Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: August 14, 2009
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 247 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
188
Mixed:
38
Negative:
21
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
2
DanielWJan 1, 2010
It is simply a massive idea condensed into a threadless mash of stupid. 2 points for some nice backdrops & colour, but overall the most disappointing thing I have seen in a long while.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
DianneAAug 16, 2009
Boring! Lovely visuals only take you so far. At some point you need a story. Or good music. Or something.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
SkipTickAug 15, 2009
Do not believe the hype on this movie. It is a terrible, ugly, boring work by someone coasting on reputation. I give this movie 6 yawns.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RobertB.Aug 15, 2009
What??? You have got to be kidding me. This gets an 89? What??? A cartoon movie with that high of a score you expect to be funny and/or very moving with a great story line and good animation. No. This is some kind of psychotic whacked out What??? You have got to be kidding me. This gets an 89? What??? A cartoon movie with that high of a score you expect to be funny and/or very moving with a great story line and good animation. No. This is some kind of psychotic whacked out fantasy that only may be halfway cute if someone is stoned. Even then they will say it was bad. People, what is going on with ratings??? Where are the truly good movies? I mean really.... did they just quit being made years ago? We left the theater early as you would guess, but we were not the first ones to do so. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
KellyMAug 29, 2009
I waited for a moment where I might feel some sort of emotion for at least one character in the film. I waited and waited. I then waited a little longer. I sat in the theater watching the credits roll to some of the worst music I have ever I waited for a moment where I might feel some sort of emotion for at least one character in the film. I waited and waited. I then waited a little longer. I sat in the theater watching the credits roll to some of the worst music I have ever heard. When it was over all I can say is "I waited." If you enjoy waiting by all means go see it. If you would like to be more productive with your time I suggest painting a room in your house and wait for the paint to dry. It is equally entertaining. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
SirLouenJan 26, 2015
Extremely Slow. I think it could have been done in 60 minutes with a little faster pace. Really disapointed specially because I saw the 7,5 from the user score than normally is pretty fair compared to my film-taste
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
TeaDrinkingDodoDec 22, 2015
I liked the movie until Ponyo became a human, up until that point, I realized thing weren't going to get better or more interesting. After that, almost nothing happened, preferring to just show us pointless interactions that meant nothing forI liked the movie until Ponyo became a human, up until that point, I realized thing weren't going to get better or more interesting. After that, almost nothing happened, preferring to just show us pointless interactions that meant nothing for the story. The main conflict was also not addressed until the last 10 minutes of the film, with everything being rushed. How does Fujimoto know to go to the senior center? Why is the cranky old lady thrown trying to stop him if she and Sosuke are going to go down into the weird underwater bubble thing seconds later anyway? The entire movie felt bland to me, with the characters being one- dimensional, with little to no development or anything interesting. Finally, the whole plot about his mom and dad having trouble felt completely shoehorned in, as it didn't do anything but reintroduce Ponyo's mom later on. I'm sorry, but the pretty visuals just aren't enough for me to care. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews