Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: July 9, 2003
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 804 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
752
Mixed:
31
Negative:
21
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
SeriouslyMay 26, 2011
They say the first is always the best and it certainly applies here. Pirates of the Carribean: The Curse of the Black Pearl is the start to arguably one of the best film franchises to date. If you like comedy, action, drama, romance-They say the first is always the best and it certainly applies here. Pirates of the Carribean: The Curse of the Black Pearl is the start to arguably one of the best film franchises to date. If you like comedy, action, drama, romance- actually, if you like watching movies in general, you have got to see this one. I don't usually give films a solid ten (I think this is the first) but I can find no flaws here. It has a great plot, great performance by the cast, great visual effects and very memorable music. Just watch it already. Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
BenBMay 28, 2007
64? Why do the critics dislike this movie so much? Every single person I know who has seen this movie loves it! I mean LOVES it! All the girls say it's their favorite movie! It has everything you good want: good acting, humor, 64? Why do the critics dislike this movie so much? Every single person I know who has seen this movie loves it! I mean LOVES it! All the girls say it's their favorite movie! It has everything you good want: good acting, humor, spectacular action scenes, romance, and one of the best soundtracks ever created. Not to mention Geoffrey Rush and Johnny Depp acting together! This movie is awesome. If it doesn't make you want to grab a sword and go off to sail the seas, then you're probably dead. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
jwt7000Aug 6, 2012
The first and only the best movie in the series. While enjoying some of the great performances including the plot, characters and action scenes, Johnny Depp was at his most humorous state.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Jun 11, 2011
This pirate adventure tells the story about Jack Sparrow, who meets a young woman named Elizabeth Swann after saving her life. One night, with the gold medallion she carries around her neck, she gets captured by the pirates aboard the BlackThis pirate adventure tells the story about Jack Sparrow, who meets a young woman named Elizabeth Swann after saving her life. One night, with the gold medallion she carries around her neck, she gets captured by the pirates aboard the Black Pearl by the evil Barbossa who is using her to get the cave to find the treasure. However, the whole pirate crew is immortal due to the medallion and can turn into skeletons. With the help of a young man named Will Turner, Jack and his other crew members plan to save Elizabeth and put an end to Barbossa's reign once and for all.

Wow. I was thrilled when I caught the screening of this in July of 2003 that I have one word to say about it and the word is: FANTASTIC!!! Johnny Depp was very hilarious as Jack Sparrow and he was a very good actor. Orlando Bloom (for some reason, was in the third LOTR movie, which came out at the exact same year this movie did) did very well as Will Turner, Kiera Knightley (from King Arthur) was so cool as Elizabeth Swann and she was so freaking hot! Geoffrey Rush was very frightening, yet entertaining as Captain Barbossa and the rest of the actors did very well at their performances.

The CGI was pretty cool and even the action scenes were so cool. The storyline was well-paced and the cinematography was great.

There is nothing negative to say about this film, so I am in good hands.

Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl is an excellent Disney pirate adventure based on the popular ride from DisneyWorld and one of the best movies ever made from the early 2000s.

8/10
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Jack101Sep 12, 2012
The first real Pirates movie in history! Easily fun, exciting, and intriguing! It brings out the action in you and swordplay. Johnny Depp is truly a great actor, and Will and elizibeth make great couples.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
JmsbppJul 29, 2013
Excelente trabajo mostrando talento, originalidad y una forma de demostrar que disney puede dar accion buena y no de princesas por un man si no puede sacar y sacarle el jugo a la accion
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
YellowKirbySep 9, 2015
The best Pirates movie so far. Johnny Depp is brilliant, Orlando Bloom is brilliant, Kira Knightly is brilliant.. basically all the actors and actresses are brilliant in their roles, and the story is great. You'd have to be pretty grumpy notThe best Pirates movie so far. Johnny Depp is brilliant, Orlando Bloom is brilliant, Kira Knightly is brilliant.. basically all the actors and actresses are brilliant in their roles, and the story is great. You'd have to be pretty grumpy not to like this thriller of a ride! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Splatt3rOct 17, 2010
I think it is a very great movie. The atmosphere with the characters, especially Sparrow, the music and the settings are great. I can watch this movie over and over again and I can recommend this movie to anyone who likes this adventure-typeI think it is a very great movie. The atmosphere with the characters, especially Sparrow, the music and the settings are great. I can watch this movie over and over again and I can recommend this movie to anyone who likes this adventure-type of action movies. Expand
12 of 13 users found this helpful121
All this user's reviews
8
heyitsmegrif4Dec 30, 2011
Johnny Depp brings life to this breathtaking, exhausting, amazing and action packed film with a completely funny, unpredictable performance and the supporting cast does well too. I give this film 83%.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Mar 15, 2011
Who knew turning a theme park attraction into a movie would create an awesome movie and an incredible trilogy! Thank you Disney! And thank you Johnny Depp for making Captain Jack Sparrow such an iconic character!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
cameronmorewoodNov 9, 2012
The best film that could ever be made about pirates. Despite some cliches, the film has striking and brilliant action sequences, witty dialogue, and many other great characteristics that make it all its own.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
csw12Mar 25, 2012
A smart and dark film at the same time. Yes it is a Disney film but is very scary. i enjoyed every minute of it. Jonny Depp's peformance is one for the ages.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
AaronWasserman2May 5, 2014
A fun tale based off a ride. Johnny Depp owns this role and is debatebly his most known roleof all time. He is so funny and brings such a joy to the film.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
KateB.Aug 26, 2006
What is with the critics who don't like this film? It's amazing! With Johnny Depp playing the main character it is great and the best movie in ages. The balance of action and everything else works, and I like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonnyBoyJul 10, 2006
My favorite movie ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GerrickC.Jul 8, 2006
Pirates of the Caribbean is a movie with comedy, plenty of pirate adventure, and even some romance. The stroyline is easy enough to follow and the movie delivers some really spectacular pirate action. If you like pirates, Johnny Depp, or Pirates of the Caribbean is a movie with comedy, plenty of pirate adventure, and even some romance. The stroyline is easy enough to follow and the movie delivers some really spectacular pirate action. If you like pirates, Johnny Depp, or some swashbuckling action you will find Pirates of the Caribbean a wonderful movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HeidiW.Jul 9, 2006
I thought that this move was so GREAT!! i think that it was better than the first, except for elizibeth killing Johnny Depp. I thought that it was so funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YoungllingJan 2, 2007
This is no doubt the best movie ever!! Johnny Depp is charming, funny and sexy!! You can't get a better actor to play such a cool, smart and funny man such is Jack Sparrow!! If I could, I would rate this movie way past 10, so ending This is no doubt the best movie ever!! Johnny Depp is charming, funny and sexy!! You can't get a better actor to play such a cool, smart and funny man such is Jack Sparrow!! If I could, I would rate this movie way past 10, so ending with tht...this is the best movie ever made!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuliettH.Apr 5, 2008
yeah, allright, i think its a really really great movie! love depps performance, the story, the music, the caribbean in background:-) and of course the other actors too. this is brilliant and fun while watching, perfect entertainment! i yeah, allright, i think its a really really great movie! love depps performance, the story, the music, the caribbean in background:-) and of course the other actors too. this is brilliant and fun while watching, perfect entertainment! i love, love it and it's not only me Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelissaDec 1, 2003
Best movie I've seen all year. I enjoyed every one hundred and forty-three minutes of it. JD is cute, even when he looks like a pirate that just washed up on shore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelissaDec 1, 2003
Best movie I've seen all year. I enjoyed every one hundred and forty-three minutes of it. JD is cute, even when he looks like a pirate that just washed up on shore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyC.Mar 17, 2004
This movie rocks the house! I can't get enough of Depp and Orlando!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AmyA.Sep 13, 2005
This Film is good for certain points. I am now studying it for my media independant study at college, to be honest in comparison to old 1950s pirate movies its very similar. However the genre has developed and Disney in all honesty hasnt This Film is good for certain points. I am now studying it for my media independant study at college, to be honest in comparison to old 1950s pirate movies its very similar. However the genre has developed and Disney in all honesty hasnt done a bad job at turning the theme park (not video game) into a film. I can see why theyve hired Johnny Depp and Orlando Bloom for the young girls only because its generally men who go to see pirate films because of the swords and guns very phallic symbols if you ask me lol. All in All i think that this movie is great and I would recommend it to most people if you like a good giggle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AngeloP.Jun 21, 2006
Everything a viewer wants: action, romance, revenge, and a happy ending, albeit, a setup for a sequel!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkS.Jul 5, 2006
Yet another example of why to be wary or critics. If you didn't enjoy this movie, you shouldn't be going to the movies, period. Rarely, a movie comes along that absolutely no one has any business not enjoying unless they have an Yet another example of why to be wary or critics. If you didn't enjoy this movie, you shouldn't be going to the movies, period. Rarely, a movie comes along that absolutely no one has any business not enjoying unless they have an agenda or just love ragging on certain movies. This is one of them. Salon.com's review is particularly repulsively incompetent in its sheer 'incorrectness'. Now I know never to read them again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenF.Jul 6, 2006
This seems good enough movie for me to watch. You will like this movie. This is way better than the sequel
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveHJan 4, 2010
I knew of the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise since this film came out but was never interested in it until I came across a poll posted on a website asking "best film trilogy?" and was curious about it. I already had this film in DVD but I knew of the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise since this film came out but was never interested in it until I came across a poll posted on a website asking "best film trilogy?" and was curious about it. I already had this film in DVD but never saw it, I checked and hell, it was very interesting, the setting is good, the story is a littleflat but the ambient was so good and Jack Sparrow is so much of a cool character. Definitely looking forward to seeing the other films and might see again this film several times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaeS.Dec 1, 2005
It was the best! I think so.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SofieDK2Jan 11, 2006
Best movie ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FredBobOct 18, 2006
This movie is GREAT!! Just needs a little bit more. I'm not sure what but...... I just don't think i can give is a 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleaD.Dec 30, 2006
I think this is one of my favorite movies ever. The second is better but I still loved it. It has action, adventure, comedy and romance. what else do you need?!?!? i give johnny depp 2 thumbs up for #1 best actor ever. and i give pirates...anI think this is one of my favorite movies ever. The second is better but I still loved it. It has action, adventure, comedy and romance. what else do you need?!?!? i give johnny depp 2 thumbs up for #1 best actor ever. and i give pirates...an outstanding...AYE!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicolleH.Feb 17, 2006
The movie rocked! Johnny Depp was totally awsome, as always. All the other actors and actresses were great too.....I could watch the movie over and over again without ever getting bored.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChristopherH.Mar 25, 2006
The best Disney movie to be released in recent years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyE.Apr 18, 2006
I thought Disney would screw this up but they actually did a great job. Depp deserves the Oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ZachM.May 5, 2007
It was amazing Verbinski brought the best out of Johnny Depp he had him ham it up like Steve Martin and play a serious role like Nicholas Cage all roled into one lovable character. It was a great film but I admit it it wasnt as creative as It was amazing Verbinski brought the best out of Johnny Depp he had him ham it up like Steve Martin and play a serious role like Nicholas Cage all roled into one lovable character. It was a great film but I admit it it wasnt as creative as it could have been but it was the best historical fantasy I have ever seen. The action nailed me to my seat and to take some of the pressure off Jack Sparrow was there a drunken sailor he gave the movie some gteat comic relief. Every actor was perfectly handpicked to be a adventurous comical sailors and pirates. Well done!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlecR.Jan 9, 2008
OK I don't understand why people think this is a horrible movie. It's funny, and has an entertaining story. I go to the movies, and buy them on DVD, to have fun, not say "Wow he didn't say that line with much emotion, OK I don't understand why people think this is a horrible movie. It's funny, and has an entertaining story. I go to the movies, and buy them on DVD, to have fun, not say "Wow he didn't say that line with much emotion, he's a terrible actor." Just enjoy a movie because that's what you're supposed to do with a movie. Oh and about critics, it's better for their paycheck if they give a movie a lower score. They actually don't know what they are taking about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SophieJun 22, 2008
I thought this film was absolutely amazing and everyone i no loves it especially the girls because of the dreamy actor orlando bloom! If i could at least sit and watch them filming i would i love this movie ssssssooooooooooo much!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichelleP.Jul 12, 2003
Well, after being disappointed with "Matrix Reloaded" AND "Legally Blonde 2", I felt there was no hope for a decent summer flick other than Nemo which I saw enough times. I was actually anticipating on seeing this movie (the trailers were Well, after being disappointed with "Matrix Reloaded" AND "Legally Blonde 2", I felt there was no hope for a decent summer flick other than Nemo which I saw enough times. I was actually anticipating on seeing this movie (the trailers were the reason), but then the SF Chronicle pretty much gave it a bomb so I was reluctant to see it. But I did. And I had so much fun too. Johnny Depp MADE the movie, he was hilarious. It was like watching "Monty Python and the Holy Grail" only a bit more serious and it wasn't set in the medieval times. Had it not had in humor, this movie would have been AWFUL. The plot was very creative (heck if this film had been made into novel and not a movie it still would've been great). The action scenes held my attention better than "The Matrix Reloaded"'s did. And it had incredibly cool special effects as well. Yes, it's long but I didn't care. The only complaint I have is that one plot hole about Johnny Depp's character, but I don't want to give it away. Overall, go sea it, and ignore the negative reviews. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichelleP.Jul 14, 2003
Well, after being disappointed with "Matrix Reloaded" AND "Legally Blonde 2", I felt there was no hope for a decent summer flick other than Nemo which I saw enough times. I was actually anticipating on seeing this movie (the trailers were Well, after being disappointed with "Matrix Reloaded" AND "Legally Blonde 2", I felt there was no hope for a decent summer flick other than Nemo which I saw enough times. I was actually anticipating on seeing this movie (the trailers were the reason), but then the SF Chronicle pretty much gave it a bomb so I was reluctant to see it. But I did. And I had so much fun too. Johnny Depp MADE the movie, he was hilarious. It was like watching "Monty Python and the Holy Grail" only a bit more serious and it wasn't set in the medieval times. Had it not had in humor, this movie would have been AWFUL. The plot was very creative (heck if this film had been made into novel and not a movie it still would've been great). The action scenes held my attention better than "The Matrix Reloaded"'s did. And it had incredibly cool special effects as well. Yes, it's long but I didn't care. The only complaint I have is that one plot hole about Johnny Depp's character, but I don't want to give it away. Overall, go sea it, and ignore the negative reviews. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulaM.May 19, 2005
This is the best movie I have ever seen in my whole life!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WalterY.Jan 15, 2006
Because I'm a huge fan of pirates and the Disney Ride itself, I loved the movie. J. Depp was excellent, as were his fellow actors. The plot was genious and entertaining. There were maybe one or two dull spots, but they were necessary to Because I'm a huge fan of pirates and the Disney Ride itself, I loved the movie. J. Depp was excellent, as were his fellow actors. The plot was genious and entertaining. There were maybe one or two dull spots, but they were necessary to explain the plot. I especially enjoyed all of the literary devices used in the film, such as foreshadowing and symbolism. Maybe I'm more of the literary type and that is also why I enjoyed this film. To all of you who gave this movie a bad rating, you are uncultured and need to maybe read a book. For those of you that hate the movie because of the female fasination of the leading males, that's just sad... This movie was an excellent piece of artistry and I enjoyed it very much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElizabethC.Dec 20, 2006
Johnny Depp was AWESOME in this movie!!! I loved it. I saw it twice in theatres and bought it the day it came out in dvd.... One of my favorite movies!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelissaR.Jul 22, 2006
this movie is the best also dead mans chest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GoldenEye16Aug 22, 2010
An instantly classic movie that i've seen way too many times because it's so good. The music is especially awesome as well as the hilarious quirkiness of Captain Jack Sparrow. Never gets old.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JacobDec 27, 2013
This may not be the greatest movie ever made but that does not mean it is boring at all. This is a really entertaining movie. The characters are likeable, the action is engaging, and there are some great performances. The film can drag atThis may not be the greatest movie ever made but that does not mean it is boring at all. This is a really entertaining movie. The characters are likeable, the action is engaging, and there are some great performances. The film can drag at times and the story does get a tad overly complicated but not too much. Overall I really enjoy this movie. Pirates of the Carribean: The Curse of The Black Pearl is a ton of fun to watch and just makes you want to be a pirate. I’ve seen it several times and I know I’ll probably wind up watching it again in the future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
asylumspadezNov 23, 2011
Actually was pretty good. The only decent film in the entire series if you ask me. While the long run time does hurt it a bit, It was still an enjoyable film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
seiferJan 6, 2011
There is a girl in my class that would have the same opinion of this movie as I do, Great story, interesting plot and hilarious moments... This is truly a great that will go down in history... But the rest might not....... Looking forward toThere is a girl in my class that would have the same opinion of this movie as I do, Great story, interesting plot and hilarious moments... This is truly a great that will go down in history... But the rest might not....... Looking forward to 4th movie coming to cinema soon Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MoviebuffreviewMar 21, 2011
Arg this is a pirates life for me! With unforgettable characters, a clever script, incredible action sequences, and an excellent mood, Pirates of the Caribbean is the perfect blockbuster and an incredible ride! :D
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gio_gioJan 22, 2011
coool cool cool cooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooool
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
coolevMay 18, 2011
This movie will make you love pirates if you didn't already love it. Depp is great in this! Lots of cool sword fights and action scenes in it, too! It's a great story, and will want to watch it over and over again!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CRLAug 27, 2011
Nothing is better than the original, as is the truth with the film that introduced Captain Jack Sparrow to the world that has yet to let go. The first Pirates movie is a boatload of wacky, PG-13 fun, filled with sword-fights, skeletons,Nothing is better than the original, as is the truth with the film that introduced Captain Jack Sparrow to the world that has yet to let go. The first Pirates movie is a boatload of wacky, PG-13 fun, filled with sword-fights, skeletons, general hilarity, and the kind of cheesy love story that adds to the movie instead of subtracting from it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Potter17Dec 11, 2011
"The Curse of the Black Pearl" is a 143 minutes ride of a thrilling adventure featuring rich CGI, action-packed tone and a powerful performance from Depp. This is a perfect summer blockbuster.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
shamusolarrySep 8, 2011
A good movie all around. Good acting, good writing, great score, some really memorable quotes. Depp as Jack Sparrow should go down in film history as one of the greatest characters ever. There is something off about the final scene that IA good movie all around. Good acting, good writing, great score, some really memorable quotes. Depp as Jack Sparrow should go down in film history as one of the greatest characters ever. There is something off about the final scene that I can't quite figure out, but that's my only real complaint. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TipsyMcBeeDec 3, 2011
The film maybe long and sometimes too over the top, but Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl is a good popcorn film filled with comedy, drama and action, especially a lot of action. I may have said the acting at times can beThe film maybe long and sometimes too over the top, but Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl is a good popcorn film filled with comedy, drama and action, especially a lot of action. I may have said the acting at times can be too over the top with many of the characters, but some performances like Johnny Depp (Jack Sparrow) and Geoffrey Rush (Captain Barbossa) were believable throughout the movie. The plot for the most part was straight forward, though this would be a film you have to listen carefully, for sometimes the dialogue from some thick speaking actors will recital things too quickly. If you want to hear a good old pirate's tale, then The Curse of the Black Pearl is the film you must keep an eye on. All audience alike will certainly not be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JentgenMay 23, 2017
An excellent movie. Just been watching it after dead men tell no tails just came out. Needed to remember the root and they are so fresh.A well writed story, some strong but simple character ( what you expect for a standard popcorn movie). OfAn excellent movie. Just been watching it after dead men tell no tails just came out. Needed to remember the root and they are so fresh.A well writed story, some strong but simple character ( what you expect for a standard popcorn movie). Of course Jonny Depp is shinning as this fancy pirate but the magic works. We're far from its sequel that shows more special effect sequence than real story, taking the time to develope characters and make them truly appreciable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFJun 28, 2013
A blockbuster in every way, The Curse of the Black Pearl is a perfect start to a massively grossing franchise that is still going, flawed but definitely enjoyable, much more than a film based on a theme park ride should have been.
Johnny
A blockbuster in every way, The Curse of the Black Pearl is a perfect start to a massively grossing franchise that is still going, flawed but definitely enjoyable, much more than a film based on a theme park ride should have been.
Johnny Depp creates a character that will undoubtedly be one of if not the most iconic of all his roles, Captain Jack Sparrow, don't forget the 'Captain' part, he won't like that. A man famous for us often personal and more bizarre roles has created one of the most memorable and comic characters we have seen, and to top it all off, he's a pirate.
Set in the midst of the age of the cutlass-wielding treasure hunters, Jack lands in Port Royal where inadvertently saves the Governors daughter, Elizabeth Swan (Kiera Knightley). He somewhat befriends blacksmith Will Turner (Orlando Bloom) who sets out with him to capture the infamous Black Pearl, a ship run by the dead who have been cursed after stealing the wrong sort of treasure.
The set-pieces are explosive and the dialogue is a homage to the age the film is set in. There is quite a reliance on humour, which pays off in many aspects throughout the film but at other points can fall short of its target, the two high points of this being Jack Sparrow himself played uniquely by Depp, bringing his very own take and charisma to the character, and Geoffrey Rush who plays the Captain of the Black Pearl, Barbosa, whose confident and grumbled Irish accent and command of the screen, along the unfortunately limited screen time himself and Depp share together, make up very dark and witty humour throughout.
The heart of the film is lead by Knightley and Bloom who have a blossoming romance on the cards, their scenes can be a little dramatic for the theme of the film, and more time should have been spent getting to know these pirates more, but take the good with the bad I suppose.
Of course the true brand of the film is that of Jack Sparrow, his mumbling and comedic quips with those surrounding him are electrifying through the talent of Depp, and while the supporting cast are on sound form, he truly steals the show, along with quite the satisfying finale that of course opened all sorts of doors. The film is quite remarkable in the sense of its emergence from nothing, but I suppose if Ron Howard takes inspiration from paintings, a theme park ride is bound to be a creative playground.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
critic55Dec 7, 2011
Pirates of the Caribbean, The Curse of the Black Pearl, directed by Gregor Verbiniski, is one of the best action/ adventure films of 2003 and was based on a Disney World ride. Verbiniski directed a few other movies before hitting it big withPirates of the Caribbean, The Curse of the Black Pearl, directed by Gregor Verbiniski, is one of the best action/ adventure films of 2003 and was based on a Disney World ride. Verbiniski directed a few other movies before hitting it big with this one. It grossed over 650 million worldwide, and gave Verbiniski the type of success most directors envy. Pirates of the Caribbean will draw you in and keep you hooked, with a burning ship, a mysterious pirate flag, and the grand entrance of Jack Sparrow. With his amazing escape via ship parts and zip lines, a sword fight on roof beams... and that's just the beginning. Then the intrigue truly begins. Have you ever watched a movie, where reality and fantasy come together adding a mythological twist to it? Sit back while the director transports you to a far away place to create this fantastic movie, thatâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LandFApr 19, 2012
Pirates Of The Caribbean: The Curse Of The Black Pearl is flawed fun. It's mostly predictable, it's got some good gags, but it's heavily flawed. The film has literally HUNDREDS of contradictions and plot holes. I enjoyed the film, but thePirates Of The Caribbean: The Curse Of The Black Pearl is flawed fun. It's mostly predictable, it's got some good gags, but it's heavily flawed. The film has literally HUNDREDS of contradictions and plot holes. I enjoyed the film, but the contradicitions were distracting. This film has a fantastic first half hour. It's funny, and thrilling at times. However, after that first half hour, the quality drops. It's still enjoyable, and you will be entertained, but it never lives up to that first half hour. The musical score is VERY good. There were too many hands in the score for me to properly credit anyone, but Hanz Zimmer played a big part in the score, and it shows. The action, is mostly generic, and will never have you on the edge of your seat. At times, the action is even predictable. At the minimum, it's passable, and not terrible. The acting is strong. Performances from Johnny Depp, Orlando Bloom, and Geofferey Rush shine. The story is a little on the cliche side, but it's a silly tale, and no one really cares. In addition to contradictions, there were a lot of moments where I rolled my eyes at the improbability of it all. Of course, teenage boys tend to eat that stuff up. POTC: TCOTBP is a fun, albeit flawed movie, that's probably best for teens and tweens with low expectations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
devo-ncJun 20, 2015
Entertaining and well-spirited swashbuckler going beyond the ride in joyfully creating a world of story, of character and of heart. Even though it's boring on occasion, was the ride not a little dull at times, being a water ride, the movie isEntertaining and well-spirited swashbuckler going beyond the ride in joyfully creating a world of story, of character and of heart. Even though it's boring on occasion, was the ride not a little dull at times, being a water ride, the movie is a roller coaster. It takes dip and dives but not enough twirls and spirals to make a terrific memorable film become a classic. Moreover, Johnny Depp's performance is not only iconic, he has defined an image of himself, very rare showing in such case Disney still has got the chops. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
oxanaMay 20, 2014
This was the fist movie I went to see in the cinema more than once, as far as I can recall.

The plot is eventful and full of twists. I like detailed movies, and here the camera angles, focus, colors, and little tips given with these
This was the fist movie I went to see in the cinema more than once, as far as I can recall.

The plot is eventful and full of twists. I like detailed movies, and here the camera angles, focus, colors, and little tips given with these underline the intent that is not stated in words, but left for the audience to figure out. Sometimes, we see things coming for a long time, but "The Curse of the Black Pearl" manages to surprise nonetheless, time and time again. Witty and sometimes fast-paced, this film is both serious and funny at the same time without ruining one of the two.

Most of the fighting scenes were very entertaining. The characteristics of each person are respectfully regarded, and instead of beating enemies into pulp, there are clever moves that make you sit on the edge of your seat in excitement - while grinning widely, especially if you've seen the film before.

The characters and actors are each their own individuals. The casting is perfect; Johnny Depp as the by-now iconic Captain Jack Sparrow, Orlando Bloom as Will Turner, the hero who has plenty of room to grow and become the man he's meant to be, and Elisabeth Swann (Keira Knightely), who can barely contain herself from becoming who she would really want to be instead of being what she's supposed to be. It's interesting how she's so much more interested in being a pirate than Will is, who has it in his blood (although in the beginning he would have none of that).

Also, it must be said that Geoffrey Rush as Captain Barbossa is born to be a pirate. Convincing and sophisticated while being a total brute... Not many can pull it off.

Many supporting characters just add into the world of the movie, and are very important to it and its spirit. The comic elements draw a lot from these characters, and their chemistry between each other is undeniably funny and thought-provoking.

Little hints to past events are thrown this way and that. Some remain unresolved to the end, and are there to deepen the world of the movie, and to be explored in the following sequels.

All in all, "Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl", is pretty much a perfect movie. The music, the plot, the characters, and the successful balance between action, mystery and comedy create a movie that sets a standard for the pirate movies to come.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobJan 1, 2013
The best movie in the Pirates franchise. Johnny Depp is perfect as Jack Sparrow, He really makes the movie imo. Good action, Solid acting by the rest of the cast, and an interesting and original story as well. I would definently recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
skyminsterMay 11, 2012
Pirates of the Caribbean: the curse of the black pearl is a hilarious action packed comedy/(kind of) horror. It's brilliant, with great action, humor, horror, good acting, very good special effects for the time that it was made (they'd stillPirates of the Caribbean: the curse of the black pearl is a hilarious action packed comedy/(kind of) horror. It's brilliant, with great action, humor, horror, good acting, very good special effects for the time that it was made (they'd still be OK if they were in a film made now), and an interesting plot. I'm tempted to give it a ten, you really should watch it if you haven't seen it already! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Critic2012Jun 11, 2012
Pirates of the Caribbean looks to be the beginning of a new franchise that millions are going to enjoy, not only for the story, but for the cast and over-the-top action the film provides.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
Between land and sea, you'll find this to be more than an exciting adventure. If an action-adventure can provide you with ample thrills and laughter, what more do you need?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Trev29Dec 9, 2013
Wonderfully entertaining. The entire concept was portrayed just as you think it would be. Jack Sparrow is one of if not the most amusing character to grace the screen. Excellent!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GodotIsW8ing4UJul 4, 2013
The first film in the series is unquestionably the best. Jack Sparrow is an excellent character, and really carries the movie. It reminds me of the old Marx Brothers films: if not for Groucho, Chico, and Harpo, they would be bland and nobodyThe first film in the series is unquestionably the best. Jack Sparrow is an excellent character, and really carries the movie. It reminds me of the old Marx Brothers films: if not for Groucho, Chico, and Harpo, they would be bland and nobody would care, but thanks to Jack Sparrow who seems to incorporate the best elements of all three the movie ends up fantastically entertaining. Will Turner may be the protagonist by any helpful analysis of story structure, but Jack is the reason you're watching, and he's well worth it.

The Curse of the Black Pearl has a solid, familiar-yet-surprising story at its heart, that never loses sight of where it's going next. This is part of what makes it good: you can guess roughly where it's going next, and have your expectations confirmed, but there's always some surprise complication waiting for you when you get there, so you're never bored. One of the best Disney movies of the 2000s, and well worth seeing by anyone.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tall_But_ShortMay 26, 2012
The story starts off at Port Royal. Here, a well-known pirate, Captain Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp), arrives at the town. He escapes from the governor and the militia but ends up fighting a blacksmith by the name of Will Turner (Orlando Bloom).The story starts off at Port Royal. Here, a well-known pirate, Captain Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp), arrives at the town. He escapes from the governor and the militia but ends up fighting a blacksmith by the name of Will Turner (Orlando Bloom). Jack is eventually caught by the militia and is imprisoned. All of a sudden, a ship with black flags, The Black Pearl, comes to the town with a pirate crew and the captain aboard. The pirates start to pillage the village and eventually Will gets knocked because of all the mayhem. Two other pirates go to the governor's palace to capture his daughter, Elizabeth Swan (Keira Knightley), but what they are really after is something that she possesses, a necklace bearing a gold coin. These pirates capture Elizabeth and Will wants to get her back so he breaks Jack out of his cell and they both set off on a quest to rescue Elizabeth. Though Jack, has intentions of his own which involve the captain of the Black Pearl, Captain Barbosa. Yes, you might have guessed that the story can't be that simple and you're right. It isn't. But what would be the fun if I just told you the whole story? Anyways, this isn't an ordinary pirates story even though it does involve some treasure. The first movie of this series is much better than I really expected it to be. The movie is funny, action-packed, and has a crew of excellent actors and actresses. This movie also has great visuals and a story that clings to you so you can't wait until you see the end. The story for this film is probably the best that Disney has provided for a live-action film so far. When I was watching this film, it didn't feel like a Disney movie at all and I was kind of upset for not keeping up with the series before. I mean, this movie was unlike any other Disney movie I have seen before. It actually had some real action (mostly sword fights) and great actors. I do not think this movie could have been done better. Well, maybe better visuals since we have advanced in that aspect but that's besides the point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OfficialNov 5, 2013
"Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl" has well exceeded my expectations. It's humorous, action-packed and thrilling. Johnny Depp is fantastic as Jack Sparrow. The problem with it is that sometimes focuses too much on humor"Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl" has well exceeded my expectations. It's humorous, action-packed and thrilling. Johnny Depp is fantastic as Jack Sparrow. The problem with it is that sometimes focuses too much on humor and forgets the plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BeatHourJul 7, 2013
Great action movie. One of the only good series Hollywood has produced in the last 10 years.

I don't know how someone could not like this. Even if its just Triple-A action fluff, its very good at it. This is one of the only "ultimate
Great action movie. One of the only good series Hollywood has produced in the last 10 years.

I don't know how someone could not like this. Even if its just Triple-A action fluff, its very good at it. This is one of the only "ultimate theatre experiences" along with film franchises like Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, Batman (Begins Dark Knight Rises), and Terminator 1 & 2. I'm not sure how, with as few good modern movies as there are, anyone could pick and choose which modern epics they enjoy.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wesker2012Mar 8, 2013
The best pirate movie ever made. An instant classic and a masterpiece great for both children and adults!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
moonman1994Dec 23, 2013
Creepy but not too creepy and it has a perfectly gripping and entertaining story. Depp is great in the lead and the entire cast supports him perfectly. This film is the film that really made pirates interesting again and it is certainly worthCreepy but not too creepy and it has a perfectly gripping and entertaining story. Depp is great in the lead and the entire cast supports him perfectly. This film is the film that really made pirates interesting again and it is certainly worth a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleNov 22, 2013
Really well done blockbuster film. Funny, exciting, and good acting, especially from Johnny Depp make this movie extremely entertaining. While it could have been a lot more "badass", I kinda liked that they strayed from that and instead wentReally well done blockbuster film. Funny, exciting, and good acting, especially from Johnny Depp make this movie extremely entertaining. While it could have been a lot more "badass", I kinda liked that they strayed from that and instead went more family friendly with it. I think it adds a certain tone which really adds to the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GarianAug 25, 2012
Just watched the film as it was on TV a few hours ago, already seen it beforehand, but seeing it again let me write this review properly, it was action-packed, hilarious and kept you sitting there watching it without wanting to get up out ofJust watched the film as it was on TV a few hours ago, already seen it beforehand, but seeing it again let me write this review properly, it was action-packed, hilarious and kept you sitting there watching it without wanting to get up out of your seat. Not to mention the amazing music by Hanz Zimmer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RikiegeJan 23, 2013
An instant classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Dec 7, 2015
Yeah, some of the effects are dated now, but "The Curse Of The Black Pearl's" heart and soul still rings true to this day. Johnny Depp and Gore Verbinski accomplish the seemingly impossible - they turn a kitsch-y theme park ride into solid,Yeah, some of the effects are dated now, but "The Curse Of The Black Pearl's" heart and soul still rings true to this day. Johnny Depp and Gore Verbinski accomplish the seemingly impossible - they turn a kitsch-y theme park ride into solid, filmic entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SwatiFeb 9, 2013
One of the most entertaining movies I've ever seen. Johnny Depp delivers his most memorable performance. It combined comedy, horror, adventure and action flawlessly. This is the only movie where I liked Keira Knightley. Orlando Bloom seemedOne of the most entertaining movies I've ever seen. Johnny Depp delivers his most memorable performance. It combined comedy, horror, adventure and action flawlessly. This is the only movie where I liked Keira Knightley. Orlando Bloom seemed somewhat off, though. His acting is the only thing that improved over the next two movies. Sadly, the series on a whole turned out to be a one hit wonder. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Rox22Sep 29, 2013
I absolutely loved this movie. Anything and everything I ever wanted in a pirate movie, all in one place.

Excellent visuals, fantastic performances and gripping story. Overall: I can not fault this movie for anything. I have watched it
I absolutely loved this movie. Anything and everything I ever wanted in a pirate movie, all in one place.

Excellent visuals, fantastic performances and gripping story.

Overall:
I can not fault this movie for anything. I have watched it countless times and will continue to watch it many times more.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SimpleMethodJul 11, 2013
I'm writing this review after watching The Lone Ranger. I think the amount of time and dip in quality in between the first Pirates movie and The Lone Ranger really solidifies my opinion on the general decay of Hollywood. I have a limitedI'm writing this review after watching The Lone Ranger. I think the amount of time and dip in quality in between the first Pirates movie and The Lone Ranger really solidifies my opinion on the general decay of Hollywood. I have a limited amount of hope for Pirates 5. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ninja_dolphinFeb 9, 2013
The original movie is definitely the best of the series due to it having better pacing, a greater balance of comedy and action and the best performances the actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SEROJDec 21, 2015
I can't believe i forgot to review this saga!! I remember the first time i watched "Pirates of the carribean" with my dad. This is without any doubt, the best pirate movie saga yet! I personally like the other part a bit more, but overall iI can't believe i forgot to review this saga!! I remember the first time i watched "Pirates of the carribean" with my dad. This is without any doubt, the best pirate movie saga yet! I personally like the other part a bit more, but overall i don't think you should miss any of the series! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SobrleMar 20, 2013
I like very much how john depp plays the play of the very claver and sometimes stupid pirat who likes very much girls, action and the most of all he loves alchohol an at all he is very funny and he makes movie very funny and it i greatI like very much how john depp plays the play of the very claver and sometimes stupid pirat who likes very much girls, action and the most of all he loves alchohol an at all he is very funny and he makes movie very funny and it i great comedy. I like very much and of this action,comedy and most at all adveanture movie becose i like very muc how the pirates in the end determined thet this girl elizabeth (keira knightley) is not a girl of a pirat and then comes a jack sparrow and will turner (orlando bloom) and jack sparrow fight with barbossa and at same time when jack sparrow shot barbossa in the hart will turner whes father was a pirat give bood to the coins and barbossa dies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
chidimeAug 15, 2017
Good movie. Interesting and humorous, while still being dark and heavy with content. Only drawback was the usual deux ex machina-type stuff with people being saved last minute and a few convenient plot lines. But even with those (and theyGood movie. Interesting and humorous, while still being dark and heavy with content. Only drawback was the usual deux ex machina-type stuff with people being saved last minute and a few convenient plot lines. But even with those (and they weren't that many), it was still a really good movie. Highly recommend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LoRevisorFeb 26, 2015
Sensacional!!!!,Com um brilhante roteiro escrito por Ted Elliot e Terry Rossio,Piratas Do Caribe é uma excelente aventura. Com clássicas cenas de ações,memoráveis falas,e brilhantes atuações de Johnny Depp e Geoffrey Rush,Johnny Depp na suaSensacional!!!!,Com um brilhante roteiro escrito por Ted Elliot e Terry Rossio,Piratas Do Caribe é uma excelente aventura. Com clássicas cenas de ações,memoráveis falas,e brilhantes atuações de Johnny Depp e Geoffrey Rush,Johnny Depp na sua singular e inédita atuação montou um personagem inesquecível e amado por toda a terra Jack Sparrow desculpe Capitão Jack Sparrow,e Geoffrey Rush é genial como o antagonista Hector Barbossa Capitão Barbossa,Uma ótima história com muito humor. Merecidamente digno de fantásticas sequências e uma franquia de super sucesso comercial. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyStephensAug 30, 2013
Simply one of the best movies ever made!! Very suspenseful!!! Very very very very good!!! A huge well done to Gore Verbinski, his crew and all the actors of that picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DibbHansenJul 14, 2013
This film is a film that caught everyone off guard- no one expected a Pirate film to be this epic and amazing! The film has a surprisingly well written and witty script, a fantastic and perfect performance by Johnny Depp, awesome actionThis film is a film that caught everyone off guard- no one expected a Pirate film to be this epic and amazing! The film has a surprisingly well written and witty script, a fantastic and perfect performance by Johnny Depp, awesome action sequences, classic and awesome music (Klaus Badelt and Hans Zimmer do spectacular) and the visuals are epic. This film has classic written all over it and is one of the best adventure films ever made, Disney rarely disappoints lads and lasses. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheApplegnomeFeb 6, 2014
This is a movie that's got everything from an exceptional story, wonderful music, fantasy, humor & action to great special effects, and the most important thing: the actors are awesome in this movie! This movie got so many unique things thatThis is a movie that's got everything from an exceptional story, wonderful music, fantasy, humor & action to great special effects, and the most important thing: the actors are awesome in this movie! This movie got so many unique things that you haven't seen before, & combined with eventful scenes, is this movie awesome.
The beginning however, could have been more eventful maybe, because it felt a little boring, and it took a while for the movie to start. Another bad thing about this movie is that it's a little boring at some places, and that they could have done more spectacular things, but that doesn't matter actually, because this is a stunning & awesome movie with real action that you can watch over and over.

Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl gets a 8/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AVTRlover41Aug 15, 2013
This was an amazing movie. It still remains to be one of the best movies that I have ever seen, even though it has been 10 years since I first saw it. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticOct 26, 2013
The film brings and opens an eclectic version of the well known swashbuckler genre; a light-hearted, and amusing version with a hilarious Depp as the sardonic and metaphorical Jack Sparrow, and everyone else seems to be weaved into the plot.The film brings and opens an eclectic version of the well known swashbuckler genre; a light-hearted, and amusing version with a hilarious Depp as the sardonic and metaphorical Jack Sparrow, and everyone else seems to be weaved into the plot. Bloom and Knightley make a poignant melodramatic piece to the film. It's authentic as it is ludicrous. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysSep 19, 2013
The movie itself is very good, but it is the score that brings it to life and steps it up to the next level. Everyone knows the Pirates of the Caribbean theme, and Hans Zimmer is a master at movie scores. With exciting action to witness and aThe movie itself is very good, but it is the score that brings it to life and steps it up to the next level. Everyone knows the Pirates of the Caribbean theme, and Hans Zimmer is a master at movie scores. With exciting action to witness and a great score to hum along to, you can't go wrong with this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cag11Nov 29, 2013
I loved it. It had dark moments, especially for a Disney movie. Plus it had extremely great humor from Johnny Depp, which added to the excitingly fun movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
VidyaBumMay 24, 2014
To cut it short, this movie would be a great adventure and pirate movie with every possible quality if it didn't try to cram every single scene with comic relief.

Now I like comic relief and I understand this is a Disney movie, but when
To cut it short, this movie would be a great adventure and pirate movie with every possible quality if it didn't try to cram every single scene with comic relief.

Now I like comic relief and I understand this is a Disney movie, but when Jack Sparrow is having his epic final battle with Barbossa and everything hangs in the balance of that fight, interrupting it several times to see the governor batting a skeletal forearm like a wuss and seeing a pirate chase after his glass eye amidst the fighting in a tom-and-jerry kind of comedy is the last thing I want to see.

The overabundance of misplaced comic relief brings a solid 8 or maybe 9/10 to a 6 or 7 at best.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DrewtheDude85Apr 13, 2014
The first installment of the POTC Movie franchise is a very fun and very enjoyable film to watch. It has a fun and enjoyable cast of characters, a good story and some cool atmospheres. Another thing about this film is that I like all theThe first installment of the POTC Movie franchise is a very fun and very enjoyable film to watch. It has a fun and enjoyable cast of characters, a good story and some cool atmospheres. Another thing about this film is that I like all the references this film makes to the Disneyland attraction it was based off making this seem like a good "tribute" film in a way. One thing I will say about this film, however, is the action and fighting scenes is a little repetitive in a way, but over all it was mostly good. POTC: The Curse of the Black Pearl is a very good film that no one should miss out on. I'd recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
diogomendesJan 31, 2015
"Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl" is undeniably a fun film. The action is entertaining, the story is not engaging but it will keep you entertained and Johnny Depp's performance is witty at best.

I'm gonna give this
"Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl" is undeniably a fun film. The action is entertaining, the story is not engaging but it will keep you entertained and Johnny Depp's performance is witty at best.

I'm gonna give this movie a solid 7/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SythusRATINGSOct 18, 2014
For the roguish yet charming Captain Jack Sparrow (Depp), the crystalline waters if the Caribbean present a vast playground where adventure and mystery abound. But Jack's idyllic pirate life capsizes after his nemesis, the wily CaptainFor the roguish yet charming Captain Jack Sparrow (Depp), the crystalline waters if the Caribbean present a vast playground where adventure and mystery abound. But Jack's idyllic pirate life capsizes after his nemesis, the wily Captain Barbossa (Rush), steals his ship, the Black Pearl, and kidnaps the Governor's (Pryce) beautiful daughter, Elizabeth Swann (Knightley). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NerdConsultantDec 30, 2014
it's a simple yet amazing movie. it had simple plot of ghost story based around pirate mythology with great actors, soundtrack, and cinematography. it has great charm to it that i think is missing from a lot of films like this and i thinkit's a simple yet amazing movie. it had simple plot of ghost story based around pirate mythology with great actors, soundtrack, and cinematography. it has great charm to it that i think is missing from a lot of films like this and i think that comes from it's characters. it's my favourite disney movie and i hope future movies with replicate what made it great Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JohnMasterLFeb 27, 2015
Divertida, oscura, repleta de acción, efectos especiales y buenas actuaciones, La primera parte tiene un toque mas serio que sus próximas secuelas, pero aun así, es una excelente pelicula.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DBPirate1129Jan 11, 2015
While I was originally skeptical about the film, the first installment in the Pirates of the Caribbean series will leave you wanting for more fast-paced adventures with Jack Sparrow and Hector Barbossa.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SmileATTJan 24, 2015
Pirates of the Caribbean im not sure is that a good movie or a bad but its definitely something that's never made before in the film industry there are not many movies with pirates specially a mad pirates like Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp).ThePirates of the Caribbean im not sure is that a good movie or a bad but its definitely something that's never made before in the film industry there are not many movies with pirates specially a mad pirates like Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp).The movie take you to an advanture that you can not only see you can even feel it with every minute of the movie .They are so many aspects of the movie we have two lovers the blacksmith Orlando Bloom and the outstanding Keira Knightley in role of daughter of the governer Who are trying to gather but the circumstances don't allow that so easly .We have cursed captain Barbosa who is trying to broke the curse and he will not stop until he do it even if that mean to destroy the hole England army of port Royal.The movie is what exactly have to be an ADVENTURE and is there a better adventure than this with crazy pirate played by Jhonny Dep . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LinttaFlamingoOct 18, 2016
The Curse of the Black Pearl is pretty much the perfect pirate movie. Soulful performances (especially Johnny Depp) and epic action, and while it sheds epicness on every scene, it's never over bloated that it would feel confusing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
homer4presidentMar 16, 2015
One of the best films of last decade. The action is great, the plot is clear (unlike the other movies in the series), and the acting was great. Oh, and it's funny too!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews