Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: June 12, 1987
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 417 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
382
Mixed:
28
Negative:
7
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
"Predator" is a good action blockbuster movie; it succeeds to consistently maintain its tension and coolly blows it off in the end with Arnold Schwarzenegger.
16 of 17 users found this helpful161
All this user's reviews
10
DalekJun 9, 2012
Are the critics smoking something over there? It may not have the best script in the world but this was an entertaining movie, and great effects on the predator.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
KgnDavelNov 11, 2011
Usually when I look at a movie, like example horror or action or comedy or whatever. Then it depends on how scary it is or how destructive it is. This movie is a action horror. But with Arnold Swachenegger in it was more action than horror.Usually when I look at a movie, like example horror or action or comedy or whatever. Then it depends on how scary it is or how destructive it is. This movie is a action horror. But with Arnold Swachenegger in it was more action than horror. Doesn't matter, it all tied up when Arnold was being hunted by the PREDATOR. The universes best hunter ever, until it met Arnold. They both gave each other hell. Arnold gave the predator hell because he was sent in the middle of the jungle to help a team distress call. But instead he and his team find nothing but skinned soldiers and of course the predator. The PREDATOR gave him hell because its his right of passage to become a "man". All together the movie was awesome. Not the best graphics you ever saw but still what a movie. Thumbs up. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
TryASummersaultDec 5, 2011
The best alien movie of all time. With classic arnold moments, and stan winston's creature effects, this movie was brilliant ever since I saw it when I was about 4. Classic.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
ArkonBladeJul 22, 2011
god what movie did the critics see? this is a movie i know alot of people like. granted its 80s cheesey over the top action with even cheesier lines but it holds up. some movies just have that ability to do that while other as they age getgod what movie did the critics see? this is a movie i know alot of people like. granted its 80s cheesey over the top action with even cheesier lines but it holds up. some movies just have that ability to do that while other as they age get old smelly and moldy and unwachable this one how ever aged well. its a great idea for a film having a elite group of special forces go into the jungle to do a mission and run into a alien predator who hunts them down one by one . it has great action and is a fun roller coaster ride from start to finish . wish we could have learned more about the predator race is about my only gripe but other then that its a fun solid sci fi action film. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
Andy92Sep 12, 2010
i must say that i really enjoyed this movie. firstly the movie was well performed by its cast and also the alien predator was played well as a hunter stalking its prey. the film delivers in suspense and action for its audience and ii must say that i really enjoyed this movie. firstly the movie was well performed by its cast and also the alien predator was played well as a hunter stalking its prey. the film delivers in suspense and action for its audience and i definitely would recommend it Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
johnmilasJan 29, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best action films of the 1980s, easily one of Arnold's top five films, and showcasing one of the best designed movie monsters since 1979. How can the average be a 36 out of 100 on metacritic? Predator is probably a movie that needs to be re-examined in the context of today's action films. I think at the time it was perceived as being "just another dumb movie with body builders shooting stuff." First of all, let me set the record straight. Predator has one of the most interesting and diverse casts in the history of movies. Of course action icon Schwarzenegger pretty much playing the role he'd been playing since day 1, but this time not by himself. Jesse Ventura; Navy veteran, pro wrestler, future governor, and future host of one of the most ridiculous shows ever: Conspiracy Theory. Sonny Landham, former porn star and future Kentucky gubernatorial candidate (trying to ride the success of Schwarzenegger and Ventura) who's said candidacy was run into the ground by said porn career. Bill Duke who's actually a classically trained actor. Carl Weathers, former college football player and...Apollo Creed. Shane Black, known best of all for just plain creating the Lethal Weapon series. And to finish it out, Richard Chaves, another Vietnam veteran and former soap opera actor. So, the film's not just about body builders breaking things and fighting each other. In fact, Predator is about that sort of thing completely failing. Sure, after approximately one million terrorists are killed by our special operations squad, you'd think that wouldn't be the case. But, when approximately one million bullets our fired at our monster, I think one hits him, sort of. He has to put a bandaid on. McTiernan's action movie is basically about "action" not working. It's almost a sendup of the 80s action movie. Big guys run around with big guns, and instead of that working like it always used to, they get sniped, slashed stabbed, plasma-ed, etc. I don't even think the Predator spends more than a second killing someone until he makes his way to the hero. And, Schwarzenegger, unlike always, doesn't get to use his giant muscles to win the day. He's got to lure the monster under a big log and drop it on its head. So, I'd say that instead of this being just another dumb action film, it's more of a satire of that kind of action film, sort of poking fun at it between the lines. Don't get me wrong, it works on the level of the other action films of its time, but the almost satirical pornographic portrayal of guns by McTiernan and the science fiction elements certainly work to benefit the movie and solidify it's place as a classic in the action and sci-fi categories. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
paulyhJul 20, 2011
Not the greatest film ever, but certainly arnie's best, and a contender for my all time top ten list. A classic that gets better with every view.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysSep 19, 2013
Hated by critics, loved by users, Predator is one of the best Schwarzenegger movies out there. But as ugly as it is, the actual "predator" isn't very scary, and we barely see it (it is implied most of the movie). But Predator is still a good film.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
carlosbeatdown8Jun 27, 2014
doesnt matter what 4 critics say, the has spoken and is one of thebest clasics ever, supense action good efects, is one of the best movies and schwarzenegger rocks, awesome movie everybody must have
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
HumbertB.Oct 26, 2009
C mon professional critcs! It kicks! The movie is awesome, even for this days! Its a good quality production, and its all about action and surviving.. Sometimes that is all!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
DeVr33zAug 11, 2010
I really don't know why the Metascore for this one is so low, I found it to be a highly enjoyable action movie. The monster is just awesome, too. Not really a thinking person's film, but it's not supposed to be.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
AceIsCoolProAug 13, 2010
I thought this film was great. Loved some of the taglines such as, " Get to da choppa!! " and " I aint got time to bleed ". I love to watch this film again and again. 9.15/10
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMar 5, 2011
A highly enjoyable movie, with action and a great plot, I had a blast watching this, and it's one I could watch over and over again, if your into this kind of thing it's one you should see.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
TokyochuchuJan 13, 2013
The critic's score for this movie is frankly absurd! Predator is one of the best monster movies ever made, with only the first two Alien movies outperforming it. The setting is perfect, Arnie's squad of soldiers are well defined and memorableThe critic's score for this movie is frankly absurd! Predator is one of the best monster movies ever made, with only the first two Alien movies outperforming it. The setting is perfect, Arnie's squad of soldiers are well defined and memorable (elevating them far beyond monster-fodder) and the creature itself is a bonafide legend. My youth would not have been complete without Predator and the movie has stood the test of time with ease. An outright classic! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
TheMaximalistApr 10, 2013
It surprises me that this amazing action film has such a low metascore. Is it too unintelligent, "dumb" or stupid for you snooty movie critics. It's an amazing witty one-liner filled romp from start to finish
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
gamer_dudeOct 1, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is an EPIC movie
Donno y its got only a score of 36
Every action movie fan must watch this
Ma fav scene is the iconic laugh at the end by the predator
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
PrimalHunter70Feb 18, 2012
Why the low score? Although this isn't a cinema masterpiece, it's a classic movie, and one of the few Schwarzenegger movies that isn't terrible. This is a cool film to watch, and I recommend it to any fans of action movies, Schwarzenegger or AVP.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
potatoes351Oct 25, 2012
Predator is one of the great classics of the action genre. When a special forces team are sent in on a rescue mission things turn for the worse when they begin to be picked off one by one by an unseen Predator with superior fighting tactics &Predator is one of the great classics of the action genre. When a special forces team are sent in on a rescue mission things turn for the worse when they begin to be picked off one by one by an unseen Predator with superior fighting tactics & weaponry. Arnie provides a knockout "tough guy" role as ever and the supporting actors are just as good. One of those lazy afternoon action flicks you can really get stuck into. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
mj22May 11, 2012
memorable film, and easily the most terrifying and unstoppable extraterrestrial ever conceived. the metacritic score makes less sense than this: 8d'@~j843.'#[ewiuo389.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
inferno123cJun 17, 2012
No matter how many times you watch it, this is the only film you'll never ever get bored. Best action/thriller film so far. You wont feel like you are watching a 80's film. Trust me;)
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
MonsieurEamesOct 16, 2012
The editing is choppy at some points and some scenes could have been more fleshed out, but Predator succeeds largely with strong suspense and exciting action.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Expertly crafted film with just as many jaw-drop moments as there are seat-jumper moments.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
gstiker5Jul 6, 2013
It's amazing some of the best atomsphere ever pure testorone fueled action shows whats bad about modern action movies Arnold delivers the role and there is a great sense of humour
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Eternal409Jul 31, 2013
This movie is definitely underrated by "professional critics" as this movie is awesome it has very different and unique characters that bounce off of each other so well creating some great dialogue sequences. The action in this movie is alsoThis movie is definitely underrated by "professional critics" as this movie is awesome it has very different and unique characters that bounce off of each other so well creating some great dialogue sequences. The action in this movie is also great because it's not too "over the top" but it's also not extremely realistic. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
AGKDec 31, 2013
most of the critics don't know what they're saying! plain and simple, this movie was a great action blockbuster with NO love stories which is good and the famous "get to da choppa!" the only down side was the action was kind of slow
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
RyanC.Jun 12, 2010
Excellent movie. Alien and Star Wars surpass it, but if no movies surpassed it, it would probably be a 10. I give it a 9.5/10, but metacritic won't let me score it that.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NDApr 1, 2007
Brillant action movie. Great effects and weapons - the Predator itself is just awesome! Watched this so many times cos it is superb.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
GerrickC.Jun 7, 2008
A simple movie in every way, but a superb cinema classic.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AlistairV.Apr 28, 2010
A magnificent exercise in sci-fi horror, only disliked by those who do not understand it. The cinematography is beautiful, and Schwarzenegger delivers a Schwarzenegger-ish performance, which is good for an action movie. It's not meant A magnificent exercise in sci-fi horror, only disliked by those who do not understand it. The cinematography is beautiful, and Schwarzenegger delivers a Schwarzenegger-ish performance, which is good for an action movie. It's not meant to be deep, or thought provoking, it's meant to be a good, scary action sci-fi endeavor. And it succeeds on all counts. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful