User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 173 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 173
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Koo
    Sep 7, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As I commuter cyclist (I ride my bike to work every day, 5-6 days per week) I was really looking forward to this movie. It wouldn't take much to impress me either - just a good dose of realism, and the occaisional thing I can relate to. Unfortunately, Premium Rush is mostly a standard Hollywood affair, with several obvious "bloopers" such as bikes that are completely trashed one minute and requiring only minor adjustments the next. The cycling aspect of this movie is so totally false - everything from how the actors ride their bikes to how the movie portrays what happens in collisions with vehicles. Also, it gets basic physics wrong too - during a bike race scene between two bike couriers, the cyclist with the steel bike gains on the carbon fibre framed bicycle going UPHILL and falls behind while going DOWNHILL. This is, of course, the opposite of what happens in reality as anyone who rides a bicycle in a group knows well. So should you watch this movie? Well, it depends. If you aren't a cyclist and you are simply looking for 90 minutes of good clean fun, then sure, go see it. But if you are a cyclist, particularyl a passionate one like I am, then steer clear of this one. There are better cycling films out there and better films period. 6/10 Expand
  2. Aug 29, 2012
    7
    Fast and fun, Premium Rush gave me a reason to perhaps try to navigate the streets of New York on a brakeless, fixed-gear bicycle. The best scenes by far were the incredible high-speed bike-races through the city, zipping by taxis, pedestrians, and even New York
  3. Sep 10, 2012
    7
    You will have a good time watching the film IF you can ignore all the implausibilities and over the top situations. Example: near the start of the film the bad guy is chasing a bicycle in New York gridlock traffic. A bicycle would leave a car behind in it's dust in this situation as it can weave in and out between the cars, but somehow this car keeps remaining on his tail no matter whatYou will have a good time watching the film IF you can ignore all the implausibilities and over the top situations. Example: near the start of the film the bad guy is chasing a bicycle in New York gridlock traffic. A bicycle would leave a car behind in it's dust in this situation as it can weave in and out between the cars, but somehow this car keeps remaining on his tail no matter what he does. This is one small example of many other ludicrous situations. You have to let it go and enjoy the high energy and exuberance of the film. Although Joseph Gordon-Levitt is fine in the lead role, the movie is stolen by Michael Shannon playing the bad cop. He makes a good creepy bad guy. If you like to see bicycles wipe out at full speed, you will really enjoy this movie. Expand
  4. Sep 26, 2012
    6
    Premium Rush's non-linear storyline end up confusing, but thanks keep pushing my adrenaline. Terrific chasing bike scene itself is worth the ticket price.
  5. Sep 17, 2012
    6
    I liked this movie. I went in expecting very little. In fact, I watched the movie because the projector went down on another screening room. Turned out for the better.
    All the elements were there. The story was entertaining enough, the visuals were cool, and all actors pulled it off, except for Michael Shannon, his rendition of a detective was too comedic to buy it. Still it was very
    I liked this movie. I went in expecting very little. In fact, I watched the movie because the projector went down on another screening room. Turned out for the better.
    All the elements were there. The story was entertaining enough, the visuals were cool, and all actors pulled it off, except for Michael Shannon, his rendition of a detective was too comedic to buy it. Still it was very watchable.
    We won't understand the Dalai Lama better or figure a way to solve world hunger, but if you have a big bucket of popcorn and a, preferably, attractive companion with you, this is definitely the ticket.
    Expand
  6. Aug 28, 2012
    6
    Ever since 2009 hit (500) days of summer, Joseph Gordan-Levitt has been on one huge ride to the top, (G.I. Joe: Rise of Cobra), which wasn
  7. Sep 10, 2012
    7
    Quite the original story here; its quite thrilling, without the explosions or as many as the guns as the Transformers franchise. It doesn't include a very heavy plot, so you don't exactly need to concentrate very hard (HOWEVER, there are jumps back and forth in time), but it was a very entertaining, fun, late summer chase movie. Walking out of the film, it will have persuaded you to jumpQuite the original story here; its quite thrilling, without the explosions or as many as the guns as the Transformers franchise. It doesn't include a very heavy plot, so you don't exactly need to concentrate very hard (HOWEVER, there are jumps back and forth in time), but it was a very entertaining, fun, late summer chase movie. Walking out of the film, it will have persuaded you to jump back on your bike and see if you can do some tricks. If you're bored, and you just want to relax and watch a flick, see Premium Rush! Collapse
  8. Nov 30, 2012
    7
    Fast, fresh and adrenaline rush all over. Good entertainment all over. This is a movie you watch when you want time to fly and it keeps you on your pedals but not on your seat for those action scenes
  9. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    Cool, funny, fresh and original. Premium Rush is a great movie.
  10. Aug 25, 2012
    8
    Premium Rush delivers on the promise of its title. Joseph Gordon-Levitt stars as a daring NYC bike messenger. Apparently there is no end to the risks bike messengers take. Some of the film's best sequences elaborate on various possibilities that could end in disaster. Michael Shannon plays a hapless cop whose gambling habits have gotten him into trouble with the wrong people. HisPremium Rush delivers on the promise of its title. Joseph Gordon-Levitt stars as a daring NYC bike messenger. Apparently there is no end to the risks bike messengers take. Some of the film's best sequences elaborate on various possibilities that could end in disaster. Michael Shannon plays a hapless cop whose gambling habits have gotten him into trouble with the wrong people. His performance is another of the movie's numerous highlights. Gordon-Levitt receives an envelope, the contents of which could help Shannon. Premium Rush moves back and forward in time and all across NYC, following different characters and providing the audience with the central scenario before fleshing out the details. This approach works decidedly better than more straightforward storytelling. Writer/director David Koepp capably maintains tension, while his and John Kamps's script successfully injects humor into various situations. The characters are well defined and have plausible motivations. Ultimately Premium Rush is fairly simple, but it offers enough innovation and personality to rise above standard genre fare. Those looking for a good time would do well to see it. Expand
  11. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    I found this to be a funny, entertaining, and all round enjoyable movie, well worth the time and money spent. People who think that movies are always supposed to tell some heartbreaking story need not waste their time. The plot is simple. The richness of this movie comes from an interesting style, funny moments and good low-violence action scenes.
  12. Aug 28, 2012
    9
    Joseph Gordon-Levitt plays a gonzo bike messenger in NYC, who's given a crucial delivery. Sounds easy, but a crooked cop (Michael Shannon) complicates everything. This movie moves! Besides the crazy street riding, exceptional accidents and narrative flashbacks, the graphics add another element of visual impact. Even with a few breather moments, the pacing never lags and there's enoughJoseph Gordon-Levitt plays a gonzo bike messenger in NYC, who's given a crucial delivery. Sounds easy, but a crooked cop (Michael Shannon) complicates everything. This movie moves! Besides the crazy street riding, exceptional accidents and narrative flashbacks, the graphics add another element of visual impact. Even with a few breather moments, the pacing never lags and there's enough variety to avoid repetitive peddling scenes. If you're wondering how a simple trip downtown can take up 90 minutes, you'll be surprised to see how strong editing and creative storytelling can propel it forward. This is not a major motion picture event, but it sure is action packed and fun! Expand
  13. Oct 3, 2012
    8
    This movie came as a huge surprise to me. Usually when a movie is moved from one dumping ground to another, that usually means the studio has no fate and the movie is most likely crap. About 97% of the time this is true so it's nice to see a movie like Premium Rush to just completely surprise you. Crap this certainly isn't. Sure the story isn't anything new but when it's this well done itThis movie came as a huge surprise to me. Usually when a movie is moved from one dumping ground to another, that usually means the studio has no fate and the movie is most likely crap. About 97% of the time this is true so it's nice to see a movie like Premium Rush to just completely surprise you. Crap this certainly isn't. Sure the story isn't anything new but when it's this well done it doesn't matter The only real thing that bothered me was Jamie Chang's fake accent. It was laughably bad and kind of took away from the film a bit. Sometimes the film had a little trouble finding a consistent tone, but it didn't bother me much, it might bother some people though. Other than those things, everything else worked. As I just stated above, the story is nothing new but it doesn't matter when it's this well done. I'm surprised that no one has ever thought of making a movie about bike messengers before. If they're made as well as this I'll gladly take more of these than movies like Fast and Furious(to be fair I actually liked the fifth one and I'm excited for the sixth one). I never thought a movie about bike messengers could be just as exciting. By using bikes instead of cars, it makes this movie seem so fresh as your not subjected to the same routine car chases that you see in every action movie. The story is told through mostly flashbacks over the course of four or five hours. It's not entirely original storytelling but who cares? It also does not ruin the nice brisk pace. There's never a few minutes between each action scene, I guess the best way to describe it would be like Joseph Gordon-Levitt's bike, it has no breaks so once you get on it and go you can't stop, that's what this movie is like. Once the movie starts you are on a non stop adrenaline fuled ride. Sure the movie might pause for a little bit for character developing moments but it never detracts from.the pace. The style of this film is what also elevates this movie above most action films. There are these cool sequences where Levitt's characters about to get into an accident so we see through multiple Windows what's the best possible route for him to take that will avoid him getting into the accident. I've never seen something like this before. The movie is also well shot, there's no shaky cam, it's a nice smooth ride. We're treated to point of view shots, overhead shots, rear shots, and side shots which makes it all the more entertaining. I personally like the point of view shots the best. The performances are solid across the board but the two who stick out are of course, Levitt and Michael Shannon. Levitt has the screen presence and Charisma which makes his performance all the more enjoyable. Shannon has fun chewing up his lines, he is a badass and he knows it. Overall, the story exactly original and Jamie Chung's fake Asian accent is pretty. bad which kind of takes away from the movie a bit. The strong direction, breezy pace, the style, and the performances definitely make up for those things. In today's world when a movie takes the same story that's been done before but manages to put it's own fresh twists on it, that's sufficient enough to set it apart from most movies today It's also certainly sufficient enough to warrant a recommendation. I would also like to mention that this movie succeeded where a handful of movies failed, it actually delivered on it's promise. Expand
  14. Sep 16, 2012
    9
    This film is awesome. Despite having what may be called a convoluted plot, it is given strength by the intense action, superb acting and a brilliant choice of characters, not to mention the crystalline graphics of a GPS and the lively streets of New York. Joseph Gordon-Levitt is just so carefree and alive in this film.
  15. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    Its probably the most original film of the year. With nonstop suspense and chase scenes, it really is a RUSH.
  16. Oct 6, 2012
    8
    Exhilaratingly fast and incredibly well paced, Premium Rush gives adrenaline rush at the same dose of blissful flesh-to-steel wreckage. There's just something viscerally appealing about the way human body reacts on impact that can't be duplicate with any pile of vehicular mayhem. The movie captures its speed fantastically, swirling between pedestrians and traffic just enough to create aExhilaratingly fast and incredibly well paced, Premium Rush gives adrenaline rush at the same dose of blissful flesh-to-steel wreckage. There's just something viscerally appealing about the way human body reacts on impact that can't be duplicate with any pile of vehicular mayhem. The movie captures its speed fantastically, swirling between pedestrians and traffic just enough to create a sense of familiarity compared to the unreal car chases. Plot is actually thick enough to justify the possibility of these riders turning into smudges on a slab of concrete, Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Michael Shannon make up for intriguing homicidal cat and mouse chase.

    The plot uses multi-perspective view from the characters as it moves back and forth to introduce them in their own entwined timelines, it creates a singular event but viewed from different perspectives. Action and narrative go along smoothly this way, as even if the movie doesn't showcase any chase scene, it's still thrilling due to the acting. Wilee (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) plays a man rebelling against the social norm, preferring constant flirt with bumpers rather than sitting behind a desk. It's an effective way of luring the younglings because he personifies the freedom one might fantasies at some point.

    Bobby Monday (Michael Shannon) is very genuine in his disturbed look, he's creepy in a photogenic way. I've not seen many throw adult tantrum like him in a while. Vanessa (Dania Ramirez), Wilee's girlfriend, and Manny (Wolé Parks), his rival, make a tidbit about triangle love that goes along the way with juvenile rivalry to impress the girl. It's quite distracting and only displays trivial bravado to buff the movie. Manny is a very irritating character, which ironically meant to be, as he hounds Vanessa, who has a sort of rough allure. There's also hint human trafficking that only touch briefly as motivation, but it's too superficial to be thoughtful.

    The movie is graphically pleasant, very sharp and colorful. The action moves in an organic urban spectacle and slightly exaggerated speed captured from crisp close angles. Bits of HUD or slow motion are nice touches too. However the script sometimes overreaches to the border of some remarks a fifth grader or internet troll might say. It has some padding as well, especially at the end, which rather disrupts the original pace a little. If offers artificial road rage, fast pace and stunts that shouldn't be taken too seriously. Allow yourself to enjoy the ride and sooth the primal need of seeing someone crashes, badly.

    Rate 8/10
    Expand
  17. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    Premium Rush is honestly one of the best movies I've ever seen and other than The Dark Knight Rises and The Avengers, it's probably the best movie I've seen in 2012. It was incredibly unique, very action packed and quick paced, it has a thriller element that is just right, there's a minor emotional element that allows you to connect to the characters without taking away from the feel ofPremium Rush is honestly one of the best movies I've ever seen and other than The Dark Knight Rises and The Avengers, it's probably the best movie I've seen in 2012. It was incredibly unique, very action packed and quick paced, it has a thriller element that is just right, there's a minor emotional element that allows you to connect to the characters without taking away from the feel of the film, the acting is outstanding, and it is absolutely hilarious. Koepp threw down with an absolutely flawless script, that's for sure. This movie makes you wanna jump on a bike and go crazy, lol. Overall, I loved the movie and suggest everyone to go see it. Expand
  18. Sep 3, 2012
    9
    This was a very well rounded film with lots of chase scenes on bicycles which is awesome for an avid biker like myself. The writing and direction of this film was really good and Joseph Gordon-Levitt is becoming one of my new favorite actors. Very good film to see for a date night or just hanging out with your friends. Go and see this film.
  19. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    Seems like majority of people didn't like this movie that much. Written and directed by David Koepp, Premium Rush is a fast-paced and a thrilling movie which incorporates the busy streets of New York City as the bicycle messengers ride around all day to make the deliveries on time. What's good about this movie is that it is made out of a simple concept and a typical storyline but it stillSeems like majority of people didn't like this movie that much. Written and directed by David Koepp, Premium Rush is a fast-paced and a thrilling movie which incorporates the busy streets of New York City as the bicycle messengers ride around all day to make the deliveries on time. What's good about this movie is that it is made out of a simple concept and a typical storyline but it still feels so different and a bit fresh. I don't remember watching a bicycle movie and liking it as much as I like Premium Rush. Maybe because the techniques employed in this movie are way better and they work the exactly way they should be working.
    Joseph Gordon-Levitt (Wilee, a bicycle messenger) seems to shine in his role and is supported by other cast members such as Michael Shannon (Bobby Monday, a corrupt cop), Dania Ramirez (Vanessa, Wilee's ex-girlfriend), Wolé Parks (Manny, Wilee's rival). Michael Shannon's character, Bobby Monday is a corrupt and a negative person but his performance is funny, keeps making you laugh because he keeps getting pissed at everything around him and he acts hilariously. This film may not offer much depth into the characterization but you got to look even deeper to get to the bottom like Wilee (Gordon-Levitt) doesn't want to do the office jobs wearing suits and sitting in one place but instead he rides around all day and feel free and independent. Crazy cinematography, more than a dozen stuntmen, efficient CGIs and the slight humor make a huge contribution towards this film. I must say that Koepp is a intelligent guy, he knows how to make a good movie out of a typical plot and a simple concept that revolves around the movie just like the movie begins with an accident and the narration explains everything gradually and it becomes clear that the main plot is more like a mission to make things happen. The execution and direction are superb, which can be justified by the fact that I didn't get bored, not even for a bit, mainly because of the fast pace and the thrilling bicycle action whcih works perfectly with much imagination, complications and energy. This movie totally worked for me just like I was hoping for.
    Expand
  20. Aug 28, 2012
    9
    I didn't even know about Premium Rush until a few hours before seeing it, and sometimes going in without knowing what to expect makes the experience so much more enjoyable. I found it to be very engrossing, without a dull moment throughout the 90 minutes. Good action with a decent storyline that developed in a very interesting manner. There were funny moments to add further to theI didn't even know about Premium Rush until a few hours before seeing it, and sometimes going in without knowing what to expect makes the experience so much more enjoyable. I found it to be very engrossing, without a dull moment throughout the 90 minutes. Good action with a decent storyline that developed in a very interesting manner. There were funny moments to add further to the experience, one which was great overall. I definitely recommend it for anyone seeking a quick, entertaining flick that won't leave you thinking too hard or being confused, but saying, "Oh, that was cool" Expand
  21. Sep 18, 2012
    8
    Original setting on top of an average cliche chase movie. That original setting held me over though and enjoyed it very much. It is just refreshing to see some kind of experimentation done on modern movies. I would of liked a little less of the bad guy and the movie itself could of been trimmed down 10 minutes or so and been a bit better. Overall very good a nice interesting adventure.
  22. GJS
    Oct 11, 2012
    8
    While the story isn't great but it's the most fun I've had in the cinema for a while. The music was awesome the acting was good (especially Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Michael Shannon).
  23. Nov 28, 2012
    7
    It may feature some pretty silly plot elements, but overall "Premium Rush" is a fairly entertaining and brisk action film with some pretty amusing performances.
  24. Sep 7, 2012
    9
    Good! The best movie this year. I've been disappointed in most movies this year with VFX substituting for story. This a great ride both action and narrative wise. It isn't going to solve the worlds problems but if you want a movie you can enjoy. The marketing has been terrible but this is going to the next ShawkShank movie on TNT in a few years, where they show it every month and you canGood! The best movie this year. I've been disappointed in most movies this year with VFX substituting for story. This a great ride both action and narrative wise. It isn't going to solve the worlds problems but if you want a movie you can enjoy. The marketing has been terrible but this is going to the next ShawkShank movie on TNT in a few years, where they show it every month and you can watch over and over again for the ride. Expand
  25. Aug 25, 2012
    4
    About the best thing that can be said about this movie is that Gordon-Levitt and Shannon do what they are asked to do with the characters they are given. The movie has very little plot, and what plot there is we don't have any investment in. The bike riding seems cool, but only for a minute, better to search for bike messengers on you tube if that's what your coming to the film for.About the best thing that can be said about this movie is that Gordon-Levitt and Shannon do what they are asked to do with the characters they are given. The movie has very little plot, and what plot there is we don't have any investment in. The bike riding seems cool, but only for a minute, better to search for bike messengers on you tube if that's what your coming to the film for. Overall a highly forgettable thriller. Expand
  26. Sep 11, 2012
    5
    About half way through this film, I thought to myself, "Wow, that 66 Metascore is pretty generous for this very average B-Movie!" I mean, sure, it's an adrenaline rush, but the acting is horrid. Jamie Chung is easily the weakest link - her Mandarin accent is ridiculous. Michael Shannon is an excellent actor, but he's so far over-the-top in this role, it becomes a cartoon. And it seemsAbout half way through this film, I thought to myself, "Wow, that 66 Metascore is pretty generous for this very average B-Movie!" I mean, sure, it's an adrenaline rush, but the acting is horrid. Jamie Chung is easily the weakest link - her Mandarin accent is ridiculous. Michael Shannon is an excellent actor, but he's so far over-the-top in this role, it becomes a cartoon. And it seems like the movie wanted to be a videogame when it began. If I wanted to play a game, I would have stayed home and launched one on my PC. Expand
  27. Aug 29, 2012
    3
    Whenever Michael Shannon is on screen, this movie is an absolute blast to watch. Unfortunately, when he's not, it's borderline unwatchable. If this movie had been filmed in the '90s, you can be certain the main character would be using the word "radical" every other sentence. It's THAT kind of film.
  28. Jan 18, 2013
    0
    As a mountain biker and a person who loves physics! this movie stinks! Also the story is way over the top, not believable. Its one of the those movies, that shouldnt have been made!
  29. Aug 25, 2012
    1
    I wasn't expecting heavy dramatic turns but this thing was far worse than I expected. The dialogue was simply awful. And I found myself laughing at things that weren't supposed to be funny which is obviously never a good sign.
  30. Aug 31, 2012
    4
    If you really like to watch chase scenes, on bicycles, then this movie is for you. I enjoyed the flashback-back and forth timeline presentation and some of the stunts where cool but it got old quick. I think it got lost between trying to be clever and action backed. In the end I was disappointed.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Sep 10, 2012
    60
    A movie that while thin and silly, moves with such joyous speed that you almost want to throw your arms in the air and scream.
  2. Reviewed by: Kevin Harley
    Sep 1, 2012
    60
    It's definitely the 'other' Gordon-Levitt film out this month, but this silly cycler whizzes by amiably. Star charm helps: JGL's enjoyment in his job adds welcome levels of Levitt-y.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Aug 27, 2012
    80
    There is a lot of silly bike-is-life philosophy, including Wilee's personal credo of "Fixed gear, steel frame, no brakes," none of which I can speak to because I don't care a tinker's damn about bikes, but I do have an abiding fondness for compact and coherent action movies, and this is surely one.