Princess Mononoke

Princess Mononoke Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 372 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Where To Watch

Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 100
    One of the most visually inventive films I have ever seen.
  2. 90
    A big movie for the ages, full to the brim with sympathy, imagination and sheer visual delight.
  3. 88
    Rarely does any film, animated or otherwise, immerse you in such a vivid landscape and engage your senses so strongly.
  4. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    80
    The beauty and scale of Miyazaki's vision shines through.
  5. Reviewed by: Andy Seiler
    75
    A must-see for animation fans.
  6. A rare spectacle on the big screen.
  7. 40
    Wacky, vividly conceived but mundanely executed cartoon fantasy.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 116
  1. ChrisO
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    Amazing film, why the mediocre critic reviews? I'd put this up with and maybe beyond spirited away.
  2. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    Visually, Princess Mononoke shines right off the bat. The design and movement of the demonic boar god is among the most impressive bits ofVisually, Princess Mononoke shines right off the bat. The design and movement of the demonic boar god is among the most impressive bits of animation I've come across. In addition to the fluid and gorgeous animation, the action is done so well it will immediately pull you in. And we will witness several more sequences of this caliber before the end.

    Fortunately, it’s beauty and action are merely the outer shell of it’s brilliance. The most impressive aspect of Princess Mononoke is its ability to display each side of every conflict and how well it all ties in with the movie’s core theme: Man Vs. Nature. We understand what both the people of Iron Town and the inhabitants of the great forest fight for and why. We sympathize and even root for both sides to win. Even Jigo the main antagonist is given clear motivation for his actions, not to mention a likable personality.
    When speaking of the characters in Princess Mononoke, it has to be mentioned how great the performances are in the English dub. Best are Minnie Driver as Lady Eboshi, Keith David as Okkoto and Billy Bob Thornton as Jigo.

    Our hero is one of the reasons why this story works as well as it does. He is our viewing platform. We observe everything through his perspective and follow his ideals since he is our hero. He is neutral so we become neutral. If he would have been fighting solely on one side, the film’s ultimate message; man & nature needs to function more cohabit-ably together, or all will perish would have differed greatly.

    In the end I'll simply say that Princess Mononoke is one of the greatest animated movies ever made. I urge anyone and everyone to watch this movie and see for yourselves what a gem it is

    Full review: http://kenikkiscorner.blogspot.se/2013/06/anime-movie-review-princess-mononoke.html
    Expand
  3. Ashogo
    Jan 9, 2007
    10
    Of all of Miyazaki's amazing works, I'd have to say this is one of my favorites. The music, artwork, story-everything is amazing. Of all of Miyazaki's amazing works, I'd have to say this is one of my favorites. The music, artwork, story-everything is amazing. And the whole overall feel of the film is amazing. Expand
  4. JJReyes
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    Brilliant. I love this movie. Everything from the story, to all the animations and characters were superb.
  5. Nov 2, 2010
    9
    I bought this movie because I saw a friend in school with a graphic novel about it. I think this movie introduced me to Japanese animation andI bought this movie because I saw a friend in school with a graphic novel about it. I think this movie introduced me to Japanese animation and I still think it is the best of it's kind and much better than most mainstream movies out these. It is better not to spoil anything but trust me almost anyone with an open mind to anime films will love this movie. Expand
  6. PatC.
    Jan 23, 2006
    9
    This charming mythology and visual classic pits an environmentally despoiling mankind against the natural order. The real enemy is not This charming mythology and visual classic pits an environmentally despoiling mankind against the natural order. The real enemy is not man's greed but the polarization on both sides that leads each to hate the other - a lesson more should heed. A little drawn out, and the inevitable conclusion that nature bats last is reached, but all in all a non-judgemental and lovingly crafted work. Expand
  7. AndrewR.
    Jul 15, 2008
    0
    What the hell is wrong with the world. This was possibly the worst movie I've ehehever seen. I watched the whole thing on a friends What the hell is wrong with the world. This was possibly the worst movie I've ehehever seen. I watched the whole thing on a friends suggestion, and I must say, it was the worst choice my friend had ever made. I hated it immensely, I know some people liked it, and I guess that's fine for all Asians and anime fans, but over all, it's horrible. And I wish I could rate it less then a 0. Expand

See all 116 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 30, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The BFG, The Purge: Election Year, The Legend of Tarzan, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016 Image
    Published: June 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including an extended version of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice plus Green Room, Everybody Wants Some!!, O.J.: Made in America, and more.
  3. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
  4. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.