Predators Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 382 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A bold new chapter in the Predator universe, "Predators" was shot on location under Rodriguez's creative auspices at the filmmaker's Austin-based Troublemaker Studios, and is directed by Nimród Antal. The film stars Adrien Brody as Royce, a mercenary who reluctantly leads a group of eliteA bold new chapter in the Predator universe, "Predators" was shot on location under Rodriguez's creative auspices at the filmmaker's Austin-based Troublemaker Studios, and is directed by Nimród Antal. The film stars Adrien Brody as Royce, a mercenary who reluctantly leads a group of elite warriors who come to realize they've been brought together on an alien planet... as prey. With the exception of a disgraced physician, they are all cold-blooded killers – mercenaries, Yakuza, convicts, death squad members – human "predators" that are now being systemically hunted and eliminated by a new breed of alien Predators. (20th Century Fox) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. 88
    Antal is a professional who respects your dollars. In a season where the blockbusters are as flat as month-old soda, that’s the most romantic gesture a commercial filmmaker can make.
  2. 70
    Amid the macho poses and reloading of his unbelievably enormous weapon, I was distracted by the notion of Brody’s participation as a kind of privately satisfying performance art (a similar impulse found James Franco doing a guest stint on "General Hospital").
  3. 67
    Summer was made for this kind of film, and Predators is almost exactly what you need to fix this otherwise busted summer cinema season.
  4. Reviewed by: Nick Starkey
    50
    Predators biggest failing is that it manages to make its sci-fi violence absurdly boring.
  5. Predators, plural, starts well and ends poorly, and in the middle it's in the middle.
  6. 50
    The Predator series needed a shot of vitality, not another workmanlike go-around. SSDP: Same shit, different planet.
  7. You can't fool me. I know it's actually a parlor game.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 100
  2. Negative: 18 out of 100
  1. JohnathanS.
    Jul 9, 2010
    10
    I haven't actually seen Predators yet however I have watched enough Dateline that Chris Hansen has me convinced that predators are I haven't actually seen Predators yet however I have watched enough Dateline that Chris Hansen has me convinced that predators are horrifying. Add the fact that these monster now roam on alien planets as well only confirms that Hawkins was right - we should not be sending out space probes that are the equivalent to a google map for our front doors. Gripping story that is all too real. Expand
  2. MannyM.
    Jul 9, 2010
    10
    If this movie was any more action packed then your mind might explode.
  3. Aug 13, 2010
    8
    It was a very good action-adventure/horror film. It was gritty, edgy and a well-produced B-Movie that resembled the feel of an 1980's film,It was a very good action-adventure/horror film. It was gritty, edgy and a well-produced B-Movie that resembled the feel of an 1980's film, most particularly, the original 1987 Predator. Predators supports a very similar premise to its predecessor and it shares its feel and look. It also boasts good performances and some very bloody action. I loved it. A 8.25/10 Expand
  4. AndrewP
    Jul 12, 2010
    7
    "Predators" full of 2D characters and CG monsters, entertains well among the summer blockbusters.
  5. Aug 23, 2010
    6
    I'm not entirely sure what some of the actors in this were doing.... However that said I did enjoy it, this is a real popcorn movie and ifI'm not entirely sure what some of the actors in this were doing.... However that said I did enjoy it, this is a real popcorn movie and if you go into it expecting it to match the first Predator movie then you're... not that far off actually, looking back at the the first predator movie was excellent as it was new, unusual, we've all grown up since then and our tastes have changed. This is pretty much a rehash of the original but on another planet. It has some clumsy nods back to it's originator some of which are fun other ones aren't so much. I think with a little more development this could've been something really special, they touched on things but didn't explore them, we could really do with a movie that properly explores the lore of the Predator species and not just have them as the killing machines they are currently seen to be. Sadly I don't think we'll get it. There's just no new ground broken at all it's all the same as the first movie. Expand
  6. Jan 11, 2011
    5
    PREDATORS
    PREDATOR (1987) has been one of Arnold Schwarzenegger memorable movies. Now, they try to extend the narrative into a new chapter
    PREDATORS
    PREDATOR (1987) has been one of Arnold Schwarzenegger memorable movies. Now, they try to extend the narrative into a new chapter from thiz franchise, in PREDATORS, with letter S which is expected to be multiplying (I guess). But what I see from thiz newest alternative is just a movie with a repetitive formula and setting. The formula is still a typical mysterious introduction to the creatures what we called Predators and how a group of soldiers die one by one, until the last one. The setting is still tropical jungle, exactly what we saw on Schwarzenegger version. Thiz one is officially the third Predator movies since the first one in 1987 and PREDATOR 2 in 1990, plus two spin-off when Predators clash with the Aliens (another iconic Hollywood creatures) in AVP (2004) and AVP 2: REQUIEM (2007). Unfortunately, I almost can say thiz one could easily fall into B-Class movie with B-Class Actors attached, such as: Alice Braga, Topher Grace, and others. The only exception (of course) is on Adrien Brody performance, his attempt to be action hero must put as a great credit itself. Brody seems to be successful to build his body and delivers some brawny hero attitude, with his voice and tone characteristic. The other brief but convincing appearance made by Laurence Fishburne. I simply watched thiz movie bcoz I wanted to see what could Nimrod Antal (Director) did for his next project, since his latest VACANCY (2008) created an intriguing and effective thriller. In thiz Predator movie, Antal did not make a new innovation. In fact, he took many rip-off elements from the first original one. If they are keep doing thiz without any modernity has been made, I think they might had been killing Predators itself.

    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  7. Aug 16, 2010
    0
    I have little to say that wont have been said before apart from - really, how difficult is it to make a Predator film? Surely the simpleI have little to say that wont have been said before apart from - really, how difficult is it to make a Predator film? Surely the simple ingredients are a few bad a*s characters that you are rooting for, some bad a*s predators that stalk and scare the s**t out of the characters and a few good death scenes and fights. None of this is in Predators. Expand

See all 100 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.