Premium Rush

Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Aug 27, 2012
    80
    There is a lot of silly bike-is-life philosophy, including Wilee's personal credo of "Fixed gear, steel frame, no brakes," none of which I can speak to because I don't care a tinker's damn about bikes, but I do have an abiding fondness for compact and coherent action movies, and this is surely one.
  2. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Aug 27, 2012
    88
    The simple, utterly satisfying Premium Rush delivers just what the title promises.
  3. 80
    Premium Rush is that rare bird: a chase picture that's just a chase picture - and a dandy one.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Aug 25, 2012
    75
    This one delivers.
  5. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Aug 23, 2012
    67
    A rather routine thriller that's got two things going for it: the ticking of a clock and the clickety-click of bicycle wheels. Both impart a sense of exhilaration to a thin and even silly story, engaging you when, really, you ought to know better.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Aug 23, 2012
    63
    The summertime diversion will give audiences a little jolt of nervous energy along with a few laughs. A rush is about making the most of the present, not creating lasting memories.
  7. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Aug 23, 2012
    75
    What makes this whole thing work is, first of all, Wilee's ride, an elegant machine that lacks any gears or brakes.
  8. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Aug 23, 2012
    75
    Despite far-fetched plot points - such as a flash mob of bike messengers ready to rumble and thwart evil - it's easy to get caught up in this life-or-death two-wheeled slalom.
  9. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Aug 23, 2012
    90
    Stuffed with zingers and zippy stunts, it comes with pretty young things of all hues and hair types - few prettier than its lead, Joseph Gordon-Levitt - and start-to-finish clever special effects, none more clever or special than Michael Shannon.
  10. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Aug 23, 2012
    80
    The action is inventive, extensive and exciting, a bang-up job by cinematographer Mitchell Amundsen, one of the town's hot new shooters.
  11. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Aug 23, 2012
    75
    Premium Rush earns its place as end-of-the-summer escapism, but I can't say that it's more than a well-done formula flick. At this point, it's just one more movie-as-ride. But this one at least lives up to its title.
  12. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Aug 23, 2012
    67
    Just as the film is about to deliver it's package, it sends the viewer an I.O.U. instead, botching two-thirds of what may be Koepp's most entertaining film as a director.
  13. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Aug 23, 2012
    63
    Unfortunately, David Koepp - the A-list Hollywood screenwriter (Jurassic Park, War of the Worlds) and decidedly less-successful director (Ghost Town, Secret Window) - can't find the right Looney Tunes-ish tone for his immersion into bike-messenger culture.
  14. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Aug 23, 2012
    80
    The actors click into high gear, and Premium Rush delivers.
  15. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Aug 23, 2012
    83
    Working in tandem they (Gordon-Levitt/Shannon) make Premium Rush a movie that's off the chain, as the kids say.
  16. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Aug 23, 2012
    63
    Premium Rush features fearless stunt work that shames most computer trickery. Too bad I didn't believe a minute of it.
  17. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Aug 23, 2012
    70
    A quick pace and always-enjoyable lead Joseph Gordon-Levitt will please moviegoers, even if the picture's ticking-clock approach isn't as invigoratingly pulpy here as in the Koepp-penned "Snake Eyes" and "Panic Room."
  18. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Aug 23, 2012
    65
    Premium Rush is a half-entertaining, half-exasperating movie.
  19. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Aug 23, 2012
    70
    So appealing is Gordon-Levitt that, for great stretches of his new movie, I suspended my disapproval of his character and just went with the nonstop flow. He almost persuaded me that the film is, if not a premium rush, then an economy high.
  20. Reviewed by: Andrew Barker
    Aug 23, 2012
    70
    The lovably ridiculous bike-messenger thriller Premium Rush is a welcome throwback.
  21. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Aug 23, 2012
    88
    Premium Rush is great fun - nimble, quick, the thinking person's mindless entertainment.
  22. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Aug 23, 2012
    75
    Proves how invigorating genre filmmaking can be in the hands of a savvy, perpetually inventive director.
  23. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Aug 22, 2012
    83
    He's Premium Rush's villain, but Shannon doesn't attempt anything like the austere derangement of a Hans Gruber type, even though he specializes in playing terrifying nutjobs. Instead, he's a buffoon of the first order, and his hapless tomfoolery sets the tone for a light, fast, frequently hilarious 90 minutes.
  24. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Aug 22, 2012
    88
    You're looking for depth and profundity, this is the wrong movie. But under the direction of David Koepp ("Secret Window," the screenplays for "Mission: Impossible" and "Spider-Man"), this is an expert and spellbinding adventure.
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 178 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 57
  2. Negative: 7 out of 57
  1. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    Cool, funny, fresh and original. Premium Rush is a great movie.
  2. Koo
    Sep 7, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. As I commuter cyclist (I ride my bike to work every day, 5-6 days per week) I was really looking forward to this movie. It wouldn't take much to impress me either - just a good dose of realism, and the occaisional thing I can relate to. Unfortunately, Premium Rush is mostly a standard Hollywood affair, with several obvious "bloopers" such as bikes that are completely trashed one minute and requiring only minor adjustments the next. The cycling aspect of this movie is so totally false - everything from how the actors ride their bikes to how the movie portrays what happens in collisions with vehicles. Also, it gets basic physics wrong too - during a bike race scene between two bike couriers, the cyclist with the steel bike gains on the carbon fibre framed bicycle going UPHILL and falls behind while going DOWNHILL. This is, of course, the opposite of what happens in reality as anyone who rides a bicycle in a group knows well. So should you watch this movie? Well, it depends. If you aren't a cyclist and you are simply looking for 90 minutes of good clean fun, then sure, go see it. But if you are a cyclist, particularyl a passionate one like I am, then steer clear of this one. There are better cycling films out there and better films period. 6/10 Full Review »
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    7
    Fast and fun, Premium Rush gave me a reason to perhaps try to navigate the streets of New York on a brakeless, fixed-gear bicycle. The bestFast and fun, Premium Rush gave me a reason to perhaps try to navigate the streets of New York on a brakeless, fixed-gear bicycle. The best scenes by far were the incredible high-speed bike-races through the city, zipping by taxis, pedestrians, and even New York Full Review »