Premonition

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 80
  2. Negative: 26 out of 80
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. L
    Aug 24, 2009
    5
    The idea of the film had some great possibilities, but the inconsistency of the movie made it fall flat. Sandra Bullock did her best with what she was given, which wasn't that great. The plot was convoluted and the lack of chemistry between her and her on-screen husband added to it's blandness. Bullock's performance made you care enough about her character to watch the The idea of the film had some great possibilities, but the inconsistency of the movie made it fall flat. Sandra Bullock did her best with what she was given, which wasn't that great. The plot was convoluted and the lack of chemistry between her and her on-screen husband added to it's blandness. Bullock's performance made you care enough about her character to watch the whole movie, but the marital relationship was never established as one you want to root for in the end. Quite frankly, you spend a lot of the movie wondering ( from the plot points to all the characters' behavior), "what?!, I don't get it- that makes no sense!", and by the end, you are watching just to see how they (hopefully) do make sense out of it all. Which, unfortunately, they don't. What could have been a great avenue for telling a compelling story with an equally compelling life lesson, gets lost in the midst of muddy story telling. Expand
  2. PatC.
    Sep 4, 2007
    4
    Nothing here to diminish Bullock's competence as an actress, but if one can see the future as past events, one must conclude here that those who learn from the past are also doomed to repeat it. For those few, those unhappy few who have the option, this movie is a good argument to take life as it comes rather than skipping ahead.
  3. SteveK
    Oct 16, 2007
    5
    Not horrible, not great... one thing is for sure.. this movie is frustrating as hell. There are so many holes in how the hole "time travel" thing works that it is a huge impediment to enjoying the movie. I can't count the number of times I said, "That doesn't make any sense". I genuinely wanted to know what happens at the end, but by the time we get there, I was so angy by the Not horrible, not great... one thing is for sure.. this movie is frustrating as hell. There are so many holes in how the hole "time travel" thing works that it is a huge impediment to enjoying the movie. I can't count the number of times I said, "That doesn't make any sense". I genuinely wanted to know what happens at the end, but by the time we get there, I was so angy by the contrived, ridiculous ending that defies all logic. I hate when movies manipulate you and have characters that do things that no one with a brain would EVER do just to further their plot. I give it a 5 because it kept my attention till the end, and overall it is well made and shot, with a somewhat poignant and well-meaning epilogue. However, what should have been very touching is robbed of warm feelings, because I was so frustrated by this movie. It helps that I didn't pay any money to see it, otherwise, I probably would have rated it lower. Expand
  4. CarlosM
    Mar 22, 2007
    6
    It has its moments, if you've been in love, if you've had your S.O. come to your feet and beg you not to leave, that really got me. But there were gaping plot holes that were terribly confusing. It redeems itself by its thrilling beginning, and occasional scares, taste for classy horror shots, but loses it in the crappy end and plethora of plot holes. Soso, not a fun watch nor a It has its moments, if you've been in love, if you've had your S.O. come to your feet and beg you not to leave, that really got me. But there were gaping plot holes that were terribly confusing. It redeems itself by its thrilling beginning, and occasional scares, taste for classy horror shots, but loses it in the crappy end and plethora of plot holes. Soso, not a fun watch nor a happy or fulfilling ending!!! Ech, made me kind of sick... Expand
  5. BitBurn
    Mar 23, 2007
    6
    Actually, I rate this movie more like 6.2/10. This movie wasn't half as bad as major critics claimed! Sure there are flaws; acting is a bit poor, plot incoherent, but overall it's aiight for cheap Tuesdays
  6. RickyQ
    May 6, 2009
    6
    There are plenty of plot holes that are sure to frustrate most people, but in the end if you overlook them the movie can be quite enjoyable and suspenseful. What I really didn't like was why we weren't really told why Bullock has these premonitions. Seems like a lazy way to make what should be a typical movie into something more interesting.
  7. MikeS.
    Mar 21, 2007
    4
    Thank you Chad S. for pointing out that she doesn't actually have premonitions - she just bounces around in time without much explanation, much as Ashton Kutcher did in Butterfly Effect. I suspect the studio branded the title on the film out of desperation just to explain it. At any rate, yes a terrible film. All of it wouldn't be so bad if I cared about the husband or even Thank you Chad S. for pointing out that she doesn't actually have premonitions - she just bounces around in time without much explanation, much as Ashton Kutcher did in Butterfly Effect. I suspect the studio branded the title on the film out of desperation just to explain it. At any rate, yes a terrible film. All of it wouldn't be so bad if I cared about the husband or even Bullock's character, but, nope. We have seen these characters before and seen this concept done much better. Expand
  8. Brian
    Jul 24, 2007
    4
    Not a good movie. If you've seen the previews, you won't be surprised for a moment by any part of the story. Depending on your opinion of Sandra Bullock's acting abilities, you may or may not be surprised by the lack of believability her character offers, both in her actions, and in Bullock's rather pathetic performance. She really doesn't seem to care whether her Not a good movie. If you've seen the previews, you won't be surprised for a moment by any part of the story. Depending on your opinion of Sandra Bullock's acting abilities, you may or may not be surprised by the lack of believability her character offers, both in her actions, and in Bullock's rather pathetic performance. She really doesn't seem to care whether her husband lives or dies. After about 30 minutes, it becomes clear that the story isn't going anywhere surprising, and that the movie's only chance to redeem itself will be its ending. Sadly, the writers couldn't think of anything interesting for that either. I found myself screaming at the characters to change their actions as they approached the very predictable, unbelievably boring ending. Expand
  9. Jul 30, 2014
    5
    "Premonition" is intriguing, even though it's pretty unclear what the movie wants to discuss. Bullock appears to be a good choice for this role but cannot do much to save the day. It is not bad, there are thrills and gripping moments, but it seems fatuous after its surprising-wannabe ending.
Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 30
  2. Negative: 13 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    60
    This slick exercise about a housewife whose spouse might or might not be dead is effective until a downright maudlin close.
  2. Reviewed by: Nathan Lee
    40
    Had the film maintained a tone of kooky, Kafkaesque tragicomedy, narrowing in on Linda's wacko wrestling match with the laws of physics, we might really have had something here.
  3. 63
    The star and the more overwrought aspects of the plot are mainstream but the philosophical implications will not appeal to those who prefer easily digestible cinematic portions. It's also true that the more deeply one considers the movie's themes and structure, the less sense it makes.