User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 342 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 342

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 29, 2011
    6
    "Predators" has a extremely linear plot. The characters also tend to show off rather than to improve themselves. However, the film's a entertaining movie thanks to its fast-paced tension it provides.
  2. Aug 13, 2010
    8
    It was a very good action-adventure/horror film. It was gritty, edgy and a well-produced B-Movie that resembled the feel of an 1980's film, most particularly, the original 1987 Predator. Predators supports a very similar premise to its predecessor and it shares its feel and look. It also boasts good performances and some very bloody action. I loved it. A 8.25/10
  3. Aug 21, 2010
    6
    i had higher hopes for this film but it was ok . i am a big predator fan so it helps my enjoyment of the film . it tries to take the original film and kick it up a notch and does so in some ways but fails in others. it seems like every lead charicter gets compared to arnold who fought the predator in the original film . well theres only one arnold and will probubly never be another who could fit in thoose shoes as a predator kicking bad ass. adrian brody does a fair job as the merc who is kinda shady and mysterous . what he lacks for in the giant build he has in brains . there is alot of action that is enjoyable to see and the plot all be it bare bones and copying alot of its original film keeps your attention for the 90 min its running . the beefs i had with this film are the lie it told in the previews . i know what really got my attention was the part it shows brody's charicter with a predator lazor beam locked on him then you see a dozen more light up 1 after the other . well in the actaul film iots only one lazor beam . which pissed me off . the trailors try to make it seem like they are fighting a dozen predators when actaully iys just 3. false advertising like that pisses me off. deduct 3 points just for that alone . also lawarnce fishburn's charictor just didnt seem believable as a guy who survived as long as he did . it just seemed like they scewed up with that charicter and coulda made him this bad ass but instead made him a loon . all in all its a decent film im not sure id recomend any one go out to the theater and see it . its more along the lines of a rental. it is better then AVP 1 and 2 though Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2010
    4
    The original film was no masterpiece, but it led an example of style and suspense. Predators is not quite that, but it is interesting and entertaining in a weird kind of way.
  5. Nov 6, 2010
    3
    I had been anticipating this movie since I first heard it was going to exist. I mean, come on, Predator 3 was finally upon us. It really was the movie I never thought was going to happen, especially when we were blessed with the two AvP films. When I first heard Robert Rodriguez was going to have a hand in the production, I was instantly skeptical. Turns out I was spot on. Predators sucks, and there is no nicer way to say that, because I donâ Expand
  6. Jan 15, 2012
    6
    Not a bad movie but could have been so much more, Brody was a waste of talent as his character didn't need any acting skills. Don't know what was going on with the introduction of a character halfway through that made no impact on the movie and the rest of the cast were the usual mish mash of stereotypes. In all watch it once to see a decent action movie but don't expect too much
  7. Aug 11, 2010
    7
    An elite commando unit led Major Alan "Dutch" Schaeffer and C.I.A. Liaison Major George Dillon were dropped into the deep jungle with orders to rescue a presidential cabinet minister kidnapped by guerrilla forces in Val Verde. As the progress through the jungle Major Schaeffer and his team stumble upon a downed American helicopter and the skinned remains of several bodies later revealed an American Special Forces team afterwards, they make there way to a heavily guarded rebel encampment quickly dispensing of the troops in the base and taking a young girl hostage. Major Schaeffer soon finds out that the entire rescue mission was nothing but a hoax cooked up by his superiors to get his team to kill the guerrillas in the encampment, after Dillon confesses that the men they found earlier disappeared in a failed rescue mission of two CIA agents. As they make there back to the extraction point the commandos, an unknown creature using thermal imaging is watching them. After two members of the team are mysteriously slain, the survivors become aware that something in the jungle is stalking them, something not of this world. Year: 2010??? Location: unknown A lone mercenary named Royce wakes up in free fall over a dense jungle after deploying his parachute and maker a rough landing on the planet he assumes is Earth possibly the Amazon. Royce meets up one by one with a colorful group of killers much like himself: Isabelle: An Israeli Defense Force black ops sniper, Cuchillo a Mexican Los Zetas drug cartel enforcer, Mombassa a Sierra Leone RUF death squad officer, Nikolai a Russian Spetsnaz commando, Stans a notorious and deadly death-row inmate from San Quentin state prison. Edwin a seemingly innocent doctor (who does not seem to fit in with the rest) and Hanzo a Yakuza assassin they have been brought together for one reason and one reason only on our planet they are the greatest killers we have to offer. Something has brought them to a jungle planet to hunt them for sport but the real question is what brought them there? How do they get home? Robert Rodriguez and Nimrod Antal's "Predators" is not a continuation of the horrendous AVP franchise directed by the abysmal Paul W.S. Anderson there film goes all the way back to the look and feel of John McTiernan's 1987 cult classic that became one of the 80's deifying action/adventure films and also a deifying film in Science fiction horror. I know that is hard to believe but when you look back at "Predator" and look at the official sequel "Predators" you can see what made the character and the film so popular. All throughout this movie, you feel a complete and utter sense of nostalgia as you watch the characters march around the jungle and out run, there-impeding doom; this is a well-made movie with a fine group of actors that know what they have gotten themselves into They enjoy every minute of it. It does not appear that way onscreen seeing as they have to be serious you know they must have had a ball shooting it out with the predators I know I would. Antal and Rodriguez avoid what made the AVP movies so bad and focus more on what made the Predator franchise so good they take there main queues from Predator the quiet subtle nature and a little from Predator 2 mainly the gritty pulpy feel of the trashy sequel put them together and what do you get? "Predatorsâ Expand
  8. Oct 27, 2010
    8
    The characters are kind of generic, and not quite as complex as they could have been but the plot and special effects are definitely good enough to get the job done. Maybe it doesn't have the depth that it should, but most scenes in Predators kick enough ass to satisfy any action movie fan.
  9. Aug 11, 2010
    10
    A great throwback to the original. Anybody who enjoyed the original with Awnold will enjoy this one. If your expect some deep psychological thriller, get over yourselves, not every movie needs to be some artistic masterpiece, go see Splice if that's what you want. This is a Predator movie for Predator fans. Easily 10x better than the AVP movies. If you like to go to movies to have a good time and get out the house, or want a movie for a movie night at home be sure to pick this one up when it comes out of DVD. Expand
  10. Sep 25, 2010
    6
    A true sequel to the first Predator movie - assorted human & non-Predator predators (soldiers, mercenaries, criminals, weird aliens...) vs. Predator predators on a game preserve planet. Rumble in an extraterrestrial jungle, capable killers vs. cloaked capable killers, past 5 o'clock - **** raping time. Not as good as the original, much better than Predator 2, better than AvP: Requiem. Predator fans will certainly be amused with this semi-resetting of the franchise. Expand
  11. Oct 17, 2010
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Why would you do this Adrien Brody? This movie isn't good, and kind of pointless to watch. He and the chick barely survive their first time around with the Predators, and at the end of the movie they have to try to get off the planet by surviving another? RIDICULOUS! Why did I even bother watching? Expand
  12. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Predators was an outstanding sequel. It burned away AVPR in a good way, making the predator franchise into awesome scaryness. Can't wait for the sequel!!
  13. Aug 13, 2010
    8
    Definitely went back back to the original Predator movie and bypassed both Pred2 and AvP. A great mindless summer movie with some good performances and one very underused Laurence Fishburne. The story was interesting and adds in a new Predator sub-type. If anything it pays a little too much tribute to Arnold's actions in Predator 1 but still enjoyable. Bordy did better than I expected in a leading action role, gritty and believable enough but Braga almost stole the show at times. If you didn't understand Fishburne's actions you must not have watched the movie or you were getting popcorn when he made them clear.

    It must be nearly time to remake or do a decent sequel to Alien 1, 2 & 4. Or just remake Alien 3 with a sane director and a script that doesn't make Aliens pointless.
    Expand
  14. Oct 19, 2010
    2
    Predators is a waste of time without interesting characters and without no story. It's dumb boring movie! The only better is the original and please enjoy watching this original movie and forget about the new Predator. It's just waste of time watching this stupid movie and GOD that is the most stupidest reboot ever!
  15. Aug 15, 2010
    10
    I true sequal to the original Predator film if I ever saw one. Forget about the terrible AvP films, Predators is where it's at. It's just to bad sometimes the dialogue was a liitle bit off but hey, it's a Predator film. Also to people thinking this movie would be non-stop action I suggest you watch the original and tell me how this film is that different.
  16. Aug 16, 2010
    0
    I have little to say that wont have been said before apart from - really, how difficult is it to make a Predator film? Surely the simple ingredients are a few bad a*s characters that you are rooting for, some bad a*s predators that stalk and scare the s**t out of the characters and a few good death scenes and fights. None of this is in Predators.
  17. Aug 16, 2010
    6
    This was the true sequel to the 1987 original. This is what predator fans were waiting for. This beats out those god awful Alien vs. Predator movies it promises fast action and it succeeds, It goes off of the successful formula the first movie created and ran with it. The only problems I found with it was the cast Adrian Brody was no where near as good as Arnold in the original and the whole movie was so obvious that it was mind numbing. Expand
  18. Aug 17, 2010
    7
    Just to get it out of the way....No it's not as good as the original.However I think Nimrod Antal and Robert Rodriguez did a very good job that has reddemed the series from the terrible AvP movies and the mediocre sequel (which personally I like.)Theres only three things that take it down...The planet looks like Earth,No trophy ending like with the pistol in predator 2 and the team didnt have the same comraderie as they did in the original.Also,just question how Is Lawerence Fishburne fat and seriously.....Topher Grace COME ON! Expand
  19. Mar 16, 2011
    4
    People dropped into jungle after being abducted, unsure why they are there, feeling of not alone, start being hunted, etc, etc.
    Cliché-fest from start to finish with one dimensional characters, & at points, pretty much copying the wonderful original.
    Adrien Brody is really badly cast as the gung-ho mercenary complete with Christian Bale Batman voice & it's quite laughable when
    he tries to replicate Arnie towards the end.
    SFX are average and the music is pretty much regurgitated from the original.
    Expand
  20. Aug 26, 2010
    10
    i really enjoyed this movie i admit there were small flaws with it but there were not any major problems that made it completely pointless. this is what i expected from a predator movie as a predator fan and i am looking forward to the sequel
  21. Aug 23, 2010
    6
    I'm not entirely sure what some of the actors in this were doing.... However that said I did enjoy it, this is a real popcorn movie and if you go into it expecting it to match the first Predator movie then you're... not that far off actually, looking back at the the first predator movie was excellent as it was new, unusual, we've all grown up since then and our tastes have changed. This is pretty much a rehash of the original but on another planet. It has some clumsy nods back to it's originator some of which are fun other ones aren't so much. I think with a little more development this could've been something really special, they touched on things but didn't explore them, we could really do with a movie that properly explores the lore of the Predator species and not just have them as the killing machines they are currently seen to be. Sadly I don't think we'll get it. There's just no new ground broken at all it's all the same as the first movie. Expand
  22. Sep 20, 2010
    1
    Predators is a lame movie with no story. the whole movie talks about capturing a ship, but in the end, they kill only 1 alien , and only the 2 stars of the film survive.
  23. Aug 31, 2010
    8
    I don't really understand the bad reviews for this film. I wasn't really expecting much but really enjoyed it. There are similarities to the first predator film with the jungle setting and group of gun totting toughs getting picked off one by one. However it still feels like its own film and not trying to imitate. Laurence Fishburne (in the few scenes he has) looks like he's really enjoying himself in this film and is a lot of fun to watch. And of course Adrian Brody is a brilliant actor himself. Great to see them both in this type of film. Expand
  24. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Very entertaining movie, the action was great, and the multitude of characters made it much more suspenceful. I don't think I could find a better movie for 2010.
  25. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Just as good as the original if not better, Mr Schwarzenegger's '87 outing was just as silly but through rose tinted glasses it may look different, Predators is the first sequel to Predator that actually is worth watching. Honestly can't understand the poor metascore of 51.
  26. Sep 20, 2010
    7
    I hadn't high expectations, but i really enjoyed this movie. Good handmade action and costumes, and a surprisingly very fitting Adrien Brody as a tough soldier. I hope there will be a sequel! BTW: here some great quotes of the movie: Predator Quotes
  27. Oct 9, 2010
    6
    "Its Decent , no where compares to the original , its fun , full of scares , somewhat keeps you on the edge of your seat. But the Screenplay is awful , there is no beginning , and the performances were OK , Predators may or may not satisfy predator fans" .. B-
  28. Oct 7, 2010
    6
    Predator 1 and 2 are classics of the action cinema. These movies had great action sequences , with strong characters , and suspense was all time high. Today approach in action movies is quite different , realism is dominating and Predator could only make it trough the stupid Alien vs. Predator franchise , that dumbed down the whole concept of a Predator and used him and Alien as an creatures who are just there to fight for no apparent reason , while some people (characters?) are watching that. Predators is trying to bring back the style of the old classics , and that is something to be respected. Even if the movie was bad. And some things are. First some people would not apply to the look of a new Predators , Laurence Fishburne is there only to fill the big hole in the plot , and generally some action scenes lack the edge of originals. Also the younger audiences would get bored with action movie that has very little action in it. But the most important thing to me was how hard this movie is trying to be the part of the Predator universe , rather then to use them just as an action tool. I loved the cast , Brody and Braga the most , and even everyone says that Brody is not the guy for role like this , i would say he did it pretty well. Film has the atmosphere , ok it's not the Predator 1 , and Nimrod Antal is not either Jon McTiernan , or Stephen Hopkins. But he holds his own pretty well , Predator showdowns are good , there are some pretty scary moments and i suggest watching this one in Theatre for better impact. Filming style and music also gives the whole feel of the old - school action movies. Overall this is an good action movie which would be even better ih he was respecting himself in the same manner as the frahchise he wants to be a part of. Then we could call this Predator 3 Expand
  29. Oct 9, 2010
    0
    what starts out promising becomes aweful super fast. the main actor looks as funny and embarrassing when trying to act cool (if not even more) as nicholas cage does in his movies. which already almost kills movie. the aliens with "space balls" like super sized helmets (didnt find taller guys to play the "bigger predator type" so they just used bigger helmets? lol) and dull and predictable story do the rest. it leaves the impression as it was originaly meant as a comedy, and changed to an action movie by cutting out the jokes. Expand
  30. Oct 14, 2010
    1
    Oh, my god! What a horrible movie. This movie is really not my taste - it's not intelligent and the beasts are just so disgusting! It was a bit entertaining, but at what cost - only brutality and music could accomplish that, the rest was rubbish.
  31. Nov 16, 2010
    2
    If you enjoy movies that make sense, then don't watch this. I just love how Adrian Brody pulls out these wild conclusions, based on virtually 0 proof, straight out of his ass. A complete waste of time. The only positive is that the speffects were decent.
  32. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    hough this mechanical and gussied up version isnâ
  33. Nov 9, 2010
    5
    This movie pretty much had no interesting characters and just left me with a feeling of, What the hell? The plot is none existent and really any kind of depth is too. Like I have said before the characters really annoyed me not just based on how they are introduced but how they all instantly become heroic and self sacrificial even if their background wouldn't imply that.
  34. May 9, 2011
    6
    not if the script said that the characters should be a miserable first class because they really were, I did not like Brody's character was known throughout the movie, I mean as it did all those deductions (let's say it was the Einstein of the film), the action scenes were good and well some things that were loose, the movie generally entertained =)
  35. Jan 7, 2011
    0
    Is this movie a joke ? I have never in my entire life seen such bad acting, such a bad script, such a bad story, and such a ridiculous and shameless theft of scenes from other movies. I really do not see why anyone can give this a positive review. It is simply nauseating.
  36. Mar 6, 2011
    7
    While it's not as good as the original movies, and has a b rated feel to it, hardcore fans of the series will enjoy, and I think they will really find the twist with the Predators thrown in there will divide fans, but it's a pretty good movie from beginning to end.
  37. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ok first off this is the movie this franchise deserves predator 2 was a well played sequel but predators beats it's @as I thought that Brody was not the best choice at first but man did he pull it off and when I heard topher grace was in it I thought he was the main hero I was like motherfuc#er but I found out he wasn't the fact that it's directed by nimrod antal and produced by Robert rodriguez was mind blowing I felt that they killed off the predators to quickly like with the tracker he was the coolest but they just blew him up which disipointed me mr black was cool but over hyped the falconer was really cool the first time I saw that robot bird I was like no they didn't but it actualy was a nice add on the hounds where bad mofos for such a low budget movie it did very well there is already a sequel in the works the human cast was very well chosen but I wish they had done more with the character noland who was a bad ass but I wish he wasint crazy but the person who stole the show was walt goggins with his one liners and the backround of his character armed only with a shiv he still manages to be deadly Alice bragga was hot and deadly the perfect woman Danny trejo who is rodreguiezs close friend gets killed of to early but delivers a good performance for the time being I didn't care much for hanzo but the samari fight with the falconer was awsome and the rest of the cast was very good and theres even a homage to the original multiple ones to be specific all in all it was worth it definitely buy this DVD hen it comes out it's already out Expand
  38. Jan 11, 2011
    5
    PREDATORS
    PREDATOR (1987) has been one of Arnold Schwarzenegger memorable movies. Now, they try to extend the narrative into a new chapter from thiz franchise, in PREDATORS, with letter S which is expected to be multiplying (I guess). But what I see from thiz newest alternative is just a movie with a repetitive formula and setting. The formula is still a typical mysterious introduction to
    the creatures what we called Predators and how a group of soldiers die one by one, until the last one. The setting is still tropical jungle, exactly what we saw on Schwarzenegger version. Thiz one is officially the third Predator movies since the first one in 1987 and PREDATOR 2 in 1990, plus two spin-off when Predators clash with the Aliens (another iconic Hollywood creatures) in AVP (2004) and AVP 2: REQUIEM (2007). Unfortunately, I almost can say thiz one could easily fall into B-Class movie with B-Class Actors attached, such as: Alice Braga, Topher Grace, and others. The only exception (of course) is on Adrien Brody performance, his attempt to be action hero must put as a great credit itself. Brody seems to be successful to build his body and delivers some brawny hero attitude, with his voice and tone characteristic. The other brief but convincing appearance made by Laurence Fishburne. I simply watched thiz movie bcoz I wanted to see what could Nimrod Antal (Director) did for his next project, since his latest VACANCY (2008) created an intriguing and effective thriller. In thiz Predator movie, Antal did not make a new innovation. In fact, he took many rip-off elements from the first original one. If they are keep doing thiz without any modernity has been made, I think they might had been killing Predators itself.


    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  39. Mar 22, 2011
    2
    When I rented this, I thought I was going watch a horror-action-sci-fi movie, but from the start to the ending, it was horrible. Horrible acting (except from Lawrence Fishburne) , predictable story, idiotic humour, the aliens look like plastic, terrible script, stupid underdeveloped characters and no scary scenes. The only three good things about this movie that it stars amazing Lawrence Fishburne, somewhat okay action scenes and the gore. But overall, waste of time, waste of money if buying or renting. I rate this movie: 2 out of 10. Expand
  40. May 9, 2011
    8
    As a big Fan of the first Predator film,& even enjoyed No 2 quite alot,I was looking foreward to this film,with Robert Rodrigez behind it too.The end result is a good film,but one i feel that was never going to match up to the greatness of the first one.You can see Rodrigez's love for the franchise,with several nods to the first classic movie,& its obvious the love he put into the project,but the film felt like it was lacking something.lacking that 'I dont know what'.. Dont get me wrong,he did everything right,& he ticked all the boxes for a good Predator movie,but maybe that feeling of the first movie,where you was on the edge of your seat,as you never knew what the Predator was,or what it looked like,was scary in itself.& those circumstances can never be repeated,because we know what to expect now.Also,the team of misfits just doesnt seem to sit as well as the closely bonded team from the first movie.But i go back to saying that this movie did everything right for a Predator movie,& i enjoyed it,& definately ranks up with Predator 1&2 for enjoyability,so i'm giving it high marks. Expand
  41. Jun 12, 2011
    3
    A missed opportunity. The lack of effort placed into the plot is evident from almost the first minute, and the line "We don't need to worry how we got here. We are here is all that matters" should be enough to make anybody groan. If that weren't enough, Adrien Brody is thoroughly boring throughout the entire movie and speaks like he has a particularly sore throat. Even Laurence Fishburne comes out of this movie worse for wear, as his cameo is a particularly weak character, and even this is irritatingly portrayed. Predators springs to life for a short while after Fishburne's exit, yet then descends into further levels of tedium. Expand
  42. Apr 27, 2011
    5
    I became user of this site just to write something everybody normal is probably asking... How in the world can this movie have a higher score than the original which scored 36 ?????? In my opinion Predator from 1987 is one of the best action films in the history not to mention that it is in all ways better than Predators from 2010... I mean, Predators isn't bad but it cannot be compared to Predator. Come on.. Expand
  43. May 15, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well, the beginning was somewhat interesting... A guy plummeting to "earth" with a faulty parachute. I could have rolled with that. The next part was rather stupid. They spent the next ten minutes shooting at each other until they figured out that they aren't the enemy. Then the next idiotic part. Predators with F'ing mini-gun plasma casters. That just about kills all the fun right there. Think about it this way... In Predator, one regular pred wipes out two crack teams without breaking a sweat. In Predator 2, kills half the damn city. But in Predators, it takes three super Preds to kill just 8 people. Charged up with spy planes and attack dogs, two of the preds where dead by mid-movie. And one by a thousand year old sword. Wow. And yet the classic pred which won against countless enemies, dies in less than a minute of fighting. All in all i think the movie was a waste of my money completely. Expand
  44. Feb 20, 2012
    5
    Predators, under the competent direction of Nimrod Antal and the watchful eye of producer Robert Rodriguez, is, for the most part, a decent sci-fi action film. You've got a classic set-up - a group of multi-national killers mysteriously wake up on an alien planet and are mercilessly tracked and hunted down one-by-one by the titular camouflaged, thermal-visioned intergalactic Predators . Adrien Brody makes a solid primary protagonist as the lean, mean, and mysterious mercenary Royce, but the majority of the rest of the cast play boring and/or laughably stereotyped characters (i audibly groaned when Mahershalalhashbaz Ali's African soldier had a line of dialogue beginning with "in my culture" and when Louis Ozawa Changchien's Yakuza enforcer made a final stand, katana in hand, in an area resembling a rice field). Only Topher Grace plays a truly interesting character, and you have to wait until the film's final reel for his payoff. Having Lawrence Fishburne play a lone survivor of a previous hunt who's been living off scraps for a long time (only plausible if "scraps" are code for burgers and fries) is also a complete casting misstep. The film does have some pretty entertaining set-pieces, and keeps you watching throughout, predictable though the plot is. The Predators themselves are as cool as ever, and they have a few new tricks up their sleeves (do they have sleeves?) to spring on their prey this time around. Predators may be cliched and lacking in character development and decent scripting, but at least it's distinct enough from John McTiernan's original 1987 film, and is pretty consistently diverting action fare, if rarely anything that approaches true entertainment. Expand
  45. Jun 28, 2011
    7
    With the two AVP films behind us (hopefully forever) this film is a breath of fresh air. It may not be a classic like the first Predator movie but it fills out the si-fi parameters fairly well only faltering in a few areas that could be fixed in a future sequel. The human cast of Predators is a lively bunch and make for some interesting interactions. Because most of the human characters are deadly prisoners or ruthless gun men there is an uneasy tension that lingers throughout the movie. This approach was a smart choice on the writers part and gave the movie an interesting spin on the usual cliche action characters that are littered in many of these kinds of films. It also gave the film's title, Predators, a nice little double meaning. The actual predators in this movie are pretty much the same in terms of their design, though there are a few variations in the different types of predators introduced in the film. The new larger black predators, which are much larger and more aggressive than the "original" predators, take center stage as the main hunters. There is also the addition of a predator dog like species and a few other nasty alien creatures. My main problem with the film is that it doesn't really soar as far as story telling and suspense are concerned. The characters are also bland at times and there isn't a huge connection made among them. The pacing is not perfect either, many action sequences are far and few, especially when it comes to predator screen time. All in all this film fit the bill for a predator and action film, its not perfect, but it is a lot of fun and that's usually what it comes down in the end. Expand
  46. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    6
    I liked the short story 'The Most Dangerous Game' approach. Unfortunately I didn't care for the characters too much and it's kind of predictable.
  47. Jul 23, 2011
    5
    Worth a watch but fails to become it's own film. Predators swipes all of the recognisable motifs and themes from the 1987 feature, throws in a few Predators, some two-dimensional, unlikeable characters and has them run about a jungle for a while. To say it's unimaginative is an understatement.
  48. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    Good movie,not as thrilling as its older brothers (predator 1 and 2) but action won here. If you hope some spoilers in this review then stop hopeing and watch the movie!!!
  49. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    PREDATORS is a great reboot that is way better than the sequels and is on par with the memorable original film.
  50. May 25, 2012
    6
    The story is well organized, it has some decent action scenes, and each character has the screen time they need. The ending will leave you hanging though.
  51. Jan 25, 2012
    5
    Repeat after me, "this film will not transform into one of those stereotypical chase movies". What's that, you don't understand? Well damn, that's a shame. It's a shame because despite this flick being the third in its respective series it has so much potential that was unfortunately left dormant. Instead there was a large chunk of nothingness at the halfway point which was somewhat pointless, as much so as the uninteresting character played by Laurence Fishburne. Luckily for the viewer he is soon killed off. *sigh* At least the musical score is nice. And remember - If it bleeds, I can kill it! :-D Expand
  52. Jan 7, 2012
    0
    I only watched half of this film before I had to stop because it was so terrible. The story ,while interesting, is poorly executed. The acting is well below average and is in fact down right terrible. Adrien Brody ,a formerly good actor, pulls off a Christian Bale movie and mimics the deep voice that Bale uses when he plays as Batman. This is very bad, Even worst then when Bale does it.

    Its simply a terrible film.
    Expand
  53. Jan 13, 2012
    8
    The funniest film i have seen in years! From the hilariously characters, who manage to swing from one dimensional to schizophrenic without missing a beat, to the 'twist' ending given away at the very beginning ("I kill people." "I kill people too." "Cool so do I." "Oh, I'm just a doctor" - Yeah right!), this film is a triumph of comedy. It's not just good, its 'The Room' good!
  54. Jul 15, 2012
    5
    Based on a draft screenplay penned by producer Robert Rodriguez in the mid-nineties, the Predator (without Alien) franchise was given an update with this 2010 reboot/sequel directed by Nimrod Antal.

    Set on an anonymous planet serving as a game reserve, Adrien Brody (yes, Adrien Brody) leads a group of humans shipped to the planet for the purposes of being hunted by several Predators.
    The humans are selected from various global military organisations and have to overcome their initial confusion and distrust of each other as they are stalked by their foes.

    I remember seeing the trailer for this film and being amazed that Brody had bulked up to play an action hero role. He actually plays the morally detached and cold Royce reasonably well and attempts his own version of the patented Christian Bale Batman voice. While I think about the trailer, the coolest scene where tens of red Predator scopes appear all over the cast never actually occurs in the film!

    The story starts well as the mix of characters knit and begin to piece together why they have been brought to the planet. It is an interesting take on the Predator series, however Antal doesn't manage to sustain the interest once the first Predator kill occurs. From this point on the film becomes a pretty average and predictable killing spree similar to Predator itself only without the originality and B-movie feel. Only the brief cameo from Laurence Fishburne as a crazed survivor provides some change in direction.

    As a standalone film, Predators is an average action film although better than the recent AVP series. As a new entry to the Predator story, it fails to live up the original, either that or perhaps I just remember the Arnie version for being better than it actually was.
    Expand
  55. Oct 25, 2012
    9
    Predators returns the franchise back to its roots with a action packed, edge of your seat thriller and one of the best blockbusters of 2010. When Royce (Adrien Brody) falls out of the sky into an unknown jungle closely followed by 8 others who enter in the same way, one of which dies from the fall. Each person reveals themselves to be in some kind of armed forces aside from Stans, the death row convict and Edwin the doctor.
    They soon realise that they are on an alien planet and being hunted by something that they cannot see and is much stronger than them.
    The films plot is the best in the Predator franchise yet with lots of well done plot twists, interesting characters and a good ending which could easily lead onto other stories set on the same planet. Great performaces from each actor with notable performaces from Adrein Brody (Royce), Alice Braga (I Am Legend), Topher Grace (Edwin) and Lawrence Fishburne as Noland. One of the must see blockbusters of 2010.
    Expand
  56. Aug 24, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I almost gave this film a positive review but I just couldn't bring myself to do so. It is an extremely clever idea and I love the way that it goes straight into the action. There is no build up where they try and narrate to you what a character is like. It picks up in the jungle with Brody. However, with so much talent in the cast, I do feel as if there was minimal acting skills needed to star in this film. There was no real emotional curve and that is what stopped me from giving a positive review. Expand
  57. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    It may not be thematically insightful or contain any truly memorable characters, but "Predators" is, all in all, one of the only respectable additions left to add to the Predator franchise.
  58. Dec 6, 2012
    4
    The sequel to Predator made in 1990 starring Danny Glover, which at best could be considered mediocre, comes off as a contemporary classic compared to this. The events and sequences that are taking place are being explained by the characters to the audience throughout as if somehow we are incapable of following this "plot". The computer generated creatures and special effects are transparent and distracting. Lawrence Fishburne's brief presence is wasted and adds nothing substantial to the storyline. Brody is such an obvious miscast, and I wanted to give him benefit of the doubt, but it just didn't work on any level what so ever. Expand
  59. Apr 18, 2013
    7
    Predators brings back the predator trilogy back to life especially after the downfall of the AVP and AVPR crap. It brings new storytelling, new scares, and more gore that is actually tolerant. A success
  60. Jun 6, 2013
    7
    I was expecting better from this, but I like this movie for what it is. The only negative with this film was the misleading trailers. The first trailer had a scene where it showed there were more predators this time, but the actual film had only three. Either something happened in production or it was made trick people into seeing the movie. The movie's good for what it is, but just wish it offered what the trailers promised. Expand
  61. Apr 23, 2014
    2
    One of the worst movies I've seen, and the very worst that I saw in a movie theater. Poor directing, pathetic acting, unconvincing sets, obvious storyline, and so on. What stood out most for me was how numerous characters, who were supposed to be experts in their methods of killing, weren't comfortable with their weapons. The actors seemed to lack any skill at even holding their props believably, and spent no time getting acquainted with them in preparation to compensate. It felt as if the movie was just shot over a couple of weeks, maybe following a similar period of pre-filming development.
    There was little ability or effort visible in Predators.
    Expand
  62. Apr 19, 2014
    8
    For a remake of the classic predator (with Schwarzenegger) i had high expectation,and i was NOT disappointed at all.There is a lot of action and good CGI effects and good good actors.This movie is an instant classic for me.I recommend it to anybody who wants to see it.
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    60
    A solidly okay Saturday night effort, but unambitious considering the talent involved. Maybe Rodriguez should direct Predator Resurrection, but get a science fiction writer to script it.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    42
    As a fan of Schwarzenegger's macho, heart-of-darkness original, it gives me no pleasure to say that Predators is an uninspired mess of mediocre action scenes strung together until the final reel.
  3. 50
    The movie is mostly about our nasty heroes being attacked by terrifying antagonists in incomprehensible muddles of lightning-fast special effects. It lacks the quiet suspense of the first “Predator,” and please don't even mention the “Alien vs. Predator” pictures, which lacked the subtlety of “Mothra vs. Godzilla.”