Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: May 28, 2010
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 428 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
301
Mixed:
94
Negative:
33
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
8
Forrestgump1Sep 25, 2010
"Its Like Alladin meets The Mummy . this movie has its flaws . at times it take a min to process all that is happening at once .. but this movie was genuine , fun , and humorous. Jake Gyllenhaal was decent as the Prince the action scenes were"Its Like Alladin meets The Mummy . this movie has its flaws . at times it take a min to process all that is happening at once .. but this movie was genuine , fun , and humorous. Jake Gyllenhaal was decent as the Prince the action scenes were authentic," ... B Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
LucasLJun 4, 2010
Could be better, but it was sure a good adventure.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
sunnyDayJun 6, 2010
This was an entertaining throwback fun, action, romance and comedy movie. The critics are jaded. Vote with your feet, go see the movie!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
StephenL.Jun 17, 2010
This was an all round enjoyable film with plenty of potential in the characters for the future sequels, I hope they all stay, especially the hardworking "entrepreneur" tax exile with the ostriches. The script was lively and tight if a little This was an all round enjoyable film with plenty of potential in the characters for the future sequels, I hope they all stay, especially the hardworking "entrepreneur" tax exile with the ostriches. The script was lively and tight if a little shallow and juvenile, although with a rumoured seven film series, im sure the development and depth will come. Go see this film at the cinema for the vertigo inducing visuals! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
smijatovJun 27, 2011
I was very pleasantly surprised by this film. I've never seen a good film that was originally a game, so this was rather shocking to be honest. Visually it was rather well done, especially the production design and the visual effects wereI was very pleasantly surprised by this film. I've never seen a good film that was originally a game, so this was rather shocking to be honest. Visually it was rather well done, especially the production design and the visual effects were rather good. The overall story was not ingenious, but it was rather entertaining and there were no dull moments in the film. Being a Disney film, it did have the typical happy-ending, and some rather cliched cinematography (was too many slow motion scenes), but overall the film definitely was worth the watch. It's been a while since epic fantasies like this have hit the cinemas and were actually good. The last one, actually, could be the Lord of the Rings... which is sad. So, "Prince of Persia" most certainly is a well-needed and welcomed addition to the genre! Fun and entertaining - everything it ever really yearned to be. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
IanM197Sep 16, 2010
Prince of Persia is a game-to-film movie. Usually this strikes fear into filmgoers and gamers alike, and every film that's come under this moniker has failed miserably, with the arguable exception of Tomb Raider and even more arguablePrince of Persia is a game-to-film movie. Usually this strikes fear into filmgoers and gamers alike, and every film that's come under this moniker has failed miserably, with the arguable exception of Tomb Raider and even more arguable exception of Silent Hill. Surprisingly PoP turns out to be a thoroughly entertaining and a genuinely good movie. The acting, special effects and story are all good, with minor instances where each falls flat. The ending isn't as good as that of the game's (I would have likely raised the score if they had just copied that ending exactly) but as a game-films go, Prince of Persia is without doubt the most successful entry since Ms. Croft graced our screens all those years ago. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DrakenSep 15, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised. Good, fable flavored story, good values (family, courage, etc). The direction and action scenes are not the best, but they were good enough to carry the story and I did not feel like they got in the way. Overall anI was pleasantly surprised. Good, fable flavored story, good values (family, courage, etc). The direction and action scenes are not the best, but they were good enough to carry the story and I did not feel like they got in the way. Overall an enjoyable movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
sunnywildoneSep 14, 2010
I was skeptical at first because some times when my favorite games go to film, they end letting me down. However, this skepticism turned out wrong. I really enjoyed this movie, I love it! I was amazed by the story line, the graphics, theI was skeptical at first because some times when my favorite games go to film, they end letting me down. However, this skepticism turned out wrong. I really enjoyed this movie, I love it! I was amazed by the story line, the graphics, the intro and outro, and how it all played out. It was not too jazzed out by movie graphics and it brings a sense of realism. It was inspiring and gave a story line that gave good morals and values under the circumstances. It is deep in the sense that true family value and moral is stronger than deceit of foul blood that has been corrupted by evil. Way to go to all those who made this possible, especially to the founder and creator of Prince of Persia!! I look forward to more movies on Prince of Persia!! Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
LevethianNov 15, 2010
I could not care less about the game franchise, and I'm becoming decrepit with age and increasingly impatient with computer-effect-filled movies. But this I found quite engaging. It's a fun story, told reasonably effectively.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
LondonTrueloveNov 10, 2010
I think the trailer for this film made it look a lot sicker than it really was. Thought it could've been better and I was expecting a bit more but overall I'd say it was still a pretty decent flick.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Critic2012Jun 10, 2012
The first thing you have to understand about this film is that it is based on a game. Once you realize that, the experience becomes a lot more enjoyable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
SamuelMJun 4, 2010
Went to see this with a group of sceptical friends, by the end they all agreed that the movie was worth our time. The action sequences are perfectly played out and the story is told so well you can follow it with ease. Here's hoping for Went to see this with a group of sceptical friends, by the end they all agreed that the movie was worth our time. The action sequences are perfectly played out and the story is told so well you can follow it with ease. Here's hoping for a sequel! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KCMay 28, 2010
Best video game movie yet, and a good stand-alone for those who don't play video games. I'm guessing the critics are giving it bad reviews because they didn't understand the story, and I'm also guessing it's maybe Best video game movie yet, and a good stand-alone for those who don't play video games. I'm guessing the critics are giving it bad reviews because they didn't understand the story, and I'm also guessing it's maybe because they went in with their minds made up already, saying that "video game movies can't be good". I understood the plot just fine, and I was entertained for the two hours. What else do the critics want? They raise the bar too high sometimes, like with Iron Man 2. If you want to be entertained, see this movie, simple as that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RizwanK.May 30, 2010
After seeing the reviews i went with low expectation..but wait it delivered much more than what it said about it visuals were awesome as well as action.gemma was beautiful as princess and hasanssins were really nice element..to sum up it was After seeing the reviews i went with low expectation..but wait it delivered much more than what it said about it visuals were awesome as well as action.gemma was beautiful as princess and hasanssins were really nice element..to sum up it was a wonderful experience....i would recommend it!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MelissaEMay 30, 2010
Sort of Lord of the Rings/Clash of the Titans/Indiana Jones. Very fun and entertaining. Yeah, there were some moments that were a little far fetched, but I definitely enjoyed myself!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
obeMay 30, 2010
A fun, light, very enjoyable popcorn movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jayr.Jun 1, 2010
Yes this is Prince of Persia for me. watched it yesterday and it deklivered more than what i expected. would go to watch it again next week if i have a chance.it was among the most entertaining films of the hears.thanks to the collaberation Yes this is Prince of Persia for me. watched it yesterday and it deklivered more than what i expected. would go to watch it again next week if i have a chance.it was among the most entertaining films of the hears.thanks to the collaberation of jerry buchemer, disney & mike newell...and also the parkour originator david belle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SabariN.May 28, 2010
This is really a cool exciting action packed film with a little essence of romance and humour. unlike the rest of game-converted films, POP SOT promises to be a real treat for all kinds of audiences especially the game lovers. modified This is really a cool exciting action packed film with a little essence of romance and humour. unlike the rest of game-converted films, POP SOT promises to be a real treat for all kinds of audiences especially the game lovers. modified script which is different from the game really enhanced the characters charisma. infact the movie is a perfect summer treat, and iam really looking forward for the sequel to be released soon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
rogeraMay 29, 2010
It seems a much more promising movies than what critics are saying about it. people please go and watch and you will realize this fact yourself!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PhilippeKMay 29, 2010
Light entertainment but well done. Satisfied my expectations with lots of action, great pictures, oriental flair and beauty and a breeze of erotic. Nice movie absolutely worth watching. P.S.: Forget the critics - like very often they dont Light entertainment but well done. Satisfied my expectations with lots of action, great pictures, oriental flair and beauty and a breeze of erotic. Nice movie absolutely worth watching. P.S.: Forget the critics - like very often they dont have a clue Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NabeelAMay 31, 2010
Yea its not based on any one particular PoP game. Which is a good thing because they could have ruined it, what they kept true to PoP was the identity and personality and character of the prince. The action kept getting crazier and crazier Yea its not based on any one particular PoP game. Which is a good thing because they could have ruined it, what they kept true to PoP was the identity and personality and character of the prince. The action kept getting crazier and crazier as it went on...to not like this movie would be bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AleksisA.May 31, 2010
Very good movie and straight movie despite it's based on classic VG. The story is solid although it has some differences from VG storyline. Just watch this title without any connection with game and it'll made very good impression Very good movie and straight movie despite it's based on classic VG. The story is solid although it has some differences from VG storyline. Just watch this title without any connection with game and it'll made very good impression on you and could just entertain you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NicoleFJun 10, 2010
Well! I thought it was awesome. I agree that there were some pretty cheesy lines, Jake Gyllenhaal didn't quite capture the aggressive Prince I remember from the games--but I think it was more due to poor directing than anything. Also, Well! I thought it was awesome. I agree that there were some pretty cheesy lines, Jake Gyllenhaal didn't quite capture the aggressive Prince I remember from the games--but I think it was more due to poor directing than anything. Also, there was huge editing problems, and Dastan figured things out very quickly. Yet, I absolutely loved it. I found the action and adventure scenes awesome,a and the overall visual impression was also awesome. To me, I loved it. I'm biased though, I was going to love it no matter what. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EggyG.Jun 11, 2010
Very entertaining and well polished....one of the better video game based movie. The story was dead simple but the cast, action and fx are great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LeonSJun 12, 2010
I loved the film, because it had an interesting plot that was very entertaining from the beginning to the end. And of course because it's story is amazingly from a top notch video game. The actors were great, even surprisingly good! The I loved the film, because it had an interesting plot that was very entertaining from the beginning to the end. And of course because it's story is amazingly from a top notch video game. The actors were great, even surprisingly good! The chemistry between Jake Gyllenhaal (Prince Dastan) and Emma Arterton (Princess Tamina) was lovely! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DarinAJun 13, 2010
solid summer movie, kept my interest throughout the entire movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CodyF.Jun 15, 2010
Its faithful enough for the fans of the game to enjoy, but also fast paced which makes it a great family movie too. great special effects too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
alexsJun 2, 2010
The only movie ever where I actually thought about going to the cinema a second time. It has such a great feel to it. Yes it has a lot of plot nonsense and some cliched camera rotations and characters. But unlike in other movies it never The only movie ever where I actually thought about going to the cinema a second time. It has such a great feel to it. Yes it has a lot of plot nonsense and some cliched camera rotations and characters. But unlike in other movies it never felt off - or even annoying. It has great and likable characters (not many movies have both) and awesome scenery and music. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
guliranosJun 3, 2010
I was not surprised about critics review. I do not understand them, why should it matter, who plays which roles, as long as we-audience entertained. It is very good movie, not boring at all, story was moving pretty fast, great actors, I was not surprised about critics review. I do not understand them, why should it matter, who plays which roles, as long as we-audience entertained. It is very good movie, not boring at all, story was moving pretty fast, great actors, amasing stunts, costumes, lots of, lots of things to watch. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KenBJun 3, 2010
Pretty good movie. Let me first say I never played the video games so I had no expectations except to say I wasn't expecting "Gone with the Wind". Good action and stunts, but not Amazingly strung together. Most directors are not great Pretty good movie. Let me first say I never played the video games so I had no expectations except to say I wasn't expecting "Gone with the Wind". Good action and stunts, but not Amazingly strung together. Most directors are not great at making action scene's tense, and this director is no different. However they are good. Plot is engaging, acting is good, and the moral of the story, whether it be Weapons of Medieval Destruction or family is the most important treasure, was good. I think I'll enjoy this movie more the next time I watch it. Go see it. Great popcorn flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ObservantSkepticJun 3, 2010
I was entertained. I'm the first one to say I hate Bruckhiemer produced films. The CGI is usually overdone. This time although a little more CGI than I like. The film was very well done and the story was well though out. Very good cast. I was entertained. I'm the first one to say I hate Bruckhiemer produced films. The CGI is usually overdone. This time although a little more CGI than I like. The film was very well done and the story was well though out. Very good cast. I was shocked that a movie based on a video game could be well made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GreyRJun 8, 2010
This film is owesome, but if there is a acrobatic attack againt multiple enemy like in videogame, this movie is gonna be much much better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelPJun 8, 2010
Been waiting for two years for this movie to come out, unfortunately after seeing the trailers I was expecting a disappointment with this adaptation. however it didn't turn out to be as bad as I thought. Although it did not have the Been waiting for two years for this movie to come out, unfortunately after seeing the trailers I was expecting a disappointment with this adaptation. however it didn't turn out to be as bad as I thought. Although it did not have the charm of the original game and the action was linear chaos at best, it was an actually entertaining summer movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PedramE.May 28, 2010
A very fun and entertaining movie. Much better than the trailers would lead you to believe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BayneE.May 28, 2010
This is a movie based on a well loved video game series. This is a movie that has its roots in fantasy and is not intended to be a historical documentary. Critics who complain about historical accuracy fail to see the point of this movie and This is a movie based on a well loved video game series. This is a movie that has its roots in fantasy and is not intended to be a historical documentary. Critics who complain about historical accuracy fail to see the point of this movie and are likely people I would never want to hang out with because they are too stuffy for their own good. Be gone with you snob reviewer from the new york times! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardC.May 28, 2010
Just saw it it was much better than i thought it would be Definately recommend it !!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelUMay 28, 2010
I am a huge fan of the video games, so naturally I went to see the movie. I came in with middling expectations, but was pleasantly surprised in the end. Some fun action scenes, and a well thought-out story that's more engaging and I am a huge fan of the video games, so naturally I went to see the movie. I came in with middling expectations, but was pleasantly surprised in the end. Some fun action scenes, and a well thought-out story that's more engaging and emotional than you might think. Alfred Molina gets some great laughs and two leads have good chemistry. Ben Kingsly as the villain is also pretty good. There's also some great scenery and although it drags a bit in the beginning, the rest of the film is well paced. Definitely recommended if you're a fan or just want something fun to see this weekend. Go in with slightly forgiving expectations and you'll be quite pleased. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TrevorMay 28, 2010
I'd have to say it's worth the price of admission. Most of the professional reviews are spot on. The action is great, and the plot is decent enough, but there just seems something dead about some of it. They started a solid I'd have to say it's worth the price of admission. Most of the professional reviews are spot on. The action is great, and the plot is decent enough, but there just seems something dead about some of it. They started a solid foundation, and I'm looking forward to what the franchise is going to offer in the future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArtusPMay 28, 2010
This dicrepancy between what the critics and regular movie goers say should be telling enough for those who still hasitate whether to see it or not. The fight sequencies could be less chaotic, I agree, but all the rest is pure joy to watch. This dicrepancy between what the critics and regular movie goers say should be telling enough for those who still hasitate whether to see it or not. The fight sequencies could be less chaotic, I agree, but all the rest is pure joy to watch. Light entertainment at its best. Definitely a better adventure movie than the last Indy for example. Its not often that both my girlfriend and I leave a movie theater in full agreement and with big smiles on our faces. Money well spent. I plan to get a DVD or BlueRay for my collection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MoritzK.May 28, 2010
Over here in good old Germany that movie is already running for more then a week. Well, even though I'm normally more into more demanding kinds of movies, I nethertheless chose to give the prince a try. And, guess what: It turned out to Over here in good old Germany that movie is already running for more then a week. Well, even though I'm normally more into more demanding kinds of movies, I nethertheless chose to give the prince a try. And, guess what: It turned out to be one awesome cinema experience. Though most dialogs were quite plain and some coincidences overly silly, everything remaining was really really fun: Likable and interesting characters, a not too predictable, but nice storyline, awesome visual effects and foremost: The enourmous style and magic the beautiful scenario of ancient Persia exudes. I can recommend the prince to everyone who just looks for fun, feelings and great pictures in a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidLMay 29, 2010
A good action movie. Very entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JennyGMay 29, 2010
The best movie of the year so far. It was even more entertaining than How To Train Your Dragon. I was amazed by how great the acting was and how interesting and surprisingly unpredictable the story was. A+
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GaborVMay 29, 2010
The most fantastic video-game adaptation to date - and stands alone as an epic tail by itself - although maybe enjoyable more by fans like myself than other audiences, it captured the most important key and story elements from the game and The most fantastic video-game adaptation to date - and stands alone as an epic tail by itself - although maybe enjoyable more by fans like myself than other audiences, it captured the most important key and story elements from the game and used them in a superb way of creating a new story in a familiar universe - and my girlfriend loved it too! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FarhanHMay 29, 2010
Not perfect, but not a bad movie either. This movie does what movies are meant to do - entertain the audience. It's definately worth the money to see in the theater and to own. The entire movie is a solid A in my book, i was very Not perfect, but not a bad movie either. This movie does what movies are meant to do - entertain the audience. It's definately worth the money to see in the theater and to own. The entire movie is a solid A in my book, i was very pleased. I see this being a successful franchise for Disney if they learn from the small mistakes they made with this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HobaRTSMay 31, 2010
Indiana Jones with a political message. Where are the weapons of mass destruction? Ben Kingsley as VP Dick Cheney.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KirstenMay 31, 2010
Fun summer movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VladislavMay 31, 2010
You must be kidding me, this film fraking rocked! I am a fan of the prince of persia sands of time game and I was expecting this film to fail hard, though i still had high hopes for it. Shockingly enough - it delivered. Maybe you really need You must be kidding me, this film fraking rocked! I am a fan of the prince of persia sands of time game and I was expecting this film to fail hard, though i still had high hopes for it. Shockingly enough - it delivered. Maybe you really need to already be a fan though to appreciate all the details in the film that allude to the game, like the new area zoom in sequence. And the bickering between the prince and his love interest was spot on. I don't even see why everyone has such an issue with the story. At their core most stories are just rehashed old things. What makes something impressive, fun, or entertaining is how this story is told, and I felt captivated by this film. Its not without faults, I noticed one scene looked like I was looking at a movie set, not an ancient castle battlement, but it was just one moment. All that I can definitively leave you with is what actually happens, everything else is just words. I was very please with the film and am looking forward to the bluray release of it. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
tomsMay 30, 2010
Yes lovely movie just what u was short and sweet entertainment...i loved this flick and would be waiting for sequel NO MATTER WHAT THE CRITICS SAY THIS MOVIE ROCKS.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
johnnyrMay 30, 2010
Dastan the prince showed great parkour skills, plot was good,although ben kingsley role was short but he made his presence felt and yeah environment were really nice..no wonder that it has a production cost of $200million..alfred molina Dastan the prince showed great parkour skills, plot was good,although ben kingsley role was short but he made his presence felt and yeah environment were really nice..no wonder that it has a production cost of $200million..alfred molina brought few hilarious moments this is a movie that legends of hollywood would have loved to watch as it has got almost everything which a person goes to watch in a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ColinMay 30, 2010
I've been interested in seeing this since i first heard about it. I've never played the first game but i have played the 2nd and 3rd one. But this is an awesome movie! I recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
pallavsMay 31, 2010
Great movie!!!! it was a complete entertainer in itself jake was great apart from his accent but the action scenes he performed were incredible,alfred was funny at times.storyline was fast paced & kept eyes glued to the screen till the last Great movie!!!! it was a complete entertainer in itself jake was great apart from his accent but the action scenes he performed were incredible,alfred was funny at times.storyline was fast paced & kept eyes glued to the screen till the last moment...and yeah loved to hear that it topped the box-office of 41 countries out of 47 where it has released.hope it would do the same in us box office. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GregMay 30, 2010
It knows what it is and does it pretty well. It could have used a little more Jake skin though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeneRMay 30, 2010
Better than the Pirates of the Caribbean movies. The pirates series had long, pointless action sequences that left me muttering for it to get to the point. No such problems /w Prince. Everything in the movie happened for a reason and the Better than the Pirates of the Caribbean movies. The pirates series had long, pointless action sequences that left me muttering for it to get to the point. No such problems /w Prince. Everything in the movie happened for a reason and the story was woven tighter. Only dragged down by some pointless comic relief. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LindaPJun 1, 2010
Prince of Persia was a very entertaining action story. Had an engaging plot, cool special effects. Jake Gyllenhaal was very good as the hero. [***SPOILER***] Alfred Molina was funny as a bit of a bad guy who turns out to be helpful in Prince of Persia was a very entertaining action story. Had an engaging plot, cool special effects. Jake Gyllenhaal was very good as the hero. [***SPOILER***] Alfred Molina was funny as a bit of a bad guy who turns out to be helpful in safeguarding the ancient dagger that everyone wants. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterRJun 1, 2010
I don't want to give a long review, but it was basically one of those summer action movies like Transformers or something, but here's what makes it great: there's a story and some genuine chuckles you'll get from a few I don't want to give a long review, but it was basically one of those summer action movies like Transformers or something, but here's what makes it great: there's a story and some genuine chuckles you'll get from a few lines. Unlike most action movies, the plot made sense and it stood true to the video game that it was supposed to follow. It's understandable to see where some people would not share the same experience having not played the games. That's why I urge gamers to check out some of the games first, it will only make the movie more enjoyable. After playing the games, you'll see how they stayed to the formula, only straying away for parts that needed elaborating, by creating the beginning. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lindsays.Jun 1, 2010
This is the movie i was waiting for & it was rightly so....very good movie indeed..wonder why critics are critics r criticizing it when it is one of the most entertaining movie of the year plz guyz dont listen to what other says....go and This is the movie i was waiting for & it was rightly so....very good movie indeed..wonder why critics are critics r criticizing it when it is one of the most entertaining movie of the year plz guyz dont listen to what other says....go and watch and u ll not regret. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
rohitt.Jun 1, 2010
That is one of the better movies i have seen recently, thoroughly enjoyable from the starting to the very last moment. would be waiting for sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JamesH.Jun 2, 2010
Not sure why the critics are being unkind to this movie. It is very well made, and entertaining throughout. I put it on par with the first "Mummy" movie, although it lacked that movie's humorous banter between the two leads. Jake Not sure why the critics are being unkind to this movie. It is very well made, and entertaining throughout. I put it on par with the first "Mummy" movie, although it lacked that movie's humorous banter between the two leads. Jake Gyllenhaal was a better action star than I thought he would be, the writing was good, and it was well film (other than a few action sequences were edited together in a way it was difficult to tell what was going on). Recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HarryR.Jun 2, 2010
A pretty damn good film throughout. However, there were no moments that hugely stood out and "amazed" me. None the less, an enjoyable movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexJun 4, 2010
The movie was a lot of fun, well made, and worth the 8 bucks to see it in theatres - which is more than I can say for a lot of movies. Jake Gyllenhaal was really surprisingly good in his role. I'd much rather see a sequel to this than The movie was a lot of fun, well made, and worth the 8 bucks to see it in theatres - which is more than I can say for a lot of movies. Jake Gyllenhaal was really surprisingly good in his role. I'd much rather see a sequel to this than another boring as hell sequel to Iron Man or Transformers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregHJun 5, 2010
I see that the disturbing trend of the closed-minded moviegoer is still going strong. Too many people are going to a movie with predetermined expectations of what the film is going to be like instead of keeping an open mind while enjoying I see that the disturbing trend of the closed-minded moviegoer is still going strong. Too many people are going to a movie with predetermined expectations of what the film is going to be like instead of keeping an open mind while enjoying what the movie has to offer. I've never been one to listen to critics. Far too often they can be very biased in their opinions, leaning toward a certain genre or subject. This movie is...wait for it....BASED...on a video game. It never meant to follow the storyline to the letter. It's meant to entertain, while staying true to its source material. This film was extremely enjoyable. Knowing that Jake Gyllenhaal worked hard to learn how to do the stunts, as well as increase his physical build really helped me appreciate the actors' efforts. Having played the video game, I knew how the story would likely unfold. However, regardless of gaming, this movie stands well on its own as an entertaining feature film. I look forward to a sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
luigithebaudJun 6, 2010
For all the people who hated the movie..... did you guys played the video games??? this is a movie for true gamers if you havent played the game dont watch it!!! by the way ,,i think that this is the best video game / movie ever made. wayFor all the people who hated the movie..... did you guys played the video games??? this is a movie for true gamers if you havent played the game dont watch it!!! by the way ,,i think that this is the best video game / movie ever made. way better than max payne and resident evil. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JustinKJun 9, 2010
Alright, let me get this straight.....This movie is based on the video-game, yet HALF of the cool acrobatic moves that the Prince pulls in the games aren't even included in this movie. Don't get me wrong, the second-half of the Alright, let me get this straight.....This movie is based on the video-game, yet HALF of the cool acrobatic moves that the Prince pulls in the games aren't even included in this movie. Don't get me wrong, the second-half of the movie had me on the edge of my seat......But the first half was boring as Hell. That, and the fact that the "Prince" wasn't NEARLY as badass as he was in the video games (such as scaling walls and fighting off monsters) made me lose a little faith in this flick. But, like I said, the last hour of the movie is very epic. Thank God for that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
platiniumhunterMay 28, 2010
Very enjoyable to watch..way better than other summer releases this year like shrek 4 and iron man 2...an entertaining flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bryanaMay 28, 2010
Great flick.absolute delight to watch. go & see for yourself
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
sandysMay 28, 2010
Watched it today and i must admit its full of adventure & action scenes are delightful too!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ZiezKMay 29, 2010
The best video game adaptation. The movie, from start to finish, is filled with well-choreographed sword-fighting action, fantastic special effects, sweepingly exotic scenery, lavish production design, and a good, sweeping music score by The best video game adaptation. The movie, from start to finish, is filled with well-choreographed sword-fighting action, fantastic special effects, sweepingly exotic scenery, lavish production design, and a good, sweeping music score by Harry Gregson-Williams. It was so fun and entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomasHMay 29, 2010
Went to see this today. Thought it was great! Wasn't expecting it to be good, but I thought it was fantastic. Reminded me of the original Indiana Jones movies and what made them so great.. this movie is incredibly well done and just Went to see this today. Thought it was great! Wasn't expecting it to be good, but I thought it was fantastic. Reminded me of the original Indiana Jones movies and what made them so great.. this movie is incredibly well done and just fun. It doesn't try and preach some message to you, it just tells you a fantastic story. Loved it, recommend it to all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesTMay 29, 2010
I thought it was a great film. The action sequences were great and the special effects were amazing. I thought Jake played his part well and looked the part. I hope this does well at the box office!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
karls.May 29, 2010
Enjoyed every bit of it from action scenes to run chases, from beautiful cities to varied landscapes.the prince with dagger surely creates magic.a must watch this summer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
shawnt.May 29, 2010
I am really surprised how badly the critics are reviewing this movie.have they forgot the true meaning of entertainment because this movie delivers it to perfection. i really loved it and i hope the others will also agree with me on this if I am really surprised how badly the critics are reviewing this movie.have they forgot the true meaning of entertainment because this movie delivers it to perfection. i really loved it and i hope the others will also agree with me on this if they see the movie thumbs up from my side had fun watching this flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SamMay 29, 2010
Movie was pretty goo, I liked the action and the romance, but I thought the whole Idea of Prince of Persia turning intoa movie was bad, but they (Disney) did it faily well, that's why I gave the movie a 7.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
josemMay 31, 2010
Is one of the best pictures based in to a video game not is perfect but is a good action movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlMay 31, 2010
I saw the movie last saturday. I really liked it. I almost was cancelling it due to some big paper negative comments. good that I didnot pay attention to them. this movie is just entertaininig. it never claimed to be an oscar hopful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JudyT.May 31, 2010
Great popcorn fare. Doesn't take itself too seriously and the acting to good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrianN.Jun 12, 2010
Despite the silly storyline and the fact that noone in this movie looks even remotely Persian, I would recommend Prince of Persia. Lots of action, and Sir Ben Kingsley. I hope the DVD release offers the extended scenes because there were a Despite the silly storyline and the fact that noone in this movie looks even remotely Persian, I would recommend Prince of Persia. Lots of action, and Sir Ben Kingsley. I hope the DVD release offers the extended scenes because there were a few suspicious cuts in this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatrickO.Jun 13, 2010
A fun entertaining movie. It gets a little slow in the middle, but comes through with a strong finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DalekMar 2, 2014
Surprisingly good. Except one thing I think they messed up on which they really shouldn't had is the clothes that the prince wears. He's wearing Warrior Within clothing, not sands of time. But whatever.

Now obviously when it goes from
Surprisingly good. Except one thing I think they messed up on which they really shouldn't had is the clothes that the prince wears. He's wearing Warrior Within clothing, not sands of time. But whatever.

Now obviously when it goes from video game to film 99% of the time it goes horribly wrong. But despite the film not being 100% based on the video game it did do a pretty good job. I wish they portrayed it more like in the video game but at the same time you have to make it entertaining for those who haven't watched it.

Besides those few things that bored me this isn't actually a bad film at all...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
kingshahidSep 21, 2011
This movie had great costume and scenery. I really enjoyed watching the movie and it reminded me of Aladdin with the kid in the beginning stealing and then running. Later it reminded me of Sinbad with the sword. I liked how they portrayed theThis movie had great costume and scenery. I really enjoyed watching the movie and it reminded me of Aladdin with the kid in the beginning stealing and then running. Later it reminded me of Sinbad with the sword. I liked how they portrayed the dervishes and their ritualism as something dark and magical being a fan of Sufism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tghm1801Sep 25, 2010
Easily my favourite game-to-movie adaptation, and probably one of the best, The Sands of Time is a fun action flick, that while slightly Pirates of the Caribbean-esque, TSOT is an extremely enjoyable film and Jake Gyllenhaal plays the role ofEasily my favourite game-to-movie adaptation, and probably one of the best, The Sands of Time is a fun action flick, that while slightly Pirates of the Caribbean-esque, TSOT is an extremely enjoyable film and Jake Gyllenhaal plays the role of the previously unnamed Prince, Dastan. As for the rest of the acting, it is quite reasonable and is a very enjoyable film.
If you haven't seen it, go out and buy it.
Now.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Oct 31, 2010
a rousing and great adaptation of the video game.

Rating: 86%
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Ruler101Nov 30, 2010
This movie was very interesting even though the main idea came from a video game (a very successful VG.) I thought that Disney did a good job on graphics and music but still seemed a little cartoonish. Some parts more than few hooked you intoThis movie was very interesting even though the main idea came from a video game (a very successful VG.) I thought that Disney did a good job on graphics and music but still seemed a little cartoonish. Some parts more than few hooked you into the movie. It made you wonder and believe the movie was happening like your there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerMar 6, 2011
While I wasn't expecting much with this it movie as most movie video game adaptions turn out crap (and the fact that it was made by Disney), I was shocked with how good this turned out to be, while it's not as good as the video game it'sWhile I wasn't expecting much with this it movie as most movie video game adaptions turn out crap (and the fact that it was made by Disney), I was shocked with how good this turned out to be, while it's not as good as the video game it's loosely based on, it's still a good experience, fans of the game may be disappointed it's still a good movie from beginning to end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DobbyJul 22, 2011
This is one of my favorite movies of 2010. I don't understand the negative reviews by critics. Loved the two lead characters and Jake Gyllenhaal once again demonstrated his versatility as an actor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Mandalorian_12Dec 8, 2011
This was a movie i think that a lot of people were skeptic about and so they failed to keep an open mind. The result was bad ratings. This movie is a feel good movie with plenty of action along the way. although a little cheesy if your aThis was a movie i think that a lot of people were skeptic about and so they failed to keep an open mind. The result was bad ratings. This movie is a feel good movie with plenty of action along the way. although a little cheesy if your a james bond fan give it a whirl because a good friend of mind who is a james bond fanatic and a movie connoiseur watched out of my recomondation and loved. a movie with LOTS of parcour and action as well as enough twists and turns to keep you on the edge of your seat once this movie starts rolling. Just dont assume the bad guy ;). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
novinar4Jan 17, 2012
I simply like this film. Nice story and very nice FX. I like this ancient historical stuffs. And I was stunning over acting of the Jake Gyllenhaal. I simply put the 10 on this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobFeb 9, 2013
I too was a little worried when I first started watching but it ended up being one of the best video game films, if not the best, imo. Gyllenhaal was a great pick for the lead, Kingsley is solid as well but doesn't get enough on screen timeI too was a little worried when I first started watching but it ended up being one of the best video game films, if not the best, imo. Gyllenhaal was a great pick for the lead, Kingsley is solid as well but doesn't get enough on screen time imo, The rest of the cast is solid as well. Did not care for the director though, I felt he ruined what could have been some good shots and should they make a sequel, I'd like to see him replaced. Overall, Its a pretty solid movie and worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
firstevil87Mar 7, 2012
I watched the movie and I was surprised but how good it was. Usually "the movie of the game" tends to be... well, bad. This, on the other hand was very funny to watch, the story was intruguing even though the villain could not be moreI watched the movie and I was surprised but how good it was. Usually "the movie of the game" tends to be... well, bad. This, on the other hand was very funny to watch, the story was intruguing even though the villain could not be more blatant. Main character is engaging, seriously, who doesn't like Jake Gyllenhaal (hope it is spelled that way). I really don't understand why this movie gets so much hate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
hawaiianhappyNov 15, 2012
The game is cheesy, but to be honest I was expecting far far worse. The main actor for this did actually do a decent job with the prince because in the actual game the prince is kind of a wise guy. The game doesn't follow the game perfectlyThe game is cheesy, but to be honest I was expecting far far worse. The main actor for this did actually do a decent job with the prince because in the actual game the prince is kind of a wise guy. The game doesn't follow the game perfectly but since it's a Disney movie I can understand why, I guess undead sand demons don't fly in Disney world (yet they had undead pirates in the first Pirates of the Carribean movie....). Cheesy but surprisingly entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SwatiFeb 28, 2013
Good old fashioned fun. The historical inaccuracies were many but frankly I didn't care about them. I am a fan of the games and am glad they adapted the series for film. It achieved its goal to entertain without being pretentious. I'mGood old fashioned fun. The historical inaccuracies were many but frankly I didn't care about them. I am a fan of the games and am glad they adapted the series for film. It achieved its goal to entertain without being pretentious. I'm guessing they didn't set out to make a critically acclaimed film, so I took it for what it was and enjoyed it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
drakensengApr 10, 2013
A very good adventure movie set in the middle east. There are good mixtures of action and comedy scenes in the movie. The main actor/character was pretty good although didn't see him do those cool wall running, etc like in the video games.A very good adventure movie set in the middle east. There are good mixtures of action and comedy scenes in the movie. The main actor/character was pretty good although didn't see him do those cool wall running, etc like in the video games. And not many boss fights...disappointing. And no going through traps and pitfalls like it should be. But the movie is interesting and entertaining to keep me watching. The main badguy was actually pretty good with a nice storyline. the girl was also pretty good, although I wanted to see her in action as well. In the end, its a good guy movie with them always coming out on top. No problem with that, but it just happend too easy? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ExKingApr 13, 2013
i don't understand why everyone is being obnoxious about this it's a great movie great story line great performances i mean yeah it's not an epic movie like troy but who cares it's a movie based on a video game it was a surprise that iti don't understand why everyone is being obnoxious about this it's a great movie great story line great performances i mean yeah it's not an epic movie like troy but who cares it's a movie based on a video game it was a surprise that it came that way Jake Gyllenhaal did a spectacular performance and the movie is fun fast and memorable a solid 7 out of 10 is perfect for this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sil3nt_nickMar 27, 2013
Great acting and actions, entertaining twists throughout the movie. Near the end, the details were a bit fuzzy, but that is my only concern, Jake Gyllenhaal and Gemma Arterton have great chemistry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Gojira63Jun 13, 2013
I really enjoy these types of movies. At their heart movies such as Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time are supposed to be fun and adventure filled escapist entertainment. This is where the movie succeeds. First of all the movie is a visualI really enjoy these types of movies. At their heart movies such as Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time are supposed to be fun and adventure filled escapist entertainment. This is where the movie succeeds. First of all the movie is a visual palette of wondrous colors, scenery, architecture, costumes and characters that transports the viewer to another place and time. Secondly the story has all the right elements from heroism, bravery, treachery, betrayal, familial love and loyalty along with romance and laughter. Thirdly the story is epic in scope but intimate in its execution.

Based on a video game, which I have never seen, the story follows the adventure of Dastan a Prince of Persia, splendidly portrayed by Jake Gyllenhaal, who had been adopted by the king as a peasant living in poverty on the streets. Raised along with his adopted brothers Dastan leads his brothers and their armies to capture the city of Alamut where he meets the city's beautiful princess Tamina, portrayed by the enchanting and stunning, Gemma Arterton, and he comes in possession of a mysterious dagger with time traveling abilities. That is the gist of the story and I will not go into great detail on the finer points of the story.

The movie is a fantasy and it is fun and enjoyable. If you enjoy fun, adventure filled fantasy epics the Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time is a great popcorn munching movie to escape into for a while. It will be time well spent.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
aatassiJun 30, 2014
My favorites movies in general are based on games. Every things was nice in the movie. Very complete.
I find the story original and interesting. The special effect was very well done. Very surprised it didn't get more sucess.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
loudrossMar 15, 2015
The best, an possibly the only good video game movie adaptation. It manages to make a coherent plot and characters that are worth caring about. The dialogue is poor in scenes but this is worth the watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Bobby69Dec 23, 2014
I must of saw this movie over 100 times and each time I can pick out something new. This movie reminds me of my second marriage which I'm still living. I am separated from my wife, however I still feel like I'm fighting a battle to get backI must of saw this movie over 100 times and each time I can pick out something new. This movie reminds me of my second marriage which I'm still living. I am separated from my wife, however I still feel like I'm fighting a battle to get back to her. Similarly, just like in the movie when the prince falls in love with the princess.

It's clear that they fall in love early in the movie when the prince captures the dagger. Throughout the entire movie the prince and princess get to know each other better and better. The turning point is finally when the princess becomes totally honest with the prince.

A true heart filling love story at its best, a man fighting to expose the truth to save the Holy City. The deep message is trust no one, except what your heart tells you. Basically, in life, don't listen to others that have no clue about all the facts. The fact of this movie is that true love will prevail over any adverse situation.

Gemma played the most beautiful princess that I've seen. Her sexiness and strong will to survive really hit a home run with me. Jake was superb in protecting all of his true loved ones even though he was an orphan boy and had no real family.

A sequel to this movie should be made, I would love nothing more than to see the prince and princess be married and raise their own family.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
josesueiroApr 17, 2016
In the holy city of Alamut resides the Sands of Time, which gives mortals the power to turn back time. After leading an attack on the city, Dastan, the adopted son of Persia's king, acquires a dagger that gives the one who holds it access toIn the holy city of Alamut resides the Sands of Time, which gives mortals the power to turn back time. After leading an attack on the city, Dastan, the adopted son of Persia's king, acquires a dagger that gives the one who holds it access to the Sands. Dastan goes on the run with an Alamut princess named Tamina after being accused of killing his father. The pair must protect the ancient treasure from dark forces and unmask the king's assassin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Epik_NinnjaMay 24, 2015
The only game of this I've played is the first few hours of the 2008 Prince of Persia, and I didn't care for it. However, this movie is based on a different game (although probably rather loosely). I enjoyed it as an action movie, withThe only game of this I've played is the first few hours of the 2008 Prince of Persia, and I didn't care for it. However, this movie is based on a different game (although probably rather loosely). I enjoyed it as an action movie, with well-made fight scenes. The mediocre metacritic score is probably due to them judging the plot too harshly, which I'll admit could be improved on but is still pretty decent. I think the user score is much more accurate of the quality of this movie, though. It's worth watching once (if not twice) for its action scenes and its story and characters are pretty decent, too. Don't avoid it just because it's a "game movie". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MostFairCriticOct 11, 2015
Critics, PFFT. If they know nothing of a video game, they shouldn't post an article in the first place. The movie is great and reminiscent to the Prince of Persia Lore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews