Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: July 9, 2003
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 757 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
704
Mixed:
31
Negative:
22
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
JentgenMay 23, 2017
An excellent movie. Just been watching it after dead men tell no tails just came out. Needed to remember the root and they are so fresh.A well writed story, some strong but simple character ( what you expect for a standard popcorn movie). OfAn excellent movie. Just been watching it after dead men tell no tails just came out. Needed to remember the root and they are so fresh.A well writed story, some strong but simple character ( what you expect for a standard popcorn movie). Of course Jonny Depp is shinning as this fancy pirate but the magic works. We're far from its sequel that shows more special effect sequence than real story, taking the time to develope characters and make them truly appreciable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FuturedirectorMay 15, 2017
Even if its storytelling may feel confusing or even more complex than The Dark Knight, Pirates of the Caribean: The Curse of the Black Pearl is a depthly written, surprisingly funny and fantastically acted advenutre picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ammeooJan 20, 2017
This movie was an utter disappointment for me. The plots were not properly executed, there were many loopholes and the story was boring to be honest. The problem with these commercial films is that their whole purpose is to make money out ofThis movie was an utter disappointment for me. The plots were not properly executed, there were many loopholes and the story was boring to be honest. The problem with these commercial films is that their whole purpose is to make money out of amateur movie goers rather than make something that should critically make sense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
fadithebeastJan 19, 2017
Disappointed by the movie. Was expecting much much more. The movie could have been good but there were so many problems with the plots and the overall direction of the movie. The overall execution was terrible and it was a boring mess withDisappointed by the movie. Was expecting much much more. The movie could have been good but there were so many problems with the plots and the overall direction of the movie. The overall execution was terrible and it was a boring mess with not even half way through the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
darkbloodshed13Nov 1, 2016
I went into this movie expecting to hate it considering that it is based off a random ride in one of Disney's less exciting rides. So you see for a movie that I expected to hate fill me with utter joy was a big surprise. There isn't muchI went into this movie expecting to hate it considering that it is based off a random ride in one of Disney's less exciting rides. So you see for a movie that I expected to hate fill me with utter joy was a big surprise. There isn't much that I can say about this for fear of spoiling it. What I will say is that this movie is a lot of fun from beginning to end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LinttaFlamingoOct 18, 2016
The Curse of the Black Pearl is pretty much the perfect pirate movie. Soulful performances (especially Johnny Depp) and epic action, and while it sheds epicness on every scene, it's never over bloated that it would feel confusing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Aaron_WassermanMay 31, 2016
This movie really is something special. From Johnny Depp, to the score. It's impressive how this movie came about because of the disney ride. This movie has become a film classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
aadityamudharApr 18, 2016
This pirate adventure tells the story about Jack Sparrow, who meets a young woman named Elizabeth Swann after saving her life. One night, with the gold medallion she carries around her neck, she gets captured by the pirates aboard the BlackThis pirate adventure tells the story about Jack Sparrow, who meets a young woman named Elizabeth Swann after saving her life. One night, with the gold medallion she carries around her neck, she gets captured by the pirates aboard the Black Pearl by the evil Barbossa who is using her to get the cave to find the treasure. However, the whole pirate crew is immortal due to the medallion and can turn into skeletons. With the help of a young man named Will Turner, Jack and his other crew members plan to save Elizabeth and put an end to Barbossa's reign once and for all.

Wow. I was thrilled when I caught the screening of this in July of 2003 that I have one word to say about it and the word is: FANTASTIC!!! Johnny Depp was very hilarious as Jack Sparrow and he was a very good actor. Orlando Bloom (for some reason, was in the third LOTR movie, which came out at the exact same year this movie did) did very well as Will Turner, Kiera Knightley (from King Arthur) was so cool as Elizabeth Swann and she was so freaking hot! Geoffrey Rush was very frightening, yet entertaining as Captain Barbossa and the rest of the actors did very well at their performances.

The CGI was pretty cool and even the action scenes were so cool. The storyline was well-paced and the cinematography was great.

There is nothing negative to say about this film, so I am in good hands.

Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl is an excellent Disney pirate adventure based on the popular ride from DisneyWorld and one of the best movies ever made from the early 2000s.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieMasterEddyApr 4, 2016
The action comedy "Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl" raises one of the most overlooked and important cinematic questions of our time: Can a movie maintain the dramatic integrity of a theme park ride?

In this case the
The action comedy "Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl" raises one of the most overlooked and important cinematic questions of our time: Can a movie maintain the dramatic integrity of a theme park ride?

In this case the answer is — sure. The director Gore Verbinski's penchant for logistics — combined with the producer Jerry Bruckheimer's desire to spend like a drunken pirate when it comes to putting everything on screen — melts into an often frenetic, colorful and entertaining comic adventure that often seems to be using "Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid" as a template. The dazzling, high-flying silliness is quite an achievement. The movie is better than it deserves to be, given its origins: a ride at Disneyland and Disney World.

Mr. Verbinski's staging is as vertiginous as an amusement park ride and places the wiry and beauteous tomboy Keira Knightley at the center. Her physical assurance suggests what Nicole Kidman might be like if she didn't spend so much time coughing tragically into handkerchiefs in an equally tragic pursuit of important roles.

Ms. Knightley is Elizabeth Swann, owner of a medallion that gets the plot going a scant hour into "Pirates." This trinket is first seen in a prologue sequence, in which little Elizabeth steals it from an equally young Will Turner. She has also stolen (sigh) his heart, as Will (Orlando Bloom) grows up to be a stalwart blacksmith — and more than able swordsman — who nurtures a secret crush on her. Ms. Knightley is strident and confident in her movement, an ability that makes her all the sexier and alluring, which is fortunate, given that her acting skills aren't quite as devastating as her looks.

The movie belongs to Johnny Depp as Capt. Jack Sparrow the pirate, a rapscallion who's as woozy as someone who has endured much too much time on a roller coaster. Mr. Depp doesn't get the opportunity to display his gift for comedy often, and his mellow, dizzied underplaying here is a balm, an antidote to the raucous battles and swashbuckling.

Gargling his consonants before spitting them out, Mr. Depp's pirate suggests a man who has spent either a great deal of time with Keith Richards after a tour of the Rebel Yell factory, or a man who has spent a great deal of time watching Mike Myers do his Keith Richards impression. Either way, festooned with dreadlocks and braids in his hair and beard, and wearing enough industrial-strength mascara to indicate that Captain Jack was probably influenced by another King of the Wild Frontier — Adam Ant — Mr. Depp offers a ratty, bedeviled turn that keeps the picture in motion during that extended period when there's not much plot involved.

But when this protracted state of narrative lassitude suddenly shifts, "Pirates" brings in enough story line for several movies. And in the words of Bart Simpson, it takes a knife-wielding maniac to show us the way: in this case it's the entrance of the pirate Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush, who's nearly as game — and gamy — as Mr. Depp).

He kidnaps Elizabeth because of the medallion. (There's a side benefit. "She's the governor's daughter," one of Barbossa's hearties cackles.) The medallion turns out to be an enchanted piece of gold, which, with the blood of a special someone, can free Barbossa and his swabbies from their curse: they're the larcenous undead whose skeletons can be seen in the moonlight at night.

In addition Barbossa now commands the swift, capable ship the Black Pearl, which he seized from Jack Sparrow in a mutiny, after which he left Sparrow to die. Seeking revenge, Sparrow steals a ship and finds a new crew of his own, including Will, to pursue Barbossa.

There are plenty of salty, fatty moments in "Pirates" among the clearly staged fighting and rum-flavored comedy provided by Mr. Depp, Mr. Rush and the rest of the cast, including Jonathan Pryce as Elizabeth's craven, officious governor father. It's a hip slice of summer ham.

Mr. Verbinski swings his stylistic flourishes, which compel him to turn most interiors into haunted houses for their joke potential, and this notion gives the movie a deliriously antic air. Hilariously, every time the Black Pearl sails into view, an ominous cloud swirls around it, even in beautiful daylight. It's as if Barbossa carries his menacing mystique with him wherever he goes.

This is one of the few films that could justify use of a term that should never be used in describing a movie — a thrill ride — since it is, after all, based on one. Mr. Verbinski especially uses the scene in which Elizabeth discovers exactly what her captors want, in which she's thrown and shoved as if she were being slammed around on a roller coaster, to remind us of this.

Eventually it crams in so much plot information that there's an unwieldy surfeit of narrative treasure: it's bootylicious.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FilmBuff94Mar 31, 2016
One would think it's a curse to have to transform a theme park attraction into a summer cinematic spectacle, but shiver me timbers, the only hex that burdens Disney's Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl is its unwieldyOne would think it's a curse to have to transform a theme park attraction into a summer cinematic spectacle, but shiver me timbers, the only hex that burdens Disney's Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl is its unwieldy title. This rollicking adventure from director Gore Verbinski is in love with the sights and sounds of pirate movie tropes—sailors swinging from ship ropes, sword fights, cannon balls flying through the air, glistening pirate bounty—and benefits immensely from both the filmmaker's successful fusion of arch comedy, swashbuckling action, mild horror (a trick neither his execrable The Mexican, nor his leaden The Ring, could pull off), and his willingness to let Johnny Depp overact his heart out.

Depp, dressed up in a variety of colorful scarves that only partially contain his unruly tangle of dreadlocks and beaded hair, plays infamous pirate rascal Captain Jack Sparrow with limp wrists, a prancing gait, and a lilting British drawl that turns every “th” sound into an “f.” An androgynous king of the high seas, Sparrow is a gracefully asexual fop who, by embodying both feminine prettiness and masculine brashness, seems well aware of how to bend it like Beckham. Flashing his gold-toothed smile with a roguish delight that playfully hints at the naughtiness being concocted inside his scraggly head, Depp commands the screen so forcefully that it's difficult to sustain interest in the film when he's not front and center. During such lulls, one is forced to contend with the de facto love story between blacksmith Will Turner (Orlando Bloom) and governor's daughter Elizabeth Swann (Keira Knightley), who is kidnapped by the undead crew of the legendary Black Pearl for possessing a piece of their cursed gold. Swann's abduction and Turner's quest to save her (which involves enlisting Sparrow's help) is the plot's catalyst, but since Pirates' greatest asset is Depp's uninhibited antics, things tend to drag when the puckish Sparrow is confined to mere supporting player.

Bloom does an admirable job looking like a mini-Errol Flynn, and Knightley's delicate features clash winningly with her character's unladylike feistiness, but both are regularly upstaged by Depp, Geoffrey Rush as the decrepit Captain Barbossa, and a gaggle of peripheral characters (pirates and British alike) who contribute to the richness of Verbinski's theme park-inspired tapestry. Narrative repetition muddles up the film's second act, in which the adventurers find themselves visiting, and then revisiting, the same locales and skirmishes, but the occasionally monotonous escapades are bolstered by some playful Harryhausen-esque CGI villains—the Black Pearl's pirates, when caught in a blade of moonlight, are revealed to be walking, talking skeletons—and the director's eagerness to embrace, while slyly poking fun at, the hoary clichés his film must dutifully adhere to. Like the hidden stash of Caribbean rum that Sparrow and Swann enjoy after being stranded on a remote island by the dastardly Captain Barbossa, Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl is an intoxicating delight that abounds with woozy charm and delectable spiciness.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FilmClubMar 27, 2016
Both the best and worst film ever inspired by a theme park ride, “Pirates of the Caribbean” will pose a unique challenge to the various year’s-end awards-giving entities, which will have to decide if the picture is an original or actually anBoth the best and worst film ever inspired by a theme park ride, “Pirates of the Caribbean” will pose a unique challenge to the various year’s-end awards-giving entities, which will have to decide if the picture is an original or actually an adaptation of something, even if that something has no narrative or name characters. On second thought, it’s safe to say the issue will almost certainly not come up, given that the script by Ted Elliott and Terry Rossio doesn’t come within a sea-dog’s spitting distance of these clever writers’ work on “Shrek.” Still, this Jerry Bruckheimer production could have been a lot worse, given the premise, and enough disarming humor, engaging acting and colorful action bursts through to keep things amusing enough for about 90 of the picture’s uncalled-for 143 minutes.

Undaunted, Disney and Bruckheimer have jumped in with colors flown high, sabers firmly in hand and CGI artists employed en masse, and the picture does represent something new for each of them: this is the first time that the “Walt Disney Presents” banner has been used on a PG-13 release, and it also marks the first Bruckheimer production set prior to the 20th century.

Hinging on a gold medallion much coveted by the miserable lot who sail under the skull and crossbones on the Black Pearl, action unsurprisingly pits the ragged ruffians under the command of the infamous Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush) against the British crown, repped here by Caribbean isles Governor Swann (Jonathan Pryce) and the area’s naval leader, Commodore Norrington (Jack Davenport). Latter is a terribly serious fellow keen to marry Swann’s fetchingly feisty teenage daughter Elizabeth (Keira Knightley).

The wild card in the mix is Captain Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp), a rather dippy pirate who unceremoniously arrives in Port Royal in desperate need of a ship. Just as he is managing to humiliate the Brits by commandeering the H.M.S. Interceptor out of harbor, the city is attacked by Barbossa’s goons. The latter kidnap Elizabeth, who eight years before found the medallion from Will Turner (Orlando Bloom) when he washed up on a raft after a pirate attack.

Narrative has the medallion changing hands, and Jack’s loyalties tested, at least once too often, and in the final stretch — and it is that — the filmmakers pile apparent climax upon apparent climax to such an extent that it really is impossible to know if they’re faking it.

Still, the picture’s constant forward movement and breezy sense of amusement about itself provide a certain mild sort of diversion. Dialogue is peppered with chuckle-inducing, often self-deprecating riffs, Gore Verbinski’s direction has a nimble lightness of touch that’s far preferable to a heavy hand, the action has moments of flair, and the canvas has been painted with attractive colors (even if sometimes too obviously so by CGI doodlers).

But most surprisingly for a theme-park ride movie, it’s the two central performances that command the most attention. Elaborately decked out with a bandana, raccoon-like black eye makeup, dreadlocks, two beard braids and lousy teeth (there’s a screen credit “dental special effects for Johnny Depp”), the magnetic star cuts an unusual figure magnified in oddness by the eccentric layerings he gives to Jack Sparrow.

Frequently slurring his words but usually intelligible (Depp also had two specially credited sound technicians), the actor makes his character convincingly half-daft, with fey mannerisms that raise even more interesting questions. Although there is no specific referencing, Depp’s turn here nonetheless puts one in mind of some of Marlon Brando’s more oddball screen outings, which often ended up being the most interesting elements in those pictures even if they weren’t particularly coherent or even plausible.

Hitting exactly the right tone is Rush, who in every way fulfills the universal fantasy of what a treacherous, bloodthirsty and capable pirate captain should be. Thesp single-handedly makes all his scenes more delicious than they would be without him and provides a satisfying foil for Depp, as well as a fascinating contrast in acting styles.

Bloom is fine, but can do only so much with his conventional role, while Knightley, currently on view in “Bend It Like Beckham,” specializes here in striking determined, willful poses while in positions of dire jeopardy.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Jollyjoe1000Mar 27, 2016
super fun and funny and pretty enjoyable......................................................................................................,...............
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gameguardian21Mar 24, 2016
Pirates of the Caribbean is a totally different pirate movie, which is actually what makes this movie good. While the plot seems kinda dumb, its humor, characters, and overall thrill makes this a interesting touch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nahtan1244Feb 13, 2016
Best pirates of the Caribbean movie of all time. Loved the supernatural element they added to this movie. Captain Barbarossa was a very good villain and one of the best villain performances of this century. Also this was johnny Depp's bestBest pirates of the Caribbean movie of all time. Loved the supernatural element they added to this movie. Captain Barbarossa was a very good villain and one of the best villain performances of this century. Also this was johnny Depp's best performance he has ever given. He was so funny random and just pure jot to watch. I swear there is nothing wrong with this movie. It's prefect in every single way. The locations are great the action scenes are fantastic and this movie is definitively one of my top ten favorite movies of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeJan 5, 2016
I'm not a fan of pirate movies, but I got to admit it... this one did 'pirate' enough to say "Arr!" and basically the best in the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SEROJDec 21, 2015
I can't believe i forgot to review this saga!! I remember the first time i watched "Pirates of the carribean" with my dad. This is without any doubt, the best pirate movie saga yet! I personally like the other part a bit more, but overall iI can't believe i forgot to review this saga!! I remember the first time i watched "Pirates of the carribean" with my dad. This is without any doubt, the best pirate movie saga yet! I personally like the other part a bit more, but overall i don't think you should miss any of the series! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Dec 7, 2015
Yeah, some of the effects are dated now, but "The Curse Of The Black Pearl's" heart and soul still rings true to this day. Johnny Depp and Gore Verbinski accomplish the seemingly impossible - they turn a kitsch-y theme park ride into solid,Yeah, some of the effects are dated now, but "The Curse Of The Black Pearl's" heart and soul still rings true to this day. Johnny Depp and Gore Verbinski accomplish the seemingly impossible - they turn a kitsch-y theme park ride into solid, filmic entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DanBurritoSep 9, 2015
This is a very good film. You might be skeptical of a movie based on a theme park ride but this movie will surprise you. Johnny Depp is brilliant as Jack Sparrow, one of his best roles in my opinion. Of course, it's rather dark and violentThis is a very good film. You might be skeptical of a movie based on a theme park ride but this movie will surprise you. Johnny Depp is brilliant as Jack Sparrow, one of his best roles in my opinion. Of course, it's rather dark and violent for a Disney movie but you can't expect them to do the same thing all the time. I'd definitely recommend this, it's a very good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
YellowKirbySep 9, 2015
The best Pirates movie so far. Johnny Depp is brilliant, Orlando Bloom is brilliant, Kira Knightly is brilliant.. basically all the actors and actresses are brilliant in their roles, and the story is great. You'd have to be pretty grumpy notThe best Pirates movie so far. Johnny Depp is brilliant, Orlando Bloom is brilliant, Kira Knightly is brilliant.. basically all the actors and actresses are brilliant in their roles, and the story is great. You'd have to be pretty grumpy not to like this thriller of a ride! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
buttonscasperJul 8, 2015
Great start to the series with jack sparrow at his best and some very memorable lines and scenes and even with this film being quiet violent it still has its funny moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
devo-ncJun 20, 2015
Entertaining and well-spirited swashbuckler going beyond the ride in joyfully creating a world of story, of character and of heart. Even though it's boring on occasion, was the ride not a little dull at times, being a water ride, the movie isEntertaining and well-spirited swashbuckler going beyond the ride in joyfully creating a world of story, of character and of heart. Even though it's boring on occasion, was the ride not a little dull at times, being a water ride, the movie is a roller coaster. It takes dip and dives but not enough twirls and spirals to make a terrific memorable film become a classic. Moreover, Johnny Depp's performance is not only iconic, he has defined an image of himself, very rare showing in such case Disney still has got the chops. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
criticssApr 23, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is hard to believe that such an action packed, comedic movie could be based of nothing but an amusement park ride.
Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp), a drunken, witty pirate comes to Port Royal in hopes to steal a ship. In a twist of events including a corset that was much too tight, he ends up saving the governors daughter, Elizabeth Swan (Keira Knightley). However when the guards realize he is a pirate, he is sentenced to go to jail, which he does after a sword fight with the local blacksmith, Will Turner (Orlando Bloom). Soon after his arrest, the crew of the Black Pearl attack the city, in search of the last piece of cursed Aztec Gold and kidnap Elizabeth seeing she was in possession of said gold. Will, being in love with Elizabeth breaks Jack out of prison to track down the crew of the Black Pearl and save Elizabeth. However, because of this gold the crew is immortal, living with starvation and thirst, never being able to quench it but never being able to die.
Gore Verbinski, the brilliant director of this film, is one of the few people who may combine an action packed movie full of pirates, sword swinging, guns with one bullet, comedy and a love story all in one magnificent film. The screenwriters did an excellent job in making Jack Sparrows character a perfect combination of complete madness and a brilliant genius. Johnny Depp himself did a wonderful job in properly understanding his role and executing it better than anyone could expect or hope for. The entire cast was perfect for the characters they were meant to play down to the way they talked and held themselves. Of course no one would speak as the pirates did in real life, however, their talk was perfect for this film. Verbinski did an excellent job with including realistic battle scenes and shots of the Black Pearl from far away making it seem dangerous and unpredictable right before it attacked. The soundtrack for the movie, made by Klaus Badelt, is memorable and adds a certain pirate and fun quality to the film making it somehow even more enjoyable. It is surprising that even with so much going on in the movie, Verbinski pulled off giving it a well structured and balanced plot and making the movie able to pull of every scene, twist and detail all in less than 2 and a half hours. 8.5/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
For those taking a global view of Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl, it's very easy to be cynical. This is, after all, cross-promotion at its most blatant. What could be more marketable that one of Disney's most popularFor those taking a global view of Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl, it's very easy to be cynical. This is, after all, cross-promotion at its most blatant. What could be more marketable that one of Disney's most popular theme park attractions? The name recognition is already in place - all that's necessary to complete the puzzle is a story that will fit the ride. But there are two reasons why jaded ranting isn't the best way to proceed with this review. In the first place, no one really cares. And, more importantly, this is actually an entertaining experience.

Pirates of the Caribbean is good, but not great. Swashbuckling adventures are few and far between these days, so it's a pleasant surprise to see one that is competently made. To add to the enjoyment, the movie never takes itself too seriously. If there wasn't so much action, it would be tempting to classify the production as a comedy. Alas, Pirates of the Caribbean runs for a good 30 minutes too long (the protracted battles with the undead, who cannot be killed, become repetitive), and the denouement is on the weak side. Taken as a whole, however, the movie represents solid fun. A word of caution to parents, however: the PG-13 rating is an indicator that certain elements of the movie are not for younger children. Proceed carefully with sensitive under-11 children.

As was true with director Gore Verbinski's previous outing, The Ring, Pirates of the Caribbean oozes atmosphere. The humor keeps it from becoming too creepy, but there are still a few chills to be had. I was in some ways reminded of Sam Raimi's Army of Darkness, where there were lots of skeletons marching around, some of which were acting like the Three Stooges. Verbinski gets huge assists from cinematographer Dariusz Wolski and composer Klaus Badelt, who is responsible for one of 2003's few memorable musical scores. And, of course, we get to hear a few refrains of the memorable Pirates of the Caribbean anthem: "Yo ho! Yo ho! A pirate's life for me!"

Pirates of the Caribbean belongs to Johnny Depp. Keira Knightley (now a familiar face in the wake of Bend It Like Beckham) and Orlando Bloom (The Lord of the Rings' Legolas, sans ears and blond hair) make a cute couple, and Geoffrey Rush is typically over-the-top as the bad guy, but the star of every scene is Depp. With several gold teeth in his mouth and beads in his hair, Depp plays the part with an engaging goofiness that sets the movie's tone. In one scene, Sparrow becomes blind drunk, but his behavior isn't all that different from when he's sober - a clear indicator of where Depp elected to take the character. Sparrow is a rogue through-and-through, and, although he may have a heart of gold, it's definitely tarnished. Take away Depp, and you're left with a derivative and dull motion picture.

As is mandated by the first rule of summer movies - sustain the action - Pirates of the Caribbean is wall-to-wall battles, chases, and fights. The only pauses are those necessitated by the need to advance the plot through exposition. There's lots of swordplay, including a lengthy and memorable struggle between Sparrow and Will. It's probably the best example of cinematic swordfighting since The Mask of Zorro. (It doesn't come close to the clash between Wesley and Inigo Montoya in The Princess Bride. In that movie, the actors did their own fencing. Here, it's clear from the obscuring camera angles that stunt performers were involved.) For those who are familiar with the amusement park attraction, most of the key scenes are included (although the hairy leg is missing), emphasizing the movie's tie-in nature.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
homer4presidentMar 16, 2015
One of the best films of last decade. The action is great, the plot is clear (unlike the other movies in the series), and the acting was great. Oh, and it's funny too!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JohnMasterLFeb 27, 2015
Divertida, oscura, repleta de acción, efectos especiales y buenas actuaciones, La primera parte tiene un toque mas serio que sus próximas secuelas, pero aun así, es una excelente pelicula.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LoRevisorFeb 26, 2015
Sensacional!!!!,Com um brilhante roteiro escrito por Ted Elliot e Terry Rossio,Piratas Do Caribe é uma excelente aventura. Com clássicas cenas de ações,memoráveis falas,e brilhantes atuações de Johnny Depp e Geoffrey Rush,Johnny Depp na suaSensacional!!!!,Com um brilhante roteiro escrito por Ted Elliot e Terry Rossio,Piratas Do Caribe é uma excelente aventura. Com clássicas cenas de ações,memoráveis falas,e brilhantes atuações de Johnny Depp e Geoffrey Rush,Johnny Depp na sua singular e inédita atuação montou um personagem inesquecível e amado por toda a terra Jack Sparrow desculpe Capitão Jack Sparrow,e Geoffrey Rush é genial como o antagonista Hector Barbossa Capitão Barbossa,Uma ótima história com muito humor. Merecidamente digno de fantásticas sequências e uma franquia de super sucesso comercial. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
diogomendesJan 31, 2015
"Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl" is undeniably a fun film. The action is entertaining, the story is not engaging but it will keep you entertained and Johnny Depp's performance is witty at best.

I'm gonna give this
"Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl" is undeniably a fun film. The action is entertaining, the story is not engaging but it will keep you entertained and Johnny Depp's performance is witty at best.

I'm gonna give this movie a solid 7/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SmileATTJan 24, 2015
Pirates of the Caribbean im not sure is that a good movie or a bad but its definitely something that's never made before in the film industry there are not many movies with pirates specially a mad pirates like Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp).ThePirates of the Caribbean im not sure is that a good movie or a bad but its definitely something that's never made before in the film industry there are not many movies with pirates specially a mad pirates like Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp).The movie take you to an advanture that you can not only see you can even feel it with every minute of the movie .They are so many aspects of the movie we have two lovers the blacksmith Orlando Bloom and the outstanding Keira Knightley in role of daughter of the governer Who are trying to gather but the circumstances don't allow that so easly .We have cursed captain Barbosa who is trying to broke the curse and he will not stop until he do it even if that mean to destroy the hole England army of port Royal.The movie is what exactly have to be an ADVENTURE and is there a better adventure than this with crazy pirate played by Jhonny Dep . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DBPirate1129Jan 11, 2015
While I was originally skeptical about the film, the first installment in the Pirates of the Caribbean series will leave you wanting for more fast-paced adventures with Jack Sparrow and Hector Barbossa.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NerdConsultantDec 30, 2014
it's a simple yet amazing movie. it had simple plot of ghost story based around pirate mythology with great actors, soundtrack, and cinematography. it has great charm to it that i think is missing from a lot of films like this and i thinkit's a simple yet amazing movie. it had simple plot of ghost story based around pirate mythology with great actors, soundtrack, and cinematography. it has great charm to it that i think is missing from a lot of films like this and i think that comes from it's characters. it's my favourite disney movie and i hope future movies with replicate what made it great Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
joao1198pedroNov 22, 2014
The first movie of this franchise is really fascinating, it has a good storyline and a great character(in this case the one played by johnny deep), it is a really fun adventure movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SythusRATINGSOct 18, 2014
For the roguish yet charming Captain Jack Sparrow (Depp), the crystalline waters if the Caribbean present a vast playground where adventure and mystery abound. But Jack's idyllic pirate life capsizes after his nemesis, the wily CaptainFor the roguish yet charming Captain Jack Sparrow (Depp), the crystalline waters if the Caribbean present a vast playground where adventure and mystery abound. But Jack's idyllic pirate life capsizes after his nemesis, the wily Captain Barbossa (Rush), steals his ship, the Black Pearl, and kidnaps the Governor's (Pryce) beautiful daughter, Elizabeth Swann (Knightley). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
Between land and sea, you'll find this to be more than an exciting adventure. If an action-adventure can provide you with ample thrills and laughter, what more do you need?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
VidyaBumMay 24, 2014
To cut it short, this movie would be a great adventure and pirate movie with every possible quality if it didn't try to cram every single scene with comic relief.

Now I like comic relief and I understand this is a Disney movie, but when
To cut it short, this movie would be a great adventure and pirate movie with every possible quality if it didn't try to cram every single scene with comic relief.

Now I like comic relief and I understand this is a Disney movie, but when Jack Sparrow is having his epic final battle with Barbossa and everything hangs in the balance of that fight, interrupting it several times to see the governor batting a skeletal forearm like a wuss and seeing a pirate chase after his glass eye amidst the fighting in a tom-and-jerry kind of comedy is the last thing I want to see.

The overabundance of misplaced comic relief brings a solid 8 or maybe 9/10 to a 6 or 7 at best.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
oxanaMay 20, 2014
This was the fist movie I went to see in the cinema more than once, as far as I can recall.

The plot is eventful and full of twists. I like detailed movies, and here the camera angles, focus, colors, and little tips given with these
This was the fist movie I went to see in the cinema more than once, as far as I can recall.

The plot is eventful and full of twists. I like detailed movies, and here the camera angles, focus, colors, and little tips given with these underline the intent that is not stated in words, but left for the audience to figure out. Sometimes, we see things coming for a long time, but "The Curse of the Black Pearl" manages to surprise nonetheless, time and time again. Witty and sometimes fast-paced, this film is both serious and funny at the same time without ruining one of the two.

Most of the fighting scenes were very entertaining. The characteristics of each person are respectfully regarded, and instead of beating enemies into pulp, there are clever moves that make you sit on the edge of your seat in excitement - while grinning widely, especially if you've seen the film before.

The characters and actors are each their own individuals. The casting is perfect; Johnny Depp as the by-now iconic Captain Jack Sparrow, Orlando Bloom as Will Turner, the hero who has plenty of room to grow and become the man he's meant to be, and Elisabeth Swann (Keira Knightely), who can barely contain herself from becoming who she would really want to be instead of being what she's supposed to be. It's interesting how she's so much more interested in being a pirate than Will is, who has it in his blood (although in the beginning he would have none of that).

Also, it must be said that Geoffrey Rush as Captain Barbossa is born to be a pirate. Convincing and sophisticated while being a total brute... Not many can pull it off.

Many supporting characters just add into the world of the movie, and are very important to it and its spirit. The comic elements draw a lot from these characters, and their chemistry between each other is undeniably funny and thought-provoking.

Little hints to past events are thrown this way and that. Some remain unresolved to the end, and are there to deepen the world of the movie, and to be explored in the following sequels.

All in all, "Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl", is pretty much a perfect movie. The music, the plot, the characters, and the successful balance between action, mystery and comedy create a movie that sets a standard for the pirate movies to come.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AaronWasserman2May 5, 2014
A fun tale based off a ride. Johnny Depp owns this role and is debatebly his most known roleof all time. He is so funny and brings such a joy to the film.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
DrewtheDude85Apr 13, 2014
The first installment of the POTC Movie franchise is a very fun and very enjoyable film to watch. It has a fun and enjoyable cast of characters, a good story and some cool atmospheres. Another thing about this film is that I like all theThe first installment of the POTC Movie franchise is a very fun and very enjoyable film to watch. It has a fun and enjoyable cast of characters, a good story and some cool atmospheres. Another thing about this film is that I like all the references this film makes to the Disneyland attraction it was based off making this seem like a good "tribute" film in a way. One thing I will say about this film, however, is the action and fighting scenes is a little repetitive in a way, but over all it was mostly good. POTC: The Curse of the Black Pearl is a very good film that no one should miss out on. I'd recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheApplegnomeFeb 6, 2014
This is a movie that's got everything from an exceptional story, wonderful music, fantasy, humor & action to great special effects, and the most important thing: the actors are awesome in this movie! This movie got so many unique things thatThis is a movie that's got everything from an exceptional story, wonderful music, fantasy, humor & action to great special effects, and the most important thing: the actors are awesome in this movie! This movie got so many unique things that you haven't seen before, & combined with eventful scenes, is this movie awesome.
The beginning however, could have been more eventful maybe, because it felt a little boring, and it took a while for the movie to start. Another bad thing about this movie is that it's a little boring at some places, and that they could have done more spectacular things, but that doesn't matter actually, because this is a stunning & awesome movie with real action that you can watch over and over.

Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl gets a 8/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JacobDec 27, 2013
This may not be the greatest movie ever made but that does not mean it is boring at all. This is a really entertaining movie. The characters are likeable, the action is engaging, and there are some great performances. The film can drag atThis may not be the greatest movie ever made but that does not mean it is boring at all. This is a really entertaining movie. The characters are likeable, the action is engaging, and there are some great performances. The film can drag at times and the story does get a tad overly complicated but not too much. Overall I really enjoy this movie. Pirates of the Carribean: The Curse of The Black Pearl is a ton of fun to watch and just makes you want to be a pirate. I’ve seen it several times and I know I’ll probably wind up watching it again in the future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
moonman1994Dec 23, 2013
Creepy but not too creepy and it has a perfectly gripping and entertaining story. Depp is great in the lead and the entire cast supports him perfectly. This film is the film that really made pirates interesting again and it is certainly worthCreepy but not too creepy and it has a perfectly gripping and entertaining story. Depp is great in the lead and the entire cast supports him perfectly. This film is the film that really made pirates interesting again and it is certainly worth a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Trev29Dec 9, 2013
Wonderfully entertaining. The entire concept was portrayed just as you think it would be. Jack Sparrow is one of if not the most amusing character to grace the screen. Excellent!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cag11Nov 29, 2013
I loved it. It had dark moments, especially for a Disney movie. Plus it had extremely great humor from Johnny Depp, which added to the excitingly fun movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleNov 22, 2013
Really well done blockbuster film. Funny, exciting, and good acting, especially from Johnny Depp make this movie extremely entertaining. While it could have been a lot more "badass", I kinda liked that they strayed from that and instead wentReally well done blockbuster film. Funny, exciting, and good acting, especially from Johnny Depp make this movie extremely entertaining. While it could have been a lot more "badass", I kinda liked that they strayed from that and instead went more family friendly with it. I think it adds a certain tone which really adds to the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RayzorMooseNov 12, 2013
Pirates sets sail with a witty plot.
Pirates of the Caribbean succeeds with great acting from the likes of Johnny Depp who brings his character an irreplaceable flare. The movie never falls flat but never becomes great with an average plot.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
OfficialNov 5, 2013
"Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl" has well exceeded my expectations. It's humorous, action-packed and thrilling. Johnny Depp is fantastic as Jack Sparrow. The problem with it is that sometimes focuses too much on humor"Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl" has well exceeded my expectations. It's humorous, action-packed and thrilling. Johnny Depp is fantastic as Jack Sparrow. The problem with it is that sometimes focuses too much on humor and forgets the plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticOct 26, 2013
The film brings and opens an eclectic version of the well known swashbuckler genre; a light-hearted, and amusing version with a hilarious Depp as the sardonic and metaphorical Jack Sparrow, and everyone else seems to be weaved into the plot.The film brings and opens an eclectic version of the well known swashbuckler genre; a light-hearted, and amusing version with a hilarious Depp as the sardonic and metaphorical Jack Sparrow, and everyone else seems to be weaved into the plot. Bloom and Knightley make a poignant melodramatic piece to the film. It's authentic as it is ludicrous. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Rox22Sep 29, 2013
I absolutely loved this movie. Anything and everything I ever wanted in a pirate movie, all in one place.

Excellent visuals, fantastic performances and gripping story. Overall: I can not fault this movie for anything. I have watched it
I absolutely loved this movie. Anything and everything I ever wanted in a pirate movie, all in one place.

Excellent visuals, fantastic performances and gripping story.

Overall:
I can not fault this movie for anything. I have watched it countless times and will continue to watch it many times more.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysSep 19, 2013
The movie itself is very good, but it is the score that brings it to life and steps it up to the next level. Everyone knows the Pirates of the Caribbean theme, and Hans Zimmer is a master at movie scores. With exciting action to witness and aThe movie itself is very good, but it is the score that brings it to life and steps it up to the next level. Everyone knows the Pirates of the Caribbean theme, and Hans Zimmer is a master at movie scores. With exciting action to witness and a great score to hum along to, you can't go wrong with this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyStephensAug 30, 2013
Simply one of the best movies ever made!! Very suspenseful!!! Very very very very good!!! A huge well done to Gore Verbinski, his crew and all the actors of that picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AVTRlover41Aug 15, 2013
This was an amazing movie. It still remains to be one of the best movies that I have ever seen, even though it has been 10 years since I first saw it. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JmsbppJul 29, 2013
Excelente trabajo mostrando talento, originalidad y una forma de demostrar que disney puede dar accion buena y no de princesas por un man si no puede sacar y sacarle el jugo a la accion
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DibbHansenJul 14, 2013
This film is a film that caught everyone off guard- no one expected a Pirate film to be this epic and amazing! The film has a surprisingly well written and witty script, a fantastic and perfect performance by Johnny Depp, awesome actionThis film is a film that caught everyone off guard- no one expected a Pirate film to be this epic and amazing! The film has a surprisingly well written and witty script, a fantastic and perfect performance by Johnny Depp, awesome action sequences, classic and awesome music (Klaus Badelt and Hans Zimmer do spectacular) and the visuals are epic. This film has classic written all over it and is one of the best adventure films ever made, Disney rarely disappoints lads and lasses. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SimpleMethodJul 11, 2013
I'm writing this review after watching The Lone Ranger. I think the amount of time and dip in quality in between the first Pirates movie and The Lone Ranger really solidifies my opinion on the general decay of Hollywood. I have a limitedI'm writing this review after watching The Lone Ranger. I think the amount of time and dip in quality in between the first Pirates movie and The Lone Ranger really solidifies my opinion on the general decay of Hollywood. I have a limited amount of hope for Pirates 5. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BeatHourJul 7, 2013
Great action movie. One of the only good series Hollywood has produced in the last 10 years.

I don't know how someone could not like this. Even if its just Triple-A action fluff, its very good at it. This is one of the only "ultimate
Great action movie. One of the only good series Hollywood has produced in the last 10 years.

I don't know how someone could not like this. Even if its just Triple-A action fluff, its very good at it. This is one of the only "ultimate theatre experiences" along with film franchises like Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, Batman (Begins Dark Knight Rises), and Terminator 1 & 2. I'm not sure how, with as few good modern movies as there are, anyone could pick and choose which modern epics they enjoy.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GodotIsW8ing4UJul 4, 2013
The first film in the series is unquestionably the best. Jack Sparrow is an excellent character, and really carries the movie. It reminds me of the old Marx Brothers films: if not for Groucho, Chico, and Harpo, they would be bland and nobodyThe first film in the series is unquestionably the best. Jack Sparrow is an excellent character, and really carries the movie. It reminds me of the old Marx Brothers films: if not for Groucho, Chico, and Harpo, they would be bland and nobody would care, but thanks to Jack Sparrow who seems to incorporate the best elements of all three the movie ends up fantastically entertaining. Will Turner may be the protagonist by any helpful analysis of story structure, but Jack is the reason you're watching, and he's well worth it.

The Curse of the Black Pearl has a solid, familiar-yet-surprising story at its heart, that never loses sight of where it's going next. This is part of what makes it good: you can guess roughly where it's going next, and have your expectations confirmed, but there's always some surprise complication waiting for you when you get there, so you're never bored. One of the best Disney movies of the 2000s, and well worth seeing by anyone.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFJun 28, 2013
A blockbuster in every way, The Curse of the Black Pearl is a perfect start to a massively grossing franchise that is still going, flawed but definitely enjoyable, much more than a film based on a theme park ride should have been.
Johnny
A blockbuster in every way, The Curse of the Black Pearl is a perfect start to a massively grossing franchise that is still going, flawed but definitely enjoyable, much more than a film based on a theme park ride should have been.
Johnny Depp creates a character that will undoubtedly be one of if not the most iconic of all his roles, Captain Jack Sparrow, don't forget the 'Captain' part, he won't like that. A man famous for us often personal and more bizarre roles has created one of the most memorable and comic characters we have seen, and to top it all off, he's a pirate.
Set in the midst of the age of the cutlass-wielding treasure hunters, Jack lands in Port Royal where inadvertently saves the Governors daughter, Elizabeth Swan (Kiera Knightley). He somewhat befriends blacksmith Will Turner (Orlando Bloom) who sets out with him to capture the infamous Black Pearl, a ship run by the dead who have been cursed after stealing the wrong sort of treasure.
The set-pieces are explosive and the dialogue is a homage to the age the film is set in. There is quite a reliance on humour, which pays off in many aspects throughout the film but at other points can fall short of its target, the two high points of this being Jack Sparrow himself played uniquely by Depp, bringing his very own take and charisma to the character, and Geoffrey Rush who plays the Captain of the Black Pearl, Barbosa, whose confident and grumbled Irish accent and command of the screen, along the unfortunately limited screen time himself and Depp share together, make up very dark and witty humour throughout.
The heart of the film is lead by Knightley and Bloom who have a blossoming romance on the cards, their scenes can be a little dramatic for the theme of the film, and more time should have been spent getting to know these pirates more, but take the good with the bad I suppose.
Of course the true brand of the film is that of Jack Sparrow, his mumbling and comedic quips with those surrounding him are electrifying through the talent of Depp, and while the supporting cast are on sound form, he truly steals the show, along with quite the satisfying finale that of course opened all sorts of doors. The film is quite remarkable in the sense of its emergence from nothing, but I suppose if Ron Howard takes inspiration from paintings, a theme park ride is bound to be a creative playground.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SobrleMar 20, 2013
I like very much how john depp plays the play of the very claver and sometimes stupid pirat who likes very much girls, action and the most of all he loves alchohol an at all he is very funny and he makes movie very funny and it i greatI like very much how john depp plays the play of the very claver and sometimes stupid pirat who likes very much girls, action and the most of all he loves alchohol an at all he is very funny and he makes movie very funny and it i great comedy. I like very much and of this action,comedy and most at all adveanture movie becose i like very muc how the pirates in the end determined thet this girl elizabeth (keira knightley) is not a girl of a pirat and then comes a jack sparrow and will turner (orlando bloom) and jack sparrow fight with barbossa and at same time when jack sparrow shot barbossa in the hart will turner whes father was a pirat give bood to the coins and barbossa dies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wesker2012Mar 8, 2013
The best pirate movie ever made. An instant classic and a masterpiece great for both children and adults!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ninja_dolphinFeb 9, 2013
The original movie is definitely the best of the series due to it having better pacing, a greater balance of comedy and action and the best performances the actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SwatiFeb 9, 2013
One of the most entertaining movies I've ever seen. Johnny Depp delivers his most memorable performance. It combined comedy, horror, adventure and action flawlessly. This is the only movie where I liked Keira Knightley. Orlando Bloom seemedOne of the most entertaining movies I've ever seen. Johnny Depp delivers his most memorable performance. It combined comedy, horror, adventure and action flawlessly. This is the only movie where I liked Keira Knightley. Orlando Bloom seemed somewhat off, though. His acting is the only thing that improved over the next two movies. Sadly, the series on a whole turned out to be a one hit wonder. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RikiegeJan 23, 2013
An instant classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobJan 1, 2013
The best movie in the Pirates franchise. Johnny Depp is perfect as Jack Sparrow, He really makes the movie imo. Good action, Solid acting by the rest of the cast, and an interesting and original story as well. I would definently recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cameronmorewoodNov 9, 2012
The best film that could ever be made about pirates. Despite some cliches, the film has striking and brilliant action sequences, witty dialogue, and many other great characteristics that make it all its own.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Jack101Sep 12, 2012
The first real Pirates movie in history! Easily fun, exciting, and intriguing! It brings out the action in you and swordplay. Johnny Depp is truly a great actor, and Will and elizibeth make great couples.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
GarianAug 25, 2012
Just watched the film as it was on TV a few hours ago, already seen it beforehand, but seeing it again let me write this review properly, it was action-packed, hilarious and kept you sitting there watching it without wanting to get up out ofJust watched the film as it was on TV a few hours ago, already seen it beforehand, but seeing it again let me write this review properly, it was action-packed, hilarious and kept you sitting there watching it without wanting to get up out of your seat. Not to mention the amazing music by Hanz Zimmer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jwt7000Aug 6, 2012
The first and only the best movie in the series. While enjoying some of the great performances including the plot, characters and action scenes, Johnny Depp was at his most humorous state.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Critic2012Jun 11, 2012
Pirates of the Caribbean looks to be the beginning of a new franchise that millions are going to enjoy, not only for the story, but for the cast and over-the-top action the film provides.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tall_But_ShortMay 26, 2012
The story starts off at Port Royal. Here, a well-known pirate, Captain Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp), arrives at the town. He escapes from the governor and the militia but ends up fighting a blacksmith by the name of Will Turner (Orlando Bloom).The story starts off at Port Royal. Here, a well-known pirate, Captain Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp), arrives at the town. He escapes from the governor and the militia but ends up fighting a blacksmith by the name of Will Turner (Orlando Bloom). Jack is eventually caught by the militia and is imprisoned. All of a sudden, a ship with black flags, The Black Pearl, comes to the town with a pirate crew and the captain aboard. The pirates start to pillage the village and eventually Will gets knocked because of all the mayhem. Two other pirates go to the governor's palace to capture his daughter, Elizabeth Swan (Keira Knightley), but what they are really after is something that she possesses, a necklace bearing a gold coin. These pirates capture Elizabeth and Will wants to get her back so he breaks Jack out of his cell and they both set off on a quest to rescue Elizabeth. Though Jack, has intentions of his own which involve the captain of the Black Pearl, Captain Barbosa. Yes, you might have guessed that the story can't be that simple and you're right. It isn't. But what would be the fun if I just told you the whole story? Anyways, this isn't an ordinary pirates story even though it does involve some treasure. The first movie of this series is much better than I really expected it to be. The movie is funny, action-packed, and has a crew of excellent actors and actresses. This movie also has great visuals and a story that clings to you so you can't wait until you see the end. The story for this film is probably the best that Disney has provided for a live-action film so far. When I was watching this film, it didn't feel like a Disney movie at all and I was kind of upset for not keeping up with the series before. I mean, this movie was unlike any other Disney movie I have seen before. It actually had some real action (mostly sword fights) and great actors. I do not think this movie could have been done better. Well, maybe better visuals since we have advanced in that aspect but that's besides the point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
skyminsterMay 11, 2012
Pirates of the Caribbean: the curse of the black pearl is a hilarious action packed comedy/(kind of) horror. It's brilliant, with great action, humor, horror, good acting, very good special effects for the time that it was made (they'd stillPirates of the Caribbean: the curse of the black pearl is a hilarious action packed comedy/(kind of) horror. It's brilliant, with great action, humor, horror, good acting, very good special effects for the time that it was made (they'd still be OK if they were in a film made now), and an interesting plot. I'm tempted to give it a ten, you really should watch it if you haven't seen it already! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LandFApr 19, 2012
Pirates Of The Caribbean: The Curse Of The Black Pearl is flawed fun. It's mostly predictable, it's got some good gags, but it's heavily flawed. The film has literally HUNDREDS of contradictions and plot holes. I enjoyed the film, but thePirates Of The Caribbean: The Curse Of The Black Pearl is flawed fun. It's mostly predictable, it's got some good gags, but it's heavily flawed. The film has literally HUNDREDS of contradictions and plot holes. I enjoyed the film, but the contradicitions were distracting. This film has a fantastic first half hour. It's funny, and thrilling at times. However, after that first half hour, the quality drops. It's still enjoyable, and you will be entertained, but it never lives up to that first half hour. The musical score is VERY good. There were too many hands in the score for me to properly credit anyone, but Hanz Zimmer played a big part in the score, and it shows. The action, is mostly generic, and will never have you on the edge of your seat. At times, the action is even predictable. At the minimum, it's passable, and not terrible. The acting is strong. Performances from Johnny Depp, Orlando Bloom, and Geofferey Rush shine. The story is a little on the cliche side, but it's a silly tale, and no one really cares. In addition to contradictions, there were a lot of moments where I rolled my eyes at the improbability of it all. Of course, teenage boys tend to eat that stuff up. POTC: TCOTBP is a fun, albeit flawed movie, that's probably best for teens and tweens with low expectations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
csw12Mar 25, 2012
A smart and dark film at the same time. Yes it is a Disney film but is very scary. i enjoyed every minute of it. Jonny Depp's peformance is one for the ages.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
heyitsmegrif4Dec 30, 2011
Johnny Depp brings life to this breathtaking, exhausting, amazing and action packed film with a completely funny, unpredictable performance and the supporting cast does well too. I give this film 83%.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
Potter17Dec 11, 2011
"The Curse of the Black Pearl" is a 143 minutes ride of a thrilling adventure featuring rich CGI, action-packed tone and a powerful performance from Depp. This is a perfect summer blockbuster.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
critic55Dec 7, 2011
Pirates of the Caribbean, The Curse of the Black Pearl, directed by Gregor Verbiniski, is one of the best action/ adventure films of 2003 and was based on a Disney World ride. Verbiniski directed a few other movies before hitting it big withPirates of the Caribbean, The Curse of the Black Pearl, directed by Gregor Verbiniski, is one of the best action/ adventure films of 2003 and was based on a Disney World ride. Verbiniski directed a few other movies before hitting it big with this one. It grossed over 650 million worldwide, and gave Verbiniski the type of success most directors envy. Pirates of the Caribbean will draw you in and keep you hooked, with a burning ship, a mysterious pirate flag, and the grand entrance of Jack Sparrow. With his amazing escape via ship parts and zip lines, a sword fight on roof beams... and that's just the beginning. Then the intrigue truly begins. Have you ever watched a movie, where reality and fantasy come together adding a mythological twist to it? Sit back while the director transports you to a far away place to create this fantastic movie, thatâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TipsyMcBeeDec 3, 2011
The film maybe long and sometimes too over the top, but Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl is a good popcorn film filled with comedy, drama and action, especially a lot of action. I may have said the acting at times can beThe film maybe long and sometimes too over the top, but Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl is a good popcorn film filled with comedy, drama and action, especially a lot of action. I may have said the acting at times can be too over the top with many of the characters, but some performances like Johnny Depp (Jack Sparrow) and Geoffrey Rush (Captain Barbossa) were believable throughout the movie. The plot for the most part was straight forward, though this would be a film you have to listen carefully, for sometimes the dialogue from some thick speaking actors will recital things too quickly. If you want to hear a good old pirate's tale, then The Curse of the Black Pearl is the film you must keep an eye on. All audience alike will certainly not be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
asylumspadezNov 23, 2011
Actually was pretty good. The only decent film in the entire series if you ask me. While the long run time does hurt it a bit, It was still an enjoyable film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 24, 2011
"The Curse of the Black Pearl" is a movie that focuses too much on preposterous humor. It kills the movie, but Johnny Depp's performance is the sole thing that saves the messy film.
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
9
shamusolarrySep 8, 2011
A good movie all around. Good acting, good writing, great score, some really memorable quotes. Depp as Jack Sparrow should go down in film history as one of the greatest characters ever. There is something off about the final scene that IA good movie all around. Good acting, good writing, great score, some really memorable quotes. Depp as Jack Sparrow should go down in film history as one of the greatest characters ever. There is something off about the final scene that I can't quite figure out, but that's my only real complaint. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CRLAug 27, 2011
Nothing is better than the original, as is the truth with the film that introduced Captain Jack Sparrow to the world that has yet to let go. The first Pirates movie is a boatload of wacky, PG-13 fun, filled with sword-fights, skeletons,Nothing is better than the original, as is the truth with the film that introduced Captain Jack Sparrow to the world that has yet to let go. The first Pirates movie is a boatload of wacky, PG-13 fun, filled with sword-fights, skeletons, general hilarity, and the kind of cheesy love story that adds to the movie instead of subtracting from it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Jun 11, 2011
This pirate adventure tells the story about Jack Sparrow, who meets a young woman named Elizabeth Swann after saving her life. One night, with the gold medallion she carries around her neck, she gets captured by the pirates aboard the BlackThis pirate adventure tells the story about Jack Sparrow, who meets a young woman named Elizabeth Swann after saving her life. One night, with the gold medallion she carries around her neck, she gets captured by the pirates aboard the Black Pearl by the evil Barbossa who is using her to get the cave to find the treasure. However, the whole pirate crew is immortal due to the medallion and can turn into skeletons. With the help of a young man named Will Turner, Jack and his other crew members plan to save Elizabeth and put an end to Barbossa's reign once and for all.

Wow. I was thrilled when I caught the screening of this in July of 2003 that I have one word to say about it and the word is: FANTASTIC!!! Johnny Depp was very hilarious as Jack Sparrow and he was a very good actor. Orlando Bloom (for some reason, was in the third LOTR movie, which came out at the exact same year this movie did) did very well as Will Turner, Kiera Knightley (from King Arthur) was so cool as Elizabeth Swann and she was so freaking hot! Geoffrey Rush was very frightening, yet entertaining as Captain Barbossa and the rest of the actors did very well at their performances.

The CGI was pretty cool and even the action scenes were so cool. The storyline was well-paced and the cinematography was great.

There is nothing negative to say about this film, so I am in good hands.

Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl is an excellent Disney pirate adventure based on the popular ride from DisneyWorld and one of the best movies ever made from the early 2000s.

8/10
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SeriouslyMay 26, 2011
They say the first is always the best and it certainly applies here. Pirates of the Carribean: The Curse of the Black Pearl is the start to arguably one of the best film franchises to date. If you like comedy, action, drama, romance-They say the first is always the best and it certainly applies here. Pirates of the Carribean: The Curse of the Black Pearl is the start to arguably one of the best film franchises to date. If you like comedy, action, drama, romance- actually, if you like watching movies in general, you have got to see this one. I don't usually give films a solid ten (I think this is the first) but I can find no flaws here. It has a great plot, great performance by the cast, great visual effects and very memorable music. Just watch it already. Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
7
coolevMay 18, 2011
This movie will make you love pirates if you didn't already love it. Depp is great in this! Lots of cool sword fights and action scenes in it, too! It's a great story, and will want to watch it over and over again!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MoviebuffreviewMar 21, 2011
Arg this is a pirates life for me! With unforgettable characters, a clever script, incredible action sequences, and an excellent mood, Pirates of the Caribbean is the perfect blockbuster and an incredible ride! :D
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Mar 15, 2011
Who knew turning a theme park attraction into a movie would create an awesome movie and an incredible trilogy! Thank you Disney! And thank you Johnny Depp for making Captain Jack Sparrow such an iconic character!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
gio_gioJan 22, 2011
coool cool cool cooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooool
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
seiferJan 6, 2011
There is a girl in my class that would have the same opinion of this movie as I do, Great story, interesting plot and hilarious moments... This is truly a great that will go down in history... But the rest might not....... Looking forward toThere is a girl in my class that would have the same opinion of this movie as I do, Great story, interesting plot and hilarious moments... This is truly a great that will go down in history... But the rest might not....... Looking forward to 4th movie coming to cinema soon Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Splatt3rOct 17, 2010
I think it is a very great movie. The atmosphere with the characters, especially Sparrow, the music and the settings are great. I can watch this movie over and over again and I can recommend this movie to anyone who likes this adventure-typeI think it is a very great movie. The atmosphere with the characters, especially Sparrow, the music and the settings are great. I can watch this movie over and over again and I can recommend this movie to anyone who likes this adventure-type of action movies. Expand
12 of 13 users found this helpful121
All this user's reviews
10
GoldenEye16Aug 22, 2010
An instantly classic movie that i've seen way too many times because it's so good. The music is especially awesome as well as the hilarious quirkiness of Captain Jack Sparrow. Never gets old.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DaveHJan 4, 2010
I knew of the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise since this film came out but was never interested in it until I came across a poll posted on a website asking "best film trilogy?" and was curious about it. I already had this film in DVD but I knew of the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise since this film came out but was never interested in it until I came across a poll posted on a website asking "best film trilogy?" and was curious about it. I already had this film in DVD but never saw it, I checked and hell, it was very interesting, the setting is good, the story is a littleflat but the ambient was so good and Jack Sparrow is so much of a cool character. Definitely looking forward to seeing the other films and might see again this film several times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SophieJun 22, 2008
I thought this film was absolutely amazing and everyone i no loves it especially the girls because of the dreamy actor orlando bloom! If i could at least sit and watch them filming i would i love this movie ssssssooooooooooo much!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuliettH.Apr 5, 2008
yeah, allright, i think its a really really great movie! love depps performance, the story, the music, the caribbean in background:-) and of course the other actors too. this is brilliant and fun while watching, perfect entertainment! i yeah, allright, i think its a really really great movie! love depps performance, the story, the music, the caribbean in background:-) and of course the other actors too. this is brilliant and fun while watching, perfect entertainment! i love, love it and it's not only me Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlecR.Jan 9, 2008
OK I don't understand why people think this is a horrible movie. It's funny, and has an entertaining story. I go to the movies, and buy them on DVD, to have fun, not say "Wow he didn't say that line with much emotion, OK I don't understand why people think this is a horrible movie. It's funny, and has an entertaining story. I go to the movies, and buy them on DVD, to have fun, not say "Wow he didn't say that line with much emotion, he's a terrible actor." Just enjoy a movie because that's what you're supposed to do with a movie. Oh and about critics, it's better for their paycheck if they give a movie a lower score. They actually don't know what they are taking about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KathrineJun 18, 2007
I'm a teenage girl, and I know most girls LOVE Pirates Of The Caribbean. Yet, I did not like this movie at all. I thought it was boring, dumb, horrible acting and WAY to long. Yes, that's what I think and I'm a teenage girl. I'm a teenage girl, and I know most girls LOVE Pirates Of The Caribbean. Yet, I did not like this movie at all. I thought it was boring, dumb, horrible acting and WAY to long. Yes, that's what I think and I'm a teenage girl. Now, let the gasping begin. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
10
BenBMay 28, 2007
64? Why do the critics dislike this movie so much? Every single person I know who has seen this movie loves it! I mean LOVES it! All the girls say it's their favorite movie! It has everything you good want: good acting, humor, 64? Why do the critics dislike this movie so much? Every single person I know who has seen this movie loves it! I mean LOVES it! All the girls say it's their favorite movie! It has everything you good want: good acting, humor, spectacular action scenes, romance, and one of the best soundtracks ever created. Not to mention Geoffrey Rush and Johnny Depp acting together! This movie is awesome. If it doesn't make you want to grab a sword and go off to sail the seas, then you're probably dead. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DoxMay 28, 2007
Its stupid, its noisy, its messy, its full of terrible acting (except Depp) and silly jokes, its overrated, its catchy, its corny, and its dull; not dull enough to make it the most overhyped movie of all times, but surely dull enough to make Its stupid, its noisy, its messy, its full of terrible acting (except Depp) and silly jokes, its overrated, its catchy, its corny, and its dull; not dull enough to make it the most overhyped movie of all times, but surely dull enough to make it to at least top 10. Expand
3 of 18 users found this helpful
0
ChrisC.May 22, 2007
Awful. Johnny Depp is decent but the story's incredibly boring.
1 of 6 users found this helpful
8
ZachM.May 5, 2007
It was amazing Verbinski brought the best out of Johnny Depp he had him ham it up like Steve Martin and play a serious role like Nicholas Cage all roled into one lovable character. It was a great film but I admit it it wasnt as creative as It was amazing Verbinski brought the best out of Johnny Depp he had him ham it up like Steve Martin and play a serious role like Nicholas Cage all roled into one lovable character. It was a great film but I admit it it wasnt as creative as it could have been but it was the best historical fantasy I have ever seen. The action nailed me to my seat and to take some of the pressure off Jack Sparrow was there a drunken sailor he gave the movie some gteat comic relief. Every actor was perfectly handpicked to be a adventurous comical sailors and pirates. Well done!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YoungllingJan 2, 2007
This is no doubt the best movie ever!! Johnny Depp is charming, funny and sexy!! You can't get a better actor to play such a cool, smart and funny man such is Jack Sparrow!! If I could, I would rate this movie way past 10, so ending This is no doubt the best movie ever!! Johnny Depp is charming, funny and sexy!! You can't get a better actor to play such a cool, smart and funny man such is Jack Sparrow!! If I could, I would rate this movie way past 10, so ending with tht...this is the best movie ever made!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleaD.Dec 30, 2006
I think this is one of my favorite movies ever. The second is better but I still loved it. It has action, adventure, comedy and romance. what else do you need?!?!? i give johnny depp 2 thumbs up for #1 best actor ever. and i give pirates...anI think this is one of my favorite movies ever. The second is better but I still loved it. It has action, adventure, comedy and romance. what else do you need?!?!? i give johnny depp 2 thumbs up for #1 best actor ever. and i give pirates...an outstanding...AYE!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElizabethC.Dec 20, 2006
Johnny Depp was AWESOME in this movie!!! I loved it. I saw it twice in theatres and bought it the day it came out in dvd.... One of my favorite movies!
0 of 0 users found this helpful