Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 10 out of 25
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Mar 3, 2012
    30
    "There's a midget in the oven!" is about as inspired as the dialogue and set pieces get in this queasy-making entertainment.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Mar 2, 2012
    30
    The only way to describe this movie's trio of party-throwing protagonists is numbingly predictable, as if writers Michael Bacall and Matt Drake had "Superbad" on a loop in the background.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Mar 1, 2012
    30
    Despite a couple of unconvincingly upbeat tacked-on moments at the end, Project X basically reads as nihilistic, as not believing in or standing for anything. Not even fun.
  4. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Mar 1, 2012
    30
    A party disaster movie targeted at kids who find the "Hangover" franchise too sophisticated.
  5. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Mar 1, 2012
    25
    There is no way you could make this movie stupider or more pointlessly noisy than it already is.
  6. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Mar 1, 2012
    25
    A movie about a teen party gone horribly wrong, would be every parent's worst nightmare if it weren't so inane.
  7. Reviewed by: Andrew Lapin
    Mar 2, 2012
    20
    Project X strives to appall, and it would be similarly self-deluded to pretend this jumble of ecstasy and crotch shots is anything other than repulsive.
  8. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Mar 1, 2012
    20
    Though the central blowout is as epic as advertised, so is the movie's self-congratulatory obnoxiousness.
  9. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt (1)
    Feb 29, 2012
    20
    Witless, charmless, teen twaddle. Let's take all prints off the film, and bury them. Don't bother marking the spot with an X.
  10. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Mar 1, 2012
    12
    Awesomeness seems to be the chief quality prized by both the film and its characters; all other considerations--like safety, property damage, and especially good taste--are secondary.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 257 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 91
  2. Negative: 31 out of 91
  1. Mar 4, 2012
    2
    An unfunny, stupid movie. Not much else I can say.
  2. Mar 2, 2012
    0
    My goodness! Never before have I seen such an affront to common decency and traditional values as in Project X. This so called "film" has noMy goodness! Never before have I seen such an affront to common decency and traditional values as in Project X. This so called "film" has no plot, and just shows kids as young as seventeen using foul language, drinking, and smoking pot. At one point, they use some kind of designer drug called "ecstasy." Several teenage girls bare their breasts, and premarital sexual relations are strongly implied. Actually no. My entire reaction to Project X was, "This is lame, man. Really lame." If only this film were an affront to decency. I wish it were offensive. If only it were the slightest bit funny. There's no real story. Once you've seen five minutes of it, you've seen all it has to offer. It isn't half as wild and crazy as it pretends to be. In a movie where racy content is the attraction, there's more implied than shown. The characters are one dimensional at best, and frankly, the actors are uniformly amateurish. Full review on my blog. Full Review »
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    Let me first say that the only reason I saw this movie was because of the New York Times review. I watched this movie from start to finish andLet me first say that the only reason I saw this movie was because of the New York Times review. I watched this movie from start to finish and realized it was barley a movie at all. It was literally the filming of the most epic party ever. You cannot watch this film expecting character development, deep plots or script. It is literally the filming of a night as it unravels. The cinematography and use of flip cams was awesome and really well done. The only reason why i wont dismiss this film as bad, is how true it is and accurately it portrays a big portion of high school teens. I myself am a senior in high school and can say, the script accurately shows how we talk and the party shows the way we act. the only part i was iffy on was the instant consumption of about 70 ecstasy pills, that i feel would have been met with more hesitation. But long story short, This is simply the filming of an epic night that Millions wish they could have. Full Review »