Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: May 12, 2006
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 118 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
55
Mixed:
31
Negative:
32
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
chelseaJan 31, 2009
This movie was soo intense! some parts made me cry. but i couldn't find anything wrong with it. and plus josh lucas is sexy which is good enough for me !
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
Every bit as dramatic and action packed as the original. All it's lacking is the character development the original had, which is more than made up for by the special effects. Very entertaining edge of your seat movie, every bit as good asEvery bit as dramatic and action packed as the original. All it's lacking is the character development the original had, which is more than made up for by the special effects. Very entertaining edge of your seat movie, every bit as good as the original. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeJun 29, 2016
The acting wasn't bad, the movie was action packed and intense and it was entertaining all the way through. The special effects may not hold up very well with today standards but it's still a good movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
RobiaantjeDec 12, 2015
This is literally the best film I've ever seen. So much excitement. The actors were good, the storyline was good. I enjoyed the film from the beginning till the end. I would 100% recommend this film!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
VinodS.May 16, 2006
superb movie!!!!!!!!!! i loooove the movie so much... full of adventure, suspense, n thrilled wid the special effects... wow rely mind blowing.. for those who lik adv superb effects n nail biting scenes i recommend tis movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DazJun 20, 2006
I really don't know why this film is getting such bad reviews. Both my wife and i thought it was ace. The effects and edge of the seat moments were worth the entry money alone. A great movie and i think it is even better than the I really don't know why this film is getting such bad reviews. Both my wife and i thought it was ace. The effects and edge of the seat moments were worth the entry money alone. A great movie and i think it is even better than the (great) original. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngOct 5, 2006
I loved the movie, even started looking online to see if this was made from an actual event and I ended up here instead. [***SPOILERS***] I cried when the dad died. So I'm glad I rented it to see at home instead of the movies. I give I loved the movie, even started looking online to see if this was made from an actual event and I ended up here instead. [***SPOILERS***] I cried when the dad died. So I'm glad I rented it to see at home instead of the movies. I give the singer a 0 cause she is just nasty. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichelleC.May 10, 2006
This movie is what it is, a disaster flick. It is exciting and will be entertaining to anyone who simply enjoys a good adventure movie for being just that. That said, I did, however, wish for a longer intro and more character development. This movie is what it is, a disaster flick. It is exciting and will be entertaining to anyone who simply enjoys a good adventure movie for being just that. That said, I did, however, wish for a longer intro and more character development. The trailer was barely over before disaster struck. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZeusA.May 18, 2006
Excellent! suspenseful with good human interest moments. cant see why some people are so bitter over it. This is not like the original. to want to releive that is foolish. It kept my attention the whole way and I cared for what happened to Excellent! suspenseful with good human interest moments. cant see why some people are so bitter over it. This is not like the original. to want to releive that is foolish. It kept my attention the whole way and I cared for what happened to the characters. also its funny that the negative reviewers "hate" this movie. how unfortunate that a movie that shows people helping each other in order to get through a terrible disaster should produce "hate" in a movie reviewer. there is nothing to "hate" about this movie. thats a big fat misrepresentation of this movie's experience and message. See it without any bias and maybe, in the middle of all the action and suspense, the movie's intertwined and heartfelt human interest message will be experienced and enjoyed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephanieG.May 21, 2007
I loved this movie so much! I thought that the "edge of your seat moments" were awesome, especially when Richard Nelson was almost crushed by the elevator or Dylan Johns was almost sucked into the propeller tube trying to shove the tank of I loved this movie so much! I thought that the "edge of your seat moments" were awesome, especially when Richard Nelson was almost crushed by the elevator or Dylan Johns was almost sucked into the propeller tube trying to shove the tank of gas into it. I know everyone has their own opinion but I can't see how you could possibly not like the movie! I never have seen the original but I heard that the special affects are a lot more advanced and realistic. I really enjoyed the movie and I hope my comment was helpful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BethanSJul 30, 2007
This film is great it has nail biting moments and great actors like Josh Lucas. I don't know how any one could not like this film people have worked really hard on this film putting a lot of effort in and they sure pulled it off. One of This film is great it has nail biting moments and great actors like Josh Lucas. I don't know how any one could not like this film people have worked really hard on this film putting a lot of effort in and they sure pulled it off. One of the best moments in the film is when they are climbing through the vent it is so realistic. Characters Dylan, Eleana and Nelson make that a great scene. I could watch it again and again and never get tired of it. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeS.May 11, 2006
Great movie... a little short on plot, but the action is phenomenal. Josh Lucas is great also.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LynseyC.May 21, 2006
I was pleasantly surprised at this movie, especially with the lower rating. Yes, there was some predictibility, but this was pretty decent for an action flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomH.May 21, 2006
Petersen turns up the action and turns down the melodrama on the 1972 incarnation of Gallico's novel. Gone are the sermons, the soul-searching and the theme song; the characters don't have time to ponder whether there's going Petersen turns up the action and turns down the melodrama on the 1972 incarnation of Gallico's novel. Gone are the sermons, the soul-searching and the theme song; the characters don't have time to ponder whether there's going to be a morning after (or whether they Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StuartM.Jul 21, 2006
I loved it! I cant understand why people found it terrible, their stupid! It was Fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CameronS.Sep 11, 2006
Very good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BradB.Jul 7, 2008
Petersen gets a lot out of his actors, atleast it felt like they all could be close to death at any time. For some reason, and maybe because of the disaster film label that started with the first one in'72, I think the movie got a bit Petersen gets a lot out of his actors, atleast it felt like they all could be close to death at any time. For some reason, and maybe because of the disaster film label that started with the first one in'72, I think the movie got a bit of a bad rap. I noticed that Dreyfus had nothing to do with the special feature interviews. Better than the original, and without the campy dialogue. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JessicaW.Nov 7, 2006
Ok. I understand everyone has different opinions, thats fine. Personally, I thought the movie was one of the best I've ever seen and am now completely obsessed with it. Plus, Fergie was great. But, to those of you saying, "It was Ok. I understand everyone has different opinions, thats fine. Personally, I thought the movie was one of the best I've ever seen and am now completely obsessed with it. Plus, Fergie was great. But, to those of you saying, "It was nothing like the original Poseidon," let me ay this. If this movie were like the original, it would be boring. It's so much more modern and the ship is more beautiful. I thought the effects were great, Woldgang spent so much money on the effects and if anyone watched the special features, his intentions were to make this Poseidon completely different from the original. He wanted the main idea of a ship sinking from a rogue wave with a few people trying to survive. I found the movie very interesting and I just wanted to let all of you negative reviewers know of his intentions. :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AlexC.Dec 25, 2006
I liked the movie very much. It was so thrilling that i was shaking for most of it. But I noticed that the actors were like swimming in water the whole time which was kind of weird because, if you think about, the boat had lots of I liked the movie very much. It was so thrilling that i was shaking for most of it. But I noticed that the actors were like swimming in water the whole time which was kind of weird because, if you think about, the boat had lots of electricity. When you were a child, didn't you ever hear the saying "Water and Electricity don't mix." In other words, nobody should had been alive at the end of the movie. The instant they dived in the water they should have died. John B. was right. This actually did look like a Fear Factor show. Especially when they were in the tanks when they were flooding. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GuillermoP.May 12, 2006
Poseidon was a good movie, i recommend it to others out there. The movie is very interesting and keeps you on your toes and wondering what's going to happen next.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JustinH.May 12, 2006
Unbelievably intense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeithD.May 13, 2006
A great film , Then and now. And a great new story for todays viewers. A short intro leads to non-stop action and suspense. Irwin Allen would be proud and gratious to all involved. Keith M. Donkersley Alb. N. M
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChristopherW.May 14, 2006
Yes, the movie is short on plot and the characters are pretty thin, but I found the film to be a well acted, terse, exciting, and visually visceral film. The extended scene in which the ship actually overturns is extraordinarily well done Yes, the movie is short on plot and the characters are pretty thin, but I found the film to be a well acted, terse, exciting, and visually visceral film. The extended scene in which the ship actually overturns is extraordinarily well done and quite awe inspiring. Also, who couldn't resist Josh Lucas and those ol' baby blues! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SusanM.May 15, 2006
I went in not expecting much and came out really happy! I thought this was an excellent film and would highly recommend it to anyone. Lots of action and adventure!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveMay 15, 2006
This was one of the best movies i have ever seen truly well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SelinaL.May 15, 2006
It was an entertaining movie! Those who didn't get entertained (looking for character depth, blah blah) were watching the wrong MOVIE! You don't watch "American Beauty" and expect action and suspense, so don't watch It was an entertaining movie! Those who didn't get entertained (looking for character depth, blah blah) were watching the wrong MOVIE! You don't watch "American Beauty" and expect action and suspense, so don't watch "Poiseidon" looking for character depth and the blah blah. It was fun to WATCH, it was ENTERTAINING and I liked it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WillM.May 18, 2006
Wonderful movie that remains true to the general formula of the 1972 original, yet deviates enough to dismiss some of the predictability. This remake has spectacular catastrophic effects so realistically graphic, they will drop the jaws of Wonderful movie that remains true to the general formula of the 1972 original, yet deviates enough to dismiss some of the predictability. This remake has spectacular catastrophic effects so realistically graphic, they will drop the jaws of some of even the most jaded viewers. To watch this movie and not get somewhat emotionally attached and sympathetic for what the characters must endure, despite what some say is a lack of character developmen, probably means that action/suspense is not your genre to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
maestraretiradaApr 15, 2011
Let's be honest this was not the best movie made at the time of its release, but it was enjoyable not doubt, I cant really praise the acting of the actors except for the little kid who did really a good job at such young age and the SpanishLet's be honest this was not the best movie made at the time of its release, but it was enjoyable not doubt, I cant really praise the acting of the actors except for the little kid who did really a good job at such young age and the Spanish woman who i think acted AMAZING and brought tension to the movie, i love this no doubt Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Sep 2, 2012
The movie was actually pretty exciting and a different kind of destruction movie. The visuals were great, and the adventure to safety kept me attentive. Suspenseful and thrilling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews