Priest

Priest Image
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 217 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: "Priest," a western-fused post-apocalyptic thriller, is set in an alternate world -- one ravaged by centuries of war between man and vampires. The story revolves around a legendary Warrior Priest from the last Vampire War who now lives in obscurity among the other downtrodden human"Priest," a western-fused post-apocalyptic thriller, is set in an alternate world -- one ravaged by centuries of war between man and vampires. The story revolves around a legendary Warrior Priest from the last Vampire War who now lives in obscurity among the other downtrodden human inhabitants in walled-in dystopian cities ruled by the Church. When his niece is abducted by a murderous pack of vampires, Priest breaks his sacred vows to venture out on an obsessive quest to find her before they turn her into one of them. He is joined on his crusade by his niece's boyfriend, a trigger-fingered young wasteland sheriff, and a former Warrior Priestess who possesses otherworldly fighting skills.(Sony Screen Gems)
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: S.T. Vanairsdale
    May 13, 2011
    75
    To Stewart and screenwriter Cory Goodman's credit, the whole set up takes about 10 minutes flat, leaving Priest's remaining 77 minutes to the dark, desolate action at hand. Even more to their credit, there's something evocative in that darkness, something poetic in its desolation.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    May 11, 2011
    60
    In an era where monster mythology has become raw material for all sorts of mediocrity, Priest is one of the best examples of a broad-scale vampire blockbuster.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 13, 2011
    60
    It appears that turning the John Ford/John Wayne classic "The Searchers" into the church-vs-vampire adventure Priest was not an altogether god-awful idea. As long as we don't get "The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance" as an elegiac zombie drama, this adaptation of a graphic novel has some bite.
  4. Reviewed by: Adam Markovitz
    May 13, 2011
    42
    Its B-movie sins are many, worst among them an icy hero and a plot that feels like it was built from relics of other, better films.
  5. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    May 19, 2011
    40
    Bettany exudes an intensity that lays the groundwork for an interesting character, but Priest hasn't a prayer of creating anything more subtle than the giant cross tattooed on his face.
  6. May 13, 2011
    40
    The film is somehow a disappointing combo of too-full and oddly empty. Even with all the various parts and pieces going into its structure, it feels bare-bones.
  7. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    May 13, 2011
    33
    Bettany's performance consists entirely of a purposeful frown paired with a menacing glare: He goes about his godly business with solemn, no-frills intensity. The film follows suit.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 74
  2. Negative: 24 out of 74
  1. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i have to say that this movie actually surprised me. i thought this movie had decent dialogue (could've been much better) the action scenes were fantastic and the plot was decently put together. considering the fact that the producers had very low intentions for this movie anyway makes it even better. i believe if they had any real hope in this movie it could have been very much better. while watching it i though of countless scenarios to which priest 2 could be about(im actually trying to write a script for the second one just for fun) this movie has real potential. they could've tied in religion a little deeper into the action, etc.i also like the way they depicted the vampires. i like that they took the eyes away, considering that "vampires are soul-less creatures". the ending of the movie was a cliff hanger pretty much (they never found the queen). so they can work that into the sequel (which is one of the major stories of my script :-] ). there are many scenarios they can work into it to make the movie much better. so, this movie has real potential but nobody really believed it would do goo, so that's why it really didn't. the key to any movie is confidence.. with out that, you wont put much effort into the production and in the end have a disaster of a movie.... Expand
  2. May 13, 2011
    9
    I had low expectations for this movie because Legion was so awful. But i was veryy surprised to see just how good this movie is. The plot, inI had low expectations for this movie because Legion was so awful. But i was veryy surprised to see just how good this movie is. The plot, in a nutshell, are combat trained priest who kill vampires. One priest goes against his vows to save someone special from a mysterious enemy. I'm not familiar with the source material but this was good enough for the style of movie. I first give my kudos to the directing style. The movie moves at a perfect pace by focusing on the action but slowing just enough to give the audience insight into the characters. Action sequences really stand out and pretty violent for PG-13. The characters aren't very deep but just right for this movie. Also the dialogue never gets preachy or sappy just for the sake of it. This film is just what it should be and i fully recomened it. Expand
  3. Nov 4, 2011
    6
    Priest is...a bad movie. But I enjoyed it, I thought it was rather entertaining and hilarious. It was, (shall I say), Soo-bad-it-was-good.
  4. Jun 24, 2011
    4
    When I saw the movie I felt that the motorcycle was the star, maybe the motorcycle expressed more emotion than the lead actor. totallyWhen I saw the movie I felt that the motorcycle was the star, maybe the motorcycle expressed more emotion than the lead actor. totally predictable and boring occasions, monetarily is entertaining, JUST monetarily. Expand
  5. Sep 18, 2011
    4
    "Priest" tries to tame the wild SF+horror+western genre with impressive CGI. Ultimately, the movie is what you will expect.
  6. May 13, 2011
    2
    Unlike the film vampires you are familiar with who are articulate, handsome, and philosophical, the vampires in Priest are savage animals,Unlike the film vampires you are familiar with who are articulate, handsome, and philosophical, the vampires in Priest are savage animals, almost like feral wolves. Based on a series of graphic novels, the title Priest refers to an elite squad of vampire hunters who, working directly for the Catholic Church, battle vampires. According to the back story, humans and vampires have been in direct and bloody conflict throughout history. Due to the priestâ Expand
  7. May 31, 2011
    0
    In contrast to the glimmering, good-looking people vampires have been portrayed to be in recent movies/TV shows, the vampires portrayed inIn contrast to the glimmering, good-looking people vampires have been portrayed to be in recent movies/TV shows, the vampires portrayed in Priests are the complete opposite, and is pretty awesome. However the story was bland and some of the dialogues felt awkward. This movie seemed more like a straight to DVD, or a made for TV, type film. I would recommend that those who are thinking about watching this in theaters to skip it and pick it up for rental when it comes out. Expand

See all 74 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.