User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 292 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 292
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    "Predator" is a good action blockbuster movie; it succeeds to consistently maintain its tension and coolly blows it off in the end with Arnold Schwarzenegger.
  2. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Are the critics smoking something over there? It may not have the best script in the world but this was an entertaining movie, and great effects on the predator.
  3. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Usually when I look at a movie, like example horror or action or comedy or whatever. Then it depends on how scary it is or how destructive it is. This movie is a action horror. But with Arnold Swachenegger in it was more action than horror. Doesn't matter, it all tied up when Arnold was being hunted by the PREDATOR. The universes best hunter ever, until it met Arnold. They both gave eachUsually when I look at a movie, like example horror or action or comedy or whatever. Then it depends on how scary it is or how destructive it is. This movie is a action horror. But with Arnold Swachenegger in it was more action than horror. Doesn't matter, it all tied up when Arnold was being hunted by the PREDATOR. The universes best hunter ever, until it met Arnold. They both gave each other hell. Arnold gave the predator hell because he was sent in the middle of the jungle to help a team distress call. But instead he and his team find nothing but skinned soldiers and of course the predator. The PREDATOR gave him hell because its his right of passage to become a "man". All together the movie was awesome. Not the best graphics you ever saw but still what a movie. Thumbs up. Expand
  4. Jul 22, 2011
    9
    god what movie did the critics see? this is a movie i know alot of people like. granted its 80s cheesey over the top action with even cheesier lines but it holds up. some movies just have that ability to do that while other as they age get old smelly and moldy and unwachable this one how ever aged well. its a great idea for a film having a elite group of special forces go into the junglegod what movie did the critics see? this is a movie i know alot of people like. granted its 80s cheesey over the top action with even cheesier lines but it holds up. some movies just have that ability to do that while other as they age get old smelly and moldy and unwachable this one how ever aged well. its a great idea for a film having a elite group of special forces go into the jungle to do a mission and run into a alien predator who hunts them down one by one . it has great action and is a fun roller coaster ride from start to finish . wish we could have learned more about the predator race is about my only gripe but other then that its a fun solid sci fi action film. Expand
  5. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Not the greatest film ever, but certainly arnie's best, and a contender for my all time top ten list. A classic that gets better with every view.
  6. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    The best alien movie of all time. With classic arnold moments, and stan winston's creature effects, this movie was brilliant ever since I saw it when I was about 4. Classic.
  7. HumbertB.
    Oct 26, 2009
    9
    C mon professional critcs! It kicks! The movie is awesome, even for this days! Its a good quality production, and its all about action and surviving.. Sometimes that is all!
  8. Aug 11, 2010
    7
    I really don't know why the Metascore for this one is so low, I found it to be a highly enjoyable action movie. The monster is just awesome, too. Not really a thinking person's film, but it's not supposed to be.
  9. Aug 13, 2010
    9
    I thought this film was great. Loved some of the taglines such as, " Get to da choppa!! " and " I aint got time to bleed ". I love to watch this film again and again. 9.15/10
  10. Sep 12, 2010
    9
    i must say that i really enjoyed this movie. firstly the movie was well performed by its cast and also the alien predator was played well as a hunter stalking its prey. the film delivers in suspense and action for its audience and i definitely would recommend it
  11. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best action films of the 1980s, easily one of Arnold's top five films, and showcasing one of the best designed movie monsters since 1979. How can the average be a 36 out of 100 on metacritic? Predator is probably a movie that needs to be re-examined in the context of today's action films. I think at the time it was perceived as being "just another dumb movie with body builders shooting stuff." First of all, let me set the record straight. Predator has one of the most interesting and diverse casts in the history of movies. Of course action icon Schwarzenegger pretty much playing the role he'd been playing since day 1, but this time not by himself. Jesse Ventura; Navy veteran, pro wrestler, future governor, and future host of one of the most ridiculous shows ever: Conspiracy Theory. Sonny Landham, former porn star and future Kentucky gubernatorial candidate (trying to ride the success of Schwarzenegger and Ventura) who's said candidacy was run into the ground by said porn career. Bill Duke who's actually a classically trained actor. Carl Weathers, former college football player and...Apollo Creed. Shane Black, known best of all for just plain creating the Lethal Weapon series. And to finish it out, Richard Chaves, another Vietnam veteran and former soap opera actor. So, the film's not just about body builders breaking things and fighting each other. In fact, Predator is about that sort of thing completely failing. Sure, after approximately one million terrorists are killed by our special operations squad, you'd think that wouldn't be the case. But, when approximately one million bullets our fired at our monster, I think one hits him, sort of. He has to put a bandaid on. McTiernan's action movie is basically about "action" not working. It's almost a sendup of the 80s action movie. Big guys run around with big guns, and instead of that working like it always used to, they get sniped, slashed stabbed, plasma-ed, etc. I don't even think the Predator spends more than a second killing someone until he makes his way to the hero. And, Schwarzenegger, unlike always, doesn't get to use his giant muscles to win the day. He's got to lure the monster under a big log and drop it on its head. So, I'd say that instead of this being just another dumb action film, it's more of a satire of that kind of action film, sort of poking fun at it between the lines. Don't get me wrong, it works on the level of the other action films of its time, but the almost satirical pornographic portrayal of guns by McTiernan and the science fiction elements certainly work to benefit the movie and solidify it's place as a classic in the action and sci-fi categories. Expand
  12. Mar 5, 2011
    9
    A highly enjoyable movie, with action and a great plot, I had a blast watching this, and it's one I could watch over and over again, if your into this kind of thing it's one you should see.
  13. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    The critic's score for this movie is frankly absurd! Predator is one of the best monster movies ever made, with only the first two Alien movies outperforming it. The setting is perfect, Arnie's squad of soldiers are well defined and memorable (elevating them far beyond monster-fodder) and the creature itself is a bonafide legend. My youth would not have been complete without Predator andThe critic's score for this movie is frankly absurd! Predator is one of the best monster movies ever made, with only the first two Alien movies outperforming it. The setting is perfect, Arnie's squad of soldiers are well defined and memorable (elevating them far beyond monster-fodder) and the creature itself is a bonafide legend. My youth would not have been complete without Predator and the movie has stood the test of time with ease. An outright classic! Expand
  14. Apr 10, 2013
    8
    It surprises me that this amazing action film has such a low metascore. Is it too unintelligent, "dumb" or stupid for you snooty movie critics. It's an amazing witty one-liner filled romp from start to finish
  15. Feb 18, 2012
    8
    Why the low score? Although this isn't a cinema masterpiece, it's a classic movie, and one of the few Schwarzenegger movies that isn't terrible. This is a cool film to watch, and I recommend it to any fans of action movies, Schwarzenegger or AVP.
  16. May 11, 2012
    10
    memorable film, and easily the most terrifying and unstoppable extraterrestrial ever conceived. the metacritic score makes less sense than this: 8d'@~j843.'#[ewiuo389.
  17. Jun 17, 2012
    9
    No matter how many times you watch it, this is the only film you'll never ever get bored. Best action/thriller film so far. You wont feel like you are watching a 80's film. Trust me;)
  18. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    Expertly crafted film with just as many jaw-drop moments as there are seat-jumper moments.
  19. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    It's amazing some of the best atomsphere ever pure testorone fueled action shows whats bad about modern action movies Arnold delivers the role and there is a great sense of humour
  20. Jul 31, 2013
    9
    This movie is definitely underrated by "professional critics" as this movie is awesome it has very different and unique characters that bounce off of each other so well creating some great dialogue sequences. The action in this movie is also great because it's not too "over the top" but it's also not extremely realistic.
  21. [Anonymous]
    Jun 26, 2005
    7
    Not the best, but don't let those critics fool you, because the movie isn't that bad at all. But some of these fans down here like it a little too much, and I can see why. You start off cold war, and then u end with Arnold outrunning a muke? And the alien learns to talk? But that scene where everyone fires their guns at apparently nothing, for no reason...that's a good way Not the best, but don't let those critics fool you, because the movie isn't that bad at all. But some of these fans down here like it a little too much, and I can see why. You start off cold war, and then u end with Arnold outrunning a muke? And the alien learns to talk? But that scene where everyone fires their guns at apparently nothing, for no reason...that's a good way to blow off some steam. The terminator movies are a much better watch. But the critics totally overlambasted this one. Blade was much worse. Expand
  22. RyanC.
    Jun 12, 2010
    9
    Excellent movie. Alien and Star Wars surpass it, but if no movies surpassed it, it would probably be a 10. I give it a 9.5/10, but metacritic won't let me score it that.
  23. Mike
    Feb 14, 2005
    9
    This is one of the best Action movies! The story is great. and the ending is just perfect!
  24. DanW
    Feb 3, 2005
    9
    How can anyone not love Predator? It's a shining example of a golden age of film that no-one dares to re-create in modern times. Simple and stylish, it delivers powerful punches that create a genuine impression on the viewer. Who cares that it has no storyline? Who cares it has a poor script? People explode! Aliens bleed green blood! Rebels get murdered by brutal American soldiers! How can anyone not love Predator? It's a shining example of a golden age of film that no-one dares to re-create in modern times. Simple and stylish, it delivers powerful punches that create a genuine impression on the viewer. Who cares that it has no storyline? Who cares it has a poor script? People explode! Aliens bleed green blood! Rebels get murdered by brutal American soldiers! No film before or since has had the raw action or tongue-in-cheek homage to an entire genre that has now disappeared. It is a sad day for film when a movie as groundbreaking as Predator is forgotten. NB. Predators in the film and sequel are male. Predator society is matriarcial, where women are supreme. Indeed, the females are much bigger and stronger than males (that's one reason they're so eager to get off their planet!) Expand
  25. ND
    Apr 1, 2007
    9
    Brillant action movie. Great effects and weapons - the Predator itself is just awesome! Watched this so many times cos it is superb.
  26. GerrickC.
    Jun 7, 2008
    8
    A simple movie in every way, but a superb cinema classic.
  27. AlistairV.
    Apr 28, 2010
    8
    A magnificent exercise in sci-fi horror, only disliked by those who do not understand it. The cinematography is beautiful, and Schwarzenegger delivers a Schwarzenegger-ish performance, which is good for an action movie. It's not meant to be deep, or thought provoking, it's meant to be a good, scary action sci-fi endeavor. And it succeeds on all counts.
  28. PeterR.
    Dec 13, 2003
    10
    Come on what are you waiting for???!!! DO IT!! DO IT!!!
  29. AndrewM
    Aug 11, 2004
    7
    McTiernan's skill and vision contributed heavily to the success of Die Hard; Predator can be seen as a dress rehearsal, for it works for very similar reasons. McTiernan spends little time making introductions before dumping you in the deep end and letting you swim. It's a furious action film, and a funny and tense one also. It pushes most of your buttons but does so with a McTiernan's skill and vision contributed heavily to the success of Die Hard; Predator can be seen as a dress rehearsal, for it works for very similar reasons. McTiernan spends little time making introductions before dumping you in the deep end and letting you swim. It's a furious action film, and a funny and tense one also. It pushes most of your buttons but does so with a delicate hand. By the time you see the monster in all its glory (did we ever find out if it's male or female??) you'll be rooting hard for Arnie and will feel as exhausted as him by film's end. Great fun! Expand
  30. Cody
    Jul 2, 2006
    8
    This movie is friggin' awesome! This is an Arnold Swartznegger action movie at its best. The Predator is also pretty freakin' sweet too.
  31. JG
    Dec 28, 2007
    9
    Awesome movie, the story and characters are great. Predator rules!
  32. JaredC.
    Aug 14, 2007
    10
    Its pretty sweet throughout.
  33. seanc
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    An amazing movie that beats the hell out of alien and aliens. it is the best movie ever made.
  34. Eskimo
    May 13, 2007
    10
    A documentary on being badass.
  35. seanf.
    Dec 16, 2009
    9
    They go in all balls and bravado, and leave in body bags. Classic action film.
  36. GeorgeL
    Jun 12, 2009
    10
    Pure perfection even to this day.
  37. May 15, 2011
    10
    This was by far my favorite movie of all time. It is just something about a unstoppable alien going against the guy who has won Mr.Universe three times.
  38. Oct 1, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is an EPIC movie
    Donno y its got only a score of 36
    Every action movie fan must watch this
    Ma fav scene is the iconic laugh at the end by the predator
    Expand
  39. Oct 25, 2012
    7
    Predator is one of the great classics of the action genre. When a special forces team are sent in on a rescue mission things turn for the worse when they begin to be picked off one by one by an unseen Predator with superior fighting tactics & weaponry. Arnie provides a knockout "tough guy" role as ever and the supporting actors are just as good. One of those lazy afternoon action flicksPredator is one of the great classics of the action genre. When a special forces team are sent in on a rescue mission things turn for the worse when they begin to be picked off one by one by an unseen Predator with superior fighting tactics & weaponry. Arnie provides a knockout "tough guy" role as ever and the supporting actors are just as good. One of those lazy afternoon action flicks you can really get stuck into. Expand
  40. Oct 16, 2012
    7
    The editing is choppy at some points and some scenes could have been more fleshed out, but Predator succeeds largely with strong suspense and exciting action.
  41. May 25, 2014
    9
    Arnold Schwarzenegger plays Major Dutch Schaeffer the commander of a special forces unit with stars like Sonny Landham (Billy), Jesse Ventura (Blain), Richard Chaves (Poncho), and Bill Duke (Mac). Dutch’s team is called in by Major George Dillon (Carl Weathers) for a rescue operation that takes place in the harsh jungles of South America. While the mission goes smoothly for the most partArnold Schwarzenegger plays Major Dutch Schaeffer the commander of a special forces unit with stars like Sonny Landham (Billy), Jesse Ventura (Blain), Richard Chaves (Poncho), and Bill Duke (Mac). Dutch’s team is called in by Major George Dillon (Carl Weathers) for a rescue operation that takes place in the harsh jungles of South America. While the mission goes smoothly for the most part other then a battle with a small army in the jungle. The group quickly finds themselves being hunted down by an unknown enemy and being picked off one by one. Till only Schwarzenegger is the last one left and him and the Predator have a Epic showdown at the end.

    Overall i give it a 9.0 such a beast of a film glad i own it on blu ray so i can watch it in all it's glory! A action movie with a sci fi twist whats not to love about it. Everytime i watch this movie though i remember the It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia episode were Mac and Dennis fight about watching Transporter 2 vs Predator.

    And to quote Mac "Plus, Jason Statham's physique is nothing like the line-up in Predator."
    Expand
  42. Sep 19, 2013
    9
    Hated by critics, loved by users, Predator is one of the best Schwarzenegger movies out there. But as ugly as it is, the actual "predator" isn't very scary, and we barely see it (it is implied most of the movie). But Predator is still a good film.
  43. AGK
    Dec 31, 2013
    7
    most of the critics don't know what they're saying! plain and simple, this movie was a great action blockbuster with NO love stories which is good and the famous "get to da choppa!" the only down side was the action was kind of slow
  44. Jun 16, 2014
    9
    Obviously something is seriously wrong with critics' mind as i don't know why they gave Predator such a low Metascore. This action-packed sci-fi movie is original and also very scary to some points. Tension remains constant throughout the entire film while simultaneously boasting solid performance from Arnold Schwarzenegger as a leader of a mercenary group fighting for a way out of theObviously something is seriously wrong with critics' mind as i don't know why they gave Predator such a low Metascore. This action-packed sci-fi movie is original and also very scary to some points. Tension remains constant throughout the entire film while simultaneously boasting solid performance from Arnold Schwarzenegger as a leader of a mercenary group fighting for a way out of the jungle in order to escape the invisible, deadly hunter they don't stand a chance of defeating Expand
  45. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    doesnt matter what 4 critics say, the has spoken and is one of thebest clasics ever, supense action good efects, is one of the best movies and schwarzenegger rocks, awesome movie everybody must have
  46. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    Honestly. You want a film. You get a **** film. This is a brilliant, fast paced, action packed movie, full of twists, surprises, and as you'd expect from an Arnie film: a **** load of violence. Fantastic movie. You want to watch a movie, the critics are ****ed up in the head. I mean, Rambo First Blood got a **** 62% METASCORE! **** the critics. Watch this film.
  47. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    Predator is a thrilling, science-fiction action film, that stars the incomparable action star Arnold Schwarzenegger. Released in 1987, Predator has gone one to be one of the most widely-recognised sci-fi's of all-time. A team of highly-professional soldiers get dropped off by helicopters in which seems to be an easy mission dealing with guerillas. They're there to take them out but littlePredator is a thrilling, science-fiction action film, that stars the incomparable action star Arnold Schwarzenegger. Released in 1987, Predator has gone one to be one of the most widely-recognised sci-fi's of all-time. A team of highly-professional soldiers get dropped off by helicopters in which seems to be an easy mission dealing with guerillas. They're there to take them out but little do the realise the'll be getting picked out, one by-one by an Alien Warrior that's ship had crash-landed in the central-american jungle. Alan "Dutch" Schaefer played by Arnold Schwarzenegger leads the team of soldiers.

    This film's unmatchable in every way and still remains the greatest of all three solo Predator films and is far better than both Alien vs Predator films too. Schwarzenegger is the greatest and also, for the add, BIGGEST action star of all-time, so he really makes this film what it is. I love it in every way. The incredible shoot-locations, pretty awesome dialogue, Science-Fiction, violence, plot and more. It's all great. I rate Predator a 10/10 as it's my all-time favourite film. I love so many films, but Predator is definitely my favourite (alongside a few other, non-related films).

    A+, 10/10.
    Expand
  48. Nov 2, 2014
    8
    Wait... the score is negative??? Oh yeah, this was before it got its cult following. Either way, this is one of Arnold's action classics, and, even though the effects have aged pretty badly, it still remains a gripping, suspenseful action movie, with one of the coolest alien monsters ever put on film. Arnold couldn't have said it better: "One... ugly mother f*cker..."

    8/10
  49. Dec 23, 2014
    9
    Ticks all the boxes for the classic action movie. .
  50. jimm.
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    The greatest movie ever
  51. MichaelK
    Apr 30, 2010
    8
    A score of 36? it's not high cinema but COME ON! one of the best action movies ever.
  52. amethysts
    Sep 23, 2009
    5
    I really could not understand why voters have given this movie a good rating. the movie does not even come close to a good script.it is just a piece of awfully directed scrap. even the plot is not that thrilling. the point of a action movie is to keep the screenplay intact and that is not what the movie has achieved.
  53. JHill
    Dec 20, 2009
    2
    Good special effects; otherwise cartoonish and boring.
  54. AmurabiM.
    Jun 2, 2006
    5
    What if there are not a plot, a storyline or good performances? This is a John McTiernan movie! Pure action not boring stuff. That´s the reason why, "Predator" is a cult action movie. That accomplishment is due to the real monster (not Schwarzzy), an alien so scary than its freakiness can hold the entire movie. For the movie, in general, has a sense of a bad movie. A cross between What if there are not a plot, a storyline or good performances? This is a John McTiernan movie! Pure action not boring stuff. That´s the reason why, "Predator" is a cult action movie. That accomplishment is due to the real monster (not Schwarzzy), an alien so scary than its freakiness can hold the entire movie. For the movie, in general, has a sense of a bad movie. A cross between alien terror movies and stupid action. Likes Rambo-meets-Alien in a Celebrity Deathmatch (for its capacity of absurdism). But after all, this is just a eighties action flick: nor superfluous neither important but sometimes, sometimes, that´s all that a movie needs to be a classic. Collapse
  55. PatC.
    Jan 7, 2004
    5
    It's not a complex film, but then it's not pretending to be.
  56. raVen
    Jun 16, 2004
    5
    The people of Minnesota and California are gonna feel SOOOO silly when this movie is finally allowed in those states.
  57. Dec 19, 2011
    4
    This is the definition of action. It was entertaining in some parts but it does get rather predictable and boring as well. Also the acting was poor as well. It was ok though but not as good as it could have been.
  58. Nov 9, 2014
    6
    This is your classic no plot, big guns, lots of fun blockbuster. Is there any brain work needed? no. Just sit back and watch some muscular men get picked off by an alien bloke, whilst in the process massacring a rainforest.
  59. Sep 11, 2014
    6
    ¿La película es perfecta como algunos dicen? No. Pero si se puede disfrutar. La historia es muy poca y simple, un equipo especial es enviado a acabar con unos guerrilleros y rescatar a unos ministros del país, pero se encuentran con un Alien lo llaman Predator y tienen que exterminarlo. Eso es todo, muy simple y algo tonta, esto me parece mas que era para demostrar que Arnold puede acabar¿La película es perfecta como algunos dicen? No. Pero si se puede disfrutar. La historia es muy poca y simple, un equipo especial es enviado a acabar con unos guerrilleros y rescatar a unos ministros del país, pero se encuentran con un Alien lo llaman Predator y tienen que exterminarlo. Eso es todo, muy simple y algo tonta, esto me parece mas que era para demostrar que Arnold puede acabar con un alienígena. Personalmente creo que esta sobre valorada. Hubiera preferido que mas bien fuera que todos podían morir y no un personaje principal que sobrevivirá si o si. La película intenta tomarse en serio pero no lo logra muy bien. Le doy un 06/10 mas que decente si buscas acción y poco mas. Yo prefiero Predator 2 y Predators por que se toman mas en serio y tienen menos: OK este es el prota el va a sobrevivir no importa como. Expand
  60. Oct 12, 2014
    4
    Predator...There's no other movie that's so bad,it's good.I mean you get to see Arnold Schwarzenegger say 80's action movies typical cheesy one liners and go head to head with an alien...You don't see that anywhere else.
  61. Jan 11, 2015
    6
    Somehow I remembered the movie being better than it actually is. Rewatched it recently on BD and Its ok. Acting is, well, not very convincing. Special effects are good for that time .
  62. May 29, 2015
    7
    Pretty sweet cheese fest. Campy oh yeah but oh so good . Special effects were decent for the time but it is sort of a parody of meat head porn that was so pervasive in the 80's . The 80's prime Arnold and cast .
  63. Feb 25, 2015
    8
    A Metascore of 36? I can't believe I'm the first to say this: Bunch of slack-jawed ****
    At least the late Roger Ebert knew "an effective action movie" when he saw one.
  64. Dec 27, 2014
    10
    What to say about this movie?It's definitely a classic and one of the best action movies and SCI FI movies of ALL TIME.The plot is really interesting and as it gets to the middle of the plot viewers get stuck by their chairs or couches they sit and they watch it with huge temptation of what's going to happen next.Predator costume is absolutely amazing and it's a big plus for a person whoWhat to say about this movie?It's definitely a classic and one of the best action movies and SCI FI movies of ALL TIME.The plot is really interesting and as it gets to the middle of the plot viewers get stuck by their chairs or couches they sit and they watch it with huge temptation of what's going to happen next.Predator costume is absolutely amazing and it's a big plus for a person who made the Predator visuals and sound.In this movie Arnold says "Get to the choppa!" haha nuff said. Expand
  65. Jan 8, 2015
    10
    Predator never has to worry about unclogging a toilet, or cleaning burned-in cheese off of a steel frying pan, or being in awkward social situations. It just wants to drag every last muffuh down to hell through a hail of blood & bones. It's... it's just so good.
  66. Apr 23, 2015
    8
    More than just another dumb '80s Schwarzenegger actioner, Predator has gradually become a sci-fi and action classic. It's not difficult to see why. John McTiernan's direction is claustrophobic, fluid and assured, staging the action with aplomb but concentrating just as much on tension and atmosphere.

    It's cheesy as hell, of course, but enormously entertaining and deeply cool, with a ton
    More than just another dumb '80s Schwarzenegger actioner, Predator has gradually become a sci-fi and action classic. It's not difficult to see why. John McTiernan's direction is claustrophobic, fluid and assured, staging the action with aplomb but concentrating just as much on tension and atmosphere.

    It's cheesy as hell, of course, but enormously entertaining and deeply cool, with a ton of quotable lines - 'I ainít got time to bleed' - while The Predator itself is an utterly unforgettable villain. But most bad guys are only as good as their heroes and, long before he became a shambling self-parody, Arnie delivers - and not just in the walking and talking without falling over sense. He's an awesomely indestructible figure here, at the height of his physical powers. He's the archetypal immovable force meeting an irresistible object. Only Arnie at his most iconic could convincingly defeat the Predator (as those who've seen Danny Glover in 'Predator 2' know).

    There's also something ironic in the climax, where immigrant Arnie - now fully embraced by the U.S. - kicks the tar out of a real illegal alien. We could go into the sexual subtext, but maybe we're just reading too much into it.

    A thumping piece of powerhouse cinema.
    Expand
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. 50
    McTiernan, regrettably, seems more interested in spectacle than suspense, and the attack sequences are filmed for splashy visual impact. And an apocalyptic finale that raises the antiwar message to the nuclear level is more than McTiernan's metaphor can bear. [12 June 1987, Friday, p.J]
  2. Alternately grisly and dull, with few surprises. [12 June 1987, p.C6]
  3. Reviewed by: Pat Graham
    40
    Despite the off-rhythm styling and suggestions of primeval menace, there's really not much going on here.