Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 138 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Dusty is a crop duster who dreams of competing in the most exhilarating around-the-world air race in history. Unfortunately, he is hopelessly afraid of heights, but with the support of his mentor Skipper and a host of new friends, Dusty takes off to heights he never dreamed possible.
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 32
  2. Negative: 8 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Aug 7, 2013
    75
    What Planes lacks in novelty, it makes up for with eye-popping aerial sequences and a high-flying comic spirit.
  2. Reviewed by: Dave Calhoun
    Aug 13, 2013
    60
    There’s nothing groundbreaking about the animation or script. That said, the characters and story still offer low-key charms.
  3. Reviewed by: Susan Wloszczyna
    Aug 9, 2013
    50
    Planes modestly succeeds. Very modestly.
  4. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Aug 8, 2013
    40
    On just about every other level other than visuals, Planes is dry, dry, dry. There's no verbal wit, no standout vocal performances.
  5. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    Aug 12, 2013
    40
    A Pixney misfire.
  6. 38
    Planes looks, sounds and feels like a direct-to-video project, which in an earlier age when people still bought DVDs it would have been. In theaters, it’s nothing more than a laughless 90 minute commercial for toys available at a retailer near you.
  7. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Aug 6, 2013
    20
    Can a plane jump a shark when it's already in the air? To Disney, that question is moot. It's so certain that Planes will make a mint in toys, if not in theaters, that it's already slated a sequel for next summer.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 39
  2. Negative: 21 out of 39
  1. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    In 5 weeks this under-rated movie made US$79 mio including US$4.4 mio last weekend. ON YOUR PLANES CRITICS AS WELLS AS USERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers. If it was not for the abysmal 'Cars 2' and less then glossy 'Brave' recent Pixar releases would look like failers but thanks to these two let downs it makes 'Planes' shine in comparison. It was originally planned to be a direct to DVD release but Disney took the gamble and brought it to the big screen. Some may argue this was a gimmick to sell merchandise but the truth is kids owned toy cars and planes before Pixar came along and their is no doubt they still will when they are gone. This was defiantly the right choice and also clever merging it with the 'Cars' Universe despite not featuring any of the main characters from the Cars franchise.

    The film is based around Dusty Crophopper, voiced by Dane Cook is a crop duster plane with a fear of heights. He longs to become a racer and compete in the Wings across the World Championship. With help training from a former Navy War plane named Skipper(Stacy Keach) ,Dusty enters but fails to get past the qualifying stage. However after another plane is disqualified Dusty takes his place.

    Like 'Cars' the planes are portrayed as different nationalities including Bulldog, a British plane voiced by John Cleese, Mexican El Chupacabra, Italian Arturo and many more. This gives the film some good humour without being offensive. We also see races across, Germany, China, India and more. The earlier races are brief so do not become tedious.

    'Planes' provides a vast amount of charm and will appeal to not only the younger viewers or older viewers as well. The animation is not what we have come to expect from Pixar but neither was Cars and leaves us with little concern. It may not be the best Pixar film but it is by no means the worst and is a worthy addition, sitting somewhere just below the middle.
    Collapse
  3. Mar 2, 2014
    5
    It's clear that Disney just phoned in this "Cars" spin-off. Everything I've typically come to expect from a Disney animated movie, like greatIt's clear that Disney just phoned in this "Cars" spin-off. Everything I've typically come to expect from a Disney animated movie, like great plot, tons of humor, big name voice actors, and excellent animation, are all lacking. Animation is pretty great, but nowhere near the quality of a typical animated Disney movie. The plot has been done thousands of times before and it is almost completely devoid of any funny moments. It is also really hard to care about any of these characters, especially since the majority of them are irritating. The voice actors do good jobs, but they are mostly C or D-list actors, which is incredibly odd in my opinion.

    I found this to be a very mediocre movie that definitely feels like a straight-to-DVD type film, rather than something that actually made it's way into theatres. It's clear that not much effort was put into this film, and that Disney was just trying to get by on the Cars name. I find it hard to imagine that kids will actually enjoy this movie thanks to it's humorless presentation, unless they just really have a thing for airplanes. Parents will get an even worse experience than their kids, who would only find the barest form of entertainment possible here anyway. Truly this is a throwaway and mediocre effort from Disney. If you are looking for a good movie that will entertain you and your little ones on a family movie night, do yourself a favor and pass on this mediocre one. There are plenty of better options.
    Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2013
    3
    I first heard about Planes in late July, then I saw a video game tie-in to the film, then I saw advertisements of toys and other children'sI first heard about Planes in late July, then I saw a video game tie-in to the film, then I saw advertisements of toys and other children's items as a tie-in to the film, then I heard about a sequel, Planes: Fire and Rescue set for release in 2014. Then the film came out. And when I saw the film, it was crap. There is always some type of "thing" in every Disney film I've seen that just grips you and sometimes leaving you with a sense of satisfaction, this film does not have that. It seems like the whole purpose of this film is to make a franchise off of it, for profit. The animation says Disney, the story is very cliche and the characters have personalities that you can find in any other underdog film. Kids will drag their parents to see it, have a good time and enjoy it, I know that much. But overall, this film is nothing but, something to keep you occupied for 92 minutes. Expand
  5. AGN
    Apr 3, 2015
    3
    If you just close your eyes and think about the movie for a couple of seconds, you would probably think that this is a Cars Ripoff.

    * 1/2
    If you just close your eyes and think about the movie for a couple of seconds, you would probably think that this is a Cars Ripoff.

    * 1/2 stars out of 4
    Score: 3.5
    Grade: D+ Bad.
    Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2013
    2
    Do you enjoy family movies full of fun and excitement? Do you enjoy clean, good hearted films full of wonderful characters and whimsicalDo you enjoy family movies full of fun and excitement? Do you enjoy clean, good hearted films full of wonderful characters and whimsical places?

    Then please, don't watch this movie. The whole time I was waiting for some kind of horrific plane crash in which all characters would burst into flames with death and destruction raining from the sky. The poor ambulance and firetruck cars would have to come, sad eyes on their windshields showing tears slowly slipping down their cheeks as they can do nothing but try to find pieces through the wreckage. A wing here and half an eye piece in this heap. Alas, that never happened and instead I had to sit through one of the worst movies I've ever seen.

    That is how much I hated this movie.
    Expand
  7. Aug 30, 2013
    0
    This is my first review, but I felt compelled to do so. I thought Cars was great. Unique story line, characters with depth, comedy, plotThis is my first review, but I felt compelled to do so. I thought Cars was great. Unique story line, characters with depth, comedy, plot development. Planes felt like an hour and a half commercial. Nothing original whatsoever. The underdog has a dream, reluctantly gets mentored by grumpy old man who ends up learning new life lessons in the process. There's the dopey guy. The bad guy. The cute but unattainable girl. Then the underdog wins. Yeah, we saw it already, it was called CARS. I didn't laugh once watching Planes. They're really getting lazy and expecting us to like this uninspired garbage. Hmmmm... whats next? What action figures can they market at Walmart? "Trains" of course. What about "Hot Air Balloons"? A plucky Helium balloon dreams of floating around the world, so he finds a grumpy old man to mentor him, meets a dopey guy along the way, then a bad guy, and then he wins. Action figures coming to Walmart 5/20/14. Expand

See all 39 User Reviews

Trailers