Predator

Predator Image
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 368 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Schaefer (Schwarzenegger) and his elite military unit are recruited to rescue hostages held by guerrillas in the Latin American jungle. But once there, they encounter an enemy more deadly than any on earth! (20th Century Fox)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. 75
    Moves at a breakneck pace, it has strong and simple characterizations, it has good location photography and terrific special effects, and it supplies what it claims to supply: an effective action movie.
  2. It's got thrills and chills and one of the most elegantly conceived monsters in the history of movies.
  3. Crisply stylish and suspenseful, making brilliant use of optical special effects, Predator is one of Schwarzenegger's best.
  4. 50
    A slightly above-average actioner that tries to compensate for tissue-thin-plot with ever-more-grisly death sequences and impressive special effects.
  5. 40
    Despite the off-rhythm styling and suggestions of primeval menace, there's really not much going on here.
  6. The New York Times
    Reviewed by: Elvis Mitchell
    30
    Alternately grisly and dull, with few surprises. [12 June 1987, p.C6]
  7. Los Angeles Times
    Reviewed by: Michael Wilmington
    10
    It's arguably one of the emptiest, feeblest, most derivative scripts ever made as a major studio movie. There's no need to do a Mad magazine movie parody of this; it's already on the screen. [12 June 1987, Calendar, p.6-6]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 73
  2. Negative: 1 out of 73
  1. Apr 25, 2016
    10
    The best movie ever made - Action, soundtrack, story, characters, effects and pace. I've yet to see a better action film. Many have tried toThe best movie ever made - Action, soundtrack, story, characters, effects and pace. I've yet to see a better action film. Many have tried to copy but few have come close. Expand
  2. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    doesnt matter what 4 critics say, the has spoken and is one of thebest clasics ever, supense action good efects, is one of the best movies anddoesnt matter what 4 critics say, the has spoken and is one of thebest clasics ever, supense action good efects, is one of the best movies and schwarzenegger rocks, awesome movie everybody must have Expand
  3. jimm.
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    The greatest movie ever
  4. RyanC.
    Jun 12, 2010
    9
    Excellent movie. Alien and Star Wars surpass it, but if no movies surpassed it, it would probably be a 10. I give it a 9.5/10, but metacritic Excellent movie. Alien and Star Wars surpass it, but if no movies surpassed it, it would probably be a 10. I give it a 9.5/10, but metacritic won't let me score it that. Expand
  5. Apr 10, 2013
    8
    It surprises me that this amazing action film has such a low metascore. Is it too unintelligent, "dumb" or stupid for you snooty movieIt surprises me that this amazing action film has such a low metascore. Is it too unintelligent, "dumb" or stupid for you snooty movie critics. It's an amazing witty one-liner filled romp from start to finish Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2015
    8
    More than just another dumb '80s Schwarzenegger actioner, Predator has gradually become a sci-fi and action classic. It's not difficult to seeMore than just another dumb '80s Schwarzenegger actioner, Predator has gradually become a sci-fi and action classic. It's not difficult to see why. John McTiernan's direction is claustrophobic, fluid and assured, staging the action with aplomb but concentrating just as much on tension and atmosphere.

    It's cheesy as hell, of course, but enormously entertaining and deeply cool, with a ton of quotable lines - 'I ainĂ­t got time to bleed' - while The Predator itself is an utterly unforgettable villain. But most bad guys are only as good as their heroes and, long before he became a shambling self-parody, Arnie delivers - and not just in the walking and talking without falling over sense. He's an awesomely indestructible figure here, at the height of his physical powers. He's the archetypal immovable force meeting an irresistible object. Only Arnie at his most iconic could convincingly defeat the Predator (as those who've seen Danny Glover in 'Predator 2' know).

    There's also something ironic in the climax, where immigrant Arnie - now fully embraced by the U.S. - kicks the tar out of a real illegal alien. We could go into the sexual subtext, but maybe we're just reading too much into it.

    A thumping piece of powerhouse cinema.
    Expand
  7. JHill
    Dec 20, 2009
    2
    Good special effects; otherwise cartoonish and boring.

See all 73 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.
  2. 15 Movies the Critics Got Wrong

    15 Movies the Critics Got Wrong Image
    Published: June 14, 2010
    The critics can't get it right every time. We have searched our database for 15 poorly-reviewed movies that, upon closer examination, are much better than reviewers originally suggested.
  3. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.
  4. Ranked: The Best and Worst Director Duos

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Director Duos Image
    Published: July 25, 2012
    This week, directors Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris return with a follow-up to indie hit "Little Miss Sunshine." As we see inside, director pairings are increasingly common, though some (like Dayton and Faris) turn out better work than others.
  5. 10 Alien Invasion Movies Worth Watching (and 5 to Avoid)

    10 Alien Invasion Movies Worth Watching (and 5 to Avoid) Image
    Published: March 9, 2011
    This week's "Battle: Los Angeles" is one in a long line of alien invasion movies. We take a look back at some of the best and worst examples of the genre.