specifically tailored for Johnny Depp to show off. I never thought I'd tire of Captain Sparrow, but I think I finally have. It's not all bad though - there are some nice one-liners, the mermaids are impressive and Ian McShane is a real scene-stealer as the diabolical Blackbeard. Expand
  7. Aug 8, 2011
    0
    This pirate franchise has just sank to the bottom of the sea. The plot was flat, the characters were boring, the action was horrible, whatThis pirate franchise has just sank to the bottom of the sea. The plot was flat, the characters were boring, the action was horrible, what else is there to be said about this film? Expand

See all 177 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far

    Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: September 7, 2011
    The summer movie season has officially come to a close, which means that it's time once again to take a look at the quality and financial performance of the films released during the past few months (and the year to date).