Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 27, 2001
5.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 193 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
58
Mixed:
71
Negative:
64
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 28, 2011
Although I agree about the dazzling visuals, Tim Burton certainly DID NOT spend his time wisely on the script or direction when making "Planet of the Apes".
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
AapieApr 14, 2002
It's the best movie I've seen in 2 years, just look at the apes.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]May 30, 2004
Tim Burton does another great job. This movie was good all the way through. Enjoy the movie for itself; try not to compare it to the original. Remaking such an icon is a big task at the best of times, and Burton does his best, using his Tim Burton does another great job. This movie was good all the way through. Enjoy the movie for itself; try not to compare it to the original. Remaking such an icon is a big task at the best of times, and Burton does his best, using his original dark style to the film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JoeyD.Nov 27, 2001
The Original sucked. It was horribly boring. But Tim Burton has made something really good out of something bad. And most people dont really understand the ending to the movie cuz there are several different explainations and Tim Burton The Original sucked. It was horribly boring. But Tim Burton has made something really good out of something bad. And most people dont really understand the ending to the movie cuz there are several different explainations and Tim Burton hasnt come out and said which is the right way. The ending wasnt made for people to understand it and then just go home. Tim Burton's intentions were to make you think about the film when you leave the theatre and use your imagination. It is the people with no sense of imagination and no artistic ability (Like that moron for the wall street journal) that dont like the ending because they want things plain and simple. But that's not what this movie is about. If you like to wonder and use your imagination then this is a movie for you. But if you want everything with one reasonable explaination then you might want to stay away from this one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndrewNov 29, 2003
I wish the critics would just f@!k off. Seriously you watch a movie to be entertained not to pull the movie apart and question every sigle detail. Get a life....
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
R.LopezFeb 3, 2009
Exceptional!! Planet of the Apes is perhaps one of the brainiest and most visually stunning film I've ever seen. Planet of the Apes stars Mark Whalberg as Captain Leo Davidson a 22 century astronaut who while his genetically altered Ape Exceptional!! Planet of the Apes is perhaps one of the brainiest and most visually stunning film I've ever seen. Planet of the Apes stars Mark Whalberg as Captain Leo Davidson a 22 century astronaut who while his genetically altered Ape is investigating an electro-magnetic storm suddenly disappears into thin air, Davidson defies orders and takes a pod out into the cloud to look for his chimp. But as soon as he enters he losses all control of his ships and is sent into an alternate reality where Apes rule and humans are there slaves. Now Davidson has one shot of getting home, he has to tread across uncharted territory to find a sacred temple which could hold the shocking secrets to mankind's past- and the last hope for it's salvation. Planet of the apes is an amazing Si-Fi epic that will have you cheering for the little guy and will have you on the edge of your seat through out. I give Planet of the apes a 4 out of 5. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful
10
DanB.Mar 9, 2009
For someone like me who hasn't seen the original, a type of person I think most reviews failed to consider, I think this is a more than competent, and very thought provoking, fitting modern sci-fi great, genuinly any fan of sci-fi, For someone like me who hasn't seen the original, a type of person I think most reviews failed to consider, I think this is a more than competent, and very thought provoking, fitting modern sci-fi great, genuinly any fan of sci-fi, anyone who cares about animals, anyone who has questions about human nature and whats its all about, with get a lot out of this movie, without it even necessarily needing to be directly related to the viewer, and thats the beauty of it...Enjoy. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
R.LopezJan 28, 2009
Exceptional!! Planet of the Apes is perhaps one of the brainiest and most visually stunning film I've ever seen. Planet of the Apes stars Mark Whalberg as Captain Leo Davidson a 22 century astronaut who while his genetically altered Ape Exceptional!! Planet of the Apes is perhaps one of the brainiest and most visually stunning film I've ever seen. Planet of the Apes stars Mark Whalberg as Captain Leo Davidson a 22 century astronaut who while his genetically altered Ape is investigating an electro-magnetic storm suddenly disappears into thin air, Davidson defies orders and takes a pod out into the cloud to look for his chimp. But as soon as he enters he losses all control of his ships and is sent into an alternate reality where Apes rule and humans are there slaves. Now Davidson has one shot of getting home, he has to tread across uncharted territory to find a sacred temple which could hold the shocking secrets to mankind's past- and the last hope for it's salvation. Planet of the apes is an amazing Si-Fi epic that will have you cheering for the little guy and will have you on the edge of your seat through out. I give Planet of the apes a 4 out of 5. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
BRApr 18, 2006
I can't understand anyone giving this movie even a mediocre scroe. It was terrible. bad acting, predicatable plot. Just plain dumb.
2 of 7 users found this helpful
1
ShourovB.Sep 29, 2002
Startingly bad. I wanted to watch this movie for fun, and instead found myself wanting the last 90 minutes of my life back. I didn't care if the story was not plausible (neither was the original, which I liked) but Burton made the plot Startingly bad. I wanted to watch this movie for fun, and instead found myself wanting the last 90 minutes of my life back. I didn't care if the story was not plausible (neither was the original, which I liked) but Burton made the plot *so* inconsistent that I couldn't ignore it any more. God knows I wanted to enjoy this movie, I really did, but in the end it is probably the worst movie I have ever seen. And no-one - I mean no-one- has ever acted worse than Estella Warren has in this "movie." Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
NazguleroJun 21, 2011
Are you kidding ? Here we venture deep, deep into B-movie territory, with everything from the CGI to the acting to the makeup being plain...ridiculous ! The old and the young apes are really unbelievably, flabbergastingly unwatchable. This isAre you kidding ? Here we venture deep, deep into B-movie territory, with everything from the CGI to the acting to the makeup being plain...ridiculous ! The old and the young apes are really unbelievably, flabbergastingly unwatchable. This is moviemaking at its worst ! I swear one of the monkeys looks like Prince ! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
TheNewSpielbergFeb 11, 2012
This mediocre piece of film making is one of, if not the worst remake of all time. Over the top acting, a boring and predictable plot as well as some freakishly realistic makeup make this one definitely worth avoiding. The original willThis mediocre piece of film making is one of, if not the worst remake of all time. Over the top acting, a boring and predictable plot as well as some freakishly realistic makeup make this one definitely worth avoiding. The original will always remain the classic. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
imthenoobJun 9, 2013
Honestly, Wasn't that bad of a movie. I thought it was pretty enjoyable and the action scenes were alright. Certainly lacked a plot and the acting, despite having a strong cast, wasn't that good either. Still enjoyabe to watch, I liked it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
ViolettDec 8, 2014
Weak movie compared to both 2011 version and 1968 version. Plot is bad, just bad, it is plain and simple, there are no twists, ideas of time travel is overused.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
diogomendesJul 28, 2014
Wow, this movie is a piece of sh*t. Not only does the apes look like some f*cking human dressed in a Halloween suit, the plot is so f*cking stupid. Even Mark Walhberg's performance sucks monkey dicks and HE IS A GREAT ACTOR!!! The movie opensWow, this movie is a piece of sh*t. Not only does the apes look like some f*cking human dressed in a Halloween suit, the plot is so f*cking stupid. Even Mark Walhberg's performance sucks monkey dicks and HE IS A GREAT ACTOR!!! The movie opens with an intriguing climax but ends up in a way so retarded. Tim Burton doesn't give a sh*t, why should I? This movie makes me wanna see the way-much better reboot... Planet of the Apes (2001), yeah the bad one. **** this sh*t. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
CharlesH.Aug 28, 2001
The central character in this movie i.e. Marky Mark had no development. The Apes were great but maybe No. 2 should be directed by Cameron or Ridley Scott. Most of the other humans were quite plastic, and the ending of the movie was too The central character in this movie i.e. Marky Mark had no development. The Apes were great but maybe No. 2 should be directed by Cameron or Ridley Scott. Most of the other humans were quite plastic, and the ending of the movie was too simplistic. The movie needed more thought but at the end of it I came out and said I enjoyed it for what it was. So thumbs up for fun, thumbs down for being a true classic, which it will never become! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CharlesH.Aug 28, 2001
The central character in this movie i.e. Marky Mark had no development. The Apes were great but maybe No. 2 should be directed by Cameron or Ridley Scott. Most of the other humans were quite plastic, and the ending of the movie was too The central character in this movie i.e. Marky Mark had no development. The Apes were great but maybe No. 2 should be directed by Cameron or Ridley Scott. Most of the other humans were quite plastic, and the ending of the movie was too simplistic. The movie needed more thought but at the end of it I came out and said I enjoyed it for what it was. So thumbs up for fun, thumbs down for being a true classic, which it will never become! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TurkB.Jan 5, 2002
Simply awful - this one makes you think? Sorry Joey D. - watching POTA (2001) takes as much thought as watching a video-game - in ten years, this version will be long forgotten.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PaulaW.Nov 12, 2001
Typical boring Hollywood nonsense, with a preachy underlying animal-rights theme. A loud soundtrack and so-so effects take the place of story and character development. Director Tim Burton is way off his game. It's hard to believe that Typical boring Hollywood nonsense, with a preachy underlying animal-rights theme. A loud soundtrack and so-so effects take the place of story and character development. Director Tim Burton is way off his game. It's hard to believe that this is the same person who made Edward Scissorhands or Sleepy Hollow. And what are Tim Roth and Helena Bonham-Carter, or for that matter Marky Mark, doing in this stinker? The one bright spot is the inventive set design: the city of the apes is a megalopolis of treehouses, built vertically not horizontally for swinging through trees. Feel free to give it a miss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KarenAug 23, 2001
One for makeup, one for art direction, one for incredibly realistic movement of the apes. Everything else was unsatisfying. Especially disappointing was raising the specter of interspecies relationships, then kissing off the monkey/human One for makeup, one for art direction, one for incredibly realistic movement of the apes. Everything else was unsatisfying. Especially disappointing was raising the specter of interspecies relationships, then kissing off the monkey/human love interest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristianC.Aug 24, 2001
A brilliant film with a fabulous ending!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahSep 20, 2001
I thought "Planet of the Apes" was the best movie! Tim Roth is the BEST actor in the universe!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PatC.Jan 7, 2004
The original had a modicum of unique stimulating content. None of it made it into this remake. This is not really remade but de-evolved. It's a formula piece that stole the name of an old movie that worked. The final confrontation was, The original had a modicum of unique stimulating content. None of it made it into this remake. This is not really remade but de-evolved. It's a formula piece that stole the name of an old movie that worked. The final confrontation was, what's the word, ape-ish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobM.May 30, 2004
This remake was well done and the plot cannot be any better than the first. Very good job on the makeup. The funnest part of the movie was when the human slave trader stated that the worse thing to be in the house is a teen-aged human.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LaurieK.Nov 7, 2001
Some sensational elements (e.g., Tim Roth's performance, makeup, etc.) hampered by jaw-droppingly bad ending, and some lackluster performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RobertF.Aug 17, 2001
Tim Roth seems to be auditioning for the ape version of "Richard III" and Helena B. Carter gears her entire performance towards making hot monkey love with Marky Mark...so where's the hot monkey love scene Mr. Burton?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BobB.Aug 24, 2001
Really dull! dull! dull! in spite of the makeup and sets. The story was dumb, and most of the apes had dark vader's voice. The acting was pathetic. I was really disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristianDeG.Aug 24, 2001
I absolutely love this movie and have spent hours trying to consider possible explanations for the ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JaxS.Sep 27, 2001
Please! this flick was fine. What do you want, Shakespeare? I'm in it for the entertainment value and yup, I was entertained. That's all I ask for with this kind of movie. The re-telling was better in that it wasn't some shot Please! this flick was fine. What do you want, Shakespeare? I'm in it for the entertainment value and yup, I was entertained. That's all I ask for with this kind of movie. The re-telling was better in that it wasn't some shot by shot remake. Its almost a brand new story which is an inventive tack on Burton's part. The acting was great, Tim Roth's glaring from beneath his brow was darn menacing and Carter's fine acting chops showed through the state of the art make-up. There was plenty of action and I got some good laughs at throw-away lines and references to the first film. Charlton Heston's cameo was a hoot! I looked for the DVD mentioned above and I'll probably order it to hear Elfman talk about the music, in particular. That and all the making-of stuff. Anyway, if you like sci-fi fun I'd say rent it, buy it, see on the big screen if its still around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AdamE.Nov 20, 2002
The script may not be top class, the story might be a bit confusing, the ending can be a bit disappointing but a very entertainting film overall. Athough it's Tim Burton's worst film by far and it's nothing compared to the The script may not be top class, the story might be a bit confusing, the ending can be a bit disappointing but a very entertainting film overall. Athough it's Tim Burton's worst film by far and it's nothing compared to the original, the music, the make-up, the actors and the humour are very cool indeed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Mar 19, 2002
Didn't understand the last bit but everything else was Super.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
CBBJun 28, 2002
The original was better, much better. The only thing I liked about this movie was how realistic the ape make up was compared to the original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
YoonC.Sep 24, 2003
Some well-deserved praise must go to costume designers but this movie is all forward lurch without a quiet moment for satirical exposition. It says something about the current state of big budget filmmaking that execs(and movie directors Some well-deserved praise must go to costume designers but this movie is all forward lurch without a quiet moment for satirical exposition. It says something about the current state of big budget filmmaking that execs(and movie directors too?)are so convinced of audience's attention deficit disorder and so greedy for the biggest blockbuster that what we get is a nothing but a roller coaster ride thru gorilla themepark. The trailers stirred up some controversy by implying the movie is about race relations in America, and one can't entirely shake off that suspicion. If so, it's one helluva politically incorrect movie. Still, think of Jurassic Park, which was not only thrilling but wondrous and thoughtful. This movie is just a series of slips on banana peels. It keeps moving but only downward and on landing on its butt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelC.Sep 14, 2001
I had very mixed feelings about this film. I liked the start...However, as soon as we got to know the nature of the apes, I started to really despise this movie. I thought it was pathetic, gay and boring. Personally, I found it hard to take I had very mixed feelings about this film. I liked the start...However, as soon as we got to know the nature of the apes, I started to really despise this movie. I thought it was pathetic, gay and boring. Personally, I found it hard to take the ?ape city? thing seriously. That lasted for about 25 minutes or so and then BAM! the action hit me like a bomb and I loved it. That lasted for pretty much the rest of the movie. All of it was a blast after the crappy parts in the ape city and I was really entertained watching the adventure and escapist story. The apes themselves can be sort of unintentionally funny at times, but the make-up for them was amazing! Wow, I just gave up trying to guess who the actors where after a while because the ape make-up was so astounding and convincing, you couldn?t even tell who?s eyes were under that hunk of hair! The actors do well, Mark Wahlberg fits the leading role well and gives it his all. I don?t think his character was very considerate and I think he tried to be a little too much like Leonardo DiCaprio in Titanic, but apart from that, he?s done well. Helena Bonham Carter was really fantastic and has the pleasure of playing the most developed character in Planet of the Apes, giving her character and performance depth, more-so than Wahlberg?s sometimes selfish hero. Tim Roth was evil and believable and the most ape-like actor in the film. Tim Burton?s direction shines through the movie, especially the final reel. He puts focus to his camera-work and knows he?s up to the job. Some of the characters are annoying at times but you all care about what happens to them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LizB.Sep 25, 2001
This is one of my favorite movies this year. I love what Burton brings to the classic story of Planet of the Apes, and I'm looking forward to owning the DVD as soon as I can!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LizB.Sep 25, 2001
This is one of my favorite movies this year. I love what Burton brings to the classic story of Planet of the Apes, and I'm looking forward to owning the DVD as soon as I can!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
VladimirP.Jan 27, 2002
The old planet of the apes wasn't bad...the story was kind of interesting, but really nothing special. But, the new Planet of the Apes, was the most terrible, awful, pathetic piece of sh.. I have ever watched. It was stupid from the The old planet of the apes wasn't bad...the story was kind of interesting, but really nothing special. But, the new Planet of the Apes, was the most terrible, awful, pathetic piece of sh.. I have ever watched. It was stupid from the beginning on, and the end is so amazingly dumb that I was shocked. Burton has made much better!!! The soundtrack was annoying and the effects so flashy that everything was white when I left the theatre. Please Mr. Burton, don't make a sequel!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SimonMar 22, 2002
Terrible script, and what seems to me to be terrible direction, just fails to be at all interesting, or fun or exciting!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MattS.Dec 16, 2003
*Sigh* This I am afraid may be Burton's worst work, Though it is not a bad movie, infact I enjoyed it. It would only be good about 4 times. The magic of Burton just isn't there. If you want to see this movie go rent the old ones, a *Sigh* This I am afraid may be Burton's worst work, Though it is not a bad movie, infact I enjoyed it. It would only be good about 4 times. The magic of Burton just isn't there. If you want to see this movie go rent the old ones, a couple got Charleton Heston! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CyNov 21, 2001
It was bad, but it could have been done a lot better, and it was boring. Though the ending was good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
WillAug 13, 2011
The first act was great - incredible makeup, and fascinating story watching the apes' lifestyle. However, the film loses speed near the middle and ends up turning into a pretty uninvolving road movie with many boring and useless characters,The first act was great - incredible makeup, and fascinating story watching the apes' lifestyle. However, the film loses speed near the middle and ends up turning into a pretty uninvolving road movie with many boring and useless characters, particularly the human love interest, played by Estella Warren, who has like four lines of dialogue. However, Burton deserves credit for not making a direct remake of the 1968 original, instead creating his own vision. I did like the slow revelation to what the planet of the apes is (not exactly what you'd expect, those who have seen the original), and the unexplained but fabulous twist ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
asylumspadezNov 23, 2011
It was a lot better then I expected for a Tim Burton film. While it wasnt as good as the originals, I still thought it was interesting and good enough to sit through it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TokyochuchuApr 3, 2012
Planet of the Apes isn't a fantastic movie and certainly has the faint whiff of 'wasted opportunity' hanging about it. It is, however, a very solid yet throwaway popcorn flick that entertains with great costume design and goofy action. TimPlanet of the Apes isn't a fantastic movie and certainly has the faint whiff of 'wasted opportunity' hanging about it. It is, however, a very solid yet throwaway popcorn flick that entertains with great costume design and goofy action. Tim Roth is also really good in his role as General Thade. Still... could have been much better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
destroya1artAug 7, 2011
i liked this movie! was it better than the rise of the planet of the apes NO! and there not that relate-able. everyone says its not that good and they just hate on it for no reason. i saw it and i enjoyed it... the apes look really good fori liked this movie! was it better than the rise of the planet of the apes NO! and there not that relate-able. everyone says its not that good and they just hate on it for no reason. i saw it and i enjoyed it... the apes look really good for just make up and other stuff. the acting was good. Mark Walhberg is always! good if hes in a bad movie its not hes fault! the ending was awesome because it makes u think? although it is a bit trippy and weird it was amazing. i have not seen the original, and i probably wont. but this movie is good. people just hate for no reason. losers! Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ApocalypseGamerNov 23, 2011
Exciting! A very delicate story with a best cast, especially Mark Wahlberg's performance in the film. This was WAY better than the 1968 film. There needs to be a sequel to see what happens after what happens in the end of the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
spadenxDec 19, 2011
Actually wasnt that bad. It was interesting through out and worth the watch but the acting was far below what I expected from such an experianced cast. Tim Burton once again shows why he is my least favorite director by ruining the potentialActually wasnt that bad. It was interesting through out and worth the watch but the acting was far below what I expected from such an experianced cast. Tim Burton once again shows why he is my least favorite director by ruining the potential of this remake/reboot. I agree with the others when they say the visuals were good but the script was terrible. It also didnt help that they did such a poor job explaining things. Still besides all this, It wasnt all that bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
A widely panned flick which diminished the Planet of the Apes franchise. Unfortunately, more time needed to be spent perfecting the direction and screenplay. Still, I'd love to watch it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
csw12Feb 10, 2013
Planet of the Apes is so shallow, covered with idiocy, and actors acting worse than monkeys. Tim Burton has disgraced the original and hurt is reputation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ILHMFeb 1, 2013
It would take a man like Tim Burton to grossly misconceive an over-budgeted remake like PLANET OF THE APES. This special effects spectacle looks great on screen, but lacks the character and intelligence of the original. As a result, APES wasIt would take a man like Tim Burton to grossly misconceive an over-budgeted remake like PLANET OF THE APES. This special effects spectacle looks great on screen, but lacks the character and intelligence of the original. As a result, APES was a commercial success, but a critical failure. Astronaut Leo Davidson is thrust through time to find himself trapped on a world ruled by apes. After a planned escape, Davidson becomes the unexpected hero in a human revolt against the apes! The only real hero in PLANET OF THE APES is seven-time Oscar winner Rick Baker for his phenomenal make-up designs, which bring the apes to life in a wide array of different shapes and sizes. The apes simply look incredible, but unfortunately, the appliances hinder the performances of the actors, and often cause them to stumble through their lines. This is not the case for Helena Bonham Carter, who prefers to whisper incoherently, or Tim Roth, who just spits his vile contempt for humanity like venom. Where screenwriter William Broyles Jr. makes his biggest mistake is in allowing all humans to have the capacity of speech, which completely destroys the impact of Davidson's arrival on the planet. There can be no questioning of ape ethics or breakdown in ape philosophy if the lead character is no different than the humans that already exist on the planet. Coupled with Mark Wahlberg's stagnant performance, PLANET OF THE APES misses the point entirely. What is left is an entertaining but empty space epic that will be long forgotten in the years to come. -Carl Manes
I Like Horror Movies
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
NecromusDec 4, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I found this movie to be disappointing, I am a fan of the original movies and this was not as good as the original movie. The costumes were good but the story was not as good as the original movie. It was just okay, so I'm giving it a 6/10 for a mediocre movie.

BTW: I saw this in the theater and at the part when he ends up in front of the Lincoln Memorial it was so tempting but I really had to refrain from yelling out "It's APEraham Lincoln!!!"
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jordiFeb 16, 2013
Remake no solo correcto sinó innovador, con un redoble de tuerca. Guapo Mark Whalberg. Simios muy bien caracterizados. Doble historia de amor. Necesaria para todo friki.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
BrianMcCriticJun 29, 2013
Terrible script mixed with a very ugly looking quality, Planet of the Apes is just a full blown mess. Mark Wahlberg does his best, but unfortunately the lack of fun brings this movie down.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Skullgirlsfan13May 13, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was the first remake I watched that I clearly knew that it was made only for profit, it wasn't the first remake I saw, but it was one of the worst ones I watched so far. First of all this is a remake of one of my favorite movies of all time, so that's a check for me. It is made by Tim Burton so there was some hope for pleasing visuals and interesting dark storytelling. I got one of those aspects, this movie is great to look at; much like how the Bayformers are great to look at, but is yet lacking in any depth. there's also a big name star; I think, in the leading role, who I can say safely I don't care about. Okay so I don't like the main character, this isn't going so well. I can say at least that the costuming in this film is very good, I might consider it better than the original, but that alone doesn't make up for this film has done. First of all, why do the apes jump so damn high? I never knew apes as such aerodynamic creatures, whenever I see the bad guy; I don't care who his real name is, jump around like the Cocoa puffs bird, it makes the realistic makeup loose all of its effect. The climax is so cliché, of course it is fun to watch like I say repeatedly, and i feel like the end to that climax is really unsatisfying. The ending is by far one of the most stupidest of all time, it's no where near as clever and dark as the original. That about wraps it, and all there is to this flick is some good visuals and jumping apes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
busbfranDec 30, 2013
Planet of the apes is a intriguing universe filled with excitement and believe it or not apes! Apart from the lack of character chemistry it is made even by the different personalities. This movie has some impressive set, apes and CGI thatPlanet of the apes is a intriguing universe filled with excitement and believe it or not apes! Apart from the lack of character chemistry it is made even by the different personalities. This movie has some impressive set, apes and CGI that really bring the movie to life. Apart from the confusing plot twist you and in for one hell of a ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Planet of the Apes is a remake that never should have happend this movie is pure garbage i dont care what anyone says this film is by far the worst of the franchise. Even before i knew this was a Tim Burton film i hated it and once i figuedPlanet of the Apes is a remake that never should have happend this movie is pure garbage i dont care what anyone says this film is by far the worst of the franchise. Even before i knew this was a Tim Burton film i hated it and once i figued out that it was him that directed the film my hatred for it grew even more. For it having a 100M budget i have no clue where all that money went the CGI was crap, the sets were simple, and the make up was subpar compared to "The fellowship of the Ring" a film with less budget and came out the same year. The plot was crap and the ending has to be one of the worst of all time. The only good thing about this film was Michael Clarke Duncan and i guess Tim Roth as he always does a good villain. I recommend you not even watch this pile a junk and just stick to the originals and the 2011 Reboot that i personally think is underrated and if you have already seen this try really hard to forget everything about it.

Overall i give it a 4.0
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
chwJul 19, 2014
I don't understand why Tim Burton would agree to direct this. Out of all of his films, this had to be one of the very weirdest. There were parts that will be confusing to some, until you read someone's synopsis of the movie...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
1990Jul 6, 2014
Worst Unnecessary Remakes I Seen In My Life ,Psycho (1998). Carrie (2013). Planet Of The Apes (2001). The Fog (2005). A Nightmare On Elm Street (2010). Prom Night (2008). The Day The Earth Stood Still (2008). Flubber (1997). The StepfatherWorst Unnecessary Remakes I Seen In My Life ,Psycho (1998). Carrie (2013). Planet Of The Apes (2001). The Fog (2005). A Nightmare On Elm Street (2010). Prom Night (2008). The Day The Earth Stood Still (2008). Flubber (1997). The Stepfather (2009). Clash Of The Titans (2010). The Wicker Man (2006) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
Tim Burton’s 2001 remake of Planet of the Apes is bad, boring, bland movie. It’s populated by bad, boring, bland characters. Generally these characters are played by entertaining actors, like Tim Roth and Paul Giammatti. This is exceptingTim Burton’s 2001 remake of Planet of the Apes is bad, boring, bland movie. It’s populated by bad, boring, bland characters. Generally these characters are played by entertaining actors, like Tim Roth and Paul Giammatti. This is excepting Mark Wahlberg, who comes across as bad, boring, and bland when forced into a generic leading man role. This is also excepting the human female lead. She is an attractive human female and literally nothing else. This should also not include Helena Bonham Carter, whose character is uncomfortable to watch. In fact most of the fun cast is given so little to do that any second of movie that’s actually entertaining is countered by two or three that are bad, boring, and bland. It’s definitely the worst movie of the franchise, and we should all be glad they never got to make more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
EpicLadySpongeJan 18, 2016
The ending completely wraps up to be one of the dumbest twist endings in the entire Planet of the Apes franchise and in the entire movie history. Mark Wahlberg was bad for the role by the way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews