Focus Features | Release Date: November 11, 2005
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 506 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
450
Mixed:
20
Negative:
36
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
FarleyAug 23, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best adapted screenplay that i've ever seen, it even surpass the novel, i think. Keira's performance is perfect, every movement shows Elizabeth's archness and thoughtfulness. Just like Atonement, Pride & Prejudice is a typical Joe Wright's film, delicate and creative. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
NicoleL.Jul 15, 2009
I've watched this movies for countless times. It's perfect.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ElizabethKJan 6, 2006
Fantastic. Beautiful in every aspect, minus perhaps the immature acting of Jena Malone. Sountrack is gorgeous, costumes are simply divine and authentic, acting is superb, just a perfect package. Kept me smiling all throughout the movie. Fantastic. Beautiful in every aspect, minus perhaps the immature acting of Jena Malone. Sountrack is gorgeous, costumes are simply divine and authentic, acting is superb, just a perfect package. Kept me smiling all throughout the movie. Knightly does fantastically in this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristinaJan 6, 2006
Utterly fantastic! Keira played the role of Lizzie excellantly, completely capturing her free-spirited nature and runaway tongue! Darcy was absolutely SMOULDERING! with the right touch of gentlemanliness about him and the connection between Utterly fantastic! Keira played the role of Lizzie excellantly, completely capturing her free-spirited nature and runaway tongue! Darcy was absolutely SMOULDERING! with the right touch of gentlemanliness about him and the connection between the two...OOOH...!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamFMay 1, 2006
Phenomenal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErinF.Nov 26, 2005
It was awesome. It was a wonderful adaptation of Austen's characters. They had the same life to them that they had in the book. It was wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
richardb.Jan 2, 2006
Quite exquisite. Best Art Direction & Costumes used in a modest naturalistic way. Wonderful moments of surreal subjectivity. Mr Darcy & Ms Knightly wonderfully morose & captivating, as suits each. Great, but you are constantly thinking of Quite exquisite. Best Art Direction & Costumes used in a modest naturalistic way. Wonderful moments of surreal subjectivity. Mr Darcy & Ms Knightly wonderfully morose & captivating, as suits each. Great, but you are constantly thinking of Bridget Jones and Bride & Prejudice and all the other versions of the tale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HayleyS.Feb 22, 2006
Very good but not as good as the old film. Because nothing can best that one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EllenM.Mar 6, 2006
A solid Calssic Comics version with much detail and many characters trimmed and scnese moved to more dramatic and less-domestic settings (e.g. the Rosings temple folly in the rain confrontation). Pemberly, too, is inflated beyond belief. A solid Calssic Comics version with much detail and many characters trimmed and scnese moved to more dramatic and less-domestic settings (e.g. the Rosings temple folly in the rain confrontation). Pemberly, too, is inflated beyond belief. However, well-acted, moving and with many period charms. The best version is still the BBC TV serial--6 one-hour episodes (minus commericals it's 4 hours on screen!), but this one got me into the book and the other versions. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicoleLOct 2, 2007
Brilliant and relatively faithful rendition of one of Jane Austen's most popular titles, not to mention a most endearing soundtrack. Knightely's and Macfayden's portrayal of Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy respectively are most Brilliant and relatively faithful rendition of one of Jane Austen's most popular titles, not to mention a most endearing soundtrack. Knightely's and Macfayden's portrayal of Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy respectively are most memorable and moving. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RebeccaM.Nov 21, 2005
The New Yorker's Anhony Lane reveiw and should be considered, Issue of Nov. 14 Page 101.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LouC.Dec 3, 2005
A lively and earthy rendition of Pride and Prejudice.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanBOct 24, 2006
KK was by far the best Lizzy I have seen. I loved the way MM played Mr. Darcy. I loved Colin Firth's, but I dare say MM's was better. I thought the mini series to be a bit dragged out. I will watch this version again and again!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SueJ.Dec 6, 2006
This movie is amazing! It is a perfect summary of the novel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BruceM.Jan 26, 2006
An extraordinary telling of a remarkable love story. Only the first few minutes were OTT.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GerronKJan 26, 2006
Excellent!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ritaj,Jan 5, 2006
Kira Knightly is wonderful in this film. She graces the screen like I have never seen any actress do before. You must see this movie! It is wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimFeb 28, 2006
Watching it the first time through I was blown away by the speed of the story and could hardly catch my breath as I tried to follow along with the story as I know it. But after the initial rush and my second viewing I was impressed and moved Watching it the first time through I was blown away by the speed of the story and could hardly catch my breath as I tried to follow along with the story as I know it. But after the initial rush and my second viewing I was impressed and moved and inspired by the richness of the production and especially the lovely Keira. Some very wonderful performances and worth watching. The definitive Pride & Prejudice when you want a quick fix of Austen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HollyN.Mar 2, 2006
One of the greatest movies ever made!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamB.Mar 3, 2006
A masterpiece. The most charming movie of the year, and Keira(whom I usually dislike) swept me off my feet. I'm rooting for her on Sunday even though I know she doesnt have a prayer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EllenLMay 14, 2006
I think that this moving interpretation of the novel is brilliant. Though of course this is different from the BBC adaptionof 95, i do not think that the differences detract from its quality. When i see a couple falling in love throughout a I think that this moving interpretation of the novel is brilliant. Though of course this is different from the BBC adaptionof 95, i do not think that the differences detract from its quality. When i see a couple falling in love throughout a movie, even if they do not see it themselves yet, I have to be able to FEEL the chemistry between the characters. In this adaption the chemistry literally oozes off the screen. I felt their passion, i felt Lizzy and Darcy's pain. Matthew Macfadyen makes a magnificent Darcy, and his interpretation of the character made me fall in love with him also. Though his faults were evident, his love and passion for Lizzy was even more so. You could see his character evolve on screen, surface and flourish in his love for Lizzy. And because of Kira Knightley's fresh, youthful and witty perfomance you could understand why his character would do so. Altogether a magnificant film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KathyC.Jun 29, 2006
I absolutely love this movie. I have watched the DVD several times and think Keira Knightley and Matthew Macfadyen are perfect together. I especially liked Matthew's performance because his face shows such yearning for Lizzie. I have I absolutely love this movie. I have watched the DVD several times and think Keira Knightley and Matthew Macfadyen are perfect together. I especially liked Matthew's performance because his face shows such yearning for Lizzie. I have also watched the 1995 Colin Firth miniseries and feel the 2005 movie has so much more life and romance. Joe Wright's direction put the emphasis where it should be - on the relationship between Lizzie and Darcy. The camera work and cinematography was stunning and really showcased the energy of the balls and the emotions of the characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnastasiaP.Jul 24, 2006
It is an excellent movie! As far as I am concernd, I believe that the last version of Pride and Prejudice is the best! I could say that it is the most interesting movie that I have ever seen! Congratulations! You offered us a movie which is It is an excellent movie! As far as I am concernd, I believe that the last version of Pride and Prejudice is the best! I could say that it is the most interesting movie that I have ever seen! Congratulations! You offered us a movie which is special because it has something that the movies in our era has not, it has quality! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MariaV.Jul 28, 2006
I have watched this twice in theaters and then again when I bought the DVD. It's really a film that I will not hesitate to watch again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveJul 5, 2006
It seems that all the people that have read the book hate the movie. Remember, this is a movie not a miniseries. I loved the movie because they didn't follow the book. They condensed and modified the story to fit into a movie format. It seems that all the people that have read the book hate the movie. Remember, this is a movie not a miniseries. I loved the movie because they didn't follow the book. They condensed and modified the story to fit into a movie format. The acting was superb and the sceenplay exceelent as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RebekahW.Aug 18, 2006
i thought this was a very good film and that Kiera Knightleys performance was absolutly brilliant, you could not have cast a better Lizzie. I must however say that i was disapponted at best with Mttherw MacFadyen's attempts at the i thought this was a very good film and that Kiera Knightleys performance was absolutly brilliant, you could not have cast a better Lizzie. I must however say that i was disapponted at best with Mttherw MacFadyen's attempts at the character of Mr. Darcy. All in all however a good film which i have no shame in saying i have watched numerous times! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GlyssaV.Jan 11, 2007
For most fans of the 1995 BBC production of the novel with Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle, a 2005 feature adaptation (the first in 65 years) was considered mutinous, and many doomed it for a clumsy failure when Keira Knightley and Matthew For most fans of the 1995 BBC production of the novel with Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle, a 2005 feature adaptation (the first in 65 years) was considered mutinous, and many doomed it for a clumsy failure when Keira Knightley and Matthew MacFadyen were cast to respectively play the tall-order roles of Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy. However, the refreshing cast is genius from top to bottom, Knightley and MacFadyen highly underestimated and perfect with each other, with director Joe Wright making a spectacular onscreen debut. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MartinJ.Sep 21, 2007
The U.S. ending is just awful - I liked much more the European one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaciS.Sep 4, 2007
I love this movie so much, whenever I'm in a bad mood i put this movie on and it makes me feel better. its got amazing plots and the acting is flawless. i love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KassieB.Oct 9, 2008
I think this is one of my favorite movies of all time. The cinematography is brilliant and the casting is spot on. I think Kiera Knightley is the perfect Elizabeth Bennett and Matthew Macfadyen is soo dreamy as Darcy. I also think the sound I think this is one of my favorite movies of all time. The cinematography is brilliant and the casting is spot on. I think Kiera Knightley is the perfect Elizabeth Bennett and Matthew Macfadyen is soo dreamy as Darcy. I also think the sound track is absolutely amazing. Basically I just love everything about this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MegDMar 2, 2009
As faithful as a movie can be to a book, the conversations were very true to the novel and as much fit in as possible. Keira did a fantastic job as did Macfadyen. The subtleties of his affections for Lizzy are perfect. Gorgeous As faithful as a movie can be to a book, the conversations were very true to the novel and as much fit in as possible. Keira did a fantastic job as did Macfadyen. The subtleties of his affections for Lizzy are perfect. Gorgeous cinematography. I've never loved a movie more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NoukiJun 8, 2009
I think it was absolutely fantastic.I read the book years ago and also seen the adaptations and this one has totally enchanted me. I know that the one from 1995 is more a book like version, but I certainly like this one better and to think I think it was absolutely fantastic.I read the book years ago and also seen the adaptations and this one has totally enchanted me. I know that the one from 1995 is more a book like version, but I certainly like this one better and to think the time they took to make such a great accomplishment. Knightley and Macfadyen did a perfect job leading it and the rest of the cast did a astounding job as well! Though I must say I like the US ending! Soo romantic!. I laughed,cried and regained hope with this movie! Congratulations! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaryS.Nov 15, 2005
It was awesome! MUCH BETTER than the BBC version. Kiera Knightly and Matthew MacFayden have a great chemistry in this version and you can feel their individual torments as they each realize they misjudged each other at first. Will see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GregS.Nov 18, 2005
Wonderful movie, full of life and love, greed and pride, hostility and forgiveness. Photography excellent but tends to overshadow the story and leads to gaps in dialogue. Strange that some much of the lesser character details were left out. Wonderful movie, full of life and love, greed and pride, hostility and forgiveness. Photography excellent but tends to overshadow the story and leads to gaps in dialogue. Strange that some much of the lesser character details were left out. Great show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CelineC.Nov 22, 2005
A job well done! This 2005 version is way better than the 1940 one: closer to Austen's novel and much more entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JimK.Nov 26, 2005
Not one for period dramas and screen adaptations of novels, I was skeptical before I went to see this film. But Keira Knightley's stunning performance and superb cinematography - along with a healthy dose of wit and humor - combined to Not one for period dramas and screen adaptations of novels, I was skeptical before I went to see this film. But Keira Knightley's stunning performance and superb cinematography - along with a healthy dose of wit and humor - combined to make this a truly satisfying cinematic experience. I highly recommend this film to the most cynical period-drama haters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LaurenH.Nov 28, 2005
I loved it. I thought it an extremely good adaptation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NancyM.Nov 30, 2005
Best movie in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BuckL.Nov 30, 2005
Darcie is less aristocratic, and more shy. Lizzie is more cute than beautiful; and more forward.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CriticsRmadDec 1, 2005
Great romantic movie. Haven't seen a period piece that didn't put me to sleep in quite a while. Story hits upon the main points in the book and was great. The ballroom scene makes you want to dance. Nice characterization and Great romantic movie. Haven't seen a period piece that didn't put me to sleep in quite a while. Story hits upon the main points in the book and was great. The ballroom scene makes you want to dance. Nice characterization and beautifully filmed. Good times for those looking for a bit of humor and romance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LucyP.Dec 15, 2005
Obsessively addictive! Can't seem to get MacFayden's beauteous eyes out of my consciousness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmilyMDec 4, 2005
It brought out all of the beautiful parts of the book without imposing on the emotions created by reading it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SHFBDec 5, 2005
The best of the Austen movies to date! The acting is wonderful and engaging. But the real feat is in the abundance of details and the interesting camera work (I love the scene in which Darcy and his friend's sister are sitting at the The best of the Austen movies to date! The acting is wonderful and engaging. But the real feat is in the abundance of details and the interesting camera work (I love the scene in which Darcy and his friend's sister are sitting at the table when Lizzie is introduced - the whole scene is shot from behind their backs). I really can't say enough good things about this movie. I've already seen it twice and will probably see it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TiffanyY.Dec 8, 2005
Wonderful! Romantic and funny... a great combination.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DottyJan 10, 2006
Everything is perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CoriL.Nov 9, 2006
I couldn't take my eyes from the screen, when I read the book I have my own idea's on what it would be like, and I am pleased to say that the movie delivered just that. Kiera Knightley did amazing and Matthew MacFadyen was just as I couldn't take my eyes from the screen, when I read the book I have my own idea's on what it would be like, and I am pleased to say that the movie delivered just that. Kiera Knightley did amazing and Matthew MacFadyen was just as I imagined Mr. Darcy to be. I watched over about three times before taking a break, it nice to finally have a good romance to watch again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathalieB.Jan 21, 2006
Great movie, loved it so much i saw it a second time. :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatrickDDec 13, 2006
I enjoyed this film with the cinematography being the major highlight. My problem with most period pieces adapted from novels is that usually fims are rather stuffy and drawn out. Here the plot moves fairly quickly and makes it entertainingI enjoyed this film with the cinematography being the major highlight. My problem with most period pieces adapted from novels is that usually fims are rather stuffy and drawn out. Here the plot moves fairly quickly and makes it entertaining for some with me included. It is evident that Keira Knightley is very comely, but cannot carry a movie by herself. I would recommend this movie to anyone wanting to see a deftly shot film with quicki pacing. One more note I watched the American version which is worth mentioning because it adds a happier ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JarrettF.Jan 20, 2006
I would say that I walked away from this movie satisfied, pleased with the gentle pull and outcome of the storyline. I was certainly left with a thorough feeling of happiness. Addressing the negative reviews of Kiera Knightley, I will say I would say that I walked away from this movie satisfied, pleased with the gentle pull and outcome of the storyline. I was certainly left with a thorough feeling of happiness. Addressing the negative reviews of Kiera Knightley, I will say that she was somewhat lacking in the vulnerability department for her character. However, for me, her smile, her knowing look, her wit, all essentially made the movie for me. I was entranced by her, and sense a rather clear sense of jealousy by those who spurned her. Young as she is, she is outstanding in her character work and diversity, brilliantly able to tackle strong female roles, and even a certain piece of my heart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnonymousMCJan 24, 2006
It's ashame the award groupies are not giving this superbly excellent film more noms. Cinematography, adaptation, direction and acting is completely on the mark. This one will be in my collection. I went twice to see it as well...asIt's ashame the award groupies are not giving this superbly excellent film more noms. Cinematography, adaptation, direction and acting is completely on the mark. This one will be in my collection. I went twice to see it as well...as much as I try not to like Kiera Knightley...it can't be done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelissaM.Jan 27, 2006
this was by far the best movie ive seen all year and i would recomend it to my friends and watch it myself over and over agian.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NikkiD.Feb 1, 2006
This movie was completly amazing! Kiera Knightley was stunning and Matthew MacFadyen superb! It is by far, as some are saying, the best movie of the year!! I saw it three times and each time it just gets better. You will fall in love with This movie was completly amazing! Kiera Knightley was stunning and Matthew MacFadyen superb! It is by far, as some are saying, the best movie of the year!! I saw it three times and each time it just gets better. You will fall in love with Elizabeth Bennet's beautiful, strong, daring personality and the mysterious hearthrob, Mr Darcy, who shows his true colors as the movie builds and develops into a heartwarming, funny, engrossing tale of romance. The worst part of it all was that it had to end! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ElizabethP.Mar 23, 2006
Cute, fun and pretty (a lot like Keira Knightley herself). For the real thing, properly acted and paced, see the 1995 TV series with Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth. Elizabeth Bennett should be calm and reserved, not PERKY, the mother should Cute, fun and pretty (a lot like Keira Knightley herself). For the real thing, properly acted and paced, see the 1995 TV series with Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth. Elizabeth Bennett should be calm and reserved, not PERKY, the mother should be shrill, the father should have more to say. And Colin Firth is just, well, Colin Firth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SaraR.Mar 26, 2006
I loved this movie but give it a 9 rather than a 10 because I love the book too, and it did take some outrageous liberties with the book. If I was Jane Austen, I would be hammering on my coffin lid in fury at the omission of Mrs. Hurst, and I loved this movie but give it a 9 rather than a 10 because I love the book too, and it did take some outrageous liberties with the book. If I was Jane Austen, I would be hammering on my coffin lid in fury at the omission of Mrs. Hurst, and some of the priceless exchanges between Mr. Darcy and Caroline Bingley about Lizzy's "Fine eyes" and what a wonderful mother-in-law Darcy would end up having. And of course now I have the DVD, I have seen the USA ending and agree that the script of that is diabolical. Barbara Cartland could have written a better version. There was a beautiful ready-made conversation in the book, about how Darcy fell in love with Lizzy, which would have been better and the kisses still added... ....Having said that - this movie was beautiful visually, the music was superb and Matthew Macfadyen is the best Mr. Darcy I have seen of the three versions of Pride & Prejudice I have watched. He gave an exquisitely layered, sensitive pperformance, melting the proud Darcy into Darcy the lover by exciting degrees until you just have to fall for him as Lizzy does. Kiera Knightley was surprisingly good as Lizzy and Tom Hollander was a hilarious Mr. Collins. Judy Dench was as magnificent as she was frightening, as Lady Catherine de Bourgh. Watch this movie with an open mind and you'll love it as much as I did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanJ.Apr 7, 2006
This wonderful movie, gives me a warm and fuzzy feeling. With all the violence going on in the world today, this movie brings peace and enjoyment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MonaghApr 7, 2006
I think Keira was not the only powerfull player(what if nobody can ignore her talent)who made the movie lovely and romantic....,Except Sutherland & Dench as somehow supporters,it seems most of the people has forgotten about MacFadyen,he has I think Keira was not the only powerfull player(what if nobody can ignore her talent)who made the movie lovely and romantic....,Except Sutherland & Dench as somehow supporters,it seems most of the people has forgotten about MacFadyen,he has done his best too;after reading articles and watching interviews i just thought he is not clearly noticed as Keira Knightley,what if i'm not his fan i think it is not fair,he deserves more....to be mentioned.....Don't u think so? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EileenW.May 18, 2007
I absolutely love this version. It is very romantic. I own a copy and rewatch it frequently. Everyone was great and music and editing top-notch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LynnNov 11, 2005
VERY different from the BBC version, but very good. It truly brings new things to this story, and the director uses the cinematic possiblities at his disposal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeanneC.Nov 18, 2005
Thankfully, a movie that does not assume the audience is stupid. Allowing the script to flow without extraordinary historical explanation and decidedly exploring and interpreting the novel makes the film brilliant. I don't believe this Thankfully, a movie that does not assume the audience is stupid. Allowing the script to flow without extraordinary historical explanation and decidedly exploring and interpreting the novel makes the film brilliant. I don't believe this film to be for those who prefer less intelligent films or those who were looking for an exact interpretation, page by page, of the novel. Reading other reviews on this page makes me wonder if they understood this picture at all. From Ms. Knightly to Ms. Malone, I thought the acting excellent and the film wonderfully executed. I loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GerronKNov 19, 2005
Excellent!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FrankN.Nov 24, 2005
Wonderful film editing, direction, story, and good acting... Enjoyed the entire experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanielP.Nov 25, 2005
Mike R is wrong. I am a man and i thought it was excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenineL.Nov 27, 2005
Besides the immensely appealing cast of characters delivering outstanding performances, the script was beautifully written in language that was both eloquent and piercingly poignant. The classics, like" P & P" and "Much Ado About Besides the immensely appealing cast of characters delivering outstanding performances, the script was beautifully written in language that was both eloquent and piercingly poignant. The classics, like" P & P" and "Much Ado About Nothing",for example, remind us of the wonderful richness of the English language without being condescending or boring.. Bravo! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JosephSNov 30, 2005
For a short brief movie comparing to the completed movie in the 90's, I will see it again, full of divertion,amusement,and terrific scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristenW.Dec 1, 2005
I loved this movie. After reading the book over the summer for school, I was so excited that it was being redone and my friend and I just had to see it when she was home for thanksgiving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
russl.Dec 15, 2005
In a competitive field this production lacks the qualities that made the 1995 production with Jennefer Ehle and Colin Firth so remarkable. Darcy is unappealing; the camera lingers so long on Keira Knightley that it begins to look feel more In a competitive field this production lacks the qualities that made the 1995 production with Jennefer Ehle and Colin Firth so remarkable. Darcy is unappealing; the camera lingers so long on Keira Knightley that it begins to look feel more like a promotional vehicle than a film, and the atmosphere of Austen, writing about 18th century morals and manners, can't survive the hectic pace, noticeable immediately during the first ball where the music is reminiscent of the New York Philharmonic strutting its stuff rather than a small eighteenth century orchestra recruited for a country ball. In this production the book is a excuse to mount an extravagant Hollywood romance. If that suits your taste, you'll probably enjoy it. If you're more interested in these interesting characters and the class complexties of 200 years ago, you'll probably feel shortchanged. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RhettW.Dec 28, 2005
Kiera Knightly is this generation's Audrey Hepburn. I admired movie more than enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GailK.Dec 19, 2006
Pride & Prejudice never made it to the local theaters in my home town, so I had to wait for the DVD. This is without a doubt one of the best movies I have ever seen, and even with seeing it over and over, the pleasure doesn't pale with Pride & Prejudice never made it to the local theaters in my home town, so I had to wait for the DVD. This is without a doubt one of the best movies I have ever seen, and even with seeing it over and over, the pleasure doesn't pale with repetition. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
IsabelF.Jan 22, 2006
Although I rather prefer the BBC series, I was quite 'flabbergasted' with the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KApr 28, 2006
I love this movie. I have become obsessed with it. I dont know why but Kiera Knightley just entralls me in this movie and makes me feel like I am in it. I did not read the book until after I saw it and I think the movie did the book justice.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeC.Jan 15, 2007
This is one of the best romantic movies ever made. Completely enchanting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
hwDec 13, 2007
Loved it until the end. That ending scene! Yes, it needed a Kiss, but did it have to be done in that over-the-top way? The dialogue did not fit with Jane Austen's writing & the way that characters express themselves generally. There mustLoved it until the end. That ending scene! Yes, it needed a Kiss, but did it have to be done in that over-the-top way? The dialogue did not fit with Jane Austen's writing & the way that characters express themselves generally. There must have been a better way to do that ending... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NatalieL.Jan 29, 2007
Director Joe Wright is one to watch! The cinematography was grand yet not afraid to get down into the dirt; this movie truly deserved its Best Picture nomination. Magnificently sweeping, I fell in love with the English countryside. I was Director Joe Wright is one to watch! The cinematography was grand yet not afraid to get down into the dirt; this movie truly deserved its Best Picture nomination. Magnificently sweeping, I fell in love with the English countryside. I was heartbroken to see it end despite its two hours. This movie hardly deserves the red-level ratings other reviewers gave it. I hate to think that all the women who rated this curiously low did so because they felt personally threatened by Keira Knightley. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DoreyaS.Aug 22, 2007
I loved this version better than the old version.I say that Keira Knightly was the best choice for Elizabeth.I wish everyone that stared in this movie,including the producer and director, a best, happy,and loving career.Oh! Keira Knightly I loved this version better than the old version.I say that Keira Knightly was the best choice for Elizabeth.I wish everyone that stared in this movie,including the producer and director, a best, happy,and loving career.Oh! Keira Knightly don't worry about the people that don't like you because you was the best person for Elizabeth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DrewLumpkinNov 23, 2008
Keira Knightley was absolutely brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ClintH.Nov 13, 2005
A witty, well-acted adaptation of Austen's novel. Delightful and well-shot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmandaS.Nov 13, 2005
This was a wonderful film- of epic beauty with amazing camera work and cleaver shots. I was moved by Matthew MacFadyen's vulnerable rendition of Darcy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanaM.Nov 16, 2005
Excellent. Go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrettR.Nov 18, 2005
Spectacular! I was amazed in how much I really enjoyed it. Keira Knightly is phenomenal, an Oscar worthy performance. She makes Elizabeth intelligent, fun, and likeable rather than bitter and unrelatable. Also, fantastic direction, Spectacular! I was amazed in how much I really enjoyed it. Keira Knightly is phenomenal, an Oscar worthy performance. She makes Elizabeth intelligent, fun, and likeable rather than bitter and unrelatable. Also, fantastic direction, cinematography, and art direction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LindaL.Nov 23, 2005
I loved the A&E movie and have watched it several times. And I also enjoyed the 2 hours version very much. Acting is great, sets are beautiful and the romance very haunting. I will buy the movie and will watch it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
amandaw.Nov 24, 2005
I never wanted the movie to end. Mr. Darcy is perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ZakT.Nov 26, 2005
The filmmakers did an excellent job of retaining the humor of the novel. The set design is excellent, especially the Bennet's home. I usually dislike Keira Knightley, however I think that she was excellent in this role.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GretchenG.Dec 27, 2005
Would have been a 10 but for the stupid ending apparently tacked on for Americans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KristinaDNov 24, 2006
I will always prefer the 6 hour BBC version with Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle but this version was beautifully done and well acted. Definitly deserves acclaim!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabiPardalNov 21, 2008
What a amazing novel and movie!! Great message in so many ways, very positive and comfortable. The soundtrack are just great! The "universal acclaim" is fair.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
cissacarvalhoSep 10, 2010
Fresh, engaging and beautiful. A period piece as it ought to be: it transports you to a different age and makes the character feel real, "six inches deep in mud."
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
One of the most beautiful movies i've ever seen so far, it excites me to think like formerly life was very simple, without the easiness of technology like nowadays, the honor and morals prevailed even on the difficulties of the time.AOne of the most beautiful movies i've ever seen so far, it excites me to think like formerly life was very simple, without the easiness of technology like nowadays, the honor and morals prevailed even on the difficulties of the time.A handsome movie that indeed accosts a story acording to the title, very good sound track and a amazing self-story. I only thought that missed something at the end, but i loved the all movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BinkiJul 4, 2011
Read the book and saw the movie and I must admit is a pretty good adaptation. Keira Knightley is stunning, the rest of the cast is also really good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RegOzFeb 26, 2012
I loved it! It is beautifully done, great performances, and it was never dull! The art direction was outstanding and the script delightful! Darcy and Mr. Bingley are my favourites characters for they were soo real...! Keira did great asI loved it! It is beautifully done, great performances, and it was never dull! The art direction was outstanding and the script delightful! Darcy and Mr. Bingley are my favourites characters for they were soo real...! Keira did great as Lizzie! An amazing film! ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GreatbealloFeb 20, 2012
A great Reader's Digest version of the classic tale. The cinematography is astoundingly beautiful. The cast is great, especially Knightly, who in my opinion really captures the character of Elisabeth Bennett. So good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeAug 25, 2014
This delightful adaptation of a British classic never strays from charming. Direction from Joe Wright is well-matched with his muse, Keira Knightley, and a band of astounding supporting actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJan 15, 2015
Pride & Prejudice was basically exactly what I expected, so I was very satisfied with this one when it was over. The acting from Keira Knightley, Matthew Mcfadyen, Donald Sutherland, Judi Dench, Rosamund Pike, Carey Mulligan, and Jena Malone,Pride & Prejudice was basically exactly what I expected, so I was very satisfied with this one when it was over. The acting from Keira Knightley, Matthew Mcfadyen, Donald Sutherland, Judi Dench, Rosamund Pike, Carey Mulligan, and Jena Malone, was very good. The costume design was brilliant and felt very time appropriate for the period it was set in. I loved some of the shots from this one. Really some beautiful gems that knocked me on my ass here, including one particularly ravishing shot of Knightley standing on the edge of a cliff. Great, great stuff there. On top of that, it was really well adapted from Jane Austen's novel, which I have never read, but have obviously heard quite a bit about. For a romance film, I did not find it necessarily romantic (though it certainly is), rather it works quite well as a period piece from the late 18th century, which is enough for me. Thanks to great acting, strong direction, good writing, and some really gorgeous shots, Joe Wright's Pride & Prejudice is a winner. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
worleyjamersJun 7, 2013
This film really took me by surprise, not by how good it was, but by how much I liked it. This excellent film completely took me in and I absolutely loved it. With a fantastic screenplay, beautifully adapted from the famous Jane Austen novel,This film really took me by surprise, not by how good it was, but by how much I liked it. This excellent film completely took me in and I absolutely loved it. With a fantastic screenplay, beautifully adapted from the famous Jane Austen novel, excellent cinematography, great music, and a stunning lead performance from Keira Knightley, you are absolutely taken into the era and fall for every bit of this powerful romance. Pride & Prejudice is an excellent film! A must see! One of the best films of 2005. I'll likely lose "man points" for this, but I'm proud to have this in my personal collection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
juliankennedy23Jan 11, 2017
These types of films often confound me. Romantic costume dramas are what we would call a gift film for that significant other who drove an hour to the theater with you to see the limited run of the new Godzilla film. So imagine my pleasantThese types of films often confound me. Romantic costume dramas are what we would call a gift film for that significant other who drove an hour to the theater with you to see the limited run of the new Godzilla film. So imagine my pleasant surprise when the picture itself was not just bearable but one of the best films I have seen this year.

Fortunately, I saw Pride and Prejudice and Zombies before this flick so I was able to follow along with the story. The costumes, sets, cinematography, and acting are all simply spot on. There is no reason to make any more versions of Pride and Prejudice they have hit perfection.

Really not much more to say. I teared up a bit at the end when the poor girl with only a few servants marries the rich man with dozens of servants saving her from a life of living in a house with only one parlor for fainting.

Anywho. This is one of the finest costume dramas I have “suffered” through. I did miss the lack of zombie action, however.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MarianaHJaimesFeb 25, 2015
I see this movie as the best adaptation of Pride & Prejudice, better than the production of BBC in 1995, that don't like me nothing, with his scenes that don't excite you and his cast which is a disaster in the sense of affinity for theI see this movie as the best adaptation of Pride & Prejudice, better than the production of BBC in 1995, that don't like me nothing, with his scenes that don't excite you and his cast which is a disaster in the sense of affinity for the characters (for me, of course). The version of 2005 is the most delicate, elegant and romantic, just as the book is, with a natural charm who loves. Keira and Matthew has a special sparkle, this is a cast with chemistry. Joe Wright concentrated on providing us landscapes full of beauty that delight the eye, and that help illustrate the story of love / hate of Elizabeth and Darcy, not only acting and dialogues tell the story if the effects (visual and sound) help spice. Perfect for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LizzyBennetJun 29, 2015
I cannot believe that there are people who do not appreciate this film. It is beautiful in its own sense. The setting, characters, and plot were shown as described in the novel, though I cannot deny the fact that there are slight changesI cannot believe that there are people who do not appreciate this film. It is beautiful in its own sense. The setting, characters, and plot were shown as described in the novel, though I cannot deny the fact that there are slight changes done. It is not perfect, but it is awfully wonderful. I love it no matter what. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kat267Sep 7, 2015
Keira Knightley should have won Best Actress for her perfect performance as Elizabeth Bennet. She completely embodies every aspect of Elizabeth: strong, independent, and spirited. Matthew Macfayden similarly embodies every aspect of theKeira Knightley should have won Best Actress for her perfect performance as Elizabeth Bennet. She completely embodies every aspect of Elizabeth: strong, independent, and spirited. Matthew Macfayden similarly embodies every aspect of the awkward Darcy. As with all Austen stories, I think the end is what makes the rest of the story worth reading as it can become dreary at times. And this ending did not fail, it was awesome to see Elizabeth and Darcy prevail. More romance needed, but we do have to judge it by the more puritan time period. A must-see film for everyone! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
avr50Mar 20, 2017
Pride and prejudice is a remarcable movie with excellent performances, very well directed that even Jane Austen would be proud to see her inmortal story into the screen
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews