Focus Features | Release Date: November 11, 2005
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 504 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
448
Mixed:
20
Negative:
36
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
FarleyAug 23, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best adapted screenplay that i've ever seen, it even surpass the novel, i think. Keira's performance is perfect, every movement shows Elizabeth's archness and thoughtfulness. Just like Atonement, Pride & Prejudice is a typical Joe Wright's film, delicate and creative. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
NicoleL.Jul 15, 2009
I've watched this movies for countless times. It's perfect.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ElizabethKJan 6, 2006
Fantastic. Beautiful in every aspect, minus perhaps the immature acting of Jena Malone. Sountrack is gorgeous, costumes are simply divine and authentic, acting is superb, just a perfect package. Kept me smiling all throughout the movie. Fantastic. Beautiful in every aspect, minus perhaps the immature acting of Jena Malone. Sountrack is gorgeous, costumes are simply divine and authentic, acting is superb, just a perfect package. Kept me smiling all throughout the movie. Knightly does fantastically in this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristinaJan 6, 2006
Utterly fantastic! Keira played the role of Lizzie excellantly, completely capturing her free-spirited nature and runaway tongue! Darcy was absolutely SMOULDERING! with the right touch of gentlemanliness about him and the connection between Utterly fantastic! Keira played the role of Lizzie excellantly, completely capturing her free-spirited nature and runaway tongue! Darcy was absolutely SMOULDERING! with the right touch of gentlemanliness about him and the connection between the two...OOOH...!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamFMay 1, 2006
Phenomenal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErinF.Nov 26, 2005
It was awesome. It was a wonderful adaptation of Austen's characters. They had the same life to them that they had in the book. It was wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
richardb.Jan 2, 2006
Quite exquisite. Best Art Direction & Costumes used in a modest naturalistic way. Wonderful moments of surreal subjectivity. Mr Darcy & Ms Knightly wonderfully morose & captivating, as suits each. Great, but you are constantly thinking of Quite exquisite. Best Art Direction & Costumes used in a modest naturalistic way. Wonderful moments of surreal subjectivity. Mr Darcy & Ms Knightly wonderfully morose & captivating, as suits each. Great, but you are constantly thinking of Bridget Jones and Bride & Prejudice and all the other versions of the tale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HayleyS.Feb 22, 2006
Very good but not as good as the old film. Because nothing can best that one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EllenM.Mar 6, 2006
A solid Calssic Comics version with much detail and many characters trimmed and scnese moved to more dramatic and less-domestic settings (e.g. the Rosings temple folly in the rain confrontation). Pemberly, too, is inflated beyond belief. A solid Calssic Comics version with much detail and many characters trimmed and scnese moved to more dramatic and less-domestic settings (e.g. the Rosings temple folly in the rain confrontation). Pemberly, too, is inflated beyond belief. However, well-acted, moving and with many period charms. The best version is still the BBC TV serial--6 one-hour episodes (minus commericals it's 4 hours on screen!), but this one got me into the book and the other versions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicoleLOct 2, 2007
Brilliant and relatively faithful rendition of one of Jane Austen's most popular titles, not to mention a most endearing soundtrack. Knightely's and Macfayden's portrayal of Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy respectively are most Brilliant and relatively faithful rendition of one of Jane Austen's most popular titles, not to mention a most endearing soundtrack. Knightely's and Macfayden's portrayal of Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy respectively are most memorable and moving. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RebeccaM.Nov 21, 2005
The New Yorker's Anhony Lane reveiw and should be considered, Issue of Nov. 14 Page 101.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LouC.Dec 3, 2005
A lively and earthy rendition of Pride and Prejudice.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanBOct 24, 2006
KK was by far the best Lizzy I have seen. I loved the way MM played Mr. Darcy. I loved Colin Firth's, but I dare say MM's was better. I thought the mini series to be a bit dragged out. I will watch this version again and again!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SueJ.Dec 6, 2006
This movie is amazing! It is a perfect summary of the novel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BruceM.Jan 26, 2006
An extraordinary telling of a remarkable love story. Only the first few minutes were OTT.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GerronKJan 26, 2006
Excellent!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ritaj,Jan 5, 2006
Kira Knightly is wonderful in this film. She graces the screen like I have never seen any actress do before. You must see this movie! It is wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimFeb 28, 2006
Watching it the first time through I was blown away by the speed of the story and could hardly catch my breath as I tried to follow along with the story as I know it. But after the initial rush and my second viewing I was impressed and moved Watching it the first time through I was blown away by the speed of the story and could hardly catch my breath as I tried to follow along with the story as I know it. But after the initial rush and my second viewing I was impressed and moved and inspired by the richness of the production and especially the lovely Keira. Some very wonderful performances and worth watching. The definitive Pride & Prejudice when you want a quick fix of Austen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HollyN.Mar 2, 2006
One of the greatest movies ever made!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamB.Mar 3, 2006
A masterpiece. The most charming movie of the year, and Keira(whom I usually dislike) swept me off my feet. I'm rooting for her on Sunday even though I know she doesnt have a prayer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EllenLMay 14, 2006
I think that this moving interpretation of the novel is brilliant. Though of course this is different from the BBC adaptionof 95, i do not think that the differences detract from its quality. When i see a couple falling in love throughout a I think that this moving interpretation of the novel is brilliant. Though of course this is different from the BBC adaptionof 95, i do not think that the differences detract from its quality. When i see a couple falling in love throughout a movie, even if they do not see it themselves yet, I have to be able to FEEL the chemistry between the characters. In this adaption the chemistry literally oozes off the screen. I felt their passion, i felt Lizzy and Darcy's pain. Matthew Macfadyen makes a magnificent Darcy, and his interpretation of the character made me fall in love with him also. Though his faults were evident, his love and passion for Lizzy was even more so. You could see his character evolve on screen, surface and flourish in his love for Lizzy. And because of Kira Knightley's fresh, youthful and witty perfomance you could understand why his character would do so. Altogether a magnificant film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KathyC.Jun 29, 2006
I absolutely love this movie. I have watched the DVD several times and think Keira Knightley and Matthew Macfadyen are perfect together. I especially liked Matthew's performance because his face shows such yearning for Lizzie. I have I absolutely love this movie. I have watched the DVD several times and think Keira Knightley and Matthew Macfadyen are perfect together. I especially liked Matthew's performance because his face shows such yearning for Lizzie. I have also watched the 1995 Colin Firth miniseries and feel the 2005 movie has so much more life and romance. Joe Wright's direction put the emphasis where it should be - on the relationship between Lizzie and Darcy. The camera work and cinematography was stunning and really showcased the energy of the balls and the emotions of the characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnastasiaP.Jul 24, 2006
It is an excellent movie! As far as I am concernd, I believe that the last version of Pride and Prejudice is the best! I could say that it is the most interesting movie that I have ever seen! Congratulations! You offered us a movie which is It is an excellent movie! As far as I am concernd, I believe that the last version of Pride and Prejudice is the best! I could say that it is the most interesting movie that I have ever seen! Congratulations! You offered us a movie which is special because it has something that the movies in our era has not, it has quality! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MariaV.Jul 28, 2006
I have watched this twice in theaters and then again when I bought the DVD. It's really a film that I will not hesitate to watch again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveJul 5, 2006
It seems that all the people that have read the book hate the movie. Remember, this is a movie not a miniseries. I loved the movie because they didn't follow the book. They condensed and modified the story to fit into a movie format. It seems that all the people that have read the book hate the movie. Remember, this is a movie not a miniseries. I loved the movie because they didn't follow the book. They condensed and modified the story to fit into a movie format. The acting was superb and the sceenplay exceelent as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RebekahW.Aug 18, 2006
i thought this was a very good film and that Kiera Knightleys performance was absolutly brilliant, you could not have cast a better Lizzie. I must however say that i was disapponted at best with Mttherw MacFadyen's attempts at the i thought this was a very good film and that Kiera Knightleys performance was absolutly brilliant, you could not have cast a better Lizzie. I must however say that i was disapponted at best with Mttherw MacFadyen's attempts at the character of Mr. Darcy. All in all however a good film which i have no shame in saying i have watched numerous times! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GlyssaV.Jan 11, 2007
For most fans of the 1995 BBC production of the novel with Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle, a 2005 feature adaptation (the first in 65 years) was considered mutinous, and many doomed it for a clumsy failure when Keira Knightley and Matthew For most fans of the 1995 BBC production of the novel with Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle, a 2005 feature adaptation (the first in 65 years) was considered mutinous, and many doomed it for a clumsy failure when Keira Knightley and Matthew MacFadyen were cast to respectively play the tall-order roles of Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy. However, the refreshing cast is genius from top to bottom, Knightley and MacFadyen highly underestimated and perfect with each other, with director Joe Wright making a spectacular onscreen debut. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MartinJ.Sep 21, 2007
The U.S. ending is just awful - I liked much more the European one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaciS.Sep 4, 2007
I love this movie so much, whenever I'm in a bad mood i put this movie on and it makes me feel better. its got amazing plots and the acting is flawless. i love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KassieB.Oct 9, 2008
I think this is one of my favorite movies of all time. The cinematography is brilliant and the casting is spot on. I think Kiera Knightley is the perfect Elizabeth Bennett and Matthew Macfadyen is soo dreamy as Darcy. I also think the sound I think this is one of my favorite movies of all time. The cinematography is brilliant and the casting is spot on. I think Kiera Knightley is the perfect Elizabeth Bennett and Matthew Macfadyen is soo dreamy as Darcy. I also think the sound track is absolutely amazing. Basically I just love everything about this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful