Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: March 16, 2007
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 84 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
37
Mixed:
20
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
LAug 24, 2009
The idea of the film had some great possibilities, but the inconsistency of the movie made it fall flat. Sandra Bullock did her best with what she was given, which wasn't that great. The plot was convoluted and the lack of chemistry The idea of the film had some great possibilities, but the inconsistency of the movie made it fall flat. Sandra Bullock did her best with what she was given, which wasn't that great. The plot was convoluted and the lack of chemistry between her and her on-screen husband added to it's blandness. Bullock's performance made you care enough about her character to watch the whole movie, but the marital relationship was never established as one you want to root for in the end. Quite frankly, you spend a lot of the movie wondering ( from the plot points to all the characters' behavior), "what?!, I don't get it- that makes no sense!", and by the end, you are watching just to see how they (hopefully) do make sense out of it all. Which, unfortunately, they don't. What could have been a great avenue for telling a compelling story with an equally compelling life lesson, gets lost in the midst of muddy story telling. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
PatC.Sep 4, 2007
Nothing here to diminish Bullock's competence as an actress, but if one can see the future as past events, one must conclude here that those who learn from the past are also doomed to repeat it. For those few, those unhappy few who have Nothing here to diminish Bullock's competence as an actress, but if one can see the future as past events, one must conclude here that those who learn from the past are also doomed to repeat it. For those few, those unhappy few who have the option, this movie is a good argument to take life as it comes rather than skipping ahead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SteveKOct 16, 2007
Not horrible, not great... one thing is for sure.. this movie is frustrating as hell. There are so many holes in how the hole "time travel" thing works that it is a huge impediment to enjoying the movie. I can't count the number of Not horrible, not great... one thing is for sure.. this movie is frustrating as hell. There are so many holes in how the hole "time travel" thing works that it is a huge impediment to enjoying the movie. I can't count the number of times I said, "That doesn't make any sense". I genuinely wanted to know what happens at the end, but by the time we get there, I was so angy by the contrived, ridiculous ending that defies all logic. I hate when movies manipulate you and have characters that do things that no one with a brain would EVER do just to further their plot. I give it a 5 because it kept my attention till the end, and overall it is well made and shot, with a somewhat poignant and well-meaning epilogue. However, what should have been very touching is robbed of warm feelings, because I was so frustrated by this movie. It helps that I didn't pay any money to see it, otherwise, I probably would have rated it lower. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CarlosMMar 22, 2007
It has its moments, if you've been in love, if you've had your S.O. come to your feet and beg you not to leave, that really got me. But there were gaping plot holes that were terribly confusing. It redeems itself by its thrilling It has its moments, if you've been in love, if you've had your S.O. come to your feet and beg you not to leave, that really got me. But there were gaping plot holes that were terribly confusing. It redeems itself by its thrilling beginning, and occasional scares, taste for classy horror shots, but loses it in the crappy end and plethora of plot holes. Soso, not a fun watch nor a happy or fulfilling ending!!! Ech, made me kind of sick... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BitBurnMar 23, 2007
Actually, I rate this movie more like 6.2/10. This movie wasn't half as bad as major critics claimed! Sure there are flaws; acting is a bit poor, plot incoherent, but overall it's aiight for cheap Tuesdays
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RickyQMay 6, 2009
There are plenty of plot holes that are sure to frustrate most people, but in the end if you overlook them the movie can be quite enjoyable and suspenseful. What I really didn't like was why we weren't really told why Bullock has There are plenty of plot holes that are sure to frustrate most people, but in the end if you overlook them the movie can be quite enjoyable and suspenseful. What I really didn't like was why we weren't really told why Bullock has these premonitions. Seems like a lazy way to make what should be a typical movie into something more interesting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MikeS.Mar 21, 2007
Thank you Chad S. for pointing out that she doesn't actually have premonitions - she just bounces around in time without much explanation, much as Ashton Kutcher did in Butterfly Effect. I suspect the studio branded the title on the Thank you Chad S. for pointing out that she doesn't actually have premonitions - she just bounces around in time without much explanation, much as Ashton Kutcher did in Butterfly Effect. I suspect the studio branded the title on the film out of desperation just to explain it. At any rate, yes a terrible film. All of it wouldn't be so bad if I cared about the husband or even Bullock's character, but, nope. We have seen these characters before and seen this concept done much better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BrianJul 24, 2007
Not a good movie. If you've seen the previews, you won't be surprised for a moment by any part of the story. Depending on your opinion of Sandra Bullock's acting abilities, you may or may not be surprised by the lack of Not a good movie. If you've seen the previews, you won't be surprised for a moment by any part of the story. Depending on your opinion of Sandra Bullock's acting abilities, you may or may not be surprised by the lack of believability her character offers, both in her actions, and in Bullock's rather pathetic performance. She really doesn't seem to care whether her husband lives or dies. After about 30 minutes, it becomes clear that the story isn't going anywhere surprising, and that the movie's only chance to redeem itself will be its ending. Sadly, the writers couldn't think of anything interesting for that either. I found myself screaming at the characters to change their actions as they approached the very predictable, unbelievably boring ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful