Lionsgate | Release Date: November 6, 2009
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 197 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
166
Mixed:
14
Negative:
17
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AntonioBDec 21, 2009
This movie was just purely amazing, I didn't expect to be that good because usually movies that hyped up like this one was aren't that good, but movie was just great. I did expect a little more screen time from Mariah Carey's This movie was just purely amazing, I didn't expect to be that good because usually movies that hyped up like this one was aren't that good, but movie was just great. I did expect a little more screen time from Mariah Carey's character Ms. Weiss, but her performance was really good and Gabourey Sidebeh was great as Precious and of course Mo'Nique was unbelievable as Mary, I mean to see her go from The Parkers, The Queens of Comedy and small supporting roles in movies to this is just pure talent. She was great in Domino and Shadwboxer, but she had small supporting roles, and in this movie she had a supporting role, but she completely stole the movie and every scene she was in which is why I know she will the Oscar for Best Supporting Actress and Gabby will definitely get nominated for Best Actress Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
smijatovAug 13, 2010
Precious is definitely a good film. Excellent performances by literally everyone in the cast, especially Mo'Nique. It has a heart-wrenching story and, well, it definitely makes one think. It all works, but somehow it just isn't fully whatPrecious is definitely a good film. Excellent performances by literally everyone in the cast, especially Mo'Nique. It has a heart-wrenching story and, well, it definitely makes one think. It all works, but somehow it just isn't fully what I've expected, there is a little thing that would make this film excellent... this way it's "just" a great film. I'd recommend it, for sure. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
EvinCJan 2, 2010
Alright. The film kind of dragged on as i was waiting for something great. The best thing about the film are the actors Mo'Nique and Carey.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
WilsonSDec 6, 2009
This is a GREAT movie with some terrifically dramatic but nicely understated performances. Not kid-friendly, that's for sure. Mariah Carey is perfectly cast.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
EggyG.Feb 15, 2010
This movie always throw surprise moments...just like real life. Solid performance from all casts...including very surprisingly Mariah Carey. This movie can be very depressing...just had to prepare the right mood or will get overwhelmed.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NedRyerson1Feb 12, 2013
Precious is a terrific movie, so visceral and brutally real that will touch your heart. Every detail is perfectly calculated to demonstrate what life truly is; from what they eat to the appearance of the mother. It is very interesting thePrecious is a terrific movie, so visceral and brutally real that will touch your heart. Every detail is perfectly calculated to demonstrate what life truly is; from what they eat to the appearance of the mother. It is very interesting the dynamic of the film, because the protagonist lives with every single problem that a human could have, which by the way gather all the complicated issues of contemporary society; but continue living only escaping from the reality, to a world where she is famous, everybody loves her, with the perfect boyfriend and a careful and lovely mother. Because of that the picture is constructed within three worlds, the horrible present (the movie), the repressed past (in flashbacks) and the fantastic other reality (breaking the flashbacks). That is why especial technical aspects are used to narrate the story, like slow motion shots, changes in illumination and audio-visual counterpoint (when in a fight it sounds quiet music). Another captivating thing is the evolution of the protagonist in the story, showing that is possible to take every little thing that happen to you, without mattering if is either good or bad, and learn something about it, because things happen for a reason. Lee Daniels definitely made a masterpiece, the screenplay is astonishing and the performance of the cast is amazing. I mean Gabourey Sidibe is awesome, but MoNique is heartbreaking, one of the best performances I ever seen in my life. Life is hard, life is short, life is painful, but because everything is a gift from the universe, life is precious. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Oct 15, 2011
The Oscar-winning movie "Precious" is slow paced with a quiet tone of despair. There is really no solution to its pessimistic view throughout the movie, but its Mo'Nique (the Oscar Best Actress Winner) who provides faith and light to theThe Oscar-winning movie "Precious" is slow paced with a quiet tone of despair. There is really no solution to its pessimistic view throughout the movie, but its Mo'Nique (the Oscar Best Actress Winner) who provides faith and light to the audience throughout the movie. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
jaceSep 27, 2010
Very great film.. inspiring and so natural.. as per the title itself, based on a true story... was able to show that it is and it is not a just a film.. Carey acted well.. Natural and great.. Monique is very good..
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
NickPDec 2, 2009
At first i was not sure, i thought it was yet another low budget stereotypical film which targeted people who like over dramatic films. I was wrong though, dead wrong. Mo"nique was amazing and worth watching for her alone. At first you hate At first i was not sure, i thought it was yet another low budget stereotypical film which targeted people who like over dramatic films. I was wrong though, dead wrong. Mo"nique was amazing and worth watching for her alone. At first you hate her and by the end you just feel sorry for her (role). Gabby is great, really good performance although i wish she spoke more clear but that was also part of the role. Only slight disappointment for me was Mariah Carey, not cause she was not good but cause she was not nearly as good as all the hype made me believe. Overall though: great movie, great actors -all of them. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KennethS.Feb 15, 2010
Mo'nique is fantastic as Precious' abusive, raging mother, and Gabourey Sidibe is great at showing Precious' emotion. There are many poignant, painful moments during the film, and even if, by the end of the film, you might Mo'nique is fantastic as Precious' abusive, raging mother, and Gabourey Sidibe is great at showing Precious' emotion. There are many poignant, painful moments during the film, and even if, by the end of the film, you might feel exhausted, you'll definitely feel moved. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TanyaG.Feb 9, 2010
Amazing movie! If you have ever been through similar in your life this movie is a must. This really shows the courage some women have to get out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindaMNov 22, 2009
The film is honest and intelligent and well filmed and edited. What more can one ask of any film?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricS.Nov 8, 2009
I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like it. It's a life changer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LucasM.Jan 18, 2010
Flawless. Touching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SallyMJan 2, 2010
The movie depicts the ugly reality existing behind so many closed doors. The performances by all actors are superb. Gabourey "Gabby" Sidibe does an incredible job of digging into the heart, but it's Mo'Nique's performance that The movie depicts the ugly reality existing behind so many closed doors. The performances by all actors are superb. Gabourey "Gabby" Sidibe does an incredible job of digging into the heart, but it's Mo'Nique's performance that truly gets to the soul of the viewer. She's wickedly despicable, yet sadly pathetic at the same time. When an actor can bring out that kind of emotion, that's what I call Oscar material. Definitely a moving movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyBFeb 10, 2010
2009's best, as far as I'm concerned...not a missed beat or a false note anywhere...the performances are flawless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisPNov 17, 2009
"Precious", is an extremely powerful, emotional, and uplifting film. It is one of the year's very best films. I have seen it twice now, and it's a film that gets better, each time you watch it. Oscar is written all over this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillySNov 20, 2009
I still can't figure out how I sat through so much sorrow and so much pity and still walked out of the theatre feeling so positively touched. Oscar is surely going to shine on Precious next year. Gabourey Sidibe is amazing in her film I still can't figure out how I sat through so much sorrow and so much pity and still walked out of the theatre feeling so positively touched. Oscar is surely going to shine on Precious next year. Gabourey Sidibe is amazing in her film debut, Mo'Nique is simply brilliant and who knew Mariah Carey could be unrecognizable and a good actress. It's a shame the Academy didn't increase its acting categories to ten because everyone in this cast is good enough for a nomination. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillBNov 22, 2009
Harrowing but rewarding.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SistaKNov 9, 2009
Loved IT! Oscars for Mo'nique & Gabby!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BruceNDec 13, 2009
There are so many ways this film could not have worked. I was so ready to be turned off that like a horror flik I kept waiting for that really bad scene to jump out at me. Instead I was drawn, maybe pulled but not bullied by performers who There are so many ways this film could not have worked. I was so ready to be turned off that like a horror flik I kept waiting for that really bad scene to jump out at me. Instead I was drawn, maybe pulled but not bullied by performers who played their character with care to both the strong and subtle points of their role. The human that plays hide and seek out of Precious's slit-eyed mask and the evil cum victim that roars and cries out of the mother's visage are riveting. Mom will win hands down best supporting actress. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadSDec 4, 2009
The sight of a morbidly obese girl who runs out of a chicken joint with a ten-piece bucket without paying for it, practically courts laughter, and for some moviegoers, who prey on the weak, just may hoot, just may holler. "Precious" is about The sight of a morbidly obese girl who runs out of a chicken joint with a ten-piece bucket without paying for it, practically courts laughter, and for some moviegoers, who prey on the weak, just may hoot, just may holler. "Precious" is about a teacher trying to help a girl reclaim her name from an abusive mother. For now, let's call her Clareece, and this child of rape, undoubtedly, stands out, but in the worst possible way. At school, her first day at an alternative school, Clareece disposes of the fried poultry container in the trash: cause for laughter follows. Breasts, thighs, drumsticks, wings. She ate it all. The moviegoer can see the gristle around her lips. And when Clareece takes a seat beneath a poster that promotes self-esteem, she throws up: cause for more laughter follows, and perhaps, a little exasperation. "Precious: Based on the Novel by Sapphire" has a self-awareness about audience perception as it pertains to its protagonist. It knows that moviegoers are more accustomed to trim and fit white girls than the dark-skinned girth of Gabourey Sidibe, and that includes the titular character herself, which this twenty-six-year-old newcomer portrays. In her bedroom, Clareece looks into the mirror and sees white too. She sees Carrie White at the prom. Let me explain. Inexplicably, late in "Precious", Joanna(Yosha Roquemore) starts to laugh at the blood on her classmate and the blanket that's wrapped around the baby, following the girl's domestic dispute with her mother Mary(Monique). (Things fly around, but here, it's not telekinesis.) It's the same sort of cruel laughter that befalls the Sissy Spacek character in the 1976 Brian DePalma classic, after John Travolta drenches the prom queen with pig blood. (Incidentally, Mary forces her daughter to eat some poorly prepared pigs' feet.) By the end of the movie, the mother's tyranny over her daughter is over, and the teacher wins. It's a bittersweet victory. While Clareece redefines Mary's baby nickname for her on the terms of this newly emancipated woman, she learns how life itself is precious, and for her, fleeting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CherylFNov 16, 2009
This movie is about life. It's not about black or white; people live like this day in, day out. It is empowering to those who feel oppressed that their is hope.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeborahTNov 17, 2009
Saw this at Sundance and was blown away - it is painful to watch but very powerful and is a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BobKNov 17, 2009
Moderately depressing, but similar situations are probably much worse in real life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ColleenBNov 22, 2009
Fabulous movie. Enjoyed the cinematography, story, and the outstanding cast. Mo'Nique deserves an Oscar nomination!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DomoRNov 24, 2009
I refuse to be one of those TV people on stations you don't watch and fill this comment with hyperbolic crap that don't mean a thing up against what's on the screen. I'll just say this: I loved this movie! There, I said I refuse to be one of those TV people on stations you don't watch and fill this comment with hyperbolic crap that don't mean a thing up against what's on the screen. I'll just say this: I loved this movie! There, I said it; you wanna dissect it? What, you a scientist now? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SeanismynameNov 26, 2009
Excellent movie. The actors were ALL convincing and unaffected. The story managed to engage the viewer's sympathy without being sentimental, without pulling punches. It's refreshing to know that good films are still being made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BeckyWNov 28, 2009
Mo'nique was absolutely amazing!! All the actors were very good, but Mo'nique stood out. As a high school level school psychologist, I can tell you that there is more than one Precious every year at my school. This movie broke my Mo'nique was absolutely amazing!! All the actors were very good, but Mo'nique stood out. As a high school level school psychologist, I can tell you that there is more than one Precious every year at my school. This movie broke my heart, not for this Precious who made it OK, but for every Precious I have known who didn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamSNov 29, 2009
A movie all should see. It was hard to watch, but I couldn't take my eyes away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful