Pitch Perfect

Pitch Perfect Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 257 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Beca is that girl who'd rather listen to what's coming out of her headphones than what's coming out of you. Arriving at her new college, she finds herself not right for any clique but somehow is muscled into one that she never would have picked on her own: alongside mean girls, sweet girlsBeca is that girl who'd rather listen to what's coming out of her headphones than what's coming out of you. Arriving at her new college, she finds herself not right for any clique but somehow is muscled into one that she never would have picked on her own: alongside mean girls, sweet girls and weird girls whose only thing in common is how good they sound when they sing together. When Beca takes this acoustic singing group out of their world of traditional arrangements and perfect harmonies into all-new mash-ups, they fight to climb their way to the top of the cutthroat world of college a cappella. This could wind up either the coolest thing they'll ever do or the most insane, and it will probably be a little of both. (Universal Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    Sep 27, 2012
    90
    A comedy about an all-female collegiate a cappella group. And to paraphrase one of the characters in the movie, it's A-Ca-Awesome.
  2. Reviewed by: Henry Barnes
    Dec 21, 2012
    80
    The soundtrack's ironic bent might dissuade older viewers (Simple Minds are venerated), but they'd be missing out on one of the best musical comedies since A Mighty Wind. The song's the same, but Pitch Perfect is a great cover version.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Sep 28, 2012
    75
    The campus comedy Pitch Perfect harmonizes high-end performance with low-brow spoofery. It's like a National Lampoon parody where the targets write the jokes.
  4. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Sep 26, 2012
    70
    As spirited and irresistible as the college a cappella craze it celebrates, Pitch Perfect is a cheeky delight.
  5. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Sep 27, 2012
    63
    The college singing-group comedy Pitch Perfect isn't dumb, but Kendrick's participation implies that it might also be smart. And sometimes it is.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Sep 28, 2012
    60
    The music, of course, is the engine that makes the whole exercise go, tapping into a genre-spanning collection of tunes, but every bit as important to the film's success is its unexpected humor, which flirts with raunchy but stops juuuust short of crossing any lines that would have earned it an R rating.
  7. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Sep 27, 2012
    40
    Only occasionally funny and not at all illuminating about the rich world of a cappella singing.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 72
  2. Negative: 2 out of 72
  1. Sep 30, 2012
    10
    So funny. Rebel Wilson will become famous because of this film. Highly recommended. My wife dragged me to this one, but I am glad that ISo funny. Rebel Wilson will become famous because of this film. Highly recommended. My wife dragged me to this one, but I am glad that I went. 10/10 Expand
  2. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    This film is hilarious I have to agree with EFYevan, Rebel Wilson is great and stills the show and we will be seeing a lot more of her inThis film is hilarious I have to agree with EFYevan, Rebel Wilson is great and stills the show and we will be seeing a lot more of her in the future also some great tunes,but most of all very funny the whole cinema was laughing all the way through the film well worth a watch. Collapse
  3. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    Overall, I thought Pitch Perfect was a fantastic movie! It definitely has a cheesy plot line, but highly entertaining. I was really impressedOverall, I thought Pitch Perfect was a fantastic movie! It definitely has a cheesy plot line, but highly entertaining. I was really impressed with the vocals throughout the entire movie. Rebel Wilson's charter, Fat Amy, was hilarious and added great humor to the film. Anna Kendrick did an amazing job as well. I highly recommend this movie if you are in the mood for a funny, light-hearted, romantic chick flick! Expand
  4. Jan 12, 2013
    7
    It's a pretty standard formula film but the performances of Kendrick, Snow and Camp are exellent and Elizabeth Banks and John Michael HigginsIt's a pretty standard formula film but the performances of Kendrick, Snow and Camp are exellent and Elizabeth Banks and John Michael Higgins provide some great sarcastic humor in cameo parts. Not oscar material or nothing you would put on your all-time favorite movie list, but nice porpcorn entertainment. Expand
  5. May 27, 2015
    7
    As the sequel is already out .Now it is the time I review the original Pitch Perfect.
    The first time I heard Pitch Perfect is going to be
    As the sequel is already out .Now it is the time I review the original Pitch Perfect.
    The first time I heard Pitch Perfect is going to be released and the plot is all about an A Capella,I was skeptic about it and curious if the movie would work. Surprisingly the movie is good.The characters are funny and has a great chemistry.I was amazed it is good.The sequel is kind a bit the same and disappointing,the first film is the best.
    Expand
  6. Apr 6, 2015
    6
    Surprisingly enough Pitch Perfect is based on a book, shocking I know, and a non-fiction at that - WTF? - I can’t imagine reading a book aboutSurprisingly enough Pitch Perfect is based on a book, shocking I know, and a non-fiction at that - WTF? - I can’t imagine reading a book about collegiate a Cappella groups much less watching a movie about it.

    The Pitch Perfect plot has every single textbook cliché to make the film a lot worse than what it is but they were smart enough to use them well. Although, there’s a boy who meets a girl it’s not all about the romance, there’s a group who is clearly the underdog but it’s not a pity party, and there’s a type of good guys against bad guys situation but it’s downplayed to the point that they are hardly any bad guys in the film. So what’s left? The music, the competition, the camaraderie, and slightly stereotypical but strong women characters. Add in a dash of over the top comedy and it kinda works.

    Pitch Perfect does not take itself too seriously, it’s entertaining with good one-liners and some bad ones. It’s weird to say but the movie has personality, those quirky characters are easy to like and even if you know where it is heading - because it’s that predictable - it is still an enjoyable movie. @wornoutspines
    Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2016
    1
    WHAT I LIKED: Rebel Wilson is hilarious - every amusing comment and remark she makes causes laughs and giggles. It almost feels as if she'sWHAT I LIKED: Rebel Wilson is hilarious - every amusing comment and remark she makes causes laughs and giggles. It almost feels as if she's taking the mickey out of the film itself! Plus some of the musical arrangements are fairly good.
    WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Everything else... This has to be one of the most cringey and cliched, plot-less and dull films out there. Even a lack of any serious sub-message or convincing characterisation... really?
    VERDICT: With nothing to enjoy unless you're five, 'Pitch Perfect' misses the mark. If it wasn't for the hilarious fat amy - it wouldn't even be funny.
    Expand

See all 72 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: September 2015

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: September 2015 Image
    Published: August 27, 2015
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of September, including Mad Max: Fury Road, Furious 7, The Jinx, Pitch Perfect 2, Spy, and much more.
  2. Film Friday (2/13): This Week's New Movies & Trailers

    Film Friday (2/13): This Week's New Movies & Trailers Image
    Published: February 13, 2015
    Find a guide to this weekend's new theatrical releases and watch all of the week's new movie trailers, including new looks at Amy Schumer's Trainwreck, Cameron Crowe's Aloha, Straight Outta Compton, The Man From UNCLE, Hitman: Agent 47, Pitch Perfect 2, and much more.
  3. Film Friday (11/21): This Week's New Movies & Trailers

    Film Friday (11/21): This Week's New Movies & Trailers Image
    Published: November 21, 2014
    Find a guide to this weekend's new theatrical releases and watch all of the week's new movie trailers, including new looks at Pitch Perfect 2, Peanuts, and Cinderella.
  4. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: June 15, 2012
    This week, watch new clips and features for "The Amazing Spider-Man" and Oliver Stone's "Savages" as well as the week's new trailers (for "2 Days in New York," "Pitch Perfect," "Resident Evil: Retribution," and more). Plus, get a recap of this week's movie news.