Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 9, 2010
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 389 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
211
Mixed:
118
Negative:
60
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
"Predators" has a extremely linear plot. The characters also tend to show off rather than to improve themselves. However, the film's a entertaining movie thanks to its fast-paced tension it provides.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
ArkonBladeAug 21, 2010
i had higher hopes for this film but it was ok . i am a big predator fan so it helps my enjoyment of the film . it tries to take the original film and kick it up a notch and does so in some ways but fails in others. it seems like every leadi had higher hopes for this film but it was ok . i am a big predator fan so it helps my enjoyment of the film . it tries to take the original film and kick it up a notch and does so in some ways but fails in others. it seems like every lead charicter gets compared to arnold who fought the predator in the original film . well theres only one arnold and will probubly never be another who could fit in thoose shoes as a predator kicking bad ass. adrian brody does a fair job as the merc who is kinda shady and mysterous . what he lacks for in the giant build he has in brains . there is alot of action that is enjoyable to see and the plot all be it bare bones and copying alot of its original film keeps your attention for the 90 min its running . the beefs i had with this film are the lie it told in the previews . i know what really got my attention was the part it shows brody's charicter with a predator lazor beam locked on him then you see a dozen more light up 1 after the other . well in the actaul film iots only one lazor beam . which pissed me off . the trailors try to make it seem like they are fighting a dozen predators when actaully iys just 3. false advertising like that pisses me off. deduct 3 points just for that alone . also lawarnce fishburn's charictor just didnt seem believable as a guy who survived as long as he did . it just seemed like they scewed up with that charicter and coulda made him this bad ass but instead made him a loon . all in all its a decent film im not sure id recomend any one go out to the theater and see it . its more along the lines of a rental. it is better then AVP 1 and 2 though Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
ColossusAug 16, 2010
This was the true sequel to the 1987 original. This is what predator fans were waiting for. This beats out those god awful Alien vs. Predator movies it promises fast action and it succeeds, It goes off of the successful formula the firstThis was the true sequel to the 1987 original. This is what predator fans were waiting for. This beats out those god awful Alien vs. Predator movies it promises fast action and it succeeds, It goes off of the successful formula the first movie created and ran with it. The only problems I found with it was the cast Adrian Brody was no where near as good as Arnold in the original and the whole movie was so obvious that it was mind numbing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
rotkuJan 15, 2012
Not a bad movie but could have been so much more, Brody was a waste of talent as his character didn't need any acting skills. Don't know what was going on with the introduction of a character halfway through that made no impact on the movieNot a bad movie but could have been so much more, Brody was a waste of talent as his character didn't need any acting skills. Don't know what was going on with the introduction of a character halfway through that made no impact on the movie and the rest of the cast were the usual mish mash of stereotypes. In all watch it once to see a decent action movie but don't expect too much Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
ChadS.Jul 9, 2010
"The horror, the horror" had Arnold Schwartzenegger attempted to deliver a literary quote in John McTiernan's "Predator", the 1987 film which spawned three sequels "Predators" would probably have you forget, especially the shameless "The horror, the horror" had Arnold Schwartzenegger attempted to deliver a literary quote in John McTiernan's "Predator", the 1987 film which spawned three sequels "Predators" would probably have you forget, especially the shameless marketing-oriented ones that matched the nameless predator with the nameless alien. "AVP: Alien vs. Predator" and "AVPR: Alien vs. Predator- Requiem" were more like spinoffs for gamers who loved MTV's "Celebrity Death Match" than an organic organic continuation of the Reagan/Bush-era franchise. They were live-action video games. "Predators" fairs only slightly better. Appropriately enough, the film opens with a man hurtling to the ground(the screenwriter must've had a Sprite) as the achromatic atmosphere, symbolic of the white light from a computer, is the preamble to the game: the planet where Royce(Adrien Brody) must play "The Most Dangerous [Video] Game" with his multi-cultural survivalists. (The predators are like CBS executives.) To lend "Predators" some much-needed gravitas, Adrien Brody quotes Ernest Hemingway, and acts like a Hemingway character(perhaps Wilson in "The Short Happy Life of Francis MacComber"), as Brody's Royce deduces that they're being hunted on a game preserve after he and his colleagues are attacked by spiky-looking quadrupeds. In order to escape from the "Lost" planet, the spirit of Schwartzenegger finds itself abounded in the "classic" predator, who like the android in James Cameron's "Terminator 2: Judgement Day", protects his former prey from an updated model: in this case, a higher evolved predator(the "black" predator) who keeps his ancestor in shackles. So Royce makes an alliance: Royce has guts, or as Hemingway put it, his course of action exemplifies "grace under pressure", when he perceives that the "classic" predator(who as it turns out, was probably only following orders in the South American jungle) isn't his real enemy, and frees the predator so he can fight his oppressor. Not only is Royce a man of action(he comes back for GRACE), but a man of great intellectual powers, as well: a man who reads. "Predators" can be read as a liberal film. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
4
MorningtonOct 23, 2010
The original film was no masterpiece, but it led an example of style and suspense. Predators is not quite that, but it is interesting and entertaining in a weird kind of way.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
6
wishmasterMay 9, 2011
not if the script said that the characters should be a miserable first class because they really were, I did not like Brody's character was known throughout the movie, I mean as it did all those deductions (let's say it was the Einstein ofnot if the script said that the characters should be a miserable first class because they really were, I did not like Brody's character was known throughout the movie, I mean as it did all those deductions (let's say it was the Einstein of the film), the action scenes were good and well some things that were loose, the movie generally entertained =) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
JonnyFendiJan 11, 2011
PREDATORS
PREDATOR (1987) has been one of Arnold Schwarzenegger memorable movies. Now, they try to extend the narrative into a new chapter from thiz franchise, in PREDATORS, with letter S which is expected to be multiplying (I guess). But
PREDATORS
PREDATOR (1987) has been one of Arnold Schwarzenegger memorable movies. Now, they try to extend the narrative into a new chapter from thiz franchise, in PREDATORS, with letter S which is expected to be multiplying (I guess). But what I see from thiz newest alternative is just a movie with a repetitive formula and setting. The formula is still a typical mysterious introduction to the creatures what we called Predators and how a group of soldiers die one by one, until the last one. The setting is still tropical jungle, exactly what we saw on Schwarzenegger version. Thiz one is officially the third Predator movies since the first one in 1987 and PREDATOR 2 in 1990, plus two spin-off when Predators clash with the Aliens (another iconic Hollywood creatures) in AVP (2004) and AVP 2: REQUIEM (2007). Unfortunately, I almost can say thiz one could easily fall into B-Class movie with B-Class Actors attached, such as: Alice Braga, Topher Grace, and others. The only exception (of course) is on Adrien Brody performance, his attempt to be action hero must put as a great credit itself. Brody seems to be successful to build his body and delivers some brawny hero attitude, with his voice and tone characteristic. The other brief but convincing appearance made by Laurence Fishburne. I simply watched thiz movie bcoz I wanted to see what could Nimrod Antal (Director) did for his next project, since his latest VACANCY (2008) created an intriguing and effective thriller. In thiz Predator movie, Antal did not make a new innovation. In fact, he took many rip-off elements from the first original one. If they are keep doing thiz without any modernity has been made, I think they might had been killing Predators itself.

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
j30Sep 22, 2011
I liked the short story 'The Most Dangerous Game' approach. Unfortunately I didn't care for the characters too much and it's kind of predictable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
AlienSpaceBatsJul 23, 2011
Worth a watch but fails to become it's own film. Predators swipes all of the recognisable motifs and themes from the 1987 feature, throws in a few Predators, some two-dimensional, unlikeable characters and has them run about a jungle for aWorth a watch but fails to become it's own film. Predators swipes all of the recognisable motifs and themes from the 1987 feature, throws in a few Predators, some two-dimensional, unlikeable characters and has them run about a jungle for a while. To say it's unimaginative is an understatement. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
eTurkeyJan 25, 2012
Repeat after me, "this film will not transform into one of those stereotypical chase movies". What's that, you don't understand? Well damn, that's a shame. It's a shame because despite this flick being the third in its respective series itRepeat after me, "this film will not transform into one of those stereotypical chase movies". What's that, you don't understand? Well damn, that's a shame. It's a shame because despite this flick being the third in its respective series it has so much potential that was unfortunately left dormant. Instead there was a large chunk of nothingness at the halfway point which was somewhat pointless, as much so as the uninteresting character played by Laurence Fishburne. Luckily for the viewer he is soon killed off. *sigh* At least the musical score is nice. And remember - If it bleeds, I can kill it! :-D Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
EvinCJul 10, 2010
Very fun movie, it gets stupid towards the end but its very entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
HaikalI.Jul 9, 2010
Could have been better. Predators almost nailed it. Almost but didn't hit the bar. Still it delivers as an entertaining movie with a B-grade feel though. And was much better than the AvP movies. Predators was averagely executed and had Could have been better. Predators almost nailed it. Almost but didn't hit the bar. Still it delivers as an entertaining movie with a B-grade feel though. And was much better than the AvP movies. Predators was averagely executed and had so much potential. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JasonKJul 10, 2010
Predators has a thin plot but you don't see summer action movies for the plot. On action it delivers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
FransiscoR.Jul 12, 2010
With all the dire remakes of great films from the 80s it's difficult not to look at a trailer for an up and coming sequel like Predators without being filled with ambivalence at the hope that it will live up to your expectations but the With all the dire remakes of great films from the 80s it's difficult not to look at a trailer for an up and coming sequel like Predators without being filled with ambivalence at the hope that it will live up to your expectations but the knowledge that in reality you'll probably wish it had never been made after you get to see it. Thankfully, Predators isn't as bad as some of the other efforts (AVP being the prime example) but it still relays too heavily on CGI and falls short because of it's age certificate. Another victim of the cinema industries relience on larger audiences over artistic merit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KundKSep 25, 2010
A true sequel to the first Predator movie - assorted human & non-Predator predators (soldiers, mercenaries, criminals, weird aliens...) vs. Predator predators on a game preserve planet. Rumble in an extraterrestrial jungle, capable killersA true sequel to the first Predator movie - assorted human & non-Predator predators (soldiers, mercenaries, criminals, weird aliens...) vs. Predator predators on a game preserve planet. Rumble in an extraterrestrial jungle, capable killers vs. cloaked capable killers, past 5 o'clock - **** raping time. Not as good as the original, much better than Predator 2, better than AvP: Requiem. Predator fans will certainly be amused with this semi-resetting of the franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
dijavantewowOct 17, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Why would you do this Adrien Brody? This movie isn't good, and kind of pointless to watch. He and the chick barely survive their first time around with the Predators, and at the end of the movie they have to try to get off the planet by surviving another? RIDICULOUS! Why did I even bother watching? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ERG1008Mar 16, 2011
People dropped into jungle after being abducted, unsure why they are there, feeling of not alone, start being hunted, etc, etc.
Cliché-fest from start to finish with one dimensional characters, & at points, pretty much copying
People dropped into jungle after being abducted, unsure why they are there, feeling of not alone, start being hunted, etc, etc.
Cliché-fest from start to finish with one dimensional characters, & at points, pretty much copying the wonderful original.
Adrien Brody is really badly cast as the gung-ho mercenary complete with Christian Bale Batman voice & it's quite laughable when he tries to replicate Arnie towards the end.
SFX are average and the music is pretty much regurgitated from the original.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
dj_stevie_cAug 23, 2010
I'm not entirely sure what some of the actors in this were doing.... However that said I did enjoy it, this is a real popcorn movie and if you go into it expecting it to match the first Predator movie then you're... not that far offI'm not entirely sure what some of the actors in this were doing.... However that said I did enjoy it, this is a real popcorn movie and if you go into it expecting it to match the first Predator movie then you're... not that far off actually, looking back at the the first predator movie was excellent as it was new, unusual, we've all grown up since then and our tastes have changed. This is pretty much a rehash of the original but on another planet. It has some clumsy nods back to it's originator some of which are fun other ones aren't so much. I think with a little more development this could've been something really special, they touched on things but didn't explore them, we could really do with a movie that properly explores the lore of the Predator species and not just have them as the killing machines they are currently seen to be. Sadly I don't think we'll get it. There's just no new ground broken at all it's all the same as the first movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Forrestgump1Oct 9, 2010
"Its Decent , no where compares to the original , its fun , full of scares , somewhat keeps you on the edge of your seat. But the Screenplay is awful , there is no beginning , and the performances were OK , Predators may or may not satisfy"Its Decent , no where compares to the original , its fun , full of scares , somewhat keeps you on the edge of your seat. But the Screenplay is awful , there is no beginning , and the performances were OK , Predators may or may not satisfy predator fans" .. B- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JackRaid04Oct 7, 2010
Predator 1 and 2 are classics of the action cinema. These movies had great action sequences , with strong characters , and suspense was all time high. Today approach in action movies is quite different , realism is dominating and PredatorPredator 1 and 2 are classics of the action cinema. These movies had great action sequences , with strong characters , and suspense was all time high. Today approach in action movies is quite different , realism is dominating and Predator could only make it trough the stupid Alien vs. Predator franchise , that dumbed down the whole concept of a Predator and used him and Alien as an creatures who are just there to fight for no apparent reason , while some people (characters?) are watching that. Predators is trying to bring back the style of the old classics , and that is something to be respected. Even if the movie was bad. And some things are. First some people would not apply to the look of a new Predators , Laurence Fishburne is there only to fill the big hole in the plot , and generally some action scenes lack the edge of originals. Also the younger audiences would get bored with action movie that has very little action in it. But the most important thing to me was how hard this movie is trying to be the part of the Predator universe , rather then to use them just as an action tool. I loved the cast , Brody and Braga the most , and even everyone says that Brody is not the guy for role like this , i would say he did it pretty well. Film has the atmosphere , ok it's not the Predator 1 , and Nimrod Antal is not either Jon McTiernan , or Stephen Hopkins. But he holds his own pretty well , Predator showdowns are good , there are some pretty scary moments and i suggest watching this one in Theatre for better impact. Filming style and music also gives the whole feel of the old - school action movies. Overall this is an good action movie which would be even better ih he was respecting himself in the same manner as the frahchise he wants to be a part of. Then we could call this Predator 3 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FoxmanExtremeNov 9, 2010
This movie pretty much had no interesting characters and just left me with a feeling of, What the hell? The plot is none existent and really any kind of depth is too. Like I have said before the characters really annoyed me not just based onThis movie pretty much had no interesting characters and just left me with a feeling of, What the hell? The plot is none existent and really any kind of depth is too. Like I have said before the characters really annoyed me not just based on how they are introduced but how they all instantly become heroic and self sacrificial even if their background wouldn't imply that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
mac2104Apr 27, 2011
I became user of this site just to write something everybody normal is probably asking... How in the world can this movie have a higher score than the original which scored 36 ?????? In my opinion Predator from 1987 is one of the best actionI became user of this site just to write something everybody normal is probably asking... How in the world can this movie have a higher score than the original which scored 36 ?????? In my opinion Predator from 1987 is one of the best action films in the history not to mention that it is in all ways better than Predators from 2010... I mean, Predators isn't bad but it cannot be compared to Predator. Come on.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
HalfwelshmanFeb 20, 2012
Predators, under the competent direction of Nimrod Antal and the watchful eye of producer Robert Rodriguez, is, for the most part, a decent sci-fi action film. You've got a classic set-up - a group of multi-national killers mysteriously wakePredators, under the competent direction of Nimrod Antal and the watchful eye of producer Robert Rodriguez, is, for the most part, a decent sci-fi action film. You've got a classic set-up - a group of multi-national killers mysteriously wake up on an alien planet and are mercilessly tracked and hunted down one-by-one by the titular camouflaged, thermal-visioned intergalactic Predators . Adrien Brody makes a solid primary protagonist as the lean, mean, and mysterious mercenary Royce, but the majority of the rest of the cast play boring and/or laughably stereotyped characters (i audibly groaned when Mahershalalhashbaz Ali's African soldier had a line of dialogue beginning with "in my culture" and when Louis Ozawa Changchien's Yakuza enforcer made a final stand, katana in hand, in an area resembling a rice field). Only Topher Grace plays a truly interesting character, and you have to wait until the film's final reel for his payoff. Having Lawrence Fishburne play a lone survivor of a previous hunt who's been living off scraps for a long time (only plausible if "scraps" are code for burgers and fries) is also a complete casting misstep. The film does have some pretty entertaining set-pieces, and keeps you watching throughout, predictable though the plot is. The Predators themselves are as cool as ever, and they have a few new tricks up their sleeves (do they have sleeves?) to spring on their prey this time around. Predators may be cliched and lacking in character development and decent scripting, but at least it's distinct enough from John McTiernan's original 1987 film, and is pretty consistently diverting action fare, if rarely anything that approaches true entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ZilcellMay 25, 2012
The story is well organized, it has some decent action scenes, and each character has the screen time they need. The ending will leave you hanging though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
A_NorthernerJul 15, 2012
Based on a draft screenplay penned by producer Robert Rodriguez in the mid-nineties, the Predator (without Alien) franchise was given an update with this 2010 reboot/sequel directed by Nimrod Antal.

Set on an anonymous planet serving as a
Based on a draft screenplay penned by producer Robert Rodriguez in the mid-nineties, the Predator (without Alien) franchise was given an update with this 2010 reboot/sequel directed by Nimrod Antal.

Set on an anonymous planet serving as a game reserve, Adrien Brody (yes, Adrien Brody) leads a group of humans shipped to the planet for the purposes of being hunted by several Predators. The humans are selected from various global military organisations and have to overcome their initial confusion and distrust of each other as they are stalked by their foes.

I remember seeing the trailer for this film and being amazed that Brody had bulked up to play an action hero role. He actually plays the morally detached and cold Royce reasonably well and attempts his own version of the patented Christian Bale Batman voice. While I think about the trailer, the coolest scene where tens of red Predator scopes appear all over the cast never actually occurs in the film!

The story starts well as the mix of characters knit and begin to piece together why they have been brought to the planet. It is an interesting take on the Predator series, however Antal doesn't manage to sustain the interest once the first Predator kill occurs. From this point on the film becomes a pretty average and predictable killing spree similar to Predator itself only without the originality and B-movie feel. Only the brief cameo from Laurence Fishburne as a crazed survivor provides some change in direction.

As a standalone film, Predators is an average action film although better than the recent AVP series. As a new entry to the Predator story, it fails to live up the original, either that or perhaps I just remember the Arnie version for being better than it actually was.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
dev92Aug 24, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I almost gave this film a positive review but I just couldn't bring myself to do so. It is an extremely clever idea and I love the way that it goes straight into the action. There is no build up where they try and narrate to you what a character is like. It picks up in the jungle with Brody. However, with so much talent in the cast, I do feel as if there was minimal acting skills needed to star in this film. There was no real emotional curve and that is what stopped me from giving a positive review. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
It may not be thematically insightful or contain any truly memorable characters, but "Predators" is, all in all, one of the only respectable additions left to add to the Predator franchise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Nesbitt10Dec 6, 2012
The sequel to Predator made in 1990 starring Danny Glover, which at best could be considered mediocre, comes off as a contemporary classic compared to this. The events and sequences that are taking place are being explained by the charactersThe sequel to Predator made in 1990 starring Danny Glover, which at best could be considered mediocre, comes off as a contemporary classic compared to this. The events and sequences that are taking place are being explained by the characters to the audience throughout as if somehow we are incapable of following this "plot". The computer generated creatures and special effects are transparent and distracting. Lawrence Fishburne's brief presence is wasted and adds nothing substantial to the storyline. Brody is such an obvious miscast, and I wanted to give him benefit of the doubt, but it just didn't work on any level what so ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Tessara_VejganJan 12, 2015
Seen it recently on BD and its c****. Not the worst movie I've seen but pretty bad. A 3rd installment in the Predator series doesn't offer much. A few familiar faces and lame ass story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
SSDP: Same **** different planet.

Having already logged two features, two Alien crossovers, and countless novels, videogames, and comic-book spin-offs, the Predator franchise has been recycled and re-imagined more times than its thin
SSDP: Same **** different planet.

Having already logged two features, two Alien crossovers, and countless novels, videogames, and comic-book spin-offs, the Predator franchise has been recycled and re-imagined more times than its thin premise of alien hunters would seem capable of withstanding. So credit Predators, the latest reboot, for devising an appropriately ridiculous (and irresistibly pulpy) hook: Rather than having the aliens come to Earth and murder humans for sport, the most vicious warriors on our planet—mercenaries, a yakuza, a death-row inmate, etc.—have been exported to theirs. Call it The Most Dangerous-est Game. The greatest hunters are now the greatest huntees, reduced to dangerous quarry for a superior species to pick off and bungee to their truck beds. It’s just a pity that Predators fails to recognize its own patent absurdity.

The opening shot finds grizzled black-ops loner Adrien Brody tumbling from the sky, regaining consciousness just in time to parachute to safety. He doesn’t know where he is or how he got there, and other mystified agents of death soon join him, including veterans from various war zones (Alice Braga, Danny Trejo, Oleg Taktarov, Mahershalalhashbaz Ali), a crisply dressed yakuza (Louis Ozawa Changchien), a criminal (Walton Goggins), and a doctor (Topher Grace) whose purpose isn’t immediately apparent. They spend much of the movie figuring out what the audience already knows, all while fending off an enemy that’s stronger, stealthier, and has home-field advantage.

Of the formidable cast, only Goggins seems to be having any fun, as he applies his bad-guy charisma from The Shield and Justified to a gleefully unrepentant monster. But director Nimród Antal and writers Alex Litvak and Michael Finch treat this piece of fanfic juvenilia with gravity that it doesn’t begin to merit, with Brody doing his best Christian Bale impersonation as the burdened, gravel-voiced anti-hero. Since leaving Hungary for Hollywood after his insta-cult favorite Kontroll, Antal has shown a facility for doing solid work in various genres, including horror (Vacancy) and heist (Armored) movies. But after so many iterations in every possible medium, the Predator series needed a shot of vitality, not another workmanlike go-around.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
hassallFeb 11, 2017
It was a very promising first half of the movie but the second half sucks.this waste of time without interesting characters and without no story. It's dumb boring movie! The only better is the original and please enjoy watching this original movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews