User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 114 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 114
  2. Negative: 47 out of 114

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 18, 2011
    6
    PLANET 51 is a nice, little kiddie film that has many great homages to famous sci-fi movies.
  2. Aug 26, 2010
    8
    Planet 51 has good animation, an funny plot and easy-to-please moments, but has an very predictable end - and even children knows that, but stays a question in all heads, before the end: he stays there or he goes?
  3. May 26, 2011
    3
    Its a shame that this movie didn't use it's smart plot to a benefit or I would have given this movie a higher rating if it had a better cast and if it was funnier, but like I said it falls too short.
  4. Mar 21, 2011
    4
    This family animated film was okay not great. The concept of the alien civilization being in the 1950s was dumb. Even some of the music from the 1950s by dumb pop singers was retarded. The acting was okay too. This movie is for kids only, not adults.
  5. Apr 19, 2011
    4
    This Is A VERY Uncreative Movie... The Voices Are Nah-Nah... But This Is Cute For Kids...
  6. Jan 23, 2014
    7
    While the 1950s/1960s references and setting are likely to fall flat with most kids, I thought the film was fun and brilliantly animated. My little nephew had no idea about the cultural era defined for the aliens, but he remained mostly interested from start to finish (which, for him, is quite a feat). This is by no means the cream of the animated film crop, but it's a far better experience than many reviews to date would suggest, and it's worth watching. It's a shame I never heard about it until nearly four years after release. Expand
  7. Apr 19, 2013
    7
    Planet 51 isn't really meant for children, it has a lot of references to movies and pop-culture that only an adult would understand, some violence here and there and some references to nudity. Nothing outrageous but definitely no Disney-standards. I enjoyed the humour and the 3D animation was good.

    I'm surprised to see Planet 51 score as low as it does, maybe it's because a lot of
    people went in expecting a kid's movie and were served something that's akin to a science-fiction parody instead. It deserves better. Expand
  8. Nov 13, 2011
    3
    Planet 51 does have a unique concept of an alien race in a 1950's flair environment, but the whole execution of the movie was a complete disaster. The story was quickly forgettable with humour so dull that Dwayne Johnson (voice of Charles T. Baker aka the Astronaut) couldn't save this animated feature to be highly entertaining. With a poor execution and only two scenes that will make you laugh, Planet 51 is at best to be a direct to video film than a theatrical feature. Expand
  9. Dec 2, 2011
    3
    Planet 51 may have great animation, but the thin plotted story and uninteresting characters make it very boring. It lacks fun in a lot of ways. The premise was interesting, but was poorly executed.
  10. Jan 29, 2012
    2
    It has a very intriguing premise but the whole film is a wreck. With boring voice acting and bad animation along with it not being funny, Save your money and don't see it. i give this movie 19%.
  11. May 14, 2012
    4
    Planet 51 is a poor animation movie. It haves a really stupid story, but sometimes it gets kinda interesting, sometimes, because this move is a let down. Even the animation is amateur and poor.
  12. Sep 4, 2012
    4
    "Planet 51" is a letdown that isn't worth to watch. Yes, it haves a good 3d animation, but the story is weird and dumb, and It isn't kids film. This movie is more for teens, because it haves some sexual moments, that aren't graphically absurd, but really not for kids.
  13. Nov 16, 2013
    2
    Planet 51 is spaced out.
    No laughs, no good characters, no real message, and an unoriginal story. The only redeeming quality I can see is that it will hold kids interest; but there are many choices far better than this one regarding a family film.
  14. Aug 17, 2014
    7
    Planet 51 pays homage to the classic alien movies in which it references much from movies such as Aliens and 2001: A Space Odyssey, in which they are really fun and they keep an adult's attention. Personally, my list of favorite animated movies includes peculiar titles and not the usual classics, Planet 51 fits there perfectly.
  15. Jul 13, 2014
    1
    It's odd that before this review, the average user rating was 51. How ironic. Especially because it deserves a much lower score. I mean, it's pretty obvious what will happen.
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. A perky though not terribly imaginative feature aimed primarily at youngsters.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    40
    There's nothing funny, provocative or involving about what "Shrek" co-writer Joe Stillman and the team from Madrid-based Ilion Animation Studios do with the notion here.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Miller
    40
    Like "E.T." in reverse, this pleasantly mediocre CG animation tale lands an astronaut on a distant planet.