Princess Mononoke

Princess Mononoke Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 380 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Where To Watch

Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 100
    One of the most visually inventive films I have ever seen.
  2. 90
    A big movie for the ages, full to the brim with sympathy, imagination and sheer visual delight.
  3. 88
    Rarely does any film, animated or otherwise, immerse you in such a vivid landscape and engage your senses so strongly.
  4. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    80
    The beauty and scale of Miyazaki's vision shines through.
  5. Reviewed by: Andy Seiler
    75
    A must-see for animation fans.
  6. A rare spectacle on the big screen.
  7. 40
    Wacky, vividly conceived but mundanely executed cartoon fantasy.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 118
  1. ChrisO
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    Amazing film, why the mediocre critic reviews? I'd put this up with and maybe beyond spirited away.
  2. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    Absolutely out this world! this epic movie is a league on its own, with depth and laudable cause. Masterpiece! A real movie will this oneAbsolutely out this world! this epic movie is a league on its own, with depth and laudable cause. Masterpiece! A real movie will this one should be awesome, in fact we saw some of the concept in a recent version of Snow White...! Expand
  3. Riren
    Feb 2, 2007
    10
    In a time when "epic" just means "long," Princess Mononoke reminds us what that word really means. Here is a bold movie with no villains, In a time when "epic" just means "long," Princess Mononoke reminds us what that word really means. Here is a bold movie with no villains, only flawed people who often do as many vile things as good. For once we have a film with character development, but one that also recognizes something more important than character development: seeing people as more than one dimensional right now, before they change. The magic of the film's world is as foreign to the American mind as its language, and is thoroughly rewarding to experience. There is blood, there is suffering, and even death in this movie, yet I would share it with my children. Like Walt Disney, Hayao Miyazaki does not shelter audiences from horror. He is smart enough to frame it, to educate and to evoke. The animation is gorgeous, and the soundtrack is not only thoroughly moving, but sounds authentic to the fantasy world. This is a long animated feature that earns ever half hour of its time in your DVD player. Expand
  4. R.L.
    Apr 1, 2006
    10
    Completely outstanding - it is easily one of the very best films of the 90's.
  5. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    Cool as s**t! Brutal acts of deviance, vivid showcases of violence and some serious blood all founded upon a deeply rooted stance on theCool as s**t! Brutal acts of deviance, vivid showcases of violence and some serious blood all founded upon a deeply rooted stance on the epidemic of hatefulness. I would write a longer review, but this one is truly epic in the actual definition. It is a long sweeping powerhouse of a story that has it all. Love, hate, viciousness, deceit, redemption, victory, failure, relief, passion, soul, kindness, drama, action, suspense, reflection, joy, sadness, adventure and heart. Princess Mononoke is an experience. Expand
  6. Aidan
    Feb 24, 2006
    9
    This was an excellent animation. why are some newspaper critics too stupid to realize this? I would have puta ten for this one. The only This was an excellent animation. why are some newspaper critics too stupid to realize this? I would have puta ten for this one. The only reason i gave it a nine is because I found some of the characters to be a little too odd to my liking (the god of the forest and the boars were strange) Expand
  7. AndrewR.
    Jul 15, 2008
    0
    What the hell is wrong with the world. This was possibly the worst movie I've ehehever seen. I watched the whole thing on a friends What the hell is wrong with the world. This was possibly the worst movie I've ehehever seen. I watched the whole thing on a friends suggestion, and I must say, it was the worst choice my friend had ever made. I hated it immensely, I know some people liked it, and I guess that's fine for all Asians and anime fans, but over all, it's horrible. And I wish I could rate it less then a 0. Expand

See all 118 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring albums, video games, TV shows, and films released during September.
  2. Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and new films from Denzel Washington, Jim Jarmusch, Mike Mills, Warren Beatty, Olivier Assayas, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.