User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 29, 2013
    10
    Point Blank does not disappoint. I gave it a score of 10. Not because it was one of the best films I've ever seen, but because it entertained, it thrilled, and it surprised. Why bother dissecting a film that leaves you feeling that way?
  2. Sep 8, 2011
    7
    Point Blank wants to sprint from start to finish, and does start with a bang, takes off and maintains and moves at an exciting pace; but the plot, most of which happens prior to the start of the race and is so knotty, that we have to get narrated often in odd breaks in the action, while the actors catch their breath, literally. It's been a while since I have seen so much running in a movie. I see where some critic get the Run Lola Run comparism. But even after being narrated up-to-date, I still don't think I could tell you everyone's motivation for all the running and shooting. The two main runners for their lives -- one even hops up from critic care and starts running holding in his insides -- are both good solid actors when they get time to act. A simpler evil chaser would have made all the running much better. Expand
  3. Aug 6, 2011
    8
    This is a interesting, fast paced and very enjoyable thriller that shouldn't be missed.. Clever plot, interesting characters, good acting, lots of suspense and great chase scenes.
  4. Aug 4, 2011
    8
    It's a fun and frantic movie in the vein of "Tell No One." The lead actor (from TNO) and actress (from "Sex & Lucia") are both excellent, but the criminal turned "buddy" in this set-up flick is the real find in the cast. It's very French in all the best ways.
  5. Aug 4, 2011
    6
    The movie is done well, within limits of it's genre. Plenty of fights, running, shooting, blood, etc.
    Keeps the audience tense till the very end. I was expecting something better than that: some class, some elegance which sometimes come from French action movies, 'La Femme Nikita', for example.. Maybe I want too much. But again, every cliché of action movie is here: the
    villains and the heroes; the hero appears at the very last moment (how?!); the hero (un-trained) survives serious beating from professionals; and, of course, happy ending. I am sure I will forget about this movie sooner than finishing typing this little piece... Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Sep 1, 2011
    75
    Point Blank is as disposable as a feature-length episode of TV's 24: The movie is all adrenaline and excitement, and it doesn't really stay with you. Just try to tear your eyes away while you're watching it, though.
  2. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Sep 1, 2011
    67
    Point Blank passes enjoyably, relentlessly, and determinedly to the moment of its final gasp.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Sep 1, 2011
    80
    Cavaye is relentless in his quest to entertain, to thrill.