User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 135

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 26, 2012
    10
    Possibly the best Science Fiction movie of the 21st century, Pitch Black delivers an astounding sci-fi horror story that chronicles the events surrounding survivors of a space transport crash on a different planet. Each character flourishes in their well-defined personality, their movements, and behavior. The way they clash and the manner in which the story is told is brilliant. This isPossibly the best Science Fiction movie of the 21st century, Pitch Black delivers an astounding sci-fi horror story that chronicles the events surrounding survivors of a space transport crash on a different planet. Each character flourishes in their well-defined personality, their movements, and behavior. The way they clash and the manner in which the story is told is brilliant. This is easily one of the greatest movies in the last fifty years. Expand
  2. Jun 21, 2012
    9
    David Twohy did such a surprisingly fantastic job of this sleeper hit you just have to accept it as a great thrill-ride of a Sci-Fi monster thriller for it's clever and intelligent writing. Though derivative, it has a perfect setting and it intelligently conflicts with the tension from the flying creatures that frighteningly entertains. Also, what if I said it's better than Alien 3 andDavid Twohy did such a surprisingly fantastic job of this sleeper hit you just have to accept it as a great thrill-ride of a Sci-Fi monster thriller for it's clever and intelligent writing. Though derivative, it has a perfect setting and it intelligently conflicts with the tension from the flying creatures that frighteningly entertains. Also, what if I said it's better than Alien 3 and Alien: Resurrection? Because I think it is despite the underrated visual effects. Rated R for sequences of strong sci-fi creature violence and gore, language, and frightening images Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    Though the Riddick films are so under appreciated (it's a crime) I speak for real si-fi fans when I say that the Riddick series (video games included) is one of the greatest series of its genre.
  4. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    wait what? The critics don't like this movie too? Oh my God! Since the first time I saw this movie i never forgot it, I always loved it.. when I found out that it was Riddick, I saw the two movies that existed and I became completely addicted! It's such a good storyline, amazing characters. I've always loved sci-fi but this? Is another level. I love it. it's amazing. Very creative. Toowait what? The critics don't like this movie too? Oh my God! Since the first time I saw this movie i never forgot it, I always loved it.. when I found out that it was Riddick, I saw the two movies that existed and I became completely addicted! It's such a good storyline, amazing characters. I've always loved sci-fi but this? Is another level. I love it. it's amazing. Very creative. Too good, seriously. Expand
  5. Jul 10, 2014
    9
    Pitch Black is a thrilling science fiction movie with terrific acting and visual effects. This movie is very underrated and it is one of the few movies to take place in space. Every aspect of the movie was
    well made and it is a work of art and skill.
  6. Apr 16, 2012
    8
    An incredibly fun and intense sci-fi thriller that shows Vin Diesel has real character that fits him outside of The Fast and the Furious. The first ten minutes are so full of white-knuckle insanity that, with a good crowd sitting in front of a sweet entertainment center/home theater, you'll likely be clutching the sides of the sofa to find any mental stability. When all is said and done,An incredibly fun and intense sci-fi thriller that shows Vin Diesel has real character that fits him outside of The Fast and the Furious. The first ten minutes are so full of white-knuckle insanity that, with a good crowd sitting in front of a sweet entertainment center/home theater, you'll likely be clutching the sides of the sofa to find any mental stability. When all is said and done, Pitch Black is an gem that's unpolished in all the right places to give it plenty of character and isn't any longer than it needs to be with its near two hour run-time. Expand
  7. Sep 5, 2013
    8
    Pitch Black meshes the sci-fi/fantasy genre with the horror genre better than any other movie, including Alien. Vin Diesel's character is amazing. His highly questionable moral compass combined with a strange sense of principles creates a very interesting character dynamic. The supporting cast is solid too, with Radha Mitchell possibly seeing even more screen time than Diesel's Riddick.Pitch Black meshes the sci-fi/fantasy genre with the horror genre better than any other movie, including Alien. Vin Diesel's character is amazing. His highly questionable moral compass combined with a strange sense of principles creates a very interesting character dynamic. The supporting cast is solid too, with Radha Mitchell possibly seeing even more screen time than Diesel's Riddick. The cinematic effects, however, are what make this movie stand out. The camera effects are sometimes a little overdone but the color palette used throughout most of the film is done to great effect. The plot suffers from a couple of cliched episodes of stupidity that plague almost all movies (most notably Paris' ridiculous act towards the end). It also wraps up a bit too suddenly. It feels like the movie is building towards a climax and it ends rather abruptly. Nonetheless, this is an instant cult classic that has held up well over the years and I highly suggest checking it out. Expand
  8. May 17, 2013
    7
    Yes it is a "B-Movie" with limited budget! It is not deeply philosophical, or ground breaking, but IT NEVER TRIED TO BE!!! Critics who gave it low scores should understand this! As a B-movie, it rather good, and not without character!
  9. Sep 12, 2013
    8
    Movie is good for what it is. Some plot holes here and then but the writing was good with some surprises. Obviously its about vin diesel killing things.
  10. May 20, 2013
    6
    Vin Diesel when he was actually good (I liked Fast Five also), Pitch Black may not be the sci-fi plot everybody's looking for, but the action is suitable and thrilling enough and so are the performances, so Pitch Black doesn't fail.
  11. Jul 29, 2014
    8
    Great start to the Riddick trilogy! I takes time to really get going and I wish there had been a little more action but still its a good sci fi thriller none the less!
  12. Jul 6, 2014
    6
    Dark, thrilling, and more intense horror of the first. pitch black brings audiences vin diesel into the big screen which is the first installment of the chronicles of riddick franchise. So I must say that this made me interested in the franchise of the series. So first reason is that it the alien design were pretty interested to audiences. Second Is that the performances of vin diesel wereDark, thrilling, and more intense horror of the first. pitch black brings audiences vin diesel into the big screen which is the first installment of the chronicles of riddick franchise. So I must say that this made me interested in the franchise of the series. So first reason is that it the alien design were pretty interested to audiences. Second Is that the performances of vin diesel were pretty impressive in it. Third is that the dark action sequences were impressive. So I would recommend this is that it's a classic vin diesel film if the series. During the action, the aliens maybe frighten audiences under 11 or 12 years old. So that's the reasons why I would support this movie. Expand
  13. Oct 28, 2011
    4
    I liked the costumes, tabla-music every two seconds and the filming location (desert). Other than that, the story (concept) was too sci-fi for me. I did not follow along with this movie. It failed at keeping me entertained. It was a long drag of nearly 2hrs from the very beginning. How this movie had sequels is beyond me.
  14. Aug 12, 2014
    6
    Overall enjoyable, but there's a lot of squandered potential. The cool alien designs and plot set up made it look like we could've had a great "Aliens" rip-off. Unfortunately thanks to a lack of fear and surprisingly few action scenes this feels like a somewhat lackluster movie. It's still fun and Diesel is perfect as Riddick, but I wanted a little more. Outside of Diesel the other bestOverall enjoyable, but there's a lot of squandered potential. The cool alien designs and plot set up made it look like we could've had a great "Aliens" rip-off. Unfortunately thanks to a lack of fear and surprisingly few action scenes this feels like a somewhat lackluster movie. It's still fun and Diesel is perfect as Riddick, but I wanted a little more. Outside of Diesel the other best part about the movie is Cole Hauser as "Johns." His character's history of hunting Riddick leads to an interesting dynamic and plenty of enjoyable back and forth between the two. The rest of the cast feels kind of meh in comparison, but we all know they're just there to up the body count anyway.

    As it stands "Pitch Black" isn't as dark or as action packed as I was expecting. It's lacking in action and the aliens they are all so worried about don't get enough screen time and aren't presented in enough of a threatening manner when they do. But with Diesel and Hauser playing such awesome characters it's hard to not enjoy yourself despite it's issues. I definitely wouldn't call it a sci-fi classic, but it's entertaining enough to be watched, even if the entire time you'll be thinking about how it could be so much better. I give it a 6.5/10-Okay.
    Expand
  15. Sep 1, 2014
    6
    Pitch Black is an above average monster movie with some decent turns from Vin Diesel and Cole Hauser. Is it enough to base an entire franchise on? No, but that didn't stop them. Then again, I like the sequels slightly more anyhow.
  16. Nov 19, 2014
    7
    Not going to change the world, but good underrated sci fy thriller. I believe it was pretty much trashed by critics when it first came out. It does seem like it is going to be a mediocre aliens rip off. Surprisingly the script is sharp and the characters are well fleshed out before all the mayhem happens. What also helps is Riddick as an interesting choice for a hero. He is a convictNot going to change the world, but good underrated sci fy thriller. I believe it was pretty much trashed by critics when it first came out. It does seem like it is going to be a mediocre aliens rip off. Surprisingly the script is sharp and the characters are well fleshed out before all the mayhem happens. What also helps is Riddick as an interesting choice for a hero. He is a convict whose choices and moral decisions are blurry. He is well played by Deisel and he is able to carry the film and even elevate to something pretty good. The effects are so so but are good enough, i watched a recent hd version and some of it looks good. Expand
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 29
  2. Negative: 6 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Emanuel Levy
    50
    Mildly scary but not particularly engaging on any other level.
  2. 66
    Visually, Pitch Black is sleek and stylish in a post-apocalyptic way, and a scantily clad Radha Mitchell does a nice, more femme variation of Sigourney Weaver's Ripley.
  3. This half-baked sci-fi horror film, filled with jerky, washed-out, highlighted, blurred and toned imagery, is a tiresome experience.