Planes

Planes Image
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 151 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Dusty is a crop duster who dreams of competing in the most exhilarating around-the-world air race in history. Unfortunately, he is hopelessly afraid of heights, but with the support of his mentor Skipper and a host of new friends, Dusty takes off to heights he never dreamed possible.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 32
  2. Negative: 8 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Aug 7, 2013
    75
    What Planes lacks in novelty, it makes up for with eye-popping aerial sequences and a high-flying comic spirit.
  2. Reviewed by: Dave Calhoun
    Aug 13, 2013
    60
    There’s nothing groundbreaking about the animation or script. That said, the characters and story still offer low-key charms.
  3. Reviewed by: Susan Wloszczyna
    Aug 9, 2013
    50
    Planes modestly succeeds. Very modestly.
  4. 40
    On just about every other level other than visuals, Planes is dry, dry, dry. There's no verbal wit, no standout vocal performances.
  5. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    Aug 12, 2013
    40
    A Pixney misfire.
  6. 38
    Planes looks, sounds and feels like a direct-to-video project, which in an earlier age when people still bought DVDs it would have been. In theaters, it’s nothing more than a laughless 90 minute commercial for toys available at a retailer near you.
  7. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Aug 6, 2013
    20
    Can a plane jump a shark when it's already in the air? To Disney, that question is moot. It's so certain that Planes will make a mint in toys, if not in theaters, that it's already slated a sequel for next summer.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 44
  2. Negative: 22 out of 44
  1. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    In 5 weeks this under-rated movie made US$79 mio including US$4.4 mio last weekend. ON YOUR PLANES CRITICS AS WELLS AS USERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  2. Aug 23, 2013
    7
    I don't get the hate for this movie. I understand the desire to hate it, mostly because it is a Disney Animation Studios spin-off of theI don't get the hate for this movie. I understand the desire to hate it, mostly because it is a Disney Animation Studios spin-off of the highly underrated Cars series (which has a fair amount of unwarranted dislike and hate directed towards it as well) and as such is expected to be of Pixar quality which is itself not a justified thought since it is not Pixar behind this movie or even Pixar's animation team.

    Planes is a solid movie that fits well into the established Cars universe that many of us know and love, with a few Cars-ish jokes that take place with Planes instead of Cars. It actually has a number of good jokes and fun characters that are quite enjoyable if you are not too busy still trying to hate the movie for everything it is not before it finishes. I admit it is nothing very special but that doesn't make it automatically bad, it is actually quite good. The story is predictable but so are almost all stories in most all movies if you have watched enough movies, that's not really a valid argument against a movie. Especially in an animated film where the story is meant to be uplifting in a fun way and simply provide amusement, which it does.

    Lets think about this for a second, the movie is about talking planes. It is not a thriller or a drama or some sort of mind bending tale meant to evoke a sense of amazement at the level of story telling. It is fine for what it is and for what it tries to be, entertaining and fun. It probably won't win any awards, it probably shouldn't since as I have already said, it isn't really anything special. It will likely be one of the many Disney movies that many people forget about 10 years from now but that still doesn't make it a bad movie.
    Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2014
    5
    It's clear that Disney just phoned in this "Cars" spin-off. Everything I've typically come to expect from a Disney animated movie, like greatIt's clear that Disney just phoned in this "Cars" spin-off. Everything I've typically come to expect from a Disney animated movie, like great plot, tons of humor, big name voice actors, and excellent animation, are all lacking. Animation is pretty great, but nowhere near the quality of a typical animated Disney movie. The plot has been done thousands of times before and it is almost completely devoid of any funny moments. It is also really hard to care about any of these characters, especially since the majority of them are irritating. The voice actors do good jobs, but they are mostly C or D-list actors, which is incredibly odd in my opinion.

    I found this to be a very mediocre movie that definitely feels like a straight-to-DVD type film, rather than something that actually made it's way into theatres. It's clear that not much effort was put into this film, and that Disney was just trying to get by on the Cars name. I find it hard to imagine that kids will actually enjoy this movie thanks to it's humorless presentation, unless they just really have a thing for airplanes. Parents will get an even worse experience than their kids, who would only find the barest form of entertainment possible here anyway. Truly this is a throwaway and mediocre effort from Disney. If you are looking for a good movie that will entertain you and your little ones on a family movie night, do yourself a favor and pass on this mediocre one. There are plenty of better options.
    Expand
  4. Feb 2, 2014
    3
    This was a movie, that should of went straight to DVD or Blu-ray! Its a low budget movie and it shows in the animations! while watching theThis was a movie, that should of went straight to DVD or Blu-ray! Its a low budget movie and it shows in the animations! while watching the movie I felt like the studio just did the movie for the money. Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    3
    Pretty much a rehash of the cars movies with less interesting characters, but the same universe, the same types of characters and the samePretty much a rehash of the cars movies with less interesting characters, but the same universe, the same types of characters and the same animation styles. I expect more. Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2013
    2
    Even my six year old blind daughter hated it. The worst part about it is that there was no story too the movie. And no development ofEven my six year old blind daughter hated it. The worst part about it is that there was no story too the movie. And no development of characters what so ever Expand
  7. Aug 30, 2013
    0
    This is my first review, but I felt compelled to do so. I thought Cars was great. Unique story line, characters with depth, comedy, plotThis is my first review, but I felt compelled to do so. I thought Cars was great. Unique story line, characters with depth, comedy, plot development. Planes felt like an hour and a half commercial. Nothing original whatsoever. The underdog has a dream, reluctantly gets mentored by grumpy old man who ends up learning new life lessons in the process. There's the dopey guy. The bad guy. The cute but unattainable girl. Then the underdog wins. Yeah, we saw it already, it was called CARS. I didn't laugh once watching Planes. They're really getting lazy and expecting us to like this uninspired garbage. Hmmmm... whats next? What action figures can they market at Walmart? "Trains" of course. What about "Hot Air Balloons"? A plucky Helium balloon dreams of floating around the world, so he finds a grumpy old man to mentor him, meets a dopey guy along the way, then a bad guy, and then he wins. Action figures coming to Walmart 5/20/14. Expand

See all 44 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  2. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 17, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Kubo and the Two Strings, Ben-Hur, War Dogs, Morris From America, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.