USA Films | Release Date: February 18, 2000
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 259 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
231
Mixed:
22
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
walker14Apr 20, 2014
wait what? The critics don't like this movie too? Oh my God! Since the first time I saw this movie i never forgot it, I always loved it.. when I found out that it was Riddick, I saw the two movies that existed and I became completelywait what? The critics don't like this movie too? Oh my God! Since the first time I saw this movie i never forgot it, I always loved it.. when I found out that it was Riddick, I saw the two movies that existed and I became completely addicted! It's such a good storyline, amazing characters. I've always loved sci-fi but this? Is another level. I love it. it's amazing. Very creative. Too good, seriously. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Bruce722Sep 5, 2013
Pitch Black meshes the sci-fi/fantasy genre with the horror genre better than any other movie, including Alien. Vin Diesel's character is amazing. His highly questionable moral compass combined with a strange sense of principles creates aPitch Black meshes the sci-fi/fantasy genre with the horror genre better than any other movie, including Alien. Vin Diesel's character is amazing. His highly questionable moral compass combined with a strange sense of principles creates a very interesting character dynamic. The supporting cast is solid too, with Radha Mitchell possibly seeing even more screen time than Diesel's Riddick. The cinematic effects, however, are what make this movie stand out. The camera effects are sometimes a little overdone but the color palette used throughout most of the film is done to great effect. The plot suffers from a couple of cliched episodes of stupidity that plague almost all movies (most notably Paris' ridiculous act towards the end). It also wraps up a bit too suddenly. It feels like the movie is building towards a climax and it ends rather abruptly. Nonetheless, this is an instant cult classic that has held up well over the years and I highly suggest checking it out. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
jesterx7769Sep 12, 2013
Movie is good for what it is. Some plot holes here and then but the writing was good with some surprises. Obviously its about vin diesel killing things.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
chrisjones914Jul 29, 2014
Great start to the Riddick trilogy! I takes time to really get going and I wish there had been a little more action but still its a good sci fi thriller none the less!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Midge115May 26, 2012
Possibly the best Science Fiction movie of the 21st century, Pitch Black delivers an astounding sci-fi horror story that chronicles the events surrounding survivors of a space transport crash on a different planet. Each character flourishesPossibly the best Science Fiction movie of the 21st century, Pitch Black delivers an astounding sci-fi horror story that chronicles the events surrounding survivors of a space transport crash on a different planet. Each character flourishes in their well-defined personality, their movements, and behavior. The way they clash and the manner in which the story is told is brilliant. This is easily one of the greatest movies in the last fifty years. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
9
Jedi_JettsonJun 21, 2012
David Twohy did such a surprisingly fantastic job of this sleeper hit you just have to accept it as a great thrill-ride of a Sci-Fi monster thriller for it's clever and intelligent writing. Though derivative, it has a perfect setting and itDavid Twohy did such a surprisingly fantastic job of this sleeper hit you just have to accept it as a great thrill-ride of a Sci-Fi monster thriller for it's clever and intelligent writing. Though derivative, it has a perfect setting and it intelligently conflicts with the tension from the flying creatures that frighteningly entertains. Also, what if I said it's better than Alien 3 and Alien: Resurrection? Because I think it is despite the underrated visual effects. Rated R for sequences of strong sci-fi creature violence and gore, language, and frightening images Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
TylerDurden900Jul 10, 2014
Pitch Black is a thrilling science fiction movie with terrific acting and visual effects. This movie is very underrated and it is one of the few movies to take place in space. Every aspect of the movie was
well made and it is a work of art
Pitch Black is a thrilling science fiction movie with terrific acting and visual effects. This movie is very underrated and it is one of the few movies to take place in space. Every aspect of the movie was
well made and it is a work of art and skill.
Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
MarcusPJul 28, 2009
Great movie, had a very dark gritty feel to it and, oh yeah Riddick's a Badass.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
xXRenTyrellXxSep 11, 2011
Though the Riddick films are so under appreciated (it's a crime) I speak for real si-fi fans when I say that the Riddick series (video games included) is one of the greatest series of its genre.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
oliver1hMay 17, 2013
Yes it is a "B-Movie" with limited budget! It is not deeply philosophical, or ground breaking, but IT NEVER TRIED TO BE!!! Critics who gave it low scores should understand this! As a B-movie, it rather good, and not without character!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
FredBobOct 15, 2006
I must say that I think that the character that Vin Diesel plays is the all-time best fictional character ever. Who's cool? The movie in general is good, better then it's follow up film. But it still has it's dull spots.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
SamApr 6, 2006
Pitch Black isn't the greatest sci-fi movie of all time, and it isn't trying to be. It is, though, a helluva lot of fun.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
JeffA.Nov 24, 2007
Dunno why the low score, this is a great, different, if slightly cheesy movie. Diesel has a style all his own.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
SchroederRockApr 16, 2012
An incredibly fun and intense sci-fi thriller that shows Vin Diesel has real character that fits him outside of The Fast and the Furious. The first ten minutes are so full of white-knuckle insanity that, with a good crowd sitting in front ofAn incredibly fun and intense sci-fi thriller that shows Vin Diesel has real character that fits him outside of The Fast and the Furious. The first ten minutes are so full of white-knuckle insanity that, with a good crowd sitting in front of a sweet entertainment center/home theater, you'll likely be clutching the sides of the sofa to find any mental stability. When all is said and done, Pitch Black is an gem that's unpolished in all the right places to give it plenty of character and isn't any longer than it needs to be with its near two hour run-time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
TheWalrus2000May 20, 2013
Vin Diesel when he was actually good (I liked Fast Five also), Pitch Black may not be the sci-fi plot everybody's looking for, but the action is suitable and thrilling enough and so are the performances, so Pitch Black doesn't fail.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
mariotoadrabbitJul 6, 2014
Dark, thrilling, and more intense horror of the first. pitch black brings audiences vin diesel into the big screen which is the first installment of the chronicles of riddick franchise. So I must say that this made me interested in theDark, thrilling, and more intense horror of the first. pitch black brings audiences vin diesel into the big screen which is the first installment of the chronicles of riddick franchise. So I must say that this made me interested in the franchise of the series. So first reason is that it the alien design were pretty interested to audiences. Second Is that the performances of vin diesel were pretty impressive in it. Third is that the dark action sequences were impressive. So I would recommend this is that it's a classic vin diesel film if the series. During the action, the aliens maybe frighten audiences under 11 or 12 years old. So that's the reasons why I would support this movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
AndyM.Aug 5, 2008
I'm watching this movie right now and I'm not sure I can take much more of it. There just aren't that many... redeeming qualities! The cinematography is unique and thought-out, but the amount of color filters, muddying up I'm watching this movie right now and I'm not sure I can take much more of it. There just aren't that many... redeeming qualities! The cinematography is unique and thought-out, but the amount of color filters, muddying up EVERY SINGLE FRAME with blue or brown, just pisses me off. Realism absolutely aside ('cause there is almost none), I feel no reason to care for any of the characters. Vin's character I do not pity nor root for, nor do I take any interest in the others. The sets are laughable, making visuals as annoying as the coloring. I like sci-fi, I really do, but this just feels like a bad episode of "Lost" mixed with "The Hills Have Eyes" without the grittiness or the intrigue. Oh, and produced with a budget of about 50 bucks. Really, don't waste as much time as I have on this thing. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful
7
[Anonymous]Sep 30, 2005
(for director's cut) Starts off clunky, like Alien-lite, but Vin diesel steps up to form an saves it at the end. ONly worth ONE watch, though. Won't endure past that.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
LeventeSJun 29, 2009
A highly derivative action/horror/sci-fi film which completely fails to deliver on the action, the horror, or the science. Forgettable, interchangeable stock characters make up the bulk of the relatively small cast. The main characters are A highly derivative action/horror/sci-fi film which completely fails to deliver on the action, the horror, or the science. Forgettable, interchangeable stock characters make up the bulk of the relatively small cast. The main characters are bland stereotypes, Riddick himself is only memorable because i've heard his name so many times before. None of the action is exciting, all the horror amounts to the occasional startling due to loud noises (but only two or three times in all), and there is no science to speak of. Ten minutes in I found myself looking for excuses to stop watching, I went to the bathroom, I got a drink, I made some food. Boring, repetitive, extremely underburdened with plot and convincing dialogue, and repetitive. Do not watch this film even once, you'll have more doing exactly what you would do while watching the movie, only with all electronics off. The ambiguity of Diesel's character gets one point, but they could have made it a bigger part of the story. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful
10
Allen&LauraR.Nov 18, 2008
We loves this movies is great!! We have seen it 10 time. it show more action!! hope in the future there will be Pitchblack Pt.2.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
kingshahidOct 28, 2011
I liked the costumes, tabla-music every two seconds and the filming location (desert). Other than that, the story (concept) was too sci-fi for me. I did not follow along with this movie. It failed at keeping me entertained. It was a long dragI liked the costumes, tabla-music every two seconds and the filming location (desert). Other than that, the story (concept) was too sci-fi for me. I did not follow along with this movie. It failed at keeping me entertained. It was a long drag of nearly 2hrs from the very beginning. How this movie had sequels is beyond me. Expand
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews
6
TheQuietGamerAug 12, 2014
Overall enjoyable, but there's a lot of squandered potential. The cool alien designs and plot set up made it look like we could've had a great "Aliens" rip-off. Unfortunately thanks to a lack of fear and surprisingly few action scenes thisOverall enjoyable, but there's a lot of squandered potential. The cool alien designs and plot set up made it look like we could've had a great "Aliens" rip-off. Unfortunately thanks to a lack of fear and surprisingly few action scenes this feels like a somewhat lackluster movie. It's still fun and Diesel is perfect as Riddick, but I wanted a little more. Outside of Diesel the other best part about the movie is Cole Hauser as "Johns." His character's history of hunting Riddick leads to an interesting dynamic and plenty of enjoyable back and forth between the two. The rest of the cast feels kind of meh in comparison, but we all know they're just there to up the body count anyway.

As it stands "Pitch Black" isn't as dark or as action packed as I was expecting. It's lacking in action and the aliens they are all so worried about don't get enough screen time and aren't presented in enough of a threatening manner when they do. But with Diesel and Hauser playing such awesome characters it's hard to not enjoy yourself despite it's issues. I definitely wouldn't call it a sci-fi classic, but it's entertaining enough to be watched, even if the entire time you'll be thinking about how it could be so much better. I give it a 6.5/10-Okay.
Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
6
TokyochuchuSep 1, 2014
Pitch Black is an above average monster movie with some decent turns from Vin Diesel and Cole Hauser. Is it enough to base an entire franchise on? No, but that didn't stop them. Then again, I like the sequels slightly more anyhow.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
oxanaJan 3, 2015
Dark, oppressive, scary, thrilling and breathtaking movie, where different people have to start trusting each other - or die. Vin Diesel's character never changes to a fully good, responsible, caring man - which is something that happens allDark, oppressive, scary, thrilling and breathtaking movie, where different people have to start trusting each other - or die. Vin Diesel's character never changes to a fully good, responsible, caring man - which is something that happens all too often in this kind of movies - and keeps the things on edge constantly. Survival against strange creatures on a foreign planet is the first priority to all. Visually great, well acted and plotted movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JamesCannonNov 19, 2014
Not going to change the world, but good underrated sci fy thriller. I believe it was pretty much trashed by critics when it first came out. It does seem like it is going to be a mediocre aliens rip off. Surprisingly the script is sharp andNot going to change the world, but good underrated sci fy thriller. I believe it was pretty much trashed by critics when it first came out. It does seem like it is going to be a mediocre aliens rip off. Surprisingly the script is sharp and the characters are well fleshed out before all the mayhem happens. What also helps is Riddick as an interesting choice for a hero. He is a convict whose choices and moral decisions are blurry. He is well played by Deisel and he is able to carry the film and even elevate to something pretty good. The effects are so so but are good enough, i watched a recent hd version and some of it looks good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bfoore90Jul 31, 2015
Possibly one of the best low budget movies Ive ever seen. The story is simple and very by the book, not to mention basic and the characters are great with each standing out in their own way. This movie is very deserving of its "cult classic" status
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
GregePorterAug 31, 2015
Bottom line: I don’t understand how this awful, painful movie started a franchise.

The movie opens with a tour of a transport spaceship. Almost all of the passengers are in cryogenic-like sleep pods. Yadda yadda yadda the ship crashes on
Bottom line: I don’t understand how this awful, painful movie started a franchise.

The movie opens with a tour of a transport spaceship. Almost all of the passengers are in cryogenic-like sleep pods. Yadda yadda yadda the ship crashes on some desert planet. When the however-many-suns-this-planet-has set, swarms of vicious, flying, aliens come out from the subterranean depths to hunt in the...pitch-black night. One of the [many] things that disappointed me about Pitch Black was the design of the alien. Initially, I was excited. I thought we weren’t actually going to get to see the aliens; it is called “pitch black” after all. Unfortunately, we see the little hammerhead things early and often. It’s too bad we see them too because, even though this movie is from 2000, the CGI has not aged well.

I’m used to seeing “criminal” protagonists who turn out to be misunderstood or noble rebels especially when the protagonist is Vin Diesel. Has he ever been a bad guy? Well, in Pitch Black, he is a super criminal/murderer who is being transported to some prison colony-planet. Over time, as these protagonists do, they bond with their fellow travelers. Diesel has a tendency to do this in his other roles, namely, The Fast and The Furious, where he is the kindhearted hijacker, Dom. In Pitch Black, it seems like he is going to be that type of character; he saves this character who does something stupid and that character who puts himself in danger. At almost the end of the movie, all of a sudden, he drops the act to become a villain...only to turn around to do the right thing. If they were trying to make him an antihero, they weren’t successful nor were they successful at making him the anything more than a generic action figure.

Vin Diesel makes me laugh because he is so serious about his roles. I’ve mentioned that about Tom Cruise in my previous reviews. I appreciate it when an actor is determined to do a ludicrous scene with the utmost dedication. In Pitch Black, for example, Riddick’s hands are handcuffed behind his back around a steel beam. He looks up to see a break in the beam. I can imagine his thought process: “if only I could flip up somehow and slip the cuffs thr- oh, better idea, I’ll just dislocate my shoulders and slip them through the space.”

Overall, I really disliked almost everything about this movie. I already talked about Riddick but I wasn’t any fan of any of the other cookie cutter characters. There’s the token love interest, the punk kid (who I’ll discuss in a bit), Riddick’s white male rival, weasel-like male character (who looks oddly like Quentin Tarantino), the expendable (less attractive) female character, and the token minority character and his two kids. I did have some fun picking out which characters would die (and in what order). I’d recommend you try it if you find yourself strapped to a chair and forced to watch this movie.

Other than the poor graphics, the film tried (and failed) to experiment with colors and camera work. One of the suns is blue so everything is, you know, blue and there are a number of spinning shots at odd angles. None of this carried any sort of emotion. If anything, I was a little bored of seeing a group of blue people walk through a blue desert. If a movie is going to have a strange shot, give me a reason why. Is it supposed to represent someone’s state of mind? When I think about Pitch Black, it’s like it was actually two short movies directed by two different people, but they ran out of budget so they glued them together.

Mind yourself for spoilers at this next bit. The shaved-head punk kid is named Jack. At one point, as the tired crew is making their way through the dark desert, Riddick says, “[we can’t make it now] especially with the girl bleeding.” But the love interest isn’t shot- Oh snap, Jack is a girl! From this point on, whimpering replaces any rebellious response from Jack. The big gender plot twist (if I can call it that) also has one of the most bizarre references to menstruation I’ve ever heard. The group is arguing about whether or not to continue or go back to a safe location. Riddick’s male rival says, “I say we mush on. Why don’t you butch up,” (talking to the love interest), “stick a cork in this kid and let’s go.” On that note...

I think that pretty much sums up my feelings about Pitch Black. I don’t recommend you ever see it this stupid, generic, disappointing, waste of time. Ever.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews